Saturday, November 23, 2013

Why do black men/women seem to build muscles easier than their white counterparts?

best sports watches for women runners on Pedometer Watches For Women | The Best Pedometer
best sports watches for women runners image



maukie123


When watching sports, whether it be athletics, football, soccer, boxing etc black competitors seem to have a much more muscular build than white people. Why is this?
I think in competitive sport people have similar training regimes
And please dont hit me with the ignorance card its a legitimate question,dont answer it if your going to be abusive



Answer
Well first I think not all black people, as there are over 1 billion Africans and they can differ genetically more between themselves than white people do to them.

The colour black looks sleeker; think of electronic items.

I have read that black men have more testosterone, maybe, but if you consider the above.

I also read that they tend to have more fast twitch muscles (power) compared to white people having more slow twitch (endurance). I am not too sure about that one as in Africa we are said to have evolved into the worlds best endurance runner. We ran down prey long distance as we cannot sprint very fast. This seems contradictory to the Africans having more fast twitch muscles. Thinking of the top paragraph again some populations of Africa are tall and very thin, I wouldn't expect them to grow muscles well e.g. the Ethiopian running team.

I wonder too if by black men/women you mean for example African American or British African. I know they are were not all slaves but if many were then they would have been chosen for their health and strength. Then they had to survive an awful sea journey and so are probably good stock.

What do horseback riders call one another?




Mr. Best A


Jockey is only used to describe 100 pound, 5' tall men, that wear tights and beat their horse in the ass with a stick. So what about the hobbyists?

People who run are runners. People who rock climb are climbers. Do they call each other riders or is there another term or slang for it?
Thanks and I don't doubt it. I bet what they do is exhausting.



Answer
First of all, Smarty Pants, not all jockeys are male, not any more. There are females who have been very successful in recent years and decades, including Chantal Sutherland ( who's now retired), Julie Krone, Rosie Napravnik, and several more. Many trainers prefer to employ women as grooms and exercise riders too, because they believe that women can relate to horses better than men. As for what riders call each other, that varies. "Riders" is the most common term I've heard, with an additional name that designates which sport or discipline the person is involved in. There are dressage riders, event riders, show jumping riders or show jumpers, hunter riders, equitation riders, saddle seat riders, stock seat or Western riders, and so forth. People who play polo are called polo players. People who barrel race are called barrel racers. If someone does cutting or reining, he or she is called a cutter or a reiner, depending on the sport.

Horse sports are gender neutral. Men and women compete equally with and against one another, especially in international events like the Olympic Games and the WEG. These are also the only sports in which co-ed teams are common. It's not unsual at all to see married couples competing together, or teams made up of brothers, sisters, or father and son combinations. There's even one sport, endurance riding, where there was a famous mother/daughter combination that represented the US some years ago- Valerie and Danielle Kanavy. The rules are the same for both genders in all horse sports. After all, the horses don't care what a rider's gender is, nor do they care what their riders look like or what their riders' political affliliation may be. Horses also have no concept or notion of the terms "gay" and "straight" the way humans do. It's this gender blind, race blind, color blind, and species blind attitude that makes horse sports unique.

One other note: The crop that jockeys use is very soft, and is more a noisemaker than an instrument of punishment. It doesn't hurt the horse, and there are strict rules against overuse of the whip on every track. Jockeys who break or violate such rules can face fines and loss of their license to ride, which means they can't make a living. The racing stewards are always watching what jockeys do, and they are on the lookout for poor behavior all the time. And the jockeys don't wear tights, they wear breeches, as do riders in all other English style sports. A lot of jockeys are taller than five feet, too, especially those who ride steeplechase horses. Peope who participate in harness sports are called drivers. If the sport is competitive driving, the driver may have a navigator and a brakeman along too.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, November 22, 2013

Is it wise to use a treadmill to increase my pace?

running watches nike gps on Nike + SportWatch GPS Running Watch With Sensor - Reviews & Prices ...
running watches nike gps image



Joesph


My running comfortable pace is about 8:30 per mile. I want to run at a pace of 8 mph. Would a treadmill be sufficient of helping me attain the pace versus running outside?


Answer
The general consensus is that if you want to train on a treadmill you should set a 1% incline to compensate for the lack of wind resistance, minor elevation changes, and other factors that you would otherwise experience while outdoors.

Treadmills are great when when weather conditions aren't best outdoors, but ideally you should be training on the terrain you want to achieve your pace at. Variations in elevation, turns, changes in stride, dodging other runners/obstacles help you to develop your core and give the muscles you use for running a better balance.

To track your progress, consider purchasing a digital pedometer like the Nike+ system, or a Garmin Forerunner GPS watch if your budget allows.

Suggested reading: "Galloway's Book on Running" by Jeff Galloway

I am looking for a good online running store based out of Australia?




smashH


I am looking for an australian running website that will allow me to order shoes online and ship them to a rural address. Does anyone have any suggestions? I have been looking to buy a pair of nike air zoom haywards online and can only find them in America. Any good suggestions for Australian running sites? Many thanks.


Answer
Dear here are some of the Australia based stores online:

http://www.nike.com.au/g1/au/index.asp

http://www.myshopping.com.au/PT--240_shoes_Nike__fs_9431_e__

http://www.shopferret.com.au/shop-nike-shoes.html

Hope this helps. Just in case you are looking for good idea on running watches, you may find fair, non-selling tone reviews here http://www.runningwatchreviews.com/97/garmin-forerunner-405-wireless-gps-enabled-sports-watch/. Lots from nike and other brands :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Has anybody used the Garmin Forerunner watches?

running watches that track distance and pace on running watches with heart rate monitor and gps Caye Vacation Rentals
running watches that track distance and pace image



Blochwave


I've been running a lot while training for a marathon, and run a lot in general, I think one of those watches might be useful. I assume it uses GPS to track distance and speed? Are some of the advanced features of the higher end (and more expensive) models worth it? I see the 205 has the GPS functionality, which is all I think I want, but let me know what you think.


Answer
I got the 305 for Christmas, its pretty awesome it tracks speed,time,heart rate and zone, pace and when you hook it with your computer you can see where you ran through google maps, plus you get a chart with all those stats.

I want to start running, but whats the best way?




Megs


Basically I want to start running.

I have asthma and haven't ran in years.

What are the best ways for me to start running?

I have 1.5 years to learn to run a line in 13 minutes, is this possible?

The most informative and detailed answer will get the the Best Answer.
that should read:

I have 1.5 years to learn to rune a mile in 13 minutes, is that possible?



Answer
You should be able to achieve a 13 minute mile in a lot less than in 1.5 years. But definitely start by building your way up. You might want to try starting out by mapping a mile from your house (mapmyrun.com works for me), and seeing how far you can run without stopping at a comfortable pace so your asthma doesn't affect you. If you feel that you need to walk, go ahead. You don't want to push yourself too hard once you start running. Each time you go along that mile route, try to see if you can run just a little but farther than you did the last time, even if it's only by a couple of feet. Like, set a goal as you're running to make it without stopping to the end of the street, or the next fire hydrant, etc.
Don't worry if you're slow or if it's hard, your body will adjust and you'll be able to keep going if you work at it. If you live near a track, like at a high school, you can try doing laps (it's 4 times around for a mile), and seeing how far you can go. I would start with a mile first, and you should use a watch to time yourself on how long it takes you to finish it. If you want to be able to run longer distances than a mile, then build yourself up slowly. Maybe run a mile 3 days a week, and then the next week try a 1.5 miles 3 days a week, then 2, etc.
With your asthma, you should carry an inhaler and obviously focus on your breathing during your run. Take deep breaths and controlled breaths as you run, don't breath too quickly or you'll get a side cramp and it'll mess you up. You also don't want to go at a time when it's hot, try early morning or late evening where it's cool (depending on where you live).
As you're starting to run also, having a good mentality is key. You should try to clear your mind, or keep positive thoughts in mind. Sometimes when i'm running and i feel like slowing down or giving up, i just repeat a mantra to myself, like "you can do it, you've come this far, don't give up." Whatever works for you. If you're thinking negatively, like "oh my gosh, this is hard, i can't/don't want to do this," then you'll be making the run harder than it needs to be. If there's someone who can ride their bike or run with you to give you positive feedback, that might boost your confidence and help you progress as well. Sometimes running might not feel so fun once you start, but the good feeling that you get after doing well when you run is definately worth the hard work. It's called a runner's high, and it's pretty much where, after the run, you just feel happy and in a good mood. It's one of the best feelings. & maybe as a reward for doing well on a run, treat yourself. Go buy some of your favorite ice cream, get a massage, take some "me" time. Whatever works.
So that's the advice i'd give to a beginning runner, I hope that helped. If you have any other questions feel free to ask. I've been running for almost two years, and i've learned a lot as i've gone and as i keep going. Good luck. [ :




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Is there a way to watch Homestar Runner videos on my iPhone 3G?

best watch for runners on ... Running Watch Reviews & Customer Ratings - Top & Best Rated Products
best watch for runners image



Nikki1862


I'm a huge fan of The Brothers Chaps and I want to know if there's an easy way to watch Homestar Runner videos from my iPhone 3G. (Because the iPhone doesn't use flash for some annoying reason...)

Thanks!! :)



Answer
Yes, The Brothers Chaps themselves have uploaded some of the toons and sbemails on YouTube under the name of "homestarrunnerdotcom" in very good quality. Fans have also uploaded some of their work on YouTube, some in good quality as well.

Enjoy! :)

Does anyone want to explain to me exactly what happened in Blade Runner?




Matthew's_


So I watched Blade Runner and I did not understand. Does anyone feel like explaining basically everything to me?


Answer
Deckard is a Blade Runner, a police man of the future who hunts down and terminates replicants, artificially created humans. He wants to get out of the force, but is drawn back in when 4 "skin jobs", a slang term for replicants, hijack a ship back to Earth. The city that Deckard must search for his prey is a huge, sprawling, bleak vision of the future. This film questions what it is to be human, and why life is so precious.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

should i buy a honda civic ( if so, what kind), or volkswagen jetta or passat?

sports watch review 2011 on Armitron Men's 408177RED Chronograph Black and Red Digital Sport Watch
sports watch review 2011 image



..123123


which of these cars is the safest and has the best equipment? can anyone gimmi any review of these cars? it would be perfect if you have owned or drove one before. if jetta and passat dont have that much difference, i might just get a jetta, but all i know is that passsat is larger than jetta. and i just dont know how to compare honda with bolkswagen... help me :(


Answer
Owned both, i use to have 2007 Honda Civic EX and it was great when i purchased it brand new at 07 but IMO honda civic lose power in the long run, my civic had 90k+ miles on it and it reached 40+ MPG but it loses the power quick and the steering isnt so great/reponsive.

i traded my civic07 with a brand new 2012 VW jetta TDi(premium)(watch out i said diesel, i think its more economical and miles on tank wise,) and i love my VW jetta, handles really well(very responsive!!) and the power is always there!!! the brakes are really really good(all four disc brakes) the S(gas) has drum brakes on the rare and SE-SEL(gas) have all disc brakes.
my VW is like 7k miles right now and its already hitting 45+MPG, I LOVE IT in other words,,,

this is for diesel:if you carry alot of stuffs or you want it for family car then get the passat, they might say its a big jetta but it hits great, i mean great mileage too! ive read forums that its the same MPG with jetta, and FYI you can check tdiclub.com if you want, and btw i own a Mercedes-Benz c230 Sport v6, so i love sporty responsive cars,

at the end though, test drive the cars you picked and pick the one you feel comfortable with and the one where you can afford. :D

also check youtube lol there are alot of review there and comments.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=AOW-Xq1s_Ic&feature=related --> 2011 VW Jetta 2.5L
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPCeVunNEYg --> 2012 Honda Civic
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZfOtV9Jk6Y0&feature=plcp --> 2011 Volkswagen Jetta
http://www.city-data.com/forum/automotive/1180111-2011-jetta-vs-2011-honda-civic.html --> 2012 honda civic vs 2012 vw jetta

I am 73yrs old. How do I obtain a VISA to visit USVI?




Ronald


My name is Ronald Timothy born 2/4/40 I have one daughter who I have not seen since 1982 and 4 grands plus 3great grands I have never seen. All I want to do is check in with my blood line before I leave this EARTH. How hard is that for the goodly officers to understand? Ronald Timothy

What you are viewing below is information that was mailed to the US immigration Director
South East Port of Spain Achievement Organisation (SEPAO
Community Activist Group founded SEPT 4, 1995-EMAIL: sepaoachieve@yahoo.com
28c St Joseph Road, East Dry River Port of Spain Trinidad W.I. Telefax: 868- 627-7163//462-2567/767/6081/480-715-6432
Motto: People helping to promote self-awareness in young minds towards reaching higher levels
Watch Words: Respect, Knowledge and Understanding
18/5/2012

Director

United States Department of State
National Visa Center
Attn: TERM
31Rochester Avenue, Suite 200
Portmouth 03801-2915



Dear Director

My case number: PTS2005808006. Yes! I am still very much interested in obtaining a non resident visa for the purpose of visiting my daughter whom Iâve not seen since 1982 at the age of 9. Just imaging, when she was about to marry I tried my utmost to reach the heart of your visa officials here in Trinidad wherein I paid the tidy sum of $600.00 and they said my plan is to go to that US Virgin islands to work and that is so far from the truth.

The truth, I turned 72 on the 2nd of April 2012 and all I want is to be allowed to visit my daughter, her family and specifically to meet all my Grands and Great Grands who live in St Croix US Virgin Islands before I exit this world. For this reason I am appealing to your understanding and consideration about this request.

To continue, presently I am involved in community activities as an activist wherein my objectives are; to promote the advance of progress about children aged 6 to 13 via computers and other learning aids in various primary schools and communities in my country Trinidad & Tobago.

Respectfully Yours

______________
Ronald Timothy
Applicant/Chairman Ph/fax 868 627-7163/462-2567

Pictures of my activities.












SEPAO ANNUAL SENIOR CITIZENS LUNCHEON 2011 SEPAO ANNUAL CHILDREN EVENT 2011

Executive: Ronald Timothy (Chairman) Michael Joseph (Vice Chairman) (Tiffany Bradshaw Secretary/Treasurer) (Vannessa Hernandez Asst Secretary Treasurer)
Annette Borel & Shearlana Primus: Public.Relations) (Derick Olliverre & Emmerson Nelson: Trustees)




























Financial Report 2005/2006
Introduction

FUND RAISING EFFORTS:

The activities of the Organisation for the periods under review were centered on recurring and new initiatives. Among the projects undertaking were the annual Win Win Senior Citizens Luncheon that caters for 50 persons that are in their golden years and a treat for 700 children. (a) Emancipation activities. (b) Various Sporting initiatives, Continual Guidance Training and other child development initiatives.

Financial constraints not with standing, the Organisation was able to achieve the set out puts, for the 2005-2006 periods. All of the projects were successful as we continued to earn the respect, support and commitment of active members, the corporate fraternity and the wider community. All of the efforts were also conducted in manner that will promote self-confidence, nurture a sense of belonging among youths and reduce violence and criminal tendencies within the community.

It is without doubt that crime; poverty; displacement and deprivation continue to be a major challenge, for South Port of Spain and the St Paul Street area, we have committed ourselves to serve.

In spite of the difficulties, we see the previous financial year as one of procuring tremendous character and a communal resolve to address the serious social, economic, cultural and psychological problems that have bedevilled the area over the last three decades. A commitment we continued to strive for, with the co-operation and support of other stakeholders.

Our organization, South East Port of Spain Achievement Organisation (SEPAO), which is no relation to (SEPOS CULTURAL WORKSHOP) have already spent approximately Fifty Six Thousand Eight Hundred Ten Dollars and Thirty-Seven Cents 56, 810.37, towards the refurbishing of our Centre. In order to institute our Continual Guidance Programme.

ANNUAL WIN WIN SENIOR CITIZENS LUNCHEON AND CHILDREN TREAT

This event was held at the Riverside Plaza Forecourt where 50 senior citizens were treated to a Lunch and Grocery Hampers. In addition, 700 children from St P



Answer
Apparently the consular officer found you ineligible for a visa. Appealing to the NVC is a wasted effort as the NVC has no authority over visa issuance for visitors. Since it is not far from the USVI
to Trinidad, it is odd that your family there have never been interested in visiting you.

Information relating to visa denials here: http://trinidad.usembassy.gov/non-immigrant_visas1/frequently-asked-questions/visa-refusals.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What can be done about to prevent bad calls in NBA.?

running watches perth on Watches of Switzerland Melbourne Sydney Brisbane Perth
running watches perth image



Me M


Or at least cut down the amount of them. They can cost teams games! Just tired of seeing them all the time.


Answer
You could try what they are doing for the cricket(Test Series)
Aus V SA and Eng V WI,in the event of a run out the umpire refers it up to the 3Rd umpire he sits in the box and watches a TV monitor,then a green light ( IN ),red light ( out ),if there is a dogey decision the captain can dispute the decision with the umpire and get it refereed up to the 3 Rd umpire.
It is not a full proof system yet it is still just starting up,still has gremlins in the system,but hopefully it works out all right
I live in Perth WA so i don't follow NBA or the NFL,Baseball
it is just an idea

Does anyone have family, or friends, kids, involved in Little Athletics?




Truthful J


I spent most of the day at the State Athletics Centre, here in Perth watching the kids participating in the State Championships. It was so good to see all the kids, from 7 to 17 involved in their running, jumping & throwing events; the delight & disappointment of the winners & losers; the mothers & grand mothers yelling support.......

Of course it was made better by the fact that my 7 yo grand daughter won medals in both running events she was involved in.
@ Unicorn............You guessed wrong, or part wrong. It was relays, plus long jump, triple jump, javelin throwing. I may be a sucker but I'm not a moron!



Answer
Thruthful, yes my granddaughter, who is also 7, their last day of the season was yesterday. She called me last night here in the capital, to tell me she got a first, a second, and three third place ribbons. I am a bit peeved I couldn't be there for it.

I get a reel buzz when I attend the meets, kids everywhere, and there is so much talent.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

How will my money be utilized in Darfur?

running watch malaysia on Elections, Obama, President, Senator, Representative, Republican Watch ...
running watch malaysia image






Do any of you know of organizations that give examples of how my dollar is being used? i.e."$80 provides tents for a family of 5". My school is looking to donate money off the shirts we are selling to raise awareness and help the people. Thank You!


Answer
Hope this helps you understand Darfur Issue:

The following is what I found: (All materials are based on the Economist, a British weekly journal, a staunch supporter for Iraq Invasion)

1)Sudan is running the longest civil war on Earth. Wars were waged among the tribes in the South, the West and partly the North. They had been in fighting since the 1950s, when the old colonial masters, the English and French, left. This Sudan government, sovereign in name, had never been in full control.

2)The Sudan government is of black-Islamist, who took side with the Arabs whenever the Israel-Arab conflicts flared up. That certainly cannot be tolerated by Israel and US. Sudan once gave refuge to Bin Laden but drove him out under US pressure. It also tasted US bombs during the Clinton Administration in 1998 when a pharmaceutical plant was a target. Sudan was still under US embargo.

3)In the South, non-Arab blacks, with American support , gradually got the upper hand in the struggle, and negotiated a peace treaty with the Sudan government under Colin Powellâs watch. To Americansâ credit, the peace treaty would not come into being without Colin Powellâs perseverance and occasional show of intimidation. Before, Sudan was one piece. Now, it is partitioned into two. A new geopolitical unit is added to the map by the US, it is called Southern Sudan.

4)Oil was discovered. They were the bones of contention between the South and the Sudan Government. The Sudan Government made oil concessions to French, Canadian and other European oil companies, which, under US pressure, many quit and sold concession rights to Malaysia and China and India. China came in 2006. with 40% of investment share in one oil adventure only. Within that adventure the rest is shared between Malaysia, 40%, and the Sudan government.

5)If you ask, why does the civil war never end in Africa? Answer: the boys had no jobs! What else can they do?! So it is obvious that an investment by any country would create job opportunities for the young Sudanese. But here comes an obstacle: the US embargo had never been lifted. It was the Executive Order 13067 issued in 1997.

6) But why did US try very hard to negotiate a peace treaty between the South rebels and the Sudan Government? This question can be answered only in this way: a) US pressed for a peace treaty only to see that the Southern rebels would not be crushed by the government; 2) the US and UK did not like oil companies coming in other than Exxon and BP.

7)Then what about Darfur? It is a region, the size of a France, in West Sudan. Practically speaking, it is beyond Sudan government control. Unlike in Southern Sudan, where fighting is between the Government and the local rebellions, in Darfur it is the locals who fight the locals.

8)So how exactly can you put pressure effectively on a party that is not involved in the other two partiesâ fight? If you argue that the Sudan Government is a sovereign which should bear a direct responsibility, then you face this problem: the Sudan government cannot be considered an effective government , not effective at all since it could not even end a civil war that has lasted for the past 50 years. As a matter of fact, this Sudan government is not even in full control of its own northern territory, where the revolt is looming large.

9)Oil makes poor nations rich. This is a proven example as we see the Arabs and Latin Americans on their way to wealth. So Chinaâs investment in Sudan is a plus to African people . Furthermore, the Chinese are also building roads, digging wells and doing other infrastructures work. Pressuring them out of Sudan is disserving the interests of Sudanese people. Killings shall go on in Darfur even if the Chinese quit Sudan.

After a month-long research on Darfur issue, it has indeed amazed me to see how the UK and the US flex their mind-manipulation power against China.

Same as their swindling the whole world into accepting the Iraq invasion on a trumped-up WMD-plus-biochemical pretense, a mind-manipulation campaign has been under way to make the world believe that Darfur is Chinaâs fault.

Could the Philippines win against war with Malaysia or other countries claiming spratly?




adamstarz2


If the Philippines now has good relationship with Mindanao who could do massive damage to the Philippines without much funds and if the Philippines has good non-corrupt government and U.Sarmy trains filipino troops


Answer
Nah... Agua Bendita will play on tv and everyone will eventually run back and watch =D

Plus, we export our health care experts more than anything else, would be quite ironic to focus on military.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What movie should i watch right now on netflix?

running watches guide on You're Watching
running watches guide image



Janelle


So right now im on netflix and im wondering if there are any suggestions on good movies to watch on it such as horr because i love being really scared.or comedy or romance.


Answer
I was just asking myself that same question, looking for other answers when I stumbled across your inquiry... this is what I've got so far...

NEVER SEEN, looks promising
Clockwork orange (supposed to be one of the greatest movies, brainfuck)
rain man (everyone's seen this movie but me)
ong bak 2 and 3(muay thai, gotta love it. the prequel was amazing though.. tony jaa)
doc. - food, inc. (hear a lot about it)
doc. - food matters(seems like knowledge I could benefit from)
doc. - solitary confinement
boys and girls guide to getting down (different, quirky)
the graduate(supposed to be good, somewhat a classic i guess)
the good thief (i dont know, got recommended)
before the devil knows your dead (has a lot of academy award acters/actresses)
let the right one in (supposed to be crazy i guess)
matchstick men (nicolas cage, seems alright i guess)
great expectations (romance, offa novel)

and if your into the military
doc. - restrepo****(great documentary)
doc. - camp leatherneck
hearbreak ridge (clint eastwood, havent seen)
jarhead***
red baron(havent seen)
saints & soldiers (havent seen)
thin red line(havent seen, supposed to be great)
black hawk down***

Oldboy**** (great ass movie, brainfuck, foreign)
Ong bak (great action)
The Boondock Saints***
Amelie***(interesting, foriegn)
The Basketball Diaries** (leanardo de caprio, pretty good)
seven pounds***(will smith, amazing, deep)
midnight run**(robert deniro, good movie)
crank 2*(jason statham, it's okay, quirky action, prequel was better)
mary & max** (hillarious claymation, if you like dark humor)
lock, stock, and two smokin barrels*** (jason statham, violent quirky, one of those good watches)
clockers*** (crime drama, good)
karate kid(whatever)
cashback** (different)
GoodFellas** (classic gangster robert deniro, ray liotta, joe pesci)
Donnie Darko*** (jake gyllenhaal, great movie, great brain fuck)
Brick*** (joseph gordon-levitt, mystery, crime thriller)
a river runs through it (brad pitt, emotional, heartfelt, based off novel)
the curious case of benjamin button (brad pitt, emotional, heartfelt, based off novel)
the trailer park boys***(show sucks, movies amazing as far as most comedy goes)
friday (ice cube & chris tucker, quirky)

sin nombre**** (foreign, amazing film everyone should see, interesting)


I feel like I'm missing something, but these are all of the movies available on netflix's instant streaming that i can think of as of right now

just to review, I'd really recommend Sin Nombre, Oldboy, and Brick... provocative movies

oh, and the fall seems pretty promising, havent seen it

How do I watch YouTube on my computer?




Jebnifer


I am running Vista. A week ago I was able to view YouTube, but now there is an error that says "Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player." Java isn't turned off and I installed the most recent version of Flash. Please help me!


Answer
If your YouTube is stuck with "java script" and "flash player"
messages, and people are telling you change or install stuff,
DON'T TOUCH A THING!

You'll get nowhere tinkering with java scripts, flash players,
firewall settings, anti-virus utilities, active X controls, pop-up
blockers or various browsers. And definitely stay away from
any software that people on this page want you to buy.

None of those things will help you, because your computer
and YouTube were working perfectly fine at one point, right?
The first rule of thumb and best option should ALWAYS be:
don't disable, erase, uninstall, switch, download, alter, add,
change or install anything. That'll only make matters worse.

I am fairly sure that your "java script" and "flash player" are
fine. Nothing within YouTube has changed in the past year.
If anything, the newer "flash players", especially version 10,
have been known to give lots of trouble to many YouTubers.

Your problem may correct itself within a few hours or by the
next day because YouTube frequently shuts down many of
its servers every single day without telling anybody in order
to update stuff. On some of those occasions, it's YouTube's
transmission of "java" or "flash" that's poor, not yours.

If by the next day your YouTube is still "stuck" and showing
you those terrible "java script" and "flash player" messages,
it's very possible that your directories of "temporary internet
files" and memory (often times called "cache") are full to the
maximum and just can't take anymore, the end result being
that YouTube videos never even make it onto your screen.

"Temporary internet files" are tiny bits of webpages that get
permanently put on your hard-drive. They'll stay there forever
and ever, slowly plugging up your computer (much like hair
will slowly clog up a sink drain) until you get rid of them, or
until you clear your "cache" (which would also include your
"cookies" and "history").

If you're not sure how to clear your "cache", or if you would
like extra tips on making YouTube run even better (without
having to buy or install anything), click my avatar and send
send me a message -- ideally with your YouTube or regular
email address. I will guide you step-by-step through "cache"
clearing plus my tips in plain English with full explanations.

Note 1: if you have Google Web Accelerator (or something
similar to it), dump it, burn it, trash it, disable it, uninstall it;
-- do all that you can to get as far away from it as possible,
even if this contradicts my advice. Not only does it conflict
with YouTube, clicking on "Don't Accelerate This Website"
will not help you whatsoever.

Note 2: longer videos require both "Flash" and "Shockwave"
in order to play smooth. You don't require anything else, so
please avoid any and all sales pitches from those Yahooers
who are really disguised salespeople pimping their products
for your dollars. Their "solutions" have absolutely nothing to
do with your question, and their wares may actually worsen
your problem. Besides, what kind of stupid and self-serving
answer is: [my paraphrase] "Although you can't even watch
or access videos, get this downloader."

Note 3: an unusual fix that once worked for me was altering
the URL "www . youtube . com" to simply "youtube . com",
(or you can even try "ca . youtube . com").




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it wise to use a treadmill to increase my pace?

running watches nike gps on Nike GPS Sportwatch has arrived and are going fast! | Missouri Running ...
running watches nike gps image



Joesph


My running comfortable pace is about 8:30 per mile. I want to run at a pace of 8 mph. Would a treadmill be sufficient of helping me attain the pace versus running outside?


Answer
The general consensus is that if you want to train on a treadmill you should set a 1% incline to compensate for the lack of wind resistance, minor elevation changes, and other factors that you would otherwise experience while outdoors.

Treadmills are great when when weather conditions aren't best outdoors, but ideally you should be training on the terrain you want to achieve your pace at. Variations in elevation, turns, changes in stride, dodging other runners/obstacles help you to develop your core and give the muscles you use for running a better balance.

To track your progress, consider purchasing a digital pedometer like the Nike+ system, or a Garmin Forerunner GPS watch if your budget allows.

Suggested reading: "Galloway's Book on Running" by Jeff Galloway

I am looking for a good online running store based out of Australia?




smashH


I am looking for an australian running website that will allow me to order shoes online and ship them to a rural address. Does anyone have any suggestions? I have been looking to buy a pair of nike air zoom haywards online and can only find them in America. Any good suggestions for Australian running sites? Many thanks.


Answer
Dear here are some of the Australia based stores online:

http://www.nike.com.au/g1/au/index.asp

http://www.myshopping.com.au/PT--240_shoes_Nike__fs_9431_e__

http://www.shopferret.com.au/shop-nike-shoes.html

Hope this helps. Just in case you are looking for good idea on running watches, you may find fair, non-selling tone reviews here http://www.runningwatchreviews.com/97/garmin-forerunner-405-wireless-gps-enabled-sports-watch/. Lots from nike and other brands :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What should I send in a care package to a grieving family?

best running watches for your money on Many thanks to everyone for your continued support and good wishes.
best running watches for your money image



Regan


Some good friends of mine have lost two of their very young children in a house fire recently and I'd like to do something for them. I'd love to be there and do for them, whether that's making meals for them, running errands, watching their oldest child, or whatever they need, but unfortunately I live on the other side of the country and have no way to get to them. I've decided to send them a care package, but I have no idea what to include. I'm making some cookies and home made candies, and I thought I'd send some cash and a nice letter, but I'd like to include more.


Answer
Money, of course.

Think of something to send that you would have given to them had they been your neighbors. A tin of cookies [soft ones might travel better] might express your sympathy.

Do be careful what you send. If they were burned out of their house, they may not have a new one yet. They might be living in close quarters in a motel. They might not have room for a lot.

You might save the care package until they have a new place to stay. Then, there will be lots of things to send them, from towels to pillow cases, to gift baskets of fruit, to ham and on and on.

Find out if something like a gift card for some fast food, like pizza, would be helpful. Be sure and pick a place that delivers. They might be miles from the restaurant.

What bank has the highest percentages for their teen banking accounts?




Shalena


I'm 16 and looking to open a banking account that will provide a debit card.

What bank will offer me the highest percentages?? I am looking to watch my money grow.



Answer
US answer:
You are not going to find anything better than 1% - anywhere.
And do not go with an online bank - not for your first account.
You want easy access to your money in case you need it.

Talk to your mom, and ask her which bank she uses.
She will go with the bank with you to open an account.
The important part is to save.
Lets say you have $100, keep in mind that 1% is just $1 a year.
Not worth shopping round for these low interest rates.

Since you are 18 or under, your mom will have to open the account with you.
The advantage of using the same bank, is that the accounts wil be tied together.
She can transfer money to your account in a blink of an eye in case you run into a problem.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some really good classic novels that I can read?

running watches john lewis on Chair of Obama's Bioethics Commission Ignores Ghostwriting on Her Own ...
running watches john lewis image



allro


I want ones that everybody knows about and that are required reads for school.
Reccomend as many as you can.



Answer
-The Oddessey (I can't spell.)
-The Illiad
-The Outsiders
-To Kill a Mockingbird
-Anthem by Ayn Rand
-1984 by George Orwell
-Bless Me Ultima
-Tuesdays with Morrie
-Romeo and Juliet
-The Catcher in the Rye
-The Mists of Avalon
-The Once and Future King



Edit:
-Anything by Foyodor Dostoevsky
-Pride and Prejudice
-A Clockwork Orange
-Marie Antionette
-The Great Gastby

& These Are Reccomended for 9-12:

The Bible. Old Testament and New Testament.
Bolt, Robert. A Man for All Seasons.
Brontë, Charlotte. Jane Eyre.
Brontë, Emily. Wuthering Heights.
Buck, Pearl. The Good Earth.
Camus, Albert. The Stranger.
Cather, Willa. My Ãntonia.
Cervantes, Miguel de. Don Quixote.
Chaucer, Geoffrey. The Canterbury Tales.
Chekhov, Anton. The Cherry Orchard.
Collins, Wilkie. The Moonstone.
Conrad, Joseph. Lord Jim.
Crane, Stephen. The Red Badge of Courage.
Dante. The Divine Comedy.
Defoe, Daniel. Moll Flanders.
Dickens, Charles. Great Expectations.
Dickinson, Emily. Poems.
Dostoevsky, Fyodor. Crime and Punishment.
Dreiser, Theodore. An American Tragedy.
Eliot, George. Silas Marner.
Eliot, T.S. Murder in the Cathedral.
Ellison, Ralph. Invisible Man.
Emerson, Ralph Waldo. Essays.
Faulkner, William. The Sound and the Fury.
Fielding, Henry. Tom Jones.
Fitzgerald, F. Scott. The Great Gatsby.
Flaubert, Gustave. Madame Bovary.
Forster, E.M. A Passage to India.
Franklin, Benjamin. The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin.
Galsworthy, John. The Forsythe Saga.
Golding, William. Lord of the Flies.
Goldsmith, Oliver. She Stoops to Conquer.
Graves, Robert. I, Claudius.
Greene, Graham. The Power and the Glory.
Hardy, Thomas. Tess of the D'Urbervilles.
Hawthorne, Nathaniel. The Scarlet Letter.
Hemingway, Ernest. For Whom the Bell Tolls.
Henry, O. Stories ("The Gift of the Magi," "The Ransom of Red Chief," etc.).
Hesse, Hermann. Steppenwolf.
Homer. The Iliad.
---. The Odyssey.
Hughes, Langston. Poems.
Hugo, Victor. Les Misérables.
Hurston, Zora Neale. Their Eyes Were Watching God.
Huxley, Aldous. Brave New World.
Ibsen, Henrik. A Doll's House.
James, Henry. The Turn of the Screw.
Joyce, James. A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man.
Kafka, Franz. The Trial.
Keats, John. Poems.
Kennedy, John F. Profiles in Courage.
Koestler, Arthur. Darkness at Noon.
Lawrence, D.H. Sons and Lovers.
Lawrence, Jerome and Robert E. Lee. Inherit the Wind.
Lee, Harper. To Kill a Mockingbird.
Lewis, Sinclair. Babbitt.
Llewellyn, Richard. How Green Was My Valley.
Mann, Thomas. The Magic Mountain.
Marlowe, Christopher. Dr. Faustus.
Maugham, W. Somerset. Of Human Bondage.
McCullers, Carson. The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter.
Melville, Herman. Moby-Dick.
Miller, Arthur. The Crucible.
Monsarrat, Nicholas. The Cruel Sea.
OâConnor, Flannery. Wise Blood.
O'Neill, Eugene. Long Day's Journey into Night.
Orwell, George. 1984.
---. A Collection of Essays.
Pasternak, Boris. Doctor Zhivago.
Poe, Edgar Allan. Short stories.
Remarque, Erich Maria. All Quiet on the Western Front.
Rostand, Edmond. Cyrano de Bergerac.
Salinger, J.D. The Catcher in the Rye.
Sandburg, Carl. Abraham Lincoln.
Sayers, Dorothy L. The Nine Tailors.
Shakespeare, William. Hamlet.
---. King Lear.
---. Much Ado About Nothing.
---. Sonnets.
Shaw, George Bernard. Pygmalion.
Sheridan, Richard Brinsley. The School for Scandal.
Shute, Nevil. A Town Like Alice.
Sinclair, Upton. The Jungle.
Sophocles. Oedipus Rex.
Steinbeck, John. Of Mice and Men.
Stowe, Harriet Beecher. Uncle Tom's Cabin.
Swift, Jonathan. Gulliver's Travels.
Thackeray, William Makepeace. Vanity Fair.
Thoreau, Henry David. Walden.
Tolstoy, Leo. Anna Karenina.
Trollope, Anthony. Barchester Towers.
Turgenev, Ivan. Fathers and Sons.
Twain, Mark. Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.
Updike, John. Rabbit Run.
Virgil. The Aeneid.
Voltaire. Candide.
Warren, Robert Penn. All the King's Men.
Waugh, Evelyn. A Handful of Dust.
Wharton, Edith. The Age of Innocence.
White, T.H. The Once and Future King.
Wiesel, Elie. Night.
Wilde, Oscar. The Picture of Dorian Gray.
Wilder, Thornton. Our Town.
Williams, Tennessee. A Streetcar Named Desire.
Wolfe, Thomas. Look Homeward, Angel.
Woolf, Virginia. To the Lighthouse.
Wouk, Herman. The Caine Mutiny.
Wright, Richard. Native Son.

What are some really really good quotes to put in a caption underneath your myspace pictures?




brookeex


i want them to be kinda short and simple..


Answer
Wisdom Quotes
1. You can do anything, but not everything.
âDavid Allen
2. Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
âAntoine de Saint-Exupéry
3. The richest man is not he who has the most, but he who needs the least.
âUnknown Author
4. You miss 100 percent of the shots you never take.
âWayne Gretzky
5. Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.
âAmbrose Redmoon
6. You must be the change you wish to see in the world.
âGandhi
7. When hungry, eat your rice; when tired, close your eyes. Fools may laugh at me, but wise men will know what I mean.
âLin-Chi
8. The third-rate mind is only happy when it is thinking with the majority. The second-rate mind is only happy when it is thinking with the minority. The first-rate mind is only happy when it is thinking.
âA. A. Milne
9. To the man who only has a hammer, everything he encounters begins to look like a nail.
âAbraham Maslow
10. We are what we repeatedly do; excellence, then, is not an act but a habit.
âAristotle
11. A wise man gets more use from his enemies than a fool from his friends.
âBaltasar Gracian
12. Do not seek to follow in the footsteps of the men of old; seek what they sought.
âBasho
13. Watch your thoughts; they become words.
Watch your words; they become actions.
Watch your actions; they become habits.
Watch your habits; they become character.
Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.
âLao-Tze
14. Everyone is a genius at least once a year. The real geniuses simply have their bright ideas closer together.
âGeorg Christoph Lichtenberg
15. What we think, or what we know, or what we believe is, in the end, of little consequence. The only consequence is what we do.
âJohn Ruskin
16. The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but seeing with new eyes.
âMarcel Proust
17. Work like you donât need money, love like youâve never been hurt, and dance like no oneâs watching
âUnknown Author
18. Try a thing you havenât done three times. Once, to get over the fear of doing it. Twice, to learn how to do it. And a third time, to figure out whether you like it or not.
âVirgil Garnett Thomson
19. Even if youâre on the right track, youâll get run over if you just sit there.
âWill Rogers
20. People often say that motivation doesnât last. Well, neither does bathing - thatâs why we recommend it daily.
âZig Ziglar
Funny Quotes
21. Before I got married I had six theories about bringing up children; now I have six children and no theories.
âJohn Wilmot
22. What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
âOscar Levant
23. Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.
âOscar Wilde
24. Iâve gone into hundreds of [fortune-teller's parlors], and have been told thousands of things, but nobody ever told me I was a policewoman getting ready to arrest her.
âNew York City detective
25. When you go into court you are putting your fate into the hands of twelve people who werenât smart enough to get out of jury duty.
âNorm Crosby
26. Those who believe in telekinetics, raise my hand.
âKurt Vonnegut
27. Just the fact that some geniuses were laughed at does not imply that all who are laughed at are geniuses. They laughed at Columbus, they laughed at Fulton, they laughed at the Wright brothers. But they also laughed at Bozo the Clown.
âCarl Sagan
28. My pessimism extends to the point of even suspecting the sincerity of the pessimists.
âJean Rostand
29. Sometimes I worry about being a success in a mediocre world.
âLily Tomlin
30. I quit therapy because my analyst was trying to help me behind my back.
âRichard Lewis
31. Weâve heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could produce the complete works of Shakespeare; now, thanks to the Internet, we know that is not true.
âRobert Wilensky
32. If there are no stupid questions, then what kind of questions do stupid people ask? Do they get smart just in time to ask questions?
âScott Adams
33. If the lessons of history teach us anything it is that nobody learns the lessons that history teaches us.
âAnon
34. When I was a boy I was told that anybody could become President. Now Iâm beginning to believe it.
âClarence Darrow
35. Laughing at our mistakes can lengthen our own life. Laughing at someone elseâs can shorten it.
âCullen Hightower
36. There are many who dare not kill themselves for fear of what the neighbors will say.
âCyril Connolly
37. Thereâs so much comedy on television. Does that cause comedy in the streets?
âDick Cavett
38. All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it.
âH. L. Mencken
39. I donât mind what Congress does, as long as they donât do it in the streets and frighten the horses.
âVictor Hugo
40. I took a speed reading course and read âWar and Peaceâ in twenty minutes. It involves Russia.
âWoody A




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

what are some good mangas that have been turned into dramas?

running man watch eng sub on RUNNING MAN EP.111
running man watch eng sub image



Kelly


some good comedy or romance ones? and can you tell me where to watch them with eng subs please?


Answer
I'm pretty sure there's Japanese/Korean/Chinese versions of most of these but I'm just providing the manga summaries.

Hana Yori Dango
"Makino Tsukushi: a girl who comes from a poor family just wants to get through her 2 last years at Eitoku Gakuen, quietly. But once she makes herself known by standing up for her friend to the F4, the 4 most popular, powerful and rich boys at the school. She gets the red card: F4's way of a "Declaration of War". But when she doesn't let herself be beaten by them and is starting to fall for one of the F4; Hanazawa Rui. She starts to see that there is more that meets the eye..."

Absolute Boyfriend
Rejected way too many times by good-looking (and unattainable) guys, shy Riiko Izawa goes online and signs up for a free trial of a mysterious Nightly Lover "figure." The very next day a cute naked guy is delivered to her door, and he wants to be her boyfriend! Has Riiko died and gone to heaven? The cute guy turns out to be sweet, smart, a great cook, and lots more. And he looks like a million bucks, which is what he's going to cost Riiko if she doesn't return him in time...

Hana Kimi
Japanese-American track-and-field star Mizuki has gotten herself to transfer to a high school in Japan...but not just any school! To be close to her idol, high jumper Izumi Sano, she's going to an all-guys' high school...and disguising herself as a boy! But as fate would have it, they're more than classmates...they're roommates! Now, Mizuki must keep her secret in the classroom, the locker room, and her own bedroom. And her classmates--and the school nurse--must cope with a new transfer student who may make them question their own orientation...

Itazura Na Kiss
Ever since she entered high school, Kotoko Aihara wanted to be in the same class as Naoki Irie. The only problem, Irie is the smartest student in school while Kotoko is one of the dumbest. Now in 3rd year high school, she still isn't there. One day, her home gets destroyed and the only place else to go was to Irie's home. Now that she lives close to him, will their relationship be the same, or will it become greater than it is.

Cat Street
The story centers around Keito Aoyama, a former famous child actor. Due to a childhood incident, she retired from her career early and withdrew from normal society. Now 16, she passes her days in boredom and without purpose. But one day she runs into a stranger who takes her to El Liston--a free school for high school students like herself, who don't have a place where they belong. Though hesitant at first, Keito decides to enter El Liston and subsequently, she begins a new stage in her life. With the help of her only remaining childhood friend, Taiyou, and her new classmates Rei, Momiji, and Kouichi, Keito slowly finds the courage to open up to others and to accept their support. Will Keito return to acting? Will she find true friends? Love?

Devil Beside You
After finally getting the courage to confess her feelings, Qi Yue was handing her love letter to Yuan Yi, but by a stroke of bad luck, he did not see and walked passed her. The person standing in front of her was the troublemaker of the school, infamously known for his devilish ways â Jiang Meng.The devil will get what he wants, and the object of his desire was Qi Yue. Although having a cruel exterior, Ah Mengâs heart is kind and caring, which truly touched Qi Yue. The big problem remained â Ah Meng is the son of the man Qi Yueâs mother is going to marry. Even though they were not related by blood, who will accept this step brother-sister relationship? What is to become of their relationship when other lovers come into the picture?

You can watch them all at http://www.mysoju.com/

What is the best way to learn korean?




Ryu


What is the best way to learn korean, I was born in korea but was adopted by white people, unfortuntely. I've always wanted to learn my native langauge. Eventually, I want to visit and search for my birth-parents.
I watch running man, Coffee House, We got married and a few korean movies in eng subs



Answer
Honestly, with ALL honesty. Watching Korean dramas/shows w/ eng subs (cos i LOVE them, Iove Running man) without doing it consciously, even , has helped me tremendously.

BUT once you have a BASIC understanding of Korean vocabulary and you can kind of understand what they're saying while watching dramas/shows with English subs to the point of even recognizing when the subtitles are not being translated accurately is to start watching Korean shows WITHOUT eng subs once in a while, i've recently decided that. I think it will help me a lot, as if i was in Korea. Cos if i go to Korea its not like eng subs would be written down for me when Koreans try to communicate with me.so it gotta start here, by me watching Korean TV without subtitles, otherwise it is like am always looking for a "way out" ,
but watching Korean shows without subs it helps in terms of making you independent trying to understand what they're saying in Korean and so on, and aside from speaking it this is how the majority of foreigners living in Korea learn : by hearing Korean language around them.

PS: It might be difficult to understand the first time , but with time you'd be okay :) As you improve with your Korean you'd think back to the raw Korean video you watched and be like " OH i know what that means .." etc :D
I hope i helped^^




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do the xc runners kick up their legs so high when they run?

the best watch for runners on Cheap GPS Watch For Running  Ultrasport GPS Navrun 500
the best watch for runners image
Q. I started xc yesterday and my legs are killing me (they started hurting previously because I started running a few weeks ago). As I watched the other runners on my team, the kick their legs up almost to where they are touching their butts. I tried and it eased some of the pain but I got tired quicker. Why do they do this? Should this be done only during training?


Answer
Your leg motion depends on the speed you are running. If you look at sprinters they are basically kicking themselves in the rear. When you bring your leg forward and the knee is bent it makes the lever shorter so you can have a faster return. If the leg is straight then the lever is much longer and takes more time and effort to bring the leg forward into the touch down position. Your legs are sore because you are not conditioned to running fast. It is a matter of getting your muscles used to running and the exercise. Don't worry about kicking yourself just run relaxed what you do should be a natural motion. Your foot should impact the ground only slightly in front of you coming rearward at the same speed you are moving forward. Running is a pushing motion not a pulling motion. If you contact the ground too far ahead it will tire out your quads very fast. Stand up straight relax your shoulders and arms, keep your elbows at 90 degrees and swing your arms straight front to back, not across your body. Do not let your elbows come out to the side they should be below your shoulders. It is important to be relaxed when running. Your stride length and motion will change as your speed changes.

which version of Blade Runner should I watch first?




Gimpy


I just read Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep and loved it, now I want to watch Blade Runner. From online research it seems they made one, and then later took out the narration or, something like that. I have never seen any version. I ordered a version from amazon that has both. Which one should I watch first?


Answer
The one with the narration as it gives you an older style movie introduction and backdrop that adds richly to this great film....




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

How can I get over watching someone die?

watches running on light on Running Man USB HUB - Computer Electronics - Original china factory ...
watches running on light image
Q. About a year ago, while driving home with my sister (we we're in different cars) I watched a semi-truck run a red light and kill her. I can't stop replaying it in my head. Does hypnosis work? Or therapy? I'll basically try anything.


Answer
Yes, hypnosis and therapy, will help, maybe some pills also

How can I contest a red-light camera citation I recieved in the mail?




Balk


So i just got one of those citations in the mail and I started looking around on the internet. I live in Springfield, MO and Springfield lowered the yellow light times just before they installed the red light cameras to increase revenue. I watched the video and i went through the light at like .73 seconds after it had turned red. I think it would have been unsafe to stop at the 40mph intersection and the other guy next to me in the video ran the light too. Any suggestions on how to contest this thing?


Answer
I hate to tell you this, but those cameras are only set up to catch you if you cross the stop line after the light turns red. Which you are basically admitting you did.

Also as a traffic engineer who knows the ins and outs of how the cameras are set up as well as how signal timings work, I can tell you there is little chance that the City lowered the yellow timings to try to raise more revenue. Lowering the yellow and all red time on the signal could cause an unsafe condition and if someone was in an accident at any of these intersections after the City changed the timings they would be in for a serious lawsuit. I don't think any City is foolish enough to do that just to raise some money. They are going to catch enough violaters whatever the yellow times are.

That being said, the yellow time should be set up so that if you are traveling at 40mph like you are supposed to be, and you cross the detection area the signal will stay green if the timing of the signal hasn't reached it's maximum. If it has the light will turn yellow, but should be programmed to stay yellow long enough for you to decelerate including your reaction time to a stop before reaching the signal. The equation for calculating phase-change intervals for a signal is:

CP = t + (V/(2a+64.4g)) + ((W+L)/V)

CP = total phase change period in seconds (yellow and red time)
t = reaction time (usually assumed to be 1.0 second)
V = approach speed in ft/sec
a = deceleration rate ( Usually 10ft/sec/sec)
W = Width of the intersection you are crossing
L = Length of vehicle (Usually assumed to be 20 ft.)
g = grade of the approach lane

Assuming you can gather all of this information, you could calculate the time the light should be yellow and all red. The yellow clearance is usually the first two terms of this equation and the red time is the final part. This assumes that if you did enter the intersection just as the light tuned red, that you would be able to cross it before the other light turned green.

Assuming the intersection is relatively flat the yellow time should be about 3.5 sec.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

At what pace should a beginning runner start out by running?

running watches mileage on running watch w/ mileage counter http://www.wearblueruntoremember.org
running watches mileage image
Q. I read something about everyone being able to run for 30minutes, as long as they go slowly enough.

I barely seem to manage a minute and a half because I get so ridiculously out of breath.

Am I going too quickly? How can I actually measure my pace (I have no way of telling what my pace is or what distance I've run) - could you give me any kind of indication as to how fast I should be running? Was this information true? If so, how can I begin running for longer?

Thanks (:


Answer
There's a couple ways to measure your pace-- one, you can get in the car and drive out a mile. When you run it, see what time it is when you hit the mile marker--that's your pace. Or, if you want, you can buy a watch that will automatically tell you your pace, GPS coordinates, and mileage. However, I wouldn't opt for option two unless money is absolutely nothing to you (they can be pretty expensive), wait until you've been running for a year or two.

As for what pace you should be running, it's really up to you. Everyone is different, there is no standard beginners pace. What I would do if I were you, and this is what I did when I was in a freshman in high school starting cross country, is run half a mile without stopping, have a quick water break, and then run half a mile back. When that becomes comfortable for you, increase it to one mile out, one mile back. Gradually increase your mileage week by week.

I'm gonna give you a heads up, the first year of running is pretty rough. Expect lots of cramping, side stitches, weird aches and pains, and seemingly near-death situations. Just push through it, you'll have days when you think you're just not built to be a runner, but I promise that's not the case. After that first year, something just clicks, and running becomes much easier, and much more enjoyable. Stick with it, I promise it's worth it....

Also, sign up for some 5K races to keep you motivated. Follow a training regimen. Do speed works.

A few tips I have from my experience running cross country and track in high school:
-For the first year at least, don't eat anything less than 2 hours before you run. Once you become more experienced, this rule becomes a little lax (I've been running routinely for five years, and I can get away with eating right before now), but in the meantime, follow this rule like it's scripture.
-Drink lots of water. When you think you've had enough, drink one more cup.
-Take it easy on the fried foods
-Soda is the enemy
-Follow the weather: in the summer, run at sunrise/sunset; in the winter, run when the sun's out
-Run with a friend who is slightly faster than you, and is a hard worker. When it's 5am in the morning and your alarm goes off, it's easy to think, "Hey, you know what? I don't REALLY need to run... I'll do a lot of walking today...like from the parking lot to the building.... that counts, right?" But when there is another person out there, stretching while waiting for you, you'll get outta bed and show up.
-Do core workouts (crunches, planks, etc...); it improves your running so much it's not even funny
-Unless you're a marathoner, you don't need to go crazy with the whole pasta and carb-loading thing.
-Run on soft surfaces (ie grass, dirt). Stay away from concrete, it leads to injury.
-Stretch before and after running, even if you think it makes you feel like a noodle like I do. Just do it.
-Focus on your breathing at first. What I do is this, and it's worked pretty well for me: Breathe in through your nose for two seconds, out through your mouth for one second. Repeat. After a week or two, you won't notice you're doing it anymore.

Well, I think that's it! Hope I helped!

How to increase stamina and running speed?




Azazel


Could someone tell me how to increase my stamina and my running speed. Any tips?


Answer
Run, run and run. It's the only way you're going to be able to improve your stamina so that you can run faster without getting tired. The reason that you're feel so tired after your runs is because your body is out of shape, and when you're out of shape it really hurts to exercise. But here's the good news, anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. I suggest that you start where you can, if you can only run 1 mile, than run 1 mile 4-5 times a week until it gets easy for you to do, then increase your distance to a full mile. Keep running that mile until it gets easier for you to do, start with what you can and allow your body to adjust and grow stronger. Remember you don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded. So by the time that you run the race at your school you should be able to drop your times substantially. But I cannot stress enough, the only way you're going to build up your endruance is through continued running. You can't run once a week and believe that you're going to be in good shape, you have to be out at least 3-4 times weekly.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength. Then, when you feel like you're in better shape you can start upping your distances.

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

If you follow this schedule for a couple of months you'll find that running 2 or 3 miles is not big deal at all, you won't have cramps, you won't run out of breath and you'll feel great. That said, the only way you're going to improve is to work hard and stay dedicated, running once a week is not going to build up your endurance. Stick with it and I think you'll be amazed at the results. I hope that helps, feel free to message me if you have anymore questions!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Heart Rate Monitors, Are they good for regular work outs?

best heart rate watch for runners on One Sites Opinion: Top GPS Watches
best heart rate watch for runners image



Sofie


I'm not a runner as of yet, but I do work out a lot at home and I find it hard to keep track of how many calories I've burnt if I'm doing different exercises, like squats, wall sits, lunges etc...at home. I know a lot of people use the Watch type heart rate monitors for running, but would it basically do the same thing for regular workouts? Like tell me how many calories I'm burning during said workout?

Thanks!



Answer
The heart rate monitor gives you a gauge of when you are in certain "zones", ie weight loss, anerobic, endurance, etc... That is why they are useful for running or sustained exercises. I do not believe they would be as effective for intermittent exercises but I admittedly have never tried.

Any runners know where I can find a good distance counting watch?

Q. I am an avid runner, I run approximately 23 miles a week. (about 4 1/2 a day) I am in the market for a wristwatch that can actually calculate the distance you've run per session in mile increments. Any ideas where I can find something like that? The only thing I can seem to find are heart rate monitors, which isn't what I'm looking for.


Answer
Your best investment, especially if you care about accuracy, is likely one of the GPS units.

The Garmin Forerunner 305 probably remains the best value out there. You might look at the 205 as well.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How do I watch YouTube on my computer?

running watches sale on ... Quest Black Running Pack | | Suunto Watches on Sale | SPORTSCIENCE
running watches sale image



Jebnifer


I am running Vista. A week ago I was able to view YouTube, but now there is an error that says "Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player." Java isn't turned off and I installed the most recent version of Flash. Please help me!


Answer
If your YouTube is stuck with "java script" and "flash player"
messages, and people are telling you change or install stuff,
DON'T TOUCH A THING!

You'll get nowhere tinkering with java scripts, flash players,
firewall settings, anti-virus utilities, active X controls, pop-up
blockers or various browsers. And definitely stay away from
any software that people on this page want you to buy.

None of those things will help you, because your computer
and YouTube were working perfectly fine at one point, right?
The first rule of thumb and best option should ALWAYS be:
don't disable, erase, uninstall, switch, download, alter, add,
change or install anything. That'll only make matters worse.

I am fairly sure that your "java script" and "flash player" are
fine. Nothing within YouTube has changed in the past year.
If anything, the newer "flash players", especially version 10,
have been known to give lots of trouble to many YouTubers.

Your problem may correct itself within a few hours or by the
next day because YouTube frequently shuts down many of
its servers every single day without telling anybody in order
to update stuff. On some of those occasions, it's YouTube's
transmission of "java" or "flash" that's poor, not yours.

If by the next day your YouTube is still "stuck" and showing
you those terrible "java script" and "flash player" messages,
it's very possible that your directories of "temporary internet
files" and memory (often times called "cache") are full to the
maximum and just can't take anymore, the end result being
that YouTube videos never even make it onto your screen.

"Temporary internet files" are tiny bits of webpages that get
permanently put on your hard-drive. They'll stay there forever
and ever, slowly plugging up your computer (much like hair
will slowly clog up a sink drain) until you get rid of them, or
until you clear your "cache" (which would also include your
"cookies" and "history").

If you're not sure how to clear your "cache", or if you would
like extra tips on making YouTube run even better (without
having to buy or install anything), click my avatar and send
send me a message -- ideally with your YouTube or regular
email address. I will guide you step-by-step through "cache"
clearing plus my tips in plain English with full explanations.

Note 1: if you have Google Web Accelerator (or something
similar to it), dump it, burn it, trash it, disable it, uninstall it;
-- do all that you can to get as far away from it as possible,
even if this contradicts my advice. Not only does it conflict
with YouTube, clicking on "Don't Accelerate This Website"
will not help you whatsoever.

Note 2: longer videos require both "Flash" and "Shockwave"
in order to play smooth. You don't require anything else, so
please avoid any and all sales pitches from those Yahooers
who are really disguised salespeople pimping their products
for your dollars. Their "solutions" have absolutely nothing to
do with your question, and their wares may actually worsen
your problem. Besides, what kind of stupid and self-serving
answer is: [my paraphrase] "Although you can't even watch
or access videos, get this downloader."

Note 3: an unusual fix that once worked for me was altering
the URL "www . youtube . com" to simply "youtube . com",
(or you can even try "ca . youtube . com").

What is the correct running technique for someone with flexible flatfoot?




juniperL13


I've watched some videos on proper running technique, but I'm not sure if they're supposed to apply to just people with normal arches or to everyone. The main thing that's confusing me is the whole "landing on your midfoot" thing. I naturally walk and run on the balls of my feet, and I'm not entirely sure how to land on the midfoot. If someone could point me in the direction of some tips or, better yet, a video clip, I'd be very grateful.
To clarify: I have flexible flatfoot. That means that my arches are normal until I stand up, at which point they touch the ground. I have the opposite of high arches.



Answer
you may want to consider othotics for arch support if you have a high arch. If you don't want to go through that you could look at a a motion control shoe that has a tendency to have more support through the middle of the foot.

Its important to have the right running shoe. So I would go hand have them fitted properly by someone who knows hot to fit running shoes. Go into a store and tell the sales person you have a high arch and wish to have a good shoe to help support your high arch.

If the sales person looks at you with a blank deer int he lights look you are in the wrong store. GET OUT and find another store.

Harry




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where to find Movies in 35mm to watch on a film projector?

running watches on sale on ... Quest Black Running Pack | | Suunto Watches on Sale | SPORTSCIENCE
running watches on sale image



toxinprodu


was planning to but a 35 or 16 mm film projector to watch movies. is this a dead technology because i cant find any online. with the exception of trailers.
does anyone know where to film feature films on a 35mm film projector.



Answer
To find 35mm features, you're going to have to get involved with the community of 35mm collectors. While the studios still use 35mm film for current movies and repository features, it is not a consumer product. Due to a variety of issues, the studios do not make 35mm prints available to the general public. Used prints are destroyed after their theatrical run, aside from a small inventory which are stored in "vaults". Any 35mm feature which showed up on Ebay, or similar sites would be reported by the studio and pulled.

My understanding is the studios use to have a secondary market for used 35mm prints, but that dried up 10-15 years ago largely because of piracy issues. Modern tracking has eliminated the issue of prints "falling off of trucks" on their way back to the depots. If you do happen to find 35mm prints for sale, expect to pay on the order of several thousand dollars for any given title.

That being said, if you are interested in becoming a 35mm collector/enthusiast, now might be the right time to start. The theatre industry is in the process of converting to digital projection and 35mm equipment is being tossed away as junk or sold for the scrap metal value because there is no market for the equipment. If you are able to find a movie theatre that is getting ready to convert to digital, you might be able to get them to give you some equipment for the price of hauling it away. But you're still going to have the issue of not being able to find content.

I don't know enough about 16mm to provide you a knowledgeable answer.

What are some cute watch brands that have roman numerals on them?







I'm looking for some cute watch brands that have roman numerals on them, not arabic numerals. If you could just give me some links to websites, that would be awesome. I've already looked at Fossil and I found a few I like and Coach didn't have anything.
As long as the watch is under about $300, I'd be happy to check it out.

Thanks! :)



Answer
If you are looking for a classic looking watch, try Emporio Armani. They are gorgeous watches that because of the dress style, tend to use mostly roman numerals. They also tend to run around that price range full price, if not a few dollars more, but it is easy to find them on sale for less. I hope this helps, if not good luck on your search! (:




Powered by Yahoo! Answers