Saturday, April 19, 2014

Where can I find a cheap, large, flat panel monitor/display?




J


I want to put a display in my ceiling so that I can run video/movies etc off my laptop, lay in bed and watch them above me. My bed is about 6 feet below the ceiling so ideally a larger screen would be better. I don't need hi def, speakers, tv tuner, any of that, just a display with no bells or whistles


Answer
of the four monitors in this room, 3 came from the pawn shop

I want to buy a large flat screen for gaming, watching TV and DVDs but I don't understand all the different..?

Q. There is all these different terms like 1080p or 720p. Also HD, LCD, LED, Plasma? I'm so confused on which is best. Also, what type of TVs do they use at Gamestop? The games are always so crisp there. Thank you!!


Answer
you can get the answer of question from this pros and cons
Pros of Plasma
- Better contrast ratio
- better ability to render deep blacks, more color depth,
- better motion tracking (response time)
- more availability in very large screen sizes.
Cons of Plasma
- more susceptible to burn-in (although this is not as much of a factor now, due to technology improvements in the past few years)
- more heat generation (as well as more power consumption)
- screen glare in brightly lit rooms
- heavier weight, and more delicate to ship.
Good brand that I would recommend for Plasma is Panasonic or Samsung
http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&x=0&ref_=nb_sb_noss&y=0&field-keywords=plasma%20tv&url=search-alias%3Delectronics&tag=rtvhh1-20

Pros of LCD
- LCD television advantages include no burn-in susceptibility
- cooler running
- less screen glare, more functional at high altitudes
- longer display life (although improvements are being made in Plasma screen life)
- looks better in brightly lit rooms
- less power consumption than Plasma.
Cons of LCD
- Lower contrast ratio
- not as good rendering deep blacks
- not as good at tracking motion (although this is improving, especially with the implementation of 120Hz refresh rates (and some now offer 240Hz) on higher-end models).
Good brand for LCD that I would recommend is Samsung or Sony




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Women in middle eastern countries in olympics?

Q. Ok so i was watching the 400 and both pakistan and saudi arabia were covered in clothing. Don't you thinks it sucks that the women still have to run the 400,800 etc covered in clothing, doesn't it slow their performance?


Answer
I think that if we look at it as encouraging women to take part in sports in Muslim countries, that is an achievement in itself. So, let them wear their veils - it's of minor consequence in the grand scheme of things. It normalises women in sport. And that's a good thing.

women and sports?




jim


why do women always sexualize sports ?? When they run in a marathon the shorts are bikinis. In volley ball they wear super tight and short shorts. When they are playing in a tennis match every time they hit the ball they make a sound like they are having an orgasms. I think if women want more respect in sports then they should play sports to play sports and not to display there body,, O yes, and in auto racing when you finish the race and take your helmet off,,,,, PLEASE DONT FLIP YOU HAIR THAT MAKES ME GAG.


Answer
I think you are the one who's sexualizing here, because you are the one seeing these things this way, I doubt that the female athletes you mention do.
In many sports, male athletes too wear clothes that many women find attractive. Sports clothing is very often "sexy." Male tennis players make "orgasm sounds", too. Perhaps they display their bodies because they, like, are an integral part for them being able to actually perform in the sports. And for the hair flipping, I guess that's a normal reaction if you've been under a helmet for an hour. I'm sure male racers with long hair do the same thing.
I'm not trying to affront you, but think about it. I am convinced that women are adequatly respected in sports, and that you just have the impression that they aren't. In the same way, I think there are also many women who watch some sports more because of the sexy guys than the sports themselves.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

recommended running watches?




Krist


Im looking to purchase a running watch. i've gone online and im spoilt for choice. the basic functions i need is for the watch to track the distance i've covered, stopwatch, etc.

are there watches out there that monitor the heart rate without me having to wear the heart rate monitor across my chest?

any recommendations?



Answer
You probably won't like my recommendation, but I'll give it anyway.

Measure your distance by other means - Google earth, mapmyrun.com, or drive it in a car.

Check your heart rate by hand at the end of your run (before the cool down).

Buy an $8 Wal-mart watch, with a cloth band. It will only have time, stopwatch, and alarm functions. But it will last a long time. They are durable, able to withstand you sweating in it daily and even showering in it afterward to wash the sweat out of the band. If something happens to damage it or the battery dies, then it will cost you $8 to replace. What will a repair or battery replacement cost for the fancier ones? I've used many of these over the years. The battery generally lasts more than 2 years, the watch itself is very rugged, and the canvas bands are very comfortable.

Measuring Running Distances?




Philip J


Hey, I am awful at estimating distances but would love a rough idea of how far I am running since I am trying to build up the distance. How reliable are stepometers for this? I know they are nowhere near good enough for competitive runners but I don't need that level of accuracy can't afford the GPS watches unless there is something in between? Estimating my route from a map is really difficult since it is so complicated. Any ideas? Sorry the question turned into a bit of a ramble :) Thanks.


Answer
I run on roads so when I want to estimate distance I just drive my car through the route and reset my distance meter. The stepometers are good if you set it up correctly.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How long should I run? (Beginner)?

Q. I'm beginning to run and I want to know how long I should run without pushing myself too far? I'll be running on a track since it's winter, so should I focus on getting a certain amount of laps in or should I focus on running for a certain amount of time? If so, what would be a safe amount of laps/time to go while being safe but also still pushing myself?
Also, how often should I increase my amount of laps/time?


Answer
Anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. So, since you're just getting into running again I would suggest that you start going for some distance runs 1-2 miles 4-5 times a week. You don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

The benefit of starting early is that you have a couple months to train, which is plenty of time to whip yourself into shape. Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Set an alarm to wake yourself up in the morning, then just get out and do it. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Also, running on a track during the winter is nice, but it's sort of the same thing as running on a treadmill, the scenery never changes and it gets a little old after the 10th lap. Running outside is a great option, yes it may be cold, but if you have the right gear then it shouldn't be too bad. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

Here's a training schedule that you can use for the first couple months of your training:

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Just a note: The distances above are just raw distances not translated into laps on a track, one mile on a track is four laps. So a one mile run would be four laps while a three mile run would be twelve. Now, after a a month of training the schedule above is going to seem pretty easy, this will be because your endurance base has built up and you can start pushing yourself to go faster and you're plan could look a little something like this:

Monday: Distance run (1-4 miles slower 10-12 minute mile)
Tuesday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 8-9 minute mile)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-4 miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Thursday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 8-9 minute mile)
Friday: Distance run (1-4 miles miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Make sure that you don't overwork yourself within these first months, since you're just getting into running you're going to be much more prone to injury. Ease in slowly, and once you feel the your body is ready to start ramping up the workouts then you should. This training plan should start putting you into great shape. Hope this helps! Good luck, and feel free to message me if you have any more questions!

ipod, Polar, Garmin..etc. what is the best for beginner runner?

Q. Started running about 3 months to try to loose 8 lbs. Like outdoor running/jogging. Garmin Forerunner seems fancy, but Inot sure if GPS is needed. The Timex watch is too slient, sometimes can't hear the beep for interval training. I don't like the HRM strape. But, I heard strapeless HRM is not accurate. Ipod is great partner, but don't do HRM. Don't like to carry so many things during running. Any suggestions?


Answer
The iPod Nano is excellent for running. There's nothing wrong with running with music, and it's great because it can give you more motivation. You can also use it with the Nike + iPod which has many good features. It can give you your mile splits and I believe you can synch your times to your computer.

I don't think you should run with any of the hard drive based MP3 players (such as the iPod Video) because not only are they bulkier, but running could damage the hard drive and other components.

I have never used the Garmins, but I don't think they are worth your money. They are bulky, and if you want to know the distance of a certain course you can just go on USATF's America's Running Routes website to map any course in the US. It is very accurate, and it is powered by Google's maps.

Also, if you plan to run with an MP3 player make sure that you don't use earbuds because you will find that they will start sliding off your ears once you begin sweating. You can get light headphones at any electronics store. I would recommend visiting your local Apple Store.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, April 18, 2014

What is a good, yet inexpensive GPS watch for running?




Joseph


I'm looking for a GPS watch that isn't too bulky, isn't too expensive, and comes with renowned, interactive software that my girlfriend can use without throwing a fit and kicking my computer. It doesn't need to have a heart rate monitor and it doesn't have to be gender specific.

Also, I am willing to download software if there are better ones out there for running. I know all about Map My Run, but I'd rather have it work with the watch.

Thanks



Answer
I really like Garmin GPS watches and the Garmin Forerunner 405 is probably the cheapest in the series that still has GPS capabilities.

GPS watch for running?




zeroblank5


I'm looking for a good GPS watch for running. Ideally it would be able to track distance, heart rate and calories. However I greatly dislike those heart rate straps that you have to wear so if possible I'd like one without that. Anyone have any recommendations?


Answer
I think at the moment is the very popular one is Garmin Forerunner 305 GPS Receiver With Heart Rate Monitor.As around 1,065 have 5 star reviews from 1649 and the rest is 4 star. So it so it is reliable and cheap now as you save around 57% of price that is $171.45. So you buy it for $128.54 and delivered free if you are in US. So is super cheap




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, April 17, 2014

What are the newest sporty watches?




Dot dot do


I want to buy a new watch , a sports watch , cause I love running . And I'd prefer a watch with GPS . So what is your opinion , which is the best watch ? Garmin , Nike , or you know other brands ?
P.S : My latest watch was Garmin 405 CX



Answer
Deuce Brand Sport Watch, Casio, Timex Ironman Heart Rate Monitor Watch, Timex SL Series, Garmin G3 Sports Watch

you can visit this site, it shows all the sport watches that has GPS:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/triathlon/computers-gps-watches/?lang=en&dest=27&curr=aud&referid=googaus&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=+GPS%20+sport%20+watches&utm_campaign=Triathlon%20Generic%20Australia%20-%20Shoes&KEYWORD=+GPS%20+sport%20+watches&MATCHTYPE=Search&AD_ID_G=13579058593


and

http://www.comparison.com.au/sports-watches/__features:GPS-Enabled

What is the better Running gps/ heart rate watch? Polar or garmin?




Jason V


having a hard time deciding which one to get, looking mainly at the garmin forerunner 310xt and the polar rs800cx. are both of these products top of the line? which one is better, or are there other good choices out there? thanks for the input!


Answer
I think the garmin is best. It finds the satellites very quickly for a gps, and feels fairly comfortable to wear. I don't think there are really any other major gps watches out there.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Android market VS. App store?




Vitalani


Trying to decide weather or not to get an iphone.
In your experience, what are some pros and cons of both app stores?

I'm big into games and virtual pets....and overall just useless apps...(FREE!)



Answer
if your into free then android is the way to go... they have the same games but most are free on android. (android DOES have netflix). also android is open so you can get some really revolutionary apps... heres my personal favorite.

good and android apps

double twist sync your itunes songs to your android
Drop box- move files wirelessly from your pc to your phone
Unified remote- use your android as remote for your computer- play movies, view your files, etc.
YouTube mate- download YouTube videos(sometinge gets rmoved from market, you can google it though)
IP webcam- use your phone/tablet as a webcam
Algeo- a scientific/graphing calculator similar to a TI 89
tv. com watch tv programs using wifi
tune in radio- listen to the radioâ¦.
Whereâs my droid- never lose your phone/tablet again, just send it your attention word and the volume maxes out and even receive its location on gps
Team viewer- similar to desktop remote, but lets you see your actual desktop on your phone.
Speakoit personal assistant- apple stole this concept and called it âsiriâ

free android games- this also depends on how good your phone is, some of the lower end phones cant use them (mine isnt that great)
lane splitter- traffic racing
death worm (demo)- play as a giant worm and terrorize people
angry birds- it think you know....
dragon fly- like the iphones version of tiny wings
atilt labyrinth- guide a ball through a maze by titling your phone
winds of steel (demo)- flying shooting game
fruit slice
Alien invation
Office jerk
Where is the red
cubes- like cube runner
abduction- like doodle jump
fall-down
speedx
cartoon wars

not freeâ¦but still great!
world of goo
sprinkle
spirit
space physiscs
cut the rope

good graphics games.
asphalt 5/6
Jet car stunts
shadowgun
backstab
blood and glory
riptide

Fun random apps
âgoogle sky mapâ, know the position of stars using augmented reality
âgoogle googlesâ search the web my using images
âshazam/hound soundâ record a piece of a song and shazam will tell you the name, artist, etc. of the song
âcircle launcherâ(widget)- store more apps if running out of room on home screen
âfunny jokesâ great jokes, by community⦠(secret community? lol youâll get it.)
âscreen filterâ using your phone in the dark


For some high end games..
http://www.gameloft.com/android-games/top/

Kindle vs Nook color?




Lilly Bron


Im looking into buying and e book reader and was wondering what others thought.


Answer
Nook Color is better for reading than iPad and better for everything else than Kindle. Nook Color is better for $249. Nook Color screen is supposed to be better (less reflective) for reading than iPad thanks to new LG screen with anti-reflection coating. It allows to watch videos, listen to the music, view Office documents and PDF's. Barnes & Noble special Nook SDK runs on top of the standard Android one and gives developers access to exclusive extensions and APIs for the Nook and its interface. So porting Android apps is not difficult. B&N says it is more like optimising them for Nook than porting them. Nook allows to lend books for 2 weeks to friends or to your other devices that run B&N app. Barnes & Noble allows (when you walk in with the Nook to B&N store) to read any available eBook for free while in the store via free provided in the store Wi-Fi.
Nook Color specs:
- $249 with free shipping
- 7 inch Color LG Touchscreen 16 million colors with anti-glare coating 1024 x 600 delivering 169 pixels per inch.
- 8GB built in memory expandable to 32 GB with microSD card.
- Formats supported: EPUB, PDF, XLS, DOC, PPT, PPS, TXT, DOCM, XLSM, PPTM, PPSX, PPSM, DOCX, XLX, PPTX, JPG, GIF, PNG, BMP, MP3, AAC, MP4.
- Wi-Fi (802.11 b/g/n), USB port
- OS: Android 2.1
- Processor: TI 800 Mhz ARM Cortex A8-based, 45nm OMAP3621




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do Hong Kong people increasingly keen to the "Exterminate Locusts Campaign 驅蝗行動"?




Freely


According to the following news in Traditional Chinese about a recent campaign launched over the weekend in a favorite CCP-Mainlanders shopping area in Tsimshatsui,

http://hk.news.yahoo.com/%E8%87%AA%E7%94%B1%E8%A1%8C-%E6%AD%A3%E5%8F%8D-%E9%81%8A%E8%A1%8C%E5%BB%A3%E6%9D%B1%E9%81%93%E4%BA%92%E7%BD%B5-215604280.html
???
Pictures of the campaign banners,

http://www.appledaily.com.tw/realtimenews/article/international/20140216/345539/%E6%B8%AF%E4%BA%BA%E5%8F%8D%E6%AE%96%E6%B0%91%E3%80%80%E8%97%89%E9%A9%85%E8%9D%97%E8%A1%8C%E5%8B%95%E8%B6%95%E4%B8%AD%E5%9C%8B%E9%81%8A%E5%AE%A2
. .
<>


!
According to the latest Yahoo poll, 45% Hongkongers support the "Exterminate Locusts Campaign é©èè¡å".

. .
<>

!!
@ Naw Khaw,

The latest Yahoo poll shows a landslide of 95% Hongkongers support the "Get rid of Locusts Campaign" which echoes your answer.
Beneath is a similar news reported in SCMP,

Scuffles break out as protesters hurl slurs, abuse at mainland Chinese tourists
Police intervene as 100 demonstrators shout slurs at mainland shoppers and confront pro-Beijing group
PUBLISHED : Monday, 17 February, 2014, 4:54am
UPDATED : Monday, 17 February, 2014, 1:51pm
Ng Kang-chung
kc.ng@scmp.com


Most Popular

VIEWEDSHAREDCOMMENTED
World's oldest profession still one of the most honest in China
Five Japan divers found alive after days missing off Bali
Scuffles break out as protesters hurl slurs, abuse at mainland Chinese tourists
Tencent channel falls for The Onion's Olympics sex spoof
British teen comparing himself to Sherlock star Benedict Cumberbatch harassed by Chinese fans
We recommend
'Dear slut': US woman receives surprise barb in Bank of America letter
NEWS
07 Feb 2014
'Dear slut': US woman receives surprise barb in Bank of America letter
The price of love
COMMENT
13 Feb 2014
The price of love
US Secr
Police intervene as scuffles break out at the start of the march in Tsim Sha Tsui with protesters urging the government to limit the number of mainland visitors.

Scores of protesters marched through Tsim Sha Tsui yesterday in an "anti-locust" campaign demanding the government curb mainland visitors.

Protesters said a massive influx of mainland visitors - dubbed "locusts" by critics, who accuse them of overwhelming the city and hogging its resources - had hit the livelihoods of locals.

During the 90-minute protest about 100 people marched from the Star Ferry pier to Canton Road, a street lined with luxury goods stores popular with mainlanders. The march got off to a tense start when scuffles broke out between protesters and people opposed to the demonstration. Police had to intervene.

The protesters waved placards and chanted slogans such as "go back to China" and "reclaim Hong Kong" as they marched. Some carried colonial-era flags, a popular
symbol for those who want autonomy or independence for Hong Kong.

Some booed and shouted abuse at Putonghua-speaking passers-by. The protesters also shouted abuse at mainland customers inside shops. Some shoppers took pictures while others ignored them. But some Canton Road jewellery shops closed.

A visitor from Shenzhen said: "We are here to shop. It helps the economy of Hong Kong. I do not understand why they do not welcome us."

Protest convenor Ronald Leung Kam-shing said he was pleased with the response after organising the campaign online.

"We do not need political parties. Just through the internet we can get so many people to come out," he said. "I think the government should listen to our voice seriously. It has to stop allowing Chinese tourists into Hong Kong ⦠We do not want them."

Among the protesters but keeping a low profile was primary school teacher Alpais Lam Wai-sze, who shot to fame for swearing at police officers over their handling
of a Falun Gong protest.

A pro-Beijing group, Voice of Loving Hong Kong, staged a rival "Welcome to Hong Kong" campaign on Canton Road. About 10 members distributed leaflets wishing visitors a happy stay.

Tourism from the mainland has boomed as the nation's economy has grown and rules forcing visitors to join tour groups have been eased. Some 40.8 million mainland visitors came last year.
EDIT

Sorry for not deleting all the irrelevant headings in time.

. .
<>

!
EDIT

Apart from HK, Thailand is another favorite tourist spot for Mainlanders due to closeness and cheap. Thais too do not seem to welcome Mainland tourists,

More Chinese tourists isn't the greatest idea | Bangkok Post: opinion
www.bangkokpost.com/...more-Chinese-tourists-isn't... - Traduzir esta página
25/10/2013 - Pattaya is a good case in point, it is not exactly the place to be if you want to ... 6 Chinese tourists rent a room for 2/3 customers. The TAT say, the ...
Do CCP-tourists know they're not liked worldwide?

(CNN) -- It might be the biggest phenomenon to hit the global travel industry since the invention of commercial flight -- Chinese tourism.
The figures are incredible.
By 2015, 100 million Chinese will pack their bags to travel abroad, according to a report from the UN World Tourism Organization.
In 2012, Chinese overtook Americans and Germans as the world's top international tourism spenders, with 83 million people spending a record US$102 billion on international tourism.
Pretty much any country with "Approved Destination Status" -- a bilateral tourism arrangement with China -- has remarkable numbers to throw out on Chinese tourism growth, from the United States to France.
The figures are even more dramatic closer to home. South Korea recently reported that in February, for the first time ever, Chinese tourists overtook Japanese tourists in terms of arrival numbers.
Hong Kong and Thailand cite similar growth.
Your re
"But the majority of [Chinese] tourists still need to develop. One problem area is advance planning. We have few clients who plan six months ahead. So they end up giving last minute requests for Michelin-starred dinners and they just can't get in.
"Then they become unhappy because they think money can get anything. The game in the international market is slightly different. So advance planning is something they're learning."
Tourists behaving badly
No discussion of Chinese tourism would be complete without addressing the backlash now making the rounds in some sectors of the travel industry.
This is the fun for them. You toss some coins and Western people dance for you.
Dr. Wolfgang Georg Arlt, China Outbound Tourism Research Institute
To put this into context, Zhang describes a popular urban legend about a wealthy Chinese tourist who entered a famous luxury boutique in Milan with a lit cigarette.
When asked to put out the cigarette, the woman replied that she&#39
she'd buy 20 purses if she was allowed to smoke in the shop.
Next thing you know, the woman is handed an ashtray, and the boutique did indeed earn a nice profit that day.
Zhang says allowing that behavior is a double-edged sword.
"Rich Chinese tourists are pushing the boundaries and unfortunately some of these places are bending to their will," she says.
"Particularly the newly rich, who think, 'If I'm paying money then I'm God.'"

Arlt says Chinese are often proud of the fact that they're at the top of the wealth chain, given that the Cultural Revolution is still fresh the minds of people over 40.
"This has happened all in one generation," he says. "Many [Chinese tourists] have parents who didn't have shoes. All this growth happened so fast it's still in living memory.
"Now they're showing the world and themselves: 'I'm strong, I can go spend US$5,000 for nothing, just for my pleasure.'"
And t
they're more than happy to rub it in the West's face, he adds.
"The Chinese have the idea that since the Opium Wars they've been oppressed and looked down on, so now they're coming back rich," Arlt says.
"This is the fun for them. You toss some coins and Western people dance for you."

The scene is even more charged with emotion in Hong Kong, where mainland Chinese tourists face harsh resentment for a number of issues. Clashes between locals and tourists on public transportation and in restaurants have been caught on video, rapidly gone viral on the Internet and are regular press fodder.
Hong Kong Airlines has even taught its cabin crew kung fu to deal with drunken passengers flying to and from the mainland in light of what it says are continuous issues.
Dr. Yong Chen of Hong Kong Polytechnic University, who specializes in Chinese outbound tourism, says all the bad press needs to be taken in context, given how many mainlanders are heading south of th
the border.
"There were 48 million tourists who came to Hong Kong last year and more than 70 percent of them were Chinese tourists," he says.
"There's no other country with such a high market share in the world."
When posted on the Internet, small, individual problems, like shouting matches on subway trains, have a way of transcending borders.
"Travel is a way of communication between cultures," he says. "Tourism will help people to get better and learn. It's a new experience for them."
Liu Zhen-xiu, a mother from Tianjin visiting Hong Kong with her young daughter, says she notices the resentment.
"We usually stay in five-star hotels, so people in the service industry of course have to be polite and friendly to us," she says.
"I haven't gotten into a situation where I was treated differently or rudely, but I can feel that local people do not welcome mainland tourists."
Learning global cultures
Fauna (who didn't
want her last name published) is the founder of popular English-language blog ChinaSMACK, which analyzes and translates online reaction to popular news stories in China.
If a non-Chinese points fingers at this kind of behavior, almost all Chinese feel very defensive. They will say, 'That's racist against Chinese.
Mei Zhang, WildChina
Responses to stories of Chinese behaving badly while traveling are mixed among China's online community, she says.
"If the focus is on the behavior of the mainland tourist, usually the reaction from mainland Chinese netizens is embarrassment," she says.
"If the focus is on criticisms of mainland Chinese by Hong Kong people or foreigners, then often there is defensiveness -- but also a lot of embarrassment -- and counter-criticism."
Zhang has a similar view, noting that the younger generation and wealthier Chinese are usually unhappy with those who damage the image of Chinese travelers worldwide.
"On the other hand, ther
there is this strong sense of patriotism and a bit of insecurity about our national identity," she says.
"If a non-Chinese points fingers at this kind of behavior, almost all Chinese feel very defensive. They will say, 'That's racist against Chinese.'
"There's the idea that, 'It's my dirty laundry, I know it's smelly and it's OK for me to criticize it, but it's not OK for you to say anything.'"
Zhang says it will take time for attitudes to change, as more Chinese grow accustomed to global cultures.
Naicy Zhang, a Chinese tourist visiting Hong Kong from Dongguan, agrees.
"People are generally helpful, but I know there are differences in cultures between Chinese tourists and others," she says.
"The people here in Hong Kong, for example, are more polite and self-disciplined, they queue up for everything. But in China, no one will ever queue up and they will fight for things. If you wait, you will be left with nothing.
"It's true that Chinese tourists may not understand the local rules and customs in the beginning and make mistakes. But we will learn."
Arlt says too many locals are seeing only the negative side of Chinese tourism.
"The busloads of Chinese people run
running around and taking a lot of photos and making noise and behaving a bit stupid because this is the first time they're traveling -- these are the more visible tourists," says Arlt.

. .
<>

!
@ Well said, Dennis, your descriptions are thorough and detailed. Hope more CCP guys could grasp what's said and stop barking their silly myths.

CCP is trash, it's eager to transform HK into another $hitty place as Shanghai, Shenzhen with no one cares about obeying rule and order because money can buy everything including justice. So unfortunate HK has to merge with such a trash.

You and Naw's answers are best, I'll let the question go to voting and let more readers read your well written answer.



Answer
I'm from HK and I hope my answer may help.

The current tensions between HK-ers and mainlanders are not as simple as they seem. Let me ask you:

1. If you're living in HK, and you can't buy your daily necessities in any of the supermarkets in your neighbourhood because many mainlanders buy cartons and cartons of "Made-in-HK" or "Made-in-the West/Japan" beverages, instant noodles, rice, nappies, milk powder, medicines, Dettol disinfectant, etc. and smuggle them away from HK by the already-crowded commuter trains you take every day, what would you feel? (And indeed the HK Gov has imposed export quotas on milk powder to stop mainlanders from carrying out more than 2 cans of milk powder out of HK since last year.)
(Related articles: http://www.timeout.com.hk/big-smog/features/47124/meet-the-smugglers.html

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1145530/millions-living-near-border-now-buy-their-groceries-hong-kong)

2. If you're a taxpayer in HK and find that many mainlanders abuse the service of public hospitals (like the NHS in the UK) by giving birth in HK so that they children can get the right of abode and enjoy the better social welfare in HK. The wards are now overcrowded and some mainlanders then leave HK without paying for the service, what would you feel? (*HK's taxation system is independent from that of the mainland.)

(Related articles: http://blogs.wsj.com/chinarealtime/2012/10/26/mainland-moms-get-jail-time-in-hong-kong/

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/02/23/world/asia/mainland-chinese-flock-to-hong-kong-to-have-babies.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0)

3. Now you're a mother in HK and your child is getting into public primary school (or kindergarten) and find that the competition for school places is extremely vigorous since many children whose parents are not from HK occupy more than half of the school quotas, what would you think?

(Related articles: http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/02/06/us-hongkong-education-idUSBREA1509Y20140206)

4. What would you think if your favourite local restaurant's gone because of the soar in rent and a new jewellery shop (or other high-end shops) is open? You never go there and only mainland tourists love them, what do you think?

(Related article: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-04-01/hong-kong-businesses-vanish-as-rents-soar-real-estate.html)

5. Eating or drinking is not allowed on HK trains. You saw a mainland woman letting her child eat snacks on train. You go to remind her (in your native language Cantonese) and she refused to comply, saying that you should speak to her in Mandarin since HK is China. An argument follows and someone took the video and uploaded it to the web. A professor from the University of Beijing (the most prestigious university in China) watched that and criticised HK people for their refusal to speak in Mandarin and called HK people as "British running dogs" since many HK people still thought that British rule was better. And many mainlanders agree to the idea that HK's economic achievement is all brought by the "love and care of China motherland, so HK should be grateful to China". What would you feel towards their attitude?

(Related video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bCU8LxeMXMI)

6. Imagine you're a new university graduate and want to buy a flat in HK. You earn about HKD10,000 a month but the cheapest private flat (200 sq. feet) is about HKD3 million.You find you can't get on the property ladder since many mainlanders feel unsafe about their money and purchase HK's flats for investment, which then pushes up HK's property price.
(http://www.thestandard.com.hk/news_detail.asp?art_id=136299&con_type=3)

7. In your question you mentioned about "Jewellery made in HongKong..."
--> This is an untrue statement. Jewellery retailers in HK only import them and sell them. The only relatively "flourishing" manufacturing industry in HK is food manufacturing, and bare in mind that 90% of HK's GDP comes from services industry, and only 9% from manufacturing, and tourism only occupies about 4.5% of HK's total GDP. (http://www.gov.hk/en/about/abouthk/factsheets/docs/tourism.pdf)

And since there are too many jewellery shops in HK which is an already over-crowded place, the rent and hence living price increase every year, but the average salary of HK people has not risen that much over the past decade. What do you think? Does the increase in HK's GDP really benefit you?

8. The population in HK is only about 7.1 million. There were 54 million tourists coming to HK last year, and only 13 million are overseas visitors. The remaining 40 million are from the mainland and many are worried that HK's market are over-relying on China, leading to a rise in hotel room prices and stopping overseas visitors from coming to the over-crowded city. This may result in the loss of HK's diversity as an "international city".

9. And most importantly, every day you express your anger and complain to HKSAR government. Despite all the above social problems, government officials simply dismiss your arguments, claiming that HK is a city open for everyone, haranguing HK people to show more tolerance to mainland tourists since "we are a family!". And they then tell you that they want to increase the number of tourists (mostly mainlanders) to 100 million in the coming decade... and they even tell HK people "if you can't get on the train during rush-hours, you may have to wait for another one in the future!" (Obviously the government officials don't take trains and, I once waited for a train in a busy station and I can't board the train until the fourth one.)

(Related article: http://www.eturbonews.com/41835/hong-kong-tourist-numbers-can-rise-70-million?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Eturbonews-TravelAndTourismIndustryNews+%28eTurboNews+-+for+the+global+travel+professional%29)

The HKSAR government refuses to face the already-very-serious social problems and that's why some HK people go for a radical way -- to protest against the mainland tourists. I'm not saying the actions by these radical HK-ers are correct, but it's the only effective way to direct others' attention to the clashes between HK and mainland China.

I would say, because of businessmen's greed, HKSAR government's obsequiousness to the mainland authority and China's propaganda that "HK is already a part of China ", the HKSAR government dare not safeguard HK-ers' rights whenever the issues involve mainland China and this further infuriates people in HK. Also, HK-ers and mainland Chinese may be from the same race, but we are indoctrinated differently (due to the past British rule of HK and now the "1 country, 2 systems" policy) and this results in the current tensions between HK-ers and mainland Chinese. Many HK-ers feel the danger of losing their home and identity as HK-er and many are considering immigration now.

My daughter and 18 month old Grand daughter are flying to Hong Kong in a few weeks?




amfound2


Any ideas how to keep a small child amused on a flight lasting almost 12 hours?


Answer
I'm a former Flight Attendant who used to be based in Hong Kong. I flew for 13 years and now fly a lot with my own kids since each was 4 months old.

Both at work and when I flew, I found this age to be the most difficult. Toddlers love to roam, hate being confined and don't usually understand concepts like "You'll have to stay seated but soon you can get up".

Our flights are almost as long, 11 1/2 hours. What I find that works are
-anything coloring related, even simple paper and crayons
-a backpack that they pick their favorite toys
-a new toy which I keep and show them onboard.

Don't depend on the airline to give you something. The age might not be appropriate and many airlines have cut those toys out of the budget.

I will say that I don't think a portable DVD player is that great an idea for such a young child. Will she wear the headphones? Can she watch it without sound? Will it really hold her attention for long enough to justify dragging such a heavy object onboard? Will she not spill anything on it or drop it?

For such a long flight, the DVD player would have to have a battery life of at least 5 hours, better more since it's not possible to recharge them onboard. If your daughter thinks it's a good idea, she better try it with your granddaughter at home first.

Just some general tips, I really recommend bringing her car seat and using it onboard. This works great for toddlers and I have had to strap an unhappy little person down more than once. Holding such a big baby in a lap for such a long flight wouldn't be too comfortable and the only way to fly safely with her is if she is strapped into her own seat onboard. Children under 2 are allowed on most airlines because the chance of anything happening are so slim but if something does occur, these children aren't protected.

If you're flying a U.S. airline, here is the relevant page;
http://www.faa.gov/passengers/fly_children/crs/
The CARES harness pictured above might be a good alternative if the car seat is not needed in Hong Kong;
http://www.kidsflysafe.com/

If you're flying a non-U.S. carrier, check your airlines' website to see if your car seat will be accepted.

If a seat is not booked for your grandchild, see if they can put an extra seat next to them, if the flight's not full.

Both of you keep an eye out for her at all times. Two of my toddlers loved to run into crowds at airports.

Bring a change of clothes and about 1/3 more of everthing than you think will be needed. Put them in plastic bags and rubber band them to save space in luggage.

Advise your daughter to learn to change your granddaughter standing up. Try this at home first! Toddlers are usually too big for airline changing tables and they hate lying down in strange places anyway. This trick will mean not having to hunt down the changer and she can use the handicapped lav during the flight.

About 8 years ago I wrote an article on this subject for a local expat newsletter. Over the years, I expanded it and put it on a blog to share with other parents, many of whom have contributed. I wanted a non-commercial place on the net where parents could get both practical *and* professional information.
http://flyingwithchildren.blogspot.com

I also recommend a backpack or other carrier. Hong Kong is very crowded and sometimes a stroller is not the best idea. If you ride the MTR, it'll be very useful as those stations are very deep with a lot of escaltors.

Make sure you all visit the restroom and your granddaughter's diaper is changed before the very long ride from Chep Lak Kok into central Hong Kong. It's way out there!

Hope you all will be there during Chinese New Year. It's really an experience!

Have a great time!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Good yet inexpensive running (GPS) watch?




lovelygirr


I'm looking for a running watch that can monitor my distance, pace, and time, but is simple to use and NOT bulky. So far it seems like the Garmin 405 and Nike plus watches are the best out there.
I'm not interested in the Nike but there are a few bad reviews that scare me away from purchasing it immediately.
Any input?



Answer
If you don't need to download the data to a computer later, there's a cheap soleus model (link below)

You could get an ipod nano, which can track speed & distance via an internal accelerometer. It's fairly accurate in my experience.

The Motorola MOTOACTV looks very nice, with lots of features, but it's pricier and might be on the bulky side.

Tips for running track? ?




Cheer4Life


Okay, so I'm planning on doing track this year. It doesn't start until spring, but I really want to excel so I'm going to start conditioning now. What should I do to get my body in shape? By the way, I'm looking to improve distance running. I'm naturally fast, but my endurance could be better. Also, can you give me some tips that I could use during the actual season? Thanks <3


Answer
Let me paste in what I wrote for a person with a very similar question: (Sorry, it`s long!)

"---To build up your endurance start jogging or running, whichever you can do best at this point and try to go farther each time. Try to build up to about 3.5 miles, or more. Once you reach that point, to build up your speed start adding in 10 second sprints to your regular pace every few minutes and add more and more in to your running. go to runnersworld.com. They have schedules, and also have nutrition, apparel, shoes, and other information. They also have a running forum for teenagers. Just click forum --> "High School".

Apparel: There`s lots of different things you might want, but as far as need, just make sure you have comfortable shirts and shorts, something that won`t chafe. My favorite brand is Nike, but there`s also Adidas, Reebok, and a lot of other brands. Nike`s Dry Fit shirts are pretty good. Get a few good sports bras too. I also suggest a watch; that`s always good for both running on your own and once track starts up in the fall. It`s very helpful to time your runs. You might want to listen to music on your runs. If so, buy an armband for your iPod and get some good earphones so they won`t fall out.

Shoes: There are a million shoes out there, and it all depends on the right one for you. On Runners World there is a shoe finder you should try. It takes into account if you need stability, support, etc, etc, and then gives you a list of shoes. Very convenient. Again, I like Nike, but Asics, Brooks, Adidas, and many, many more companies make great shoes. Once the season starts, you`ll need to purchase track spikes for the actual events. There are sprinters spikes and long distance spikes, so buy accordingly.

Stretch, do a cool down walk after you finish running. Before, eat a quick snack like 30 min. to a hour before your workout. Eat peanut butter, a banana, or something like a Powerbar.

Speaking of food, nutrition is VERY, VERY important!!! Do NOT eat donuts, cake, and junk food. I`m not saying never, but limit it. It is very beneficial to you, I promise. Eat wholegrain or multigrain foods, foods with lots of fiber, and lots of protein. Yes, eat carbs. COMPLEX carbs, not SIMPLE. Simple carbs are foods such as donuts, white bread, and the like. Eat your fruits and vegetables. A key rule for vegetables: The more colorful, the better. Eat foods like beans, sweet potatoes, frozen berries, low-fat yogurt and salmon. Also eat eggs, which make for a very healthy breakfast. They give you lots of energy. You can look up other good foods online. Be sure to drink plenty of water, especially since this is summer. Where I live, it`s been 90-100 degrees, so I run in the early morning or evening.

Run every other day. On your off days, cross-train. Bike, Swim, etc. etc. Don`t forget to do crunches and push-ups.---"

Now, since I know you`re doing Long distance, I can give some more advice. Long distance is what I run for track, and one of the most important thing to remember is that since we`re running for long distances, it`s important that you push yourself to do well, but don`t push yourself to the point that you`re doing too much.


To give you an idea of what you`ll be doing each day, here`s my track team`s schedule: (Though your school will probably be different)

Stretch for 15 minutes--> divide up into sprinters and Long distance. Long distance either does stuff like stadiums, or will do about 10 laps around the track. We`ll also do various other things. In the last half-hour of practice, we go to the weight room, and either lift weights, or do some serious push-ups, crunches, planks, etc, etc. I`m talking around 10 push-ups, 50 sit-ups, 10 diamond push-ups, 50 crunches, 30 second planks, and then start back to the beginning and we`ll usually repeat that twice.

If it rained, we`d go into the gym and the coach sets up stations. I.E. Stairs, push-ups, crunches, planks, etc.

Every team`s different, so yours probably won`t be exactly like that.

As far as tips, make sure that you eat like an hour before you run on meet days. It`ll give you lots of energy. Make sure that before the meets, you practice running like it`s the meet so you`ll get the competition mindset. My team always has a mock meet before the season officially starts.

As I mentioned in my answer to the other person, runnersworld.com is great! Runners World is a magazine, a very good one, and their website has a LOT of helpful information.

Sorry this was so long, but I hope I`ve helped!! Shoot me a e-mail if you have any other questions about running/ track. Track`s a great sport, and is very fun. Don`t overdo it in the beginning because your body needs to adjust. A good running quote: "Anybody can be a runner. We were meant to move. We were meant to run. It's the easiest sport."




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

$75 to watch boring Mayweather run for 12 rounds?




MLB


It's obvious whats going to happen, Mayweather will not fight he will just run, defend and avoid any excitement like trading shots. Worth $75 bucks or not?


Answer
Watch for free. I would never put money in Mayweathers pocket. Scumbag. If I pay for a boxing event you better believe I'd be expecting to hear:

"Ladies and Gentlemen, LLLLLLLLLET'S GET READY TO RUUUUMBLLLLLLLE!!"

Wouldn't be worth 5 dollars without that intro.

How come ladies have easier lives than men?

Q. us men have it so hard, but the ladies have life so easy, they dont have to go to work, they get to stay home and watch the kids, ladies can have any man they want they can cheat and get away with it, they can get a free cooie if they bat their eyelashes, ladies just have it sooo good!

AM I RIGHT?


Answer
1. We CAN go to work, but we don't want ignorant men like you raising our children.

2. When they stay home they have to run errands, clean the house, cook, watch the kids, get everything ready for the MAN of the house to come home and eat dinner while we slave over getting the newspaper for his highness to read.

3. Watching the kids is not an easy feat. You try to deal with crying babies, screaming toddlers, curious kids, and rebellious teenagers all day long while trying to get other things done.

4. We can NOT get any man we want. Men are typically more judgemental of looks than girls are, so if we're not playboy magazine pretty we have to compete over the few men that actually care about personality more than sex.

5. We can't cheat and get away with it. ABUSIVE BOYFRIEND ring a bell? And men cheat and get away with it all the time.

6. We cannot can a "free cookie" if we bat our eyelashes. Today's society doesn't work like that outside of a strip club.

Stop being sexist and actually know what you're talking about if you want to bash someone / something.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What pace to run a 5k in 20 minutes?




aBeautiful


I think i run at a 7:00-7:15 minute pace, so at what pace should I train?


Answer
i dont specifically know but:Make sure you are in shape, you do not want to hurt yourself.


2Train extensively for weeks before:
Run up hills. Be sure to be perpendicular to the hill and lift your knees.
Run in intervals. Run the mile 4 times, an 800 six times, a 600 eight times, or a 400 ten times. Vary these.
Practice speeding up when you run. Run a comfortable pace then speed up for about 50 to 100 meters then slow down again. Repeat.
Run hard courses. Most people do not run very fast when practicing so it is best to run hard courses to still speed up.
3This requires running at 6:26 pace for 3.1 miles. You need to be able to run at least a 6:00 mile before you run this 5k under 20 minutes.
4Rest before the big race. Do not do pushups or pullups or anything like that. Just stretch.
5Eat pasta for dinner.
6Go to bed early.
7Wake up not too early but save yourself enough time to eat a good, but light breakfast at least an hour before the race.
8Stay warm if it is cold, stretch.
9Warm up and stretch before going to the starting line.
10Do some quick sprints up to 100m right before the race.
11Start fast but not too fast. You don't want to run out of gas early.
12If there are mile markers you might want to check your time along the way. If you realize that you are running too slow then you can speed up.
Your first mile should be about 6:25, but preferrably faster.
13Get your second mile split. It should be under 13:00.
14Finish strong, sprint at the end.
15Check your time and celebrate.
Ads by Google
Down & Dirty Mud Run Mud Run Tour Visits NYC 5K or 10K obstacle challenge
www.downanddirtymudrun.com
Running for Nature Support Team Nature Conservancy in The SF Marathon on July 31st!
Nature.org/RunSF
EditTips

Eating pasta for dinner the night before will help.
Warming up and stretch is the key to a great race. Keep moving and stretching. Never get stiff.
Your time may suffer running on gravel bescause every step your foot slips a couple inches back this can add about 10 seconds per k to your time.
A good breakfast is a bagel with cream cheese or Smart Start Cereal right before the race. Avoid sugar.
Do not get too nervous. It will slow you down.
Be confident. If you know you will run it under 20:00 min, you probably will.
If you are really looking for a PR, do a road race. Running on asphalt is much faster than running on a trail. Also invest in racing spikes or flats. They can take as much as 15 seconds per mile off of your time.
EditWarnings

Do not push yourself too hard, it is dangerous. It should hurt but not too much.
Running on roads can be very dangerous; always watch for cars. Running on concrete (and asphalt to a lesser extent) can be hard on your joints , if something hurts stop running and see a doctor.

What are some good animals under $50?

Q. They MUST be in some sort of cage. I don't mind rodents or anything but no hamsters. Fish are allowed but no guppies or any of those small things. Please don't say hamster or Guinea pig because we owned them and they both died so I don't wanna "trade" them.


PS. What are those big fish that often live in aquariums? They are quite large and most chinese restaurants own them.
Invstrgadget Loves Kim Possible-YES! That's the one I was thinking of thanks! :]
Miley-Noo way!! :D


Answer
a dwarf bunny!
I used to have one,he was awesome,we let him run around the house during the day and put himin the cage at night. Just had to watch the cats around him. He could even use the littler box :)
RIP smoksters <3




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Need tips on running a 5k?




basketball


So I'm running my first ever 5k on Saturday and I need tips! I'm not on the cross country team but Im still in pretty good shape (my mile time was 7:04) and I've been playing basketball. It's not distance running but it keeps me in shape. So anyone have tips?


Answer
run the 5k once a day 4-5 days a week. don't do it every day because then you will burn yourself out and never have time to recover (like it kind of seems you are doing now). drink lots of water before you run not to get cramps, then do a 3-5 minute jog as a warm up. after that stretch out. you should stretch out after the warm up and not before (remember this because stretching out before is almost useless) when you are done with your workout then do a cool down (same as the warm up) and stretch again not to be sore the next day. get a watch to time yourself and preferably do this at a nearby track at a high school. make sure your running shoes aren't very old and worn out. a eat stuff with protein and after your workout drinking a glass of chocolate milk can help you muscles recover quicker then normal. anything that motivates you like music is also helpful. get a watch to time yourself and keep track of your progress. good luck with running and i hope this helps

How to run 5k????????

Q. I'm 13 and i'm not allowed out of the house by myself so i can't go running anytime i want. I'd be lucky if i got to run once in two weeks. I don't have a treadmill either. Is there any exercise i can do to help me run or am i stuck.


Answer
Try jump roping or doing high knees in place. You might also want to bound or do plyometrics in the house. Do pushup and situps, planks. Hopefully you have stairs so can do repeats. Try doing after school of possible or joining a Club or team. Running is mental so maybe listen more to podcasts, read Runner's World, training books, watch the Olympics or go online and watch video of running events. Watch their form and work on your motion. I think the trick is get good grades and tell your parents you really want to run. Pester the heck out of them. Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, April 14, 2014

FUN THINGS TO DO IN SUMMER?




*Nessa*


okay so my school ended 2 fridays ago. Last week and this weekend i just stayed home just relaxing. Now i have all my energy back. So what should i do? Besides hanging out with my friends. (i usually hang out with them on weekends.) Can you make a list or some thing? Thanks!


Answer
Play a prank on a friend
All Terrain Vehicle Riding
Go Bird Watching
Go Bungee Jumping
Whitewater Canoeing
Go Caving
Go Dirt Biking
Fishing - Whether it is deep sea, stream or fly - fish on!
Go for a Helicopter Ride
Go on a Sightseeing Plane Ride
Hot-air Balloon Ride
Orienteering
Go Scuba Diving
Go Skydiving
Ride a Roller Coaster
Go Cliff Jumping
Climb a Tree
Go Rock Climbing
Have some fun with your lover - get some ideas here
Play Paintball
Go Whitewater Rafting
Surfing / Wakeboarding / Water-skiing or some kind of adventure
Rent or get a ride in a convertible
Windsurfing
Geocaching GPS - Using a GPS you can search for treasure boxes that are hidden all over the world. Lots of fun and a great way to discover nooks and crannies of where you live.
GPS Adventuring - Go adventure somewhere with your GPS and mark your trail on your GPS as you go. No matter where you go you will find your way back.
Go Zorbing
Bike Around Your Local University Campus
Bike off a Dock Right into the Lake!
Shoot Some Hoops - you know - basketball hoops
Ride a Tandem Bike
Go on a Bicycle Tour
Go Mountain Biking
Go to a National Park and find a cool hiking trail
Fun Fitness - Start a fitness program based around only fun activities that give you a good cardio workout.
Street Hockey
In-line Skating
Jog at sunset with some really cool music on your Ipod

Have a Big Party - Party Appetizers, Party invitation - oh wait do you need a party idea? Go Here for Party Ideas

Learn to Juggle
Go Roller Skating
Enter a Running Race
Run a Mile
Steep Run - Run down the steepest hill you can find,
Go for a Look for Cool Rocks Hike
Play Ping Pong
Skateboarding
Go Snorkelling
Do a round of Speed Golf - That is golfing as fast as you can.
Play Soccer
Swim - with a bathing suit on or off - it's your choice.
Swim at the Bottom of a Waterfall
Get a new bathing suit or bikini and go Swim in a Pool
Go Swimming at the beach - at the lake or ocean
Bury a girl in the sand and give her "Extra" bits
Bury a guy in the sand and give him breasts

More Spontaneous Fun Things to Do

Play Tennis
Triathlon - Train and enter for a triathlon.
Play Baseball
Go for a Bike Ride
Play Volleyball
Relax - Hammock Time Spend the Entire Day by Yourself relaxing- unplug the phone, have a bath, read a book - whatever you want to do. Make sure you delte potential irritants. More ideas here
Have your own Olympi Games - Set up a series of events or obstacles courses. Only limited by your ability and imagination. Take it the extra step and arrange some medals for the awards ceremony.

Fun things to do in summer?

Q.


Answer
Play a prank on a friend
All Terrain Vehicle Riding
Go Bird Watching
Go Bungee Jumping
Whitewater Canoeing
Go Caving
Go Dirt Biking
Fishing - Whether it is deep sea, stream or fly - fish on!
Go for a Helicopter Ride
Go on a Sightseeing Plane Ride
Hot-air Balloon Ride
Orienteering
Go Scuba Diving
Go Skydiving
Ride a Roller Coaster
Go Cliff Jumping
Climb a Tree
Go Rock Climbing
Have some fun with your lover - get some ideas here
Play Paintball
Go Whitewater Rafting
Surfing / Wakeboarding / Water-skiing or some kind of adventure
Rent or get a ride in a convertible
Windsurfing
Geocaching GPS - Using a GPS you can search for treasure boxes that are hidden all over the world. Lots of fun and a great way to discover nooks and crannies of where you live.
GPS Adventuring - Go adventure somewhere with your GPS and mark your trail on your GPS as you go. No matter where you go you will find your way back.
Go Zorbing
Bike Around Your Local University Campus
Bike off a Dock Right into the Lake!
Shoot Some Hoops - you know - basketball hoops
Ride a Tandem Bike
Go on a Bicycle Tour
Go Mountain Biking
Go to a National Park and find a cool hiking trail
Fun Fitness - Start a fitness program based around only fun activities that give you a good cardio workout.
Street Hockey
In-line Skating
Jog at sunset with some really cool music on your Ipod

Have a Big Party - Party Appetizers, Party invitation - oh wait do you need a party idea? Go Here for Party Ideas

Learn to Juggle
Go Roller Skating
Enter a Running Race
Run a Mile
Steep Run - Run down the steepest hill you can find,
Go for a Look for Cool Rocks Hike
Play Ping Pong
Skateboarding
Go Snorkelling
Do a round of Speed Golf - That is golfing as fast as you can.
Play Soccer
Swim - with a bathing suit on or off - it's your choice.
Swim at the Bottom of a Waterfall
Get a new bathing suit or bikini and go Swim in a Pool
Go Swimming at the beach - at the lake or ocean
Bury a girl in the sand and give her "Extra" bits
Bury a guy in the sand and give him breasts

More Spontaneous Fun Things to Do

Play Tennis
Triathlon - Train and enter for a triathlon.
Play Baseball
Go for a Bike Ride
Play Volleyball
Relax - Hammock Time Spend the Entire Day by Yourself relaxing- unplug the phone, have a bath, read a book - whatever you want to do. Make sure you delte potential irritants. More ideas here
Have your own Olympi Games - Set up a series of events or obstacles courses. Only limited by your ability and imagination. Take it the extra step and arrange some medals for the awards ceremony.

Bounce on a Trampoline
Have a Wheelbarrow Race
Blueberries up Your Nose - - Ok this one does sound weird but it is still pretty fun. This is a contest where you stick a blueberry up your nose and try to blast it the farthest. ( see other strange fun ideas)
Play Some Boccie Ball
Have a Bonfire and Roast Marshmallows
Deck Lounging
Have a Big Scavenger Hunt with your friends - post all your clues on Twitter
Get Some Firecrackers - Remember Safety First
Have a Fondue or Make a Banana Split (other food ideas here)
Musical Chairs
Take Photos of Pets in funny hats, or glasses
Get tanning and soak up some sun
Start a Herb Garden
Have a Pillow Fight
Play Twister
Have a Water Fight with the Garden Hose, water balloons or water guns
Listen to Some Rock Music from a Totally Foreign Country
Have a Limbo Contest
Have a Paper Airplane Distance Contest
Photography - Get everyone to express the same emotion in a picture. Anger, confusion, glee, uneasiness, seduction etc..
Have a Talent Show - take some video with a digital camera and put it on Youtube
Plant a Time Capsule or something else creative
Pie Someone
Cloud Evaluation - Look for shapes in the clouds
Instead of spending money on airfare or a hotel room - have a backyard vacation
Start a diet plan and a workout routine




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I need a good skiing watch for under $50.?




N


it must have an altimeter and prefferebly have backlight. I've seen a few that have a rate of descent and a max run altitude so i would like that to. If it had could tell speed that would be nice, too.


Answer
I googled ski shops but living in Australia I found only shops here. Try looking on the internet in your country and look them up and maybe you'll find what you need.

I'm looking for a good watch to run with that will keep track of my pace, heart, calories...all the fun stuff?




CJC


Although I'm a little confused by all the offerings as well as the mixed reviews from users. Some say that the GPS on the garmin watches don't work - well that would be a shame not to get it. Some others say the Garmin 50 is too basic. Timex looks good, but doesn't have pace calculation (at least I dont think it does). So let loose people and tell me your thoughts!


Answer
You have 2 choices here, go for GPS or Footpod system. I prefer the GPS watches.

With the GPS you loose the signal a bit when you are in between tall buildings, under bridges and things like that so if you are running in a city footpod (like the Nike+ system) Might be better for you.

On the plus side, you can use them for multiple sports like cycling etc., the garmin ones let you download the data to google earth which is a nice facility and things like that. All will give you a pace display on the screen as you run. The better the watch and newer model and the gps gets more reliable. I've never had a problem with my Garmins GPS.


I'd say decide a budget for the watch and go to a running shop and check which ones do what, though I think the basic difference is that the gamin is all in one unit and the timex has a gps receiver separate from the watch (but the watch is smaller)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Small gps running watch?




Lily


I have very small wrists, I am a girl in high school, and am looking for a small gps watch. I just ordered the timex marathon and it arrived today, however i will return it because it is huge! I am looking into the garmin forerunner 110, which is in my price range (under or around $150) and on amazon they are a lot cheaper. I cant tell if the forerunner 110 is smaller than the timex marathon, does anyone know? If there is another small gps running watch that has pace, time, and distance, please share! Thank you!


Answer
I have small wrists, too. and i bought my Garmin 305 years ago. I was a little concerned about its size until I realized something. You want a really big display. First so that you can read it without your reading glasses (oh, i bet you don't have that problem) and also so it displays a lot of info all at once - that is easy to read.

You might be concerned about style and fashion points. But among runners, ANY GPS watch get points. Even my old 305 gets points because it is so darn functional.

if you want to learn about GPS watches, this site is great
http://www.dcrainmaker.com
he even has a female friendly section. BTW, his wife used to use a Garmin 310 but recently fell in love with the Polar RCX3.


Besides Garmin and Timex, you might also want to look at the Nike GPS or one of the Polar models.

If you go to Amazon you can search for "women's GPS" and get a nice list.

I'm looking for a running watch that diplays both the split time and overall time simutaneously.?




tTate


I know the Garmin has it, just looking for something more cost effective. Not interested in the GPS. My Nike and Ironman have splits and overall but not on the screen at the same time. Thank you~


Answer
I don't know about you, but I've got an Ironman that's got splits and overall on the same screen...however, it's a women's watch, and I don't know what it's called, since it was a gift. I do know that they've got a male counterpart...just letting you know that Ironman does have one out there. Not as much help as it could be, but hope this helps a little.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What training/GPS watch to buy?




Leonard Mc


Hello,
as i have mentioned before i am kind of a beginner runner. Im doing quite well, already have placed running in my every day schedule . Ive read about all these training /GPS running watches on the market and i think i should buy one. I would love to track my training and i also saw that some have set programmes but im so confused on picking the right one for me. Please help!
Thanks!



Answer
Ahh, the watch search..
Been there, done that, love to share.

First off, it totally depends on what stats you are looking for and how much money you willing to spend.
There are watches that track distance, calories, pace, time and heart rate if you get a heart rate monitor (i would advise that, specially as a smoker).

There are watches that track all the above while cycling or swimming too. In fact there are even watches that have even a barometric altimeter, compass and a hunt/fish calendar..Ok yeah i know, not for running, but still its amazing.
As Apollenaire stated above me, i swear by garmin too.

If you want to expand your training to cycling and swimming, i strongly recommend the Garmin Forerunner 310xt. Its as far as i know the only watch out there that can deliver on all 3 modes and is 100% waterproof. http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/whrm-review-the-ultimate-tool-or-just-another-stop-watch/
If you want to just have a watch to track your running and all that in a really really really simple way, id get the Forerunner 110. Its made just for running and is as easy to use as a stop watch.(plus it looks too cool and comes in many colors) http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/garmin-forerunner-110-gps-sport-watch-with-heart-rate-monitor-review-think-pink/

Note: if you do get a heart rate monitor and you dont like the strap , good thing about garmin is that you can buy a polar strap and it will work fine with the garmin transmitor, but the polar transmitor doesnt work with a garmin watch.

Take care and keep running!!

What is the best GPS watch?




Nicholas


I am a high school cross country and track runner and I am looking for a GPS watch to use for the main reasons of tracking pace during runs and track work outs. I have narrowed down my search to three watches, the Garmin FR 210, the Nike Sportswatch GPS, and the Motorola Motoactv. Key points are that they are sweat resistant ( I sweat a lot), have accurate GPS's and current pace features, and will last for years. I have researched as much as I can about these watches, but could anyone tell me from experience which they think is better?


Answer
The Garmins are readily the most popular.

Mainly be aware that any GPS doesn't work very well on a track -- they'll cut corners with the constant curves unless you set them to every second recording (which fills up memory quickly), and even then they're not ideal. People also aren't always happy with the instant pacing features -- pacing tends to do better if you can handle it at a "lap pace" level -- something that essentially uses a 20-second moving window to tell you your pace within it. Instantaneous can jump around too much.

Anyway, I'd personally go with the Garmin for any "normal" running. For a track where you know the distances, just use it as a stopwatch.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, April 13, 2014

NY dog runs ...?




finka s


I am trying to find a dog run for small dogs in NYC or Brooklyn.
Does anyone know one? where dogs like pit bulls, retrievers and other bigger dogs arenât allowed?

Thanks



Answer
The small dog runs that I know of are in Manhattan. There are separate areas in Tompkins Sq Park as well as the 23rd st run (at B'way and 5th)
The people in Prospect Park are very cool and off-leash hours there are posted here:

http://fidobrooklyn.com/

My suggestion to you is to watch out for your dog, as nobody else will. Most people walking their dogs there are aware of what their dogs are doing, but not all. Don't be shy about saying something to people whose dogs are getting too pushy with yours.

I just want to run away. Help?




Tori


I honestly don't know where to begin. I'm just so unhappy with myself. Please don't tell me to go to counseling, call a hotline, talk to family and friends, or just learn to love myself, because for right now, none of that is going to happen.
I'm a teenager so I guess this stuff is normal but i honestly just hate my life and myself
I feel like a failure, I'm good at nothing. I have zero confidence, and I'm so humble to the point here it's not even humble, it's scary actually.
I play piano, and I'm into music, I have been for the past six years. I've never made any music or sports thing that I've tried out for
I feel so alone
Yes, I talk sometimes, I'm shy but I can open up, but I feel so different from the rest of the world. It's like I'm walking around all of the cliques and I'm just invisible. You would have to be in my position to understand what I'm trying to say, but to be honest, I don't even know what I'm trying to say.
I want to be smart, I have a 4.3 and I'm disappointed. I hate school, i hate it so much. I hate the cliques, mostly the kids, the teachers, the prison like concepts (we even can't walk around without our ID's) the brainwashing, and part of it because I have stomach issues, like IBS. it's so hard for me to go to school, i miss so much because I'm just always getting sick and i don't even want to be there in the first place.
The thing I hate most about myself above all is my height. I'm 5'2 ish. I cannot stand it, I live in a small suburb, which I hate. My life revolves around fashion. I spend the weekends watching documentaries on designers, modeling, making collages, fashion designing, sewing, researching, watching modeling/fashion shows, taking self taken images of my self trying to model, reading books on fashion, EVERYTHING fashion which sucks because the only interest people have here in fashion is shopping at Forever 21. I want to model so bad. I have never done any drug, nor will I ever, and I have never been to a "party"... but I wanted to take HGH to grow because modeling is my dream. I don't want to be a commercial model, my heart lies in Runway, and I feel like all of my dreams are so far fetched. I need to grow, no ifs ands or buts. I just feel so lost in this world, I guess that's what I'm trying to get it. I just want to runaway to NYC. is there a shelter there? I'm just so unhappy with myself. I also have an Eating Disorder that nobody knows about
& seborrheic dermatitis, and I don't feel comfortable in my own hair.
The only thing I do like would be my personality so I guess that's a start.
I just feel like no good. I have no energy to do anything by societies standards. Thanks for taking the time to read this.



Answer
Please ditch the idea of running away NYC or anywhere. You will probably end up a victim of the sex slave trade.

You aren't alone in your high school dilemma. If you hate it that much, see if you can home school in a way that helps you get what is legally required in a more fun way that is suited to your interests and learning style and lets you connect with people more like you. It is a super-creative alternative, it is whatever you make of it. Message me if you want more info on that.

It is tempting to wish for things you cannot have. I hated being taller than nearly every guy in high school and college. I would have given a lot to be petite, because no insecure/shallow boy (most of 'em) ever invites the tallest girl to dance. Now I don't mind being tall. I embrace the advantages and don't worry about the disadvantages. (And I found my cute guy and have been happily married 27 years). You would be wise to do the same. Being petite, and 5'2" has its pluses and minuses. Focus on the pluses.

You are reading way too much into the joys of being a runway model. Constant dieting, walking in ways that are really bad for your back, constantly being taken at face value (you are a prime candidate for becoming a victim of this mentality and really suffering for it). If you love runway, fine, be involved at some level...maybe start a trend for petite runway models. Seriously. If "little people" can become a reality TV sensation, along with trailer park citizens, rich but tacky "housewives of" various places, overweight redneck toddler pageant contestants, overweight people catering people with big bodies and big boobies, pest control specialists who wear lots of spikes and skulls - seriously, girl, anything is possible. But only if you live to accomplish it. Running away to NYC and ignoring your depression and Eating Disorder are NOT the way to go.

If you don't feel like you have enough energy to do anything by "society's standards," then maybe you need to re-evaluate what society is asking of you. If you are honest, kind, helpful when asked, and respectful of others and their property (including helping your folks keep the house tidy and clean) and take a bath from time to time, you are probably doing just fine when it comes to "society."

You have some health issues that are creating problems, so you need to deal with them. While I can't promise that doctors can solve your issues, you should check in with them periodically and consider their suggestions and prescriptions. Especially when it comes to the emotional issues that are impacting your Eating! Whether you don't eat, or binge-purge, or have some bizarre addiction, you need to understand that you are damaging the foundation of your health AND beauty. Get help. Now. Your tendency toward depression and running away can be worked on at the same time. There are some natural approaches that may help your other conditions. Message me if interested.

Lay a foundation for a healthy, happy, beautiful life. Seriously, start with babysteps like these:
But go to bed at a reasonable hour.
Get into the sunshine (vitamin D! and happy hormones!) and exercise daily for about 15-30 minutes
To have a sexy, model-ready body, do T-Tapp 2-3x per week, and walk on the other days
Make your bed, tidy your room and bathroom every day
Sign up for Flylady's free daily emails, read and absorb. It may seem like a weird idea at first, but trust me on this.
I don't have room for an essay on nutrition and mental health, but maybe you should start researching that yourself.

Since you love fashion, you might love the Dressing Your Truth and Energy Profiling videos as much as I do. There are quite a few on youtube. I actually bought the four courses, one for each beauty type, and it is probably the best I've ever seen out of all the (huge number!) of personality and appearance type programs and theories I've ever read. Only this one is mostly video content, very practical, with ongoing learning. The reason I thought of it for you is because you have yet to discover and embrace your unique beauty AND you love fashion. You could go crazy (in a good way!) creating things for yourself and others with this information. Just search around youtube for DYT, Dressing Your Truth, Energy Profiling, Carol Tuttle, "The four types talk about" and just follow the fascinating trail. You can learn a fair amount just by watching the free stuff, if you are observant enough. But most of all, Carol - the program developer and main instructor - is trying really hard to help free women from negative messages about their appearance that they get from society, and encourage them to own their own look - and gives them the tools and principles to guide their own creative ideas.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I'm looking for a good watch to run with that will keep track of my pace, heart, calories...all the fun stuff?




CJC


Although I'm a little confused by all the offerings as well as the mixed reviews from users. Some say that the GPS on the garmin watches don't work - well that would be a shame not to get it. Some others say the Garmin 50 is too basic. Timex looks good, but doesn't have pace calculation (at least I dont think it does). So let loose people and tell me your thoughts!


Answer
You have 2 choices here, go for GPS or Footpod system. I prefer the GPS watches.

With the GPS you loose the signal a bit when you are in between tall buildings, under bridges and things like that so if you are running in a city footpod (like the Nike+ system) Might be better for you.

On the plus side, you can use them for multiple sports like cycling etc., the garmin ones let you download the data to google earth which is a nice facility and things like that. All will give you a pace display on the screen as you run. The better the watch and newer model and the gps gets more reliable. I've never had a problem with my Garmins GPS.


I'd say decide a budget for the watch and go to a running shop and check which ones do what, though I think the basic difference is that the gamin is all in one unit and the timex has a gps receiver separate from the watch (but the watch is smaller)

What pace to run a 5k in 20 minutes?




aBeautiful


I think i run at a 7:00-7:15 minute pace, so at what pace should I train?


Answer
i dont specifically know but:Make sure you are in shape, you do not want to hurt yourself.


2Train extensively for weeks before:
Run up hills. Be sure to be perpendicular to the hill and lift your knees.
Run in intervals. Run the mile 4 times, an 800 six times, a 600 eight times, or a 400 ten times. Vary these.
Practice speeding up when you run. Run a comfortable pace then speed up for about 50 to 100 meters then slow down again. Repeat.
Run hard courses. Most people do not run very fast when practicing so it is best to run hard courses to still speed up.
3This requires running at 6:26 pace for 3.1 miles. You need to be able to run at least a 6:00 mile before you run this 5k under 20 minutes.
4Rest before the big race. Do not do pushups or pullups or anything like that. Just stretch.
5Eat pasta for dinner.
6Go to bed early.
7Wake up not too early but save yourself enough time to eat a good, but light breakfast at least an hour before the race.
8Stay warm if it is cold, stretch.
9Warm up and stretch before going to the starting line.
10Do some quick sprints up to 100m right before the race.
11Start fast but not too fast. You don't want to run out of gas early.
12If there are mile markers you might want to check your time along the way. If you realize that you are running too slow then you can speed up.
Your first mile should be about 6:25, but preferrably faster.
13Get your second mile split. It should be under 13:00.
14Finish strong, sprint at the end.
15Check your time and celebrate.
Ads by Google
Down & Dirty Mud Run Mud Run Tour Visits NYC 5K or 10K obstacle challenge
www.downanddirtymudrun.com
Running for Nature Support Team Nature Conservancy in The SF Marathon on July 31st!
Nature.org/RunSF
EditTips

Eating pasta for dinner the night before will help.
Warming up and stretch is the key to a great race. Keep moving and stretching. Never get stiff.
Your time may suffer running on gravel bescause every step your foot slips a couple inches back this can add about 10 seconds per k to your time.
A good breakfast is a bagel with cream cheese or Smart Start Cereal right before the race. Avoid sugar.
Do not get too nervous. It will slow you down.
Be confident. If you know you will run it under 20:00 min, you probably will.
If you are really looking for a PR, do a road race. Running on asphalt is much faster than running on a trail. Also invest in racing spikes or flats. They can take as much as 15 seconds per mile off of your time.
EditWarnings

Do not push yourself too hard, it is dangerous. It should hurt but not too much.
Running on roads can be very dangerous; always watch for cars. Running on concrete (and asphalt to a lesser extent) can be hard on your joints , if something hurts stop running and see a doctor.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers