Saturday, March 22, 2014

What should I do in New Zealand?




High Perfo


Working on a trip there. What should I do and not do?
I didn't see a New Zealand section. The recommended sections they offer you are always crap.

Anyway, maybe some Aussies have vacationed there.



Answer
Obviously it depends where in New Zealand you are planning to go, and what interests you. New Zealand has the Southern Alps where there can be good skiing if you are going within the next two and a half months. The runs aren't very long but there are some great views and the fields are well maintained. Places in that vicinity like Wanaka, Queenstown and Arrowtown are also really picturesque especially in winter. That area has some great bungee jumping, also luge rides, skydiving, and hang-gliding. There are also some great few day hikes around there (e.g. Keplar track). You can also take small plane rides. Arrowtown also has something where you can search for gold for a few minutes, and you can keep the flakes you find. If you like shellfish Bluff is pretty famous for fresh osyters are stuff. Further up Dunedin has the railway station which is one of those 'must see before you die' places apparently. There's also Otago University in Dunedin which has some really great architecture, old and new. Dunedin also has an Albatross colony, which is really pretty. Cromwell is also in Central Otago. It's just by the Clyde dam, which is pretty awesome, and has old Cromwell, which is a leftover from goldmining days. Christchurch I don't know much about. There is dolphin watching experience on the west coast which has had pretty good reviews. Wellington is a great place to stay for a few days. There is the touristy stuff like Somes Island, Te Papa, the Lookout on Mt Victoria etc. Also there is the Karori Wildlife Sanctuary which is an awesome place to spend a couple of hours. Besides that Wellington is kinda like the cultural hub of New Zealand. The commonly quoted statistic is that Wellington has a higher density of cafe's/restaurants/bars than New York. There are also some great bushwalks and stuff around there. There is Staglands a couple of hours drive from there which is all animals and stuff. Quite cool, since they are all tame. Further up there are things like Waitomo Caves with glowworms and some AMAZING underground rides (including blackwater!). Hastings and that whole area has some of the best vineyards in the world (also Central Otago has those). Napier has all the art deco buildings that were erected just after the massive earthquake. Mount Egmont is a pretty amazing sight, and there are some great bushwalks around there. Rotorua also is really really interesting what with all of the geothermal activity that goes on around there. Also, you can see miniature (natural) pink and white terraces, that give you an idea of the "awesomeness" that existed before the Tarawera eruption. Coromandel is that quintessential beachy solitude. Also Marlborough Sounds is great for quiet beachy things. You can rent a boat there and sail around wherever you want, if you are confident in your sailing ability. Auckland is huge. It sprawls all over the place. There is Waiheke Island up there that is quite pretty and beachy. You can also see White Island. You can go to the lighthouse in the Northernmost part of NZ, although it's a bit of a mission for not much payoff really. But it's nice to say that you've been. That's all mainly naturey stuff so far. It basically all comes down to what YOU want/like to do. Also how long you are going to be in New Zealand, and what kind of trip you want (whether you want to spend your whole trop exploring one area, or if you want to bounce around... Still, whatever you decide, New Zealand is AWESOME and you won't regret the trip! Oh and in Wellington there are Weta Workshop studios (where Peter Jackson made stuff for Lord Of The Rings) and I'm pretty sure they are doing tours, if you're interested.

Who thought New Zealand would score three on Italy?

Q. http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=266772&cc=5901&league=FIFA.FRIENDLY

I'm impressed by the 3 goals...
@ Bella: I didn't see the game but now I wished I did. New Z is not that bad. Good win for Italy..

@ Marco: *Cough* England 6-0 Andorra *Cough*
I agree that these games are better than blow outs except if it's Barça blowing away Real Madrid....


Answer
2 came from corner kicks that Amelia f*ucked up on and the other from a penalty, italy scored their 4 beautiful goals in the run of play. Don't get me wrong New Zealand put up a good fight against us, especially considering they didn't make as many substitutions as we did but still :P

it was a great game

oh and pirlo played awesome =D

yeah Dubya, it was an exciting one, New Zealand's tougher than most might think
Marco i just finished watching the repeat, the commentators were raving about Pirlo's passes :P hehe
I'd be happier for him if i wasn't so upset with him! hmph!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Good running watches?




hanako0848


I'm running cross country this year as a senior and this is the first time my coach has asked us to buy a watch. I'm not sure what kind of watch to get....The coach wants a watch a that will be able to keep my mile splits. Could you give me some ideas? I don't want to spend more than thirty dollars on this watch. thanks.


Answer
I use Timex Iron man watches, they are cheap and you can get your splits, and they also have a timer so you can use them for interval running.
I think my last one was less than $30.

What is a good time watch for running?




Jorge Vill


I'm looking for something that might have laps or something as distance set compared to time viseversa. Something that could running oriented.

I have been looking at some Casio's Ilumminators, still not sure if my best option.

Also I am not looking to spend 500 dlls on a watch, my budget would be 80 dlls tops.



Answer
I have a Timex Ironman watch. I bought it for $30 at Target. It holds 30 splits, when you split, it will show you your overall time and current split time. It is water resistant up to 100m (more than enough for me). It has a count down timer (I use for core workouts). You can even set it to have an alarm remind you of special days coming up (too much work for me to use this option). I love this watch. It was not expensive and is comfortable and lightweight.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, March 21, 2014

What do I need to start running?




Maureen E


I am 49 years old, I am overweight by 40-50 lbs. I am apple shaped. I have been cleared to exercise by my doctor. I have no heart issues. I have sleep apnea only because I'm fat. I need to break the obesity chain NOW and start getting active. I want to start running. I joined the local YMCA so now, there are NO excuses. Its a brand new facility and they have an indoor track.

I want to know what basic things I should have to have a successful start. I know there are some really fantastic shoes, clothing, etc out there for avid runners. I am not ready to spend $200 on a pair of custom made running shoes - YET! I am looking for good solid advice on what kind of shoes and clothing to buy as a beginner, but remember, I'm obese, so the the cute sports bra and short shorts would not be a wise choice. In fact, thats another question. I read somewhere that compression type clothing is good for ah - us plus size people- is this true? I have an iPhone and I have an app from coolrunnings called "couch to 5K" that will help me get my stamina up and help me reach my goal of running a 5K sometime in the future. I have great music I can play so I am set on a program but welcome those as well. I just want to make sure I'm using "decent" shoes so I don't cause problems. I want to make this work.



Answer
Hope I can help - I'm female, just turned 50, short (5'3) at least 30 pounds overweight, NEVER ran in my life before 2010, and I have a failing thyroid, so losing weight and having energy are lost causes.

First, your feet - don't skimp on them. Nothing is worse than sore feet due to the wrong type of shoes. You will not need $200 customized shoes. If there is a local running store near you (something like fleet feet, not Sports Auth) head there. Most will perform a gait analysis in which they should (not always) videotape your legs as you run/walk on a treadmill, and should recommend the right type of shoe for your particular feet.

Most likely, you might be recommended stability, motion control or cushioned shoes since you (and I) are heavy. Different brands of the same type of shoe will feel different on your feet. In the 2 years I've been 'running' (since I am still very slow), I've gone through brands like Mizuno and Asics, and my latest shoes are Brooks Trance 10, which have lasted me over 500 miles. Depending on the type of shoe you will need, you can spend around $100, but some brands will markdown a year-old style when the new one comes out (the Trance 10, for example, is now on sale in a lot of places since the Trance 11 is already out). Invest in your feet. It will make them happy.There is no such thing as a best brand of shoe. I started on Mizuno Inspires, which gave me blisters under my toes, yet my Mizuno Elixirs are wonderful.

As for other gear, a good running bra is literally priceless, and a decent one will cost more than some things at Victoria's Secret. I personally HATE compression tops. There are several decent brands of running tops made for wide chests/bigguns; my favorite is Champion Max 360. Other brands are New Balance and Moving Comfort. Sometimes Hanes has some nice bras. Just look for something with wide straps, as the narrow straps will cut grooves in your shoulders.

For the rest of the gear, remember the mantra: cotton is rotten. Sweat can cause chaffing in some interesting places, and sweaty cotton clothing not only feels uncomfortable, it seemingly gets heavy. The C9 line (champion) that you can find at Target is a great inexpensive line of workout gear. Ebay is also a great place to get gear, just look for heatgear or dri-fit or stuff like that.

I like compression shorts and capris. Nike makes some decent stuff, CW-X is in my opinion wonderful (tends to be pricey), but I have a pair of shorts that has lasted me so far 2 years, and yes, putting on compression clothing is like putting on support hose. If you opt for loser pants, pick undies that are stretchy and non-cotton. Socks - unless it's a type of sock that has some sweat-wicking ability, stay away from cotton - New Balance, Nike and Asics have decent ones.

For ALL your workout gear, tops, bras, pants, socks, they will last longer if you wash them WITHOUT fabric softener, and line dry only. Don't wash your shoes. Just don't.

For other stuff, a decent hat will protect you from some sun, and will keep hair away from the face. Again, cotton will just get soggy and leave a lovely line of acne across your forehead (<-personal experience). If you want to spend some funds, invest in a decent heart-rate monitor and GPS watch (Garmin, Nike and Polar are three popular brands); if you're running indoors, you can use a footpod that can help calculate your speed and distance. Hydration is important, you can use a hand-held or a hydration belt.

A running log. My sister gave me a yearlong diary that I use. I plan a run/race, made a running schedule, and after a run, I would jot down the distance, time, weather and what pair of shoes I was wearing (to help keep track of mileage, since some shoes will begin to break down at around 350 miles). This can be as simple as a regular notebook, a month-at-a-glance calendar, anything that can help you keep track of your progress.

For starting runners, c25k is great. Other free online programs are available; Hal Hidgon among others. You can access online running forums like the beginning runners forum at runnersworld.com for lots of advice and encouragement.

For music, you can try a few running podcasts with music set to specific beats per minute. My two favorites (once you get past the first few minutes of talking) are Podrunner and Motiontraxx. They're free, and you can find them on iTunes or right from their websites.

Good luck!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

where can I watch Kite Runner on-line for free?




Sonia


I have looked every where. I did find a website, however, the quality was not eligible enough to watch.


Answer
http://www.watch-movies.net/movies/the_kite_runner/

i think you need Firefox for it though;

Runners watch for high school kid?




greenfrogt


My niece is in high school and she runs track and cross country. Her birthday is coming up and she's talked about getting the Nike + Sports Watch GPS, but I think that's an over kill. I'm looking for a runner's watch that can tell her mileage and such, but does not have a GPS, because I don't think that's necessary. Can you help me out?


Answer
Well, most watches that will track your mileage have a GPS in them because that is the way that the watch track his far you have run.

However, Nike has a watch that has a foot sensor that you put in your shoe that tracks the number of steps you take. If you calibrate the step distance correctly, you can get an accurate distance that you have run. These watches are also significantly cheaper then the GPS watches out there.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What shoes best simulate barefoot running while protecting the feet?




David J


I figure the ideal shoe would be one that was very light on the foot inducing even pressure over the non-grounded parts, very thin and even in the sole to allow the foot to meet the ground with a natural attitude, and tough enough to protect the sole while still allowing flexibility.


Answer
Two shoes I can think of I actually own about 3 prs. in the 1st one and are very comfortable to run in and train in but no more than 10% of a weeks running. They are Nike Air Rift http://www.papermag.com/blogs/2009/02/market_watch_air_rift_by_nike.php Rifts usually weight around 8 oz. for women and 9 oz. for men and can be worn barefoot or with unusual split toe socks. Then these I seen from someone else asking the closest thing to barefoot running vibramfivefingers here is what they look like http://vibramfivefingers.com/

"What Women Want" (The Movie) Quotes.?




SaveEggsCr


In the movie Mel Gibson is trying to advertise for Nike. Now I know they come up with the slogan "No games, just sports."
But what was the full commercial when the woman is running on the road and Mel is presenting the commercial to the Nike representitives?



Answer
certainly funny and entertaining, but it also strikes at some deeper truths about the contemporary state of male-female relationships.You can watched Movies Here
http://www.80millionmoviesfree.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, March 20, 2014

How to become a pro runner (female)?







Ok so I enjoy running,but I would like to try out for track next school year and it is the second week of my summer, soo i think i have some time. I think i have long legs but i dont think i would make the track team as i am now. I would like to run long distance and i am only going to 8th grade.so if there was an exercise rountine and/ or workkout plan i could use to help me improve my running speed and my physical fitness (i wish to not get tired as easily) and if you could tell me when i should start to see some results...it helps me to see a finish line or when i have reached a goal. thank you so much, I really appreciate your help (in adv.) you have no idea how much i want to make the track team.
P.S. I have access to a public 7 mile (one way) trail,, //some// workout equipment....and i have a large yard (a couple acres) but there are some hills.... and a small mountain w/ trail,
Dont put a stupid short answer please!



Answer
Compete and win races. Run a lot. There are great tips on the Runner's World web site - it can help you plan a training schedule. There is a TON of free info there. It is also a great magazine. You might be able to get it at your library.

If your junior high doesn't have a team, then go and talk to the high school coach. I'm sure he or she'd LOVE to talk to you. You could even probably train with them.

And PS. Once you start running a lot, get your parents to take you to a good running store and get measured properly for running shoes. They should check your arch and if it is a good store they will put you on a treadmill and watch you run. The right running shoes are very important.

I think a good workout is speed work once week, long and slow run once a week, and maybe hills once a week. The rest of the days should just be easy runs. Trail runs are fun. Be sure and take one day a week off and don't increase your mileage more than 10% per week. The rest of the info you can get from the web site and your future coach. Just get out and run. Even if you have to walk every other minute, so what, do it and eventually you will get better. I'm a 40 year old guy who went from barely being able to able to run 2 miles to running 15 miles in one year.

The best advice that I can give is just to enjoy running. I made the mistake of running because I thought I had to do it. Then I stopped. It took me 20 years to remember that it is fun.

When will you see results? That really depends. If you don't run a lot now, then you will see results fast. Either way, keep a running log so you can measure your progress. That web site also has a free running log. Drop me aline and let me know how it goes!

Who is the best female extreme metal vocalist?




Sato


eg. Angela Gossow from Arch Enemy, Vivian Slaughter from Gallhammer, Melissa from Adorior, even Lisa from Xandria does some death grunts. Are there more and who is the best?
Preferbly Black Metal, Death Metal, Thrash, Grindcore etc.



Answer
Sabina Classen of Holy Moses is my #1 favorite!

End Of Time
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0akBho3jig
World Chaos
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AJDF90ETgw

Runner up is Metallic Kitty of Decadence and Triton Enigma

Decadence - Discharge
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeYOHezj5bA
Triton Enigma - Into My Reality
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXeufmNvFTk

Up and coming, Sofiya Raykova of Tantal

Suicide
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yk9MZ4ddYLA




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Australia BEATS New Zealand by 149 runs!!!!?




Fame


Mitchell Johnson takes 9 wickets, and scores 36 runs. Yesterday Australia setted a target of 327 runs. Apparently NZ was failed and was bowled for 177/10. I will wonder what Daniel Vettori has to say about this!!


Scoreboard- http://content-www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/351679.html?CMP=OTC-GCN
Plus- Australia leads the series 1-0.
MOM- Mitchell Johnson



Answer
Yes, I have been watching, Its great to see Australia winning again isnt it? The only question is when will Ponting start scoring again?
Lets do the victory dance. Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! Oi! Oi! Oi!.

9 wickets for Mitchell & MOM!! Jenna is probably going bananas at the moment.

Are you watching 4th ODI NZ VS AUS?




right path





Answer
Yep... and time to vent!!!
Black Caps are 1 match wonders!
They have experience and skill but are a little thick when it comes to playing oz... YOU DO NOT GIVE THE AUSSIES AN INCH WHEN PLAYING THEM.
Started well... then absolute mind explosions and dumb dumb shot selection... Why? we had a good run rate...
All 4 dismissals where not made from good bowling but crap shot selection.
They'll be lucky now to reach 240.. and in this match to be competitive they'll need 300 plus!
I know I'm going to upset some BC fans but seriously... time to be honest!
So Frustrating.. & disappointing sorry!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

What website can I listen and watch music videos?

Q. Im dieing to listen to music!


Answer
There is only really 1 I can think of for it, and others that are small not so good alternatives, 1 is http://music.yahoo.com , the alternatives are simple http://www.youtube.com and http://video.google.co.uk/ yahoo music is really good, if it runs slow, then lower the settings, lowering the settings lowers screen resolution mainly and sometimes the sound quality. But even the lowest setting will only be a little bit lower than youtube and Google video quality. There is also AOL MUSIC http://music.aol.com/ For Yahoo! Music and AOL Music you will be required to sign in to continue listening to most features, but that shouldn't be a problem as you can use the same Yahoo! Username you do for Yahoo! Answers. Artists will list some of their songs on their own websites, such as http://www.theused.net/ or their myspace page (doesn't require logging in) such as http://myspace.com/shels also Pure Volume http://www.purevolume.com/ has a lot of Rock Music Videos and Songs for listening to without signing in.

Where can i find more Music like this?




jake2632


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=stoI6P6Xf4o
Luxemberg, That's the worst answer ive ever been given for any single question ive ever asked.



Answer
I think (hopefully) what your looking for is ambient music (and possibly some post rock) and a good place to start getting it would be from meeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Check out these artists; (sorry there are so few I ran outta time)
Brian Eno; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNiKkCEkpSY
Chihei Hatakeyama; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZqOuSLygh8&feature=related
Auburn Lull; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3WqT2uplFk
Stars of the Lid; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PE50PZG5aw

Hope i helped




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

who watches sports?




Brian S





Answer
I watch sports sports! lol.

I watch Soccer, Boxing, Track and field (including road running and XC), Rugby and Swimming.

Cheers for the awesome question. *SARCASM*

Cross Country/Swimming?




Dusty


ok im thinking of either joining cross country next year or swimming. I have no experience in swimming but i run 3 miles four to five times a week. If i were to choose swimming i would do a summer league or something so that im not completly clue less when the season starts. I would like to know the ups and downs to each sport and what each is like. And also just any other information i should know about each. Or even better if someone has been in both please tell which they enjoyed better. Thank you


Answer
You should swim because 1) it's the best sport 2) it tones arms, chest, your entire body instead of just your legs (which nobody cares about) 3)there are more strokes to do 4) there are more drills to do 5) if you swim, you'll need to run to train for it anyway 6) each race isn't as long 7) you won't stink of sweat 8) you can eat a lot 9) it doesn't get boring as easily 10) you don't need to listen to music to stay interested 11) there are so many things to perfect (dives, turns, early vertical forearm) 12) it's more fun to watch videos about how to improve, learn about 13) there are more physics involved so thats cool to know 14) swimmers can swim, something not everybody in the world can do 15) runners can only run fast, if you stay on the streets long enough that will happen anyway.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

If Ron Paul runs for president 2012, will you be voting for him?




Your Favor


I will.
Some say he's going to be to old, which is sadly true. But he has a wonderful son running for US Senate in Kentucky.
So if he run will you vote for him? He warned us about 0bama, and he was right. I trust this man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijRpGCBwLuw
Please watch this 2 minute video of Ron warning about Obama, before you answer. Thanks

http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x93/sonicspikesalbum/Campaign%20VI/Toldja.jpg
Marla- Grow up? I'm SICK of getting taxed the hell out of!! I can't even go to the movies, my Tv is gone. The only entertainment we have is the internet. I know I'm not the only one either, some have it way worse. YOU need to grow up.



Answer
If America lasts until 2012 (In reviewing the past 6 months, I myself think either civil war II, or totalitarian Fascist government will happen long before then)
If our electable choices are yet again between two CFR members,(as they always are) and he runs... he would get my vote again!
If Ron Paul makes it to being a main stream candidate He would get my vote then too! It's time we ALL start voting for leaders...which are those who believe in serving the best interests of our nation...not the Federal Reserve CFR agenda!
As anyone who uses their eyes can now see beyond all doubt...The lesser evil is still evil, and is taking our nation straight to hell!
The CFR members are the insiders within our government working to serve the Federal Reserve's agenda. The Federal Reserve agenda is to kill America(as we're witnessing) to create a New World Order/Global government.
Therfore I vote against any, and all CFR members period!

Is it advisable to review some smart TVs before your purchase?




Roger


In the coming month my sister in law is going to purchase her smart tv. Yesterday we were discussing about it and I suggested that she read some online reviews before she buys one. She said she doesn't need to read them, since she doesnât believe in such reviews. Wha's your opinion?


Answer
As it is always advisable to read reviews on a product before purchasing, I find smart TV something you'll have to try out for yourself. Smart TV isn't for everyone. There are people who enjoy TVs for purely watching programs and movies and there are people who want their TV to run like a smart phone. I personally love smart TV. I've had great fun using smart TVs in the past and they seem to get better every year. I've tried the Viera platform on my VT30 and it runs great although it can lag sometimes. I also have a newer 2012 LG LM 9600 (calibrated) model and the smart TV runs much faster. It even outperforms a normal laptop - HDTV hook up in pure speed. One thing I really like about my LG smart tv though is the remote. You can speak into the mic (built-in) for typing which is very time efficient when internet surfing. Typing in URL's on my viera can take forever.

Go to a retailer and check out all smart TVs and then decide. The decision is ultimately yours.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, March 17, 2014

Can someone tell me if this website is selling real stuff goforkicks.com because they have good testimonials?




Rajief


I want some foamposite electrolimes and it is 150 on this site . I was talking to someone live and they said its 100% authentic and that they have ssl global certificate which is people that go on the website and see if they are selling authentic stuff . It looks real to me


Answer
They are being sneaky in using U.S. hosting and registration address, but there are signs enough that they are selling fakes:

The same registration info is used for Shoesaround.com, had bad reviews (is now inactive)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1izeY0E-EA
http://www.scambook.com/browse/index/company/28947/ShoesAround.com
http://www.ripoffreport.com/sporting-good-manufactures/shoes-around/shoes-around-solar-footwear-f-92714.htm

One of the site copies showing the same toll free#, airjordan-retro.tk is registered to an Amsterdam address.

streetretro.com is another copy with the same registration info, with some bad reviews:
http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/www.streetretro.com
http://www.scambook.com/report/view/98516/streetretro.com--Bait---Switch-for-300.00-on-04-05-2012
http://www.scamfound.org/f13/streetretro-com-site-sells-worst-knockout-shoes-ive-ever-seen-147537.html


It happens to share a file server with 9 counterfeit sites, mostly Beats.

95% of the sneaker sites people ask about here turn out to be Chinese knock-off sites, you have to assume that's the case in the absence of positive evidence, I'm reluctant to give my money to any site that only gives an email address in the Contact Us page, (though their toll free number at the top is uncommon for such a site)

should i buy a honda civic ( if so, what kind), or volkswagen jetta or passat?




..123123


which of these cars is the safest and has the best equipment? can anyone gimmi any review of these cars? it would be perfect if you have owned or drove one before. if jetta and passat dont have that much difference, i might just get a jetta, but all i know is that passsat is larger than jetta. and i just dont know how to compare honda with bolkswagen... help me :(


Answer
Owned both, i use to have 2007 Honda Civic EX and it was great when i purchased it brand new at 07 but IMO honda civic lose power in the long run, my civic had 90k+ miles on it and it reached 40+ MPG but it loses the power quick and the steering isnt so great/reponsive.

i traded my civic07 with a brand new 2012 VW jetta TDi(premium)(watch out i said diesel, i think its more economical and miles on tank wise,) and i love my VW jetta, handles really well(very responsive!!) and the power is always there!!! the brakes are really really good(all four disc brakes) the S(gas) has drum brakes on the rare and SE-SEL(gas) have all disc brakes.
my VW is like 7k miles right now and its already hitting 45+MPG, I LOVE IT in other words,,,

this is for diesel:if you carry alot of stuffs or you want it for family car then get the passat, they might say its a big jetta but it hits great, i mean great mileage too! ive read forums that its the same MPG with jetta, and FYI you can check tdiclub.com if you want, and btw i own a Mercedes-Benz c230 Sport v6, so i love sporty responsive cars,

at the end though, test drive the cars you picked and pick the one you feel comfortable with and the one where you can afford. :D

also check youtube lol there are alot of review there and comments.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOW-Xq1s_Ic&feature=related --> 2011 VW Jetta 2.5L
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPCeVunNEYg --> 2012 Honda Civic
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZfOtV9Jk6Y0&feature=plcp --> 2011 Volkswagen Jetta
http://www.city-data.com/forum/automotive/1180111-2011-jetta-vs-2011-honda-civic.html --> 2012 honda civic vs 2012 vw jetta




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Runners: How much training do you need to be able to run a marathon(26 miles)?




Maria G


My dad and I are planning to go to the Disney marathon on February. He has a lot of training, years of running. But I, in fact, don't have much physical condition. I'm 16 years old and I so badly want to go! How much do I have to train to be able to go? I love running. I probably have about a month of training. Please help! I run and walk 3.2 miles daily. I can't even run a mile without stopping. I can barely run .22 miles and I feel like I'm gonna die. How much should I run each day to be prepared for the marathon? Or should we wait for another year?


Answer
Watch Nova's special on Marathon running which takes couch potatoes and makes them runners. Most people can run a marathon in 8 months if they put in progression training. It's easy to start young then in working life. However, you might want to be realistic and set small goals with your larger goal the marathon next year. Be flexible and maybe change it to a 1/2 marathon and next year the marathon. You also have to be able to do a fun 1 mile run, 5K, 10K and ten miler. Progression is the key to running. A marathon is out of the question until you can mentally and physically gain the experience of running further and further distance.

For training you need to gradually increase your time training. You should be doing weight lifting and jogging. Take breaks for instance after 200 meters and work up to running longer. Get your Dad to coach you along with joining your XC team and track at school.

Marathon Preparation?




shorTy


hey y'all!

my twin brother and i want to run the full marathon in our area in october '10. we are healthy 23 year-olds. do you know of any good websites/training tips/schedules/etc. that would help us along the way? thanks :o)



Answer
My favorite is watching NOVA's marathon special program where you can also find the schedule and tips and training from their website.

Other good websites is runners world or look into buying a marathon training book for beginners. Also join a program if you can't keep motivated such as the Team in training or a running club. Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Which heart rate monitor should I buy?




zxcv


I am a 13 year old girl, I weigh 125 pounds (56 kg), and i am 5"4 (1,66 m). About two months ago I started exercising on a treadmill because i want to lose some weight. It tells me the amount of calories I burn according to how fast i run, the inclination, and my heart rate (it measures it if i put my hands in it, which is uncomfortable for running). However, it doesn't take in consideration my age, sex, or weight; it measures the calories I'd burn if i'd be a 30 year old male who weighs 150 pounds. I was considering buying a polar watch to monitor my work. I am considering the Polar F4, the F6, and the F11. Which one do you think is best? Also, will i be able to set i am 13 years old or are those watches only suitable for adults? And where do i have to put the chest strap? Because i read the chest strap of the F4 was specially small for woman (28-40 inches) but im not sure where i have to put it. It won't fit me if i have to put it just under my bra because i only measure 27 inches there. Thanks for your help!!


Answer
I highly recommend Polar F11 Women's Heart Rate Monitor Watch

Best HRM I've ever used
I've had alot of crappy HRMs before, but this one has been consistent, and the contacts don't tend to dry out or stop picking up your heartbeat regardless of what you're doing.

The features are great; I specifically bought this one to monitor my calories burned during exercise, and it does that well. The diary is useful, and will even give you a little trophy if you did well with your exercising during the week.

I bought it with free shipping from...
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000WP9ZOU?ie=UTF8&tag=aor-sale-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B000WP9ZOU
Hope you find your favorite. Good Luck!

How do heart rate monitors work? I want to see how many calories I burn in Zumba...?




HeatherHil


I have taken up Zumba, a weight training class, and running. I want to know how many calories I am burning when I exercise. I see that heart rate monitors work best... BUT I do not know how to pick them. I want something that will measure how many calories I burn during my workouts and that will tell me if I am at my target heart rate. So what would I be looking for in a heart rate monitor watch? And how do I look for something with my requirements?
I am a 20 year old woman.
Thanks! :)



Answer
A good heartrate monitor will be about $100 or more. Some of the cheaper ones won't tell you how many calories you burned. Also, make sure you get one with a chest strap, the ones without the chest strap are a lot less accurate.

You can find them at any sporting goods store and you should find a wide selection for around $100. Just make sure when you are picking out the one you like that it will report calories (since not all do) and that it has a chest strap and you should be good.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers