Saturday, November 16, 2013

How to be a better cross country runner?

best watch for cross country runners on --
best watch for cross country runners image



nessa


I love running.. most of the time. But I mean we all have those days right? Anyways, I would like to hear some of your tips for running cross country! I'll be a sophomore this year, I've been running since 7th grade but I was never that serious. The competitiveness of outdoor track and field really got me interested, so I'd definitely like to improve my times this year.
What do you normally eat?
The toughest workout?
How to push through the pain?
PR's? I'd love to hear them!
And honestly just any tips you'd like to share.

Thanks for your time everyone :)



Answer
What do you normally eat-meat, apples, bananas, water, granola bars, eggs, salad, chicken, strawberries, yogurt, low fat special k brownie, tuna

Toughest workout- Well when I joined cross country, I was in horrible shape! So a lot of the workouts the first week were really tough, but my toughest workout was when we had to run 5 miles to run up a really steep mountain. But we had to sprint up the steep mountain, after that, we had to sprint down the mountain and then luckily took a shortcut back to school.
How to push through the pain- be confident in yourself, just think of how good it feels to get into shape, just stretch a lot, take advil, ice baths, roll out your shins with a rolling pin.

Tips-make sure to eat healthy and stay hydrated all the time. Be proud of yourself that you are joining such a hard but worthwhile sport! At meets, make sure to bring a granola bar, advil, extra pair of of socks, plenty of water, rolling pin to stretch out, and bring a watch to practice and meets(this will come in handy when figuring out your PR)

My PR-at the end of the season my PR was 21:27, wish it was a little better, but when I started the season, it was 28:41!

Good tips on how to start and stay on a diet?




Peetie


I'm a thirteen year old runner and cross country season has ended. During season I wouldn't watch what I would eat because I would just end up running it off. Unfortunately that habit has stayed and I have gained about five pounds. Help?


Answer
All the tips and secrets you need are right here...


http://a0b3e8l7zopz7s4hvctc2r8wax.hop.clickbank.net/




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it worth buying the Garmin 610 or will they come out with a better one soon?

running watch 610 on Garmin Forerunner GPS watch gets a touchscreen | Ubergizmo
running watch 610 image



Alex


I was thinking about buying the Garmin 610. It is very expensive though, so I was wondering if it is worth it or should I just wait. And how long do you thing it would be? Thanks!


Answer
Personally, as a runner, I don't understand the difference between the 301 and everything that has come after it (though I do understand the need for a company to market new products). It costs about 3 times what I paid for my 301 and for what, a touch screen instead of the buttons or to download a performance that I can compare with others online? No matter how many bells and whistles they add to it, after a GPS watch tells you how far you ran, how fast you ran it, how fast your heart beat doing it, if you are on pace doing a run and is able to download this information onto a computer, everything else is marketing.

What is the best GPS watch with HR monitor for mountain biking and running?




Chris


I love to mountain bike and run so I am looking for a watch that handles both, that isn't too bulky. Most online reviews are outdated and product reviews seem too vague.


Answer
I think it's going to depend the bike features (if any) you want. Any GPS watch on the market can track time, distance, and speed (in mph or kph) which are the basic things you'd probably want to see while mountain biking.

But some watches come with bike specific features like: speed and cadence sensors, power meter support, custom bike settings (good if you use multiple bikes with different wheel sizes WITH the speed and cadence sensor).

The problem is most of the watches with these features are found on the bulky, triathlete GPS watches.

But the TomTom Multi-sport might work for you. It has some bike features, supports a HRM, and isn't too bulky.

Some good non-bike feature watches with a HRM are Garmin's 210 and 610 -- or, if you can wait a few weeks, these are being replaced by the 220 and 620.

If you want to read some more about the different features available, you can check out this buyers guide I wrote here: http://athletesgps.com/2013-gps-watch-buyers-guide/




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, November 15, 2013

How do I treat Plantar Faschia?

sports watches for runners nike on Amazon.com: Nike+ SportWatch GPS Powered by TomTom (Black/Volt): GPS ...
sports watches for runners nike image



Cheese


I don't want to mask the pain.I want to get rid of it.I walk a couple of miles a day,and I try to walk through the pain,but it doesn't always go away.I've had it for a couple of months.Are there any foot doctors out there or runners that can suggest something?


Answer
I TRIED TO EMAIL YOU AND I GOT A SCREEN SAYING THAT MY MESSAGE WAS UNDELIVERABLE BECAUSE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS HAS NOT BEEN CONFIRMED. I decided to post my answer within this forum.

Did you have this problem before you had surgery? If so, here is my answer:

I feel for you. I truly do. I've been there myself. If you give youself some time to heal, it will go away but as soon as you begin pushing yourself hard, the problem will likely reappear. Something that's helped me is custom made orthotic shoe inserts, not heal cups. I also stretch my upper heals and shins one at a time by sitting and pointing my toes as far forward as they will go, hold for 15-20 sec, and then flex the same foot up as far as it will go for 15-20 secs. I do this whenever I'm sitting still...watching TV, reading, etc. Ibuprofen helps with the inflammation and if I'm training for an event, I massage my legs from my knees down with peppermint foot cream. It works a lot like sports cream but it doesn't stink and it doesn't stain your clothes.

If you DID NOT have this problem before you took some time off to have surgery, I've got good news for you. Some people are prone to plantar fascia. If it didn't bother you before, you can likely beat it. I run into this a lot. Runners have no problem until they stop running for a while and then try to start back. It doesn't take long to get those muscles, tendons, and ligaments out of shape. This has worked for many people that I personally know. If you have access to a gym, go there and work with a few weights...light enough that you can do 3 sets of 15. YOU'RE NOT LOOKING TO BUILD MUSCLE. YOU'RE LOOKING TO INCREASE ENDURANCE. While standing, place a small weight on the top of your shoe. Flex your foot upward with a controlled range of motion. Hold for 10 secs and bring down slowly. Do not allow your foot to return to a resting position until you're done with all three sets. Even when you bring your foot down from the flex, there should still be some tension on it. DO 3 sets of 15 and repeat with the other foot.

THEN do standing and seated calf raises. To maximize the benefit, chose two different positions for your feet while doing the calf raises. For example, when you're standing, allow both feet to face foreward (like you can imagine) and when you're sitting, turn your toes toward each other, kind of like you're pigeon-toed. Believe it or not, a few hamstring curls and the leg press (low weight, high reps) will also serve to get you back to where you were to begin with. As far as your running, I know it's hard to resist not pushing yourself, but take it slow for a while. Start with perhaps one third of the distance you were doing before surgery and SLOWLY work your way back up.


I've had Plantar Fascia for years. I recommend a really great shoe. I use New Balance and trust me, I've gone through all of the other shoes out there, from Nike, Adidas, Avia, Converse, Reebok, Saucony. Nothing measures up to New Balance.

If you want to go more extreme than a great shoe, you can go to a podiatrist. You may be a good candidate for surgery to correct the problem OR if you have insurance, the doctor can prescribe a special, custom made shoe insert and it probably won't cost you anything.

What is the best kind of running shoe?




susie


I run a lot, but recently my feet have been hurting. I blame my shoes from Target, lol. I need a better running shoe. What brands would you reccomend and not reccomend?


Answer
Go to a running store and get your run evaluated. If you are running a lot, just picking a shoe out that may work for someone else is not the way to go. I was having a lot of foot problems when I first started running. It was the shoe. I went to Fleet Feet - not sure if they are a chain or not. But many true running stores will do the same thing. They had me get on a treadmill and they video taped me running. Then they go back and evaluate how I ran. I have a really bad roll out. It was horrible to watch. I was fitted for a shoe to specifically help the problem. Guess what - no more foot pain.
I need to get new ones now and went to a sports store thinking they might have that shoe (it is a Nike) and when I told her the problem she said they don't carry it - I would need to go back to the running store.
Many sports stores, while they might carry Nike, New Balance, etc., don't necessarily carry what hard core runners need. You really want someone who knows what they are talking about fit you for a shoe.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the funniest thought you can think of?

running watches for women nike on Sorry, this item is not available in Image not available To view this ...
running watches for women nike image



emmirose


10 points to whoever can make me laugh the hardest!


Answer
dont tell me that anyone can beat these, caz they cant...
_________________________
Title: A Sexual Encounter between a Capacitor and an Inductor

One evening, with his charge at full capacity, Micro Farad decided to get a cute coil to discharge him. He went to the Magnet Bar to pick up a chip called Millie Amp. He caught her out back trying self induction; fortunately, she had not damaged her solenoid. The two took off on his megacycle and rode across the Wheatstone Bridge into a magnetic field, next to a flowing current , to watch the sine waves.

Micro Farad was very much stimulated by Millie's characteristic curve. Being attractive himself, he soon had her field fully excited. He set her on the ground potential, raised his frequency, lowered her resistance, and pulled out his high voltage probe. When he inserted it in parallel, he short-circuited her shunt. Fully excited, Millie cried out, "ohm, ohm, give me mho". As he increased his tube to maximum output, her coil vibrated from the current flow. It did not take long for her shunt to reach maximum heat. Now with the excessive current shortening her shunt, Micro's capacity rapidly discharged â every electron was drained off. But that was not the end of it. Indeed, they fluxed all night, tried various connections and hookings until his bar magnet weakened, and he could no longer generate enough voltage to sustain his collapsing field. With his battery fully discharged, Micro was unable to excite his tickler, so they went home. A few weeks later, they were merged forever and oscillated happily ever after.
_______________________________________

A guy calls a company and orders their 5-day, 10 lb. Weight loss program..
The next day, there's a knock on the door and there stands before him a
voluptuous, Athletic, 19 year old babe dressed in nothing but a pair of Nike running shoes and a sign Around her neck. She introduces herself as a representative of the weight loss company. The sign reads, 'If you can catch me, you can have me.' Without a second thought, he takes off after her. A few miles later huffing and puffing, He finally gives up... The same girl shows up for the next four days and the same thing happens. On the fifth day, he weighs himself and is delighted to find he has lost 10 lbs. As promised.

He calls the company and orders their 5-day/20 pound program.
The next day there's a knock at the door and there stands the most stunning, Beautiful, sexy woman he has ever seen in his life.. She is wearing nothing but Reebok running shoes and a sign around her neck that reads, 'If you catch me you can have me'. Well, he's out the door after her like a shot. This girl is in excellent shape and he Does his best, but no such luck. So for the next four days, the same routine happens With him gradually getting in better and better shape. Much to his delight on the fifth day when he weighs himself, he discovers that he Has lost another 20 lbs. As promised.

He decides to go for broke and calls the company To order the 7-day/50 pound program 'Are you sure?' asks the representative on the phone... 'This is our most rigorous program.' 'Absolutely,' he replies, 'I haven't felt this good in years.'
The next day there's a knock at the door; and when he opens it he finds a huge muscular Guy standing there wearing nothing but pink running shoes and a sign around his neck That reads,

'If I catch you, you're mine.'

How do I deal with having really big breasts? I'm starting to dislike them...?




Vanessa


I just turned 16 and I'm wearing a D cup (but i might outgrow that soon too *shudder*) Some girls I know wish their breasts were bigger. They are b cups, and honestly, I would love to trade with them. There's certain shirt styles that my friends wear that I can't wear anymore. I never wear my favorite shirt anymore because when I do i can see and feel the material stretching cause my boobs are too big for it.I feel really self conscious about my breasts. I catch a lot of the guys at school staring at my chest. The attention is unwanted, especially when some of them start making pervy comments. I hate things like PE class and such. I do have a sports bra, but my breasts still bounce and I just hate that feeing! And i know i'm being watched the entire time. Even hitting bumps on car rides makes my chest start bouncing. Grrr.. Another thing is my back and shoulders ache because of the size of my breasts. By the time school is over, my back is killing me. What can i do to feel more comfortable about my breasts? Sometimes i kinda wish i could get them reduced.
I might be closer to a DD



Answer
You need better bras, for starters. With large breasts, you need more substantial bands and straps and most likely an underwire and a structured cup if you are going to be comfortable. Those stringy little things a-and-b-cup wearers can get away with won't cut it. For sports bras I like Enell if you are going to be running or jumping, though Nike makes a couple of decent ones also. If you are willing to drop the coin on a high-end place it's worth it to get fitted... otherwise, don't fixate on a size but TRY EVERYTHING ON until it fits well.

That'll most likely help with your back issues. If you opt for a reduction you mostly have to wait until they are done growing anyway.

Clothing-wise you may do better shopping in the "Women's/Misses" department rather than the "Juniors". You can get just as trendy stuff, but it's cut bigger in the bust. Wrap tops and three quarter length sleeves are flattering without being too boobylicious.

And feel free to report boys who make inappropriate comments about you to whatever local authorities there are. It's harassment and better for them to get detention than a lawsuit and a divorce ten years down the road.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What can I do to when I work out during the summer?

running watches at target on Pyle Sports Mens Marathon Runner Watch with Target Time Setting, Time
running watches at target image



YoungSirrg


I hate running and people watching me so I might do it in the alley.......

Also should i do like situps in school or something???

Someone recommend me to some things

Basically I am asking u to give me like a schedule I should do to lose some weight...

I am 5'7 and 198 pounds.... My friends dont think im fat im just chubby but when I looked at myself today I see something different.....

Please help!



Answer
This is a good tip that will help you lose weight and build muscle!!!
Building muscle and burning fat are common goals in today's health and image conscious society.

In order to build muscle and burn fat, you must focus on three core principles. You need the right materials, the right tools, and sufficient time to create the body of your dreams. To obtain the ultimate physique, you should:

Eat Right - Proper nutrition is extremely important, not only to fuel your workouts, but to provide the right building materials for your body to build muscle and burn fat. Nutrition is one of the most neglected areas of any bodybuilding or fat loss program. Considering the amount of conflicting information available, especially for people who want to build muscle or burn fat, it is no wonder that we often miss the target on nutrition.

So, what is nutrition? Nutrition is the process by which we take in and uses food and supplements for health, growth, and energy.

Foods contain a series of basic nutrients that the body uses for these functions. These nutrients are:


Macronutrients
Carbohydrates
Fats
Proteins


Micronutrients
Vitamins
Minerals


Water

Workout - A solid workout plan provides the tools for your body to use the building materials from your nutrition plan. We provide free workout plans designed to build muscle mass or burn fat.

How much weight could i lose in 8 week, by running everyday, and watching what i eat?




tall_but_c


No sugars, greasey foods and running ten laps over at the local playground(basically a parking lot). I'm really trying to slim thighs and lose inches.


Answer
One can safely lose 1-2 lbs./week with the expectation that you will keep it off if you continue to eat healthy and maintain a good exercise regimen. If you lost 2 lbs./week than in 8 weeks you would lose 16 lbs (not 25-40!).

Something to consider...you want to lose fat, not muscle. You will gain muscle from the exercise, which weighs more than fat so really looking at the scale isn't the best idea. You need a measuring tape which you can find at Target (looking in the ironing/sewing section) or at a local sewing store. Let the tape measure be your guide. You should track your *inches* lost since weight is relative to how much muscle mass vs. fat you have. Also consider part of your weight is bones, water, blood, your organs and any food that hasn't digested yet.

Start today and measure your arms, chest, waist, hips and thighs. Write the measurements down and keep recording once every week. By the end of 8 weeks you'll be pleasantly surprised at your progress and how great you look in the mirror, regardless of what the scale says! :-)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Any runners/anyone have suggestions for a good sportswatch and where to get it?

cheap watch for runners on ... spots to watch and cheer 2011 NYC Marathon runners � NYC on the Cheap
cheap watch for runners image



soccerstud


Looking for something CHEAP, easy to read, and easy to use. I'm hoping to be able to purchase it from a local retail store so I don't have to order it online. I already checked Fleet Feet online and their cheapest watch was around $40-50, which is a little bit much for just keeping time for running. Thanks!


Answer
Timex Ironman watches are the best. It's probably the most common watch for distance runners. You can get them at that price range at Target or other retail stores or on Amazon.

What website is the best cheapest one to buy a Xbox 360 Pro?




Cpl. Iceno


I need a cheap place THAT DOSENT LIE/SCAM that i can buy a Xbox 360 60GB Pro System? Do you know where? Post a link and i will rate!


Answer
Hi.

It is impossible to guarantee that any vendor will not "LIE/SCAM". In my opinion, You have to reckon that most people are basically honest and watch out for the nasty ones.

The thing to go for is obviously a good price but you might get an idea as to how genuine they are by sending them some queries. The fact is that you probably have a pretty good idea about the XBox 360 already and you'll soon pick up if they seem to be using loads of flannel and waffle just to push you into buying.

Another important factor is how well established the vendor is. You don't want to have to return a product only to find "they've done a runner"!

I know you might say I have a vested interest in saying what I am about to say but I recommend searching, initially at least, through eBay listings. Find a vendor that has good ratings and the chances are you are going to get at least reasonable service. The prices are all out in the open too so there's no one price for you and another price for others.

I personally start on eBay everytime. If that doesn't get me anywhwere, then I try the Google links and if all else fails, check out Amazon. Not only do they retail on their own account but they also sell for others. Sometimes you can buy a really good product that technically cannot be sold as perfect and new but for a fraction of the normal price.

All of these "offerings" are on two of my sites; one in the USA and one in the UK. If you want to look at the XBox 360 deals try http://lawrencesupersite.com/search.php?... for USA or . http://www.lawrencesupersite.co.uk/searc... for UK.

Use the eBay Search box if you want only the 60GB deals: "XBox 360 60GB Pro" should get it. I just tried and it brought up 40 on the first page and 76 when I used the Search box.

Not everyone is out to scam you. It's worth a look. Happy hunting. The XBox 360 is a great piece of kit.

If you don't fancy my sites, the principal I have recommended still hold true.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I'm planning to buy a hamster soon.How to know is it healthy or not?What kind of home-made food does it like?

buy running watches online on ... HR Black RUNNING Sports Watch- Buy Watches Online | nzwatches.com
buy running watches online image



M & M


I've done some little info gathering online about hamsters but an expert opinion from someone who kept a hamster will be more effective.What does the cage must look like?What is the best feeding time?Tips that is forgotten by rookies?


Answer
You can help be able to tell if it is healthy by shopping in the evening or night for your hamster. Check to see if it was eating food, or drinking water, or running areound be active. Watch it for a while. Then ask an assititant if you could hold your favorite and most healthy one. If you like him then buy 'em

Read this website it gives a lot of info on cages and feeding!!
http://www.freewebs.com/happyhamsterhelp/feeding.htm

How can I watch shows from the computer on my TV?




Mexigrl


I like to watch Hulu.com and other sites but don't enjoy watching them on my little computer screen. Can anyone advise the best way to watch online programming on my television - preferably without buying a new TV (i.e. Google TV etc). I've seen what looks like a box that maybe transmits wirelessly? I'm not very techie so I appreciate the assistance and would like the simplest method.

Thank you!



Answer
You need to get a VGI and an audio cords. They run from your TV to your computer. They run about $30 at walmart for both.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it possible for me to get a 22 minute 5k by the end of cross country season?

running watches that track mileage on ... 1100 RS 1995-M REG SPARES OR REPAIR PROJECT RUNNING HIGH MILES | eBay
running watches that track mileage image



J


I'm a 15 year old girl, 5'2 120lbs. My time last season was 28:31 which is really bad because I walked some of it.. I've been doing track and I've gotten a little better at running, but not much.

Over summer practice I'm planning to work EXTREMELY HARD to get my time down. I'm starting my workout plan after track ends which is the beginning of June so I have June, July, and August until my first meet at the beginning of September. If I work hard and eat right is it possible for me to get down to 24 minutes at the beginning of the season and bring it down to 22 minutes at the end?

And are there any other training tips you guys can suggest to help me with my goal? What to incorporate into my runs, cross training, avoiding injury, mental strength, etc



Answer
By extremely hard, I hope you know that means you'll have to be running 35-40 miles per week. Any less than that and it just won't happen.

June and July are ALL about building up mileage. This should be your standard week:
Monday: 6
Tuesday: 5
Wednesday: 6
Thursday: 5
Friday: 5
Saturday: 7 or 8
Sunday: 3

Every two weeks or so, throw in a fartlek (easy warmup mile, then do a 1-2-3-2-1 ladder: 1 minute hard [2 minute slow jog] 2 minute hard [2 minute slow jog] 3 minute hard [2 minute slow jog] 2 minute hard [2 minute slow jog] 1 minute hard, and then a cool down for the duration of the four miles)

You should be doing core every day, I like to do 5-10 minutes of it straight. (ie one minute of plank, one minute of side crunches, one minute of Russian twists... you get the idea. No rest in between.)

Drink lots of water. The best way (in my opinion) to eat healthy, is to completely stop eating sweets, fried foods, and soda for forty days. After that, you don't have an addiction any more, and while sweets still taste good to you and you want them, you don't NEED them. I probably only have a dessert once every three days.

Do strength training twice a week. Go to the gym and workout your arms for 15-20 minutes, and make sure you workout your hamstrings. Don't bother with quads and calves much, you're running enough where you don't need to, it's really just going to make you sore.

Honestly, I don't really bother with cross training, but there are plenty of people who rave about it. To me, I'd just rather have a good run. Cross training is great if you're injured though.

Mentally, you just have to really push yourself. Pick up the pace on the last mile. By the last 100m, you should be really breathing hard.

Take ice baths after every long run or speed work, and eat protein within 30 minutes of running if you can.

Hope I helped! Oh, and train with a watch; it helps you so much. Keep a log of your running too so you stay on track and can see yourself getting faster.

How to go from a 12 minute mile down to an 8-7 minute mile in less than a year?




Lauren Ish


I know it sounds crazy, but i wanna show everyone the track star within me lol ridiculous, right? If you give me a distance running plan I will follow it to a tee.

How long should I run a day? Track starts up again in less than a month. I want to condition for this upcoming season,and when I come back In the winter (next year) I want to have a decent running time. I want to prove everybody wrong, all those people that put me down and called me slow. I don't think running fast frustrates the average person as much as it frustrates me. I am 17 and a junior. I started track this year. I'm a girl.



Answer
It's not ridiculous at all, anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. I would also bet that you are out of shape by now, it only takes ten days for your body to start loosing muscle. So, since you're just getting into running again I would suggest that you start going for some distance runs 1-2 miles 4-5 times a week. You don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

The benefit of starting early is that you have a couple months to train, which is plenty of time to whip yourself into shape. Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Set an alarm to wake yourself up in the morning, then just get out and do it. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Now, after a a month of training the schedule above is going to seem pretty easy, this will be because your endurance base has built up and you can start pushing yourself to go faster and you're plan could look a little something like this:

Monday: Distance run (1-4 miles slower 10-12 minute mile)
Tuesday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 7-8 minute mile)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-4 miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Thursday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 7-8 minute mile)
Friday: Distance run (1-4 miles miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

This training plan should start putting you into great shape before track. Hope this helps! If you follow this training plan, or one like this I promise that you can prove everyone wrong. Good luck, and feel free to message me if you have any more questions!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Really good abdominal workouts to cut down belly fat?

jelly running watches on ... Noble Nook HD 32GB Rooted and Running Android 4 3 Jelly Bean | eBay
jelly running watches image



Country Gi


I need some very good ab workouts to help cut down my 'jelly roll'. Could you post some videos/websites that will give me some very good tips and workouts? Thank you so much:)


Answer
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQ3fJnk5ipU


Dont forget to run if want to get rid of it!

I have an ornamental plum tree (cherry plums) - wikipedia says I can use them to make jam. How do I do that?




shambo


I've never made jams/jellies before, but I have time to kill during the summer.


Answer
I realise the Cherry-Plum (Prunus cerasifera) is a different species from the Mirabelle (Prunus domestica var. syriaca) but you can treat them in the kitchen in the same manner:

Mirabelle (cherry plum) Preserve

1kg mirabelles
750g preserving sugar

Wash, drain and stone the mirabelles. Place them in a bowl, a layer of mirabelles, then a layer of sugar, and continue to alternate until the mirabelles run out. Macerate for 5-6 hours

Transfer the macerated fruit to a preserving pan. Bring them *gently* to the boil. Continue to cook, maintaining a gentle boil, on a low flame for 20 minutes, stirring continually to prevent the preserve sticking to the base of the pan.

Prepare your jars by submerging in boiling water for several minutes and transfer to a rack to drain and dry themselves.

Remove the preserve from the heat and cool to a workable handling temperature. Ladle or decant the preserve into the jars and make sure they cool *completely* before commencing next step.

When quite cold, cover surface of preserve with parchment preserving discs and seal jars tightly.

Mirabelles, like Morello Cherries, produce a very loose preserve. Avoid overcooking the preserve in search of a strong set, because it won't happen, but the (over)extended cooking will damage the flavour in the meantime.

Note: you may find that the fruit have quite tough skins. If so, you can spend a laborious time tong-ing them out of the preserve as they detach -- watch out: it's easy to burn yourself on steam doing this! -- or strain them through a not-so-fine sieve when most of the skins have detached (after 10 mins approx) and then bring back to the boil and complete the preserving process time.

Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What if my only ambition in life is to eat sleep and watch tv?

running watches on amazon on ... ' MARATHON RUNNER WATCH (PINK) [PSWLMR30P] -: Watches: Amazon.com
running watches on amazon image



lucy


I've been unemployed for 1 yr and 9 months. I've been living off the checks. I'm not really looking for a job right now because there are none, but eventually the money will run out and I will have to work! Im 26, and I don't have a college education. I went to massage therapy school 7 years ago and never took the state exam, so I don't remember anything and you need the license to work. So I feel hopeless, I know I brought this upon myself. Any suggestions or advice would be great.


Answer
Why dont you take a preperation class for the exam? I dont know where you are located but Baker college offers a class like this in Michigan where it is essentially a study/review class for the test. There are also review books full of sample questions you can usually find on ebay/amazon.com for cheap to study from, which you could yourself at home. If you just give yourself a little push, I am sure you can do it and there are lots of people looking for massage therapists in every state.

What does it mean when my parakeet runs around my house?




Pretty You


I got a parakeet for mothers day. She doesn't seem aggressive and allows my hubby to pick her up (using a stick). She hasn't bit yet. But we let her out of her cage and she is starting to move around the house. I have her set up in my livingroom ( less traffic because we all hang out and watch tv in the den area) and for some hours she was out of her cage. My hubby and kids could not find her, only for me to notice her standing right next to my bed as I was taking a nap. Does her walking around my house mean she is getting comfortable??


Answer
No, it's very normal! Budgies like to be out of their cage. They don't like to be trapped in a cage 24/7. Did you know you have to let your bird out for supervised playtime out of the cage for at least 1-2 hours each day? That's to keep them happy and exercised. They'll feel depressed if they're kept in a cage for too long. Birds need freedom, even if they're pets. My mom used to have an amazon parrot that demanded at least 5 or 6 hours to play around in the house each day. A budgie won't need that much time like a big parrot, but they still need a few hours. It's not her getting uncomfortable in the house, it's her getting uncomfortable in the cage. So you need to let it out to play for a few hours per day. It doesn't have to be continuous, as long as it adds up to the total amount of time she needs. Hope I helped!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, November 14, 2013

How do I keep my dog from attacking my Christmas presents?

top running watches under 100 on on leaders of opposing camps--Mood: S7 Memorial, this is the best ...
top running watches under 100 image
Q. I have a beagle puppy that is now 4 months old. The problem is that he loves to tear things up, any and everything. He's taken a great liking to chewing up some of the ornaments on the Christmas tree. The thing is I am afraid he's going to do the same thing to the presents once they are under there. I've looked at some gates to put up around the tree, but they are running around $100. Does anyone know of any places to get a cheaper gate or have any creative ideas on how to keep my puppy from causing more destruction?


Answer
Last year I wrapped a sheet around the tree, from top to bottom so she couldn't see the tree at all.when we weren't around to watch her. Unattractive, I know, but my dog didn't touch the ornaments after that. As soon as I came home I would take the sheet off.

This year she knows better. The presents on the other hand, as beautiful as the tree looks loaded with gifts under it, they stay in the storage room until Christmas Eve. Otherwise everything we bought for everyone would get destroyed.

Good luck!

Which direction should my ceiling fans rotate in summer? They are on the top floor.?




Shawn B


My ceiling fans are on the top floor of my 2 floor townhome. With the central air on, the first floor gets cooled first, and since the thermostat is on that floor, the first floor stays coolest. The second floor, where the bedrooms are, tend to be warmer. Should I set the fans to rotate upwards to pull the cool air upstairs, or should they rotate downwards to create a "wind chill" effect?


Answer
Quite frankly, if your ceiling fans upstairs are in the bedrooms, they will do little to affect moving the air from downstairs to upstairs or visa-versa. You can turn them up on high speed in either direction just to try and get the air moving more in your house, which may help slightly. However, the best way to help draw the room air from downstairs to upstairs is to have a fan in the stairway leading upstairs and most likely operate it in reverse on a high speed. This will draw a column of air from below and force it up and out towards the upstairs. The rest of this answer is copied from a previous posting I made to Yahoo! Answers regarding this question.

After being in the ceiling fan business for over 20 years, I've answered this question thousands of timesâ¦in several ways. The technical answer from the fan manufacturers is: During the summer the fan should run counter clockwise (as you look up at it). During the winter, clockwise at a low speed. However, most people get confused with this answerâ¦and canât remember the next day, which is correct. Plus, it is not 100% correct.

So, here are some alternative answers:

During the summer, you want the air blowing directly on you so you will feel cooler from the wind chill effect (which is how fans cool you off). So stand under the fan and turn it up on high speed. If you "Do Not" feel the air very well, then turn the fan off and flick the reverse toggle switch. Turn it back on high speed. If you feel more air, you have it in the right position. So whichever position you feel the most air movement when standing directly under the fan is the correct position for summer. If you do not feel much air in either direction, then your fan has a very weak motor with a relatively flat pitch to the blade. Fans like this won't do much good for you in either direction during the summer. If this is this case, you may wish to consider visiting a specialty fan dealer online to get a more powerful fan than the ones they sell at the home centers.

During the winter, it is the opposite. You do not want to feel the air movement from the fan blowing directly on you since this will make you feel cooler from the wind chill effect. So, again...stand under the fan and turn it up on high speed. Whichever mode you feel the least amount of air is the correct mode for winter. However, you want to operate the fan at a low speed during the winter, otherwise, even in the correct mode, you will still get some wind chill effect, which you do not want.

To set the matter straight about how fans work during the winter and summer:

During winter (in the correct mode as described above), the fan will slowly draw the cooler air from floor level directly below the fan upwards to the ceiling where it mixes with the warmer air. The air is then kicked out across the ceiling towards the walls as it comes down. This circulates the air giving you the least amount of direct air movement, which minimizes the wind chill effect.

During the summer, you want the maximum wind chill effect, so the main column of air that rushes straight down from the fan is what you will feel the most. However, if your fan is not directly over the area where you want to feel coolest, say your room is rather large with a fan in the middle and your couch closer to an outer wall, you might find yourself more comfortable if you run the fan at a high speed in the wrong direction because the wind chill effect will be more prominent further away from the fan closer to the walls.

One customer told me how he determined the best direction to operate his fans. He turned on a bubble machine in his home and watched where the bubbles went. To this day, I think this is the most ingenious answer Iâve heard to the question.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

If the original Red Sonja flopped and was a bad movie, WHY are they remaking & doing another one?

running watches for women reviews on Welcome to Women's Running, the UK's first meeting place for women who ...
running watches for women reviews image



the who


I just read all the reviews of the original 1985 film, and apparently it was hated, and it flopped really bad. Arnold even admitted that it was one of the worst movies he's ever made. Yet it seems to be a cult favorite, & it's now being apparently remade with Rose McGowan being Red Sonja? (how weird is that?)


WHY remake a movie that flopped? I don't understand the logic behind that?



Answer
The only studios producing original ideas seem to be the independent filmmakers. Hollywood likes stories, genres and characters with built-in fan bases. They don't like to take chances on new and different ideas. They figure, Rose McGowan is pretty hot and has a lot of male fans, people like sword and sorcerer sagas and they know graphic novel and comic book movies almost always make money these days. They think, OK, we'll sex it up a lot (see promo pic of Mc Gowan licking a sword), We'll find some hot, young, male stud to play her love interest and a hot guy to play the villain. That will get the young women to watch it, just like they lined up to watch the movie Twighlight. Then We'll gloss it over with a Sin City, '300', graphic novel look, to please the comic book crowd. In 1985 the graphic novel/comic book audience had not been groomed into the money making machine that it is today. So, they figure this movie is bound to make money if they follow the existing, graphic novel/comic book, movie formula. Formulaic films can make money, even if they aren't that great. Look how many kid's movies make money, even when they aren't very good. It's simple mass marketing. Don't get me wrong. I like some of the comic book, graphic novel movies just as much as the next guy. The recent run of good and successful films of this genre has opened the door for others to try to revive these stories and characters, where other filmmakers have failed in the past. Remember this. The 1985 movie was made in the style of the Conan films and it appealed to the mostly male, action/ sword fan base. This movie is geared toward a much larger, more mixed fanbase and it follows the huge success of recent graphic novel and comic book based films over the past ten years

When is the best time to start study for exams?




Annie


I have my final semester exams coming up in 6 weeks time. When do i start studying as I still have some assignments and tests on the way. Secondly, I am struggling a lot in this physical chemistry paper so what is the best method for studying that paper? Please give some study tips. thanks


Answer
Steps:

1. Get it done early
You concentrate much better during the early hours of the morning and afternoon. If you get up at 7am and eat a light breakfast you can knock out 4-5 hours of study before you even have lunch. This means you can finish before the day is even half way over and relax and de stress. You might even find time for a workout!

2. Donât do more than 6 hours a day
I went to a very inspiring speech by an educational revolutionary when I was in high school. He taught us that you should never study for more than six hours in a day and that those six hours should be broken up into 30 minute blocks with a 5-10 minute break in between each block as well as a longer break for food.

He used this method on many students and then showed us their grades - all Aâs. Many of them topped the state. Try it out and see if it works for you.

3. Donât put it off even for a second
You must be very wary of your mind during study time. It will no doubt be tired and agitated and longing for some distraction. As soon as you see your mind moving away from your study topic catch it and put it back on track. Do not put off your work even for a second because soon seconds turn into minutes, minutes turn into hours and before you know it you will be in the exam hall wishing you had studied harder!

4. Exercise
This is a fitness website! I couldnât go too long without bringing up exercise. I always go for a run or do some exercise before I study in the morning and it really wakes me up and leaves me feeling energized so I can hit the books with some power! Donât go too hard, just a nice relaxing bit of cardie.

5. Donât be within ear shot of a TV
One of my high school teachers said that whenever the TV was on in his house his kids never studied. I found this to be 100% true - when my mom or brother had the TV on I left my study and went and watched it or farted around for a while. Study where there is no risk of hearing the TV.

6. Email, blags, etc. can wait
People seem to think that they need to check their online accounts every five seconds. This is especially true for bloggers who check their feeds and favorite website multiple times during the day. If you take a look at my stats for Real Womenâs Fitness you would see that a handful (50 or more) come back to the homepage more than 5 times in a day! That is good for me as it means they like the site but they probably Aren't getting much work done! (Donât stop though!) :)

The point is, emails and all that can wait. They will be there in the morning or in a few hours and the people who sent the emails rarely expect you to reply right away. Back in the old days a letter took weeks to arrive and be replied to so slow down a little bit - even if it is just for the exam period.

7. Eat fruit
Fruit is full of so many goodies - vitamins, nutrients and most importantly lasting energy. The energy that comes from fruit USNât going to cause a spike like many nutrition âexpertsâ would have you believe. Try having fruit for breakfast and snacks while you are studying - I bet you get more done and donât feel as mentally tired after.

8. Drink water
Along the same lines as number 7, water helps keep you refreshed and stops you from getting mentally foggy. It is also a good health principle to adopt into your regular life so you may as well start while you are developing all these other good habits in exam week!

9. Review it
The key to remembering information for an exam is to review what you have done. My grades went way up when a friend of mine told me to review everything twice during the day. The information simply stuck better in my head. So, review your notes after each session and then review the whole lot at the end of the day. You will be shocked at how much more you can retain.

10. Donât stress
So many people sit around thinking âoh Iâve got so much to doâ and âIâll never get it all doneâ and then they really donât do anything about it. Exams are meant to be tough. They make a point of giving you as little revision/study time as possible. The thing you should remember is that everyone else is in the same boat. You are all on par and as such you have the same opportunity to get a high grade as the guy in the class who is a genius. If stress creeps into your mind use it to apply yourself to your books, not to distract you.

Conclusion
Get down to it. I hope these tips have helped. The most important tip in here is to get it done as early as possible so that it is out of the way. This will make for a much more pleasant study period. Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

How can I train my body to use it's fat stores for energy?

best watch for marathon runners on ... Excel Chart | Running Pace Calculator for Marathon, 10k, 5k Races
best watch for marathon runners image



Ariel


I've been a marathon runner for a long time. Recently my weight has blocked my performance. I've gone from 137 to 180lbs in just 2 years. I'm only 5'4 and this weight is really causing havoc.
I don't know if I can attribute it to my diet. I'm a celiac. I can't have any dairy products either. I've been this way since birth. I eat pretty much vegan.
What the heck is going on? How can I get my body back to where it needs to be. I'm only 19! Way to young to be at an athletic stand still...



Answer
So a couple questions:
Were you recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease, like within the last year or two?
Do you eat a lot of GF grains?
Do you eat a lot of processed GF foods?

1. If you have had Celiac Disease for a long time, there is one possible 'bad' thing about getting the disease under control. Your body has learned to cope with fewer nutrients, calories, etc... in your diet. Basically, it was in starvation mode, where everything burns a bit more efficiently and your body is quicker to put certain foods into fat. So for some of us Celiacs, when we go gluten free, all of a sudden our bodies are getting the calories they should have, but they are packing it all away to keep us from starving to death in the famine that our bodies have been trained to expect.

The famine was just the disease, in reality, but our bodies still act like they need to survive it and it can make it very hard not to gain weight in that situation. To my knowledge, doctors don't know how long this 'starvation mode' can last. Some thing it just lasts a few years, some think it may never go away. So exercising significantly more and watching calories may be necessary, but I'd try the exercise more.

2. If you eat a lot of GF grains, you should know that these have a higher chance of being contaminated by gluten. A pilot study on GF grains and sub. flours found that 7 of 22 had above the gluten free limit in contamination. One soy flour, for example, had over 100 times the amount of gluten allowed in GF food. Some Celiacs I know will start to gain weight if they are getting low levels of gluten contamination (I'm one of them. I'll gain like 10 pounds in a couple weeks from this!) and it only drops once they eliminate the contamination. So many of us drop the GF grains for a while and see how it goes.

3. Same issue goes for processed GF food - it is more likely to be gluten contamination than purer foods like fruits, veggies, and so on. Beans and nuts have to be carefully sourced because they are often processed with wheat, and the label to warn consumers of this is voluntary, not mandatory, so you have to call up a company to find out for certain if their beans or nuts are safely processed for you.

4. Add to this, carbs are the main things that the liver will make into fat stores if you eat a lot at one time, so if you ARE eating a lot of GF grains, that could be adding to it.


I don't know that these are the issues you have, but these are the ones that I've run across with the celiacs in my own family (there are 4) or those I am in contact with. Wishing you good luck. I hope that you can find a resolution to this.

Oh, one last thing? It wouldn't hurt to keep a food journal for a few weeks and work out how many calories you're having daily. If you are having more than is needed to maintain your weight, that's an easy answer. But if you are eating less than you need to maintain your weight, then that's a good sign that something else is going on, you know?

How can I get motivated to run?




Morta


My mom is a marathon runner and I always run 5K's and 10K's without really training for them. I really want to improve my time, but I'm just not motivated to get on the treadmill and run. I'm Home Schooled so I have plenty of time, but I just don't! I could run in the early morning or in the afternoon (Mom runs in the late morning), but I just don't have the motivation to do it. Do you know and tricks to getting motivated? Thanks in advance. Oh, and no mean comments please.


Answer
A lot of motivation comes down to self discipline. It won't be easy right away but there are some steps you can take like: scheduling a set time at least 4 days a week to run. By pre-setting a time and distance to go running you trick yourself into believing that you must follow your schedule.

Another thing is to have your workout clothes, shoes, watch, ipod, etc ready. Pull out your running stuff before you go to bed to have it ready in one place so that you have no excuse NOT to go for a quick run.

Maybe try to go out for a run at the same time your mom does, having someone to hold you accountable helps.

Once you have your routine mapped out it gets a lot easier. Best of luck and stay disciplined!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why is it in athletics that the person in first drops off at the last lap?

running watch pacer on ... Adidas Polyester Lightweight Pacer Running and Athletic Shorts | eBay
running watch pacer image



flyneagle2


I was watching Track and Field today on ESPN and whenever the time came for the las lap, the lead person drops off. Is there a reason why?


Answer
It's a pacer to let the other runners keep their pace. He drops off so they know how fast they have to run

What are the different type of horse racing?




mizzblondi


Thoroughbred/Standardbred? Does Trotting and pacing fall under a standardbred or are they totally different types of racing? Are the Types Standard/Thoroughbred,trotting,and pacing?


Answer
Different types of horse racing:

Flat racing, i.e., racing that does not involve jumping fences:

Thoroughbred racing. This is the dominant kind of flat racing.

Quarter Horse racing. In the United States, this is the second-most common kind of flat racing. Horses registered with the American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) race at distances from 220 yards to 870 yards. http://racing.aqha.com/racing/

Arabian racing. There's been a very slow growth in the popularity of racing Arabians, it's not quite the rarity it used to be. http://www.arabianracing.org/

Appaloosa racing. This is mainly in the southwest, and usually conducted in conjunction with Quarter Horse or Arabian racing, or both. The different breeds don't race against each other, but you might find races for QH's, Arabs and Appies on the same card. http://www.appaloosa.com/race/racing.htm

Mule racing. Yes, there are mule races, mostly at fair meets, and they can be a lot of fun to watch! http://www.muleracing.org/

Steeplechase racing/hurdle racing/timber racing:

This is racing conducted over a course of fences. Some races like the Grand National Steeplechase in England are conducted over fences that are very high and very forbidding; I don't know what the specifications are for the fences for steeplechasing vs. hurdling, except that hurdle races are run over smaller fences constructed of twigs and brush, much less solid than the fences in steeplechases. The Cheltenham Gold Cup in England is the premier hurdle race in the steeplechasing world.

Timber racing is a uniquely American kind of jump racing, and the fences are solid timber post-and-rails, very unforgiving of mistakes. The Maryland Hunt Cup is the best-known timber race in America.

Between the three kinds of jump racing, there is some crossover; horses that have raced over timber have also raced over hurdles, and hurdlers sometimes race in steeplechase races, and so forth; but it's rare for a horse to do well in all three kinds, and most horses stick with a single kind of jump racing.

Harness racing: This is racing in which the horses pull a sulky, a very light two-wheeled vehicle, and race at either the trot or the pace. With the rare exception of races carded free-for-all, pacers race against pacers and trotters race against trotters. Harness race horses in the US are Standardbreds, but in other countries there are other breeds that race in harness. The United States Trotting Association (USTA) is the governing organization here in the US; despite its name, it covers both trotting and pacing races. http://www.ustrotting.com/

Most Standardbreds race at either the trot or at the pace, but there are a rare few that have gotten sub-two-minute marks at both the trot and the pace. It used to be that trotters were in the majority, pacers being considered to be "lower class" than trotters, but that was a long, long, long time ago. Pacers are very much in the majority now.

Hope that helps!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the best watch to use for swimming, running, and biking?

best watch for running and biking on ... , Cardio, Jogging, Running, Cycling, Fitness, Dance, and Weight Loss
best watch for running and biking image



Ashley Kou


I want to use a watch to be able to swim, and I know alot of watches out there don't even pick up signal even if I place the watch in my swimming cap. Is there a watch out there that I can swim with, I know the satellite can't go through water so wearing it on my cap would be best, I just need to know if there is something oug there that can do so.


Answer
The best watch I would use that I know for a fact will give you the results you need in terms of keeping a GPS track on you while in water, is the Garmin Forerunner 310XT. I have purchased and used this watch intensely and the battery life is nothing of short. It lasts my entire triathlon and doesn't shy away from durability. I once dropped my watch mid race and it got ran over by another cyclist ahah, here is the link of a review where I found some information on the watch in the sources section.

what is the quickest way to burn calories?




savanfish


ijust went to the movies and lost all self control, i want to know what i should do to burn those popcorn calories. Run? Bike? What should i do?


Answer
There are MANY ways, you can burn calories. I personally LOVE to run, and if I run two miles (trust me, you'll live.), I burn WELL over 400 calories. This may sound crazy, but every time you LAUGH you burn 26 calories! So go to the movies, pack your bag chock full of Nutri-Grain bars, and watch the Proposal! (O M G, I sound like an ad for that movie...) If you aren't in THAT great of shape, tell your husband or who ever is driving you back to your house, to let you out at the front of the neighborhood (or end of the street, but that is a tad more dangerous) and walk to the house! Another fabulous idea is go to a bowling alley! You'll be surprised how many calories you can burn throwing a 10 lb ball for 30 frames. One way to burn calories (while having fun) is going for a swim. I'm not talking about 75 laps in an Olympic-sized pool. Take your kids, your boyfriend, or a best friend, and go for a FUN swim. You can burn almost 300 calories with an hour of chicken... BUTTTT don't go overboard. Don't go insane, and like only eat spigoli on Tuesdays on something strange...(have you even heard of spigolis? I didn't either, I looked it up for a strange vegetable just to prove my point.) So don't make yourself miserable, just have lotsa fun!!

Hope this helps.

-J




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Could Mike Alstott make it to the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

best value watch for runners on United States From Wikipedia, the free encyclopediaJump to: navigation ...
best value watch for runners image



Luke


yeah I know. Fullbacks dont get a whole lot of recognition, but when you watch Mike "the A Train" Alstott play my god, the guy was a freak. he just pulled those words over honking linebackers like nothing. plus he had a lot of quickness to him as well.
but does he even have a slight chance of making it to the Pro Football Hall of Fame?



Answer
No. Not even a little. Alstott actually wasn't even that good as a FB. He was a middling lead blocker which is the primary responsibility of a FB. Yeah, he had some lovely highlight reel blocks, but he was the kind of guy who whiffed alot too. He primarily was famous for his value as a runner, which he certainly was good at and probably should have gotten more touches. But that puts him in competition with tailbacks, not fullbacks.

If you're looking for lead blockers, Alstott was pretty average. He also had fumbling and injury issues. I would be shocked if he even made it past the initial cut in HoF voting.

How long will I start to see results when taking protein powder?




Robert Jon


I have promax protein powder and ive been taking about 2-3 servings a day while doing my weight workout and so far i havent seen any changes in my body i was wondering if anyone can give me any advice??


Answer
You'll start getting fat in a couple of weeks. Protein has the same caloric value as pure sugar. If you're looking for muscle mass, forget it.

Your body does not store protein. So, a protein supplement can only benefit you if your diet is deficient in protein. And, if it is deficient, fix the diet. Eat food.

Protein is the most misunderstood nutrient in bodybuilding. I don't have the space to tell you all you need to know so I'll just hit the high spots and if you need more info, you can message my Yahoo account.

Don't listen to muscleheads, gym rats, bodybuilders, personal trainers, and even coaches about protein. Most of them believe what decades and $$$$millions in supplement advertising have been telling them...that they need a lot of protein to build muscle. Not true. Here's how much you need according to the best minds in the world at the US CDC, the people our doctors (in the US) listen to. --> http://www.cdc.gov/nutrition/everyone/basics/protein.html#How%20much%20protein You can easily get that amount of protein with a glass of milk and a chicken breast or piece of meat per day. If you consume more protein, you'll only excrete it or burn it and both are a waste.

Bodybuilders don't work as hard as they would like to believe. Construction workers, migrant field hands, movers, UPS drivers, etc. all work much harder every week. And none of those people worry about protein or take supplements for their jobs. They just eat a good diet and their bodies adapt with no problem. A bodybuilder can only work out 10 hours a week at the most because of the recovery time required by the muscles. Marathon runners, boxers, Olympic athletes, Navy SEALs, Army Rangers, etc. all train much harder and they do it without supplements.

Most protein supplements are scams. According to the US National Institute of Health, you should use supplements only when recommended by a doctor. ---> http://ods.od.nih.gov/Health_Information/ODS_Frequently_Asked_Questions.aspx#Need That's good advice because the government does not require testing so you won't be protected by the FDA as you are with food and drugs. Also, many supplements have been found to be contaminated and dangerous.

Check out this list of over 60 dangerous supplement products sold with bogus advertising claims which scam-site bodybuilding.com was forced to recall and take off the market --> http://www.usrecallnews.com/2009/11/bodybuilding-com-supplements-recalled-may-contain-steroids.html .

Check this link to see how Muscle Milk was busted for false advertising --> http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm261684.htm

All you need to make the gains you can is food. There is an abundance of information to prove this point. So, I will give you examples and cite references in the space I have left. Just be sure to ask yourself if you ever saw any good scientific evidence suggesting you need 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight or more. The answer will be no. That's a huge myth. And, all the naysayers who disagree with me will not have any good science for you. All they'll have are ads, phony reviews, bogus testimonials, false scientific sounding white papers, bad blogs, scam sites, etc. all paid for by scammers like this one. ---> http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=5196740n&tag=related;photovideo

Hereâs a white paper which debunks the myth of the protein supplement. Note the following excerpt...âAt present there is no evidence to suggest that supplements are required for optimal muscle growth or strength gain.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15212752

Here's one more study to read. Note the excerpt..."Consumption of a recovery drink (whey protein, amino acids, creatine, and carbohydrate) after strength training workouts did not promote greater gains in FFM (Fat free muscle) compared with consumption of a carbohydrate-only drink.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15105028

Hereâs another from Live Science. Note the excerptâ¦âMedical researchers have advised against protein supplements for years for the average person. But many sports trainers continue to push them on amateur athletes simply because they don't know any better.â
Ref: http://www.livescience.com/health/protein-supplements-100202.html#

Here's what Consumer Reports had to say ---> Ref: http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/magazine-archive/2010/july/food/protein-drinks/overview/index.htm

If you have any doubts about the citations and references above, talk to the person who understands best how your body works....your doctor.

Watch this video --> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4_UY_kIPFU

It's good to be strong but it's better to be smart and strong.

Good luck and good health!!

â 




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, November 11, 2013

What do you think is fair punishment for the younger Islamist terrorist boston bomber?

best watch for marathon runners on ... Excel Chart | Running Pace Calculator for Marathon, 10k, 5k Races
best watch for marathon runners image



Dan


I think they should tie his hands together and drag him for the exact 26 mile route that the marathon runners ran, and we can all watch.
Ohh I forgot to add. Don't give me that bull$hit like "Then you are just like him" No I am not just like him. Justice is fair. Going out for no reason and killing 8 year old kids and blowing peoples legs off is not. If you can't see the difference, then you are an idiot. An absolutely irrational, idiotic person. That is what you are.
How do people not believe in the death penalty?

This person killed 3 people and tried to kill more, yet he doesn't deserve the fate that he was trying to bestow upon hundreds of Bostonians? Really? How is that rational? And these are the same people who are happy to crush a babies skull because they are confident that abortion is perfectly moral. We live in a country of hypocrites.



Answer
Castration, ten years in prison, followed by beheading with a dull, rusty sword.

Should marathon runners have to drink a 6-pack of beer at the halfway mark?




Pixie


When the marathon was first run 100 years ago, runners would be passing out, cramping up and crawling towards the finish line. Now with better training and hydration, running 26 miles is easy for elite athletes.

Don't you think that having the runners drink a 6-pack of beer at the halfway mark would make the Olympics more interesting?



Answer
Alcohol also thins your blood which makes you get way more fatigued, not to mention the additional dehydration it provides. It would not be a good indication of who the best runner is so no it wouldn't be good to add but it would make things more fun to watch




Powered by Yahoo! Answers