Saturday, December 28, 2013

What is the best running shoe for females (I run about 3-4 miles a day 4 x a week)?

running watches that track distance on middle long distance nike rival d iv long distance spikes
running watches that track distance image



zareena05@


Also, have any of you owned a GPS type watch that tracks distance? Any recommendations?


Answer
i've fpund that asics are the best shoe out there.
i own the Asics 2130.

What is the best running Accessory/Watch for measuring distance, pace, and calories?




Aaron K


Im starting to run longer distances now, and was wondering what different products people would recommend for measuring distance/pace/caloies while running? Would like to spend around 200$
thanks



Answer
They make really cool GPS watches nowadays that can track that stuff. Or nike has a device that connects with your ipod.

And counting calories is simple. approximately 100-120 calories per mile depending on your age/pace




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

what is the best mp3 player for running?

running watch mp3 player on ... Sport MP3 Player Wireless Headphone for Swimming Running | eBay
running watch mp3 player image



heatherbre


I would like a light weight and waterproof mp3 player that is strictly for music, but with sport functions like a stop watch, pedometer, ect. I would only need 1 or 2 GB for music storage.


Answer
Get the ipod nano does all of that, but you will need a waterproof case to run with it.

What's a good MP3 player to use for running?




Sedit


Also, does anyone know of a MP3 player that might have a stop watch on it too? I'm not a big fan of using a watch.


Answer
i have an ipod nano and it has a stopwatch. im pretty sure all ipods (excluding the shuffle) have stopwatches.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, December 27, 2013

What games/activities could our Jr. High youth group do for a Survivor themed overnighter?

youth running watches on Slideshow: Winter Activities for Kids -- It's Not Too Cold Outside to ...
youth running watches image



Chase


The Jr. High youth group that my wife and I run is having an overnighter in a month and it is going to be Survivor themed. I need some help coming up with games and activities to make this a great night. I expect 30-40 kids and we have the whole church to use and a large gym.


Answer
Hi

there is something called slumsurvior that we used over in the UK a couple of weeks back. we watched video clips about the parts of the world that lived on $1 or less a day, made slums we had to sleep in outside in a field, had lots of challenges that rewarded us with food and made us realize the value of running taps nearby etc.

it's not just a uk thing and unlike us you don't have to spend two nights camped out in the icy part of early winter - but it's a great idea and there are loads of resources that can be downloaded for free that give you ideas for games and activities and video's even what to eat with recipes. the UK initiative is soulaction.org but there is another almost identical one at slumsurvivor.org. the video clips can be found on youtube under the user soulactionUK if you can't get the dvd shipped in time.

I'm presuming you are a christian group though it doesn't matter if not the idea would still work - but the video's may not. we gave the kids sponsor forms for the event and with the leaders raised quite a sum, but i've done some of the activities as an awareness exercises for one evening and they still work great.

What can we do to prevent as well as lower the rate of obesity in today's youth?




palxtreaux


Studies have proven that more that one in every four children that is examined by a health professional is either obese, or possesses a great deal of risk for becoming obese.
What can we do to help the youth at risk? Many people don't realize that when they remain significantly overweight, they pose risk for more than 10 serious and possibly fatal diseases.
The thing is - we need to be realistic. Fast food restaurants are never going to go away, and parents can only prevent their child for so long. I know of mnay children that were not allowed to consume fast food, but did it every chance they got when their parents were oblivious.
Also, we can't always force the youth to get away from the TV, go outside and exercise. There are also parents that won't force their child to do that either. Many parents say that schools need to do this and do that, but they think that the proposal stops at 3pm, and they don't have to worry about anything. "Since the schools can take care of it." Many parents, especially parents that are also overweight will not force their child to do something "just to be skinny", the thing is, many parents feel as if their child does not need to lose weight because they feel as if they would be catering to society's ideals.



Answer
Watch the movie, "Super Size Me".

They have great ways to help. Sure the movie bags on fast food ... but it also has many necessary and realistic ways to make children's diets better.

One of the most fascinating segment in the movie was when they visited a "Alternative School" for children with stuff like ADHD & other behavior prob's ... The students weren't running around like maniac's and the movie suggested it's because of the "Fresh Caffeteria Food". This school feed vegtables, fruits, and fresh meat. Then they went to a public school where hamburgars, hot dogs, and other "Government Food" was being served. Those kids were a mess!!!

In short I like the movie's suggestions:
1. Good food at school.
2. More exercise classes.
3. Remove vending machiens from school.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can I back up my PS3 to any external hard drive to switch my HDD to a larger size?

running watches running room on Olympics 2012: branding 'police' to protect sponsors' exclusive rights ...
running watches running room image



G. H


My HDD has almost ran out of room. I just bought a 500GB HDD to replace it. I need to back up my current HDD. The instructions are not that clear as to what type of external hard drive I can use to back it up. Please help!


Answer
follow the directions of this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNSytaL9hnI

I have to passed a timed run tomorrow, I was just wondering if there are any tips for me?




Milo


Tomorrow I have to pass a timed run. The run is 2.5 kms in 12mins or less. Which is 2 minutes X 6 on an Olympic sized 400m track. Are there any tips that could be given to help me through this. Eg - Breathing routine, timing of laps, anything! Thanks.


Answer
If the goal is just passing, I would just run even splits. Run around 1:45-1:50 per lap. That'll give you some room to play with at the end and it's a pretty slow pace. Run with a watch and check splits every 200m if you don't know how to pace yourself. Don't get caught up with anyone that goes out at a crazy pace.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it possible to have a good amount of fast twitch and slow twitch muscle fibers?

best watch for long distance running on ... Training Resistance Parachute Run Chute Long Distance Running | eBay
best watch for long distance running image
Q. I would like to keep doing my long distance running for my fitness and health but I would also like to have a good number of fast twitch so that I may play the sports that require them. Basketball, football, sprinting etc.
I want to get to a point where I can easily run 10K and still have good muscle fibers for the jumping, sprinting, back and forth of team sports and track.


Answer
Add jump-squats to your exercise. Do the jump-squat every other day 2 days or 3 days a week.
Click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjY25jL_avs

The squat-jump is good for basketball, football, sprinting.

What are some good tips to help keep running long distance miles.?

Q. Helloo. i'm 12 to 13. and a pretty good runner but I fail on long distance I'm a girll, We run half miles everytime, ocasionally a mile. what will help me be with the people in the front instrad of beingthe one that people watch to finish ?


Answer
Hi there,

Keep running that helps build stamina and resistance. The more you run, the easy it will get, your lungs will expand and your heart will grow..with that said

1.- Eat right
2.- Get a good pair of shoes
3.- Drink water
4.- Run 3 to 4 miles every other day
5.- Rest on Sundays (and Saturdays if you get too tired)

You will start feeling that you can run longer!

Good Luck




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do black men/women seem to build muscles easier than their white counterparts?

sports watches for runners women on ... Triax Fury 100 Sport Running Watch Men Women Reg Sz Black Gray | eBay
sports watches for runners women image



maukie123


When watching sports, whether it be athletics, football, soccer, boxing etc black competitors seem to have a much more muscular build than white people. Why is this?
I think in competitive sport people have similar training regimes
And please dont hit me with the ignorance card its a legitimate question,dont answer it if your going to be abusive



Answer
Well first I think not all black people, as there are over 1 billion Africans and they can differ genetically more between themselves than white people do to them.

The colour black looks sleeker; think of electronic items.

I have read that black men have more testosterone, maybe, but if you consider the above.

I also read that they tend to have more fast twitch muscles (power) compared to white people having more slow twitch (endurance). I am not too sure about that one as in Africa we are said to have evolved into the worlds best endurance runner. We ran down prey long distance as we cannot sprint very fast. This seems contradictory to the Africans having more fast twitch muscles. Thinking of the top paragraph again some populations of Africa are tall and very thin, I wouldn't expect them to grow muscles well e.g. the Ethiopian running team.

I wonder too if by black men/women you mean for example African American or British African. I know they are were not all slaves but if many were then they would have been chosen for their health and strength. Then they had to survive an awful sea journey and so are probably good stock.

What do horseback riders call one another?




Mr. Best A


Jockey is only used to describe 100 pound, 5' tall men, that wear tights and beat their horse in the ass with a stick. So what about the hobbyists?

People who run are runners. People who rock climb are climbers. Do they call each other riders or is there another term or slang for it?
Thanks and I don't doubt it. I bet what they do is exhausting.



Answer
First of all, Smarty Pants, not all jockeys are male, not any more. There are females who have been very successful in recent years and decades, including Chantal Sutherland ( who's now retired), Julie Krone, Rosie Napravnik, and several more. Many trainers prefer to employ women as grooms and exercise riders too, because they believe that women can relate to horses better than men. As for what riders call each other, that varies. "Riders" is the most common term I've heard, with an additional name that designates which sport or discipline the person is involved in. There are dressage riders, event riders, show jumping riders or show jumpers, hunter riders, equitation riders, saddle seat riders, stock seat or Western riders, and so forth. People who play polo are called polo players. People who barrel race are called barrel racers. If someone does cutting or reining, he or she is called a cutter or a reiner, depending on the sport.

Horse sports are gender neutral. Men and women compete equally with and against one another, especially in international events like the Olympic Games and the WEG. These are also the only sports in which co-ed teams are common. It's not unsual at all to see married couples competing together, or teams made up of brothers, sisters, or father and son combinations. There's even one sport, endurance riding, where there was a famous mother/daughter combination that represented the US some years ago- Valerie and Danielle Kanavy. The rules are the same for both genders in all horse sports. After all, the horses don't care what a rider's gender is, nor do they care what their riders look like or what their riders' political affliliation may be. Horses also have no concept or notion of the terms "gay" and "straight" the way humans do. It's this gender blind, race blind, color blind, and species blind attitude that makes horse sports unique.

One other note: The crop that jockeys use is very soft, and is more a noisemaker than an instrument of punishment. It doesn't hurt the horse, and there are strict rules against overuse of the whip on every track. Jockeys who break or violate such rules can face fines and loss of their license to ride, which means they can't make a living. The racing stewards are always watching what jockeys do, and they are on the lookout for poor behavior all the time. And the jockeys don't wear tights, they wear breeches, as do riders in all other English style sports. A lot of jockeys are taller than five feet, too, especially those who ride steeplechase horses. Peope who participate in harness sports are called drivers. If the sport is competitive driving, the driver may have a navigator and a brakeman along too.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it normal to wear a Nike GPS sportwatch when you're not running?

running watches nike gps on Nike Sportwatch GPS Nike+ (noire et bleue) - Univers-Running.com
running watches nike gps image



012701


I just recently got a Nike GPS watch and I wear it everywhere on go. The other cross country guys at my school don't wear their Nike GPS watches outside of practice.


Answer
It's not normal to wear most GPS watches when not running. The battery life is limited, and I believe the Nike GPS get only about 8 hours of run time (when GPS is on) before they need to be recharged. If you wear it around normally, even in standby mode, there are high odds you're going to run out of battery life when you need it to actually run. Yes, most people would wear a normal watch outside of training.

difference between the nike gps watch with & without sensor?




Sam


I am looking to get a nike gps watch and don't have a ton of money. I saw that without the sensor you can purchase one for $20 less, but is it actually worth the extra money to buy it with the sensor?


Answer
I own both. If you're running exclusively outside then just the GPS is generally fine (here in the UK anyway), if you're going to run on a treadmill you'll need the sensor.

Depends what your GPS signal is like over there :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How can I fix my problems with eating without going to a professional or telling my parents?

running watches large display on Ladies Watch: Time Is Running. Close Up. Stock Photo 34032271 ...
running watches large display image



Olivia


I have an unhealthy relationship with food/eating -- I know this. It hasn't gotten too out of control yet, as I'm not yet underweight, but only on the track.

I'm 15, 5'4, and 110 pounds, and I make sure I eat under the amount of calories I burned that day. Even if it's only 50 calories under, I feel content. But if it's 50 calories over, I just want it to be the next day so I can start over because I dislike the fact that I overate. I go running 6x a week, maybe even 7. I look in the mirror and I always see my flaws first; which is my stomach at a disgusting 30" I seriously hate my stomach so freaking much and occasionally I dream of cutting it off. I also hate my super flat ugly boobs.

I can't eat in front of people; I only do so at dinner because I have no other choice. But for breakfast, lunch, and any snacks, I always eat alone because I don't like watching people eat and I don't like people watching me eat. Food/eating and planning and counting calories/fat/carbs takes up a lot of time. I hardly ever allow myself to eat the foods I love (cookies & crème ice cream, and pasta), when I do, I'm super upset.

I don't like feeling this way, and I want to fix it, but I cannot tell my parents because they would freak. How can I fix these issues myself?



Answer
Why do you do it? Why be so hard on yourself about your appearance at 15 years old? I did this years ago...I would eat everything with a spoon and I only allowed myself to put the spoon in my mouth 10 times. After every spoon of food, I drank 5 sips of water and I would only eat what was on the "outer rim" of my plate and NEVER what was in the center of my plate. If it was only 7 or 8 spoonfuls of food eaten, I compensated with 2 or 3 extra GLASSES of water. I did this for 3 years. From your profile pic you don't look like a girl that has a "weight" issue, but at 15, I will question what made you take such an "adult, sexy" picture and post it on the net. I can only imagine what every other pic looks like.

For a 15 year old that hates her boobs and stomach, you have your boobs popping out and on full display, so what's really going on is my concern...

Your eating habits are your choice and if you ask someone like me what I think, I think you have given yourself a problem that you choose not to control. People use to ask me all the time if I was sick, had the flu and was anemic because to them, I looked WORSE than how I looked to myself.

Perhaps telling your parents is just the thing you need to do to get control of what is really going on, because starving yourself is never as clean cut as just not wanting to eat. For me, I did it because I wanted to be like the girls I went to school with and they were genetically exposed to be being thinner. I grew up in an overweight household and I didn't want to be overweight.

You'll soon create a larger wall and become a bigger outcast because for some people sharing a meal, a soda and snacks is how we bond as human being sometimes. Sometimes a bag of doritos and a orange soda brings out the silliness and giggles amongst friends. It's just not the right thing to do to alter your appearance. Anytime you deprive yourself of a healthy lifestyle because you don't like like the way it makes you feel or how it could "potentially" make you look, you need to ask a professionals opinion on the matter.....

Your cute enough now to turn it around and once you do that WITHOUT someone else telling you to do it or making you do it, you always feel better about making the decision, because you did it for yourself and you did it on your own. good luck

How do I find my local cat ownership laws?




BARB


Hi! I'm watching Hoarders, and the poor woman had a pet limit in her community. D:

Where do I find my local pet keeping laws?
I looks on my town website, but it just talks about dogs and nuisance animals. I don't want to call anywhere, what if I'm over the limit? D:



Answer
If you found their web site, you should be able to find the limit on cats in one of those ordinances. Look again.

If you want to call city hall and ask them and you are worried they will be able to track the call to you, disable Caller ID when you call. In most telephone systems you dial *67 to block Caller ID. Check in your telephone book or call the operator and ask how to do it.

After you dial the code, you will hear another dial tone, punch in the number of city hall then.

Just ask them how many cats you can have in your town.

In most cases, the limit is 5 cats unless you have applied for, and been approved to run a cattery.

These limits are put in place to prevent problems for the neighbors and the neighborhood.

If someone has more than the limit and takes proper care of them, gets them medical care when they need it, maintains an orderly and clean house, and the cats are kept inside (thus not affecting the neighbors) having more than the limit of cats should not be consider a violation of the law.

Now, if someone has more cats than they can care for and afford, that is hoarding.

Hoarding cannot be defined by the number of cats someone has. It is defined by how well they care for the cats.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_hoarding
--------------------
Among other things, that wikipedia page says:

"Characteristics of a hoarder

An animal hoarder is distinguished from a person who keeps an unusually large number of pets, but who cares for them properly. A hoarder is distinguished from an animal breeder, who would have a large number of animals as the central component of his or her business. According to one study, the distinguishing feature is that a hoarder

"fails to provide the animals with adequate food, water, sanitation, and veterinary care, and ⦠is in denial about this inability to provide adequate care." Along with other compulsive hoarding behaviours, it is linked in the DSM-IV to obsessiveâcompulsive disorder and obsessiveâcompulsive personality disorder.

Alternatively, animal hoarding could be related to addiction, dementia, or even focal delusion."
-------------------

Here are some other pages about Hoarding:

http://www.cfainc.org/articles/hoarding.html

http://www.dailyrecord.com/article/20090824/UPDATES01/90824059/1005/NEWS01/Chester+Twp.+tables+cat-hoarding+ordinance

http://www.peta.org/MC/factsheet_display.asp?ID=27

http://www.bostonphoenix.com/boston/news_features/other_stories/documents/02893062.htm




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do the world cup stadiums have to be so far apart?

sports watches for running south africa on Ashley plans an outrageously pretentious Italian menu, but proves to ...
sports watches for running south africa image
Q. I looked at a map of South Africa for the world cup, and the stadiums are very far apart. This seems crazy. Was there a world cup in the past where all the matches were in one stadium or at least all in the same city/town?


Answer
This is not a situation unique to South Africa, or even to the sport of soccer. The main reason for this though is because South Africa is poorer country. They do not have the finances that large US cities enjoy. Poverty is a severe problem in Africa, and because of this, financial spending goes first to protecting and feeding its people. So soccer stadiums are few and far between. Soccer unfortunately is not a priority when it comes to spending. That aside, South Africa has done a phenomenal job with the resources they have to put on the 2010 World Cup. The stadium in Polokwane ranks among the very best in the world. I heard this live while watching a game â the commentator spoke very highly of the stadiumâs structure, capacity and pitch. More than one stadium is required because of the amount of soccer games that are played at the World Cup. Iâve been streaming all 3 live every day. The fields get pretty beat up and chewed through because of the hard running and soccer cleats, so in order for the games to be played one after another (because repairs to the field are needed), many stadiums are needed.

When is the men's South Africa team going to run in the Olympics?




Ju


I heard about it and I want to watch Pistorius run. But does anyone know when he is going to run. I only know that its going to be this week?


Answer
Here is a link to the South African team page on Y!Sports. I think that Pistorius runs the 200 and 400m. It might just be the 400 though. You can check it out. http://sports.yahoo.com/olympics/south-africa/




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How many miles should start at for running?

best watch for running pace on Best Garmin Forerunner 610 GPS Touchscreen Watch 2012
best watch for running pace image



Josh P


I want to start running and get on a schedule. Just need some advice from you experience runners or someone who can give me some insight.

How many miles should i run and how many days should i run?

If not miles how long(minutes) should i run?

Is mixing sprints with long distance a good idea?

Just trying to get on my cardio tip.



Answer
Depends on your goals, current fitness level, and other health factors.
I suggest you purchase a couple issues of magazines like Runners World. (or read online) Most issues will explain some stretching and schedule techniques.
Here are some basic guidelines.
Use a watch and time each mile so you know your pace.
Don't over do it when you are just getting started.
Stretch before and after.
Only do your "long" run 1 time per week. Long is a relative term. When My dad trains for marathons, he does 1 long run per week starting at about 12 miles, and working up to 22 miles a couple weeks before the race. The he does a taper down schedule. For many casual runners, the long run is about 10 miles. For some the long run is only 4 miles.
Mixing in sprints is good. It is called "intervals".
Get a good pair of running shoes designed for your stride. Go to a running store, not just any shoe store. They will watch you run and make an informed recommendation.
You may also be interested in the Jeff Galloway method. This basically combines running and walking on a schedule. This allows my mother in her 70's to complete races.

What is a good model running watch for me?




klw7890


I like running watches and I'm pretty serious about it. i need a watch that has one of those sensors in your shoe or something. I'm just looking for the best watch for the money. i don't want a heart rate watch I want a watch that does like distance, calories burned, pace (steps per minute) and it can't cost more then $50. anyone have some ideas?


Answer
Here is a site with some for under $50 http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw/002-7465774-5639253?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=mens+running+watches+&x=11&y=20




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Where can i get an affordable running watch?

running watches for distance on one Outdoor Exercise Data Wrist Watch - Measures Speed Steps Distance ...
running watches for distance image
Q. I'm going to camp next week and I was planning on running in the mornings, where can I get an affordable running watch that's cheap and simple: measures distance and pace and time.
Thanks!!


Answer
I got an IronMan (The race, not the superhero) 30 lap watch at JCPenny for about $30

What is the best running Accessory/Watch for measuring distance, pace, and calories?




Aaron K


Im starting to run longer distances now, and was wondering what different products people would recommend for measuring distance/pace/caloies while running? Would like to spend around 200$
thanks



Answer
They make really cool GPS watches nowadays that can track that stuff. Or nike has a device that connects with your ipod.

And counting calories is simple. approximately 100-120 calories per mile depending on your age/pace




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there a park or outdoor set in Toronto where one can watch theatrical shows or plays in the Summertime?

running watches nyc on New York Standard 18s Gold Filled Chronograph Pocket Watch Running ...
running watches nyc image



Killer Chi


Eg. Shakespeare.
Like in NYC, there is the Delacorte Theatre in Central Park where Shakespeare plays are performed by actors and actresses.



Answer
The best thing I could find is something going on in High Park, called "Shakespeare in the Park".. it runs until sept. 9th, so you'd better hurry!

What should I do in New York City for the weekend?




negrito co


I am planning to go to NYC for a weekend. I have never been there and I want to see the parts that make NYC NYC.

Please don't advise me to see the empire state bldg or the statue of liberty. Those are obvious.
I want restaurants and hang-out spots.
Thanx in advance.

PS-I live in Chicago.



Answer
A popular way to see the city is by boat. It's one New York City trip you won't want to miss, and still my favorite way to get the best idea of the City. This 90 minute twilight harbor cruise gives you a wonderful way to see the city and watch the twinkling lights come on.

Some thingsyou don't want to miss are the various neighborhoods, like lower Manhattan's Chinatown, go for authentic dim sum and other Chinese delights. Orchard Street on Sunday mornings especially has always been a delight for shopping and eating bialys and bagels. Artsy Soho with all it's galleries and the trendy TriBeCa. Of course Greenwich Village and now the East Village as well are always a great place to sightsee.

There are museums, not only The Metropolitan and MOMA, but wonderful smaller ones like the Frick Museum and of course, Frank Lloyd Wright's masterpiece, The Guggenheim with it's outstanding modern art collection. You can wander for days in these museums. Art movies have always been the thing in New York, I'm sure you'll find a running of "The Red Shoes" still on.

Central Park is always an interesting place to go. Located in the very center of Manhattan surrounded by high-rise buildings. Try jogging around the reservoir (made famous by Jackie Kennedy - who jogged there on regular basis). The Central Park Zoo is fun and carriage rides from Central Park South through and around the Park make for a most romantic evening.

Stroll up or down Fifth Avenue for shops galore, don't miss going into St. Patrick's at 50th and Fifth, and the Empire State Building can still thrill.

For even more things to do and see in NYC, visit hotelsntravel.com it's a great site.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

At what pace should a beginning runner start out by running?

best watch for beginning runners on 10 Low Priced Jogging Watches | Cheap Running Watches for Basic ...
best watch for beginning runners image
Q. I read something about everyone being able to run for 30minutes, as long as they go slowly enough.

I barely seem to manage a minute and a half because I get so ridiculously out of breath.

Am I going too quickly? How can I actually measure my pace (I have no way of telling what my pace is or what distance I've run) - could you give me any kind of indication as to how fast I should be running? Was this information true? If so, how can I begin running for longer?

Thanks (:


Answer
There's a couple ways to measure your pace-- one, you can get in the car and drive out a mile. When you run it, see what time it is when you hit the mile marker--that's your pace. Or, if you want, you can buy a watch that will automatically tell you your pace, GPS coordinates, and mileage. However, I wouldn't opt for option two unless money is absolutely nothing to you (they can be pretty expensive), wait until you've been running for a year or two.

As for what pace you should be running, it's really up to you. Everyone is different, there is no standard beginners pace. What I would do if I were you, and this is what I did when I was in a freshman in high school starting cross country, is run half a mile without stopping, have a quick water break, and then run half a mile back. When that becomes comfortable for you, increase it to one mile out, one mile back. Gradually increase your mileage week by week.

I'm gonna give you a heads up, the first year of running is pretty rough. Expect lots of cramping, side stitches, weird aches and pains, and seemingly near-death situations. Just push through it, you'll have days when you think you're just not built to be a runner, but I promise that's not the case. After that first year, something just clicks, and running becomes much easier, and much more enjoyable. Stick with it, I promise it's worth it....

Also, sign up for some 5K races to keep you motivated. Follow a training regimen. Do speed works.

A few tips I have from my experience running cross country and track in high school:
-For the first year at least, don't eat anything less than 2 hours before you run. Once you become more experienced, this rule becomes a little lax (I've been running routinely for five years, and I can get away with eating right before now), but in the meantime, follow this rule like it's scripture.
-Drink lots of water. When you think you've had enough, drink one more cup.
-Take it easy on the fried foods
-Soda is the enemy
-Follow the weather: in the summer, run at sunrise/sunset; in the winter, run when the sun's out
-Run with a friend who is slightly faster than you, and is a hard worker. When it's 5am in the morning and your alarm goes off, it's easy to think, "Hey, you know what? I don't REALLY need to run... I'll do a lot of walking today...like from the parking lot to the building.... that counts, right?" But when there is another person out there, stretching while waiting for you, you'll get outta bed and show up.
-Do core workouts (crunches, planks, etc...); it improves your running so much it's not even funny
-Unless you're a marathoner, you don't need to go crazy with the whole pasta and carb-loading thing.
-Run on soft surfaces (ie grass, dirt). Stay away from concrete, it leads to injury.
-Stretch before and after running, even if you think it makes you feel like a noodle like I do. Just do it.
-Focus on your breathing at first. What I do is this, and it's worked pretty well for me: Breathe in through your nose for two seconds, out through your mouth for one second. Repeat. After a week or two, you won't notice you're doing it anymore.

Well, I think that's it! Hope I helped!

What song is played on the Nike commercial where there are like runners with parachutes?




You Don't


lol, if you've seen it you know what i mean. it begins with runners who are i guess conditioning themselves by running with parachutes, and that's all i remember from it. but i love the song on it


Answer
his name is Saul Williams...BE SOMEBODY!!! hand to mouth...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1llNYAlYrc

'we aim to remember what we choose to forget'

apparently he works with Trent Reznor...




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How will my money be utilized in Darfur?

running watch malaysia on ... SEIKO Criteria watch range: PHOTOS - MSN Malaysia Father's Day Special
running watch malaysia image






Do any of you know of organizations that give examples of how my dollar is being used? i.e."$80 provides tents for a family of 5". My school is looking to donate money off the shirts we are selling to raise awareness and help the people. Thank You!


Answer
Hope this helps you understand Darfur Issue:

The following is what I found: (All materials are based on the Economist, a British weekly journal, a staunch supporter for Iraq Invasion)

1)Sudan is running the longest civil war on Earth. Wars were waged among the tribes in the South, the West and partly the North. They had been in fighting since the 1950s, when the old colonial masters, the English and French, left. This Sudan government, sovereign in name, had never been in full control.

2)The Sudan government is of black-Islamist, who took side with the Arabs whenever the Israel-Arab conflicts flared up. That certainly cannot be tolerated by Israel and US. Sudan once gave refuge to Bin Laden but drove him out under US pressure. It also tasted US bombs during the Clinton Administration in 1998 when a pharmaceutical plant was a target. Sudan was still under US embargo.

3)In the South, non-Arab blacks, with American support , gradually got the upper hand in the struggle, and negotiated a peace treaty with the Sudan government under Colin Powellâs watch. To Americansâ credit, the peace treaty would not come into being without Colin Powellâs perseverance and occasional show of intimidation. Before, Sudan was one piece. Now, it is partitioned into two. A new geopolitical unit is added to the map by the US, it is called Southern Sudan.

4)Oil was discovered. They were the bones of contention between the South and the Sudan Government. The Sudan Government made oil concessions to French, Canadian and other European oil companies, which, under US pressure, many quit and sold concession rights to Malaysia and China and India. China came in 2006. with 40% of investment share in one oil adventure only. Within that adventure the rest is shared between Malaysia, 40%, and the Sudan government.

5)If you ask, why does the civil war never end in Africa? Answer: the boys had no jobs! What else can they do?! So it is obvious that an investment by any country would create job opportunities for the young Sudanese. But here comes an obstacle: the US embargo had never been lifted. It was the Executive Order 13067 issued in 1997.

6) But why did US try very hard to negotiate a peace treaty between the South rebels and the Sudan Government? This question can be answered only in this way: a) US pressed for a peace treaty only to see that the Southern rebels would not be crushed by the government; 2) the US and UK did not like oil companies coming in other than Exxon and BP.

7)Then what about Darfur? It is a region, the size of a France, in West Sudan. Practically speaking, it is beyond Sudan government control. Unlike in Southern Sudan, where fighting is between the Government and the local rebellions, in Darfur it is the locals who fight the locals.

8)So how exactly can you put pressure effectively on a party that is not involved in the other two partiesâ fight? If you argue that the Sudan Government is a sovereign which should bear a direct responsibility, then you face this problem: the Sudan government cannot be considered an effective government , not effective at all since it could not even end a civil war that has lasted for the past 50 years. As a matter of fact, this Sudan government is not even in full control of its own northern territory, where the revolt is looming large.

9)Oil makes poor nations rich. This is a proven example as we see the Arabs and Latin Americans on their way to wealth. So Chinaâs investment in Sudan is a plus to African people . Furthermore, the Chinese are also building roads, digging wells and doing other infrastructures work. Pressuring them out of Sudan is disserving the interests of Sudanese people. Killings shall go on in Darfur even if the Chinese quit Sudan.

After a month-long research on Darfur issue, it has indeed amazed me to see how the UK and the US flex their mind-manipulation power against China.

Same as their swindling the whole world into accepting the Iraq invasion on a trumped-up WMD-plus-biochemical pretense, a mind-manipulation campaign has been under way to make the world believe that Darfur is Chinaâs fault.

Could the Philippines win against war with Malaysia or other countries claiming spratly?




adamstarz2


If the Philippines now has good relationship with Mindanao who could do massive damage to the Philippines without much funds and if the Philippines has good non-corrupt government and U.Sarmy trains filipino troops


Answer
Nah... Agua Bendita will play on tv and everyone will eventually run back and watch =D

Plus, we export our health care experts more than anything else, would be quite ironic to focus on military.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, December 25, 2013

How can i plug in a VCR and a dvd player to the same tv if it only has one yellow video plug in?

yellow running watches on ... Yellow Dial Automatic Extremely RARE Men's Japan Watch Running | eBay
yellow running watches image



RaCHeL_Is_


The Tv is a viewsonic n2000 and i need to plug in my dvd and vcr, the vcr has a yellow and white plug in thing, but i dont know how to use them, and i also have pugged in my direct tv sattelite box, which has alot of plugins in the back, but once again i dont know if you can use them... sooo i need help. Thanks!


Answer
You can run the DVD player through your VCR first by using the Input ports on your VCR, and then run the line out from the VCR to the TV. You might have to have the VCR on when you watch a DVD. Added bonus is you can record to VCR tapes from DVDs.

The red and white cords are for audio left and right, just plug in color to color. The yellow is the video line and goes to the yellow video port.

For the whole set up run your DTV box to your DVD player using the input ports of the DVD player and output ports on the DTV receiver. Next run lines from your DVD out ports to the VCR input ports. Finally run lines from your output ports on the VCR to the input ports on the TV. Easy stuff.

What would you think of a guy who drives a bright yellow corvette convertible?




confused51


I went on a date with a guy (he's 32 years old) and he seems really down to earth, but then we walked out to his car and it was a bright yellow corvette convertible. It completely threw me off, so I'm curious if I have a skewed stereotype of the type of guy who would drive one. Any thoughts?


Answer
I think you're right to be concerned - sometimes a guy with a car like this fancies himself a player.

Watch "Suspicion" tonight on Turner Classic Movies and see if he's like the Cary Grant character.

Questions - does he call you by a nickname? Does he brag about getting away with lying? Does he speak slightingly of his mother? Does he use derogatory terms about women? In real life, those are the traits of player-pretenders -- you should run.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What kind of security camera system should I buy to watch my house from a laptop?

running watches costco on Westinghouse 7000W Running/8500W Peak Electric Start Portable ...
running watches costco image



el aji


I've heard-of a security camera system that I could watch my home from a laptop while at work. What company should I refer to get this setup, and will any laptop work?


Answer
Hello

Not all DVRs are created equal, in fact there are many options that offer varying performance much like the automobile industry. In the world of DVRs you can find the equivalent of a $10,000 Kia and a $350,000 Ferrari and everything in between. Both have 4 wheels and windshield but that where the similarities end, itâs under the hood that counts. Just like any other consumer electronic in the end you get what you pay for.

I suggest you buy a PC based DVR has they have more processing power and normally have a much smaller file size and offer more features then Standalone DVR's. I know many people buy a cheap standalone DVR, only to upgrade to a PC based in 6 months especially when they are using it to manage a store remotely. Also PC based allows you to record up to 64 cameras where a standalone will have a limit of 16.

Many people have the misconception that a PC-Based DVR is simply an off-the-shelf PC with video capture (encoder) cards, display (decoder) cards and some generic OEM software. A true DVR requires years of research and development to facilitate the seamless integration of both the hardware and software. DVRs are highly complex systems that must run 24/7, processing millions of images per day. This makes consumer-level hardware inadequate for DVRs which is why Ascendent uses custom-built PCs with performance-level hardware.

My personal favorite DVR is Ascendent X4 series: Ascendentâs Tri-Fusion Hybrid Platform allows for the creation of a true hybrid surveillance system by utilizing the advantages of Analog, Megapixel, and IP technologies for unparalleled customization and expandability. I am working on government projects and use Ascendent cameras and DVR because the offer superior performance and cost less then comparable brands like bosh, Honeywell and pelco.

The X4 also uses the latest H.264/SVC codec offer video substantially better quality,. While its file size sizes is 30% smaller than MPEG-4, 60% smaller than MPEG-2, and exponentially smaller than MJPEG.

File size is crucial to streaming because most DVRâs on the market record at real time performance (30FPS per channel) so on a 4CH is trying to send 120, 8CH 240, and a 16CH 480 images per second which requires way too much bandwidth even for the most extreme internet connections.

The smaller the files size the more images are able to be sent, and the faster they can be processed improving both FPS and speed. File size is the heart of any DVR and goes far beyond just its streaming capabilities, as it also determines the recording storage time, how much you can back up at once, how fast it renders and searches video. The file size of a DVR impacts the performance of the DVR in just about every aspect from speed to longevity and is often the most important spec of any DVR.

If you are buying a DVR and streaming is a high priority I suggest you ask for a demo and connect to the DVR to make sure it is able to stream fast enough for your needs. Most DVRs say they have remote viewing but it is often too slow and laggy to be of any use especially if it is a standalone. Some good DVR brands that I recommend are Bosch, Pelco, Honeywell and Ascendent. These brands are what security professionals use, Q-see, Swan and Lorex are only used in residential applications because they are sold by Tiger Direct, Spytown, Newegg, Sams Club, Costco and other retail outlets but are not used by any security professionals also their tech support rarely speaks English as their first language...

These brand manufacturers also have a complete line of CCTV cameras for any application from residential to military.

http://www.ascendentgroup.com (Recommend)
http://www.honeywell.com
www.pelco.com
http://www.bosch.com

Hope this helps

williammorales93@ymail.com

How do you use the dehydrator function on your convection toaster oven?




sarah_smil


I bought this cool looking convection toaster oven from Costco the other the day. It is an Oster 6058. The main reason I bought it was because it had a dehydrator function that I want to make jerky and other goodies.

Trouble is that when I got it home and read the instructions I came to realize it can only cook for 90 minutes. I am not sure how to dehydrate in that short of time since I have always used just a regular oven or dehydrator that takes many hours to dry things like meat.

Any ideas on how to use it? Does the convection speed the process up for dehydrating? By how much? Any personal uses?

Thanks
K
Part of dehydrating is not for a cheaper product but a better product. I buy lean grass fed meat on sale and freeze it just for jerky. I use only organic non-preservative ingredients that have low sugar and no wheat to marinate. This produces a great product, not a cheap product .



Answer
If the dehydrating function only runs for 90 mins maybe that's all the tme it takes in that oven.Try it with a small amount of something and if it needs more time just reset it and watch it carefully. I'm betting that the convection speeds up the process.Maybe try it with an apple.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is a safe protein powder to take?

best watch for runners 2010 on ... state's top runners | Girls track and field | Seattle Times Newspaper
best watch for runners 2010 image



Prestige 8


I was going to take Cytosport Muscle Milk Chocolate, but then I read that there was a heavy metal toxicity during a Consumer Report in July 2010. Is there any safe protein powder with no metal toxicity, or effects that are harmful to my liver, kidney, or anything in my body?


Answer
Your body does not store protein. So, a protein supplement can only benefit you if your diet is deficient in protein. And, if it is deficient, fix the diet. Eat food.

Protein is the most misunderstood nutrient in bodybuilding. I don't have the space to tell you all you need to know so I'll just hit the high spots and if you need more info, you can message my Yahoo account.

Don't listen to muscleheads, gym rats, bodybuilders, personal trainers, and even coaches about protein. Most of them believe what decades and $$$$millions in supplement advertising have been telling them...that they need a lot of protein to build muscle. Not true. Here's how much you need according to the best minds in the world at the US CDC, the people our doctors (in the US) listen to. --> http://www.cdc.gov/nutrition/everyone/basics/protein.html#How%20much%20protein You can easily get that amount of protein with a glass of milk and a chicken breast or piece of meat per day. If you consume more protein, you'll only excrete it or burn it and both are a waste.

Bodybuilders don't work as hard as they would like to believe. Construction workers, migrant field hands, movers, UPS drivers, etc. all work much harder every week. And none of those people worry about protein or take supplements for their jobs. They just eat a good diet and their bodies adapt with no problem. A bodybuilder can only work out 10 hours a week at the most because of the recovery time required by the muscles. Marathon runners, boxers, Olympic athletes, Navy SEALs, Army Rangers, etc. all train much harder and they do it without supplements.

Most protein supplements are scams. According to the US National Institute of Health, you should use supplements only when recommended by a doctor. ---> http://ods.od.nih.gov/Health_Information/ODS_Frequently_Asked_Questions.aspx#Need That's good advice because the government does not require testing so you won't be protected by the FDA as you are with food and drugs. Also, many supplements have been found to be contaminated and dangerous.

Check out this list of over 60 dangerous supplement products sold with bogus advertising claims which scam-site bodybuilding.com was forced to recall and take off the market --> http://www.usrecallnews.com/2009/11/bodybuilding-com-supplements-recalled-may-contain-steroids.html .

Check this link to see how Muscle Milk was busted for false advertising --> http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm261684.htm

All you need to make the gains you can is food. There is an abundance of information to prove this point. So, I will give you examples and cite references in the space I have left. Just be sure to ask yourself if you ever saw any good scientific evidence suggesting you need 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight or more. The answer will be no. That's a huge myth. And, all the naysayers who disagree with me will not have any good science for you. All they'll have are ads, phony reviews, bogus testimonials, false scientific sounding white papers, bad blogs, scam sites, etc. all paid for by scammers like this one. ---> http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=5196740n&tag=related;photovideo

Hereâs a white paper which debunks the myth of the protein supplement. Note the following excerpt...âAt present there is no evidence to suggest that supplements are required for optimal muscle growth or strength gain.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15212752

Here's one more study to read. Note the excerpt..."Consumption of a recovery drink (whey protein, amino acids, creatine, and carbohydrate) after strength training workouts did not promote greater gains in FFM (Fat free muscle) compared with consumption of a carbohydrate-only drink.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15105028

Hereâs another from Live Science. Note the excerptâ¦âMedical researchers have advised against protein supplements for years for the average person. But many sports trainers continue to push them on amateur athletes simply because they don't know any better.â
Ref: http://www.livescience.com/health/protein-supplements-100202.html#

Here's what Consumer Reports had to say ---> Ref: http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/magazine-archive/2010/july/food/protein-drinks/overview/index.htm

If you have any doubts about the citations and references above, talk to the person who understands best how your body works....your doctor.

Watch this video --> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4_UY_kIPFU

There's plenty more but I'm out of room.

Good luck and good health!!

â 

Who is married and has remained married from either the bachelor or bachelorette?




Michael


From what I recall the only only couples are Trista and Ryan and the recent Ryan and Molly. Two couples in 10 years? Isn't this a waste of airtime?


Answer
Trista Rehn, the runner-up of the first season of The Bachelor, selected Ryan Sutter and the season's finale broadcast was one of the most-watched programs in the history of reality television. They got married and have two children.

Jason Mesnick and Molly Malaney were married on February 27, 2010, in Rancho Palos Verdes, California. Their wedding airs on March 8th.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can you wear jewelry at any level of a track meet?

best watch for track running on ... of Jake Gyllenhaal! - RUNNING MAN - Jake Gyllenhaal : People.com
best watch for track running image



Confused


So I know for high school you can't, because I'm in high school and they've explained it to us many times! But I was watching track on tv at the college level and I saw many people running with jewelry. There was a guy running with a necklace and than a girl running with hoop earrings! Why were they wearing jewelry if you can get dq'd for that?


Answer
It's honestly not safe to be wearing jewellery during exercise; especially not hoop earrings as they can get caught on something and literally tear your earlobe (I have seen this happen, even with simple studs). Just because they did it on television doesn't mean it's safe to do so.

Why do men run a longer mile in the Olympics?

Q. i was watching the track events in the olympics & found that the men run 1600 meters while the women run 1500...they both run the 100, 200, 400, 800, & marathon equally, so why would they run a different mile? i know it's only 100 meter difference but it's not like the women runners can't go another 100 if they trained for it right? why aren't they allowed to run the full mile?


Answer
It's not, there must be a misprint or a misread... The 1500 has been the main "mile" in track for generations.

The real mile, 1760 yards, boils down to 1609 meters which would make it more sensible to run the 1600 and call it the metric mile, but for some reason they chose 1500 long ago and that's the way it is. Probably because it avoids having to start on the 1st turn, or using a staggered start, since there's more than 8 people in the race usually a turn start would be crowded. But that's a minor issue.

Women are allowed to run the mile and have done so for generations. Women run the real mile, the 1609 meter mile, about as often as men do, which in fact is not very often at all. It's almost always the 1500 that gets run, the mile is usually run by world-class athletes only at a few special invitationals, like the Wanamaker Mile at the indoor Millrose Games, the Dream Mile at the Bislett Games in Sweden (which offers a bonus for world records) and a few other European IAAF invitationals. That's all the miling that gets done anymore.

<another reason the 1600 makes more sense is it continues the binary pattern of running 100, 200, 400, 800...
Mike's point about record history in the 1500 is true but the standard mile has an even longer history and because of the 4-minute "barrier" much more famous... Since the 1600 is only 9 meters short of a mile it's much easier to compare to mile times than the 1500 is, less margin of error in deciding what it would have been in a mile>




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

What Movies Should I Watch for Women Studies?

running watches compared on Garmin Running Watch on Garmin Forerunner 110 Unisex Running Watch
running watches compared image



Monica


In my women studies class my professor would like us to watch two movies and discuss them in class. They have to be relevant to the feminism and women studies. I need a list of movies that are good to critique through a feminist perspective. Please list off as many as you know. Thank you!
Has to be on Netflix or Hulu I don't have cable or satellite.
How about also commercials? What commercials of today raise issues for feminism?



Answer
Oh, I really like Know It All's suggestions--comparing "Some Like It Hot" with "Boys Don't Cry," although the comparison is marred by the fact that "Some Like It Hot" is a comedy whereas "Boys Don't Cry" is a "serious" film. You might want to substitute a more modern take on cross-dressing for "Some Like It Hot." For instance, there is "The Crying Game."

An alternative movie choice that, like "Boys Don't Cry," was a conscious attempt to respond to the feminist movement is Jane Campion's "The Piano." That's got great performances by Holly Hunter, Harvey Keitel, and Sam Neill--but it's depressing as hell.

More lighthearted fare that deals with gender identity might be something like "A League of Their Own," directed by Laverne and Shirley alumna Penny Marshall. Marshall is a good example of a director who has been doubly marginalized in Hollywood--first by the "male" establishment which sees her primary calling as a director of softer women's films, and second by the "feminist" elite who seem to consider her not serious enough for inclusion in their club.

Another interesting film that touches on a sort of popular feminism but was not directed by a woman is "Thelma and Louise," directed by Ridley Scott. Scott takes the genre of the male "buddy film" and gives it to women--it's a kind of on-the-road outlaw picture that owes an awful lot to movies like "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" and "Bonny and Clyde." The difference is that here the outlaws are two women running from their nasty lives. The film was inspirational to the Dixie Chicks as well.

Of course if you REALLY want to have fun with films that are good to critique through a feminist perspective, you need to look at Hitchcock. The most obvious examples would be "Vertigo" and "Psycho," but almost any Hitchcock film will raise issues of the depiction of women (particularly the films he did from the 1950s on).

Other great films to look at through a feminist lens would be classic film noir. If you've never seen any film noir, I would suggest "The Maltese Falcon" and "Double Indemnity" as your starting points. In fact, you may not go any further, because these two films will appear to you almost as fresh now as they were when they were made 70 years ago. The most intriguing figure to look at from a feminist perspective in noir is the recurrent figure of the "femme fatale," or the "fatal woman," fatal to herself and to others, duplicitous yet innocent, manipulative and vulnerable. She was Hollywood's way of remaking the standard heroine of the adventure film.

Hope that gives you something to start with! Have fun, and if you check out any of these films, drop me a line or IM me to tell me what you thought!

Why all of the electric clocks in my house are running fast?




aircops


Why all of the electric clocks including radio clock in my house is running fast? about 15 - 30 second a day. I am living in a country with 220-240 V. please anybody can advice how to solve this problem ? many thanks in advance.


Answer
Some parts of the world have 50 hertz electricity while others have 60 hertz. Utilities in the US watch the frequency very carefully to make sure that the average stays at 60 hertz.

A 60 hertz designed clock will run 1/6 slow on a 50 hertz power supply, but this is much bigger than your discrepancy. So, I suspect that either the local utility is not managing the frequency well or that the "standard" you are comparing to is running slightly fast.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers