Saturday, March 29, 2014

How to start a running routine?

Q. I'm a 15 year old female. I live a fairly sedentary lifestyle and want to change that by starting a running routine. I just am unsure of how to start. My goal is to start soon and be able to run a mile easily after about a month or two.
How realistic is my goal?
How should I begin my routine?
Also, the only available place for me to run is the soccer field near my house, for what it's worth.


Answer
Running around a soccer field since it's softer than cement.

If your just starting you can jog and walk and work up to jogging a mile without stopping.

It's very realistic for inspiration watch Tony Robbins Breakthrough show on Hulu where the sedentary Dad jogs up the Mountain with the marines in less than 10 days of training. Your body is amazing you just need to gradually adapt the stress and mentally condition yourself to know that you can do it!

The biggest tip is just to schedule 16 to 60 minutes per day for exercise. It will become easier if you make it a part of your life.

For your routine variety is the spice of life for instance sometimes you can change it up by

Skipping since it works your form
Running backwards
Running sprints on the straight ways and walking the curves
Running one lap faster than walking one lap and starting over
Weight lifting since it will help you burn the fat and make your muscles stronger
Do a funwalk 5K or mile walk later jog a 5K for endurance or do hiking

Jogging - Running Endurance?




Tom H


I can run about a mile at 8.7 miles per hour before I get too tired, but I only have ten days for a physical test which involves running two miles at a minimum of 7.5 miles per hour. I was wondering if jogging 3 miles at 4.35 miles per hour every morning for those remaining ten days will increase my endurance enough to do it.


Answer
Yes, jogging will definitely increase your running endurance. Since it's so soon, you don't really have time to do anything else. If you had more time to prepare, you would want to add in some speedwork. Just pace yourself and wear a watch so you know where you're at during the test. Good luck.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is the Garmin Edge 800 compatible with the Garmin Quick Release Kit?




Asphalt


I am a runner and cyclist who has the Garmin Edge 800. I want to get the Garmin Quick Release Kit so that I can mount the Edge 800 on my arm while I am running. Is the Garmin Edge 800 compatible with the Garmin Quick Release watch strap? I know that the Edge 800 will always be sideways while on my arm though.


Answer
No, it won't work
The quick release kit is designed to allow the Forerunner 310xt to be adapted to the same bike mount that is used for the Edge 800, not the other way around

Where can I find a professional sports watch for running?




motermax


I want one that measures your pulse and how many steps you take and how far you go at what speed, is there any like that? Money isn't really an issue but cheaper would be good.


Answer
I really like Nike+ SportWatch GPS, I bought mine here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004WIUDGM/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B004WIUDGM&linkCode=as2&tag=acomprar-20

I've run 6 marathons so far (a little over 1 per year), and always love to have new technology to play with during training. I bought the Nike Sportwatch shortly after it came out. I was not impressed. It really liked a lot of critical features, and the website was constantly having issue.

Multiple months and 600+ mileson it later, I'm happy to say that I really enjoy it. Nike has been incredible about this launch. Every couple of months they've continuously added more and more new features. The website is still slow, but they are launching a new one in ealy 2012. The new features on this watch put it among the best out there.

New features:
- Walk/Run timer (interval timer as well)
- Avg, Pace
- Improved Mapping
- Set time on the device (no computer needed)
- Incredibly fast satellite connection (even in the city)
- Auto calibration of foot pod
- Faster upload speeds to add your runs
- Integration with Facebook

All in all, a great watch. This one will work for new runners and advanced runners. The only people that this isn't a great choice or is ultramarathon ruuners. Battery life with GPS is 8-10 hours...not long enough for a 50-80 KM.

Having owned Polar RS800, Polar RCX5, Garmin 305, Garmin 310XT, and Garmin 210, I would put this up there as one of my faorites. The website is the best one out there, and the sites detailed training programs are worth using to achieve your best time yet.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some fast-paced action animes I can watch while running?




Josh


I have a tv in front of the treadmill in the garage and I watched all of Code Geass in front of it. I could get up to eight miles sometimes because I was so pumped and absorbed by the epic battles. What are some fast-paced action animes I can watch while running? They can be subbed or dubbed because I have to use subtitles no matter what because the noise from the treadmill.


Answer
Well i would tell you bleach and naruto also one piece but they aren't fast pace the are super slow.

EACH ONE ABOVE IS OVER 300 EPS one piece being hte longer it as over 500+ eps so enjoy the others are more slower hopfully you haven't seen them.

Samurai champoo is pretty fast paced. Afro samurai.

InuYasha

O_o wow i'm naming a lot of sword anime aren't i.

Death note (Like code geass ), Full metal alchemist (Very good anime) also full metal alchemist brotherhood (If you watched FMA then just skip first 13 eps and a no story is inplaced)

Just a few anime should hold you over. I don't want to give to a big list were you would not really pic well just some that are pretty faced paced.

How do I run the mile easily under 8:30?




I want to


I need to run a mile in 8:30 or better. However, my time is between 10:30~12 minutes. How do I improve? I know I can do it better but I get so tired during my first 1/4 lap. When I look at others, they are running so easily but when I do it, it is so hard. I am 16 and I need to run a mile under 8:30. Can you give me many advices? like:
What are some foods or drinks I should consume to run better? Bananas good for you?
Should I take long steps to jog the mile or fast repetition of short steps?
How should I breathe?
Do I start jogging slow and run the mile fast at the last lap?
How can I improve my time?



Answer
Try to run at an a steady pace.
For 8:30 you need to have 2:07 laps (assuming your on a 400m track), try to aim for 2:05. Start by running some 400s (1 lap). Aim for 2 minutes or better. Run a lap, and then jog a lap very slowly (recovery). Then repeat 4-5 times. Once you get your 400 under 2min consistantly, try running an 800 under 4min-4:10. You get the gist of what I'm saying, just work your way up to the distance of 1600m (1 mile).

Don't do this everyday. Take "off days" where you just go on an easy 2 mile jog. If you can't run that far, then walk for some, and then start running again, and gradually build up until you are running the whole time. A good rule of thumb is to be able to easily run twice the distance you are training for.

It's not that long of a distance, so your diet may not have that much of an effect as long as you're not eating a bunch of junk. Generally be healthy, go easy on the sodas and fried foods (or eliminate them completely). Eat lots of fruit--I find watermelon especially refreshing after a workout.Try not to eat at least 2-3 hours before you run (unless it's really light like crackers or something). Make sure you are hydrated ALL DAY, don't start drinking just an hour before you run. Stay hydrated during the workout, but don't guzzle a bunch of water in the half hour leading up to your workout, it will slosh around in your stomach and will feel ichy.

It's going to hurt, and you will sweat, but just keep running hard. It may take two weeks, it may take two months. Get a training buddy, or just a friend to just stand there and time you and cheer you on. For me, I run faster if I know someone is watching.

Make sure you warm up and cool down at the start and end of every workout (at least 10 min on each end, just light easy running). And stretch (esp hams, calves, quads)!!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

where can I watch The Vampire Diaries?

Q. I live in Singapore, so some American websites aren't available.
Youtube only has up to Episode 3, and I've finished that. Now all the Vampire Diaries episodes has been suspended due to copyright infringement, so I need another website that runs episodes fast and is available for Singaporeans to watch online.
Thanks!
Basically - I want to watch Episode 4.
Yes, I know there are only 3 episodes now, and the 4th's only releasing on 1st of October, but I wanna know what website to watch it on when it comes out, 'cuz I don't subscribe to CW.
I don't want 2 download anything or have 2 wait 4 a long time.


Answer
You can watch Vampire diaries (Tv Series) online for free at:

http://www.watchh.net/horror/the-vampire-diaries-2009/

Where can i watch The Heat Full Movie in HD..?




Black


wanna watch the movie......


Answer
The Heat is an 2013 crime action comedy film directed by Paul Feig, and starring Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy. The world premiere took place on June 17, 2013 in Serbia.

Initial release: June 27, 2013 (Kuwait, Singapore)
Director: Paul Feig
Running time: 117 minutes
Screenplay: Katie Dippold
music composed by: Michael Andrews

Watch FULL Movie Online: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uSgCnKULFEs

Or For Download get to the site: http://hdmoviesonline4free.blogspot.in/2013/06/watch-online-heat-2013-full-movie.html#more

Enjoy the movie, dude....!!!!!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, March 28, 2014

Can humans walk miles and still fight as good with sword watch below?




Susan


I am watching the hobbits movie and I know it's a movie but if we would do this in real life and walk and then it comes enemy would we have a hard time surviving then would we get used to walking and still be focused how would it affect our body


Answer
I'd agree with FlagMichael....armies have used forced marches of many miles and still fought battles afterwards or setup defended camps or hunters would run down game using persistence hunting methods in a variety of cultures such as Tarahumara and African cultures, etc... I recall once reading a story in a hunting magazine of a marathon runner/hunter who ran down a whitetail deer to exhaustion using the same methods that American Indians had used.....in the end, he just took a picture of it to show it could be done.

In the American Civil War, Second Battle of Manassas/Bull Run, Confederate general Stonewall Jackson led his army in a forced march of 54 miles in 36 hours prior to the battle which lasted a few days. In the Battle of Glorieta Pass, the Union army forces also marched some 400 miles in 14 days.


In the famous battle at Rorke's Drift between the British army and African Zulu people, the Zulu warriors marched some 20 miles in 8 hours and fought another 11 hours after that. Watch the movie called "Zulu" for references to how their warriors could run all day and still fight a battle.

"By the time the Undi Corps reached Rorke's Drift at 4:30 pm they had fast-marched some 20 miles (30 km) from the morning encampment they had left around 8 am, they would spend almost the next eleven and a half hours continuously storming the British fortifications at Rorke's Drift."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Rorke's_Drift
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0058777/

"During the persistence hunt an antelope, such as a kudu, is not shot or speared from a distance, but simply run down in the midday heat. Depending on the specific conditions, hunters of the central Kalahari will chase a kudu for about two to five hours over 25 to 35 km (16 to 22 mi) in temperatures of about 40 to 42 °C (104 to 108 °F). The hunter chases the kudu, which then runs away out of sight. By tracking it down at a fast running pace the hunter catches up with it before it has had enough time to rest in the shade. The animal is repeatedly chased and tracked down until it is too exhausted to continue running. The hunter then kills it at close range with a spear."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persistence_hunting
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7jrnj-7YKZE

Bull Run battle....
http://teachingamericanhistory.org/civilwar150/owens/antietam.html
http://www.historyofwar.org/articles/people_stonewall_jackson.html

"Prior to the battle, Union forces performed a forced march from Denver, over Raton Pass, to Fort Union, and then to Glorieta Pass, covering the distance of 400 miles in 14 days. Combat commenced shortly after their arrival at the battlefield, leaving them little time to recuperate.[15]"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Glorieta_Pass

"During the four month initial training of a Roman legionary, loaded marches were a core part of the training. Standards varied over time, but normally recruits were first required to complete 20 Roman miles (29.62 km or 18.405 modern miles) with 20.5 kg in five summer hours (the Roman day was divided into 12 hours regardless of season), which was known as "the regular step". They then progressed to the "faster step" and were required to complete 24 Roman miles (35.544 km or 22.086 modern miles) in five summer hours loaded with 20.5 kg.

Training also included some forced marches of 20â30 miles, often followed by the construction of basic defenses for an overnight position."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loaded_march

What are the newest sporty watches?




Dot dot do


I want to buy a new watch , a sports watch , cause I love running . And I'd prefer a watch with GPS . So what is your opinion , which is the best watch ? Garmin , Nike , or you know other brands ?
P.S : My latest watch was Garmin 405 CX



Answer
Deuce Brand Sport Watch, Casio, Timex Ironman Heart Rate Monitor Watch, Timex SL Series, Garmin G3 Sports Watch

you can visit this site, it shows all the sport watches that has GPS:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/triathlon/computers-gps-watches/?lang=en&dest=27&curr=aud&referid=googaus&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=+GPS%20+sport%20+watches&utm_campaign=Triathlon%20Generic%20Australia%20-%20Shoes&KEYWORD=+GPS%20+sport%20+watches&MATCHTYPE=Search&AD_ID_G=13579058593


and

http://www.comparison.com.au/sports-watches/__features:GPS-Enabled




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

suggestions for a good heart rate monitor strap ? possibly with a watch?




D


I had a heart rate monitor watch but it was really cheap and it broke, and even when it worked you had to hold down this button for 5 seconds to get a single reading of your heart rate (and it didnt work if you were moving too violently for the watch).

I want a comfortable strap that goes around your midsection, and maybe a watch that gives you a display of the results...

are there any good straps that come WITH a watch?



Answer
I swear by my Garmin, I got a 301 model on Amazon, cheap and though there are newer versions, they don't have anything this model had. Will give you your heart rate, you can set an alarm to go off if you go over or under a certain number of beats per minute, has GPS so it will tell you how far you've run, at what rate per mile or km, your average heart rate, how many calories burned, your time, has a training assistant that will let you know if you are ahead or behind of apace you have set for yourself, will time intervals letting you know how fast you have done them and when it is time to do another one. I could go on. O, you did say watch. Timex has one.

Timex GPS running watches?







I need to buy a GPS running watch, it has to be timex, so don't recommend a different brand. I run cross country, so I need a watch that will tell me distance, pace, and time. (I don't really care about heart rate) I was wondering if anyone can recommend a watch OTHER THAN THE GLOBAL TRAINER. Also, do you have to use a clip on thing for the distance to work? Will it work if I don't wear the heart rate monitor?

Thanks
best answer will be chosen



Answer
Unfortunately Global Trainer GPS is the only GPS running watch that Timex offers. However Timex offer another running watch - Timex Bodylink System that track heart rate, speed & distance with external contraption (a sensor) that works together with the watch. You can look that up, the model number is TX589-T5C391.

HRM strap is usually worn at a different location so the answer is Yes, it work even without wearing the HRM.

hope it helps.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there any site to watch WWE Hall of Fame 2013 online?




Justin Cre





Answer
Buy The Wrestlemania 29 DVD Set when WWE releases it. The Entire 2013 WWE Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be on that.

What the respoondent below will be a 1 Hour Edited Version made for television. The real thing ran 4 Hours Long and we didn't leave Madison Square Garden in New York City until Midnight. WWE let everyone speak as long as they wanted and most of them spoke for a long time.

Microsoft Office 2013 vs. 2010; Which is better?




Face


I still have 2007, and I want to get a newer version. Is it worth upgrading to 2010 or 2013? Why or why not? I do want to upgrade, because I'm tired of 2007's look. What about the features of both? I asked this question somewhere else, but I want to hear many people's opinions. That person just told me that one looks nicer than the other. 2013 is of course newer, but are there bug issues like in Windows 8. Which is a better deal for its functionality, aside from how it looks?

Please make your answer specific.
I didn't even think of this. Can Office 2010 run on Windows 8?



Answer
yes Microsoft office does run on windows 8 fine. watch this to see between 2010 and 2013
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fp1f40mzJoI




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, March 27, 2014

At what pace should a beginning runner start out by running?

Q. I read something about everyone being able to run for 30minutes, as long as they go slowly enough.

I barely seem to manage a minute and a half because I get so ridiculously out of breath.

Am I going too quickly? How can I actually measure my pace (I have no way of telling what my pace is or what distance I've run) - could you give me any kind of indication as to how fast I should be running? Was this information true? If so, how can I begin running for longer?

Thanks (:


Answer
There's a couple ways to measure your pace-- one, you can get in the car and drive out a mile. When you run it, see what time it is when you hit the mile marker--that's your pace. Or, if you want, you can buy a watch that will automatically tell you your pace, GPS coordinates, and mileage. However, I wouldn't opt for option two unless money is absolutely nothing to you (they can be pretty expensive), wait until you've been running for a year or two.

As for what pace you should be running, it's really up to you. Everyone is different, there is no standard beginners pace. What I would do if I were you, and this is what I did when I was in a freshman in high school starting cross country, is run half a mile without stopping, have a quick water break, and then run half a mile back. When that becomes comfortable for you, increase it to one mile out, one mile back. Gradually increase your mileage week by week.

I'm gonna give you a heads up, the first year of running is pretty rough. Expect lots of cramping, side stitches, weird aches and pains, and seemingly near-death situations. Just push through it, you'll have days when you think you're just not built to be a runner, but I promise that's not the case. After that first year, something just clicks, and running becomes much easier, and much more enjoyable. Stick with it, I promise it's worth it....

Also, sign up for some 5K races to keep you motivated. Follow a training regimen. Do speed works.

A few tips I have from my experience running cross country and track in high school:
-For the first year at least, don't eat anything less than 2 hours before you run. Once you become more experienced, this rule becomes a little lax (I've been running routinely for five years, and I can get away with eating right before now), but in the meantime, follow this rule like it's scripture.
-Drink lots of water. When you think you've had enough, drink one more cup.
-Take it easy on the fried foods
-Soda is the enemy
-Follow the weather: in the summer, run at sunrise/sunset; in the winter, run when the sun's out
-Run with a friend who is slightly faster than you, and is a hard worker. When it's 5am in the morning and your alarm goes off, it's easy to think, "Hey, you know what? I don't REALLY need to run... I'll do a lot of walking today...like from the parking lot to the building.... that counts, right?" But when there is another person out there, stretching while waiting for you, you'll get outta bed and show up.
-Do core workouts (crunches, planks, etc...); it improves your running so much it's not even funny
-Unless you're a marathoner, you don't need to go crazy with the whole pasta and carb-loading thing.
-Run on soft surfaces (ie grass, dirt). Stay away from concrete, it leads to injury.
-Stretch before and after running, even if you think it makes you feel like a noodle like I do. Just do it.
-Focus on your breathing at first. What I do is this, and it's worked pretty well for me: Breathe in through your nose for two seconds, out through your mouth for one second. Repeat. After a week or two, you won't notice you're doing it anymore.

Well, I think that's it! Hope I helped!

Tips for a beginning runner?




elephant.f


I was planning on starting the Couch to 5K running plan. Is this a good plan? What are some good stretches I can do before running for it? Is there a special way that one needs to breathe while running? Is there a special way that one's food needs to strike the ground? Is there a 'best' brand of running shoes or does it even matter? How often should running shoes be replaced? Is there a way to know how long a certain trail is if the distance is not posted at the beginning of the trail? Are there any foods I need to add to my vegetarian diet to accomadate for my new routine? When I have completed the program, should I focus on running the 5K faster or should I focus on running a greater distance? Also, does one run differently in colder weather than in warmer weather? Thank you so much if you are able to answer any of the above questions. I have no idea what I am doing. I have allowed my body to become out of shape...I do not play any sports at school. But now I realize I need to change :) Thanks again!


Answer
Couch to 5K is great.

Here's a link to some basic stretches: http://www.pccoach.com/newsletters/May05/stretching.htm
Don't forget to hold each stretch for 20-40 seconds. You'll want to warm up your muscles by walking before you stretch or do "dynamic stretches" before the run and then do static stretches afterward.
Go to a running store that specializes in running and have them look at your feet and help you select a running shoe for you. The best shoe for you will vary greatly depending on whether your foot angles in or out (pronates), the height of your arches, your stride, how overweight you are - do you need extra cushioning because extra weight is harder on the joints?, and whether you have had other injuries (knees, hips, ankles). Not only should they measure your foot, they should also watch you run in them - most have a treadmill or some little ones will even let you take them out for a lap around the block. Don't worry about replacing them or what comes after the program until you run your first 5K and see how you feel.

Each person is different. I immediately went from my first 5K to train for a 10K and then a half. I'm slower, but I like distance and the time to think in my day while I run. My DH is a cross-country guy from way back, but 5K is the right distance for him (bad knees/feet that can't handle the long-distance runs on a regular basis in his old age) and he can works speed drills and loves hills. Just get started. :-) Also, see if you can find a 5K Fun Run in your area - now's not a great season for it, but they're out there. Here's a link to help you find one. Actually having a race as your goal is great motivation to keep going if you get discouraged or tired along the way. http://www.runnersworld.com/cda/racefinder/0,7151,s6-239-283-284-0-0-0-0-0,00.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What's your favourite rugby club competition?




Elle Jay


Super 15 rugby
Aviva Premiership
Top 14
RaboDirect Pro 12
ITM Cup

Mine is Super 15 rugby that consists teams from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa. Hope to death Queensland Reds win this season



Answer
Heineken Cup. Its the premier rugby tournament in the northern rugby world so should really be mentioned on the list if the Aviva premiership is etc

For me it produces the highest quality rugby, the best rugby atmosphere, the best history and the best 'feel' and a much better system.

I reckon Leinster and Clermont would of won the grand slam this year if they played in the Six nations, such is the quality of the teams. You get teams like Leinster who have potentially the best passing game of all time, to teams who will run all day like Clermont, to teams that physicality like Leicester and Munster and then teams full of classic players like Toulon. Its amazing to see the old legends of the game combining in one game. The Heineken cup gives you a complete mix of everything, every team is so different.

I find personally with the S15 its repetitive game after game stuff. It has no momentum. In the HC its a battle in the pools to scrape every point, especially with on the two best runners up going through to the next round out of the six groups. There are intimidating atmospheres in the S15 sometimes but to be honest, I only really see that in South Africa when it comes to the finals of it. In the HC the atmosphere the French teams in the South make, or the Irish provinces make are phenomenal. You could not like rugby and have a great time drinking with these people. Its a party almost. Again, I hate to bash on super rugby, but the games are dead and quiet as a mouse for the most part.

Finally, I believe personally the all round game of the HC teams is superb. Defences seem shabby in super rugby, like the players are disinterested. However, I wont take anything away from the attack as it is sublime at times.

Super rugby does produce stars of the rugby world though. But, I strongly urge any rugby fan to watch the HC which is rugbys Champions League. This is from the perspective of a man who watches most rugby on sky sports available. You're truly missing out otherwise.

How do i play Gridiron?




Brycey


Ok, well i'm an Australian living in Australia, and being one i have never played Gridiron before, just because it's not very big over here... Anyways, because we got this new sports channel, i've been watching it quite a bit, mostly "college football", and i enjoy watching it, so i searched for some clubs in Australia and what do you know, there's clubs everywhere, so i've enquired to a few about prices for signup etc.... But here's the problem... I don't really know the rules, or how to play... The only positions i know of are the Quarter back, and the Runner Back(???)... So is there any sites you can direct me to so that i can get some sort of understanding about the game...
Thanks a heap..



Answer
Here u go.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_football




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Which watch is the best for a runner?




SportyGirl


I'm a runner and am curious which watch is the cheapest but still tells me my distance, pace, and heart rate while I'm running. I looked at the Garmin Forerunner. What do you all think of those?


Answer
If you want to get that technical, then you are going to have to go with....
1. Polar watches... Those will give you everything you asked for. The only problem is they are not cheap, but still cheaper than all your other options... (No watch is cheap that gives you distance and heart rate)

If you don't want pace or heart rate... but great splits, durability, and easy to use....
1. Timex watches... plus they are cheap in price... Very durable, just not very stylish at times...
2. Nike watches... Great to use and do it all, I would rank these as one but... Problem, they break very easily and you have to send them in to fix which equals more money... The outside of the watch(plastic) will fold and rip apart after the normal wear and tear of a runner using it.. Very bad...

Hope this helps...

Runners, can I get gift ideas?




a guy


My new gf is a runner and I wanted to get her something for her bday. I swore to her that I wouldn't break $20. Are there less pricey running things I can buy for her?


Answer
You can probably get a pair of cheap running gloves (which are actually really nice to have for running during the winter) or a pair of good running socks (yeah, i know, that's not really a great gift) for her for pretty cheap. If she runs for a team or club like USATF you could probably get a team bag of some sort, or something along those lines.

It honestly depends on what sort of running she does, how serious she is about it, and how willing you are to spend a few bucks more for something nicer (such as a running watch, as was mentioned by the previous answerer).




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Summer Bucket List 2012!?




kallie


Hello, me an my friends are like 15&16, but we are very crazy. And we need a bucket list and want some cray ideas! Like party and stuff, not dumb stuff please, thank you! Some of our stuff so far is:
2012 Bucket List
1. Party
2.Go streaking
3. Pool / hot tub hoping
4. Camp out under the stars
5. Crash parties
6. Have parties
7. Get Hannah&Maggie wasted on same night.
8. Kayak/ canoe down can
9. Concerts 
10. Bonfires
11. Fourth of July party
12. Go skinny dipping
13. Sneak out 
14. Get @least 5 guys number
that's it so far! So if you could help, thanks!



Answer
1. Go for a walk/run/jog in the woods/park.
2. Get some chalk. Play hopscotch and draw.
3. Read a good book in a hammock.
4. Go on a nature hike.
5. Play some tennis/basketball/badminton.
6. Go to a farmersâ market. Buy at least one weird thing youâve never eaten before.
7. Have a water balloon toss or fight. Whichever you prefer.
8. Go to a yoga class.
9. Go on a bike ride.
10. Make a nature photo collage.
11. See how many laps you can swim in a row. Keep practicing. Then see how many you can do by the end of the summer.
12. Look at stars one night.
13. Play Bingo with the old folks (never admit it when you won, or give winnings to the person sitting beside you. Itâs not nice to take from the old people)
14. Write a novel/short story. Base it on true events or just completely make it up. You can even write about things that you wish would happen in your life.
15. Convince a random person that youâre their long-lost third cousin.
16. Write messages on note cards. Stick the note cards in balloons and blow them up. Hang the balloons on friends/neighbors porches. When they pop the balloon they read the secret message
17 Pick wild flowers and then play ding-dong-ditch, leaving the bouquets on peopleâs doorsteps. It will brighten their day (or leave ones with bugs in them on peopleâs doorsteps that you donât like.
18. Take dog for walk and runs.
19. Have a Nerf gunfight.
20. Have a picnic.
21. Have an overnight movie marathon.
22. Buy and use and develop an underwater camera.
23. Sketch a flower.
24. Bury a friend in the sand.
25. Go fishing.
26. Sleep in your backyard.
27. Create a photo journal.
28. Write a play.
29. Make green eggs and ham.
30. Sketch your pet.
31. Have a high tea, only use iced-teas.
32. Watch the sunrise.
33. Watch the sunset.
34. Make a collage out of old magazines.
35. Swing.
36. Skip stones at a lake.
37. Give your dog/pet a bath outside.
38. Leave notes in library books for the next person to find.
39. Run through a sprinkler.
40. Sleep until noon â once.
41. Tie-dye your bed sheets.
42. See some fireworks.
43. See a professional baseball game. Cough cough Cubs.
44. Play mini-golf.
45.Get together with some friends and make a movie. Donât forget to write a script, make costumes and pick the best location.
46. Leave initials (and possibly hand print) in wet concrete.
47. Go to the zoo.
48. Spend an entire day in a grocery store
49. Play Tag In The Rain.
50. Get Bikes.
51. Bike five miles.
52. Go to the YMCA.
53. Write a complaint/satisfaction letter, just to get free stuff.
54. Go to Quincy.
55. Fill up a whole coloring book.
56. Destroy a watermelon.
57. Hang out with friends.
58. Learn a new hobby.
59. READ books.
60. Go to the library.
61. Stand in 2 different states at once.
62. Go to build-a-bear.
63. Stay outside for 12 hours straight.
64. Legitimate photo shoot.
65. Celebrate a foreign holiday the way the natives do.
66. Get a tan tattoo.
67. Convince someone youâre from a foreign country.
68. Wake up every morning before 9:00 a.m.
69. Water fight. Including but not limited to: balloons, guns, hoses, and buckets.
70. Superglue a quarter to the ground.
71. Bake Dog Treats.
72. Go 24 hours without food.
73. Write a note on a strangerâs windshield with dry-erase marker.
74. enter a photo contest.
75. Buy a goldfish.
76. Answer phones like buddy the elf.
77. Bake a batch of really cute cupcakes.
78. Go a whole week without technology.
79. Watch a meteor shower (Aug. 13).
80. Write a letter to the editor.
81. Pick an official summer song.
82. Go To An Outdoor Concert.
83. Mow the Lawn.
84. Plant something edible.
85. Spend one whole day barefoot.
86. Help an old lady cross the street.
87. Create something made out of duct tape.
88. Play tennis in the rain.
89. Sleep in a car for a night.
90. Go To A Fair.
91. Watch a foreign film.
92. Have everyone you meet for a day sign your shirt.
93. Jump into a pool fully clothed.
94. Carve your name into a tree.
95. Stretch every day
96. Go to an âOpen Lateâ restaurant past midnight
97. Continue into my journey of photography. Yes, this means experiment on Molly and nature, anything and everything.
98. Buy Ice Cream From The Ice Cream Truck.
99. Go to a midnight movie premiere
100. Go a whole week without technology.
101. Go 48 hours without shoes on.
102. Face Paint.
103. Go to an aquarium
104. Eat Kabobs.
105. Learn 10 new words. And actually use them.
106. Go movie hopping.
107. Cover a car in sticky notes.
108. Build and start a campfire.
109. Go Flower-Picking.
110. Have a Disney movie marathon.
111. No facebook for two weeks.
112. Have A Spa Day.
113. Make a time capsule to open after college graduation.
114. Finger paint a picture and then frame it.
115. Say âyesâ to everything for one day.
116. Carve a watermelon.
There are more on the website down below
Happy summer
Alicia

Is Logan's Run worth watching?




Kristine A


Is Logan's Run worth watching?


Answer
Yes.
There was actually some pretty good science fiction that came produced from the late 60s to mid 70s, that has a lot of underlying social commentary. In addition to being entertaining they give you a bit of insight into what was on our minds at the time. Like Sci-Fi films about 2012, Global Warming or Pandemic Decease these days. And it's good entertaining Sci Fi. You might also enjoy the Planet of the Apes films, West World and Future World, Soylent Green, Farenheit 451 or A Brave New World.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do women get head starts in athletics and sports?




Roger


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mMRVg_I7YCk

I know men are stronger but it not realistic to include men and women in sports then we should be segregated.
No Tracey it does say it if you go in a few minutes it talks about women getting the head start in the new york marathon race. A 30 minute head start.

And in the PGA head starts too. You are using a selective attention span. This is not a girls are icky rant, this is a wtf are feminists such incessant hypocrites for rant.



Answer
Women get heads starts so that the overall event doesn't take up more time than necessary.

And in those examples (marathons and golf), men and women aren't competing against one another. Men are competing against men, and women are competing against women.

Marathons are scheduled so that the slowest competitors will start first. They do this with different age groups as well, so that the roads will be closed for the least amount of time during the day. They are clocked the same start-to-finish, so it's not like women (or older runners) have 30 minutes subtracted from their total time.

And likewise in golf, I would imagine (since women can't hit the ball as far as men) it would take more strokes for a female golfer to get from the tee to the pin. So the tournament would take longer if both genders had to hit the same distance.

The bionic woman?




Stephen L


I saw the new "Bionic Woman" and thought it was pretty good with an excellent cast, and a big improvement over the campy original. It had sort of a dark "Blade Runner" kind of feel to me. I noticed the critics didn't like it though, but I'm not sure why. How did everyone else feel about it?
Junebug: I know what you mean. The main character definitely had some Sidney Bristow in her!



Answer
I saw it, and I'm kind of torn.

Standing alone, on its own merits it *is* some pretty good television. But....

Thing is, I didn't just *watch* the original Six Million Dollar Man and the Bionic Woman spin-off, when I was younger. Yes, I was a kid in the 1970s and saw the original airings. ^_^

But I also *read* the *book*. _Cyborg_. The book on which the whole idea was based.

Now here's the thing. In terms of the geeky stuff--the bionic limbs, the surgery, almost everything *but* the nanotech--the new "Bionic Woman" is actually closer to the book, to the original source material, than the original TV series was. That they did get right, that and the darker, grittier military tone of the people working at the secret base.

But...it really looks like the show is *second-guessing* itself here.

Does anyone remember the *promos* for the show, where they showed the leading lady with actually *mechanical looking* bionic legs? Ok then. You know what I'm talking about, that look didn't make it into the pilot, instead they just showed her natural arms and legs with an effect layer over it for the nanoprobes. I guess somebody *somewhere* thought having her sporting actual "borg limbs" would have been disturbing.

Which is rather the point. A cybernetics organism that has *machine limbs* is *Supposed* to be disturbing. Someone with "fake arms and legs" is supposed to be disfigured, at least for a little while, even with multi-billion dollar technology.

Likewise....I'm not really sure they have the right *actress* in the lead role. It seems like they were going, not for a woman who was a "badass" per se, but someone who was a "girly badass" in the _Buffy_ mold. Which works in a lot of shows, but not *Bionic Woman*. Really, in the beginning it really did seem like the *kid sister* was more of an adult and more tough than Jamie was. So....

It just seemed a little rushed that her boyfriend/creator got killed so quickly, because Jamie wasn't *convincing* in her turn from wimpy-girly to tough. Yes, she went through a lot for a first episode, but the speech at the end about "burying people" just wasn't real to me. It didn't work.

Granted....the boyfriend could have survived, been saved somehow, when his colleague made the call and said "we need *everybody*", that's always going to be an out for this type of show. Still, it just seemed rushed, and there didn't seem to be enough going on to make the character change real.

But hey.... ^_^ Let's be honest here, the Original show didn't even *come close* to paying this kind of attention to character and plot, now did it? It would be *so* unfair to judge this show by a _Heroes_ standard when the Original show would have fallen to pieces by that standard.

The truth is....the new "Bionic Woman" is pretty damn good. It is, on every objective level, *better, stronger and faster* than the Original series. But it's *not* going to be able to compete with our childhood memories of the Original.....nor should it.

I'm just worried that they went too far in terms of using such a tiny, girly lead actress for the main role. She really doesn't sound like she has a "tough" bone in her body, even post-bionics.

But we have a whole season to give the show a chance....for all we know it might turn out really good.

Hope this helps...thanks for your time! ^_^




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, March 23, 2014

Speed and Distance watch for runners?




Punaboy_10


I want a watch that accurately records my distance ran and my pace each mile. Thats it! I dont need a calorie counter or heart rate monitor. I dont want to spend a rediculous amount so $50-$70 would be nice. Are there any watches with gps within this price range? Im tired of trying to track my distance by driving around in my car Please help.


Answer
well, i think you are looking for something like NIKE TRIAX or TIMEX MENâS 1440 SPORT DIGITAL WATCH...

I can suggest others but i guess you are also concerned with how these watches look.

i got those price from http://www.runningwatchreviews.com/ .. i think they are just around $15

there are plenty of other reviews there, list of features, prices and other stuff i guess you need to see them.

By the way, runners are so inl ove with garmin, i saw one from http://www.garminforerunnerblog.com/ but yah, that's pricey..

Hope that helps

I'm looking for a good watch to run with that will keep track of my pace, heart, calories...all the fun stuff?




CJC


Although I'm a little confused by all the offerings as well as the mixed reviews from users. Some say that the GPS on the garmin watches don't work - well that would be a shame not to get it. Some others say the Garmin 50 is too basic. Timex looks good, but doesn't have pace calculation (at least I dont think it does). So let loose people and tell me your thoughts!


Answer
You have 2 choices here, go for GPS or Footpod system. I prefer the GPS watches.

With the GPS you loose the signal a bit when you are in between tall buildings, under bridges and things like that so if you are running in a city footpod (like the Nike+ system) Might be better for you.

On the plus side, you can use them for multiple sports like cycling etc., the garmin ones let you download the data to google earth which is a nice facility and things like that. All will give you a pace display on the screen as you run. The better the watch and newer model and the gps gets more reliable. I've never had a problem with my Garmins GPS.


I'd say decide a budget for the watch and go to a running shop and check which ones do what, though I think the basic difference is that the gamin is all in one unit and the timex has a gps receiver separate from the watch (but the watch is smaller)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there any kind of device I can buy for ~$50 that will record the distance I run and my heart rate?




K-bo


I am looking for something like a watch or band or strap or anything that lets me know the total amount of miles I run and the heart rate (preferred, but not as important as the distance traveled). I am looking to spend no more than $50. Do you know any sites that have the product I am looking for, at the price I am looking for?


Answer
For about $30 you can get the Nike Sensor. It doesn't have the heart rate though. Track speed, distance, pace and calories.

what is the best running watch for telling distance?




rangerrunn


id like to find one cheap for under 125 and id really don't know how it works all i want is to tell how far i ran and i heard i can get a watch with a odometer and maybe a heart rate monitor if i can find one with out a chest strap cause that would beannoying any help would be appreciated thanks


Answer
I think all heart rate monitors have chest straps unless I"m wrong. The new nike+ sportsband shows pace and distance. You can find it from the nikerunning.com store for $59. If you want a heart rate monitor, Timex, Garmin, Nike are some brands that sell nice heart rate monitors.

Hope that helps,
Elaine
http://www.truerunning.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What were the top 100 1 hit wonders of the 80's according to VH1?




hockeyman





Answer
1 Dexys Midnight Runners: âCome on Eileenâ2 Flock of Seagulls: âI Ran (So Far Away)â3 A-Ha: âTake On Meâ4 Tommy Tutone: â867-5309 / Jennyâ5 Soft Cell: âTainted Loveâ6 Toni Basil: âMickeyâ7 Modern English: âI Melt With Youâ8 Bow Wow Wow: âI Want Candyâ9 Kajagoogoo: âToo Shyâ10 Frankie Goes to Hollywood: âRelaxâ11 Gary Numan: âCarsâ12 Animotion: âObsesssionâ13 Thomas Dolby: âShe Blinded Me With Scienceâ14 Big Country: âIn A Big Countryâ15 Devo: âWhip Itâ16 Nena: â99 Luft Balloonsâ17 Men Without Hats: âThe Safety Danceâ18 Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock: âIt Takes Twoâ19 Dead or Alive: âYou Spin Me Round (Like a Record)â20 Rockwell: âSomebodyâs Watching Meâ21 Twisted Sister: âWeâre Not Gonna Take Itâ22 Michael Sembello: âManiacâ23 Eddy Grant: âElectric Avenueâ24 Edie Brickell & New Bohemians: âWhat I Amâ25 musical Youth: âPass the Dutchieâ26 Cutting Crew: âI Just Died In Your Armsâ27 Stacey Q: âTwo of Heartsâ28 John Parr: âSt. Elmos Fire (Man In Motion)â29 Madness: âOur Houseâ30 The Vapors: âTurning Japaneseâ31 Bobby McFerrin: âDonât Worry Be Happyâ32 Quarterflash: âHarden My Heartâ33 John Waite: âMissing Youâ34 The Waitresses: âI Know What Boys Likeâ35 Tom Tom Club: âGenius of Loveâ36 Weather Girls: âItâs Raining Menâ37 Lipps, Inc.: âFunkytownâ38 Bruce Willis: âRespect Yourselfâ39 Matthew Wilder: âBreak My Strideâ40 The Buggles: âVideo Killed the Radio Starâ41 Billy Vera âAt This Momentâ42 Timbuk 3 âThe Futureâs So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shadesâ43 Shannon âLet the Music Playâ44 Wall of Voodoo âMexican Radioâ45 Robbie Nevil âCâest La Vieâ46 Georgia Satellites âKeep Your Hands To Yourselfâ47 Pretty Poison âCatch Me Iâm Fallingâ48 Yello âOh Yeahâ49 Philip Bailey (w/ Phil Collins) âEasy Loverâ50 Neneh Cherry âBuffalo Stanceâ51 After the Fire âDer Kommissarâ52 Mary Jane Girls âIn My Houseâ53 Taco âPuttinâ On the Ritzâ54 Chris DeBurgh âLady in Redâ55 Johnny Kemp âJust Got Paidâ56 Til Tuesday âVoices Carryâ57 Jermaine Stewart âWe Donât Have to Take Our Clothes Offâ58 Don Johnson âHeartbeatâ59 The Outfield âYour Loveâ60 Nu Shooz âI Canât Waitâ61 E.U.: âDa Buttâ62 XTC: âDear Godâ
63 Oran âJuiceâ Jones: âThe Rainâ64 Robbie Dupree: âSteal Awayâ65 Boomtown Rats: âI Donât Like Mondaysâ66 The Jeff Healy Band: âAngel Eyesâ67 Martika: âToy Soldiersâ68 Peter Schilling: âMajor Tomâ69 TâPau: âHeart And Soulâ70 Harold Faltermeyer: âAxel Fâ71 Jack Wagner: âAll I Needâ72 Swing Out Sister: âBreakoutâ73 Paul Hardcastle: â19â³74 Information Society: âWhatâs On Your Mind (Pure Energy)â75 Bertie Higgins: âKey Largoâ76 J.J. Fad: âSupersonicâ77 General Public: âTendernessâ78 Aldo Nova: âFantasyâ79 Alannah Myles: âBlack Velvetâ80 Eddie Murphy: âParty All The Timeâ81 Josie Cotton: âJohnny Are You Queer?â82 Red Rider: âLunatic Fringeâ83 Paul Lekakis: âBoom Boom Boom Letâs Go Back to My Roomâ84 The Church: âUnder The Milky Wayâ85 Ziggy Marley And The Melody Makers: âTomorrow Peopleâ86 Patrice Rushen: âForget Me Notsâ87 Vixen: âEdge Of A Broken Heartâ88 Nik Kershaw: âWouldnât it Be Goodâ89 Rodney Dangerfield: âRappinâ Rodneyâ90 Haircut 100: âLove Plus Oneâ91 Gloria Loring & Carl Anderson: âFriends And Loversâ92 Frank Stallone: âFar From Overâ93 L.A. Guns: âThe Ballad of Jayneâ94 Club Nouveau: âLean On Meâ95 Midnight Oil: âBeds are Burningâ96 The Fabulous Thunderbirds: âTuff Enuffâ97 Will To Power: âBaby I Love Your Way / Freebirdâ98 Buckner & Garcia: âPac-Man Feverâ99 Michael Damian: âRock Onâ 100 Clarence Clemons (and Jackson Browne): âYouâre A Friend Of Mineâ

Who ran the fastest forty ever at the combine?




more?'stha


A couple of my guesses would be Deion, Darrell Green, maybe even Mike Vick. Also, who do you think ran the fastest forty ever....not just at the combine.


Answer
There is no official world record for 40 yards.

The shortest distance that the IAAF, track and field's international governing body, recognizes for world-record purposes is an indoor 50 meters, or about 54 yards. It is 5.56 seconds and it was set by Canadian sprinter Donovan Bailey in 1996. There is also a world record for 60 meters -- 6.39 seconds by American Maurice Greene in 1998.

But it is another Canadian, Ben Johnson, who is believed to have run 40 yards faster than any human in history. Johnson is best known for injecting copious amounts of steroids and winning the 100 meters at the 1988 Olympics in Seoul in 9.79 seconds, only to have his gold medal and world record stripped after failing a post-race drug test.

Timing officials have since broken down that famed race into 10-meter increments, and Johnson was so preposterously fast that he went through 50 meters in 5.52 seconds and 60 meters in 6.37 -- both under the current world records at those distances. He went through 40 yards that day in 4.38 seconds.

He was running in spikes . . . on a warm afternoon perfectly suited for sprinting . . . with a slight tailwind . . . with years of training from arguably track's top coach, Charlie Francis . . . with Carl Lewis and six others of the fastest men on the planet chasing him . . . with 69,000 people roaring at Seoul's Olympic Stadium . . . with hundreds of millions of people watching on TV . . . with the ultimate prize in sports, an Olympic gold medal, at stake.

And, as we learned later, with muscles built with the assistance of the anabolic steroid stanazolol.

Four-point-three-eight seconds.

Then again, maybe Ben Johnson isn't the fastest 40-yard man in the world.

Maybe half the NFL is faster.

o o o

It can be the most important few hours of a football player's career. It is the day NFL scouts come to campus to determine whether prospects have what it takes to play at the next level.

Players are measured to the quarter-inch. They're weighed to the half-pound. They do a vertical jump and a standing broad jump. They see how many times they can bench-press 225 pounds. They do a 20-yard shuttle drill and something called a three-cone drill. They are put through a short workout specific to their position.

But it is something else that commands everyone's attention, something else that interrupts the businesslike atmosphere of players shuffling from one station to the next. Something else that causes scouts and spectators to snap to attention.

The 40-yard dash.

It is the day's shortest event, and the most critical. No other statistic carries more influence for an NFL prospect, no single number has more impact on his draft fortunes. It's not called Pro Scouting Day or Pro Prospect Day or Pro Workout Day. The sign taped to the weight-room door at San Diego State on March 19 says: "Pro Timing Day."

Or as local football agent David Caravantes puts it: "There's football speed and there's 40 speed, and the scouts will all tell you they understand that and game film is the most important thing. But how many defensive backs who ran a 4.6 are left on the draft board ahead of guys who ran 4.3?

"I'll give you another example. There's this DB who was originally projected as a first-rounder. But he didn't run the 40 that fast -- something like 4.6 instead of in the 4.4s -- and now they're talking about him slipping to the second round. Well, he's looking at a minimum $4 million signing bonus if he goes in the first round and only about $1.6 million if he goes in the middle of the second round.

"You do the math."

The players are inside the SDSU weight room being measured and weighed. In the hallway outside are their agents, pacing. Nervously. Occasionally they'll walk outside, look up at the sky and stick out an upturned hand to feel the raindrops.

This is not good. The plan, according to the schedule on the weight-room door, has the players lifting and jumping inside and running the 40 outside on SDSU's synthetic-turf practice field. The course marked with cones has them running on a spongy, soggy, uneven turf into a chilly wind with a dark sky spitting rain.

That's not good for 40 times, and that's not good for business.

The players leave the weight room and begin to warm up in the wind and rain. The agents squirm even more. They huddle with players, and soon the players are marching back into the weight room, demanding that they run inside on a strip of rubberized track laid between the various lifting machines.

The fastest of the players at SDSU's Pro Timing Day, which also includes a half-dozen prospects from small West Coast schools, is Aztecs safety Marviel Underwood. Players each run the 40 twice, and Underwood is clocked in a hand-timed 4.38 both times.

Other prospects run their 40s at the annual NFL Scouting Combine in February inside Indianapolis' RCA Dome, where this year Arkansas quarterback Matt Jones went 4.37. Jones is 6 feet 6, 242 pounds.

It's also where Jerome Mathis, a wide receiver from tiny Hampton College in Virginia, sent his stock soaring with a reported 4.32. Some scouts apparently caught him sub-4.30. Dallas Cowboys coach Bill Parcels told people his stopwatch showed 4.25.

Never mind that Mathis was running on the RCA Dome's notoriously slow artificial turf, or that he was running alone without the aid of fellow competitors pushing him. Or that his left hamstring was wrapped because of a slight muscle strain.

Ben who?

o o o

There are the legends about the 4.17 Deion Sanders ran in high tops when he was at Florida State, or the 4.15 by a cornerback from West Virginia, or the 4.0-something a high school kid ran down in Texas.

Hogwash, all of it.

Track coaches go to Pro Timing Days, and they see scouts starting their stopwatches with their thumb, which has a slower reaction time than the index finger. They see them crowding the finish line and anticipating -- guessing, basically -- when someone will cross it. They see running surfaces that weren't professionally measured or leveled. They see no starter's gun, no automatic timing device, no wind gauge.

Grizzled track coaches love to say that the "clock doesn't lie." Well, it does in football.

Say someone clocks a hand-timed 4.35 in an NFL workout.

The accepted standard to convert a hand-timed event to its automatically timed equivalent is to round up to the nearest tenth of a second -- in this case 4.4 -- and add .24 seconds. Now you're at 4.64.

Most football 40s don't go on a starter's pistol but on an athlete's motion. The average reaction time among elite sprinters (from the gun to the moment they exert pressure on the starting block's electronic pads) is about .15 seconds; for a football player with little track experience it probably would be closer to .2. Add that in, and you have 4.84.

Now say it's a breezy day and you're running with a tailwind. Say it's 10 mph. Accepted track tables say that would provide a .07-second advantage over 40 yards. Add it in, and your 4.35 is suddenly a 4.91.

There's no shame in running a 4.9-second 40, of course. World-class sprinters get a bad start or get a cold day, and they go through 40 yards in the high 4s, too.

But NFL scouts aren't comparing their times to Ben Johnson in Seoul in 1988. They're comparing them to other players at a particular position, and that might be an even more dubious endeavor.

The hope was that the top 300 or so prospects invited to the NFL Combine in Indianapolis would all run indoors under the same conditions with an automatic timing device. A great idea, in theory. But players are controlled by their agents, and why run on a slow surface with automatic timing in Indy six weeks after the college bowl season when you can run at your home campus on a lightning-fast track with the leniency of the stopwatch while having another month to train under an expert sprint coach?

Two years ago, 32 running backs were invited to Indianapolis. Thirteen ran the 40 there.

Enter the Pro Timing Day. There were more than 150 this year, most jammed into a three-week period in March, most held in a dizzying blend of conditions and surfaces.

Take March 23, when there were pro days at 11 campuses. North Carolina State ran its 40s indoors in the weight room on a rubber floor. USC ran outdoors on a state-of-the-art track with a crosswind. Southern Illinois ran outdoors on FieldTurf in breezy, 42-degree weather. Southern Mississippi ran outdoors on FieldTurf but in still, 65-degree conditions.

Virginia ran outdoors on a Tartan track, Northern Colorado outdoors on artificial turf, Northern Iowa in a dome, Georgia Southern and Bowling Green outdoors on grass, Boston College indoors on rubber. Lambuth, an NAIA school in Jackson, Miss., had its offensive line prospect run on a cracked tennis court.

A couple weeks earlier, Louisiana-Monroe held pro day in a basketball gym.

NFL teams have their own formulas for adjusting times based on the conditions, subtracting a tenth here, adding .12 there. But really, how exact a science can it be?

"Nowadays, perception is reality," says Paul Turner, a University City High alum who played a season at receiver for the Buffalo Bills and trains college players for their pro days. "If they say it's a 4.29 and they have it written down, well, it must be a 4.29."

o o o

Pro Football Weekly's 2005 Draft Preview is a 200-page analysis of the top prospects in painstaking detail. Below each player's name and position are three numbers: his height, weight and 40-yard dash time.

Why 40 yards? Why not 20? Why not 60?

The short answer is, no one knows. Draft historians will tell you the NFL stole the idea from colleges and that it came from an era when races were run in yards and not meters. The reasons the NFL went from 50 yards, its former measuring stick of speed, to 40 yards are more ambiguous.

Some say 40 yards represents the distance between where players are aligned -- from the running back to the free safety. Some say it is the longest distance a receiver can realistically cover before the quarterback is sacked. Some say it's the point when most people begin losing their form and slowing down, making it a better judge of a person's raw speed.

The counter argument, of course, is that players rarely run 40 yards in an unimpeded straight line during a game. That there is a difference between pure speed and playing speed. That about three inches separate a player who runs 4.49 and a 4.50.

That Blair Thomas ran a 4.4 and the New York Jets took him with the second pick in 1990, and Emmitt Smith ran a 4.7 and slipped to 17th.

All of which is true.

Veteran La Jolla-based agent Jack Bechta says Ron Wolf, the former general manager for the Green Bay Packers, explained it best to him once.

"He told me that there are guys who are fast but play slow, and that there are guys who are slow but play fast," Bechta says. "He told me that, sure, there are exceptions, but you can't have a team full of exceptions. Their thinking is, you can't take a good football player and make him fast, but you can take a great athlete and make him a good football player.

"You need a baseline, a common denominator, and that's what 40 times are. They are like minimum qualifying standards."

So college players finish their senior seasons and have their agent hire a speed coach like Turner, or enroll them in one of several speed schools (at upward of $10,000) for the sole purpose of lowering their 40 time by two-tenths of a second. They learn how to start. They learn how to run with their feet higher off the ground, which goes against accepted football practice of low, quick feet necessary for rapid changes of direction.

Some, no doubt, succumb to the temptation of anabolic steroids considering they are no longer under the auspices of the NCAA's testing program and don't yet quality for the NFL's.

Even then, experts say, there is little you can do to make you appreciably faster. The major component in speed is the ratio of fast-twitch to slow-twitch muscles a person is born with. Rahn Sheffield, SDSU's longtime track coach, acknowledges that "only 17 to 19 percent" of speed can be developed.

"Every coach and athlete is fascinated with one thing, and that's raw speed," says Sheffield, who trains about a dozen pro prospects for their 40s each year. "That's the one thing that every athlete doesn't have, the one thing that's unattainable for some people. Speed is the one thing they can't coach.

"They talk about genetics and genetic codes. Well, this is their way of gauging that."




Powered by Yahoo! Answers