Saturday, February 8, 2014

I'm looking for a running watch that diplays both the split time and overall time simutaneously.?




tTate


I know the Garmin has it, just looking for something more cost effective. Not interested in the GPS. My Nike and Ironman have splits and overall but not on the screen at the same time. Thank you~


Answer
I don't know about you, but I've got an Ironman that's got splits and overall on the same screen...however, it's a women's watch, and I don't know what it's called, since it was a gift. I do know that they've got a male counterpart...just letting you know that Ironman does have one out there. Not as much help as it could be, but hope this helps a little.

Good running watches?




hanako0848


I'm running cross country this year as a senior and this is the first time my coach has asked us to buy a watch. I'm not sure what kind of watch to get....The coach wants a watch a that will be able to keep my mile splits. Could you give me some ideas? I don't want to spend more than thirty dollars on this watch. thanks.


Answer
I use Timex Iron man watches, they are cheap and you can get your splits, and they also have a timer so you can use them for interval running.
I think my last one was less than $30.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Help again,please i'm running out of time?




fk off a


What's the best camcorder for 2012 from consumer review and every ones else in the $250 to $325 out there in 2012?


Answer
HD Camcorders and DSLR Cameras interpolate the video, which means of every 25 frames of video, 4 or 5 frames are taken by the lens assembly; the other frames in between these are filled in by the camcorder inner circuitry, thus giving you not true video. It looks like this -one frame from the lens assembly, 7or 8 from the electronic circuitry, one frame from the lens assembly, 7or 8 from the electronic circuitry, one frame from the lens assembly, 7or 8 from the electronic circuitry, one frame from the lens assembly, 7or 8 from the electronic circuitry, from front to back of the video. Near impossible to edit, even when you have the Multi port processor computer with the big 1GB Graphics card and a Sound card that is required to edit, view, watch and work with the files these camcorders produce.

Consumer Level HD Camcorders and DSLR Cameras have 4 problems. 1) Blurry, fuzzy, out of focus areas closely around people in videos taken by consumer level HD camcorders. 2) Any movement, even a wave or lifting an arm, while in front of a recording Consumer Level HD Camcorder and DSLR Cameras, results in screen ghosts and artifacts being left on the video track, following the movement. Makes for bad video, sports videos are unwatchable. 3) These Consumer Level HD Camcorders and DSLR Cameras all have a habit of the transferred to computer files are something you need to convert, thus losing your HD quality, to work with your editing software. 4) Mandatory maximum record times - 1 hour, 30 minutes, 8 minutes, 3 minutes â four different times advertised as maximum record time for some Consumer Level HD Camcorders and DSLR Cameras. No event I have ever been to is that short. Either take multiple camcorders and DSLR Cameras or pack up with out getting the end of the event on video.

MiniDV is currently the most popular format for consumer digital camcorders. MiniDV camcorders are typically more affordable than their HDD and DVD counterparts. Each MiniDV tape will typically hold an hour of footage at normal recording speed and quality. MiniDV tapes are available for purchase at not only electronic and camera stores, but also at drugs stores and grocery stores, making them easy to find while your on vacation. There are literally hundreds of MiniDV camcorders available; both in standard and high-definition. And add the fact that to get a HD camcorder that could produce better video quality footage, one would have to spend in excess of $3500 for that camcorder that could produce higher quality video.http://simplevideoediting.com/learn/part1_camcorder_choices.htm

http://simplevideoediting.com/learn/part2_connect_camcorder.htm

http://usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/camcorders/consumer_camcorders/vixia_hv40#Overview

Can someone tell me if this website is selling real stuff goforkicks.com because they have good testimonials?




Rajief


I want some foamposite electrolimes and it is 150 on this site . I was talking to someone live and they said its 100% authentic and that they have ssl global certificate which is people that go on the website and see if they are selling authentic stuff . It looks real to me


Answer
They are being sneaky in using U.S. hosting and registration address, but there are signs enough that they are selling fakes:

The same registration info is used for Shoesaround.com, had bad reviews (is now inactive)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1izeY0E-EA
http://www.scambook.com/browse/index/company/28947/ShoesAround.com
http://www.ripoffreport.com/sporting-good-manufactures/shoes-around/shoes-around-solar-footwear-f-92714.htm

One of the site copies showing the same toll free#, airjordan-retro.tk is registered to an Amsterdam address.

streetretro.com is another copy with the same registration info, with some bad reviews:
http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/www.streetretro.com
http://www.scambook.com/report/view/98516/streetretro.com--Bait---Switch-for-300.00-on-04-05-2012
http://www.scamfound.org/f13/streetretro-com-site-sells-worst-knockout-shoes-ive-ever-seen-147537.html


It happens to share a file server with 9 counterfeit sites, mostly Beats.

95% of the sneaker sites people ask about here turn out to be Chinese knock-off sites, you have to assume that's the case in the absence of positive evidence, I'm reluctant to give my money to any site that only gives an email address in the Contact Us page, (though their toll free number at the top is uncommon for such a site)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Some good movies from recent years?




Wayne R.


I think I'm running out of good movies to watch, I need suggestions, any genre is cool with me


Answer
This enough to quench your thirst for good movies?

2012:

The Avengers
End of Watch
Django Unchained
Flight
West of Memphis
Dredd 3D
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Argo
The Sessions
The Raid: Redemption
Skyfall
Cloud Atlas
Moonrise Kingdom
Bernie
Iron Sky
The Pirates! A Band of Misfits
ParaNorman
Life of Pi
The Invisible War
Madagascar 3: Europeâs Most Wanted
Sinister
The Impossible
Rust & Bone
Jack Reacher
Zero Dark Thirty
This is 40
Heleno
Dino Time
Talaash
Jab Tak Hai Jaan
Quartet
A Late Quartet
Central Park Five
Killer Joe
Holy Motors
Wonât Back Down
Head Games
The Master
Arbitrage
Barfi!
Lawless
Robot & Frank
Rampart
In the Family
Attenberg
Oslo, August 31
Compliance
This Is Not a Film
Being Flynn
Take This Waltz
Tabu
Footnote
How to Survive a Plague
56 Up
Brooklyn Castle
Side By Side
Bonsai
Jiro Dreams of Sushi
Damsels in Distress
Sound of My Voice
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Safety Not Guaranteed
Your Sisterâs Sister
Farewell, My Queen
Collaborator
The Imposter
The Queen of Versailles
Celeste and Jesse Forever

2011:
Crazy, Stupid, Love
Hugo
Drive
The Artist
Kung Fu Panda 2
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Attack the Block
A Separation
50/50
Warrior
Winnie the Pooh
Incendies
Take Shelter
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
I Saw the Devil
Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol
Young Adult
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Shame
Carnage
The Interrupters
We Were Here
Leap Year
Tom Boy
Rapt
A Dangerous Method
J. Edgar
The Descendants
Of Gods and Men
A Better Life
A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas
Puss in Boots
In Time
Melancholia
The Tree of Life
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Margin Call
Pariah
Bill Cunningham, New York
The Skin I Live In
The Debt
Trust
Life, Above All
The Mill and the Cross
Terri
The Big Year
Kinyarwanda
Le Havre
Beautiful Boy
Cave of Forgotten Dreams
Our Idiot Brother
Bellflower
Sarahâs Key
Whistleblower
The Lincoln Lawyer
Miss Bala
In a Better World
Hanna
Margaret
Anonyous
Another Earth
Buck
The Devilâs Double
Submarine
Beginners
Win Win
Boy Wonder
13 Assassins
Certified Copy
Higher Ground
I Will Follow
The Last Rites of Joe May
Poetry
Tyrannosaur
Limitless
In the Land of Blood and Honey
Albert Nobbs
The Way Back
Cedar Rapids
The Company Men
Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives

2010:
Toy Story 3
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World
Jackass 3D
Inception
How to Train Your Dragon
127 Hours
True Grit
The Social Network
The Kingâs Speech
The Kids Are All Right
A Prophet
The Fighter
Biutiful
Blue Valentine
Four Lions
Crayon
Monsters
I Am Love
Hereafter
Carlos
Conviction
Tamara Drew
Stone
The Secret in Their Eyes
The American
Nowhere Boy
Case 39
The Town
Flipped
Winterâs Bone
The Ghost Writer
All Good Things
Chloe
Greenberg
Monsters
Never Let Me Go
Rabbit Hole
Solitary Man
Valhalla Rising
Dogtooth
Exit Through the Gift Shop
Fish Tank
Unstoppable
Night Catches Us
Waste Land
Nostalgia for the Light
Somewhere
Elite Squad
Udaan
Animal Kingdom

What are some good movies to watch no g or pg. pg-13 and R?




Kienan





Answer
Here goes the movies

Silence Of The Lamb
Unforgiven
The Departed
Argo
Hard Target
Broken Arrow
Face/Off
Maximum Risk
The Replacement Killer
The Corruptor
Leon: The Professorinal
Heat
Speed
Minority Report
Total Recall(remake)
True Lies
Terminator 2: Judgment Day
Lethal Weapon movies
Die Hard With A Vengeance
The Fugitive
The Negotiator
Leaving Las Vegas
It Runs In The Family
Narc
Training Day
Dark Blue
We Own The Night
Street King
Pride And Glory
Brooklyn's Finest
End Of Watch
The Illusionist
A Few Good Men
The General's Daughter
Lansky
Bugsy
Gotti
Mobsters
Goodfellas
Casino
Donnie Brasco
The Untouchables
Red
Red 2
The James Bond movies
Thirteen Days
Air Force One
The Siege
The Grid
The Hunt For Red October
Patriot Games
Clear And Present Danger
The Sum Of All Fears
The Assignment
In The Line Of Fire
The Spy Who Came In From The Cold
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy(BCC miniseries or the new movie)
Smiley's People
The Russia House
The Tailor Of Panama
The Peacemaker
The Net
The Game
Coma(original and the two part cable movie)
Outbreak
Contagion
Con Air
Ransom
Cop Land




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Problem with viewing YouTube videos under 200,000 views in Firefox?




Timothy


For some reason, when I run Firefox and attempt to watch a video under 200,000 views, it does not work. It should be noted that if I attempt to run the video in Internet Explorer or Google Chrome, it does work. Anyone on here have any ideas on what's wrong? Is it my Firefox, Flash, my computer, YouTube itself, or something else entirely?
The Firefox I am running is 16.0.2. My OS is Windows 8. My current Flash is 11.4.402.287.



Answer
What Firefox version are you running? (to find out, go to Firefox>Help>About Firefox in Vista or 7 and go to Help>About Firefox on XP and probably OS X). If it says 16.0.2 (or over), it's probably not Firefox's fault). Still, try turning on JavaScript by going to Firefox>Options>Content and checking your add-ins. See if Flash is activated by clicking the puzzle icon in the Firefox menu and checking for "Shockwave Flash". If it's not there, download it at adobe.com/get/flashplayer. Also, try turning off your ad blocker and any other flash and video related add-ons.
---------------
What operating system are you running? If it's a Windows PC, try downloading a Service Pack using Windows Update. If it's a Mac, try asking at the Apple support forums (Apple.com > Support) because I have no clue how Macs work.
---------------
Try clicking on the "Try something new" text on the footer at the bottom of the home page and click "Try Out HTML5 Video Player".
-------------
If it's not one of those things causing the problem, then sorry, I can't help you. :(
Good luck!

Under $200 video card to run Battlefield 3 on highish settings?




Alonzo


My cousin wants me to build him a gaming computer, and specifically, he wants to run Battlefield 3 on highish settings. Not necessarily maxed, but high. His budget (for the whole thing) is $1000. That leaves me with about 200 bucks for the video card. Also, I'm going to use a quad-core phenom, but I'm not sure if that's enough ghz for a high end video card. Any recommendations, or is it just not happening?


Answer
You will be fine with a Quad Phenoem, http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121446 The GTX 560 Is one of the best cards you can get for under $200, you will be fine maxed out with this card.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTQLLmRvZ_o This is it maxed out on Bad Company 2




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Style- What is the best/coolest watch one guy can buy for $1000? What is the best one that has a digital alarm?




TJ Wharton


Any new ones coming out that are cool/nice looking that have GPS tracking?


Answer
Yep. Look into this website. http://www.besportier.com/archives/best-gps-watches-watch-reviews-for-running-cycling-women-tracking-hunting-kids-adventure-military.html

Looking for a watch for running...?




Sarah


A little background:

I am a new runner, and I do not wish to spend obscene amounts of money on a watch. I still want a quality product, that has certain features.

Required features:

I want an accurate distance/speed/time record. Like I said, I am a new runner, and I am improving over time â progress I would like to be able to monitor easily. This is absolutely the most important thing to me.

Features I would love:

I like the idea of a plug and record watch. I would like to be able to store several months of data on my computer â in a simple manner. Software that records my data at least on the computer (more ideally, online â as I am doing a weight loss program with a friend) would be very helpful.

I would love a watch that accurately tracks calories burned â its an encouragement while running.

I really like the idea of a rechargeable rather than replaceable battery â particularly for watches that have a short life. I hate changing batteries â so if its something with a wall or USB charger â that would be ideal.

Other things to consider:

I wouldn't shy away from GPS monitoring. It's a nice feature, which adds accuracy I would think.

I also wouldn't mind heart rate monitoring. I can do it myself, but it is nice to have that data without having to slowdown and check it manually.

Some devices I've considered:

Nike+ sportband: It's an awesome price (59), and its features include 'accurate' measurement of pace and distance. The problem is, as I read the reviews â I get the feeling its only accurate for well paced runners (which I am not). I slow/speed up a great deal while I run, and I get the feeling it would not work well for me.

Nike+ Sportwatch: GPS tracking makes me think this is a more accurate device, but some reviews suggest the TomTom navigation system sometimes stops working entirely. It sports a lot of great features listed above: heart rate monitoring, calorie, pace, lap/interval... etc. It's also a bit pricier at 169 (to include sensor). I would NOT want to pay for a GPS watch that took 10-15 minutes to get a signal.

For both of these watches, I've heard mostly great things about the Nike+ website and supports (other than it being bogged down from time to time). It appears simple to use, and easy to keep track of your results, and check in with friends.

I have also looked into Garmin watches (Specifically the forerunner 10). Most of the reviews are positive but again, its a little pricier (129) â and I don't see the same supports for tracking available. I could be wrong however, as its site isn't as clean as others.
I would love feedback from anyone who has used one of these products, or has another in mind that I have not given consideration to. If you are merely reading the information on the site, I've done that. I am looking for user feedback and advice from people who own a watch they particularly like â or have had a bad experience with.

Cheaper is better (I have plenty of debt), but if there is something amazing you've used, I would like to hear about it.

Thank you for your help!



Answer
the NIKE+ does certainly fit the bill ;)
not sure about the Garmin parts (own a NIKE+ watch since a couple months) but the NIKIE+ has

- USB connector (and cable) to connect it to any computer; under m@ke$$h!t LostDOS (aka windoooooz) and Mac OS you can download an application that will
-- upload your runs (or bike rides, even though NIKE+ looks at it as runs, no matter how fast you ride >;) to NIKE+ ( http://nikeplus.nike.com/plus/running/home/ )
-- update the GPS satellite positions ffrom TomTom; this is a feature TomTom added to their car navigation systems a few years ago which speeds up catching enough GPS signals as the device does not have to scan the whole firmament but can look specifically for satellites in the "right spot"; the time it takes to get ready is thus notably shortened.
-- simply connecting it to a USB port (or charger) will charge the internal battery; the battery is Li-ion thus the usual recommendations for Li-ion apply (initially cycle the battery from fully charged to completely discharged a couple times to let the battery learn "its extremes" (Max and Min charge); then, charge it whenever you can as Li-ion has a limited number of FULL cycles (100% discharge; which can also be achieved by discharging the battery twice from 100 to 50% (or 10 times from 100 to 90%) (and recharging it in between))
-- one charge is enough for running five hours over 3 weeks; fully charged 6 hours run. the memory is NV-RAM, thus is saved even when the battery runs out & the display goes blank

accuracy is up to a few yards and quite reliable (if you live in a residential area with nicely spaced houses, it is accurate enough to pinpoint your house number!)

- a decent design, as opposed to the Garmin watches which look.... well, like some odd device? the NIKE+ Sportwatch isn't (like a colleague mentioned...) a Tissot or Omega watch, but it has a functional but decent look.
- at comparable price (Forerunner 110) the functions are much better and not as "single minded" as they seem to be on the Garmin site
- NIKE+ Sportwatch GPS also comes in either decent or very modern colors (completely gray, gray with various inside colors, totally black, green fluo (with black screen) or completely white; it isn't only very functional, it can also be... trendy?

- all NIKE+ Sportwatch GPS comes with the same basic features; more expensive models also come with a shoe add-on that allows to count steps (& thus, after calibration, guestimate distance; as you pointed out, this only works for... metronomes >:D ); can also be bought separately with some NIKE shoes; there is also the possibility to connect it to a heart beat monitor (more reliable then heart beat at the wrist)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Type of music dance? electtronic help?




Hollis


ok this vid http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FM5kLuV9YU&feature=related like in the beganing where he nots singing what kind of music would that be :D


Answer
Technically, that is house music. The original song was by Reel 2 Real back in 1994, but you can find modern house music that sounds similar. If you want more stuff, I would suggest going to YouTube, type in "house music" and listen to whatever you can to find an artist that you like. There are hundreds of electronic genres and sub-genres; so, you are going to run into many artists that sound nothing like the house sound you like. I don't listen to house enough to recommend any good artists, but using YouTube and Amazon, you will find something you like.

Also, it's not club music or techno. Calling it club music is too general. Hall & Oats and Metallica both fit into the rock genre but sound nothing alike. Techno is a genre of its own that is (usually) much faster, simplier, and repetitive than house.

GOOD WORKOUT/RUNNING MUSIC?




Love<3 \m


I need great music that will keep me pumped up when i workout and keep me focused on the music instead of the workout so i can get more out of it. any good playlists or songs you like to run to?


Answer
RNB music is my thing, so jakie boyz and some pop songs from lady gaga would help.


Cassidy ft. Jay Z - I'm A Hustla
Cassidy ft. R.Kelly - Hotel
Cassie ft. Ray J - Me & U
Cecile - when we are seen
Charlie Wilson - magic
Cheri Dennis ft. Jim Jones & Black Rob - I Love You (remix)
Cherish ft. Sean Paul - Do It To It
Chingy ft. ludacris & snoop doog - holiday in
Chris Brown - Gimme That
Chris brown - Run it (remix)
Chris Brown - Run It
Chris Brown - Say Goodbye
Chris Brown - Wall To Wall

Ciara ft. Petey Pablo - Goodies
Cool T - Kamasutra
Coolio - Gangsta's Paradise
Corneille - Avec Classe
Craig David - I'm Walking Away
Craig David - Unbelievable
D12 - Rap Game
D4L - Laffy Taffy
Danita Kane - Show Stopper
Dante Thomas - Get It On
Dante Thomas - Miss California

Eminem ft. 50 Cent & Cashis & Lloyd Banks - You Don't Know
Eminem ft. Nate Dogg - Shake that
Eve ft. Dragon & Swizz Beatz - What You Need
Eve ft. Nokio - What Yall Niggas Want
Faith Evans - Again
Faith Evans ft. The Game & 50 Cent - This is how we do
Fantasia Barrino - Free yourself
Fantasia Barrino - Truth Is
Fat Joe & P.Diddy ft. Dre - Girl I'm a ba


i hope you like them.... they are chart topping.

Youmay also want a running watch. i got mine and it is cool when you're geared. i mean i love to look good with my ipod and watch. lol

hope that helps

Tracey
http://www.garminforerunnerblog.com/




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Diet Question? Six Pack? Help? Advice?




J Lew


ok so i am 14 years old almost 15 freshman i have pretty ripped arms i lift every mon weds and fri and i run on tues and thurs. I have been doing this for a WHILE and i can feel a six pack easy but it is not visable at all i think maybe my eating habbits are affecting this...So please help give me some diet advice and tips also so working out tips to get a six pack. thanks


Answer
Wow Yahoo Answer'ers are stupid (aside from Master).

Single digit bodyfat level = visible abs.

To attain single digit bodyfat levels = 100% your daily diet.

Figure out your daily caloric requirement, then go under that.

Example: a 180lb man needs about 2,000cals a day to maintain his weight just sitting on the couch all day watching TV. If he wants to lose weight, he limits his calories to 1,700. 300cal x 7days = 2,100cals. One pound of fat is 3,500cals.

But most people concerned with their bodyfat aren't going to sit in front of the TV all day doing nothing. If this same man were to lift weights or do cardio 45min-1hr everyday while still eating only 1,700 cals, you minus the 300'ish cals (from the daily exercise) from the 1,700 he eats to give us 1,400. Now remember he needs 2,000 just to sit on the couch and maintain his weight. So at 1,400, he's at a 600cal deficit each day, 600x7days = 4,200. So now he's going to lose 1.25lbs a week.

If the man is in college or has an desk job with similar calorie expenditure, the 2,000cal he ate while watching TV all day was too low, because actively walking around at college and going to classes for 6-7hrs is going to burn an additional 2-300cals. So say he goes to college, he needs 2,300cals a day to maintain. He cuts it to 1,700, but also works out every day burning 300 more calories. He's going to be 900cal a day under his maintenance level. 900cal x 7 days = 6300cals (1lb of fat is 3500)...so he will lose 1.8lbs per week which comes out to almost 8lbs a month.

Bottom line: It's all about the total calories. Figure out the math on how many calories you need a day and minus 200-300 from that. Write down everything you eat, from that 1/2tbsp of butter on your wheat toast to the mayo on your sandwich.

My other advice is you don't eat butter or mayo or cheese or anything tasty yet high in calories. Stick to egg whites, chicken breast, lean beef, salmon/tuna, fruits/veggies, as for grains- limit them to oats, brown rice, yams/sweet potatoes and low carb breads/tortillas/wraps.

six pack abs diet??????????




Adam


hi i am trying to get six pack abs so im doing ab workouts every second day and going for a run every few days. I am also eating a lot less under 1500 calories(male) per day and eating only good foods. Will i get a six pack if i continue or will I just lose muscle by not eating enough?


Answer
There is so much information that gets bandied about on the internet about health and dieting that it can be overwhelming. If you want to lose weight you need to watch your calories, but you should eat low carbs, and you should eat enough protein, and you need this much fiber, and you shouldn't avoid fat, but you shouldn't eat too much fat, and make sure you get all your vitamins. It's enough to make even someone like me, that has studied a lot about it, crazy and ready to throw your arms up and say...gimmie a cookie!

Well lets stop all that nonsense and give you some really easy information that you can follow to ensure you are not overeating and you are properly mixing your meals. Ready? Here goes:

All food has a makeup that comes from protein, fats, and carbohydrates. That simple. Let's not complicate it further than that. Fats can be broken down into saturated and unsaturated, carbs can be broken down into simple and complex, but we don't need to do that for a simple lesson. All learning results from building on basic principles, and our basic principles are to understand that what we eat is a makeup of fats, carbs, and protein.

So where do calories come into play? Calories are a measure of energy that we get from food. Our body needs food for energy and calories are the measure we use just the same as a lightbulb uses kilowatts of energy. Now, all you have to remember is this simple formula:

1 gram of Fat = 9 Calories
1 gram of Carbs = 4 Calories
1 gram of Protein = 4 Calories

So, if I look on a nutrition label and whatever I am eating has 11 grams of fat, 20 grams of protein and 43 grams of carbs the number of calories is (9 x 11 + 20 x 4 + 43 x 4) = 351 calories.

From this formula it is easy to understand why the "low fat" diet became so popular. Fat has more calories per gram than the other components, so if you watch how much fat you consume, you are automatically cutting calories. But, our body needs to eat fat to boost our immune system, protects our internal organs, is important for hair and nail growth and health, etc.

So the importance is balance. Here is the formula for balanced eating.

1 balanced serving of food should be:

7 grams of Protein
10 grams of Carbs
3 grams of Fat
= 95 calories

Now figure out the number of balanced food servings you need per day: take the weight you WANT to be and times it by 0.125. Example

150 pounds (goal weight)
x
0.125
= 18.75 servings * 95 calories = 1781 calories

To set your metabolism up to run as fast as possible, the best thing to do is to perfectly balance your number of servings across several small meals during the day.

Meal 1: 3 Servings
Meal 2: 3 Servings
Meal 3: 3 Servings
Meal 4: 3 Servings
Meal 5: 3 Servings
Meal 6: 3 Servings

A fine substitute that will not prevent weight loss/muscle gain is:

Meal 1: 4 Servings
Snack 1: 2 Servings
Meal 2: 4 Servings
Snack 2: 2 Servings
Meal 3: 4 Servings
Snack 3: 2 Servings

All you have to do now is start looking at the food you are eating and see how it matches against balanced eating. I can almost gaurentee that you will find you are eating too many carbs, not enough protein and not enough fat. So if one of your snacks is a bannana and a bunch of carrots...sounds healthy, but it is almost 100% carbs. So, to balance it out you would need to have less carbs (half a bannana), more protein (lean turkey or tuna), and some fats (small handful of nuts, or avacado). Start living like this and get used to it all and the weight will start to melt away. Be diligent at first to get the hang of what good meals and snacks look like, then you can stop measuring things so closely. A digital kitchen scale comes in very, very handy when first getting used to portion sizes.

Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wonder Woman Workout?




a b


I would like to do a wonder woman inspired workout because she is my favorite hero and role model. Any suggestions? Kudos if you incorporate some amazon-like moves like she would do on Paradise Island.


Answer
Obviously traditional Greek sports would be pretty high on the list: swimming, running, throwing (discus, perhaps medicine balls in modern times), wresting (or Judo/Brazilian Jiujistu), maybe jumping/plyometrics. Rock wall climbing is also a very "natural" workout. Gymnastics or dance wouldn't be a bad idea either. Archery isn't exactly a super-intensive physical workout, but it would certainly be Amazon-inspired. Olympic lifts (clean and snatch, clean and jerk) and other full-body lifts were probably not used by the Greeks, but are great exercises, and I can't recommend them enough. What I would actually suggest is maybe something like this:

6-day workout schedule, 1 day rest

Day 1: Distance running (3-5 miles)
Boot-camp workout: pushups, sit-ups, pull-ups, squats, etc.

Day 2: Sprints ("suicides" on a basketball court, sprinting stairs)
"Combat" training: Judo, boxing/kickboxing (where you're actually hitting the mitts or the bag), karate

Day 3: Swimming or Rock Wall/climbing (1 hour)
(optional: yoga/stretching)

Day 4: Distance running
"Combat" training

Day 5: Sprints
Kettlebell routine

Day 6: Distance running
Boot Camp workout

I'd suggest picking up a copy of Mark Hatmaker's "No Holds Barred: Conditioning". I think it's a little over $10. Here's a sample from his "Mega Gladiator" DVD's:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjgcQaQt1sI

Here's an example of a kettlebell workout:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lwme8rkzetg

And here's the gym-girl variation, "cardiobells". As you can see, it gets you athletic, not bulky:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gy5uU7ku-Lo&feature=related

I train with Hatmaker several times a year. His wife has taken up his conditioning program and is very trim.

Remember, Wonder Woman is a warrior! Train like one. You need strength, speed, and endurance. These routines will get you headed in that direction.

Small gps running watch?




Lily


I have very small wrists, I am a girl in high school, and am looking for a small gps watch. I just ordered the timex marathon and it arrived today, however i will return it because it is huge! I am looking into the garmin forerunner 110, which is in my price range (under or around $150) and on amazon they are a lot cheaper. I cant tell if the forerunner 110 is smaller than the timex marathon, does anyone know? If there is another small gps running watch that has pace, time, and distance, please share! Thank you!


Answer
I have small wrists, too. and i bought my Garmin 305 years ago. I was a little concerned about its size until I realized something. You want a really big display. First so that you can read it without your reading glasses (oh, i bet you don't have that problem) and also so it displays a lot of info all at once - that is easy to read.

You might be concerned about style and fashion points. But among runners, ANY GPS watch get points. Even my old 305 gets points because it is so darn functional.

if you want to learn about GPS watches, this site is great
http://www.dcrainmaker.com
he even has a female friendly section. BTW, his wife used to use a Garmin 310 but recently fell in love with the Polar RCX3.


Besides Garmin and Timex, you might also want to look at the Nike GPS or one of the Polar models.

If you go to Amazon you can search for "women's GPS" and get a nice list.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

what to use a running watch for?




slums77


what would you use it for? give me specific situations


Answer
There are lots of different uses for running watches, and specific uses will be different depending on your goals. The simplest uses are overall timing and lap/interval timing. The more sophisticated running watches can include heart rate monitors, gps tracking, pace information, virtual trainers, workout planning and analysis. Many of these sophisticated running watches have the ability to sync this data with software/websites so that training information is logged and reviewable later.

Can I get some opinions on running watches?




Connor


I'm interested in getting a runners watch but I must admit I really have no idea where to really begin in searching for them as I know very little about the different types, brands, features, and prices.

I want something that's not overly expensive (under $200 preferably) but at the same time I want a very good quality product that will last me several years so if my budget has to change I can deal with that.

Like I said I don't know much about runners watches. Can you get ones that will track how far you have run, how fast you have run, and things like how many approx. calories you have burned etc.?
I also would like one that monitors your heart rate and has a stop watch.

What watch do you use and which ones do you recommend? (and which ones do you think I should avoid?)

-Thanks



Answer
What do you want the watch to do?
If you just want a watch that will give you your run time and may be intervals and beep at certain times, then get a Times iron man, it is around $50 and I have used them for many years they usually last several years and are rugged.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I need a gps watch for running, swimming and cycling?




charles


I want a good watch for running, swimming and cycling but there are so many and I don't know which one to pick. My price range is anywhere from 100-200 dollars. I would go to a store and ask , but where I live there is nowhere to buy anything like that. I just don't want to get ripped off. Please help?


Answer
Sorry, the concept escapes me. You need a GPS watch to run, swim and cycle? You need to know the area before you ever leave home, you need to have a route in mind. You don't just run aimlessly and then hit the home button. A $20 time keep er is all you need. As for researching watches, look on line and see what is out there, who sells it and what prices they are.

Small gps running watch?




Lily


I have very small wrists, I am a girl in high school, and am looking for a small gps watch. I just ordered the timex marathon and it arrived today, however i will return it because it is huge! I am looking into the garmin forerunner 110, which is in my price range (under or around $150) and on amazon they are a lot cheaper. I cant tell if the forerunner 110 is smaller than the timex marathon, does anyone know? If there is another small gps running watch that has pace, time, and distance, please share! Thank you!


Answer
I have small wrists, too. and i bought my Garmin 305 years ago. I was a little concerned about its size until I realized something. You want a really big display. First so that you can read it without your reading glasses (oh, i bet you don't have that problem) and also so it displays a lot of info all at once - that is easy to read.

You might be concerned about style and fashion points. But among runners, ANY GPS watch get points. Even my old 305 gets points because it is so darn functional.

if you want to learn about GPS watches, this site is great
http://www.dcrainmaker.com
he even has a female friendly section. BTW, his wife used to use a Garmin 310 but recently fell in love with the Polar RCX3.


Besides Garmin and Timex, you might also want to look at the Nike GPS or one of the Polar models.

If you go to Amazon you can search for "women's GPS" and get a nice list.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Accommodation for single women in Brisbane?




Nicky


Hi, my name is Nicky and I am from India. I will be moving permanently to Brisbane shortly and wanted some information on where I can stay for the first two to three months while I look for a job before I take up a rented place. It should be conveniently located, that is not more than 10km from the CBD. Can someone please give me the names (and the website or email addresses) of any hostels for single women in Brisbane, preferably convent run or even independent ones? Also, how easy (or difficult) is it to take up a room on rent with a family and how much would the average rates be? Thanks


Answer
there are many sources of rooms to rent if you want something different from a hostel. you can also get a room for free by watching someone's home while they are travveling the world.

try news.com.au for classified ads and also try gumtree.com.au for ads. Also search the internet for home swap or house sitting. Safer and better for single woman and free as well.

Brisbane bus lines accident 16 february 2007?




guyatt2001


A bus running a red light in the inner city hit a car injuring the occupant. I cannot find any news about this event. Is this a cover up?


Answer
Yes it is a cover up. Tony Blair got Britian involved in the Iraq war for the very same reason. He did not want the people to worry about the bus accidents.

Big Brother is watching!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

IPhone 3G vs Nokia n97?




Dawid


Okay, i need phone to watch films, surf on internet, listen music (on headphones) long battery. I have iPhone 3G and i can exchange to nokia n97 + mp4 clark 4GB.


Answer
Nokia n97 is running an operating system that is increasingly falling out of favor (Symbian), and while it may play video and do music, you don't get the functionality that you do with an iPhone or Android-based phone, There's also lens scratching issues with the lens cover on the phone, and inconsistent interface issues.

Your best bet is to stick with the iPhone, or see about upgrading to an Android-based phone.

Good iPhone 5 games/apps?




Mona


I recently got an iPhone 5 and I used to have an iPod touch so I like, know a bunch of cool games but, I would like to know a few other good ones from others.

What are some good iPhone games/apps. I don't like games like
Angry Birds so please try not to recommend that kind of game. Couple games I like
are Jetpack Joyride, Sims 3 Ambitions, Tap Tap revenge 4, Airport Scanner... Just to give an idea of what I like to play. Apps like, Watch Disney, KiK, Instagram, iFunny (one of my faves), and more...
Please try to list as many good games or apps as possible, I prefer ones that are free or max- 99 cents.
Thanks in advance to those good answers. The longer list, the better!



Answer
TouchArcade (latest games news & reviews), FAA (Free App Alliance).

Swordigo & Soosiz (2010 games I'm playing again after not playing for many years).

Newest games: Arc Command, Asphalt 7, Rayman Run, VS Racing 2, Dark Nebula 1 & 2 (upgraded HD graphics), 21 Days (like SpyMouse), Beach Buggy, Raiden Legacy (would love Raiden DX to come out, a classic fave), BoulderDashXL, Ski Safari, Real Racing 2, ShadowGun, MiniDash, Subway Surf, TheLastDriver, Pitfall (free), Wimp, SiliBili, SkyRiders, TriggerFist, Agent Dash, Aftermath, SpyMouse, JetPack Joyride, Batman Arkam City Lockdown, Hot Pursuit, Bombshells (very good flight game), HM, Man In A Maze, Mutant Mudds (16 bit type platform game, I've always loved platform games), Smash Heat, MC4, MotorBlast, Monster Crew.

Apps: Facebook, Flipboard, Instagram, BatteryLife, SoundCloud, TuneIn Radio, Youtube, DI Radio, Adobe Reader, AirCassette, Skype, Readablity, Clear, Pocket, Zeebox, Chrome, Evernote, PicsPlay Pro, iSafePlay, Summly, World Clock Gold, Digg, IMDb, G-Whizz, Gratitude365, Newsify, Pulse, Steam.

I hope that lot helps you. I too prefer free or cheap, so that is why I listed the first two non-game apps first in my list. I also mention I am 51 yo and have been playing games since the early ones in early 80's. Most of these games are cheap; some I just have to get because of excellent graphics, gameplay and are long to play games. I like when developers put a lot of effort into creating good quality games.

===

Have an AWESOME life. Life is SOOOO much Fun. The secret to life is to have FUN (whatever you do), and learning to love yourself.

My info: Facebook-com/MichaelLindsay61




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

how do i watch live streams without lag or freezing?




chris s


I watch sports events on them they work but most of the time they get real laggy or horrible quality any way to make it not?


Answer
If its your laptop consider clearing space off your hard drive and not running lots of programs at once.
And
Livestream MAY have many people watching it causing it to lag. Otherwise the livestream has not loaded properly so try refreshing it!

or heres some if your using wifi not ethernet

Are you using a laptop and WiFi?

Try hooking it up wired direct, and see if that's where the slowdown is coming from.

Still got a problem?

A good way to tell if it is the processor or memory that's the problem, run a performance test.

Click on Start, then Run.

Type "perfmon" and hit Enter.

It should bring up a Performance window. This Performance window shows the percentage of usage of the processor, hard drive, and memory usage. Now run the stream and watch the performance of the processor and memory.

It's okay for everything to peg out at 100% while the everything is loading, or in small spikes, but none of these should stay anywhere near 100%, or it's over-loaded. If memory is pegged out, then you need more memory.

If all of these are running below 50%, then it's not you.

Thanks, TheBabyLebo

Where can I watch it?




hipo8000


Ok, I live in America, and my football coach sits next to me at luch. Anywyas he always talks about rugby with some of his Canadian friends (he lives in Canada, works in the US) So i really wanna watch a bit of rugby to get the idea of the game. Where can I watch a game since its not televised in the US


Answer
You can watch Rugby in the US. Check if you can get Setanta Sports. I know it is offered by Direct T and Comcast is supposed to add it to one of their sport packages. It you can't get it through your TV provider, try getting ITVN. It runs through a broadband internet connection and works well.

Website: http://na.setanta.com/na




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, February 7, 2014

Looking for a watch for running...?




Sarah


A little background:

I am a new runner, and I do not wish to spend obscene amounts of money on a watch. I still want a quality product, that has certain features.

Required features:

I want an accurate distance/speed/time record. Like I said, I am a new runner, and I am improving over time â progress I would like to be able to monitor easily. This is absolutely the most important thing to me.

Features I would love:

I like the idea of a plug and record watch. I would like to be able to store several months of data on my computer â in a simple manner. Software that records my data at least on the computer (more ideally, online â as I am doing a weight loss program with a friend) would be very helpful.

I would love a watch that accurately tracks calories burned â its an encouragement while running.

I really like the idea of a rechargeable rather than replaceable battery â particularly for watches that have a short life. I hate changing batteries â so if its something with a wall or USB charger â that would be ideal.

Other things to consider:

I wouldn't shy away from GPS monitoring. It's a nice feature, which adds accuracy I would think.

I also wouldn't mind heart rate monitoring. I can do it myself, but it is nice to have that data without having to slowdown and check it manually.

Some devices I've considered:

Nike+ sportband: It's an awesome price (59), and its features include 'accurate' measurement of pace and distance. The problem is, as I read the reviews â I get the feeling its only accurate for well paced runners (which I am not). I slow/speed up a great deal while I run, and I get the feeling it would not work well for me.

Nike+ Sportwatch: GPS tracking makes me think this is a more accurate device, but some reviews suggest the TomTom navigation system sometimes stops working entirely. It sports a lot of great features listed above: heart rate monitoring, calorie, pace, lap/interval... etc. It's also a bit pricier at 169 (to include sensor). I would NOT want to pay for a GPS watch that took 10-15 minutes to get a signal.

For both of these watches, I've heard mostly great things about the Nike+ website and supports (other than it being bogged down from time to time). It appears simple to use, and easy to keep track of your results, and check in with friends.

I have also looked into Garmin watches (Specifically the forerunner 10). Most of the reviews are positive but again, its a little pricier (129) â and I don't see the same supports for tracking available. I could be wrong however, as its site isn't as clean as others.
I would love feedback from anyone who has used one of these products, or has another in mind that I have not given consideration to. If you are merely reading the information on the site, I've done that. I am looking for user feedback and advice from people who own a watch they particularly like â or have had a bad experience with.

Cheaper is better (I have plenty of debt), but if there is something amazing you've used, I would like to hear about it.

Thank you for your help!



Answer
the NIKE+ does certainly fit the bill ;)
not sure about the Garmin parts (own a NIKE+ watch since a couple months) but the NIKIE+ has

- USB connector (and cable) to connect it to any computer; under m@ke$$h!t LostDOS (aka windoooooz) and Mac OS you can download an application that will
-- upload your runs (or bike rides, even though NIKE+ looks at it as runs, no matter how fast you ride >;) to NIKE+ ( http://nikeplus.nike.com/plus/running/home/ )
-- update the GPS satellite positions ffrom TomTom; this is a feature TomTom added to their car navigation systems a few years ago which speeds up catching enough GPS signals as the device does not have to scan the whole firmament but can look specifically for satellites in the "right spot"; the time it takes to get ready is thus notably shortened.
-- simply connecting it to a USB port (or charger) will charge the internal battery; the battery is Li-ion thus the usual recommendations for Li-ion apply (initially cycle the battery from fully charged to completely discharged a couple times to let the battery learn "its extremes" (Max and Min charge); then, charge it whenever you can as Li-ion has a limited number of FULL cycles (100% discharge; which can also be achieved by discharging the battery twice from 100 to 50% (or 10 times from 100 to 90%) (and recharging it in between))
-- one charge is enough for running five hours over 3 weeks; fully charged 6 hours run. the memory is NV-RAM, thus is saved even when the battery runs out & the display goes blank

accuracy is up to a few yards and quite reliable (if you live in a residential area with nicely spaced houses, it is accurate enough to pinpoint your house number!)

- a decent design, as opposed to the Garmin watches which look.... well, like some odd device? the NIKE+ Sportwatch isn't (like a colleague mentioned...) a Tissot or Omega watch, but it has a functional but decent look.
- at comparable price (Forerunner 110) the functions are much better and not as "single minded" as they seem to be on the Garmin site
- NIKE+ Sportwatch GPS also comes in either decent or very modern colors (completely gray, gray with various inside colors, totally black, green fluo (with black screen) or completely white; it isn't only very functional, it can also be... trendy?

- all NIKE+ Sportwatch GPS comes with the same basic features; more expensive models also come with a shoe add-on that allows to count steps (& thus, after calibration, guestimate distance; as you pointed out, this only works for... metronomes >:D ); can also be bought separately with some NIKE shoes; there is also the possibility to connect it to a heart beat monitor (more reliable then heart beat at the wrist)

I'm looking for a good watch to run with that will keep track of my pace, heart, calories...all the fun stuff?




CJC


Although I'm a little confused by all the offerings as well as the mixed reviews from users. Some say that the GPS on the garmin watches don't work - well that would be a shame not to get it. Some others say the Garmin 50 is too basic. Timex looks good, but doesn't have pace calculation (at least I dont think it does). So let loose people and tell me your thoughts!


Answer
You have 2 choices here, go for GPS or Footpod system. I prefer the GPS watches.

With the GPS you loose the signal a bit when you are in between tall buildings, under bridges and things like that so if you are running in a city footpod (like the Nike+ system) Might be better for you.

On the plus side, you can use them for multiple sports like cycling etc., the garmin ones let you download the data to google earth which is a nice facility and things like that. All will give you a pace display on the screen as you run. The better the watch and newer model and the gps gets more reliable. I've never had a problem with my Garmins GPS.


I'd say decide a budget for the watch and go to a running shop and check which ones do what, though I think the basic difference is that the gamin is all in one unit and the timex has a gps receiver separate from the watch (but the watch is smaller)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How fast do i have to run?




Dan


I have to run 1.5 miles in under 10 minutes 30 seconds for the royal marines prmc that i will be doing shortly, i can run 1 mile in roughly 7.5 minutes so i need to improve. Anyone know the average speed that i will have to run and how i can improve? Thanks


Answer
You will have to run around an average of 8.5 miles per hour to make this time.

To improve your speed, do two things:

1) Do interval training 3-4 times a week for 30 minutes each session. This running technique will dramatically boost your VO2 max and tolerance to running at higher speeds

2) Get yourself a garmin forerunner watch and pedometer. This watch shows how fast (in mph) you are running by using the calibrating pedometer. It then displays this on your watch screen whilst running, showing you precisely how fast you are running on your entire route. Furthermore, you can set your watch to beep at you if you fall below 8.5mph - this will tell you that you need to get your act together and run faster. At the end of your run, you can then see exactly how fast you were running throughout the whole course and which areas where fast and slow - by downloading the data onto your computer

How can I get better at running and loose weight ?




runningtos


I have just started running and I am not great at it. Im overweight a bit but I have been running 2-3 miles each day over the last week.

I can do 3 miles in about 30 mins. I would like to get up to doing 5 miles in around 40 mins.

Whats the best way to train, I have been doing interval training so jogging for one minute, running one minute etc etc.

So should I try to keep at 30 min runs and try to add more distance into that 30 mins or should I try to run for 40,

any ideas welcome.

Also does running help loose weight



Answer
Ignore that guy. What he's suggesting is called interval training; short bursts of sprinting. Great for dedicated, serious, training runners, but not for your situation. You need constant, slow, easy running.

First off, power to you for having the balls to run even when you're overweight.

3 miles in 30 minutes certainly isn't bad for someone who hasn't been seriously training.

You don't want to have to slow down every other minute. My advice would be to try and run for 20 minutes, nonstop, slowly. Slowly work your way up 30, than 40.

The best place to run is a nice soft trail. Look around for parks or similar areas, or ask other runners for the best local runs. Your local high school has a track you could use (tracks are open to the public).


And yes, running will lose you a tremendous amount of weight. No joke. Focus on running, eat a fairly healthy diet, and watch the pounds drop off. I weighed 180 before I started running and in four months, weighed 165, was skinny as pole, and had grown to love running.

Good luck to you.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What episode of Running Man should I show to people who never watched it before?







I want to show my friends Running Man but I don't know which episode I should show them to get them interested. Which episode (or episodes) do you guys think I should show them?


Answer
The Big Bang episode where all 5 are in it is my absolute favorite. It's such a funny episode. Definitely show them that. I've seen it a good 10 times.

I would also recommend the two episodes that DBSK (Yunho and Changmin) appear in. Those were hilarious episodes too. But I recommend these cuz DBSK is my favorite.

The episode with Nichkhun and Taecyeon (2pm) appear in is very funny too.

Detective Conan Episodes!?




Rachel


Hey mina~!

So... I have a quick question regarding your opinion on detective conan! If you ain't a Detective Conan fan then you suck O-O Sorry but yeah.

Anyway. Please tell moi about what your favorite episodes are in detective conan cause I feel like watching some episodes but considering there are 600+ I don't want to just randomly choose a sucky one. Therefore, please abide by rules:

1. Please don't include any Black Organization episodes. Yes, they are the coolest but I already know that so ya :)
2. Please don't include movies, OVAs, magic files, or episode 1.
3. Please tell me the episode in this format:
<Episode Number> <Episode Name if you know it> <Description of Episode>
Eg. Episode 1 - The Roller Coaster Murder Case - Jimmy and Rachel are walking together and Jimmy is talking about being a detective and all that kind of stuff. Rachel yells at him that being a detective is all he ever talks about. He stares at her, and is about to apologize when she says, "just kidding!". They go to a carnival together. As they are going in, they see Amy, and George and Mitch sneaking in so they don't have to pay. When Rachel and Jimmy are inside they see other people and one woman's skirt flies up and Jimmy figures out shes a gymnist because of they bruises on her thighs from the equipment. Jimmy has a daydream that he is confessing his love for Rachel and that they are getting married. Rachel and Jimmy go on a roller coaster and Rachel gets scared so she holds Jimmy's hand. Amy, George, and Mitch are walking around in the dark near the roller coaster and they are lost. Suddenly the coaster goes by and beads fall. When they get off the ride they discover a man is decapitated! Jimmy figures out that the gymnist killed him because she is the only one who has enough balance to lean back in her seat and hook a chain around his neck and onto the track, which sliced off his head. Jimmy and Rachel are going to leave, but Jimmy runs off after two strange men that were near the roller coaster acse earlier. He thinks they are suspicious and chases after them. Rachel has a bad feeling that something is going to go wrong. Jimmy spies on the men, but they catch him and knock him out. When he wakes he discovers he was drugged by the two men. He sees his reflection on an office building and is confused about what happened.
4. Please include at least three so I can watch more than one episode!

I'll choose the best answer based on you abiding by rules and the number of episodes that you answer! Thanks!



Answer
Detective conan is amazing :D
And since i watch the english subbed i'm going to give both dubbed and subbed episode numbers and i'm going to use the japanese names rather than the dub names

Episode 11- Moonlight sonata murder (11-12 in dub)
Kogoro Mouri received a strange cut-and-paste letter from a client called Keiji Asou asking him investigate something on Tsukikage Island. He then found out that the man requesting for the investigation, Keiji Asou, has been dead for 12 years. He was a world-renowned pianist who suddenly killed his family, set his house on fire, and played Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata as his house burnt around him.

Episode 27-28- Kogoro's class reunion murder case (ep 28-29 in dub)
After Kogoro and Conan take down a would-be bank robber, they head off to Kogoro's 15-year class reunion with Ran. Kogoro's old friends were all on the state-winning Judo team together, but when the beautiful Yumi Horikoshi turns up in her room dead of an apparent suicide, the fun is abruptly ended

episode 42- karaoke box murder case (43 in dub)
When Sonoko's dad uses his connections, Ran and Sonoko find themselves in a Karaoke Bar having lunch with the hottest band in the land! It seems like a dream come true until the lead singer, Tatsuya Kimura is poisoned right in front of their eyes. The brash super-star had plenty of enemies, but which of them hated him enough to commit murder? It's up to Conan to find out!

episode 43- Conan edogawa kidnapping case (44 in dub)
After realizing that Conan's parents have not contacted them (Kogoro and Ran Mouri) for a long stretch of time, Ran asks when his parents will be returning from overseas. Suddenly, a woman by the name of Fumiyo Edogawa enters the Mouri Detective Agency and admits to the group that she is Conan's mother and wishes to take Conan home. Soon after, Conan revels on the idea and absolute truth that this person is indeed not his mother, as Conan does not really exist, and begins to grow anxious. Worrying that she might harm his new found "family", he goes along with Fumiyo, planning to get away and figure out the mess he's gotten himself into.

Episode 48-49 Diplomat murder case (49-50 in dub)
Conan has to deal with some stiff competition when Heiji Hattori, heralded as the "Great Detective of the West", comes looking for Shinichi Kudo to prove which of them is the best detective. However, before Conan can save his reputation, he must first save himself, as a mysterious sickness threatens to close his file for good!

Episode 57-58 Holmes freak murder case (59-60 in dub)
Conan is walking on air when an invite to an elite Sherlock Holmes tour has him rubbing elbows with some fellow Holmes freaks. It should be a weekend of mystery nirvana, but when one of the guests is murdered it becomes a nightmare of survival. Can this group of mystery lovers solve the case before the killer strikes again? Their lives depend on it!

Episode 76 (1 hour special) Conan vs kaito kid (78-79 in dub)
Sonoko's family wants Kogoro to protect their priceless piece of jewelry called the Black Star from the Phantom Thief. The necklace along with other valuables will be on display at a museum where people are sure the Phantom will strike. The Phantom left a coded letter to Sonoko's father and its the first clue.

Episode 81-82 the kidnapping of the popular artist case (84-85 in dub)
The members of the pop group, Two-Mix, are kidnapped and the kidnappers demand the Detective Boys to deliver the bag belonging to one of the singers, Minami Takayama. The police tail the Detective Boys and when captured, find out Ayumi is disguised as Conan and that the kidnappers demanded Ayumi to deliver the item


Okay so i gave you more than 3 and these are my favourites from the first 100 episodes




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Why is poetry worthwhile to a brisbane audience?







in addition;
why are these poems worthwhile?
composed upon westminster bridge
river by jan turner-jones (brisbane poet, may not be able to find on internet)

River

Sometimes at night
you can feel the river.
In another town
I realise finally: this is my place.

In warm hollows and under bridges
the homeless lean together. Their hours
are framed by passing ships and cold.
We gathered once for swimming
at Indooroopilly Bridge,
clean water skipping like the word:
Indooroopilly, Indooroopilly,
carrying the desert on our backs
like turtles. Water was all.

The night the migrant mother died
they searched the water first,
found her floating, full of river,
arms outstretched to define her country.
Willing hands dragged her back
through the air. On the other side,
the flood-lit towers of Boggo Road Jail
looked exactly like Camelot.

We have raised an army near Cookâs glass
mountains: helmets out-number suns,
fish sing further and further out to seaâ¦
Oxleyâs view was less expansive â
in the tangled vines he guessed a dream,
faltering when the hard blue sky
sloped from belly to brainâ¦Tides, men,
begin fresh in the morning, suffering
is by prior arrangement.

A library grown, this year of trees,
and silted foundations expose the falling tide.
The neon fountain is off, sun stretched
wide. How can I explain what was?
I pace tight circles on concrete squares,
watch water lap the floor.
John Oxley, safe in the archives,
has run out of valleys.



Answer
I used to live in Brisbane, from 1983 to 1993. There are plenty of sights there to inspire poetry. Do they still have the two lion statues in front of the city hall building? The first photo of me in Brisbane was of me sitting on one of the lion statues.

Best places in Brisbane?




Pip


My husband and I (we're in our thirties) are planning a trip to Brisbane to suss out if we'd like to live there. What things/places MUST we see in and around Gold Coast/Sunshine Coast? (Venturing approx 100km radius of Brisbane.)
Thanks if you can help :)



Answer
Brisbane
The City Cats (ferry) on the Brisbane River are a pleasant way of getting around and will get you around to a few places. Also pleasant at night especially in warmer weather.

There are a number of parks / open spaces in or near the CBD and several not far out. Roma Street Parklands is a pleasant walk. There are two Botanical Gardens â one in the city and one at Mt Coot-tha (about 20 minutes by bus). The Planetarium can also be found at the later. New Farm Park provides a lovely place for a picnic and the kids to run around. Further out try the Boondall Wetlands especially if you like bird watching. Above Mt Coot-tha is a lookout.

Southbank Parklands has open space, childrenâs playgrounds, BBQ areas, a beach, restaurants and cafes, shops and is surrounded by the Maritime Museum, the Cultural Centre (which encompasses the Performing Arts Centre, Queensland Museum, Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art and State Library).

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary allows you to meet Australian animals in a controlled environment â they specialise in Koalaâs obviously.

Newstead House is the oldest house in existence in Brisbane and is supposedly haunted.


Moreton Bay
There are a number of Islands and bay cruises.

Stradbroke, Moreton and others offer overnight and longer stays from camping to resort accomodation.

St Helena Island was once a convict settlement for the worst of the worst. Day and night tours are available.



Gold Coast (~1 hour south of Brisbane)

There are numerous beaches. Surfers Paradise is the âfamousâ beach. However it is also the most touristy and it is probably best to go further south (Burleigh comes to mind but there are others)
There are several fun parks including Dream World, Sea World, Movie World and Wet âN Wild.

Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary has a large variety of Australian animals and is best known for the wild rainbow lorikeets that come in to feed in the morning and afternoon.

There are other attractions including the viewing platform on the Q1 building, Infinity, a wax museum, putt putt golf, thrill rides are also available.

Behind the Gold Coast is the Lamington National Park and you can stay at Binna Burra or OâReillyâs. There is also The Natural Arch and Mt Tamborine.



Sunshine Coast (~1 hour north of Brisbane)

Has plenty of beaches and natural areas including the Glass House Mountains and Noosa Nationals Park.

Underwater World and Australia Zoo are the wildlife places.


Darling Downs

Toowoomba is the heart of farming for South East Queensland. They have a gardening festival each year around September. Jondaryan Woolshed has a historical display (and festival around August) with displays on farming and shearing from days gone by.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Whats a good running watch?




XC Runner


I don't want a GPS or a large complicated one. Probably under $100. Somthing that can record your times. Also, what is a LAP time?


Answer
I'm not sure what a LAP time is, so I can't help you there, lol. But I suggest checking out http://runningwatchreviews.com . You can get ratings, prices, and customer reviews on almost every brand and style of running watch out there, and I think you can also check the Amazon price and not just the retail price. Not a bad site. I know Nike and Timex both have a couple good watches for under 100$, so you may want to start there.

Does anyone know a good running watch thats not expensive?




kasbow


I want to time my races but I don't want to pay a lot for it.


Answer
I got my running watch (a Timex Ironman 30-lap) @ Walmart for only $12...and it works great, has a chrono that times laps and splits, an alarm, 2 time zones, a timer, indiglo lighting, can function in military time, and is water resistant up to 100 meters.

Good Luck! :D




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Bradman Fantasy Q:- Can Bradman keep this average under these circumstances to surpass Sachin?




DNTH


Here I am going to make a fair comparison between Sachin and Bradman to find out the best test batsman from Sir Bradman and (Sir) Bharath Rathnam Sachin.

These are the test international records of Bradman and Sachin

Bradman Mat Inns NO Runs Highest Average
âââââ__52_80__10__6996_334___99.94___
300 200 100 50 sixes
_2__12__29_13_6

Sachin Mat Inns N O. Runs Highest Average
ââââ_181_298_32__14965_248*_56.25____
300 200 100 50 sixes
_0__5___51_61_64

To keep this simple let's subtract the not out innings from the played innings of this two. Bcz when counting the average the not out innings will be ignored. Bradman (80-10= 70) Sachin (298-32=266)

Bradman has scored 6996 off 70 innings(out innings) and averaged 99.94
Sachin has scored 14965 off 266 innings(out innings) and averaged 56.25

Now it is unfair to compare a batsman who played 70 innings with some one who played 266. So let's level the play field. Let's imagine that Bradman will get an opportunity to play the same number of tests/innings Sachin has played. So he will have to play 129 more tests /196 more innings.
So to have a better record than Sachin, let's say Bradman have to score 1000 more runs(to have a better average than Sachin) and one more hundred and a fifty than Sachin after playing the same number of tests(181) and innings (266) as Sachin. In other words Bradman needs 15965(14965+1000) runs, 52 hundreds and 62 fifties. Plus 59 more sixes lolz! He dont need to score any more 200's or 300's bcz already he has scored more of them than Sachin. Got it?
Bradman has already scored 6996 runs of 70 innings. To have a better record and average than Sachin, Bradman needs to finish with 15965(14965+1000) runs in exact number of innings as Sachin (266). So he needs further 8969 runs in 196 innings.
So this is what exactly Bradman needs to finish with a step ahead of Sachin.
â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦
8969 runs more in 196 innings with an average of 8969/196 = "45.76"
23 more 100's and 48 more 50's. Plus 59 more 6's.
In Details >
Bradman
NEEDS> Inns Runs Average 100 50 sixes
âââââ196_8969_45.76_23_48_59

So he needs to keep an average of 45.76 in those 196 innings to go ahead of Sachin. Sounds easy eh?
But he have to face lot of obstacles and new circumstances in those 196 innings. The same obstacles Sachin had to meet. So here are the advantages and disadvantages he will have .

ââDisadvantages (plenty)

1) He will have to play the same number of ODis that Sachin has played and have to keep the same average (or more) as Sachin. Minimum 45.16 average in 453 ODIs with 95 50's and 48 100's (or more). This is bcz Sachin averaged 56.25 in tests while having such a great record in ODIs. So Bradman has to do the same to level the playfield.

2) No more 8 ball overs or no any test matches lasting more than 5 days which certainly favored the batsmen in Bradman's days..

3) Now Bradman have to play world's greatest bowlers like Akram, Murali, Waqar, Walsh, Pollock, Malinga, Vaas, Zaheer, Kumble and many more. Not just some one like Harrald Lawood.

4) Bowlers will bowl using all the tools such as reverse swing which Bradman has never accustomed to.

5) Now Bradman have to play all his 196 innings outside Australia and England. He have to play in West Indies, Subcontinent, South Africa and many other various locations. So no more home doctored or accustomed conditions like in England or in his home Australia where he played most of his matches.

6) Now with the latest technology the batsmen have more chance of getting out by LBWs, Run outs and other ways. And also his opposite bowlers can figure out any of his weaknesses using the modern technology.

7) Have to hit 59 more sixes which will increase the chances of getting out.

8) No more free time between games. Got his work cut out like Sachin. A sheer busy schedule.

9) More competition between teams which will make it so difficult than the era he played.

ââAdvantages (Few)

1) No more uncovered pitches and the batsman can use helmets plus other safety equipments.

2) No more body-line bowling or dangerous field settings.

3) Just one bouncer allowed in an over.

You can add few more to those lists I guess.


So you see that he will have to face lot of obstacles and will have very few advantages. So can he keep the average of 45.76 under those circumstances to surpass Sachin and have the better record?

This thing will never happen in reality. So this is just a fantasy and an opinion based question. So what's your opinion. Will Sir Don Bradman fail or will he pass the test??????

Read carefully, take your time and answer. This question will be opened for at least four more days.
@Lomax I said "not just some one like Larwood". I meant that Bradman has to play not just one great bowler. He has to play many great bowlers. Ofcoz Larwood was one of the greatest on his era. So that's why I mentioned his name.
WG Grace was just an after thought. The best batsmen who have played in the game are Sachin and Bradman. I dont think any of the others can be even counted it.
@Bill P. I am not saying the batting was so easy or I am not taking any thing away from Bradman's brilliance. What I am doing was just sorting out the facts. I think that Joeblow has added some more I have missed.
@Lomax :- http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/4188.html?class=1;template=results;type=batting
You see here that Bradman played 15 outta his 52 matches against India South Africa and West indies. Those 3 teams have just started their careers and were minnows those days. So that is similar to Sachin played some test matches against Bangaldesh and Zimbabwe. So it is fair.

Bradman averaged 140+ against those 3 minnow teams and 89 against England. Similar to Sachin who also averaged higher against minnows like Bangaldesh and Zim's



Answer
Bradman would easily be able to overtake Tendulkar's total of runs in the sample you have given. The more you play the better chance you have of getting very good at what you do. In another 20 years none of the records Tendulkar holds today will still be held by Tendulkar.

To add to your Advantages for Bradman if he was to play today instead of back in the 30's and 40's is

4) no world wars to worry about
5) not having to spend weeks at sea to go to a cricket tour
6) having protective equipment allowing you to play any delivery without fearing your life
7) have bats three times as big as in Bradman's actual day so top edges often go for sixes where as in Bradman's day it was practically impossible to hit sixes
8) 10+ metre shorter boundaries meaning many hundreds (or in Tendulkar's case 1000+ runs given for balls clearing the rop but not reaching the fence)
9) actual practice facilities rather than needing a stump/water tank and golf ball
10) technology to watch over and analyse every aspect of yours and your competitors game before you ge

Whats a good running watch?




bornysays


I would like a good running watch with lots of features for not too much money. I think Timex is a good brand.


Answer
a good solid, dependable watch is nike watches

http://www.nike.com/timing/

New TV show take the money and run. Ware can i watch it online?

Q. i wanted to watch the premier last night but i Fell asleep before it came on. is there a website ware i can watch last nights episode?


Answer
http://www.hulu.com/watch/264621/take-the-money-and-run-oh-brother




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the best GPS watch for a distance runner?




Beth Danne


During the summer, I want a good GPS watch to clock 5+ mile long runs with... I want a watch that can tell me my minute-per-mile pace, miles ran, and how long I am running for, but is still a fairly reasonable price ($100-$200). What is the best website to order a GPS watch from, or just the best watch?


Answer
I have a Garmin 305. Its old, and they don't make them anymore. but you can still find them at Overstock.com.
It has a heart rate monitor. there are all kinds of accessories for it, too. It has every feature that you could ever want. It can upload and download stuff from your computer - and although its old - its software is new.
However its bulky , and ugly, and slow to find satellites (easy workaround - turn it on before you start warming up).
Amazon is a pretty good place to shop around. and the reviews are worth reading. DCRainmaker has a great website and he does very good reviews and has a lot of side by side comparisons.

I'm pretty sure the least expensive GPS watch is the Timex Marathon. and it does everything you want.
Oh, by the way. All GPS watches can not give you an accurate instantaneous pace. Some of them can be connected to a foot pod that can help with that. Also you can hit the lap button and get your pace for that lap. But if all you need it for is the features you listed you might be better off with a pedometer. If you have an ipod, the nike + kit is only $25.

What training/GPS watch to buy?




Leonard Mc


Hello,
as i have mentioned before i am kind of a beginner runner. Im doing quite well, already have placed running in my every day schedule . Ive read about all these training /GPS running watches on the market and i think i should buy one. I would love to track my training and i also saw that some have set programmes but im so confused on picking the right one for me. Please help!
Thanks!



Answer
Ahh, the watch search..
Been there, done that, love to share.

First off, it totally depends on what stats you are looking for and how much money you willing to spend.
There are watches that track distance, calories, pace, time and heart rate if you get a heart rate monitor (i would advise that, specially as a smoker).

There are watches that track all the above while cycling or swimming too. In fact there are even watches that have even a barometric altimeter, compass and a hunt/fish calendar..Ok yeah i know, not for running, but still its amazing.
As Apollenaire stated above me, i swear by garmin too.

If you want to expand your training to cycling and swimming, i strongly recommend the Garmin Forerunner 310xt. Its as far as i know the only watch out there that can deliver on all 3 modes and is 100% waterproof. http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/whrm-review-the-ultimate-tool-or-just-another-stop-watch/
If you want to just have a watch to track your running and all that in a really really really simple way, id get the Forerunner 110. Its made just for running and is as easy to use as a stop watch.(plus it looks too cool and comes in many colors) http://www.runningwatchesreviews.com/garmin-forerunner-110-gps-sport-watch-with-heart-rate-monitor-review-think-pink/

Note: if you do get a heart rate monitor and you dont like the strap , good thing about garmin is that you can buy a polar strap and it will work fine with the garmin transmitor, but the polar transmitor doesnt work with a garmin watch.

Take care and keep running!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers