Thursday, April 10, 2014

What training/GPS watch to buy?




Leonard Mc


Hello,
as i have mentioned before i am kind of a beginner runner. Im doing quite well, already have placed running in my every day schedule . Ive read about all these training /GPS running watches on the market and i think i should buy one. I would love to track my training and i also saw that some have set programmes but im so confused on picking the right one for me. Please help!
Thanks!



Answer
Ahh, the watch search..
Been there, done that, love to share.

First off, it totally depends on what stats you are looking for and how much money you willing to spend.
There are watches that track distance, calories, pace, time and heart rate if you get a heart rate monitor (i would advise that, specially as a smoker).

There are watches that track all the above while cycling or swimming too. In fact there are even watches that have even a barometric altimeter, compass and a hunt/fish calendar..Ok yeah i know, not for running, but still its amazing.
As Apollenaire stated above me, i swear by garmin too.

If you want to expand your training to cycling and swimming, i strongly recommend the Garmin Forerunner 310xt. Its as far as i know the only watch out there that can deliver on all 3 modes and is 100% waterproof. http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/whrm-review-the-ultimate-tool-or-just-another-stop-watch/
If you want to just have a watch to track your running and all that in a really really really simple way, id get the Forerunner 110. Its made just for running and is as easy to use as a stop watch.(plus it looks too cool and comes in many colors) http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/garmin-forerunner-110-gps-sport-watch-with-heart-rate-monitor-review-think-pink/

Note: if you do get a heart rate monitor and you dont like the strap , good thing about garmin is that you can buy a polar strap and it will work fine with the garmin transmitor, but the polar transmitor doesnt work with a garmin watch.

Take care and keep running!!

Which watch is the best for a runner?




SportyGirl


I'm a runner and am curious which watch is the cheapest but still tells me my distance, pace, and heart rate while I'm running. I looked at the Garmin Forerunner. What do you all think of those?


Answer
If you want to get that technical, then you are going to have to go with....
1. Polar watches... Those will give you everything you asked for. The only problem is they are not cheap, but still cheaper than all your other options... (No watch is cheap that gives you distance and heart rate)

If you don't want pace or heart rate... but great splits, durability, and easy to use....
1. Timex watches... plus they are cheap in price... Very durable, just not very stylish at times...
2. Nike watches... Great to use and do it all, I would rank these as one but... Problem, they break very easily and you have to send them in to fix which equals more money... The outside of the watch(plastic) will fold and rip apart after the normal wear and tear of a runner using it.. Very bad...

Hope this helps...




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, April 7, 2014

New TV show take the money and run. Ware can i watch it online?

Q. i wanted to watch the premier last night but i Fell asleep before it came on. is there a website ware i can watch last nights episode?


Answer
http://www.hulu.com/watch/264621/take-the-money-and-run-oh-brother

Best distance measuring running watch?




Ana


I want to get my boyfriend a watch that measures the distance he runs for our 2 year anniversary. What would you reccomend?

Cant be too expensive, im 16.

He runs varsity cross country but lost his a while ago, and i know he'd love a new one.



Answer
It sounds like you want to get him a GPS watch.

An alternative to that is the Nike Sport band which is only $60. it uses a sensor you attach to your shoe laces or put in a nike + shoe. Not as accurate as a GPS watch but they look cool, plus they get you onto the Nike + site.

The cheapest GPS watch I know of it the Timex Marathon. It's about 100 bucks and not really that great a watch. And I'm thinking $100 is probably out of your price range, anyway.

As an alternative, you might get him an ipod shuffle.

A similiar idea is that a lot of runners need a watch with an interval timer. The Casio Men's W756-1AV Digital Sport Watch is only about $20 but is a great watch for the money.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, April 6, 2014

I need a good running watch, something reliable, shows heartbeat, distance and time. Any recommendations?




Melbunnief


The reason being is i'm newly training for a half-marathon. I have done a few 5k's and a 10k and those were 'leisurely' to me (i did little to no pre-training), this new task however i am going at like someone who actually cares about her body and doesn't want to do any damage.
*Any tips, tricks or advice?
*Has anyone tried compression socks?



Answer
I swear by my Garmin 305. You can get one on Amazon for about $125. It will give you average and high heartbeat and pace, distance in English and metric, time and even a virtual partner for a run where you can pre-set a distance or pace or time and you can see if you are ahead or behind reaching your goal. You can even program an interval workout.

Haven't tried compression socks though I hear good things and have seen elite athletes use them in races.

The advice I would give is build up your weekly mileage no more than 10% a week (so as not to damage your body) and build up your long run until you are running the same amount of time you expect to run in your half marathon. Run 4-6 times a week, less than 4 and you won't progress, more than 6 and you risk damaging your body (overtraining).
Good luck!

Is this watch any good, for running?




dlx106


http://www.adidas.com/campaigns/watches_fw07/content/index.asp?strCountry_adidascom=uk&strBrand_adidascom=performance

Click the page that pops up.

Is this watch any good for running? I was recommended it from a friend, but I was wondering if anyone knows if it is good and would be recommended for an avid runner, thats what its meant to be.



Answer
Yes it is. It has a timer with split timing so you can keep track of your time like in intervals.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

GPS watch for running?




zeroblank5


I'm looking for a good GPS watch for running. Ideally it would be able to track distance, heart rate and calories. However I greatly dislike those heart rate straps that you have to wear so if possible I'd like one without that. Anyone have any recommendations?


Answer
I think at the moment is the very popular one is Garmin Forerunner 305 GPS Receiver With Heart Rate Monitor.As around 1,065 have 5 star reviews from 1649 and the rest is 4 star. So it so it is reliable and cheap now as you save around 57% of price that is $171.45. So you buy it for $128.54 and delivered free if you are in US. So is super cheap

best running watches with gps?




yummmmm


i need a gps watch for running and i was going to buy the nike plus gps sport watch but it does not have a stop watch which is another thing i need! so what are some of the best gps watches with a stopwatch? also pros and cons of the watch would be great!

i tried researching but it gets so confusing so thanks in advance!



Answer
Go to the Garmin website - they have the best GPS watches. I have the Forerunner and it works great- plus it comes in a cool green color! :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

droid incredible vs. iphone 4?




pinkgirl


hi! im up for a new phone and totally confused! my parents say that its fine if i switch to at&t for the iphone 4.....but all my friends are on verizon and im just not sure. the droid incredible seems to be a good phone,but iphone is iphone. So please if anyway can tell me which would be the better choice it'd be a great help! thanks
and how much do apps cost on the iphone?



Answer
ok.... if youve ever owned an iphone or ipod touch you know how the user interface is right?....pretty bland and boring and all you can customize the screen with are icons....boo....

on the otherhand...you have the Droid INCREDIBLE - yes incredible.....
ive had an ipod touch for a very long time now... dont let an iphone is an iphone thing get you...
the incredible has so many options to customize your screen to make it how you want it to look!

you can put live wallpapers and put an actual picture on top of that wallpaper on your homescreens.

you can add live widgets on your homescreens! (look up what widgets are cuz their awsum.....cuz i had no idea what they were b4 i bought my incredible)

you can pinch in you homescreen and make all your homescreens appear at the same time

everytime you unlock your phone and its raining outside the phone will actually make animated raindrops hit your screen and a windsheild wiper will come in and clean it off or if theres a thunder storm you see a bunch of dark clouds and very greta looking lightning strikes all over your screen!@!@!@!

the droid incredible has an 8 megpixel camera with dual led flash!
iphone 4 has a 5 megapixel camera with a single flash...

and did i mention....the droid INCREDIBLE HAS FLASH!....meaning if you go to fox or cartoonnetwork websites you can actually watch the videos on the site.....the iphone cant do it at all no matter how hard you try...

and.... the droid incredibles next update (froyo 2.2) will make it run 2x-5x times faster...and the phone is super fast already!and will make it so you will have FULL FLASH not just the flash lite it has now.....which means like 95% videos and games online (miniclip) will be playable on your phone and it will be smooooooooth! the iphone cant play flash remember?.....D':

you can download videos off youtube(or just the audio if you want) or watch it in very high quality and everything with it...jesus christ... AND YOU DONT EVEN HAVE TO JAILBREAK IT AND BREAK YOUR WARRANTY!
WHY DO YOU WANT A PHONE WHERE YOU HAVE TO JAILBREAK TO DO ANYTHING DrOiD DoEs! with the droid it comes set and ready to play.... NO JAILBREAKING

dont let apple and people say the iphone is the best cuz it isnt anymore....their just stupid and dont know about android like i do....
yea the iphone has face to face chat but you need to be on wifi for that crap....really!?

i will give the iphone this.....it has a pretty nice screen.....thats it....other than that its your basic boring iphone 3gs that looks better.....

I gave you straight facts....on what phone you should get because i care :D
just trust me..... i have one and its soooo smooth and fast its almost like being on a computer.

the apple market share is going down while the android market share is going up fast.....

i use to think apple was the best but after i got my first droid (incredible) i felt like apple has had me trapped in their box for years....

PLEASE TRUST ME AND IF YOU DONT WANT IT YOU CAN RETURN IT IN 30 DAYS AND GET ALL OF YOUR MONEY BACK due to verizons 30 day worry free guarantee.
but you wont have to because youll LOVE IT

DROID DOES! apple doesnt....

Should i get the Samsung Galaxy s4 or the iPhone 5?




Brunette


I have the iPhone 4s right now, and i think it's time for a new phone because i have had it for nearly 2 years. I heard the Galaxy s4 has a way better camera, is faster and is just better. What do you think I should get?


Answer
Sure the GS4 has some better specs, but that means nothing. If you go in Youtube and watch some speed test of the GS4 Vs. the iPhone 5 you will see that, in real world use, the iPhone performs better jailbroken, than a GS4 does out the box. Jailbreaking deals a huge hit to CPU processing speed, however all the useless features that Samsung shoves its phone full of take a ever bigger hit to the CPU speed of the GS4. If they had put specs that matched that of a iPhone 5 than the phone would run slow as fu*k. I mean it would take a solid hour to boot up, and 5 mins to open the simplest of apps. This is because Samsung packs there phone full of, what I like to call, "novelty features". This is because they are features that are the equivalent of watching a cat do a backflip, its cool, but than it gets boring and old. I owned a GS3 and I just ended up disabling all the so called "features" because I never used them and my phone ran slower than a fat man with a weight belt tied around him. Bottom line the GS4 runs slower than the iPhone 5 in real life usage, even though it has better specs. Now on to the camera. In the end this all came down to personal preference. If you want photos that look sharp on your phone display than the S4 camera is better. If you want Photos with better colour saturation, and depth than go for the iPhone 5. If you want a phone that takes good photos in low light than the HTC One is the best. Personally, I want my photos to have better colour, and depth. The photos on the S4 look kinda washed out, but still sharp. Sheer MegaPixles does not determine the ability of a camera. On the topic of the display. The S4 does pack a full 1080p display, giving you 441 ppi, for all of you unfamiliar on the topic, that is very, VERY good. However, like with the camera, sheer ppi does not determine the quality of a display. It's all about pixle placement, and even though the iPhone 5 has a ppi that is nearly half of that of a GS4, the build quality of the display is better. In my opinion, between the two displays I would have to say its a tie. The GS4 has a sharp display, but the colour saturation and brightness really need to improve. The iPhone 5 displays colours much better, and is quite a large amount brighter than a GS4. Because of this, I decided it was a draw between the two displays. Both good in there respectable areas, however both lacking. Not to mention the GS4 has a huge screen. I disliked the screen of the S3, and they made it bigger on the S4.Now, if you drop your phone allot than your DEFIANTLY gonna want to go with the iPhone 5. The build quality of that phone is unmatched by any phone, except *maybe* the HTC One. Watch a drop test of the iPhone 5 Vs. GS4 on youtube. They dropped the iPhone from 10 FT twice and ran over it with a f*cking car and the worst it suffered was some minor scratches and dents. Where the GS4 got totalled and was barley working before the first 10 FT drop that finally finished it off (ill link the video in sources). If your gonna drop the phone allot get the iPhone 5. Much better build quality and much more durable. For the overall user experience of the phone, in my opinion, the iPhone 5 has a better overall experience of real world use. As I explained, it will perform faster, and arguably take better photos. My friend got a GS4 to write a review for, Samsung paid him extra to write a good review, and let him keep the phone. He gave it to me to use, and I have to say.... it was not that good. I often found myself going to do something I usually do on my iPhone and went "Oh, wait..." when I realized it could not do it. The GS4 often times was not "there for me" when I needed it to be. I found it took a long time to load webpages over LTE, and my apps and games I always use are not there, as there not all on Google Play. It was still better than my old BlackBerry, and iPhone 4. But I have to say, It was not better than my iPhone 5. The display on the iPhone was brighter, and I always found I was squinting at the screen because, even on full brightness, it was too dim. The battery sucked. Honestly I disabled all the "Novelty Features" to speed it up and improve the battery a little bit, and then it almost matched my iPhone. To top it all off, I could not stand the plastic backing of the GS4. My hands got all sweaty and I dropped it all the time (and as we know, this phone has amazing durability! (yes, that was sarcasm)) and the plastic never felt like the "Premium" aluminium of the iPhone (or the glass of my old iPhone 4 for that matter.) The GS4 is also thicker and heavier than the iPhone 5. Not by much, but enough that you notice it.
Finally, it comes down to the fact that its a phone. Pick one and dont diss other people because of there opinions. Mine is that iPhone is better. But in the end its totally up to you.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How to run a dvd player off a comcast dvr cable box?

Q. I have the cable box run to the tv and can turn it on with no problem. I have the dvd player with all the right connections run to the cable box. I got my comcast remote to turn on the dvd player (as the aux option). But I don't know what button I'm suppossed to be hittting to change from watching the cable to watching a dvd. Any solution would be great.


Answer
The Motorola DVR from Comcast has all it's input connections turned off, those are open for the consumers in other countries who have to buy there DVR ( i.e. Canada) The only connections are available are the Composite out put (RGB) RCA, and the RF out, the eaithernet , USB, and Firewire ports are closed, (but there are some who have the Firewire ports open if you have the right drivers for your computer.

The USB ports do have power so you can have a usb light or USB fan (the motorola boxes get really really hot)

The best bet would to go wal-mart or another electronics store and get a system selector they are about 20-50 bucks and allow you to hook up to 8 devices to one RCA input

Can you watch youtube videos on the motorola i9 from boost mobile?




heartagram


i was thinking of getting this phone but i found out there coming out with a blackberry curve i was going to get the blackberry but its cdma and not as good coverage around here as iden


Answer
The Motorola I9 runs off the Iden network (Nextel) and the Blackberry 8330 Curve runs off the CDMA network (Sprint). You will be disappointed with the data services on Iden. It isn't EVDO. If you use data services like Pandora Internet radio, email, GPS go BoostMobile Blackberry! It's worth it! Good luck!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Running question. music?

Q. Okay.
im 14 my mom runs everyday but i never go with her so we have all the running stuff like proper shoes and clothing.
in the last month or so ive started to gain a little weight mabie 5lbs.
i want to start running wile she is at work....but i dont know how good of a idea it is where we live there is a moderate amount of traffic and i think i would wanna take one of my dogs. how good of an idea is this?
also what can i do to make running more enjoyable?


Answer
heres a plan
run the mile once a day 4-5 days a week. don't do it every day because then you will burn yourself out and never have time to recover. drink lots of water before you run not to get cramps, then do a 3-5 minute walk as a warm up. after that stretch out. you should stretch out after the warm up and not before (remember this because stretching out before is almost useless) when you are done with your workout then do a cool down (same as the warm up) and stretch again not to be sore the next day. get a watch to time yourself and preferably do this at a nearby track at a high school. make sure your running shoes aren't very old and worn out. a eat stuff with protein and after your workout drinking a glass of chocolate milk can help you muscles recover quicker then normal.

name of music video from the eighties?




diablobob1


name of this music video.

watch video at link http://www.wearefuturemakers.com/futurefest/entry/id/68

image from the music video appears at 1 min 36 sec.
woman running in red shorts white shirt.

it also played in the background monitors in Veidts Lair in the movie Watchmen.

The music video was from the eighties who can name the band and song?
Thanks it was so long ago I remembered the image and it was really bugging me.



Answer
Its not a music video, its an advert by Apple

Here you go
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYecfV3ubP8

hope i helped




Powered by Yahoo! Answers