Saturday, January 11, 2014

What should you avoid if you're pregnant and why?

sports watches for runners women on Timex Running Watches - Men's & Women's Watches
sports watches for runners women image



Just anoth


Hi there! So I'm doing a project. I'm creating a guide for pregnant women. What should they stay away from? What should they, er, not stay away from?
I'm not just talking food or drink-wise here. I mean any actions in general.
I figured Y!A was the perfect place to ask this. Real advice from real people, you know?



Answer
⢠Amusement park rides: Waterslides and other rides at amusement parks are a no-no, since a forceful landing or sudden start or stop could harm your baby
⢠Bicycling: Cycling isn't a good idea for newbies, but experienced riders may be able to continue until their second trimester, when a shifting center of gravity affects balance and can make cycling dangerous
⢠Contact sports: Soccer, basketball, and hockey put you at a high risk of injury from a ball or puck, a collision with another player, or a fall during play
⢠Downhill skiing: ACOG advises against downhill skiing anytime during pregnancy because of the risk of serious injuries and hard falls. If you choose to ski, stick to gentle slopes and be aware that you may have problems with balance as your belly expands. A safer choice is cross-country skiing, which is also much better for building cardiovascular fitness. Avoid skiing at altitudes above 6,000 feet, where there's less oxygen for you and your baby
⢠Gymnastics: Same risk of falling and increased chance of trauma to your abdomen
⢠Horseback riding: Even if you're a good rider, it's not worth risking a fall
⢠Post-sport tubs and saunas: Soaking in hot tubs and Jacuzzis or sitting in a sauna can be dangerous to your developing baby because overheating has been linked to birth defects
⢠Running: If you weren't a runner before you got pregnant, now's not the time to take it up. Otherwise, it's fine in moderation. From your second trimester on, when the risk of falling increases, you should run with caution. As with all forms of exercise, avoid becoming overheated, and drink plenty of water to replace fluids lost through sweating
⢠Scuba diving: This is an absolute no. As you surface, air bubbles can form in your bloodstream, which can be very dangerous for both you and your growing baby.
⢠Snowboarding: Same risk of falling and increased chance of trauma to your abdomen
⢠Surfing: Same risk of falling and increased chance of trauma to your abdomen.
⢠Tennis: A moderately paced game of tennis is okay if you played before you became pregnant. But you may have problems with balance and sudden stops, so watch your step. Most women find that it's hard to keep up their game as their bellies get bigger in the second and third trimesters
⢠Waterskiing: Another activity that puts you at risk for falling and increases the chance of trauma to your abdomen

Why is their a stereotype that all Special forces and marines, are all huge with muscles?




john


most navy seals and special forces are not buff.People seem to think that they all look like Arnold Schwarzenegger.And trust me if they did,they would of all been dead,Huge stubby guys like that couldn't couldn't run a sprinting meter without getting tired with all that heavy muscle.

most of them come as your everyday average "man" fit,athletic,extreme mental and physical toughness.



Answer
Define "buff."

If you mean like the "muscle magazine" types... no, they're not. Those types are built for show... that's all.

If you mean "above average tone and fitness," they they're that... and probably more. They're the Chuck Norris, and Jean-Claude Van Damme types. I'd call those guys "buff," at least certainly there is no way they could be considered "wimps."

Every SEAL I've ever met... and I've met a few... is the kind of guy you would rather see standing next to you in a fight than across from you. They come in a variety of shapes and sizes, but most tend to be around six feet... give or take three inches or so. And all of them are "buff" by the second definition.

I know a retired SEAL who, at 60, can still do 50 push-ups... with his two granddaughters sitting on his shoulders. He can't be much taller than 5'2", bit is biceps are about like most people's gastrocs.

I know another who at 70 can still run a mile, swim a mile, run another mile and swim another mile... all in less than an hour. He's still over '6 tall, but he's far from a "muscle beach" type. I suspect a mugger might be inclined to pick on him, but he would do so at his own peril. The old guy works out a few times a month with a Kali instructor at a local gym.

I know another who's about 5'8" and looks slim. He wears loose-fitting shirts and slacks to help that image. He works part time as a bouncer at a pretty tough bar. He let his hair grow long and sports a mustache. He says he does it because it's fun. Guys try him and he gets a hard, steely look in his eye and says, "Buddy, you really don't want to go there." He also teaches what he calls "survival martial arts" to women. That's part time too... volunteer. His real job is as LASER Safety Officer for a state University.

Why are special operations folks portrayed as "buff" by the first term? Don't know. I never watch that kind of stuff. Maybe it's because they're supposed to be "tough." Maybe, to an ignorant public, "buff" equates to "tough." It's the same reason their missions always include firefights. As a matter of fact, not many do. But firefights are more exciting than a covert mission that goes smoothly so that the operators are out of the area before the enemy is aware anything out of the ordinary occurred. If there's no shooting and killing, it's not "real" to the public... so, to sell the movie, the producers give them what they expect.

ADDENDA:

One poster suggested that it's because people don't think a skinny guy who can run fast fits their image of what a "killer" looks like. Most of them don't run particularly "fast" if you're thinking below a 4-minute mile, but while they can hold their own against most folks, they can keep their pace for hours. Same goes for swimming. Some competitive swimmers can practically lap them in a 100... but after the 100... maybe 1000, the competitive swimmer is done. And most runners aren't strong swimmers and most swimmers aren't much good on the ground. I heard one ex-SEAL once say after seeing a buddy beaten pretty soundly in a 50M freestyle, "Swimming only gets you there. It's what you can do when you get there that makes you operational."

And the stereotype of "trained to kill" is also incorrect. I believe you'll find that SEALs are trained to complete a mission. They're trained survivors. If a "bad guy" were dumb enough to try to stop them from completing their mission... and surviving the effort, that bad guy might well find himself looking up at the surface of the ground rather than down at it.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

where can I watch the live footage of the beijing olympic track and field finals?

best watch for running women on Wholesale watch case - Buy Cheap watch case from Best China watch case ...
best watch for running women image



queendom20


Where can I watch actual running footage of the Beijing olympic mens and women's track and field relay finals? Not pictures but actual running video footage?


Answer
There are several track and field videos right here.
http://www.nbcolympics.com/video/index.html

Hope I helped you!

Does anyone know a site other than Youtube where you can watch professional women runners run in slow motion?




Tom


I am not a pervert and trying to ask this question in a sexual way. But I am male and I prefer to watch females running rather than male. Although I have always been intrigued by Pamela Anderson running slowly in Baywatch.


Answer
lol been wondering the same thing




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some really incredible science fiction films I should rent and/or purchase?

best watch for runners 2010 on Sperry Topsider CVO Sneakers - Father's Day Gifts for Under $100 ...
best watch for runners 2010 image



robertcrya


I just purchased Close Encounters Of The Third Kind.
Can't wait to watch it.
Anyhow, I would like some suggestions on some really great sci - fi flicks.
Post a small or large list of some science fiction you really enjoy. Help a brother out.



Answer
Babylon 5: In the Beginning
Star Wars trilogy
2010
The Forbidden Planet
The Last Starfighter
Predator
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan (if there is any Star Trek movie to own this one is it!)
Blade Runner
War of the Worlds (1953 version)
Total Recall
Stargate
Tron
Venus Wars
The Black Hole (ah, corny but enjoyable childhood memories)
Gundam F91
Wing Commander (one of the better video game to movies made)

do they still make new episodes for the classic cartoons like bugs bunny and others made by that company?




brummettel


I used to watch bugs bunny,that road runner and cayote show,that cat and bird tweety cartoon,looney toons, and others.


Answer
If you are talking about in the format like the shorts - no! However Warner brothers (who owns the characters) occasionally take the characters and tries new projects (movies - Space Jam, Looney Tunes: Back in Action, etc.., video game, etc....) with them or variations of them (IE: Baby Looney Tunes, Loonatics unleashed,etc...) but as to the classic 6 - 10 minute format they used for when they were made to go with movies - no, they don't do that anymore - except for rarely.

However there is the talk of Warner Brothers releasing 6 3-D shorts with some movies. The first is rumored to be with the release of the movie "Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore"

Just a side note: there is talk of cartoon network doing a new series with Bugs and Daffy called "The Looney Tunes Show" and is slated to be on TV in September (or fall) . Not much is known about the show except what is listed on the wikipedia page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Looney_Tunes_Show



BTW: Here is the article that talks about the new movie shorts (from the New York Times):

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/20/movies/20looney.html?_r=1




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, January 10, 2014

Why does my monitor freeze when I watch movies full screen?

running watches comparison on 610 GPS Running Watch | Running Supermarket  Price Comparison ...
running watches comparison image



The Gay Ar


Be it through Netflix, Youtube, or "other" movies when I choose to watch it full screen it often freezes my whole computer?

The only reasoning I can see is because I have Vista.
Any other suggestions or reasons people can give?
Thanks in advance.



Answer
The most common cause of computer freezes is a corrupt registry.
Most likely your registry is bloated and overstuffed with an assortment of useless pieces of data. The operating system while running your computer has to pick its way through all this excess material. There will be bits of programs which were not completely uninstalled, parts of programs which were never completely installed, fragments of miscellaneous data, useless drivers, and a multitude of other bits and pieces.
The answer is to clean your registry and remove all the material which is not needed.
http://fix-pc-freezing.com/Clean_Up_Center.htm
Get the best one, and completely clean your windows registry with a few clicks of the mouse.

Often there is also spyware which is using your computer for nefarious purposes and slowing its operation.
The answer is to scan your pc with a best anti-spyware to clean spyware/trojan/virus.
http://fix-pc-freezing.com/comparison.htm

What Movies Should I Watch for Women Studies?




Monica


In my women studies class my professor would like us to watch two movies and discuss them in class. They have to be relevant to the feminism and women studies. I need a list of movies that are good to critique through a feminist perspective. Please list off as many as you know. Thank you!
Has to be on Netflix or Hulu I don't have cable or satellite.
How about also commercials? What commercials of today raise issues for feminism?



Answer
Oh, I really like Know It All's suggestions--comparing "Some Like It Hot" with "Boys Don't Cry," although the comparison is marred by the fact that "Some Like It Hot" is a comedy whereas "Boys Don't Cry" is a "serious" film. You might want to substitute a more modern take on cross-dressing for "Some Like It Hot." For instance, there is "The Crying Game."

An alternative movie choice that, like "Boys Don't Cry," was a conscious attempt to respond to the feminist movement is Jane Campion's "The Piano." That's got great performances by Holly Hunter, Harvey Keitel, and Sam Neill--but it's depressing as hell.

More lighthearted fare that deals with gender identity might be something like "A League of Their Own," directed by Laverne and Shirley alumna Penny Marshall. Marshall is a good example of a director who has been doubly marginalized in Hollywood--first by the "male" establishment which sees her primary calling as a director of softer women's films, and second by the "feminist" elite who seem to consider her not serious enough for inclusion in their club.

Another interesting film that touches on a sort of popular feminism but was not directed by a woman is "Thelma and Louise," directed by Ridley Scott. Scott takes the genre of the male "buddy film" and gives it to women--it's a kind of on-the-road outlaw picture that owes an awful lot to movies like "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" and "Bonny and Clyde." The difference is that here the outlaws are two women running from their nasty lives. The film was inspirational to the Dixie Chicks as well.

Of course if you REALLY want to have fun with films that are good to critique through a feminist perspective, you need to look at Hitchcock. The most obvious examples would be "Vertigo" and "Psycho," but almost any Hitchcock film will raise issues of the depiction of women (particularly the films he did from the 1950s on).

Other great films to look at through a feminist lens would be classic film noir. If you've never seen any film noir, I would suggest "The Maltese Falcon" and "Double Indemnity" as your starting points. In fact, you may not go any further, because these two films will appear to you almost as fresh now as they were when they were made 70 years ago. The most intriguing figure to look at from a feminist perspective in noir is the recurrent figure of the "femme fatale," or the "fatal woman," fatal to herself and to others, duplicitous yet innocent, manipulative and vulnerable. She was Hollywood's way of remaking the standard heroine of the adventure film.

Hope that gives you something to start with! Have fun, and if you check out any of these films, drop me a line or IM me to tell me what you thought!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How do I transfer movie from dvd to sd card ?

running watch mp3 player on USB Sport Running MP3 Music Player Wireless Headset Headphone Earphone ...
running watch mp3 player image



paco511


Want to transfer movie to sd card so can watch it in mp3 player and not use all mp3 memory.
Have dell inspiron 1501 running windows 7.
MP3 player is creative zen 8gb.



Answer
You can rip the DVD file into small video clips. So that you can copy the movie to SD card easily.
Try anothe video movie converter. like this one. iSkysoft Video Converter Ultimate for Windows
http://www.dvdtoipadvideoconverter.com/iskysoft-video-converter-ultimate-for-windows.html


A combination of Video Converter, DVD Ripper, DVD Burner, DRM Removal, Online Video Downloader/Recorder and File Transfer
iSkysoft Video Converter Ultimate offers a comprehensive multimedia solution for audio, video and DVD files. It converts DVD movies and video files to popular HD output formats or directly for portable devices. Download/record any online streaming videos from YouTube, Metacafe, Hulu, Netflix, etc. to the hard drive or even convert them for portable players and mobile phones.

what is the best mp3 player for running?

Q. I would like a light weight and waterproof mp3 player that is strictly for music, but with sport functions like a stop watch, pedometer, ect. I would only need 1 or 2 GB for music storage.


Answer
Get the ipod nano does all of that, but you will need a waterproof case to run with it.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What happens when you fire a projectile at 99% of light speed?

running watches speed and distance on ... Balance-GPS-Enabled-Runner-Watch-with-Speed-and-Distance-Model-50086NB
running watches speed and distance image



trickyeric


So what I'm asking is if a vessel is traveling at 99% light speed and fires a rocket or cannon. (any projectile) What is that projectiles speed? Since nothing can travel faster than light speed how will this projectile accelerate out of the vessel?


Answer
If you were in a train travelling at 100m/h and there was a bystander watching, relative to the bystander you would be moving at 100m/h. However relative to the train you wouldn't be moving. This is why we say motion MUST be described relative to something.

If you threw a ball while on the train at 5m/h, to the bystander the ball would be measured at 105m/h. i.e the speed of the train + the speed of the ball, However relative to you, the ball would be moving at 5m/h.

If you were on this train moving at 100m/h, and the headlights were turned on, what speed do you think the bystander would measure the photons at? if you are using the velocity adding technique this would be wrong, it was demonstrated clearly that when dealing with things to do with light speed, the velocity of light is ALWAYS the same. So you in the train would measure the same speed of light as the bystander on the train tracks...surely this doesn't make sense. But it does.

Likewise if a vessel was moving at 99% the speed of light, and it shot a projectile, you would think due to the velocity adding technique that as the projectile was already travelling at 99% the speed of light, then when you add the velocity of the projectile itself it would be moving faster than light. Except this doesn't happen, the projectile would not move faster than the speed of light, the velocity adding method doesn't apply when dealing with things near light speed.

Light will always be faster than the projectile, and the reason this would be achieved is through time dilation and length contraction. The projectile and the vessel would be shortened in the direction of movement. And relative to a stationary observer time on the vessel would have slowed down tremendously. As we all know speed = Distance/Time. With length contraction + the effects of time dilation, no matter how fast the vessel or the projectile is travelling the speed would always be worked out to be smaller than the speed of light. Why? because like I explained, time dilation makes it so that a body moving at or close to the speed of light time will slow down, for the inhabitants of the vessel it would seem that NOTHING has changed and that time was progressing as normal, but to an observer it would be clear that the time on the vessel would be moving much slower relative to a stationary clock. The length contraction of the vessel and the projectile would mean they would cover a smaller distance in length than they would normally, combined with time running slower, Speed=Dist/Time would work out to be smaller than the speed of light.

Why does it seem harder to run outside than on my treadmill?

Q. When I'm at home, I go from walking to running and then back to walking in half an hour, then I use the bike for ten minutes. When I run outside, I get tired right when I start. I can only run up a small street at a time. I only end up being outside for 15 minutes, and most of that time was spent walking. Why is it harder for me to run outside?


Answer
When it comes to treadmill and road running and which is easier and better, some people say treadmill, some say roads... personal choices really I am afraid to say. Both have good and bad points. For example I missed 2 weeks road running in the winter - too icy!

Physically treadmill running is easier

I have read a few studies (proper scientific ones measuring oxygen use and things like that) and the results suggest that road running is about 10% harder than a treadmill. To keep the sums easy that means that if you want to have the same effect as a running at 10km/h on the road you need to put the treadmill at 11km/h (see I like easy sums).

There are actually more differences than you would imagine from road running and treadmill running to account for this. One of the big ones is that the treadmill is flat - roads go up and down, the other main one is wind resistance - this counts for a large difference. The treadmill surface is springy and that bounces you back when you land on it (but also reduces the stress on your body) where roads arn't so springy so are harder (cross country harder again - no natural spring when you sink in a puddle)(Don't know if you remember that the Chinese Olympics has lots of track records broken - the track was more springy than other years). The treadmill alters the running style a bit as well, having a longer stride and leaving the foot longer on the belt but I can't remember what this did.


That's the physical side. The mental side of course is that it can be boring (the worst one I have been on was placed facing a wall - I can run a 10k, maybe a half marathon, race tomorrow no problem, but I was off that one before I ran a mile!). Treadmills are boring and there is no push to keep you going. On a road you can spot things in the distance and think "I'll just run to there" or see a runner to catch up in the distance - more things to concentrate on.

You can repeat a treadmill run anywhere but different weather makes every outside run different, and you can set the exact work out that you want on the treadmill (such as hills, speed, distance and time).


Good points for a treadmill then (better than road running):
- You can repeat the workout exactly week to week
- You can run at any time fo the day or night
- You can run in any weather (for example when the paths are icy)
- Treadmill users tend to go to the gym and so can use other cardiovascular training machines such as cycles, rowers, etc.. and perhaps a pool or sauna to relax in afterwards
- You can set the exact work out that you want - say a 2 mile run or 20 minute run
- The "road" is slightly sprung and easier on your joints
- Treadmill is inside and warm
- You can watch the TV on a treadmill making better use of your time (watch Eastenders and do a half hour run at the same time!)
- You don't have to stop for road junctions

Road running (better than treadmill)
- Its harder on your muscles but gives you a better workout at the same speed
- There is a lot of variety outside - you can vary your route easily
- As you run you can set goals such as running to the next road junction, catching up another runner etc.
- You Have to stop for road junctions and that gives you a quick breather
- You can avoid the TV for half an hour or more
- All races are outside and all social running is outside making outdoor running a more social event
- You see a lot of interesting things running - you go further than you would normally walk but are going slower than you would in a car letting you see more things
- Its a great way to explore an area - try running down every road within a half hour run distance from your house over a few runs
- It stimulates the brain as you go (treadmills can be boring)
- You can run anywhere and only need to buy trainers, Shorts and a T Shirt - no gym or expensive kit
- Cross country runs and hill runs are fun and muddy, wet and cold, but great!!


But at the end of the day, it is a personal choice




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

what is the best way to sell a uncommon Lego Set on Ebay?

running watches ebay on ... Automatic Cal ETA 2836 2 Running Watch Movement Sold for Parts | eBay
running watches ebay image



David T


I stumbled across an early Lego Duplo set (9004, Activity Rattles) in the box. The rattles themselves show up on ebay every now and then but never with the box. I doubt the box adds much value but then again some people are nuts.

If I run an auction then since it is so uncommon it isn't like people will be searching for it. Do I put it on with a high BIN?



Answer
Put a good description, and start at a pretty low price and watch the bids go crazy. Good Luck!

What store is a good place to buy a women's sports watch?




activegirl


I want a new cheap around 20.00 dollars watch that I could use for running. What website or store has a good women's sports watch that is waterproof and has a stop watch on it.


Answer
http://www.ebay.com
http://www.eshopintuition.com
http://www.AE.com
http://www.amazon.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How do you jog properly?

running watches non gps on ... 310XT 310 XT Watch GPS HRM Sports Fitness Running Training Ant | eBay
running watches non gps image



Anna


I started jogging last week for about half an hour each day, but I'm not jogging non-stop, I walk when I get too tired. I mean I push myself, but I definitely stop to walk quite a lot. Is that what you're supposed to do?

Also should I eat breakfast before or after jogging?

Thankayaa



Answer
I suggest that you start where you can and do what you can do. If you can only run .5 mile, than run .5 mile 4-5 times a week until it gets easy for you to do, then increase your distance to a full mile. Keep running that mile until it gets easier for you to do, start with what you can and allow your body to adjust and grow stronger. Running is a sport that you have to ease into, otherwise you're going to injury yourself. Do your best to keep pushing yourself and try to keep yourself from walking. Remember you don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Keep up running for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. Build that up and running will feel much better.

Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded. So by the time that you run the race at your school you should be able to drop your times substantially. But I cannot stress enough, the only way you're going to build up your endruance is through continued running. You can't run once a week and believe that you're going to be in good shape, you have to be out at least 3-4 times weekly.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength. Then, when you feel like you're in better shape you can start upping your distances.

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

If you follow this schedule for a couple of months you'll find that running 2 or 3 miles is not big deal at all, you won't have cramps, you won't run out of breath and you'll feel great. That said, the only way you're going to improve is to work hard and stay dedicated. Start with what you can do and work your way up from there. Stick with it and I think you'll be amazed at the results.

Eating breakfast before or after your run really comes down to personal preference. It doesn't make a huge difference, but it's always good to have some energy before a run. When you begin a run, you should feel neither starved nor stuffed. You don't want to eat immediately before running because it may lead to cramping or side stitches. Running on an empty stomach may cause you to run out of energy. Your best bet is to eat a snack or light meal about 1 1/2 to 2 hours before you start running. YOU WON'T VOMIT IF YOU DO, just give your food time to digest before you run. Choose something high in carbohydrates and lower in fat, fiber, and protein. Some examples of good pre-workout fuel include: a bagel with peanut butter; turkey and cheese on whole wheat bread; a banana and an energy bar; or a bowl of cold cereal with a cup of milk. Stay away from rich, very fatty, or high-fiber foods. Remember also to drink lots of water, don't guzzle right before your workout but sip on it throughout the day to allow your body to stay hydrated.

I hope that helps, feel free to message me if you have anymore questions!

Looking for customer reviews for Garmin 010-00658-30 Forerunner 405CX GPS Sport Watch?




satiety


Where can I find reviews and opinions online for Garmin 010-00658-30 Forerunner 405CX GPS Sport Watch


Answer
Garmin 010-00658-12 Forerunner 405 with ANT+ Sport Wireless Technology (Green)...customer reviews..


Impressive Hardware, Poor Software, Non-Existant Support, May 5, 2008

By Matt the Coffeeman "matt875" (Chicago, Illinois)

Update: after two months of using the 405, I have some additional observations. Based on my experiences, I would lower the star rating to 3 stars. The decrease in rating is due to incredibly poor software and support from Garmin. The hardware is still extremely impressive, despite the software failings.

Software and Support:

The Garmin Connect (which allows you to track your training progress) is nothing more than a beta with limited functionality and slow response times. Moreover, it is still very buggy. The software which automatically uploads the computer data to Garmin Connect just suddenly stopped working a month ago.

Hold times to get in touch with Garmin telephone support is 45 minutes. Email support is terrible - it has taken a full MONTH to have two email exchanges with support. All this and the problem has not been fixed.

Moreover, the software is poorly designed. You have to constantly monitor Garmin's website for software updates (there is no "Check for Update" feature). If a problem occurs in the software, there are no features to aid in resolving the problem.

Hardware:

First impressions: the form factor is nice, but you need to be aware that the watch is somewhat "thick". If you are wearing a button down shirt, the 405 will not fit comfortably under a sleeve cuff. However, looking at it from above, it looks like a normal watch. Wearing it while running will probably not draw a second look from other runners. This is also a downside since you want people to notice your shiny new 405.

Setup - this took only a few minutes and was very easy. TThe 405 walks you through a brief tutorial. Overall, setup was very easy.

Navigation - this takes a few minutes to get the hang of. Once you have the buttons down, it is quite easy to navigate. The sensitivity of the touch bezel is adjustable for your taste. I've played with the 305 in the store and the 405 actually seems more intuitive to navigate.

Initial lock - finding the satellites takes a few minutes the first time. It will lock on much faster if you are not moving. Subsequent times to find the satellites was much quicker.

Use - After you have turned on the GPS and gotten a lock, all you need to do is press start to begin your workout. It was very easy to use. I basically forgot about it while I was running other than to check my pace every mile or so. Kept a lock the entire time (keep in mind this was in Chicago's Lincoln Park - roughly 2/3rds of the sky is clear (except for trees) so achieving constant lock-on should not be a problem for any GPS. I have not tested this downtown).

For those worried about water resistance, my first usage of my 405 was in the pouring rain. It didn't seem to notice (or care) about the rain. It can handle a good amount of water without issue.

Syncing - you need to download the software from Garmin (it's actually a web plug in). However, the manual was clearly rushed out the door. Not only does it contain typos (at one point it refers to the wrong step) but it is not clear from the manual that you need to download the USB drivers. DO NOT put the ANT USB key into the computer until you have downloaded the specific ANT drivers from Garmin (so you have to download two different pieces of software - the plugin and the USB driver). If you plug the ANT key into the computer w/o the Garmin USB driver, Windows will find what it thinks is the correct driver (which is the wrong driver). The syncing will not work if you do this. Just a heads up.

I wish I owned a 305 to compare it to. In the Garmin store, the 405 did not see that much smaller than the 305, although the 405 was clearly more elegant. Functionally, I hear that they are extremely similar. You just need to personally evaluate whether the 405 is really worth the increased cost over the 205/305. Personally, I plan on keeping the 405.

Battery Life - After playing with it for 30 minutes, taking it on an hour's run and syncing it with my computer, it only used 12% of the battery life.


.........read more reviews at:http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-010-00658-12-Forerunner-Wireless-Technology/product-reviews/B0011UEUOA




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Is it worth buying the Garmin 610 or will they come out with a better one soon?

garmin running watch 301 on Garmin Approach G6 Handheld Golf Gps in Celbridge, Kildare from ...
garmin running watch 301 image



Alex


I was thinking about buying the Garmin 610. It is very expensive though, so I was wondering if it is worth it or should I just wait. And how long do you thing it would be? Thanks!


Answer
Personally, as a runner, I don't understand the difference between the 301 and everything that has come after it (though I do understand the need for a company to market new products). It costs about 3 times what I paid for my 301 and for what, a touch screen instead of the buttons or to download a performance that I can compare with others online? No matter how many bells and whistles they add to it, after a GPS watch tells you how far you ran, how fast you ran it, how fast your heart beat doing it, if you are on pace doing a run and is able to download this information onto a computer, everything else is marketing.

How can my garmin 305 help me train for a sub 3hr marathon?




Daniel S


I know this watch has an abundance of features, but i fear im wasting them. For an example . . .if i go for a 5 mile run i want the watch to tell me if im on schedule for a sub 3hr finish? How do i do this?


Answer
Read the instructions, it is too much for someone to copy down here or to have the interest in copying it down since you can read how with the instruction. Look at working out with the virtual partner, you can set it up distance (5 miles) and time (34:20). It should show a pace of 6:52. In this mode it will show if you are ahead of behind pace and how far. You can also set pace alerts so that the watch chimes when you are off pace. It might even do some other things, I only have a 301. Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Which Garmin running watch should I get?

running watch pace and distance on Timex 5B501 Speed and Distance Running Watch BUNDLED WITH TIMEX 5G751 ...
running watch pace and distance image



Runner.


I'm looking at the Garmin forerunner 201, the Garmin forerunner 305, and the Garmin forerunner 50. They all have the things I want but I cant choose! Regardless of price,
Which one do you think is better?
Have you had any experience with any of these?
Any other watch suggestions? (I'm looking for a watch with accurate distance, speed, calories, and possibly pace and heart-rate).

Anything you want to express about running watches is helpful!



Answer
I have the 305 and love it. It has both form and function. It comes with a wireless heart rate monitor.

How do I stay motivated while running long distances?




Blomm


On school, we are going to run 8 kilometers in the gymnastics class. We have already done this a couple of times, and I find it hard to keep motivated, and I get easily tired. My teacher told me that if I want to get better grades, all I need to do is improve my time on this test.

How can I stay motivated while running, and how should I plan my run?



Answer
Find a runner partner that will help pace you. Time goes a lot quicker when you have someone to talk to. Try not to think about your running while you're running. I know that seems difficult, but often I run faster when I am thinking about school or other things in my life. music might help you stay motivated also. Just ask your coach if you are allowed to listen to music. The only true way to get better is practice. You have to run anywhere from 20-50 minutes a day, 3-4 times a week. I would suggest bringing a watch on your run to see how you're doing. Remember it's better to start slowly than not at all.
Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some helpful things to bring for camping?

sports watches for runners gps on ... about Garmin Forerunner 10 Running GPS Sports Watch, Black & Red
sports watches for runners gps image



Jacinda


I am going to Yosemite to camp for the first time. I have the usuals like a tent, sleeping bag, insect spray, sunblock, flashlight - but what are some other things I should bring?
Oh yes, FOOD! ;)



Answer
These are my check lists i hope you can make use of it and see what you might find needed in your camping trip.
take care...

Gear Checklist: Mountaineering
Clothing
Outerwear
waterproof/breathable jacket
waterproof/breathable pants
insulated parka
fleece jacket or wool sweater
fleece pants
waterproof gaiters
synthetic hiking pants
synthetic shorts
Base Layer
midweight long john top
midweight long john bottoms
long sleeve T-shirt
synthetic briefs
synthetic sports bra
synthetic T-shirt
Accessories
wool or fleece hat
balaclava
midweight wool or fleece gloves
synthetic liner gloves
waterproof overmitts
Footwear
waterproof hiking boots
camp footwear
wool or synthetic socks (3)
liner socks (2)
Extras
sun hat
bandanna
single long whistle: stop
two whistles: resume hiking
three whistles: emergency Gear

Mountaineering Specific Gear
internal frame pack
mountaineering boots
hinged 12-point crampons
mountaineering axe (70cm)
climbing harness
climbing helmet
belay/rappel device
prussik slings or mechanical ascenders
sewn runners
daisy chains
avalanche probe
lightweight avalanche shovel
climbing ropes
protection hardware (nuts, screws, etc.)
ski goggles
glacier glasses
avalanche transceiver
Other Gear
Internal or external frame backpack
convertible or four-season tent
down sleeping bag (-30° to 20°F)
inflatable sleeping pad
closed-cell foam sleeping pad
trekking poles
white gas stove and fuel bottles
lighter and waterproof matches
cookset
eating utensils, bowl, and insulated mug
headlamp w/extra batteries and bulb
32 oz. water bottles (2)
water bottle parkas (2)
water treatment (filter, tablets, or drops)
pocket knife or multitool
compass
sunglasses
first-aid kit with personal medications
chemical heat packs
stuff sacks
assorted zipper-lock bags
bear-bagging rope (or canister)
insect repellent
mesh head net or suit
sunscreen (SPF 15+)
lip balm (SPF 15+)
toilet paper and trowel
pee bottle

Hiking-Mountaineering-Camping Checklist
Target Weight for fully-loaded pack ("every ounce counts!"):
<20 pounds: summer up to 3 overnights
<30 pounds: winter up to 3 overnights

Clothing
hiking boots
socks (2 pair; wool/synthetic, not cotton)
sock liners (personal preference)
long pants
shorts (or zip-off pants)
t-shirt (2; synthetic, not cotton)
underwear (2; synthetic, not cotton)
long sleeve shirt
camp shoes (e.g. sandals)
hat (wool for winter)
bandana
Hiking Gear
backpack
webbing/straps for attaching gear to backpack
trekking or ski poles
whistle
Dog Gear
water bottle
Food
towel/blanket for sleeping
brush

Camping Gear/shared
tent or tarp/ground cover
camp stove
fuel for camp stove (incl backup)
matches (waterproof)
cooking utensils (pot/pan)
water filter
Iodine tablets
watch with altimeter and/or GPS
clothes line
duct tape
multi-tool (e.g. Fisherman's)
camera
cell phone
2-way radios (only if expecting to split groups)
bear spray
Food/shared
dinner (freeze-dried, e.g. pasta, sauce)
breakfast (e.g. oatmeal)
coffee (instant) & creamer
Personal Items
sunglasses
medicines (cold, aspirin, etc)
sleeping aid (e.g. Xanax)
First aid (bandaids, polysporin, needle)
toiletries (tooth brush/paste)
moleskin
knife/scissors (e.g. small Swiss Army)
towel (small, quick-dry)
ear plugs/eye shield
sunscreen (SPS 15+)
Lip balm (SPS 15+)
bug repellant
toilet paper (with extra zip-lock bag)
wipes
map
compass
book
flashlight/headlamp w/ extra batteries
mirror (for signaling)
Camping Gear/individual
sleeping bag (down; light/compressible)
sleeping pad
eating utensils (bowl, mug, spoon)
garbage bag
emergency space blanket
camp chair
pillow case (use filled with clothes)
Food/individual
water bottles/bladder (bladder not when below freezing)
electrolyte replacement (Cytomax, Gatorade)
trail mix or power bars
beef jerky or dried steak nuggets
Lunch (e.g. sandwich)
Medical/shared
medical gloves
SAM splint
Benedryl (for allergic reactions)
Sawyer Extractor (for bites/stings)
Tincture of benzoin (skin disinfectant)
Bloodstopper (to control bleeding)
Roll tape
triangular bandages (cravats)
4"x4" sterile dressing
CPR shield
single long whistle: stop
two whistles: resume hiking
three whistles: emergency

What should I do to get into great running shape?




Tinker


I am 17 years old, a female. I weigh around 135 and am about 5'1. I am not in the best shape, and would to be able to lose about 15 lbs in about 3 months. I can walk for miles, but running and I don't get along. yet. Any suggestions on how to get in great shape, being able to run for longer periods of time? and about water, is it good or bad to drink a ton just before running?


Answer
I am a big proponent of the couch to 5 K running program (C25K). It's a walk to run program and its one of the best.

The C25K program slowly increases your effort over 9 weeks. I did it and I really liked the fact that I could see each week I was making progress and I never really felt like it was too hard.

You will have to get a sports watch that can be programmed to do intervals. I really like Timex watches; the trainer line is pretty good. And some of them have Heart Rate Monitors which is a nice way of monitoring your effort. Casio makes a interval timer that's simple and inexpensive, W756-1A, you can find it at amazon for $20. Or buy a Gymboss for $20. All the Gymboss does is time intervals, but its real simple to use and program.

If you have an iPod, you can download a podcast that is the couch to 5 K program and you won't even need a watch. And if you have an iPod touch or iPhone, you can download the Interval Run app for $2. It is easy to use and is pre-programmed with the C25K and several other programs.

If you're really thinking of getting a heart rate monitor, and you don't have an iPhone, then take a bigger plunge and get a GPS Heart rate monitor watch. They have the interval timers built in, and you can monitor both your distance and your effort. I like the Garnin 405.

Once you graduate from the C25K program they have other programs that are more advanced. I still do intervals once in a while. A lot of runners do them once a week. So you can plan on using your timer for a long time.

Couch to 5 K
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Gymboss
http://www.amazon.com/Gymboss-8599-GB2010-BLACK-SOFTCOAT/dp/B0036USWUQ/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1338400308&sr=1-1-catcorr

Casio interval timer watch
http://www.amazon.com/Casio-W756-1AV-Digital-Sport-Watch/dp/B0013M6BRA/ref=sr_1_6?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401190&sr=1-6

Timex trainer
http://www.amazon.com/Timex-Ironman-Trainer-Heart-Monitor/dp/B001JBU6YY/ref=sr_1_12?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401447&sr=1-12

Garmin405 CX
http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Forerunner-405CX-Sport-Monitor/dp/B0025UHKNS/ref=sr_1_7?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401528&sr=1-7

C25K podcast
http://www.c25k.com/

Interval run app
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/interval-run/id297105174?mt=8


Garmin405 CX
http://www.amazon.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What it like to run a marathon?

best watch for running marathon on chicago marathon running 2010 300x225 Run a Marathon: Top 5 Marathons ...
best watch for running marathon image



Paige Reid


I am writing a paper about marathons and I need some ideas from people who truly have run marathons and their input on the races. If anyone has done this please do not be afraid to write something down!
I was wondering what kinds of thoughts, feelings and emotions are going through someones head when they are about to start a race. Also what kind of physical feelings do you have? Are you nervous and feel weak? When does your heartbeat start to slowdown and the race becomes just an easy stride?

Thanks For all your help!



Answer
Most runners are nervous at the start because you have to wait till the gun to go off plus all that training for the big event plus you have to taper or lessen your miles in order to peak so your ready to run! You know most runners just run and don't think much while running. You won't be able to recall all 26.2 miles. Generally mile 18 gets really tough or a hill. The finish line is memorable. It's such as joy to run the entire way and still be able to sprint at the end.

The race becomes easy after you get the initial energy out generally after 400 meters. Your heartrate goes to aerobic right away if not your be in trouble and will hit the wall before your finish the race. Most marathoners just get into this pace. This is really the magical part with the training and almost automatic. Almost anyone can run a marathon though it takes work and dedication because of the time required. Watch NOVA marathon special if you want to know more especially the physiology. Good luck on your report.

Was tonight the last episode of the biggest loser and if so where can i watch the finale?




crystal v


We just watched the episode where the contestants ran the marathon and when ron and mike fell below the yellow line. Was that the only episode on NBC tonight or was the finale on also and maybe i just can't watch online. Please help quickly!!!! I am dying to know who wins. Thanks.


Answer
The finale was on tonight. Unfortunately, I think it takes them a week to put it online.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are the rules for runners in baseball?

best watch for runners on Best Sports Watches For Women Runners Best sport watches for women ...
best watch for runners image



big puffy


Sometimes when watching baseball, the runner on base already has to run back to their original base. What are the rules about this?


Answer
If a fly ball is caught, then runner has to retouch his original base. If he does not, he can be put out, on appeal, by tagging the runner or tagging the original base.

Official Baseball Rules - 7.10(a)

How should I move my arms while running? Expert runners please help.?




livestorun


I've heard that you should put your arms at a 90 degree angle and move them slightly but not in front of your torso. This sounds about right and feels good but when I watch expert runners they seem like they move there forarms in small circles or something like that. It's something that other runners don't do. What is it that you're doing? Is this something I have to acquire by running more or can I fix it now. Please, I need an expert runner to answer this question.


Answer
Great question...
90 degree angle is correct. As your arms move they shouldn't be going in circles, this is just a visual effect that you see.
As the arm goes forward your fist should not go past your eyes and in the back it should NOT go past your butt, anything past these areas is considered wasted movements and energy.
It is true the faster and more powerful your arms move the legs will follow, not always will this effect your stride length, but it will effect the turnover of the legs.
For example in the final 50-100m of a 400m if you keep the arms moving and lift your knees you will hold form longer than the others thus slow down later than them.
Keeping the hands relaxed, will help keep the forearms relaxed, thus helping with the shoulders not coming up to your ears and this will help keep the chest and lungs relaxed making it easier to breath as well. As you see one thing leads to another, so keys are staying relaxed from the face muscles all the way down, and hold form until the very end.
Best of Luck to you in your training...




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

whats the name of the song from the target commercial 2011?

running watches 2011 on GPS Running Watches: Selecting the Best for You | Running Shoes Guru
running watches 2011 image
Q. the one that has people running around the store building stuff having to do with summer like tents and bar bq's etc?
it sounds like a beatles song but im not sureee. ><


Answer
The song from the Target summer commercial is "Pictures of Matchstick Men" by Status Quo.

You can get the song and watch the commercial here:
http://www.popisms.com/TelevisionCommercial/34275/Target-Commercial-2011.aspx
.

How to watch the la liga football matches in the usa?




sk8terboi2


I am a big barcelona fan and would like to watch all th ela liga matches>>>what channels can i get to watch them..list all of them with description if u can ...10 points best answer :D:D thnx


Answer
Get GOLTV.

âSpain Primera División (La Liga) Starting with the 2009-2010 season, 3 matches each round (114 matches total) have been sublicensed to ESPN, Inc..[1] 3 matches each round (114 matches total) have been sublicensed to DirecTV, Inc. in exchange for 42 UEFA Europa League matches from the Group Stage through the semifinals. Contract runs through 2011-2012 season.â




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it safe for me to exercise above my max heart rate if I'm fit?

best garmin watch for running women on ... garmin forerunner watches 49 garmin men s running watches 17 garmin
best garmin watch for running women image






I am a fit 31 year old female who has been exercising for over 12 years at usually intense levels. I just recently got into 5k racing. I've been running for years and have just got into working on my speed. I wear a Garmin watch and have discovered my heartrate spikes to 180 and will go over 200 at times during races. I am able to withstand it despite my heavy breathing. I always place very well in races. Is it safe to work over my max heart rate of 189 for over 20 minutes ? Regular training runs are between 150 and 170. I don't know why I have such a high heart rate. I lost over 100 pounds over 13 years ago so maybe its a genetic thing?


Answer
the numbers on your heart rate are percentages and do not apply to everyone.
the idea that 220 minus your age is the maximum heart rate is ridiculous.
You are obviously in much better condition than "normal" women of your age.
It is common for people who race and train hard to work above the so-called maximum limit of their heart.
There is nothing wrong with what you are doing.

Question about mile time?




Sophia


ok so im a 14 year old girl and my main track event is the 1600 meter. i usually wear my garmin forerunner 210 at practice and according to that i can run a 6:10 mile. today at our first meet i ran a freaking 7:12 and i came home and started crying. my garmin said i was keeping a 6:02 pace the entire time but when i finished, they said 7:12 like wtf! and my watch is accurate, it said that i ran exactly one mile. what is going on cause im really really confused and i thought i was making progress but idk ughh!!


Answer
I've used the garmin before, it's ridiculously bad. I ran .84 miles (as measured by Google Earth) and it said I went 1.32.

But for a 14 year old girl, 7:12 is pretty good! You can break seven this year, which is good, and you should be on track (get it?) to break six by senior year, which is really quite good for the women's division.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Has anyone experienced a complete transition from a life of debauchery to bored silence?

running watches distance women on Womens Tech4o Accelerator Carnation Running Watch/running distance ...
running watches distance women image



Davidoff


During my early 20's, for seven years straight I was given in to the worst behavior: smoking one packet a day, visiting prostitutes, promiscious sex with unrelated women, binge drinking.and drug abuse.

However for last one year I have drastically changed myself on my own abilities. All that alcohol and smoking dependence made me very sick. I quit smoking for over a year and my drinking habits are greatly moderated now. I no longer have depraved thoughts. I distanced myself from former friends and bad company, I only associate with good people.

All that feels good but my interest in sex has gone down. I no longer am able to have unclean thoughts while it's good for one's spiritual and social development, I don't feel like a player anymore. Women are able to notice that lack of earlier confidence.

Clearly women are attracted to sinners and not saints. My body and mind has never felt so good but all the women and sex has disappeared. I can't even watch pornography anymore without squirming.

Becoming a better human being is always good but it comes with the caveat THOU SHALT NOT GET LAID ANYMORE



Answer
There's a book "Rising Above the Influence" soon to be a movie, this guy was dark and driven by drugs and violence. Prison life and street life , sex and crime, high and getting there , withdrawal getting outa there. That was then and today its quite mundane, but, and that's a big but, ITS FULFILLING and the energy is healing.....peaceful . A civilian might call it boring but solders from the street call it progressive evolution and necessary for survival.
I have met this cat and although our stories are different were came out of the same evil energy and turned things around for the better. Its not as exciting as getting shot at or shooting back. Running from the law and getting away with it is a rush too but today .....even on my worst humdrum funk days " LIFE IS GOOD" better than my best yesterday wild run. Its still fun though to sit down with my contemporaries and reminisce......

How many miles do you have to walk to lose 3500 calories?




!


Or run but walking would be easier. Both i guess.
an exact answer would be nice!



Answer
An exact number is not possible without you supplying a missing piece of information: your weight. The more you weigh, the more calories you burn while exercising, whatever form of exercise you're talking about.

Another factor you haven't mentioned is your running and walking speeds. The faster you move, the more calories per mile you burn.

I'll assume you're the average weight for an American woman today, which is approximately 162.9 pounds, according to the first website listed below. We'll round off to 163 here, and plug that into the calories counter from the second website listed below.

Let's also assume your running speed to be seven miles per hour and your walking speed to be three miles per hour. To burn 3500 calories, you have to run at a pace of seven mph for 247 minutes, just over four hours. That would be a total of 29 miles to burn that many calories while running at that pace.

Walking at a pace of three miles per hour means you would have to walk about 650 minutes, or just under eleven hours. At three miles per hour, this would mean walking almost 33 miles to reach this calories expended goal.

Keep in mind that these figures were calculated using hypothetical figures for both your weight and speed. The faster you move, the more calories you burn per unit distance. You can find the exact numbers by plugging in your actual weight and speed into the calories counter.from the second website listed below.

As you can see, it's a whole lot easier to consume 3500 calories than it is to burn them off, so make sure to keep close watch on what you put into your mouth. It takes a lot less time to eat a large supreme pizza with about 3500 calories than it does to walk 33 miles to burn them all off.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

What song is played on the Nike commercial where there are like runners with parachutes?

best watch for beginning runners on Tianyuan
best watch for beginning runners image



You Don't


lol, if you've seen it you know what i mean. it begins with runners who are i guess conditioning themselves by running with parachutes, and that's all i remember from it. but i love the song on it


Answer
his name is Saul Williams...BE SOMEBODY!!! hand to mouth...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1llNYAlYrc

'we aim to remember what we choose to forget'

apparently he works with Trent Reznor...

What wrestlers when watching them in action in their rookie year did you feel was going to go to superstardom?




Geese


What wrestler or wrestlers in their rookie year when watching them in action did you feel was going to go to superstardom? They had that Superstar quality about them which screamed they were going to be a World Champion someday. If not in the World Title picture, they would at least be in the main event. Pick any wrestler from any promotion you like.


Answer
I'm assuming you mean "rookie year" in the bigger promotions, not fresh out of wrestling school in some obscure indy promotion only a handful of people could watch.

Kurt Angle, first and foremost. If ever there was a "natural" in pro wrestling, Angle is him.

Dustin Rhodes. In MUCH better shape than his father, and a much better wrestler, I was pretty sure Dustin would go on to win the NWA/WCW World Title at some point in his career. He doesn't have Dusty's charisma, and way with words, but Dustin is an excellent all-around performer.

Barry Windham. The son of Black Jack Mulligan. I got to see Mulligan many times, and I thought Barry was more athletic and a better wrestler than his father.

Ultimate Warrior. I didn't get to see him in The Blade Runners with Sting, but I saw him in WCCW as The Dingo Warrior. With that body and strength I knew he would be a big-time main eventer.

The Midnight Rockers. I thought Jannetty would be the bigger singles star as he was the more talented of the duo (in my opinion), had the better mic skills, and was the "leader".

Sheamus. I was immediately very impressed with the big Irishman the first time I saw him (in ECW). His rise came quicker than I figured, but I knew he was a main eventer waiting to happen.

Nikita Koloff. One of the most impressive rookies I've ever seen. He was an evil Russian version of Road Warrior Hawk.

The Road Warriors. Dick The Bruiser and The Crusher may have been the prototype (huge muscular brawling tag team) but The Road Warriors were a completely new type of tag team and gimmick. The only way they could NOT be major stars would be if they just walked away and quit.

Scott Steiner. Long before he bloated up to become Big Poppa Pump, he was Scott Steiner, Rick's little brother. Extremely athletic, agile, strong, quick, fast, and an excellent mat wrestler who was innovating new moves and "updating" old moves right and left. Scott was extremely fun to watch and the fans were impressed with him from the beginning.

The Great Muta. A modern version of The Great Kabuki, Muta was younger, faster, stronger, more high-flying, more athletic, more creative, more exciting to watch. Being Japanese, not speaking English, face painted, Gary Hart doing the talking for him, the colored mists he used in the ring, created a very mysterious and enigmatic performer. He was destined to become one of the all-time greats.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do black men/women seem to build muscles easier than their white counterparts?

sports watches for runners women on Sports Watches For Women Runners Best sports watches for women runners ...
sports watches for runners women image



maukie123


When watching sports, whether it be athletics, football, soccer, boxing etc black competitors seem to have a much more muscular build than white people. Why is this?
I think in competitive sport people have similar training regimes
And please dont hit me with the ignorance card its a legitimate question,dont answer it if your going to be abusive



Answer
Well first I think not all black people, as there are over 1 billion Africans and they can differ genetically more between themselves than white people do to them.

The colour black looks sleeker; think of electronic items.

I have read that black men have more testosterone, maybe, but if you consider the above.

I also read that they tend to have more fast twitch muscles (power) compared to white people having more slow twitch (endurance). I am not too sure about that one as in Africa we are said to have evolved into the worlds best endurance runner. We ran down prey long distance as we cannot sprint very fast. This seems contradictory to the Africans having more fast twitch muscles. Thinking of the top paragraph again some populations of Africa are tall and very thin, I wouldn't expect them to grow muscles well e.g. the Ethiopian running team.

I wonder too if by black men/women you mean for example African American or British African. I know they are were not all slaves but if many were then they would have been chosen for their health and strength. Then they had to survive an awful sea journey and so are probably good stock.

What do horseback riders call one another?




Mr. Best A


Jockey is only used to describe 100 pound, 5' tall men, that wear tights and beat their horse in the ass with a stick. So what about the hobbyists?

People who run are runners. People who rock climb are climbers. Do they call each other riders or is there another term or slang for it?
Thanks and I don't doubt it. I bet what they do is exhausting.



Answer
First of all, Smarty Pants, not all jockeys are male, not any more. There are females who have been very successful in recent years and decades, including Chantal Sutherland ( who's now retired), Julie Krone, Rosie Napravnik, and several more. Many trainers prefer to employ women as grooms and exercise riders too, because they believe that women can relate to horses better than men. As for what riders call each other, that varies. "Riders" is the most common term I've heard, with an additional name that designates which sport or discipline the person is involved in. There are dressage riders, event riders, show jumping riders or show jumpers, hunter riders, equitation riders, saddle seat riders, stock seat or Western riders, and so forth. People who play polo are called polo players. People who barrel race are called barrel racers. If someone does cutting or reining, he or she is called a cutter or a reiner, depending on the sport.

Horse sports are gender neutral. Men and women compete equally with and against one another, especially in international events like the Olympic Games and the WEG. These are also the only sports in which co-ed teams are common. It's not unsual at all to see married couples competing together, or teams made up of brothers, sisters, or father and son combinations. There's even one sport, endurance riding, where there was a famous mother/daughter combination that represented the US some years ago- Valerie and Danielle Kanavy. The rules are the same for both genders in all horse sports. After all, the horses don't care what a rider's gender is, nor do they care what their riders look like or what their riders' political affliliation may be. Horses also have no concept or notion of the terms "gay" and "straight" the way humans do. It's this gender blind, race blind, color blind, and species blind attitude that makes horse sports unique.

One other note: The crop that jockeys use is very soft, and is more a noisemaker than an instrument of punishment. It doesn't hurt the horse, and there are strict rules against overuse of the whip on every track. Jockeys who break or violate such rules can face fines and loss of their license to ride, which means they can't make a living. The racing stewards are always watching what jockeys do, and they are on the lookout for poor behavior all the time. And the jockeys don't wear tights, they wear breeches, as do riders in all other English style sports. A lot of jockeys are taller than five feet, too, especially those who ride steeplechase horses. Peope who participate in harness sports are called drivers. If the sport is competitive driving, the driver may have a navigator and a brakeman along too.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers