Saturday, September 7, 2013

At what pace should a beginning runner start out by running?

running watches mileage on ... running records pc upgrade running mileage record keeping ten seven
running watches mileage image
Q. I read something about everyone being able to run for 30minutes, as long as they go slowly enough.

I barely seem to manage a minute and a half because I get so ridiculously out of breath.

Am I going too quickly? How can I actually measure my pace (I have no way of telling what my pace is or what distance I've run) - could you give me any kind of indication as to how fast I should be running? Was this information true? If so, how can I begin running for longer?

Thanks (:


Answer
There's a couple ways to measure your pace-- one, you can get in the car and drive out a mile. When you run it, see what time it is when you hit the mile marker--that's your pace. Or, if you want, you can buy a watch that will automatically tell you your pace, GPS coordinates, and mileage. However, I wouldn't opt for option two unless money is absolutely nothing to you (they can be pretty expensive), wait until you've been running for a year or two.

As for what pace you should be running, it's really up to you. Everyone is different, there is no standard beginners pace. What I would do if I were you, and this is what I did when I was in a freshman in high school starting cross country, is run half a mile without stopping, have a quick water break, and then run half a mile back. When that becomes comfortable for you, increase it to one mile out, one mile back. Gradually increase your mileage week by week.

I'm gonna give you a heads up, the first year of running is pretty rough. Expect lots of cramping, side stitches, weird aches and pains, and seemingly near-death situations. Just push through it, you'll have days when you think you're just not built to be a runner, but I promise that's not the case. After that first year, something just clicks, and running becomes much easier, and much more enjoyable. Stick with it, I promise it's worth it....

Also, sign up for some 5K races to keep you motivated. Follow a training regimen. Do speed works.

A few tips I have from my experience running cross country and track in high school:
-For the first year at least, don't eat anything less than 2 hours before you run. Once you become more experienced, this rule becomes a little lax (I've been running routinely for five years, and I can get away with eating right before now), but in the meantime, follow this rule like it's scripture.
-Drink lots of water. When you think you've had enough, drink one more cup.
-Take it easy on the fried foods
-Soda is the enemy
-Follow the weather: in the summer, run at sunrise/sunset; in the winter, run when the sun's out
-Run with a friend who is slightly faster than you, and is a hard worker. When it's 5am in the morning and your alarm goes off, it's easy to think, "Hey, you know what? I don't REALLY need to run... I'll do a lot of walking today...like from the parking lot to the building.... that counts, right?" But when there is another person out there, stretching while waiting for you, you'll get outta bed and show up.
-Do core workouts (crunches, planks, etc...); it improves your running so much it's not even funny
-Unless you're a marathoner, you don't need to go crazy with the whole pasta and carb-loading thing.
-Run on soft surfaces (ie grass, dirt). Stay away from concrete, it leads to injury.
-Stretch before and after running, even if you think it makes you feel like a noodle like I do. Just do it.
-Focus on your breathing at first. What I do is this, and it's worked pretty well for me: Breathe in through your nose for two seconds, out through your mouth for one second. Repeat. After a week or two, you won't notice you're doing it anymore.

Well, I think that's it! Hope I helped!

How to increase stamina and running speed?




Azazel


Could someone tell me how to increase my stamina and my running speed. Any tips?


Answer
Run, run and run. It's the only way you're going to be able to improve your stamina so that you can run faster without getting tired. The reason that you're feel so tired after your runs is because your body is out of shape, and when you're out of shape it really hurts to exercise. But here's the good news, anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. I suggest that you start where you can, if you can only run 1 mile, than run 1 mile 4-5 times a week until it gets easy for you to do, then increase your distance to a full mile. Keep running that mile until it gets easier for you to do, start with what you can and allow your body to adjust and grow stronger. Remember you don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded. So by the time that you run the race at your school you should be able to drop your times substantially. But I cannot stress enough, the only way you're going to build up your endruance is through continued running. You can't run once a week and believe that you're going to be in good shape, you have to be out at least 3-4 times weekly.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength. Then, when you feel like you're in better shape you can start upping your distances.

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

If you follow this schedule for a couple of months you'll find that running 2 or 3 miles is not big deal at all, you won't have cramps, you won't run out of breath and you'll feel great. That said, the only way you're going to improve is to work hard and stay dedicated, running once a week is not going to build up your endurance. Stick with it and I think you'll be amazed at the results. I hope that helps, feel free to message me if you have anymore questions!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the best way to track my distance while I run?

running watches on amazon on Buy New Balance Mens M2040 Running Shoe
running watches on amazon image



ibrakefor_


I am training for my first half marathon (my first long distance race) and I would like to know how I can keep track of my mileage (and better yet: my pace as well) as I am running. I am relatively new to where I live so I am not super familiar with the best places to run or what not. When I run I like to be able to check time and distance as I go as opposed to waiting till after I finish my run. Any suggestions? Also, I am a college student so I dont have tons of money.
Thanks!



Answer
The only way to do what you describe is get a watch with a GPS tracking device. I recommend a Garmin. You don't need the latest model, a 301 works fine for my purposes, it even has a virtual assistant that lets you know if you are ahead or behind the pace you want to maintain. It will give you your time, the distance in metric or English, your pace while you are running and your average pace at the end of your run and the fastest pace your were running at, your average pulse and the highest pulse you had during your run. It does more stuff too. Amazon has some for about $125.

Running watches that show your speed and distance. How do I buy one if I live in Romania?




Jijica


I tried Amazon, but they didn't deliver to Romania :( . I'd pay for the shipping, but i couldn't find any store that would ship here


Answer
Check out ebay.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What laptop is the best to get if Im preparing to go to college?

best watch for ultra running on EasyCap Video Capture DVR (Support both Vista and Windows, XP, best ...
best watch for ultra running image



lmoniquel


I looked at the thinkpads, they look so clean but I dont wanna just buy it based on just looks. Now what Im really looking for is something with a whole lotta memory because Ima kid and I show aint gon just use it for school. I wanna cd burner,I wanna be abled to watch dvds, (I like to play the sims2 but thats not real important). I hate nothing more than having to wait a long time for anything to load or bad quality videos. Let me know, whats up and if there is a certain brand that always has something wrong with it, pleaze help me steer clear of it.


Answer
I have been looking into the IBM Thinkpad models as well. They do have some sleek models, and good hardware as well. Plus, they have a model (X Series) that is very portable and powerful as well, thought that series lacks a built in CD/DVD player (thats how it becomes ultra portable).

For your usage, you might be better off with the Z series notebook, as that has everything. The only downside for it is that it comes with a relatively small battery, so you might need to pay a tiny bit more to get a larger capacity model.

A friend at work has one and he says that its very good and powerful. They can run Windows Vista with ease.

One more thing, you said that you would want to play games on it. I don't think you'll be able to play the really high end games on it since it comes with Intel graphics rather than something from ATI or NVidia. You will be able to play Sims quite nicely though.

Hope that helps.

How does the AMC Movie Network define their censorship criteria?




UofIAlum


I've seen them censor silly curse words that everyone has heard a thousand times. But yesterday I was watching Mel Gibson's "The Patriot" and they showed an infantryman get his head decapitated with a cannon ball. What gives? That was way nastier than hearing someone say the f word.

The only thing I can figure is that some ultra-right wing dinosaurs are running the network.

Disclaimer: I am a Republican. So keep that in mind before spamming my question with a bunch of crazy answers about how evil Obama and the Democrats are, etc. When I say ultra right-wing dinosaurs it is because that is what it looks like, not because I want to fight. I really want to know if anyone out there in the know can explain how AMC makes their censorship decisions.



Answer
I don't think they censor much gore. I watch the series The Walking Dead on AMC and there are decapitations, murders, guts, everything from people's heads getting cut in half to a woman being cut open and killed during an unexpected and painful Csection. I assume that it is just the people of AMC who decides. I know that the producers of the walking dead say that they are always waiting for AMC to tell them that something they want to do is too graphic or that they can't do it. I don't think the channel has strict censorship when it comes to violence and gore.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How can i make my girlfriend more tolerant of black people?

running watches sport on ... Forerunner-210-Teal-Version-GPS-Sport-Running-Watch-Premium-HRM-Women
running watches sport image
Q. I'm white and she's Asian. and I have a lot of black friends. We like to get together and have gin and koolaid and watch sports but she always talks down to them or runs them off? She doesn't do this to my white, Mexican, Asian or gay friends. I've approached her before about this and she swears its not race but I feel differently about it.


Answer
She shouldn't be focused on race. Tell her to get back in the kitchen.

Why are sports so popular and important?




Colm


Everyone else in my family and most of my friends love to watch sports. But I think watching sports is boring and overrated. And why are they so important? I mean even major politicians and celebrities attend matches and games. Sports seem to be more important than movies or music.


Answer
i have also same thinking, :)
how do people manage to sit for long time infront of tv !!
and watch others always running all the time :P
just a time waste...!!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where can i buy a really cheap running watch?

running watches best buy on Wrath of the Lich King Beta Druid talent tree change--Walking in the ...
running watches best buy image



Ashley W


I run cross country and everyone has watches, how much are they and where can i buy a good and cheap one. Also are they cheaper to buy online or in stores. Thanks


Answer
Walmart! Seriously, they're like 5-10 bucks. And they work great.

Who just watched the Monk series finale?







What did you think? I thought it was a wonderful, satisfying way to end such a wonderful television show. I cried my eyes out.
I still am planning on watching re-runs and buying all the seasons on DVD, even though I know the answer to Monk's most daunting case.



Answer
LOVED IT!

I am glad:

1. That he didn't die of the poison
2. That he didn't quit the force or leave his friends, esp Natalie
3. That he has someone to love, his wife's daughter
4. That the case is solved! Interesting how it was kind of wrapped up the first few minutes of the episode.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Runners: what device can be used to measure the speed and distance that you run?

best training watch for runners on Best Gps Watches & Watch Reviews for Running, Cycling, Women, Tracking ...
best training watch for runners image



Peter_33


I am not interested in the Ipod-Nike shoes. I liked more the bracelet that connects to the Nike shoes.

But I am not interested on buying running shoes. All I need is the device that you can carry with you (watch kinda thing)
What brands and models can you recommend?



Answer
Hello,

I run with the Garmin Forerunner 201...and I love it. It instantaneously tells me my pace, distance and time. I use it for marathon training and races from 5k to 26.2. It also has a lot of interval and mapping features...very cool toy. The 201 is an older generation. I'd check out the 205, 305, and 405. See the review below. Good luck!

- Mike

What can i buy to help me train in running and excercising?




rockguitar


I ship to basic training july 28th and i want to get in shape, i was thinking about going to dick's sporting goods, what under armor clothes/gear and other gear should i buy? if this helps i am 17 and a male and i am doing airborne infantry for the army


Answer
As stated, thanks for fighting for us.
As for clothes, you DO NOT NEED brand names to become a great runner. You don't. Period. Even those underarmour tights WILL NOT keep you warm...they're not made of anything. What you do need is:
A real pair of running shorts: it may feel weird, but the underwear lining in real mens shorts will be your savior as it prevents the shorts from riding up and baring your actual underwear :/
a good pair of shoes: Dicks does NOT know what they're talking about when it comes to running shoes. truly, they don't. go to a specialty running store where they sell shoes specifically made by running companies (asics, mizuno, etc.) The workers at the stores know how to fit your specific needs, and the shoes will last a long time.
A watch: I'm a 17 year old female who's been running since 8th grade, and I've had the same watch for about 2 years now. It's a plain 'ol face watch, but it'll help you keep yourself on track, and that's all you need.
Real runners run in old cotton tees gained from races and whathaveyou, but I actually found that the Nike DriFit is my weak spot when it comes to real shopping. It's light and you feel like you're running without a shirt.
Runners aren't fancy. If you need the brand names all the time, you'll have to sell your car to pay for it all. Names/logos won't help you pass the finish line: the gained skill will.
Hope this helps.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there a cheaper eye shadow that can maybe compare to the Naked palette?

running watches compared on Casio Running Watch - smart reviews on cool stuff.
running watches compared image



Stella


Right now I have the Urban Decay original Naked palatte and I absolutely love it, but it is running out. Is there maybe a cheaper eyeshadow palette that is as good as Urban Decay? And maybe not necessarily one that is as good as this because I know that there probably isn't anything at a cheaper price, but maybe there is one that is pretty good.


Answer
This is an exact dupe! I have it and its very good :)

http://twocosmetics.com/the-daily-palette.html

Youtube review here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=whw1vnLm2q8



7.00 off with code saaammage
After code its only 15.00 :)

What's the difference between Chocolate Refuel Milk and Muscle Milk after a run?




Baldwin


I was wondering which one would be best for a 15 and a half year old male to drink after about a 30-40 jog/run if he wants to gain some muscle mass while losing fat. And the Chocolate Milk has 40+ carbs because of sugar while the Muscle Milk has a few.


Answer
You should stop using supplements and eat food. Check out Cytosport, makers of Muscle Milk, here --> http://search.usa.gov/search?query=cytosport&USA.gov+Search.x=0&USA.gov+Search.y=0 and here --> http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm261684.htm

Protein is the most misunderstood nutrient in bodybuilding. I don't have the space to tell you all you need to know so I'll just hit the high spots and if you need more info, you can message my Yahoo account.

Don't listen to muscleheads, gym rats, bodybuilders, personal trainers, and even coaches about protein. Most of them believe what decades and $$$$millions in supplement advertising have been telling them...that they need a lot of protein to build muscle. Not true. Here's how much you need according to the best minds in the world at the US CDC, the people our doctors (in the US) listen to. --> http://www.cdc.gov/nutrition/everyone/basics/protein.html#How%20much%20protein You can easily get that amount of protein with a glass of milk and a chicken breast or piece of meat per day.

Bodybuilders don't work as hard as they would like to believe. Construction workers, migrant field hands, movers, UPS drivers, etc. all work much harder every week. And none of those people worry about protein or take supplements for their jobs. They just eat a good diet and their bodies adapt with no problem. A bodybuilder can only work out 10 hours a week at the most because of the recovery time required by the muscles. Marathon runners, boxers, Olympic athletes, Navy SEALs, Army Rangers, etc. all train much harder and they do it without supplements.

Most protein supplements are scams. According to the US National Institute of Health, you should use supplements only when recommended by a doctor. ---> http://ods.od.nih.gov/Health_Information/ODS_Frequently_Asked_Questions.aspx#Need That's good advice because the government does not require testing and the information on the label does not even have to be in the bottle. Supplements have minimal FDA controls so you don't know what you're getting when you buy a supplement.

Check out this list of over 60 dangerous supplement products sold with bogus advertising claims which scam-site bodybuilding.com was forced to recall and take off the market --> http://www.usrecallnews.com/2009/11/bodybuilding-com-supplements-recalled-may-contain-steroids.html .

Go here --> http://www.usrecallnews.com/page/2?s=protein and page through the products to see how many protein supplements have been recalled for Samonella poisoning and other reasons.

All you need to make the gains you can is food. There is an abundance of information to prove this point. So, I will give you examples and cite references in the space I have left. Just be sure to ask yourself if you ever saw any good scientific evidence suggesting you need 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight or more. The answer will be no. That's a huge myth. And, all the naysayers who disagree with me will not have any good science for you. All they'll have are ads, phony reviews, bogus testimonials, false scientific sounding white papers, bad blogs, scam sites, etc. all paid for by scammers like this one. ---> http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=5196740n&tag=related;photovideo

Hereâs a white paper which debunks the myth of the protein supplement. Note the following excerpt...âAt present there is no evidence to suggest that supplements are required for optimal muscle growth or strength gain.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15212752

Here's one more study to read. Note the excerpt..."Consumption of a recovery drink (whey protein, amino acids, creatine, and carbohydrate) after strength training workouts did not promote greater gains in FFM (Fat free muscle) compared with consumption of a carbohydrate-only drink.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15105028

Hereâs another from Live Science. Note the excerptâ¦âMedical researchers have advised against protein supplements for years for the average person. But many sports trainers continue to push them on amateur athletes simply because they don't know any better.â
Ref: http://www.livescience.com/health/protein-supplements-100202.html#

If you have any doubts about the citations and references above, talk to the person who understands best how your body works....your doctor.

Good luck and good health!!

â 




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

An honest political candidate running for office would be on endangered species list. Agree or disagree?

running watches best value on best sellers the new york times best sellers children s books ...
running watches best value image



ZORRO


They say its hard to find an honest politician running for any office in this country. With that in mind, if one honest person came along, he or she would be put on the endangered species list. Do you agree or disagree?


Answer
Want an honest politician? Here's one the media is desperately marginalizing.

Ron Paul


1. He actually speaks the truth. Unlike those other candidates who say what the public wants to hear, the "typical politicians" , this one actually informs us of our problems and provides logical solutions to how to solve them. Would a corrupted politician after money and power actually want an educated public?

2. He has a 20 year Conservative by the Constitution honest record to back him up.

Brief Overview of Congressman Paulâs Record:

He has never voted to raise taxes.
He has never voted for an unbalanced budget.
He has never voted for a federal restriction on gun ownership.
He has never voted to raise congressional pay.
He has never taken a government-paid junket.
He has never voted to increase the power of the executive branch.

He voted against the Patriot Act.
He voted against regulating the Internet.
He voted against the Iraq war.

He does not participate in the lucrative congressional pension program.
He returns a portion of his annual congressional office budget to the U.S. treasury every year.

Congressman Paul introduces numerous pieces of substantive legislation each year, probably more than any single member of Congress.

3. He has made many accomplishments including passing the bill to abolish the Federal Reserve, our whole problem.

4. He is not paid or owned by anyone in the government. How come? Because he voted against funding Iraq. That means he doesn't get money off the war. He is for people not money or power.

5. He is constantly marginalized by the media. That proves that the media is dishonest and is doing something dishonest and Ron Paul speaks the truth that they don't want us to know. What he does is he educates the public of our problems which the media tries to not point out. He provides solutions that is great for the people and not good for the media's money or power. He is against everything the government is for and that is less liberty, more spending, more government, more control, more wars, and higher taxes.

Ron Paul raised more money in one day than any other candidate in the history of the United States. Ron Paul gets more donations from the army than any other current candidate running for president. Ron Paul is the most popular on the internet. Preserve Net Neutrality! Its where free speech and free information on the truth exists!

"Yes, more people should listen. A rarity, a man of principle, integrity and high values running for president, exactly what America needs in this day and age."
-John, West Virginia.


"We have allowed our nation to be over-taxes and over-regulated and over-run by beaurocrats. The founders would be ashamed of us from what we're putting up with.

As a matter of fact, if we look at every single problem we're facing today, its because of the lack of respect to the constitution." -Ron Paul

Ron Paul Cartoons
http://youtube.com/watch?v=PE77ooE5_Eo
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ArEoT_nYaZg

Ron Paul High tide
http://youtube.com/watch?v=-3MLTvYBQy0

Ron Paul: A New Hope
http://youtube.com/watch?v=FG2PUZoukfA

Ron Paul- Actual Republican
http://youtube.com/watch?v=pZ_Z_XG0L2c

Ron Paul on Economy
http://youtube.com/watch?v=XaxdUPNYj2s

Ron Paul is not dropping out
http://youtube.com/watch?v=5cxJkvlSwZI

How do you get past wanting attraction & fun to value "long term qualities" in a potential spouse?




Abra B


I understand how marriage is about long-term qualities such as how your mate treats you, similar values, etc .... How do people get past the transition when the short-term qualities seem important, such as attraction, enjoying your partner's company, humor, etc...


Answer
Well, it depends on whether you are currently single or if you are currently dating or going steady with someone.

If you are single and are currently contemplating meeting people for long-term relationships or marriage, your focus will be more on long-term potential than on simply having fun. For this type of "marketing" you will want to stay fairly close to your core self. What is important to you? What life do you envision having in 10 years? 20? 40? Do you want children? What is your religion (if any?) How tolerant of you of differences? How do you want to run your household? Your spouse should, in all of these facets, be at least looking at the same book as you, if not on the same page.

If you are seeing someone, you should have a sense of how your life together will be over the long haul. Are you pursuing the same goals with the same or an equitable amount of passion and drive? Are you compatible in values, goals and world view? Are you good to each other and to those around you?

Getting past the "attraction and fun" stage of a relationship is intuitive; there's no right or wrong time to start slipping long-term plans or details of your lives into the conversation. Listening and watching can bring you a huge amount of information about the other person and how things might be working out. Even the smallest details can help you figure out what the person is about and how their future and yours can be shared.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, September 6, 2013

What training/GPS watch to buy?

best gps watch for beginner runners on Weight Loss Tips | Lose Your Fat
best gps watch for beginner runners image



Leonard Mc


Hello,
as i have mentioned before i am kind of a beginner runner. Im doing quite well, already have placed running in my every day schedule . Ive read about all these training /GPS running watches on the market and i think i should buy one. I would love to track my training and i also saw that some have set programmes but im so confused on picking the right one for me. Please help!
Thanks!



Answer
Ahh, the watch search..
Been there, done that, love to share.

First off, it totally depends on what stats you are looking for and how much money you willing to spend.
There are watches that track distance, calories, pace, time and heart rate if you get a heart rate monitor (i would advise that, specially as a smoker).

There are watches that track all the above while cycling or swimming too. In fact there are even watches that have even a barometric altimeter, compass and a hunt/fish calendar..Ok yeah i know, not for running, but still its amazing.
As Apollenaire stated above me, i swear by garmin too.

If you want to expand your training to cycling and swimming, i strongly recommend the Garmin Forerunner 310xt. Its as far as i know the only watch out there that can deliver on all 3 modes and is 100% waterproof. http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/whrm-review-the-ultimate-tool-or-just-another-stop-watch/
If you want to just have a watch to track your running and all that in a really really really simple way, id get the Forerunner 110. Its made just for running and is as easy to use as a stop watch.(plus it looks too cool and comes in many colors) http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/garmin-forerunner-110-gps-sport-watch-with-heart-rate-monitor-review-think-pink/

Note: if you do get a heart rate monitor and you dont like the strap , good thing about garmin is that you can buy a polar strap and it will work fine with the garmin transmitor, but the polar transmitor doesnt work with a garmin watch.

Take care and keep running!!

How long should I run? (Beginner)?




Blue Ears


I'm beginning to run and I want to know how long I should run without pushing myself too far? I'll be running on a track since it's winter, so should I focus on getting a certain amount of laps in or should I focus on running for a certain amount of time? If so, what would be a safe amount of laps/time to go while being safe but also still pushing myself?
Also, how often should I increase my amount of laps/time?



Answer
Anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. So, since you're just getting into running again I would suggest that you start going for some distance runs 1-2 miles 4-5 times a week. You don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

The benefit of starting early is that you have a couple months to train, which is plenty of time to whip yourself into shape. Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Set an alarm to wake yourself up in the morning, then just get out and do it. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Also, running on a track during the winter is nice, but it's sort of the same thing as running on a treadmill, the scenery never changes and it gets a little old after the 10th lap. Running outside is a great option, yes it may be cold, but if you have the right gear then it shouldn't be too bad. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

Here's a training schedule that you can use for the first couple months of your training:

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Just a note: The distances above are just raw distances not translated into laps on a track, one mile on a track is four laps. So a one mile run would be four laps while a three mile run would be twelve. Now, after a a month of training the schedule above is going to seem pretty easy, this will be because your endurance base has built up and you can start pushing yourself to go faster and you're plan could look a little something like this:

Monday: Distance run (1-4 miles slower 10-12 minute mile)
Tuesday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 8-9 minute mile)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-4 miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Thursday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 8-9 minute mile)
Friday: Distance run (1-4 miles miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Make sure that you don't overwork yourself within these first months, since you're just getting into running you're going to be much more prone to injury. Ease in slowly, and once you feel the your body is ready to start ramping up the workouts then you should. This training plan should start putting you into great shape. Hope this helps! Good luck, and feel free to message me if you have any more questions!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Were Kyle Busch and JJ running different strategies all year?

running watches top 10 on 113 Top 10 Android APPS - Best of The Week - Status Love 360 2012
running watches top 10 image



DeathlyRan


Kyle:
Run as hard as you can every week during the regular season, with several races, and take a dump in the chase.

Jimmie Johnson:
Run top 10 every week, don't push your equipment, get a win if you can in the regular season, and dominate the chase.

So does this show contrasting driving styles? Or is Kyle's crew chief just not that good in the chase?



Answer
Kyle Busch and Steve Addington go out to win every week just like everyone else does.They are a good fit and had a great regular season.They have just had some bad luck since a couple of races before the Chase.I promise you they have still been trying to go out there every week,lead all the practices,win the pole,lead the most laps,and win the race.
Jimmie had a slow start to the season this year because they were struggling with figuring out the COT on the 1.5-mile and 2-mile tracks(partially due to the lack of testing the year before because they were focusing on winning the championship).If you go back and watch the Las Vegas race(don't forget Jimmie won 3 years in a row there before this year),you will see just how bad it was.They were junk from the time they rolled the car out of the hauler.They spent most of the regular season trying to catch up with the other teams.Except for the win at Phoenix on fuel-mileage,they really didn't start picking things up until around June.They have figured the COT out now and they have had great success since.Other than that,the 48 team knows how the Chase works and how to win it.Kyle will have another shot at the championship next season.I don't expect him to have the kind of season he has had this year with as many wins,but you will see the 18 up front a lot next season and battling for the championship.

What are the top places to see in Athens?







My GF and I are planning to visit Greece this Summer and were thinking of starting with Athens. I've heard its a beautiful place. Does anyone know what are top-10 things to see in Athens, apart from the Acropolis of course?


Answer
Zack,

How about doing a little research yourself as well?! Just kidding - this is what Yahoo Answers is for :-)

So, this is again, based on personal experiences, when we took our daughters to Greece last year. Hoping it'll help...

Top10 Places to See/do in Athens:
--------------------------------------------

1. Must visit the Acropolis - check out the Pantheon
2. Spend a day at the National Archaelogical Mueseum
3. Pay a visit to the Temple of Zeus and the temple of Poseidon
4. Stroll through the Agoras (Old & New)
5. Enjoy an afternoon at the National Gardens
5. Discover Plaka and its incredily bustling streets
6..Enjoy the scenic views from atop Filopappos Hill
7. Consider visiting Lycabettus Hill
8. People watch in Kolonaki
9. Checkout the Running Man statue
10. Enjoy at least one traditional Greek meal

These are merely pointers, although hopefully very useful ones. Amongst these things/sites, you can cover most of Athens.

Seriously, consider getting a trave lguide - the ones from DK are simply awesome!

Bon voyage!
Sam.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Does anybody have the Soleus GPS 1.0 running watch?

running watches soleus on soleus dash watch large black add the soleus dash watch large black to ...
running watches soleus image






I know the watch tells me my mile time for each mile, but does it tell you your actual pace throughout while running? If so, how do you get there? I lost the directions. thankyou !


Answer
If you click the view mode while the GPS is engaged, you should be able to see different view options that include seeing your distance, time, current speed, calories burned, etc. If you still need some help please visit our GPS page below where we have a Quick Start Guide link as well as a GPS Training Video.

http://www.soleusrunning.com/products-page/watches/gps-1-0/

I have strained my soleus muscle. Any advice for a quick recovery?




Greg MS


I have been training for a 10K for about 3 months. Never had any soreness or injuries. Last weekend, I ran a 5K, and admit that I pushed myself a little harder than I should have. My soleus was sore for about 2 days. I laid off of runnig for another 2 days after that. Yesterday, I was to run 5 miles. I thought I stretched really well, but when I started running, the muscle still felt really tight. About 2 miles into the run, my soleus started hurting, and I ended up stopping at 2 1/2 miles. I need some good advice as to how to help this injury heal. I am scheduled to run in the 10K next weekend, and will be really disappointed if I can't run it. I have poured my heart and soul into this training, and have even started some training for further distances. I need some really good advice, please!!! Thank you!


Answer
RICE!!! Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation. The longer you rest, the quicker the tear will repair itself. Full recovery from a strain takes approximately 2 weeks and any trauma to the area in the meantime (workout, running, lots of walking, etc) can prolong the pain and increase healing time. So, put that leg up, ice it down, sit back and watch a video of the NYC marathon or Ironman Hawaii while you recover. Don't push it, if you insist on going out and running before your injury is healed you are doing yourself no favors and may end up with an injury that could put you out for months, not just a few weeks. If you REALLY want to run, go see your doctor and seek his or her advice. Make sure you support the area (ACE it!) and take it easy. Missing one 10K is okay, missing 10Ks for the rest of the year because you thought you were "tough" is not so cool.

Good luck with your decision and with your racing!!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there a way to watch Homestar Runner videos on my iPhone 3G?

what is the best watch for runners on CONTEST: Project Runway  The Game | Spork Fashion : headline ...
what is the best watch for runners image



Nikki1862


I'm a huge fan of The Brothers Chaps and I want to know if there's an easy way to watch Homestar Runner videos from my iPhone 3G. (Because the iPhone doesn't use flash for some annoying reason...)

Thanks!! :)



Answer
Yes, The Brothers Chaps themselves have uploaded some of the toons and sbemails on YouTube under the name of "homestarrunnerdotcom" in very good quality. Fans have also uploaded some of their work on YouTube, some in good quality as well.

Enjoy! :)

Does anyone want to explain to me exactly what happened in Blade Runner?




Matthew's_


So I watched Blade Runner and I did not understand. Does anyone feel like explaining basically everything to me?


Answer
Deckard is a Blade Runner, a police man of the future who hunts down and terminates replicants, artificially created humans. He wants to get out of the force, but is drawn back in when 4 "skin jobs", a slang term for replicants, hijack a ship back to Earth. The city that Deckard must search for his prey is a huge, sprawling, bleak vision of the future. This film questions what it is to be human, and why life is so precious.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Which watch is better?

garmin running watches 610 on The 610s sleek touchscreen is rugged and functional, proving its ...
garmin running watches 610 image



Daniel


I started a running routine and I wanted to keep track of it using a gps watch. I was thinking about getting the Nike+ Sportwatch and the Garmin 610. Which would be better for my preferences? I want to be able to see my distance, the time, the pace per mile, calories burned and is water resistant so I can swim in it. I'm thinking the Garmin because it can tell all plus more but it costs much more than the Nike.


Answer
I have a free app for my iPhone called RunKeeperPro and It does all that. It even traces your route so you can see where you ran. If you dont have a smart phone, you could spend the money on that instead of a silly GPS thing. =p
My bother has the Nike+ and he really likes it though. All preference I guess.

Good for you though, alot of unhealthy people these days,

Correction: They now charge $10 for the app. What a rip off... Still cheaper though.

most accurate gps watch?




rick


i need a gps watch that can measure distance and instantaneous pace very accurately. i have been looking at the Nike+ and the garmin 610, and even just the iPhone Nike app, but they all have mixed reviews. p.s. The running wil be don completely on the road, with not really any trees and no bridges.


Answer
The reason you are going to get mixed reviews is because that is as far as GPS technology has advanced, you won't get instantaneous pace or distance. To get instantaneous pace or distance the watch would have to be connected directly to the satellite. As things stand now and intermittent signal is sent out which can be impacted by weather, other signals or structures and objects between the watch and the satellite. The only difference between watches if there is one (I haven't researched it) is how often the signal is sent out. I can't imagine one watch having any great advantage over another because the same technology is available to all manufacturers.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are the best methods or ways to obtain bulk food for storage purposes?

running watches costco on PowerLand 8,000W Running / 10,000W Peak Pro Portable Generator With ...
running watches costco image



RBLee


Where do you find the best bargains on bulk? I live in a very small town. We have no Costco here.


Answer
Is there an MFA or feed store near by? 50 pound sacks of soft wheat run me under $9 and 100 pound sacks of oats usually runs me around $14. The bin run stuff will have a little chaff, (plant stems, cow peas,etc.), in it but not much. The field corn usually has little taste to it though. Prices can vary from place to place and not all of them will have a large stock at any given time. Make sure not to buy the seed, just the feed. Some seed is coated, feed isn't.

Soft wheat doesn't make great bread but it does make great biscuits and hardtack. The oats are whole and you will have to get a little oat roller to use them. Though if you make oatmeal instead of rolled oats I suppose you can use a simple grinder instead.

As I said field corn has very little taste to it but animals don't care if it's bland or not. It's been said that no matter what kind of corn you buy now at least part of it will contain some GMO product. If GMO products concern you in any way I suggest you grow your own corn. Even that will not be a guarantee since corn pollen can travel for miles on the wind and some of your corn can get contaminated by local farms growing GMO corn.

As has already been suggested look for sales. Our local Save A Lot runs specials all the time. We got 60 cans of tomato sauce at three for a buck recently. Watch getting can goods with a heavy tomato base though as these will often go bad on you much quicker than most other canned foods. The acids in the tomatoes will eat through the cans eventually. We are dehydrating ours so we don't have to worry about it.

When it comes to long term food storage the three main items to have are a dehydrator, a pressure canner, and a vacuum sealer. If you are going to store your own grains then you can add a mill/grinder to that list. Keep in mind that a mill can grind but a grinder can't mill. The cheap grinders you see online won't give you fine flour. For that you need a mill with stones. There are a few bottom of the barrel mills out there but they break easily and usually rely on gears and steel teeth. We went though three or four of those before buying a good one. The cheap ones are good in an emergency but you can't depend on them for every day use like we need them for.

Where do you shop for you food that offers the best overall pricing and value? This question is for California?




Star Playe


Just curious if anyone has had success like "extreme couponing" in Northern california, I shop at Costco and a Super Walmart currently.


Answer
With gas still at around 3.80 a gallon I shop local at Grocery Outlet or Dollar Store.
By the time I drive 30 miles one way to the next Walmart I spent already too much on gas and I don't like Walmart... somehow I always buy more than I need to and their employees are always so depressing. (Must not be a good place to work for).

Costco means I would have to buy in bulk and I don't have the space for this much stuff.

Once or twice a month we go to Denajos Farmers market in Roseville and buy produce there. Nothing beats their prices when it comes to fresh vegetables and fruit.

I try and stay local... mainly because I know this supports the people that work in my community because running to the Walmarts of this world means your neighbor faces unemployment.

forgot the coupon part... The only place it actually works at is CVS - Sign up for their card at their store and watch the sunday paper for manufacturer coupons. The CVS insert in the paper will point out which manufacturer coupon goes with an item and they usually put it on sale on top of it.

The whole double coupon stuff does not work in this part of the State... All of the coupons have limits and the retailers jack up their price for items that have a coupon in the paper. You are better off looking at their sales insert and picking out the real deals then run like mad on Sunday to get to the stores before the shelves are empty for that item.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Why cant I watch youtube videos on my cricket Huawei Ascend Android phone?

running watch youtube on watch in HD! This is my first voice tutorial for anything on Youtube ...
running watch youtube image



Crystal Ha


Basically the question speaks for itself. I have unlimited service so why cant I watch youtube videos?. I just got the phone today. Thank u for all who give me helpfull answers in advance!


Answer
Don't know much about the Ascend, but more details would actually help this process. Are you having problems with the youtube website, app, or both? What happens when you try to play a video? Is 3G running on your phone? Have you tried connecting to wi-fi?

is there anyway to watch youtube videos from a sidekick lx?




katie b


I have a sidekick lx and I want to watch youtube videos on it. Any way to do that?


Answer
This free download software will help you: Moyea YouTube FLV Downloader which not only can download youtube videos but also other video-sharing web sites like fox, myspace, google video and so on.

It is easy to use:

1. Run the software
2. Click "Capture" tab
3. The program auto get URL
4. Click "Download" icon to start downloading.
5. Find the downloaded FLV on your PC by right clicking and choosing "Locate"

Get it here: http://www.flvsoft.com/download_flv

Here is a step by step video guide for you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rEL7_g7NrY
text guide with the screenshot: http://www.flvsoft.com/capture-youtube

Moreover, it is connected with FLV to Video Converter which helps convert flv to other video formats like avi, mpeg, mp4, mp3, wmv, mov, 3gp and more.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
More useful guides with the screenshots:

http://www.flvsoft.com/how-to-copy-youtube-files
http://www.flvsoft.com/how-to-grab-youtube
http://www.flvsoft.com/youtube-download-convert




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How many miles should start at for running?

best watch for running intervals on you decide to press play on one of these videos, and not just watch ...
best watch for running intervals image



Josh P


I want to start running and get on a schedule. Just need some advice from you experience runners or someone who can give me some insight.

How many miles should i run and how many days should i run?

If not miles how long(minutes) should i run?

Is mixing sprints with long distance a good idea?

Just trying to get on my cardio tip.



Answer
Depends on your goals, current fitness level, and other health factors.
I suggest you purchase a couple issues of magazines like Runners World. (or read online) Most issues will explain some stretching and schedule techniques.
Here are some basic guidelines.
Use a watch and time each mile so you know your pace.
Don't over do it when you are just getting started.
Stretch before and after.
Only do your "long" run 1 time per week. Long is a relative term. When My dad trains for marathons, he does 1 long run per week starting at about 12 miles, and working up to 22 miles a couple weeks before the race. The he does a taper down schedule. For many casual runners, the long run is about 10 miles. For some the long run is only 4 miles.
Mixing in sprints is good. It is called "intervals".
Get a good pair of running shoes designed for your stride. Go to a running store, not just any shoe store. They will watch you run and make an informed recommendation.
You may also be interested in the Jeff Galloway method. This basically combines running and walking on a schedule. This allows my mother in her 70's to complete races.

What is the difference between running and spinning as a cardio workout?




mmmonfredi


I am just getting into running and spinning, but I was wondering about the differences between the two. I don't feel like I get as good of a workout from the spin class as I do from when I run. I don't know if I am just not pushing myself hard enough in the spin class or if it is just a different type of workout. I understand that spinning has less impact than running, and maybe that is why I feel less of a work out with spinning.


Answer
For a long time I just jogged every once in a while... like 20 minutes at a time. If you don't feel the burn, you're not getting enough out of it.

The best thing to do is definitely interval training (like sprinting or anything that causes you to work out crazy hard for around 30 seconds). Check out this guy Darin Steen's training videos - he's one of the top 5 fitness trainers in the world right now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDqb8jbyI1U

his channel is youtube.com/fatlosslifestyle and he gives out a bunch of cool info/live chat sessions for free at majorleaguehealth.com

This guy's 43 and he's built like Arnold. lol




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How much would great runners like Kenenisa Bekele get paid if they lived in America?

sports watches for runners on ... sports watch line the new forerunner 110 sleek affordable gps watch
sports watches for runners image
Q. Kenenisa Bekele, Haile Gebreselassie and many other Ethiopian and Kenyan Runners are the top runners in the world. They own the record for over 5-10 events and win cross country championships 5 years in a row (I looked it up). What if these elite athletes lwere born here in the USA. Would they be famous? Would many people love to watch the sport of running more? Any answers would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time?


Answer
They would be famous.....but really only to those who care about running or watch running events. They probably be like a average baseball player....if you care about the sport, sure you'd recognize them while out. If not you wouldn't even know they were famous. Don't know if it would draw much more interest in people watching the sport.....it's just not a thing spectators like to watch.

How do i get ready for my 100m run on Sports Day?




steven


My Sports day is on the 15th of June which is next sat. Im the favorite coming into the events. I will be running the 100, 200 and 4x100. My PB's are 100:11.4 200:23.1

I notice even though i warm up, i always run the first race slower and the other races faster.
I practiced 5 100m's and my first 100m time was 11.9 but the rest were 11.4, How can i run my first race faster?

The order of the day will be 1. 100m
2. 200M
3. 4X100.

I need to win all of these races to win the Athlete of The Year title. My reaction speed is also slow. Can anyone help?



Answer
Hello Steven: Hope you're having a great day! Know what else I hope? I hope my answer helps you win that Athlete of The Year title!! I have been a track runner/coach for over 40 year. Mainly in the L.A. area. Let's talk!!
The Spurs & Heat---which team do you think will be trying harder in game 2? I say The Heat. Why? Because they can't afford to go down 2 & 0 to the Spurs, and they know this. They are going to pull out all stops. I'm not saying they are going to win, I'm saying they will be trying right up to the end of the game, because of what they have to lose. The Spurs if they get behind towards the end of the game could get a little complacent--- Well were still tied 1-1. Know what I'm talking about!
For you Steven---mentally you have got to group all three of your races. Remember when the going gets tough the tough get tougher!! Do not look at the 100m dash as your first race and so on. Go with the mindset of All three of these races are mine and a must win(Have confidence) Remember as you stretch and warm-up for the first race that you were warming up--- to win all three races!!! Mentally if you can do this I feel you will be the next--- Athlete Of the Year!!--- Best of Luck
Before I go I like to pass on two YouTube sites that I feel can help you.
They are both by DeStorm--- How to Sprint part one
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BmtGNjm7BE
AND-- How to Sprint part two
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmErE5ogKJE
I have answered a few questions on coming out of the blocks I'm going to pass one of my answers on to you hope it can help you with your reaction time!!
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=ApxWduTjhFxteKcFxpKIPffty6IX;_ylv=3?qid=20101114112639AApICDN
Very important to come out your blocks--- I truly hope all this helps you-- but I really really really hope that you become--- Athlete of the Year
again Best of Luck
Peace




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where can I go to find out the value on a Ford Merkur XR4Ti ?

running watches best value on LOTRO Videos, Retake Weathertop Instance, Rigul
running watches best value image



Sunshine


I want to find out the value of any or all years of Merkur XR4Ti cars because I want to buy another one so where would I go to check this ? Does anyone know ? ......They are Fords that were made in Europe from 1985 through 1990 I believe.


Answer
They are getting pretty scarce and you don't see them for sale much anymore. They used to be pretty common and very cheap, but then they got discovered as a cheap hotrod with their IRS and turbocharged engine. Most of them have been scraped out, but some remain in stock or modified condition.

They do pop up on Ebay and craigslist from time to time. You just have to keep watching.

You might find a project for around $500 or even a nice one for $2-4K

They are listed in the Old Cars Price Guide magazine found at your bookstore. You should get one if you are serious about buying one. They start out at $240 for a #6 1985 and end at $15k for a #1 1989

Since it runs the same engine package as the SVO, try this group
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/svoowners

Good luck

I have written a program in Linux. It will run as a module. How can check for memory leaks in it?




sun


I thought about the following way,
1. Get system free memory
2. Load and the module (insmod)
3. Run it for a while and then remove it(rmmod)
4. Check the system free memory
5. Get the difference.
But I am not sure how effective this method will be, as other tasks will also be running and they will also allocate memory.



Answer
There are 3 main approaches I can think of,

1. Create a wrapper above kmalloc()/kfree() that keeps track of the memory located... maintaining the allocators' info and how many times kmalloc() has been called.

Decrement this value when kfree() is called. When your module is to exist, make sure that value is 0 (ie # kmallocs = # kfrees called).

2. Run your module as sortof a "program" -- very hard if the module is huge, and use a tool like valgrind to find memory leaks.

3. Watch /proc/meminfo and /proc/slabinfo to find memory leaks by hand... can be rather tedious (similar to your suggested method).

Have fun :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers