Saturday, June 21, 2014

Best GPS running watch?




Mysterio


I am looking for something with a strong satellite connection as I am in Florida and it can be quite cloudy.


Answer
I think as long as you get a new model the receiver components are all about the same.

However, I think Garmin is rated a little bit higher than others.

I have a old garmin 305. (by the way you can still get a good deal on the 305 from Overstock.com)
and i know that speed-wise it takes a while do get a good connection. I have used a couple of tricks to speed that up and they might help you too. turn the watch on as soon as you get outside. if you're driving someplace, put it on your dashboard. Once it makes the initial connection it usually stays connected.

For good reviews of GPS gear, check out DCRainmaker.com

Running watch opinions/ suggestions?




Problemati


I've recently gotten into running, and my birthday is coming up, so I'm researching some watches.. I want something affordable (around $100, no more than $150) because I'm just getting into it, and who knows if I'll still be into running in a year or so? I've been looking at the Soleus GPS Fit 1.0, which retails for $89.99.

What I want from the watch is to show me the time, like a normal watch, show distance ran, average pace and calories burned, which, from my understanding, the GPS Fit does.

So, is the Soleus a good watch? Is there something better I should look into? If I keep running I'll probably upgrade at some point, but for now I want something affordable, so keep that in mind.

*Also, I'm really into long distance biking, so if the watch could be incorporated into that activity as well that'd be great!*

Thanks!



Answer
Your best bet is to check out the reviews for the product on websites that sell it. Amazon tends to have a pretty active community of customers. Read both the good and bad reviews for the different watches you end up considering. I recommend checking out the Garmin products, though I don't know how the prices will compare.

You don't need a watch that counts calories, since it doesn't actually. It uses your weight, and distance ran, and plugs it into an approximate formula. You can get that information from any online calculator, and neither source is any more accurate than the other. So if you find yourself looking at 2 watches of different prices, don't let that feature be a deciding factor.

Pay attention to statements about durability when you read reviews. Remember, thsi thing will be on your wrist nearly every day, getting soaked in your sweat. Can it be easily washed? What is the band made of? Are there complaints about broken bands?

Any GPS watch made for running should also work for biking, the principles involved are the same.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Long distance running?




Rodgerthat


Hey so I've been running since november of 2010... I recently ran my 6th 5k run last saturday I enjoy running... I like speed running just 1 mile or doing the 5k's... My best mile is like 5:45... My best 5k is 21:32.... I ran a 22:20 saturday anyway I have a good amount of knowledge and experience running but every time I prepare for a 5k I seem to fall short of my desired time... I just seem to not do something right... I feel like after every race besides my first 2 that I could have should have pushed hard and could have had a faster time... Why is this? what should I do... I personally believe in starting at a steady pace and speed up as you finish... And in my last race a guy started to pass me around the 1.90 mile mark of the race I stayed with him through the finished where I beat him by several seconds... Sorrry if I'm not making sense I don't really know what i want I just wanna maybe get a different plan for running these races? THANKS


Answer
There are a few reasons why you may fall short of a goal.
#1 Your goal was never realistic.
#2 You didn't train for your goal properly
#3 You over trained.

Learning how to race takes experience, and it takes making mistakes. If you finnish a run feeling like you have more in your tank, you could have run harder and probably ended up taking more time than you needed. So on your next race, kick up the pace a little bit. I recommend either getting a good GPS watch or a good smartphone ap that will show you, your current pace very accurately. This way you can monitor your pace throughout the whole race. Try to hit your goal pace the whole time.
If you hit your goal pace the whole time and still feel like you could have done better, you didn't have a good goal. You don't want a goal that doesn't challenge you enough, just like you don't want a goal you can't possibly reach. Make sure that you are picking a realistic goal pace.
Negative splits (getting progressivly faster) and great ways to run a race. If you want to do that, stick with that method. Just make sure you aren't starting off too slow. Remember race day is not the time to use the first 5 minutes as a warm up. Start off slightly slower than goal pace, and keep picking it up. Also if you are going to do that on race day, make sure you train that way. Do your regular runs with negative splits. Get your body used to that increase in workload over time.

-Connor

Tips to run faster and longer distances?







So...I work out 3-5 days a week, at least 45 minutes a day- and it is generally mostly cardio. I consider myself to be in shape, but the green eyed monster or something is getting to me...
My good friend (in another state) has always been significantly heavier and not nearly as active as myself...but she just ran a 10k (6.2 miles) in 69 minutes. I'm lucky if I can run 2 miles without stopping in 26 minutes...
What are some suggestions for building up my speed and distance tolerance???



Answer
Gradually build up distances and speeds. I run cross country, and the first week of training begins with short runs that are relatively slow. Start with 2, up it to 3 and so on. Wear a watch also! This will help you tell if you are running too slow. Take your pulse immediately after you finish, this will also help you gauge if you are pushing too hard or not hard enough. Do push-ups and crunches, these help strengthen your core which will give you more stamina for longer runs.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Any running heart rate/gps watch suggestions?




Melissa


I do long road runs quite a bit and am looking into buying a gps watch. I used to have a polar heart rate monitor (ft4) but misplaced it. It was great for telling me the calories burned but I really need one that tells me distance and pace, too.

I was looking online last night and there are just SO many options. Polars versus Garmins versus Nike versus TomTom....

The features I want are:
-gps to tell me my distance/pace
-how many calories I burn (and visible during workout, not just after)
-decent battery since I run 20-40 miles per week
-weather proof since I run in rain/snow/extreme heat...

I do not need training plans, feedback, or anything like that...I just want it to be accurate and durable. Do you have any suggestions? Or any NOT to get? Even if I can eliminate some, that would be great! I loved my polar ft4, it just didn't have the gps features.



Answer
the Nike+ Sport Watch ( http://store.nike.com/nl/en_gb/pd/sportwatch-gps/pid-795756/pgid-560061 ) is simply great :)
i use mine mostly while biking (thus seriously interested in the newer TomTom one with multi sport support) but for running / biking the older Nike+ (with GPS technology from TomTom, including its quickfix data (whenever connected to the Computer (with Nike+ Connect installed) the GPS satellite positions for the next couple days are stored in the Watch's memory and when you want to start running the device finds the satellites quicker (i sometimes forget to do it again after not using the watch a few days & then the finding of satellites takes notably longer - VERY handy feature, certainly in freezing winter ;D))

otherwise the watch has all you are looking for including display of all the data (time, distance, pace and cal) at one glance (see 3rd pic).
it easily lasts several hours (not sure how quickly you get to 40 miles, but i can use it two days in a row without needing to recharge (the site advertises 8 hrs run per load, might be right - any USB plug (e.g. http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=-NTbO2GqT6YM4M&tbnid=2jaDYSeMCiJ1-M:&ved=0CAUQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fdoocoor.en.made-in-china.com%2Fproduct%2FsqzxoMbAbXrf%2FChina-USB-Travel-Charger-CW-CH7001-.html&ei=BXrAUouiJsTI0QXJxoHADw&psig=AFQjCNFPW1e-VhX_xf4NXCO-OuKyogHuLA&ust=1388432246883281 or of course at your computer) recharges it in about 2 hrs (from empty))

the TomTom watch is an evolution of the Nike+ / TomTom model with some added feature (for several sports like swimming, biking and so beside running) but for run / bike, the Nike+ is still perfectly fine
it is tight (50 m under water...)

& it connects (bluetooth?) to a heartbeat sensor & stores that as well - not sure it displays it while running as well however - but the Nike+ site is very handy for checking on your performances and progress :(or regress):

it also connects to a Nike sensor that you can put into your (Nike) shoes (one of them, obviously) to use it on a treadmill)

Nice gps running watches?




runnergurl


Any cheap (100-200) running watches with a gps?


Answer
I would suggest these good GPS watch for running

Garmin Forerunner 210 Water Resistant GPS Enabled Watch without Heart Rate Monitor
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004Q7EQ1M/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=gps.navigators-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B004Q7EQ1M

Motorola MOTOACTV 8GB GPS Sports Watch and MP3 Player
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007C1KKW8/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B007C1KKW8&linkCode=as2&tag=gps.navigators-20




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

cross country runner knees hurt a LOT?




paigerr.


I am about 15 , female, and I run cross country as a freshman in highschool. Ever since my last few races, my knees developed an unbearable pain and it hasn't gone away even though I've only ran 3 times in the past 2 months!!!! It is around my knees and shins and it doesn't burn or feel sore it just hurts really badly and it is too painful to run at all. I tried running 3 miles yesterday and I could BARELY finish because of the pain. It hurts to bend my knees while I run and it makes my leg feel VERY stiff and immobile. It even hurts when I walk now! what should I do?? track season is about to start and my dad really wants me to run , but I just don't think I can. Please help me . Thank you xox


Answer
Many things can cause you pain in your knee. A spider bite or scrape can cause an infection inside the knee. Sleeping with your leg off your bed can cause numbness or pinching. There just doesn't need to be any trauma for a joint to become inflamed.

If you hear any noises from this knee you don't need to worry about. It's just fluid moving around in the joint. If you have SWELLING or PUFFINESS then you need to see a doctor.

You need to keep the inflammation and pain down, so you must understand how to take the medication properly ~ you don't take it as needed, you take it consistently every day until you feel better.

If the doctor says to take ibuprofen (not addictive) every 4 hours for 10 days, then you take it exactly this way and after 10 days, you'll know if it feels better or still swollen and can then decide whether to continue with the anti inflammatories which are not addictive at a reduced amount or same amount.

The same goes with narcotics (percocet, vicodan, demerol, fentynal, morphine, &/or codeine).You take it as prescribed and not AS NEEDED this is how people develop an addiction because they wait for the pain then take the pill it doesn't work so they pop another and the addiction starts.

As long as you take it as prescribed, your body will stabilize on it and you won't feel loopy all the time or stoned. When you take it whenever your body doesn't get a chance to metabolize it so you get "crashes" with cold sweats & a yo yo of emotions.

Be aware in the future for the following symptoms for bursitis of the knee. This can occur anytime now that you've had an injury so be aware of "bursitis" and the symptoms. There doesn't need to be a reason for BURSITIS, BUT it's incredibly PAINFUL. You could find yourself in the emergency room for pain control because tylenol might not touch it.

Bursitis is the most painful and it's difficult to bear weight. If you have an anti inflammatory, this will take down the swelling and pain fast. If it isn't working then you need to see your doctor asap to try a different prescription.

You should take it as directed on the bottle. If it says every 4 hours, then you take it every 4 hours. If you take it as needed, you might as well not even waste the doctor's time.

A lot of people think taking on as needed basis is better. It does nothing if it doesn't retain a build up of the medication so it can attack the inflammation.

ANTI INFLAMMATORY ~ ADVIL MOTRIN CELEBREX VIOXX

1. I used to use a combination of medications which included 400mg Ibuprofen 4x a day with food. This takes the swelling and inflammation down. DO NOT exceed1600mg in one day and you may need prilosec for stomach protection as ALL ANTI INFLAMMATORIES are difficult on the stomach. ***You can use Tylenol with Ibuprofen and Aspirin watch for daily maximums & don't exceed.

2. Robaxacet is Tylenol (acetominophen) combined with methocarbonal (muscle relaxant)...this also comes with codeine on request from the pharmacist. This only relaxes any tight muscles around the pain and helps reduce some pain. You can use Robaxacet with Ibuprofen and Aspirin, BUT NOT Tylenol as it's already an ingredient in this pill.

3. Robaxacyl is Aspirin (acetylsalicylic acid) combines with methocarbonal (muscle relaxant)...this has a blood thinning active ingredient and isn't ideal for anyone under age 16 years or complications with blood pressure, ailments, etc. This both takes down the inflammation as well as treats the pain.You can use Robaxacyl with Ibuprofen and Tylenol, BUT NOT Aspirin as it's already an ingredient in this pill.
------------------------------...
4. Aleve is a Nonsteroidal Anti Inflammatory (Naproxen) which will helps reduce the inflammation, and as the inflammation decreases so does the pain; BUT you CANNOT mix this drug with any of the above mentioned safely.

5. Dynamint has been used on horses legs for years, but it does an amazing job on sore muscles. It's ingredients are Peppermint Oil, Eucalyptus Oil , Tea Tree Oil and Calendula Oil.

6. Deep Cold Gold is an alternative rub that works very well on tight aching tendons.

EXERCISES
Sit on the side of your bed with both legs draped over. Try to straighten the knee. You may hear crunching, popping, etc. Keep doing it, up and down, up and down, like a handle on a pump...you'll need to keep doing it 4-6x a day.

You could also lie down on your bed. Lift your knees up and now try and move them like you would on a bicycle....keep doing it until all noise disappears from the knee ~ do not exceed 5 minutes.

Continue to do this, take anti inflammatories, ice the pain, and then warm the tendons.

***if you have puffy, swelling, and pressure increasing your pain, you may need to see the doctor to have the water drained.

http://www.athleticadvisor.com/images/ac...

How can a track/cross country runner get faster?




yourmajest


I'm a good sprinter and I want to know


Answer
It is not only running per say that makes you faster it is certain exercises you do before and after running that help to make you faster. If you have a good coach with a good eye, he or she can watch you run and make suggestions to refine your running form that will make you a more efficient runner (meaning you do not use up your energy as fast) and they will show you exercises to help with flexibility ans strengthening. As you continue to run, you will become a more efficient runner, leg muscles get stronger and you actually can push off of the ground harder (with more force) and those are some of the things that makes you faster.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, June 20, 2014

does anyone know about the yard sale that runs the blue ridge parkway from virginia to south carolina?




yogail812





Answer
The World's Longest Yard Sale Corridor 127
630 Miles of Treasures From Ohio to Alabama August 7 - 10, 2008

© Christine Nyholm

Jul 22, 2008
Tennessee Mountain View, kkiset, hu.sxc
The Worlds Longest Yard Sales travels along a 630 mile route from Defiance Ohio to Gadsen Alabama.. Treasures are found along the way in Tennessee, Kentucky and Georgia.

The World's Longest Yard sale is celebrating its 21st anniversary of bargains on the U.S. 127 Corridor. The four day sales runs from August 7 -10, 2008. The 630 mile trail now starts in Defiance, Ohio and concludes in Gadsden, Alabama. The route of The World's Longest Yard Sale is an American road trip that brings treasure seekers from far and wide.

Bargain and antique shoppers find treasures and nostalgic items at yard sales along the route. There is no limit to what treasures can be found. Booths and tables are filled with a diverse range of merchandise, including musical instruments, furniture, glassware, toys, housewares, tools, jewelry and much more.

The World's Longest Garage Sale originated as a plan to bring ravelers from the busy Interstate to the less traveled highways of Tennessee and Kentucky. Homeowners and businesses emptied their attics and garages and sold treasures and trash. Since beginning, the event has grown every year. Homeowners still hold authentic yard sales. Dealers also set up shop along the route, sometimes selling side by side with the homeowners.
Towns Along the Route 127 Corridor

The Route 127 Corridor passes through a number of small towns. Some of the larger towns and attractions on the route include Covington, Kentucky; Frankfort, Kentucky (near Lexintgon); Jamestown, Tennessee; Crossville, Tennessee; Chattanooga, Tennessee; Lookout Mountain Parkway in Georgia and Gadsen, Alabama.
Traffic

Yard sales tend to congregate in the small towns along the route. In the sections where there are many yard sales, the traffic slows to a crawl. Cars constantly pull in and out of traffic, as drivers see tempting tables and tents. The best advice in traffic snarls is to be patient and drive defensively.
HGTV Features The World's Longest Yard Sale

HGTV is a big fan of The World's Longest Yard Sale and features portions of the sale on their cable network program. HGTV features the found treasures at the yard sale and interviews vendors and shoppers, which is always fun to watch. The HGTV website offers additional information about the sale.
Tips for a Successful Journey

The World's Longest Yard Sale is a unique event. Much of the route is off the beaten path, so many of the conveniences that people are used to seeing in more populated areas may not be readily available. Following are suggestions for a pleasant journey.

* Plan a Route. It is tempting to attempt the entire trail, but it is difficult to traverse the entire 630 miles in four days and do justice to the sales at the same time. The official website of the World's Longest Yard sale suggests picking a starting point along the trail and heading either north or south
* Make Advance Room Reservations. Hotel and motel rooms often book far in advance, so room reservations along the route may be difficult to find. Some people have success in getting a room by getting slightly off the route to a nearby town. It is a very good idea to make lodging arrangements in advance to make sure that time is not lost in looking for a room during the sale. It is a good idea to find a lodging with a restaurant nearby. Relax over a leisurely dinner near the hotel room
* Start Shopping Early. Yard sale experts know the time to shop is early. Vendors in booths along the way have said that the best bargains are often gone within the first hour or two on the first morning. Sometimes, that same merchandise shows up on a dealer's table, marked up for profit.
* Bring Cash. Most vendors do not take checks and they may not take credit cards. Bring cash to purchase treasures along the way. Small bills are best. Vendors may run out of small bills. It is easier to negotiate with vendors when using exact change.
* Fill Up the Tank, The Stomach and Use the Facilities. Restaurants and gas stations may not alway be handy when needed. Therefore, eat and fill the gas tank whenever possible. Many gas stations along the route close their restrooms, so do not count on using a gas station rest room. Restaurants are the best place to find facilities. Use rest room facilities when they are available to prevent having to look for facilities when it is an emergency.
* Bring Snacks and Beverages. Fill coolers with snacks of choice, beverages and water. Great snacks include protein bars, crackers with peanut butter, cheese and fresh fruit. It is not always easy to find these items along the way.
* Bring Supplies. Prepare for what may be needed in advance. Suggested supplies include hand wipes, hand sanitizer, sunscreen sun glasses, hat, flashlight, first aid kit, zip lock

I started running with?




Andrea


van shoes about 2 months ago, i heard i was bad for your feet is this true
Is there any cheap running shoes



Answer
Hi Andrea,

Yes, running in Vans or any shoes that are not specifically designed for running is a bad idea & will set you up for injury. In fact, having shoes that don't fit properly is one of the leading causes of leg injuries among runners. The first thing you need to do is find a running store (ie, a store that focuses specifically on runners & running - NOT a big chain sporting goods store) and tell the clerk that you are in the market for your first pair of running shoes and need a fitting. They should measure your foot in several different directions, watch you walk and run both barefoot and in shoes, and have you try on several different types of shoe. (If they don't do this, go somewhere else.) Go with the ones that feel the most comfortable when you jog around the store.

As for the price, you can expect to spend between $100 & $150 on a quality pair. I know it seems like a lot, but wearing the wrong shoes can end up costing much more in doctor and physical therapy bills. Shoes are really the only major expense when it comes to running, though, and having the right pair is incredibly important in terms of injury prevention, so don't skimp, on matter how much you may be tempted. Once you've been fitted and know what type & brand of shoe works the best for you, you can look for sales & bargains when it's time for your next pair. Alternatively, the store might have older models of the same shoe they can sell you for cheaper, or they might be able to work out a layaway program for you. Any of these is a better idea than buying shoes that are cheap but that aren't right for your feet.

Finally, be sure wear your shoes ONLY for running and no other activities (the motion involved in non-running activities can cause running shoes to break down faster), and to track how many miles you run in your shoes. Most pairs last around 300 - 500 miles, depending on the runner; after that, the midsoles wear out (even though the outer part of the shoe may look fine) and it's time for another pair.

Best of luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How should i run the 400m?




Anthony De


I'm a rising sophomore in high school and run the 100m, 200m, 300m and last the 400m. My freshman spring season i ended up peaking at 52.31 which is good but not as great as i want to be. This year i want to go high 47 in the 400 which is very far from my pr but not impossible get. Ive been in the weight room all summer so i'm a lot stronger than i was last season.

I have recently been watching some old race videos and the one that stuck out for me the most was Marita Koch's world record in the 400. During the race she went out hard all the way to the 300 mark splitting 11.3 at the 100 mark 22.4 at the 200 mark and 34.1 at the 300 mark. Her last 100 meters was a slow 13.5 seconds but at that point it didn't matter.

And so the question! I was wondering if instead of running it traditionally (going out hard floating until the 300 mark and finishing strong) i should go out as hard as i can and build up a lead so large that even if i fade i will be so far a head that it won't matter. I also wonder if this is a good strategy for running the 47.90 i want to hit this year

My pr's
100m: 11.30
200m 23.00
300m 38.09



Answer
The 400-meter dash is a difficult event because it combines sprinting with a mild distance run. No matter what strategy you choose to run during the race, stick with it. Changing a strategy in the middle of the race does not end well. Also, practice your strategy a few times in practice prior to bringing it to a track meet.

I was a speed based 400m runner (better at the 200 than the 800) and this was my strategy and what led to my best results: accelerate aggressively to about 40-60 meters then run relaxed with as little effort as possible but maintaining speed, going through the 200 about 1.5 slower than my 200 race time. Increase effort on the second turn, simply because it will be harder to maintain speed on a curve than on the straight. In the last 100, relax, do not try to run faster at this point, you cannot accelerate and trying will lead you to tighten up and that slows you down. This is how Michael Johnson ran and I think he was the best 400m runner, male or female.

However everyone is different with different strengths and weaknesses so here are some other strategies.

Giving It All and Hang On
This is perhaps the boldest strategy. An athlete will sprint out of the block and run the first 200 meters as if it were a 200-meter dash. Depending upon your level of training and your anaerobic capacity (ability to produce energy without oxygen), you will begin to become fatigued at different spots on the track. Most athletes will become fatigued in the second turn (between the 200- and 300-meter mark of the race). Once you become fatigued you must tell your body to keep going. Focus on driving your arms and legs and picking up your knees. This will help you finish the race and keep most of your running mechanics despite being fatigued. If you choose this strategy, be prepared for your system to shut down or a muscle to cramp toward the end of the race. The benefits of this strategy can give you an edge on your competitors because building a large early lead can cause them to mentally surrender.

50-150-200
This is perhaps the most used strategy in running the race. You will begin by accelerating to full speed out of the blocks for the first 50 meters. For the next 150 meters, you should be under a controlled deceleration. This means finding a rhythm by maintaining your leg speed. At the 200-meter mark (the start of the second turn), you should refocus on sprinting again. As in the strategy above, focus on driving your arms and legs and picking your knees up. Runners who are able to work the 200- to 300-meter turn will set themselves up for the sprint to the end and a chance to win.

200-50-150
This is a commonly used strategy for indoor track and field but can be used for outdoor track as well. Begin by running the first 200 meters slightly slower than you would for the 200-meter dash. At the 200-meter mark, change to a rhythmic deceleration in which you can relax for 50 meters. Halfway through the second turn, refocus and begin driving your arms and legs, sprinting to the finish. This strategy does not generally set up a strong finish.

Even Pace
The simplest of all the strategies is to run an even split or pace for each 100-meter segment throughout the race. However, this strategy allows for little adjustment during the race so knowing your competitors' times is ideal before setting your pace. Simply maintain one pace throughout the race until the last 100 meters. If you paced the race correctly, by sprinting all out for the final 100 meters, the last segment should be equal to the first three as fatigue sets in.

Best way to sprint? (EASY BEST ANSWER) RUNNERS/RUNNING EXPERTS ONLY PLEASE?




chase


Do you run on your toes? Or your entire foot? Lift your knees or keep them moderate height? What should your form look like when running? (more specifically, sprinting...400 meter race=most specifically)

thanks!



Answer
you run on your forefoot (strike the ground with the balls of your feet and push off, using the toes to push off too).

bring your hips under you ( dont run with your butt sticking out behind you) and relax.
when your butt is sticking out, its hard for you to lift your knees.

try bringing your foot over the opposite knee when your running, like cycling.

you should watch videos on youtube,
there is a series of sprinting drills that are shown by
100m world record holder asafa powell, and womens 400m world record holder Sanya Richards.

check out this link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ad0ToqBV3fo

also check out the HSI videos
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqOGfbepJbw




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

running/conditioning in my back yard?




Jesus


Since I cant go anywhere
I wanna condition in my backyard its normal size backyard.
But like is there any ways to run without going back and fort andhow long should I run to gain condition



Answer
I dont know how big of a backyard you have but the first thing that comes to my mind is a pacer test. If you have a 20 meter straightaway you can do pacer tests as running. What a pacer test is, is a exercise where you run back and forth between two lines, 20 meters apart. You run with a pacer test audio I will include a youtube link and download it and run to it for a good exercise. The video will include what to do and what will happen.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y82jDHRrswc

I dont know how you can condition without running back and forth because I dont know what your backyard looks like but if you could run in wide enough circles, then that would work. If u condition for running, i would really recommend running mileage in the streets or on a running track.

Pistons pacers brawl revisted. an opinion question?




guy sense


so i was rewatching the big pacers and pistons brawl that took place a long time ago and noticed that ron artest was unfairly suspended. he was suspended 86 games while ben wallace started the whole brawl and the fans continued it. what do u think about this. explain why. big bubba patel


Answer
i jus watched that last week. i gotta say Stern felt that Ben Wallace didnt mean to start an entire war in the palace. I honestly believe the 6 games was kinda harsh for a SHOVE. I guess he did get in his face and stuff so 6 games mightve been right. Artest tho actually GOT UP and RAN UP THE STANDS. like he was a man possessed. Thats inexcusable. a cup couldve been thrown at him had Wallace not shoved him. Artest knew that the NBA wasnt gonna have that but he went a lil COOKOO. for a sec. there and im sure he didnt think about the fact that his team was no.1 and had a good chance at the NBA Championship that year.

If thats the one thing I could change its that Stern messed up the whole Dynamics of the standings after that. I think if he took away the same pay for all those games and the players basically played for "Free" and fined the team a significant amount that'd be more than harsh enough.

actually surprised Stephen Jackson only got 30 to Artests season ending.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

recommended running watches?




Krist


Im looking to purchase a running watch. i've gone online and im spoilt for choice. the basic functions i need is for the watch to track the distance i've covered, stopwatch, etc.

are there watches out there that monitor the heart rate without me having to wear the heart rate monitor across my chest?

any recommendations?



Answer
You probably won't like my recommendation, but I'll give it anyway.

Measure your distance by other means - Google earth, mapmyrun.com, or drive it in a car.

Check your heart rate by hand at the end of your run (before the cool down).

Buy an $8 Wal-mart watch, with a cloth band. It will only have time, stopwatch, and alarm functions. But it will last a long time. They are durable, able to withstand you sweating in it daily and even showering in it afterward to wash the sweat out of the band. If something happens to damage it or the battery dies, then it will cost you $8 to replace. What will a repair or battery replacement cost for the fancier ones? I've used many of these over the years. The battery generally lasts more than 2 years, the watch itself is very rugged, and the canvas bands are very comfortable.

Are there any watches existing that measure the distance ran?




WTFK


Are there any watches existing that measure the distance ran? Or for that matter measure the distance as you run it?


Answer
yes, I just got a SportLine brand, but not the pedometer feature. This was the "lower" version but the higher version had the pedometer.


I may have overspoken, those seem to be only for walking and may not gauge a correct reading for running.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, June 19, 2014

What are some really good movies to watch?




Beka


My hubby and I love to watch movies but need some ideas because we are running out of them:( We love comedies, action, romantic comedies. Thanks!!!!


Answer
Comedy:
> Here Comes the Boom (2012 - starring Kevin James)
> This Is 40 (2012 - starring Paul Rudd)
> Dark Shadows (2012 - starring Michelle Pfeiffer and Johnny Depp)
> Horrible Bosses (2011 - starring Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman)
> Quartet (2012 - starring Maggie Smith)
> Rock of Ages (2012 - starring Tom Cruise, Alec Baldwin, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Russell Brand)
> The Five-Year Engagement (2012 - starring Emily Blunt)
> The Campaign (2012 - starring Will Ferrell)
> Safety Not Guaranteed (2012)
> The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2011)

Action:
> Hit and Run (2012 - starring Kristen Bell and Dax Shepard)
> This Means War (2012 - starring Reese Witherspoon and Chris Pine)
> Law Abiding Citizen (starring Gerard Butler and Jamie Foxx)
> Savages (starring Blake Lively and Aaron Taylor-Johnson)
> Looper (2012 - starring Emily Blunt, Bruce Willis and Joseph Gordon-Levitt)
> The Hunger Games (2012 - starring Jennifer Lawrence and Liam Hemsworth)
> The Bourne Legacy (2012 - starring Rachel Weisz and Edward Norton)
> Jack Reacher (2012 - starring Tom Cruise and Rosamund Pike)
> Knight and Day (starring Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise)

Romantic Comedy:
> Something Borrowed (2010 - starring Kate Hudson, Ginnifer Goodwin and Colin Egglesfield)
> A Little Bit Of Heaven (2011 - starring Kate Hudson and Whoopi Goldberg)
> What To Expect When You're Expecting (2012 - starring Cameron Diaz, Jennifer Lopez, Dennis Quaid, Chace Crawford)
> Leap Year (2010 - starring Amy Adams)
> The Proposal (2009 - starring Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds)
> Silver Linings Playbook (2012 - starring Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro)
> Larry Crowne (2011 - starring Julia Roberts and Tom Hanks)
> Win A Date With Tad Hamilton! (starring Kate Bosworth, Ginnifer Goodwin, Topher Grace and Josh Duhamel)
> Life As We Know It (2010 - starring Katherine Heigl and Josh Duhamel)
> When In Rome (starring Kristen Bell and Josh Duhamel)
> 27 Dresses (starring Katherine Heigl)
> Post Grad (starring Alexis Bledel)
> The Holiday (starring Kate Winslet, Cameron Diaz, Jack Black and Jude Law)
> The Rebound (2009 - starring Catherine Zeta-Jones)
> Heartbreakers (starring Jennifer Love Hewitt and Sigourney Weaver)
> Letters to Juliet (starring Amanda Seyfried)
> A Guy Thing (starring Julia Stiles)
> 13 Going on 30 (starring Jennifer Garner)
> Going the Distance (starring Drew Barrymore and Justin Long)
> Uptown Girls (2003 - starring Brittany Murphy and Dakota Fanning)
> The Ramen Girl (2009 - starring Brittany Murphy)
> Bride Wars (starring Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway)
> The Bounty Hunter (starring Jennifer Aniston and Gerard Butler)

I hope that helps :) It's all I can think of right now!

Where can I watch all of E3 live?




Hallie


I want to watch E3 live, but I don't know where I can watch it. And I want to see all of it, not just specific presentations. Thanks for your help!


Answer
E3 2012 Will be showing on both G4TV and Spike TV

E3 Live 2012 on G4TV starts at 3PM on Eastern time, please make sure to check your TV Listings to make sure you don't miss any of the Press conferences..

If you want to watch the Microsoft, Nintendo, and EA press conferences on your television, you can only watch them on Spike TV. They will not air on any other television networks

If you want to watch the Sony , Ubisoft press conferences on your television, you can only watch them on G4TV. They will not air on any other television networks






Spike TV and GameTrailers E3 All Access 2012 Coverage Explained :D

Q: What exactly does GameTrailers and Spike TV have exclusive for E3 2012?

A: If you want to watch the Microsoft, Nintendo, and EA press conferences on your television, you can only watch them on Spike TV. They will not air on any other television networks. Weâll also have the very first post-press conference interviews with the biggest executives and all the biggest games from the show demonstrated live before the actual show even kicks off. By the time we wrap up our All Access Live broadcasts on Spike TV and our live streams late Tuesday, you will have seen everything that truly matters and then some. The Spike TV live broadcast will run in the US and Canada only. On Monday, June 4 the Microsoft press conference is 12:30-2:00PM Eastern and the EA press conference is 4:00-5:00PM Eastern. On Tuesday, June 5 the Nintendo press conference is Noon-1:00PM Eastern. Click here to convert the times to your time zone.

Monday, June 4

11:30-Noon

E3 All Access Live kickoff with exclusive trailers and demos. (Stream)

Noon-12:30

E3 All Access Live Xbox Entertainment Evolved pre-show. (Spike TV/Stream)

12:30-2:00PM

Xbox Entertainment Evolved Commercial-Free (Spike TV/Stream)

2:00-4:00PM

E3 All-Access Live with exclusive game demos and interviews, EA 2012 preview. (Spike TV/Stream)

4:00-5:00PM

The Download: EA 2012 Preview Commercial-Free (Spike TV/Stream)

5:00-5:30PM

E3 All-Access Live continues with more exclusive demos, trailers, and interviews. (Spike TV/Stream)

5:30-6:00PM

E3 All-Access Live Ubisoft press conference preview and more exclusive demos, trailers, and interviews. (Stream)

6:00-7:15PM

Ubisoft Press Briefing (Stream)G4TV

7:15-9:00PM

E3 All Access Live continues with Ubisoft analysis, a Sony preview, and more exclusive demos and interviews. (Stream)

9:00-10:00PM

Sony Press Briefing (Stream)G4TV

10:00-11:00PM

E3 All Access Live prime time with Sony analysis, game announcements, and our biggest exclusive demos and trailers. (Spike TV/Stream)

Tuesday, June 5

11:30-Noon

E3 All Access Live with Nintendo preview and more exclusive demos and trailers. (Spike TV, Stream)

Noon-1:00PM

Nintendo All Access Presentation at E3 2012 Commercial-Free (Spike TV, Stream,MTV2)

1:00-4:00PM

E3 All Access Live finishes off E3 2012 on Spike TV with Nintendo analysis, the first interview with Reggie Fils-Aime, and even more exclusive demos, trailers, and interviews Spike TV

3PM- Day 2 E3 2012 Live-G4TV.

4:00-6:00PM

E3 All Access Live continues online and finishes off E3 2012 with one last massive rush of exclusive demos and interviews. Spike TV



June 5-7

Exhaustive, around-the-clock coverage continues on GameTrailers.com and SideMission.com with nightly episodes of Invisible Walls, multiple episodes of our popular First Take segments, the hottest breaking news, and hundreds of new trailers, walkthroughs, interviews, and gameplay edits posted each day.

June 15

GameTrailers Best of E3 2012 Awards

The GameTrailers editorial staff picks nominees and winners in dozens of categories for the best and brightest of E3 2012.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is Big Brother watching us?

Q. Do any of you think the things thatwere going on in 1984 by George Orwell, are going on today. Im not just talking about the little things like being watched constantly. Im talking about the Government full on lying to us and changing our minds about everything. If you think about it, We are making the "terrorist" like like pure evil the same way they are making us look like the bad guy. Do you think they are changing things for us, like history. Do you think we are being introduced to these huge problems in the country like obesity, economic crisis, new diseases by the government all to fit some master plan?
I could just be paranoid though.


Answer
1984 almost sounds like a handbook for what our society is developing into.

Concrete examples of what has already been done. One of the largest cable providers put cameras in their cable boxes, supposedly in case there was a hostage crisis in the home. Once discovered they were supposedly removed. Bill Gates the long time head of Microsoft actually said he thought people should be monitored on camara 24/7 in case they are accused of a crime so they can prove their innocence.

We have red light cameras, we have speeding cameras, cameras on the highways, cameras on city streets, parking lots, stores, in our work place. Even some homes are voluntarily running full time cams on their computers outputing selected views to the world 24/7.

In terms of the social control Universal health care if put into effect will be used to create almost exactly the society described in "1984". Once in place it will soon become evident to save money that certain "activities" must be prohibited and that manditory exercise programs are necessary of course to reduce costs. On top of that psychological health is far more decisive on physical health than anything you can do or not do. This again opens the door to requiring close scrutiny in order to assure "happy" people which means prohibiting activities which are considered "unhealthy". You already see it with stupidities like giving trophey's all kids just for participating because they fear some kid might be "harmed" but not winning.

In terms of "right speak" can you not see PC speach as direct analogy of "right speak".

The revisionist history is already taking place. Every group and their brother are trying to rewrite history right now to the point that people are honestly confused about what really is or isn't what happened. There are actually many people who believe Cleopatra was Black for example. She was Greek, no she probably didn't have Blonde hair, though that was possible, but Elizabeth Taylor was actually pretty historicallly close, Angilna Jole would be another who probably would be very Cleopatra like.

There is an old saying absolute powere corrupts absolutely. Socialism places absolute power in the hands of the government, this power would inevitably be abused.

Garmin running watch?

Q. my coach makes me and a few girls run with his garmin watch so he can see how long we went in the time he gave us and how fast our splits were. we get in trouble if we go over 8 minute miles. but sometimes we just feel like going slow and easy..is there anyway in getting around the watch like making it show fake splits or anything like that?


Answer
No, not unless you jump on a bike or on a bus or car, something along those lines.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

What is the best running watch?




arod13507


I've been looking for a good running watch, and my friend just got the garmin 405.


Answer
Hi. The best is the Forerunner 305 GPS watch. It tracks....
-How many miles you did
-How fast you are going (speed)
-How many calories you have burned
-Time
-Date
-How fast it took you do that many miles or mile

What's a good Runner's GPS watch?




hazzone111


What's a good watch to use for running that has features that will help me train to run a marathon?

Looking for a GPS watch.

Thanks.



Answer
garmin forrunner 405

http://www8.garmin.com/ces/forerunner/index.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the best watch to wear for running and swimming?




JaK


I am looking to find a watch for my husband that he can use for running and swimming. I am also hoping to find one that has a heart rate monitor and possibly GPS.


Answer
A lot depends on your budget, but the Garmin Forerunner 910XT is the main one for both running and swimming.

The Garmin Forerunner 620 just came out, and adds a lot of snazzy new running features. It seems to be very popular and is backordered everywhere. Though waterproof, I don't believe that it has the same swimming features of the 910XT. The 910XT and 620 run in the same price range.

Soooo, if your husband is primarily a runner, you might want to look at the 620. If he does a lot of swimming and would even want GPS while doing it, you might look at the 910XT.

There are lots of other models out there that aren't as featured if these are too high for your price range.

I need a gps watch for running, swimming and cycling?




charles


I want a good watch for running, swimming and cycling but there are so many and I don't know which one to pick. My price range is anywhere from 100-200 dollars. I would go to a store and ask , but where I live there is nowhere to buy anything like that. I just don't want to get ripped off. Please help?


Answer
Sorry, the concept escapes me. You need a GPS watch to run, swim and cycle? You need to know the area before you ever leave home, you need to have a route in mind. You don't just run aimlessly and then hit the home button. A $20 time keep er is all you need. As for researching watches, look on line and see what is out there, who sells it and what prices they are.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Running Advice for Beginners? :)?

Q. Okay, so I'm fourteen and kinda small for my age.
I'd like to start running for no reason in particular. Just for something to do.
I'm healthy. I eat okay. Not fat. A little on the skinny side -_________-
I was just wondering if you have any advice for me?
I went to one website and it said to run 3 days a week.
Week 1: Walk 4 min. Run 1 min. Do this for thirty min.
Week 2: Walk 3, Run 2. Do this for thirty min.
& so forth until I have the ability to run a straight 30 minute period of time, and gradually add ten minutes a week. (If that makes sense?)
I have some stretches down. My mom used to run a LOT, so she knows about that.
I'll buy some running shoes when I start.
But I just wanna know if you have any advice for me or even a better beginning routine.
I'm very new to this, so thanks!!!
YES. Tell me what I should eat before or after running. (Hopefully after. I cant run on a full stomach). But do this with detail pleasee.


Answer
Well you do NOT want to eat RIGHT before you go running because you'll get cramps so eat like an hour or a half hour before so your food will be digested and turned into energy for you to be able to run the distance. Eat carbs,proteins, and dairy through out the day to build muscle and to have the energy you need. Afterwards drink milk so your muscles will recover and wait til your hungry to eat after the run but eat something healthy. I wouldn't really suggest walking, maybe every now and then but running 3 to 5 times a week will get you in really good shape and its definitely a great way to build muscle in your legs, butt, hips, and abs. Another suggesion I wouldn't set a time goal for your self at least not yet anyways, this is what I do and it might be able to help you. So I run 3 miles 2 to 5 times a week(when its not snowing outside) and I time myself once a month to see if i've improved over time. By time my self I mean I use a stop watch and don't set a time for my self just because that way I see improvement. Since your a beginner though I wouldnt really suggest starting out with 3 miles I would suggest 1 mile to 1.5 miles 3 to 5 times a week then after a month or two start running further distances but even walking will help improve the distance you run but like I said run more then you go on walks. Hope I helped!:) Oh and some other things, what ever you do, do NOT stop running. If your worn down or tired just run slower, even if your running slower then you normally walk it'll improve the distance you'll be able to run. The last thing, if you can, run on grass because its better for your knees and if you can run with someone to keep you motivated.

Running books?




Reese g


I really want to start running. I'm out of shape completely and never ran more than a block in my life. Gyms cost too much so I want to run to get in shape and fit. I have good shoes (new balances) and a watch. I just need a good running book to guide me so I don't hurt my fat butt. Any suggestions?


Answer
The Runners World Complete Book of Running is a nice one for a beginner. It covers a lot of general stuff that you need to know.

The also have a version for women I think.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the best GPS watch for a distance runner?




D..


During the summer, I want a good GPS watch to clock 5+ mile long runs with... I want a watch that can tell me my minute-per-mile pace, miles ran, and how long I am running for, but is still a fairly reasonable price ($100-$200). What is the best website to order a GPS watch from, or just the best watch?


Answer
I have a Garmin 305. Its old, and they don't make them anymore. but you can still find them at Overstock.com.
It has a heart rate monitor. there are all kinds of accessories for it, too. It has every feature that you could ever want. It can upload and download stuff from your computer - and although its old - its software is new.
However its bulky , and ugly, and slow to find satellites (easy workaround - turn it on before you start warming up).
Amazon is a pretty good place to shop around. and the reviews are worth reading. DCRainmaker has a great website and he does very good reviews and has a lot of side by side comparisons.

I'm pretty sure the least expensive GPS watch is the Timex Marathon. and it does everything you want.
Oh, by the way. All GPS watches can not give you an accurate instantaneous pace. Some of them can be connected to a foot pod that can help with that. Also you can hit the lap button and get your pace for that lap. But if all you need it for is the features you listed you might be better off with a pedometer. If you have an ipod, the nike + kit is only $25.

What's a good Runner's GPS watch?




hazzone111


What's a good watch to use for running that has features that will help me train to run a marathon?

Looking for a GPS watch.

Thanks.



Answer
garmin forrunner 405

http://www8.garmin.com/ces/forerunner/index.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I can't live happily in this world anymore?




K


I'm a 14 year old trans guy which has brought me enough trouble to last me a lifetime. I'm apparently a highly capable and gifted student and I get showed off by my parents and teachers like I'm some sort of animal in a zoo. I have PTSD, anxiety, and depression. Both of my closest friends in life are dead. These are enough troubles to, in my mind, justify my suicide.

However, the worst of it is that for some time now I've been experiencing a sort of existential crisis that I can't go about fixing for myself. I don't want to live a normal, mundane, in and out life. I want to be a part of the universe, something big and important. But I don't just want to contemplate all of it here on Earth, I actually want to go out and explore it, become an adventurer and terraform planets, be innovative and contribute to creating and exploring new worlds. I want to be like one of the main characters in a science fiction novel or a video game and experience something that isn't Earth, that isn't run only by stupidity and poorly thought out politics.

But I never can, because this world is run almost entirely by those stupid people with terrible politics! People are so dead set against innovation and creativity and so heavily focused on internalization and their own petty issues that they fail to see their limitless potential as intelligent beings capable of creating and thinking. If we are the only sentient creatures to exist, we are the heart of the universe and yet we do nothing to take advantage of that despite the fact that we are more than capable. Because of this, I will grow up and be forced to live a mundane life and not be able to live out my dreams. My entire existence is doomed to be one that is petty and boring. I'm not going to be happy. It's my own fault to some extent, though. Even as a little kid I was depressed and felt the need to escape constantly. I found myself playing video games and reading all the time because I was so unhappy with my grim future. I was only happy in those worlds, and they don't exist. Games, books, and my dreams all share one thing in common, and that is the fact that they're purely fantasy.

I don't even know what I'm asking here. I guess I'm just asking for advice, if anyone has a different way of seeing things. I'm on a very high dosage of antidepressants and I get talk therapy, but nothing helps. I just feel so empty and unfulfilled. The world's given up on me, so why can't I give up on it?

What can I do?



Answer
I know how you feel. I constantly go from tv show to book series, trying hopelessly to fill the empty void inside of me. But, I try to put myself in a mind set that the things I read about, and watch, have made me expect too much of the world.
Adventure Time made me wish that we finally had the war to literally end all wars, Doctor Who made me wish that there was a mad man in a box flying around saving the world, and Terry Pratchett's books made me wish the world was carried on the back of a giant turtle. But I can't expect that of the world. It is what it is, I am what I am, and you are what you are. I've found that almost no other humans have anything in common with me, and I hate most of them for not understanding my point of view. But I try. I try so hard to see amazing things in the world that is already around me. It works. It helps. Not much, but enough. I have a small group of friends, and we're very close. I went it solo for the first few months of college, and I thought I could do it for the rest of the year! I thought there was no one in the school who could be my friend, but I was wrong.
Dude, you're intelligent! You can bring happiness to others through books, and TV programs, like others have done for you. Live not for the magic you wish to find, live for the magic you can give to others. Draw marvellous worlds of blue mongoose, and write long stories of children getting lost in the woods. Please don't commit suicide. There's no point. It will just make your parents and anyone who likes you sad. I'm sure your parents don't think you're an animal at the zoo, they do love you, it's just they value the fact that you've got a huge brain and they don't know how else to connect with you.
Get a pet, name it something kick-butt. See if anyone else at school likes the same stuff you do. Join an online virtual game. Write books, make movies, Have fun if nothing else.
You should get off the meds, you don't need them. You're thinking just like pretty much everyone else in the world. If you want, you can talk to me about stuff. You don't even need to talk to me about yourself. Heck, I can talk to you. I can tell you about my 6 chickens, and each of their personality issues. I can tell you about my 2 cats, and my crush on a dude who is the voice of a certain cartoon character. By the way, I'm a 13 year old girl. I like playing solitaire while watching TV. I like drawing in the near dark, and collecting paper clips. BTW, did you know that there's a flower big enough that you can sit in it? Of course you wouldn't want to, it smells like rotting flesh, but there's a fun fact for you!
Stay alive just to breathe the air.

My mom is ruining my life?




Missy


I will try to be short, but descriptive. Sorry if it's still too long. Please, read it! :(

I have been spiraling (more and more every year) into a very sad state of depression. I contemplate suicide on a daily basis... I attempt suicide several times a month. I have horrible anxiety issues. I can barely sleep... I'm also in a horrible school situation.

Here is what my mom has been doing:

She took me out of my high school last semester, because I was getting sick a lot. Yet, she often tells me she'll take me to the doctor, she NEVER does. Also, I begged her many times to get me started with online schooling, bet she kept putting it off until, I reluctantly gave up. Now, this month what would be my Junior year in high school started. I tried really hard to go back to public school, but she claimed she would start online courses for me! Well, it's already a few weeks into the school year, yet she hasn't done that yet! She acts like it's my responsibility or something! I will ask her if she's got all the information and things planned and she looks at me and thinks I was suppose to do that! Even if I do find out all the information and courses I want, she doesn't care. I feel like she's in control of my life... :( I feel so isolated, scared, numb... This is the worse state I have EVER been in. Let me also mention something. Last week, I finally decided to tell my mom about the time my older brother molested me when I was a little girl. She reacted terribly to this. After a lot of her yelling at me and trying to convince me that it was a dream or my imagination, she says she believes me, but it's just empty words to me. She fully supports me brother with his life and everything. She acts like I'm the one that damaged his life... I feel like I'm taking crazy pills here or something! I mean, I was molested by him, yet she treated me like I'm the criminal. I just don't know what to do anymore. I'm very very very close to actually committing suicide. Trust me. I don't want to! I really don't! I just feel so trapped. I have dreams of being a writer. That's the only thing that is truly keeping me alive. Even then, I feel like I'm an absolute failure. I did so well in school. I was an honor student. Now, I feel like my life is ruined. I honestly feel like I won't be able to ever go back to school, that I won't be able to go to college, and that my life will be complete crap! I am so scared out of my mind. It's so hard for me to explain to you how I'm feeling. I just feel so tired. As hard as I try, I feel like I'm about to fall over from it all. I seriously feel like I'm going to collapse one of these days and just die. I hate my mom so much. She always tells me that she does everything for me and "tries hard"... Also, she'll bribe me with items, and if I talk about the way she treats me, she'll say, "I get you everything...blah blah blah" I am simply SICK of what she's doing to my life. I don't know what to do, though! The only thing I can think of, is going to boarding school. I have looked into that, but it seems like it's too late to. Everyone I asked, tells me that it's not possible. Then, what am I suppose to do? PLEASE, help! I truly need it. Things are so bad, that when I'm really on the edge, I can't cry anymore. It's like my tears are locked inside me and I just turn numb.

- Just so you know, I'm sixteen years old. I will be turning seventeen in November. You have no idea how depressed that makes me feel. I feel like I'm watching my life pass by, not being able to take part in it. Just the other day, I was at the store and ran into some old classmates. Guess what? They were dressed up in their homecoming dresses. When I left the store, I cried so much. The pain is really unbearable for me.



Answer
I AGREE that your mom is harming you and you need to find some kind of help.
Just go back to school, and tell the school counselor what is happening. Your mom is mentally ill, and sounds like she is sabotaging your success. You cant let ther do that. You cant rely on her, sad to say, so stop expecting you will be able to.
Go to school. JUst go. If you have another place to live, do that.
You can call social services and tell them what is happening.
You can contact these people and see if they have any help for you to offer.
drphilfoundation.org
drphil.com
social services in the blue pages under state
look at your yellow pages under mental health and call and ask if you can come in to see someone on a sliding scale , as a teen, or ask for resources.
You need an adult in your corner that will help you counter your mom, and support and care for you.
You have to be very careful on the adults you trust , since at your age every perv comes out of the wood work,like roaches,and you dont need that.
Listen, you can do this. You are old enough. Plenty of people, have left home, gottne their own place and finished high school and gone on to college and made a success. You can legally leave home at 16 in most states.
Your mom is ill.
Now you have to start finding the trustworthy people in your life and make a family of choice.
girlsinc.org
mariska.com
giverespect.org startstrongteens.org loveisnotabuse.com bbbs.org (get a big sister),
Get BACK into school.
NOW.
Talk to the principle, tell them what you have said here. I think at sixteen you have the right to make decisions like this.
get going.
Figure out how you can participate in school , like the prom.
Find a mentor, someone you admire that is successful and into your interests,like writing, and ask them to advise and guide you. Find role models.
Make your future bright, and create the life you want. Find a career that you can make money at , while writing.
Start a web site that pays you money to adverise 18886843304 has a supportive program where they will set up a web site for 197$, also tax liens and realestate, maybe you could get into those also.
Start thinking, because it sounds like your mom has lost it, and you need all the help you can get , beyour own best friend. starting right now.
Here are some great therapists with a great healing method.
eftunierse.com click on 'get started free' for a free version , you can erase the negaitve messages and feelings you have and rebuild your confidence.
eftmastersworldwide.com
quantumrelease.com
the very best wishes to you
If you are unclear, on what to do, you can talk to these professionals , and they will help you make a plan that works for you. weaveinc.org




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, June 16, 2014

What is the better Running gps/ heart rate watch? Polar or garmin?




Jason V


having a hard time deciding which one to get, looking mainly at the garmin forerunner 310xt and the polar rs800cx. are both of these products top of the line? which one is better, or are there other good choices out there? thanks for the input!


Answer
I think the garmin is best. It finds the satellites very quickly for a gps, and feels fairly comfortable to wear. I don't think there are really any other major gps watches out there.

i need a running watches?




Hurdler551


i am a sprinter but to help my running i will be joining cross country. i need a GPS watch. i would like a really good one for a reasonable price. if you know of a specific one or any website or store please tell!!! thanks!


Answer
Hello,

The Garmin line of fitness watches would be an excellent choice for your activity.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

whose gonna watch 2012 in 2013 and laugh their butt off??




Nksee


i ammmm!!!!!


Answer
I'm going to run for Congress in 2012 so that I can introduce a law saying that, on Jan. 1, 2013, all people who said the world was going to end in 2012 have to get the words "I am a moron" tattooed on their foreheads.

I have ran out of anime to watch, Please help me.?




ArcticWolf


Hi, i need a new anime to watch, I have ran out of anime again and i cant seem to find anything interesting.

Some of the animes have watched and Enjoyed:

Ao No Exorcist

Angels Beats

Elfen Leid

Death Note

Mirai Nikki

Rosario Vampire

Heaven's Lost Property

High School DxD

Kore wa Zombie Desu Ka

Kanokon

Spice and Wolf

Hellsing

Can i have a few suggestions of anime to watch similar to these above :)
Also, i have seen Mirai Nikki :)



Answer
Watch out for spoilers

*(Before)-Unseen
*(After)-Great Anime (More stars the better)
#- Not 12 24min episodes

Yoake Mae Yori Ruri Iro Na -Crescent Love***************

#Sword Art Online**************(Of the 2 endings, the one at ep.14 is the best)

Gift Eternal Rainbow***************

Hagure Yūsha No Estetica*************** (Kinda like Zero No Tsukaima, but more manly. Obvious relationship with a "Your'e place is with me," and a really nice kiss. Season 1 ends with him and her, two girl students [VP of Student Council] and one best friend who seems evil, teleporting to Azaraad to find out why the people of Disdania knew where Akatsuki and Myuu were so quickly. Definitly watch future seasons, only one season that aired in the end of the summer to the fall in 2012)

Campione!(The main character is Kusanagi Godou and he kills a God in the first episode, so this gives him the title of Campione. The god he defeats actually holds the abilities of ten different beings and Godou has power over all of them. This is a really obvious harem, but it is understood and seen who the main girl is. She is probably my favorite anime girl because she falls under the whole hot girl from nobility, but she is also foreign [Italian]. She seems like a girl who would be a tsundere type, but she is not in the least bit. She constantly tells Kusanagi that she loves him and in the second to last episode he actually ets how serious she is and has been abot her feelings. I believe that he is seen giving her his heart when he says that he will save her if she promises to be by his side till the end of time. This anime is also reminds me of Princess Lover! as well as Fortune Arterial, except for the fact that there is a more solid pick.)

Onegai Teacher***************

#Naruto
#Naruto Shippuuden
(I can't possibly forget this)

#KaichÅ wa Maid-sama********(Good anime about the really cool and sly Usui who finds out in the 1st episode that the student council president, Misaki (Misa-chan) Ayuzawa, who hates how rude men in her school, is actually a working in a maid cafe as a waitress. He toys with her and in episode 6 kisses her and says he likes her. It is great, but it was unnecessarily 26 episodes long There are other really great episodes, romance wise. The summaries say he finds out her secret and the has her become his personal maid, but that is just a joke of his. The ending is a nice solid one, so watch in the future.)

#Zero No Tsukaima*********(4 Seasons Long developing romance, but the main characters get married in the end so it was good. Decent amount of fighting and great plot. I'd watch once i've forgotten the intricit details more.)

#Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu*********(Really nice anime that focuses a lot on their romance. It's about the most popular and incredibly wealthy girl in high school, and probably Japan, and the fact that she loves anime and manga, to the point of being an Otaku. She tries so hard to hide this fact, but soon the main male, Yuuto, finds out about it. He keeps it a secret and is pretty ordinary about it. The first season is more romance, while the second is a bit more ecchi [this does not mean that the romance is no longer there, in fact the 2nd season has one of its best episodes]. I still have to find the 4 OVA's but they're still being released. {date is 12/19})

Oda Nobuna No Yabo*********(this is the one where the kid who plays a lot of shoujo games somehow gets sent back in time to aid Oda Nobuna in reuniting Japan. His history knowledge plays a big role in it and other than a few mistakes, and believing that all the characters were men, not hot women like they are, in his past, he does end up aiding them in their battles a lot. There is a strong tsundere lead, and she has a good relationship with the male lead from the near beginning. This came out in 2012 and has good potential for 2nd season, so try to remember and find it.)

H2O: Footprints in the Sand*********(Has a lot of drama and it also throws in some weird twists towards the end of the series. The main character is Takuma Hirose and he is blind. He goes to a village in order to heal from his unknown condition and it seems as though a spirit called Otoha healed him. The main girl is Kohinata Hayami and she is beaten mercilessly her entire life for what her family used to do to the village. She is nonchalant about it and as time goes on, comes to open up to Hirose. It really reminds me of the drama in Myself;Yourself and it makes me want to see Myself;Yourself again.)

Dakara Boku Wa H Ga Dekinai********* (Was a good one. He makes a contract with Lisara, who is a shinigami, to help find her special specimen and she will save his life which is supposed to end in 3 months. Great ending, he regects childhood friend and when he is brought back from brink of death Lisara says that she loves him. Has same Ero-ness from Highschool DxD, but actually shows to nudity, the




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, June 15, 2014

What's a good Runner's GPS watch?




hazzone111


What's a good watch to use for running that has features that will help me train to run a marathon?

Looking for a GPS watch.

Thanks.



Answer
garmin forrunner 405

http://www8.garmin.com/ces/forerunner/index.html

Can you recommend a running watch for me that covers these features?




Nathaniel


I am a high school runner and am interested in a running watch for several reasons. I used the nike+ kit before but I want something more accurate and also, I don't wear nike shoes anymore and want to try a real watch.

The main features I want from the watch are:

-Able to tell me my pace at which I'm running very accurately
-Able to let me record laps
-Able to tell me the distance I've gone
-Backlight

And preferably:
-Water resistant or at least won't get ruined in a little rain
- Average pace of the whole run after I'm finished

I am really looking for the cheapest watch possible that covers those needs. I don't know if I'm asking for basic features or some complex ones, I would assume most average running watches cover those features?

Also, for the pace and distance, how will the watch be accurate? I know with nike+, the battery that goes in the shoe sends information of the running to the sensor in the iPod. So how do running watches record accurate pace and distance?

Please help me find the best watch!!?



Answer
I have been doing research on that very thing, and I've found that the most reliable watches are the Garmin Forerunner watches. The 305 and 405 are the most up-to-date, but I'm still a little fuzzy on their pace and mileage tracking capabilities. The information I've found doesn't tell verbatim "Keeps track of your pace and miles run." I hope more people contribute answers; I know running stores will have great information, but the internet has much cheaper prices.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers