Saturday, September 21, 2013

My Dofg Just Died and I need Advice Please?

running watches argos on Funny Leprechaun Images
running watches argos image



Kimberly L


Please read the following to understand my question, I know it is a bi long but I would really appreciate it!

A few days ago, my lovely springer spaniel Bailey have birth to 10 puppies. 1 of the puppies died in the birth and my father removed it and threw it in the bin.

The pups are now 5 days old and yesterday, I looked inside the kennel to find 3 of them lying down and not moving, as if they were sat on or squashed in the one area.

I lifted them out and noticed straight away one of them was moving his legs and streching.

I took them all into the house and put the blow dryer on the pups... 2 of them were dead, and i spent a good 40 minutes watching them constantly to make sure before I finally rolled them up in a towel and buried them.

Meanwhile, the other dog was coming along great and i used a syringe and some tepid cows milk with 2 drops of whiskey in it, and fed some of it to the dog. I left him to rest and came back a few hours later.

He was freezing cold and wasnt moving much, when i lifted and rubbed him, he sqeeked and started to move, I ran into my house and lay beside the fire with him, he quickly began to come back and move about alot and sqeek, i fed some warmish milk and kept rubbing him without taking my eyes of him for a solid 1 hour.

Along the while my father and sister kept shouting at me and making the whole process hell and told me to get rid of that dog before it gave us a disease!! I didnt listen, I couldnt leave that helpless baby and I knew in my heart that I would not give up until the bitter end.

I took him back outside and left him on my window sill, i then came back into the house and took the dog into my bedroom. I fed him some more milk through the syringe and he started sucking it himself and moving and sqeeking a lot, it was amazing. I keep feeding him with the syringe and some milk started to come out of his nose, so i held him up and gently rubbed his back and he did his wind and went back to lying down and sqeeking and mvoing, it was a major improvement. He also did a poo, which i was glad. I sat and admired the milk around his mouth, his little feet and nails and imagined the lovely owner who would be lucky to have him and the life he had ahead of him. I decided to call him Argo.

I decided to go to bed and set my alarm every 2 hours to get up and keep my eye on him.

I got up at 1am and he was amazing!! He started sqeeking like all the other puppies and i fed him some more from the syringe and he started sucking it. He was moving an awful lot now, so i got a good few pillows and placed the, beside each other so that he had plenty of room. I made a hot water bottle and put it under one of the pillow cases he was on top of, and wrapped him in a sheet for warmth as my room was freezing! It was like he was coming back.

I got back up at 3am, and he was the same, and he was moving an awful lot more and squeaking. I felt if he could survive tonight, he could go back into his kennel tomorrow.

I then woke up at 5am and i was totally exhausted, I could hear him sqeeking and I decided to lie in bed for a few more minutes before I got up.... but I fell back asleep and awoke at 6:30am naturally.

I didnt hear anything, SO i got up.... and I couldnt find him anywhere!!! I pulled all the pillows away, all the blankets! looked under my bed everywhere!! I then decided to check the blankets and pillows again and a few minutes later I discovered him inside the pillowcase at the bottom end!

I pulled him out and tried rubbing him and heating him.... but it was no use he was gone.

I then youtubed this, and found a video of a girl shaking and rubbing pups to try and get thier circulation back.... i did this and heard a sqeek.... but nothing more...... I think it was just the sqeek of the shaking the air out of him and in him...

I sat with him cuddles beside me in my bed for 3 whole hours trying to rub him, warm him, pray for a miracle!! every single thing!!!

I then had no other choice but to kiss him and have one last look at him before I wrapped him in the towel.... i took one good smell of him and was reminded of the milk i was feeding him... i looked at his tail, his nails, his feet and the milk marks around his mouth, i seen just hours ago.....

WHY DIDNT I GET UP AT 5:30AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WILL NEVER FORGIVE MYSELF!! AS I KNOW IN MY HEART THAT HE WAS SURVIVING!! I REALLY TOHUGHT I COULD SAVE HIM!

I finally tried rubbing, bending, shaking him and blowing into his mouth with cpr before I gave up and took the final look at him........... nobody else one arth would ever see his face of know him... even if it was for a short while, i absoloutly loved this pup!

I fought agaisnt everyones negative thinking to save him and i couldnt...

i just buried him an hour ago...... he is now gone forever,....

Can someone help me feel better?!



Answer
Some people shouldn't be allowed to have animals.

Where can I find this wrist watch?




Adacadus


Does anyone know of a website or shop where I could find this wrist watch, or even just details of it (manufacturer etc.).

- I have only seen it as a special offer at ALDIs.
- Price inc. VAT was £4.99
- Range described as "sports and leisure watches"
- I believe the brand to be "Ascott", but that may be the model, or even just the style of watch.
- Main dial showing hrs and mins
- Small dial showing secs
- Small windows showing day and date
- Glass backed
- Real clockwork with self-winding mechanism
- Chrome or bronze on display with both black and white faces available

I have tried the Aldis website, but due to the apparently haphazard way that they run their special offers, I could not find the product.

I am looking to buy the watch by post or internet if I cannot get it in a UK shop.

Thank you for your time and effort,
Dac



Answer
try argos they have a wide selection of watches on the website.

just go to: www.argos.co.uk




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How can I make my computer run faster?

running watches that play music on ... Bow | Video Youtube - NMETV Latest Music Videos and Clips | - NME.COM
running watches that play music image



Stephanie


I have an older Windows XP version Dell computer, It is a good running computer, but when I try to play music online, say on Spotify, it skips out a lot while playing the songs. Are there any good programs I can download that will really clean up my computer for free without breaking anything? I run Broadband internet through it, and sometimes (not often) it all runs smoothly, but it's so aggravating when it doesn't. Can anyone help me or give me some suggestions? Thank you!


Answer
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fx_8Sg4cyE8
this is a video that will help, if it doesn't then upgrade your computer HARDWARE, or get a free anti-virus program like 'AVAST' it really helps clean out viruses, which could also make your computer slow (You are connected to the internet the whole time so you might get a virus on an update or download). Uninstall useless software, something you downloaded which never worked...It could also be the culprit.

What OS would make the best media center server?




Billy G Wi


Have an older computer currently running Windows XP. Use it to play music on a stereo, and watch movies on a flat-screen tv. Also used as my home network server. Just wondering it there would be a better operating system I could use, either a better Windows (XP, home server, Vista) version, or a Linux version (Except Ubuntu, of course.)

Ideas?



Answer
xp should be fine
make sure you have good virus protection




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why is that when i start running for a couple of minutes there's piercing pain on either sides of my hips?

running watches runners world on South Haven Tribune - Sports and recreation10.12.11Three Rivers spoils ...
running watches runners world image



prawnoodle


I always loved to run but unfortunately after running for a minute or two there's a piercing pain on either sides or both if i keep pushing it.. Why does this happen? and is there anything i can do to avoid such pain?

Thanks a million!



Answer
Interesting question.
Without knowing anything else about you or you running style, there are just a couple of things that come to mind.
Perhaps the most important thing is the question about stretching. Are you doing any stretches at all?
The human body, while not an automobile, is like a car in this way: You would not start your car on an icy, winter day, and immediately start driving at 60 MPH! The reason is that cars need to warm up, just like people do. With cars, you have cold metal grinding against cold metal, and that just does not work out too well for the long term survival of the car.
People need to warm up properly before running! Part of that warm-up should be a series of stretches, and that should include all of the major muscle groups. Legs, arms, shoulders, trunk twists, etc etc. The idea is to prepare your body to run. None of the stretches should be bounced, either. You should move into the stretch gradually, and then hold it for 20-30 seconds.
Once you start to run, start slowly at first. Again, running will subject the body to stresses that it normally does not have to deal with, and this is especially true if you are planning to run a few miles or more.
The next time there is a track meet on television, or in your area, watch the runners before their events. They are often stretching for quite a while before they even get out on the track.

I can assure you of this: You will never see a world class runner who does not do a lot of stretching both before and after the event. We stretch before in order to reduce the chance of injury. We stretch afterwards in order to reduce the amount of residual tightness that often occurs after a particularly hard event.

Let me add a little anecdote here. Derek Clayton was a world class marathon runner, who held the world record for the marathon longer than anyone else in the history of the sport. The one thing that cut his career short was that he got injured often. It was even suggested by some (kiddingly, of course) that Clayton wound up on the operating table so often, his surgeon could buy a new luxury car each year. In his early years of running, he didn't do much stretching at all. When he wrote his book "Running to the Top", he devoted an entire chapter to the importance of stretching, commenting that if he had it to do over again, he definitely would have done a lot more stretching than he did.

By the way, listen to your body. If there is pain, you should pull back. If it fades, continue. If not, then it's better to stop and get it checked out right away. A doctor who is skilled in sports medicine should be able to diagnose the injury and suggest the best treatment for it.

Good luck, and good running!

What to get an adventurous runner for Christmas?




smblovesyo


I'm trying to find the perfect Christmas gift for my brother. He's a nineteen year old college kid. He's a crazy runner - just did the World's Toughest Mudder last weekend. I want to get him something unique, like the Survival Straps he just bought. Anyone have any ideas?


Answer
If you love your brother a lot, get him the soleus watch. It is made specifically for serious runners. It has a GPS, calculates current and total running distance, speed, water resistant and a heart rate monitor to make sure he's not pushing himself too hard where its unhealthy. This is the watch I'm talking about...

http://www.amazon.com/Soleus-Mens-SG003020-Running-Watch/dp/B006MVW270/?ie=UTF8&tag=utf8qid-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=9325

If you love him but your budget isn't high, your brother will really like the ironman flix watch. It's good so your brother can store all his training logs and workouts to see his improvements. It has a lot of functions without making the watch complicating. Good to keep track of all of his best running times. Would've been perfect to take on his tough mudder event.

Timex Ironman Watch
http://www.amazon.com/Timex-Ironman-Traditional-100-Lap-Silver-Tone/dp/B00093CZV0/?ie=UTF8&tag=utf8qid-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=9325

Any christmas present you buy your brother will ALWAYS be a great gift regardless if you buy him the watch or not.

Hope that helps. Merry Christmas!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Which GPS watch is the best for running but inexpensive?

running watches inexpensive on Running Watches on Heart Rate Monitor Watches Polar Fs3 Timex Ironman ...
running watches inexpensive image



Raquel C


I am about to start training for my 3rd marathon and would like to invest in GPS watch to tell me my pace/distance. I know the Garmins are popular, but also expensive. I don't want to buy a watch that has more functions that I need but I do want a reliable watch that won't loose satellite signals easily. Any suggestions on what to buy or not to buy?


Answer
The Garmin Forerunner 205 would be your best bet, you can google it and find it on some online sites for around $150. Don't get any of the older models of Garmin such as the 50 or 201, I've heard they are the ones which lose receiption when in wooded or tree lined areas.

What kind of a watch should I take to basic training?




E


Hi wanted to buy a watch for basic training and I was looking into g shocks is it okay to have one and this one I was eyeing looks kinda big but I heard it's light do you think a watch lik that is okay to take to basic? Thanks


Answer
I have heard that some recruits aren't allowed to wear watches and some are.the choice is up to your drill sergeant. Bring an inexpensive plain black digital watch. A Black digital watch is always nice to have when you are running and they also make great personal alarm clocks. But like the guys are saying if your not meant to have it they will take it from you or make you ship it home

I use a Timex Ironman




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, September 20, 2013

If I have custom orthotics for running and have pronation, what is a good training shoe?

running watches brands on ... ://www.ishida-watch.com/brand/gerald_genta/mickey_running/photo01.jpg
running watches brands image



puppyfred


I run half marathons, and have used the Brooks MONSTER and the New Balance 767, but now they're totally dead. Any suggestions? I've also suffered from stress fractures and plantars fascitiis in the past year.


Answer
Go to a specialist running store, adn they will "fit" you in a pair of shoes (watch you run in several styles, brands etc).
Be sure to put your insoles in each of the shoes before trying them, as clearly that is how you intend to use them. (my insoles mean instead of buying using motion control shoes I am in a light stability shoe)

What is the best wrist watch to get for an athletic teenager?




Corey


I have about a $200 budget, and I want to get a really nice watch. I know of all of the G-Shocks, and my favorite one so far is the GA-150, but it just seems to me that G-Shocks are overpriced plastic watches(I'm not saying I wouldn't get one though).
I also do a lot of running, and want the watch to help out a lot with that. I looked into the Nike+ sportwatch but heard that has a lot of problems with condensation/fogginess on the inside.
What is the most stylish, most diverse watch I could get with my budget? Thanks!



Answer
Here is a good resource of top quality watches
http://www.squidoo.com/mens-executive-watch-list-2013
I think the one that suits your needs best is the Swiss legend, and anyone would agree its a good solid brand.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How do they get people to watch rugby union?

running watches compared on The last one is a single brush, and so need to run errands Artifact FB ...
running watches compared image



Virgin 2.0


All the is to union is penalty goals and a bunch of fat blokes dry humping each other. Rugby league clearly has superior athletes and requires skill, toughness and endurance, union only needs strength. There are 60 minutes of action in rugby league match compared to 30 for union.


Answer
I like both codes but you are being a bit unfair saying that union is all about penalty goals and fat blokes playing the game.
Look at the All Blacks, they play a open running and entertaining brand of rugby so do the Wallabies ( did you watch the last Bledisloe cup match in Hong Kong ? ).
Lots of back line movements from both sides and some spectacular tries scored.
Scrums and line outs are part of the game ( if they didn't have them it would be another version of league ! )
I agree the rule- makers of the game have made scrums ' complicated and time consuming ' hopefully their will be an amendment here to speed scrums up - somehow !
Anyway if you are a league fan - that's fine , I love the game as well but it is different to union -- that is the reality.
p/s look at all levels of union -- club, provincal, super rugby, Uk club comps, and International rugby -- you will see very few ' fat blokes ' other than the props - they have to be of a certain shape and size for scrummaging purposes -- it is a very physical skill required to be a prop ( skinny blokes cant do it ! )

Who watched the Poinsettia Bowl? What did you think of the game?




BlueEchidn


I don't have ESPN so I had to go to a bar to watch it. Killed my butt just sitting on that stool for 3 hours but it was worth it. Both teams were about evenly matched and that's what you want in a football game. I rooted for Boise state and they clearly could've won but they squandered their 4th quarter opportunities. Good game though.


Answer
I was at the game standing on the sidelines.

Boise State had that game handed to them on a silver platter with two interceptions but the TCU defense was too tough. Boise State was forced to attempt four field goals compared to getting only one TD. TCU controlled the line of scrimmage most of the night, Boise State could not generate anything in the running game while TCU's O-line pushed the Boise State line back nearly every play.

The other factor, other than the missed FG, was Boise State's defense could not wrap up the runner on first contact for most of the second half. The runners were always getting 2, 3, 8, 10 or more yards after breaking the first tackle attempt.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I'm looking for a good watch to run with that will keep track of my pace, heart, calories...all the fun stuff?

best garmin watch for running and cycling on Garmin Forerunner 410 Top TRAINING GPS Watch *** Running *** Cycling ...
best garmin watch for running and cycling image



CJC


Although I'm a little confused by all the offerings as well as the mixed reviews from users. Some say that the GPS on the garmin watches don't work - well that would be a shame not to get it. Some others say the Garmin 50 is too basic. Timex looks good, but doesn't have pace calculation (at least I dont think it does). So let loose people and tell me your thoughts!


Answer
You have 2 choices here, go for GPS or Footpod system. I prefer the GPS watches.

With the GPS you loose the signal a bit when you are in between tall buildings, under bridges and things like that so if you are running in a city footpod (like the Nike+ system) Might be better for you.

On the plus side, you can use them for multiple sports like cycling etc., the garmin ones let you download the data to google earth which is a nice facility and things like that. All will give you a pace display on the screen as you run. The better the watch and newer model and the gps gets more reliable. I've never had a problem with my Garmins GPS.


I'd say decide a budget for the watch and go to a running shop and check which ones do what, though I think the basic difference is that the gamin is all in one unit and the timex has a gps receiver separate from the watch (but the watch is smaller)

Is there a device to count how many miles im running ? Something I can wear ?

Q.


Answer
Work it out before you go - and since you have the internet, mapometer is about the cheapest and best place. Next is a paper map but you have to buy that. OK these are not answering your question, they are answering another question but it might be useful.


Devices.
Cheapest is a pedometer, but being the cheapest it takes more work. This will count how many steps you take, and if you know how many steps you take in a mile, a few simple sums gives you the distance. These cost a few ££ or $$, and you sometimes get them free with other equipment if you look carefully. The sums are easy to do in your head (say 1000 steps to the mile, if you run 800 steps you have done 80% of a mile) and the sums can help you pass the time as you run - give the brain a work out too!!
Good points:
Not a bad solution for those on a budget, it can give you distance as you run.
It won't overload your brain with numbers and you can concentrate on running

Bad points:
Downside is you have to work it all out and different terrains need different numbers of steps to get over them.
Not enough numbers!! Other systems can give you more


Next is the Nike+ Sports band
This is a fancier pedometer, you wear a chip in your shoe and a special receiver on your wrist and costs £35 to £40 and maybe $60 to $80. This counts how long your foot is on the ground stationary for between steps and figures out your speed from that. From knowing the speed and how long you have run for it works out distance and calories burnt. I am not a big fan of the Nike+ system, but I did get one to see if I was being prejudiced unduly, I still don't like it! The data from your run can be displayed on the computer and runs saved for future to look at again

Good points
It is cheap (but it shows with its functions)
It says how far you have gone, your speed and energy used as well as time of day
The receiver watch is quite small and neat
This can be used on a treadmill (Why, I don't know - treadmills have all the functions as well)

Bad points...
Right - where do I begin...
It is a 2 device system so you have to pair the 2 together before you can run
It is not as accurate as they claim (claims to be 90% out of the box... mine was worse than that)
They suggest you buy Nike Trainers for these (sales pitch!) but you can use a 'foot pod sock' to hold the chip instead
The run data is held online meaning that you have to have internet connection
The Run data cannot be easily loaded into other software, meaning you have to use the Nike website - which is an out of date advert for Nike...

I'll stop there


Next cheapest is a GPS watch, a few makers make these, Garmin are the big players, but Timex, Suunto, and Polar all do similar. The GPS signals from sat nav systems are used to work out where you are on the planet. Then a few seconds later they do the same and work out how far you have travelled between samples, This gives your speed and distance (and a few other things). These typically cost £100 and up ($160+) but are my preference just because of the data they give you.

Good points (Well for my Gamin Forerunner 205)
It will beep if I run faster or slower than a set speed helping my pacing
It shows distance run, calories, and speed like the Nike+, but also current and average speed, + or - height, a small map of the route, lap information (Nike doesn't) but also the strange like when sunset is (8:03 today for me)
You can use this for multiple sports like cycling, some swimming, horse riding etc
Reasonable accuracy
Depending on the model it is a single unit meaning you don't have to pair it to another device - strap it on, locate satellites and run
Google earth - it will plot your run onto google earth so you can see where you ran (or other software as well)

Bad points
The older watcher are quite large
Expensive
Data overload - I can know too much and there is a temptation to run looking at the watch rather than the scenery
They loose Satellite signals in tunnels and can loose accuracy in built up areas


Next most expensive is Adidas myrun system
This is like the Nike+ system with the added benefit of adding a heart rate monitor in there too, costs a bit more than the GPS if you want the Heart rate monitor

Similar good and bad points to the Nike+ system

Next is Nike+ again
The Nike+ can be used with an Ipod - no other personal music players though - to give you vocal encouragement as you run. However with buying Nike+, Ipod, Nike+ trainers and the rest of the recommended kit this works out expensive (£200 or $300).
same good points as before with the added 'power tune' function where at a certain point in your run it will play your favourite tune

Bad points
At £70+ for the ipod, do you want to take it out in the rain to be dropped in a puddle as you run? Cheaper MP3 players are available and better to run with


If you had the cash I would look at GPS watch




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, September 19, 2013

Were can I watch all the NCIS episode, and what are some episodes I should watch from previous seasons?

yellow running watches on Museum Shop: Historical Museum Shop, Stone's Arms & Armor Book ...
yellow running watches image



Caleb Macc


I've just started watching the series and am really liking it, but I would like to watch some of the previous episodes to give me a better understanding of the show. Does any one know of a website that I can watch NCIS on with good quality? Also I don't wana watch EVERY episode just the key moments in the series.
Thanks Kerrie what are some episodes I should watch that contain changing moments in the series?



Answer
In my humble opinion, these are the key episodes that should be seen. Of course, these will probably have spoilers. I've also included a few of my favourite episodes that I really enjoyed but are not necessarily a key episode.

1 x 1 Yankee White - The first episode!
1 x 16 Bette Noire - Introduces the Ari arc.

2 x 1 See No Evil - First episode of the second season. Here we start seeing Gibbs' issues regarding cases involving children. It's a bit of hinting to his past. A favourite of mine.
2 x 7 Call of Silence - A great episode featuring guest star Charles Durning. One of my personal faves.
2 x 23 Twilight - Ari's back with devestating consequences.

3 x 1 and 2 Kill Ari (Parts 1 & 2) - The conclusion of the Ari storyline. Intro of Ziva David.
3 x 8 Under Covers - Tony & Ziva go under cover as married assassins. Great banter and chemistry.
3 x 9 Frame Up - Tony is accused of murder. Another fave.
3 x 18 Bait - A kid takes a classroom hostage. Again, not a pivitol episode, just another fave. Gibbs gets to sign.
3 x 23 and 24 Hiatus (Parts 1 & 2) - We learn about Gibbs' past. Gibbs decides to retire.

4 x 1 Shalom - Gibbs returns.
4 x 19 Grace Period - Death of supporting character, Agent Paula Cassidy.

5 x 1 Bury Your Dead - It's the reveal of Tony's undercover assignment regarding arms dealer known as the Frog.
5 x 3 Ex-File - This one just has a funny moment of Gibbs in the same room with his current girlfriend, an ex-girlfriend and an ex-wife!
5 x 7 Requiem - I believe this is the 100th episode.
5 x 18 & 19 Judgment Day (Parts 1 & 2) - End of Jenny Shepard; begins Leon Vance's run as director.

6 x 4 Heartland - Here, we meet Gibbs' father. And we see Gibbs in his tricked out yellow Challenger!
6 x 8 Cloak - The first part to the resolution of the mole hunt.
6 x 9 Dagger - The conclusion of the mole hunt.
6 x 25 Aliyah - Angst heavy season finale with the emphasis on Ziva.

7 x 1 Truth Or Consequences - A great 'flashback' recap of the NCIS characters with Tony detailing them under truth serum.
7 x 8 Power Down - The power goes out and the team must solve the case without the aid of computers and electronics. A good episode with some really funny scenes.
7 x 11 Ignition - Two words... Jet packs!
7 x 12 Flesh and Blood - We meet Tony's dad as played by Robert Wagner.
7 x 24 Rule Fifty-One - Gibbs' secret is revealed in this season finale.

I won't get into the current season as it isn't finished yet. If you can find it, the two episodes of Jag that introduces Gibbs, Tony and Ducky and is basically a back door pilot for NCIS would be interesting to watch if just to see what was changed between then and the first episode. I've not seen it myself yet. If it's possible, I would highy reccommend watching the entire run. From what I understand, there is always a NCIS marathon or long run on the USA network. Enjoy!

Just bought a dvd recorder. How do I hook it up to my cable box to watch one channel, record another?




w8ncntn


I have a cable box, vcr, and dvd recorder/dvr. How do I hook them up all together in order to watch one channel, record another? Please use simple terms because I have no idea about some of the terms the manual is talking about. Thanks!


Answer
The answer depends on several factors you have not mentioned. If your cable box has the yellow red and white audio/video output jacks the solution is pretty simple: put a 2 way splitter on the cable coming in from the wall(that would be the one attached to the back of the cable box.). Run one coaxial wire out of the splitter back into the cable in on the cable box, and the other wire out of the splitter to the antenna/cable in on The back of your DVR/DVD recorder. Next, take a set of yellow red and white audio video cables and attach one end of the the yellow to the video out from your cable box, and the other end to the yellow video in on your DVR?DVD. Then run the red and white cables likewise, red to red and white to white. This will allow you to record all non scrambled cable channels by selecting the channel you want to record using the DVR?DVD tuner, and record all of the scrambled cable channels using the cable box connection to your DVR?DVD. I can more fully answer your questions if I know all the hookups you have. Feel free to email me at cleartv1@yahoo.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the proof for and against evolution?

running watches academy on Lord of the Rings Concerning Hobbits Music by Howard Shore Elizabeth ...
running watches academy image



Confused


I have been watching yahoo answers for a few months, but just made a account so I could ask, what is the proof for and against evolution?

I see many in here say there is tons of proof for it and none against, and others say there is tone against it and none for. The can not both be true, and I'm confused.
I will post this in science, and in religion.
To the evolutionists, what proof is there?
To the creationists, what proof is there?



Answer
As you will notice from the other answers so far, the word "proof" is your first problem.

In science it's really important to understand the difference between *evidence* and "proof." Evidence accumulates. Proof is absolute. In other words, evidence is based on observation piled on observation ... no one of which "proves" something, but all of which considered *together* makes it more and more likely. "Proof" is absolute ... once proved, it can never be "unproved" ... it is proved by logic alone (not on observations which are dependent on the accuracy of our senses).

So anybody who claims to have "proof" for or against evolution, is either using the word "proof" to mean *evidence* ... or is utterly confused about science.


Second, as you listen to arguments from both sides ... consider the *SOURCE*. Look at the web-sites they refer you to.

Web sites that *support* evolution will either be major science organizations (like the National Academy of Sciences), or major Universities (look for the .edu in the web path, instead of .com). If it's not one of those, then look at the bottom of these sites for a list of *references*. Supporters of evolution will always be able to point to papers, publications, journals, books, and other sources in the SCIENTIFIC LITERATURE. (E.g. even wikipedia, which is attacked by Creationists for being "biased", has a substantial "References" section at the bottom of every single page, backing every claim made on the page.)

Web sites that claim to *disprove* evolution will never, ever be major science sites, or major universities. They will primarily be religious sites (even though many of them try to disguise this fact ... as in the way the site 'allaboutscience.org' is run by organization 'allaboutGOD.com'). Or they will use formal sounding names like "The Discovery Institute", even though they are not affiliated with any scientific organization or university at all. They will NEVER list references to actual *scientific* papers, other than to refute them, or to quote something out of context that contradicts what the scientist actually said.


So with that in mind ... here is a site published by the University of California:
"What is the evidence for evolution?"
http://evolution.berkeley.edu/evolibrary/search
/topicbrowse2.php?topic_id=46

And here is one of its pages (again from the University of California):
"Lines of evidence: The science of evolution"
http://evolution.berkeley.edu/evolibrary/article/0_0_0/lines_01

And finally, here's a well-known site dedicated to the scientific evidence for evolution. Again, notice the References section at the bottom backing all the claims made on the page. That's what gives the site credibility:
http://www.talkorigins.org/faqs/comdesc/

How good is the new Red Jacket Firearms KMP 5.56mm Semiautomatic Rifle sold at Academy Sports and Outdoors?




Kyle


I am stuck between buying one of the new RJF ARs being sold at Academy Sports and the Windham Weaponry AR, anyone have any insight or suggestions?? Thanks


Answer
I have been shooting AR's in military long distance shootng, NRA Highpower Rifle Competition and hunting Alaska since the late 1970's.

I would not be caught dead with a RJF firearm unless it was personally given to me by Will's daughter and signed by her. That might be ok. Because anyone who saw me with it - would assume I am some brain dead gungeek who's fallen for the latest show on TV.

Way, way too many people are buying RJF guns to simply be 'taticool' with their buddies who dont know squat about guns but love to watch the show. They are no different than the 6 year old girls who run out an demand Barbie stuff from Mom and Dad after watching the Barbie commercials on TV.

If you dont know the difference between one gun and another - dont buy it. Just because it has a cool logo does not mean it will fit you, or, suit your purpose. It simply boggles my mind that people will spend hours trying on $12 shoes but wont take ten minutes to get a little trigger time on something they will be plucking down $1,000 or so on. Makes no sense.

I wont pay $300 for a pair of Nike sneakers that do the exact same thing as a $40 pair. But I will pay that for a pair of high quality outdoor boots that are warmer, more waterproof, and offer better protection to the ankle than a $40 pair.

You should visit the RJF web site and make an informed decison on what features their rifles offer that the other WW AR does not. You are going to need to know this sh!t - because on the shooting range you are gonna be treated like a brain dead mom's basement living person who buys what ever the TV tells them to - so - you better know your stuff........ or enjoy being ignored and not taken seriously.

Example. Back 8 years ago I wanted a new 45 CCW pistol. I spent 4 hours pawing all the S&W, Sigs, Glocks, and a new gun made by Springfield Armory they had just put in the case the morning - the XD in 45acp. I liked it had no thumb safety to interfer with a panic draw like the 1911's, had a loaded chamber indicator, and, hammer back indicator. I bought it. Three months later it received tons of awards, got Pistol of the Year - and everyone who saw it, gave me sh!t about buying it only because it was on the cover of all the magazines. They only shut up when I told them how I choose it before the thing got famous. You get that RJF gun and dont do your homework - expect the same treatment the whole time you own the gun and show it in public.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

how do i inlude my shoulders less and my arms more in running?

running watch keeps distance on Gps Running Watches
running watch keeps distance image



MyComments


I'm asking because I've watched distance runners and their shoulders are still but there arms are pumping and when i run i experience soreness in my shoulders.


Answer
u have to be able to relax them, and that means getting enough muscle to support itself. that's why u get sore. just keep working them, and also maybe ur form could be off. good luck!! :)

what excercises should i do to run faster?

Q. I can run distance fairly well but i run a 14 minute 2 mile and have been running more consistently to get in shape. But I just joined a mens flag football league and i am getting burned by men in their 40s... what can i do besides by some PF Flyers?


Answer
interval training


You might be asking "How on earth is interval training going to make me a faster and more endurant runner?"

Well my friend, the key lies in its ability to raise your intensity for a longer period of time. Interval training combines bouts of high intensity (ie. sprint) and low intensity (ie. jog) running for a given amount of time.

The reason that it is so effective at improving your running performance is because it allows you to run at higher intensity for a longer period of time then you would be able to if you were for as long you could at your maximum running speed.

Confused? Let me clarify this for you.

Let's say that you can run at your fastest possible speed for no more than 1 minute. What interval training allows you to do is take a percentage of that time and repeat it as often as you can.

For instance, one interval training protocol might allow you to run at your maximum speed for 30 seconds and then recover with jogging for 60 seconds. After just 3 of these intervals you would have already surpassed the maximum length of time you could sustain that maximum in one go.

This interval protocol could then be repeated for 10 to 20 minutes (or more) allowing you to run at your maximum speed for at least 4 to 5 minutes. So in just 10 minutes you almost quadruple the amount of time you spend at your maximum running speed. That's huge!

The more time you can train at (or near) your maximum running speed, the faster you'll be able to run, the longer the time you'll be able to stay there, and the longer you'll be able to run without fatigue.

Here are few interval running workouts to get you started:

Speed Interval

15 seconds @ 100% : 45 seconds @ 65% - repeat for 10 to 15 minutes

Anaerobic Endurance Interval

45 seconds @ 85% : 45 seconds @ 65% - repeat for 15 to 20 minutes

Aerobic Endurance Interval

10 seconds @ 100% : 20 seconds @ 65% - repeat for 20 to 30 minutes

These workouts can be done on the treadmill or outdoors. If you are going to use the treadmill keep in mind that the shorter interval workouts may be a bit more challenging to complete because of the time if takes the treadmill to get to the appropriate speed.

Nonetheless, give these running workouts a shot just twice a week (at least 48 hours apart) and watch your running speed, cardiovascular endurance, and VO2 max go through the roof!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Why do my calf muscles extremely hurt after and while I'm running ?

running watches mileage on ... running records pc upgrade running mileage record keeping ten seven
running watches mileage image



adrian


Im quite sporty person and i am running 3 miles every day for about a month now. After few days of running I've been starting to get an extreme pains in my calf muscles during and after the run. The pain is really bad and sometimes i even have to stop running. The pain stays for about 40 minutes after i stop running. I also wanna add that when the pain occurs i literally can't raise my legs because the pain gets much, much worse. Please help and thank you.


Answer
A lot of people who are new to long distance running run without good form. this causes over-use of the calf muscles and can cause everything from soreness to injury.

I'm going to include a link to a video that goes over good running form
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2qsSuUGGrM
and this one shows how to make sure you're doing it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11KWMKfalJo

Another cause of calf pain is poor shoes. If you can, try going to a good running store and have the salespeople help you find some really good shoes.

Pain is like a car's idiot lights. It is trying to tell you that something is wrong. Never run through pain. you will just make it worse and then it will take longer to heal. You need to start resting your legs and give them time to heal. I'm not saying you have to stay in bed, but stay off your feet as much as possible. If you are not feeling any pain walking, try running, but if the pain starts, then you have to stop. You need to not run till the pain completely goes away. Then once the pain goes away you need to very gradually and slowly increase your mileage.

What can a person do to help himself run faster?




Olivia


My 7 yr old brother likes to play football at recess, but the kids don't like to pass the ball to him as he doesnt run very fast. He thinks he runs fast but when compared to the other boys, they run a lot faster. He is skinny and about 50lbs and about and at least 3.5 feet.


Answer
There is no quick way to faster running, and there are two kinds of speed. Since your brother is playing football, chances are he's going to need short distance speed, but with good endurance. As far as technique is concerned, he should focus on running in a very linear fashion: his arms should be relaxed and making completely forward motion. Watch him while he does this: his hands should not cross in front of his body. For a sprint, running on the balls of one's feet causes them to lean and, as a result, run faster. As far as training goes, I suggest starting at about one to two miles daily with about four strides (periods of fast running, but not sprinting) of about twenty seconds (start doing strides after the simple one to two mile regimen is established). Once he has a mileage base, he should do one run in which he warms up for about five minutes, and then does about 200 meter sprints, or intervals (that's half a lap around a track, if one's accessible, although I have seen 200m tracks) about two times. After that, he should start building in quantity of the intervals, and maybe dappling in 400s. Every workout should be preceded and followed by lots of water. Keep in mind that this is VERY time-intensive: this is a several month process, and he should NOT jump into hard training. This will result in severe injury. He should raise his training level based on how he feels, and no small pain should be disregarded (not a muscle ache such as a soreness, but a genuine pain). This is especially important due to his young age. In addition, if he is going to do serious training, he should start off with good cross-training shoes and running shorts, although any pair of athletic shorts will do in a pinch. If he continues to train, then you should look into actual running trainers. Do NOT buy these online; go to a store that specializes in running. Once again, I must stress the importance of taking this process one step at a time.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Can you wear jewelry at any level of a track meet?

best watch for track running on ... best. So I was holding back, certainly. I had to let loose in other
best watch for track running image



I am the D


So I know for high school you can't, because I'm in high school and they've explained it to us many times! But I was watching track on tv at the college level and I saw many people running with jewelry. There was a guy running with a necklace and than a girl running with hoop earrings! Why were they wearing jewelry if you can get dq'd for that?


Answer
It's honestly not safe to be wearing jewellery during exercise; especially not hoop earrings as they can get caught on something and literally tear your earlobe (I have seen this happen, even with simple studs). Just because they did it on television doesn't mean it's safe to do so.

Why do men run a longer mile in the Olympics?

Q. i was watching the track events in the olympics & found that the men run 1600 meters while the women run 1500...they both run the 100, 200, 400, 800, & marathon equally, so why would they run a different mile? i know it's only 100 meter difference but it's not like the women runners can't go another 100 if they trained for it right? why aren't they allowed to run the full mile?


Answer
It's not, there must be a misprint or a misread... The 1500 has been the main "mile" in track for generations.

The real mile, 1760 yards, boils down to 1609 meters which would make it more sensible to run the 1600 and call it the metric mile, but for some reason they chose 1500 long ago and that's the way it is. Probably because it avoids having to start on the 1st turn, or using a staggered start, since there's more than 8 people in the race usually a turn start would be crowded. But that's a minor issue.

Women are allowed to run the mile and have done so for generations. Women run the real mile, the 1609 meter mile, about as often as men do, which in fact is not very often at all. It's almost always the 1500 that gets run, the mile is usually run by world-class athletes only at a few special invitationals, like the Wanamaker Mile at the indoor Millrose Games, the Dream Mile at the Bislett Games in Sweden (which offers a bonus for world records) and a few other European IAAF invitationals. That's all the miling that gets done anymore.

<another reason the 1600 makes more sense is it continues the binary pattern of running 100, 200, 400, 800...
Mike's point about record history in the 1500 is true but the standard mile has an even longer history and because of the 4-minute "barrier" much more famous... Since the 1600 is only 9 meters short of a mile it's much easier to compare to mile times than the 1500 is, less margin of error in deciding what it would have been in a mile>




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

what are the must watch korean dramas from 2010?

watch running korean drama on Museum Shop Gifts :: Viewing 2081 to 2088 out of 2395 Product(s) [View ...
watch running korean drama image



demi


I really enjoy watching dramas that have romance and comedy like boys over flower, your beautiful and etc. But what are some korean dramas released in 2010 that are really good? Can i have a list of some of the best dramas with a small description? thank you!


Answer
The site I use to watch dramas are Mysoju - it updates it weekly and a lot of dramas that are aired and allowed to be put up are on there as well as Dramacrazy.

I like the type of dramas you like by the sounds of it, I love anything korean but they got to have romance,comedy and a bunch of good looking characters lol you should try out some variety shows I'm sure you'll like it as they have grown on me since I started watching them!

New ones recently are:
Mary stayed out all night - very good
My Princess - Funny and really cute
Secret Garden - got a bit bored but its different with a strong female lead
Fugitive Plan B - action/romance/comedy got a lot of running hence the title fugitive but if you like Bi Rain, Daniel Henney and Danny Ahn then you must watch this as its got them in it!!

However you cannot miss out on ones that came out last year and before that because they are just as worth watching as the new ones!
Mischievous kiss - If u have not watched this where the hell have you been, got the same guy from boys over flowers kim hyun joong <3
King of baking Kim Tak Gu - This is insanely good, seriously so touching and great acting!
My girlfriend is a gumiho - I loved this so much! Don't overlook it! It's exactly what your looking for!
Coffee Prince - May been a while since its out but still a favourite of many and so funny

If you would like for me to email all the dramas I've seen email me on foreva_ursxoxo@yahoo.com.

Why do they take off/blur the badge on luxury cars in Korean dramas?




deliciousK


I am watching a Korean drama called DUMMY MOMMY and I noticed that the Audi logo on the cars are replaced with a silhouette-like piece. I remember watching another drama where the Mercedes badge was blurred out. Can anyone give an explanation for this? :)


Answer
Short Answer: It's illegal to show brands on TV, but some programs now allow product placement. They will announce product placement before the show begins, though.

Long Answer:

In many shows it is illegal to show brands, because it amounts to unfair competition, so logos are often blurred or covered with tape. (Other times, it is because companies may not want their products associated with a story. Imagine an Audi executive sitting at home watching TV and seeing one character kill another by running over her with an Audi.)

Only recently have shows allowed companies to pay for their product names to be shown on TV.

Extra: Other things that are blurred on TV are cigarettes and knives (used as weapons) because it's illegal to show them on TV as well.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Which NBA team that made the playoffs last year will be the first to miss the playoffs and get a lottery pick?

running watch pacer on Kettler Treadmill Pacer photos
running watch pacer image



The QS Sys


Choices: Thunder, Spurs, Heat, Bulls, 76ers, Knicks, Clippers, Grizzlies, Celtics, Jazz, Hawks, Pacers, Magic, Lakers, Nuggets, or Mavericks?

BQ: Will Dwight Howard be traded and to where?
BQ2: Which lottery team will make the playoffs this year?



Answer
THe Orlando Magic. no question. Dwight wont be returning to orlando, and The Magic didn't pick up anybody in free agency, so they are pretty much shot. plus,with brooklyn and possibly TOronto, THey really have no chance.

BQ: Yes, Dwight Howard pledged during an interview that He wanted to Leave Orlando. But he really wanted to go to Brooklyn, and THe Nets are not INTERESTED! But even so, I think He will be traded to the Lakers

BQ: Brooklyn. they have to much talent to NOT be in the playoffs. but Call me crazy, but I can see Washington Going to the Playoffs in maybe the 8th seed. The team traded for EMeka Okafor and NeNe and since then, have been 8 and 1 with them. during that run, they beat Miami twice,(one without the big three,). Im not saying they will be a high seed team, but the team of John Wall, Bradley Beal Trevor Oriza, Emeka Okefor, and Nene, could be a good team to watch out for.

Would having a artificial Pacemaker put me out for becoming an avionics technician?




silancer11


I have heard that welding is involved and with an artificial Pacemaker, you cannot use welding equipment.
With current Pacemakers, microwaves, cell phones, etc. pose no danger to them. Thats only with the old style.



Answer
That's a question you are going to have to ask your pacemaker tech, or perhaps even call the Consumer Info line of the company that makes it.

Pacemakers are much better than they were, but you still have to use a little common sense. You can be in the same room as a running microwave oven (It used to be you had to leave the room first) but don't lean over the microwave watching your food cook. Keep about 3 feet (at least) between it and you.

Also, you should use your cell phone on the opposite side of your body. If your pacemaker is implanted in the left shoulder, for example, hold the cell phone to your right ear.

Magnets are a no-no. Those super strong rare earth magnets are a serious no-no. The doc can adjust your pacemaker by using a magnet, so getting close to a magnetic field could accidentally reprogram your pacer.

I'm assuming that you are not an Avionics Tech yet, but want to get into the field. If so, you need to schedule a meeting with someone who teaches Avionics Repair, and ask his opinion. If he isn't sure, ask him how much work around magnets, electromagnets, and welding could be involved. And then call the pacemaker company and talk to them about it. If they ask you any questions, tell them what the teacher said, or offer to put them in touch with the instructor.

Good luck, and hopefully you will get the answer you desire!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

how accurte is the nike running app? Would it be better to get the sports watch?

sports watches for running on Garmin Forerunner 410 Top TRAINING GPS Watch *** Running *** Cycling ...
sports watches for running image



Cutiepatoo


I started running and I used the couch to 5k app to prepare me for my 5k. I would run out side and seemed to be accurate since I was outisde and such
but recently I joined the gym and I like using the track more than running outside.
I use the nikes running app now, but the GPS doesn't work in my gym. It always cuts in and out.
I use the indoor option (I think its for the tredmill) but I am not sure if it is really accurate?
Doesnt' seem liek it is especially if I am running on the track, not the tredmill and I don't understand how it tracks you when theres no GPS

ANYwho do you guys know if it is actually accurate? OR should I get the sports watch? Or will that just doo the same where the GPS wont work since I am in a gym?

PLease and thank you!



Answer
I always run outside and it's very accurate but I always have a great signal for the GPS to work to. I would imagine that without GPS it would be pretty worthless.

Is an ipod nano sports watch water resistant?

Q. Would my ipod nano be ok if I took it for a run while using the sports watch clip? I tend to sweat a lot, so would this damage my ipod?


Answer
I accidentally put mine in the wash and it still worked.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, September 16, 2013

A device measuring the distance I have run?

running watches that measure distance on Tech4O Running SPEED/DISTANCE/HEART RATE MONITOR Watch | eBay
running watches that measure distance image



Fraz


I would like to know if there is a device, something maybe like a watch, which also measures the distance you run? This is because im doing a training program and for example after jogging 1.5km i will sprint 50m, so i need something which can tell me the distance i have just run.

I have looked at one other similar question but the answers didnt really help.



Answer
I use the garmin 301 - it is perfect it comes with a heart rate monitor and you can program it for just about any thing distance wise you want to do. I programmed it for 2 miles warm up 12x30s sprints with 2 min rest and 2 mile cool down. It took 2 minutes to program and load on the device.

What is a good distance tracker/GPS for your shoe while running?




IggyCump3


Not looking for a watch, looking for a quality shoe product that can accurately measure my distance on my runs. Or, are there distance trackers you could put in your pocket?


Answer
I don't trust those devices you put in your shoe to measure that kind of stuff. I've heard several bad reviews about them plus I believe they are a waste of money. What I do is wear a wristwatch while I run and see how long I run for then I get online and track how far I ran. Good websites to do this are http://www.usatf.org/routes/map/ and http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/create/




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What differences are there between the iPhone 3g and the 3gS?

best digital watch for runners on EasyCap Video Capture DVR (Support both Vista and Windows, XP, best ...
best digital watch for runners image



hockeydude


I know that there are software updates to both, but what can only the 3gS do?


Answer
There are some, but a are very good changes!

1. Camera!
The Camera has been upgraded from a 2.0 Megapixel to a 3.0 Megapixel... That gives you much better quality on a Camera...Unlike the 3G. Also comes with video recording!
2. Internal!
The iPhone 3GS has been upgraded with a 600Mhz Processor (Capabilities of 833Mhz) so this means better games and speed! The RAM was also upgraded to 256 MB which is about how much some computers have that are 5 years old... In a Mobile Device!!! For internal: Gives you better games and speed

Little Nick-Nacks:
The iPhone 3GS comes with cool little features that the iPhone 3G does not have...

Storage:
Comes in 16GB and 32GB. More songs and Apps! The 3G only comes in 8GB

Strength:
According to some websites that fix iPhones, it is more durable and less likely to brake if dropped... (oops)...

For you Runners:
It has support for Nike iPod which counts how much you have ran by putting a pad inside shoe... O use it and really works!

Headphones:
Comes with Headphones that you can control all your music with a little control gizmo...

Longer Battery!
More time to watch movies or play music!

Digital Compass:
Has a digital compass inside that the iPhone 3G does not!

Voice
Not you can control your phone with the sound of your voice!

Speed on the internet!
The internet has been up graded to 7.2 Mb per second which is HUGE!

Bluetooth:
Just has been upgraded and better

Ther price maybe higher but look what you get!

Graphics:
Improved from the 3G

For More About the iPhone 3GS, visit my website:
http://iphonehelpsupport.tk

What should I do to get into great running shape?




Tinker


I am 17 years old, a female. I weigh around 135 and am about 5'1. I am not in the best shape, and would to be able to lose about 15 lbs in about 3 months. I can walk for miles, but running and I don't get along. yet. Any suggestions on how to get in great shape, being able to run for longer periods of time? and about water, is it good or bad to drink a ton just before running?


Answer
I am a big proponent of the couch to 5 K running program (C25K). It's a walk to run program and its one of the best.

The C25K program slowly increases your effort over 9 weeks. I did it and I really liked the fact that I could see each week I was making progress and I never really felt like it was too hard.

You will have to get a sports watch that can be programmed to do intervals. I really like Timex watches; the trainer line is pretty good. And some of them have Heart Rate Monitors which is a nice way of monitoring your effort. Casio makes a interval timer that's simple and inexpensive, W756-1A, you can find it at amazon for $20. Or buy a Gymboss for $20. All the Gymboss does is time intervals, but its real simple to use and program.

If you have an iPod, you can download a podcast that is the couch to 5 K program and you won't even need a watch. And if you have an iPod touch or iPhone, you can download the Interval Run app for $2. It is easy to use and is pre-programmed with the C25K and several other programs.

If you're really thinking of getting a heart rate monitor, and you don't have an iPhone, then take a bigger plunge and get a GPS Heart rate monitor watch. They have the interval timers built in, and you can monitor both your distance and your effort. I like the Garnin 405.

Once you graduate from the C25K program they have other programs that are more advanced. I still do intervals once in a while. A lot of runners do them once a week. So you can plan on using your timer for a long time.

Couch to 5 K
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Gymboss
http://www.amazon.com/Gymboss-8599-GB2010-BLACK-SOFTCOAT/dp/B0036USWUQ/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1338400308&sr=1-1-catcorr

Casio interval timer watch
http://www.amazon.com/Casio-W756-1AV-Digital-Sport-Watch/dp/B0013M6BRA/ref=sr_1_6?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401190&sr=1-6

Timex trainer
http://www.amazon.com/Timex-Ironman-Trainer-Heart-Monitor/dp/B001JBU6YY/ref=sr_1_12?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401447&sr=1-12

Garmin405 CX
http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Forerunner-405CX-Sport-Monitor/dp/B0025UHKNS/ref=sr_1_7?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401528&sr=1-7

C25K podcast
http://www.c25k.com/

Interval run app
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/interval-run/id297105174?mt=8


Garmin405 CX
http://www.amazon.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some playing tips for Shumann's clarinet fantasy pieces first movement?

watches running on pulse on Sargas by Amy Wright the priests (in dark cotton robes, and dirty ...
watches running on pulse image



mwhtw


I'm trying to learn the piece for an audition and I don't have a private teachers. I just have a few questions.
1. For the part in the middle with the repeated 8th note runs, is circular breathing required? If not how would the breathing work in that part?

2. How expressive should it be? I know that it is a romantic and expressive piece. But should I be so expressive to the point where im not following the beat as rigidly as other pieces?

Thanks!



Answer
I can't help you with the breathing. I am looking at the clarinet transcription, the original was for cello. This piece is expressive to the point of being neurotic. In general as the pitches go higher one would want to crescendo, when the pitches go lower one would want to decrescendo. However, interpretation and artistry would change the generality. You will have to play with this to decide what gets the most emotional impact for you. Mark your score and make sure your accompanist does what you want. Good luck.

Edit: re the eighth notes runs, the players I accompanied treated those sections with absolute adherence to the pulses as written but treated it dynamically.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=7z0TDu3WOVY

www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8ksH8ZUru4

Try these sites for interpretative help. Then to get the most out of your question post it on classical music section, there are some great contributors there who can help you better than I can.

How much weight should I expect to lose working with a trainer with weights 3 times?

Q. With my trainer, we do weight training for about 50 minutes a day, 3 days a week. Three other days a week, I do about 20-30 minutes of cardio. I am also on the Ali diet and carefully watch what I eat. I am now at 168 lbs 5'5, 21 year old female. What is a reasonable goal to have? And what is the time frame to have it? I just don't want to set my standards too high or too low. Thanks!


Answer
It's really very simple.

There are 2 categories of workouts and you only need to focus on one of those for weight loss.

1. Resistance training - weight lifting, sit-ups, push-ups, etc.

2. Cardiovascular Training - walking/running, swimming, jumping jacks, dancing to the oldies, etc.

You need only to focus on #2 for weight loss. #1 is good for muscle tone but does little for weight loss.

Cardiovascular exercises are simple and you don't need any fancy equipment. For successful weight loss, all you need to do is any body movements that get your heart rate higher than normal. That's what cardiovascular workouts are all about. They simply get your heart rate up and burn off fat.

You will need to keep your heart rate up for longer than 20 minutes per session in order to achieve a successful burn. The body takes that much time to warm up and begin the burn. Any huffy-puffy activity will work such as walking, running, going up and down stairs, vigorous dancing, jumping rope, just anything that makes you huff and puff. That's the key - huff and puff for over 20 minutes a session. This is how your body burns off fat.

CONSULT YOUR DOCTOR FOR ADVICE ON THE SAFEST WORKOUT FOR YOU.

Don't get discouraged!

Contrary to popular TV, there is no such thing as "targeting" an area of your body for weight loss. The reality is that you will see the fattest part of your body lose weight last! You will notice it first in your face. The thickest fat is the last to go so don't lose heart if you don't see your âtargeted areaâ going anywhere at first.

Simply create a huffy-puffy workout for yourself that lasts over 20 minutes per session and stick to a daily routine for best results.

Another tip is don't rely on what the scales say everyday. That will discourage you. The better way to monitor your progress is to observe your clothes getting looser. The scales can be misleading because as you lose weight, typically you are also building muscle mass. This dual change may look like you are not losing fat when you actually are.

Checking your heart rate. Take your fingers of your left hand and place them about an inch to the right of the center of your right hand wrist as it faces palm up. This should be at your right-hand wrist below your thumb. You should feel a pulse there. Now count the number of beats in a 6 second period. Multiply that number by 10 and that's your heart rate. A reasonably safe and effective heart rate during an exercise burn is about 120 for most people 30â50 years old.

A bland diet will speed the weight loss up for sure. But if you're like me, starting a daily exercise program plus starting a bland diet is just too emotionally stressful (wink, wink). So, I say, for those of us who want some type of reward for working out everyday, continue enjoying your favorite foods - just cut your portions down. Train yourself to learn when you are satisfied as you eat a meal and stop eating at that point rather than eating until you feel full. You'll be surprised at how early in the meal you are satisfied. So, just stop eating at that point. Make a habit of it.

I am a 52 year old male and I am using a programmed treadmill which uses a combination walk/ 5 mph. run workout for 30 minutes a day. I am losing 2-3 pounds a week just doing that and cutting my favorite food portions back the way I mentioned before. My peak heart rate during this routine is 140. (Just telling you this in hopes that it will give you some idea of what 30 minutes a day will do for you so you can adjust your workout to suit your targeted weight loss time frame.)

Good luck! I hope this helps.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, September 15, 2013

How to go from a 12 minute mile down to an 8-7 minute mile in less than a year?

running watches that track mileage on original country guitar lps, incs..Title, Wipe Out, Running Bear ...
running watches that track mileage image



Lauren Ish


I know it sounds crazy, but i wanna show everyone the track star within me lol ridiculous, right? If you give me a distance running plan I will follow it to a tee.

How long should I run a day? Track starts up again in less than a month. I want to condition for this upcoming season,and when I come back In the winter (next year) I want to have a decent running time. I want to prove everybody wrong, all those people that put me down and called me slow. I don't think running fast frustrates the average person as much as it frustrates me. I am 17 and a junior. I started track this year. I'm a girl.



Answer
It's not ridiculous at all, anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. I would also bet that you are out of shape by now, it only takes ten days for your body to start loosing muscle. So, since you're just getting into running again I would suggest that you start going for some distance runs 1-2 miles 4-5 times a week. You don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

The benefit of starting early is that you have a couple months to train, which is plenty of time to whip yourself into shape. Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Set an alarm to wake yourself up in the morning, then just get out and do it. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Now, after a a month of training the schedule above is going to seem pretty easy, this will be because your endurance base has built up and you can start pushing yourself to go faster and you're plan could look a little something like this:

Monday: Distance run (1-4 miles slower 10-12 minute mile)
Tuesday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 7-8 minute mile)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-4 miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Thursday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 7-8 minute mile)
Friday: Distance run (1-4 miles miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

This training plan should start putting you into great shape before track. Hope this helps! If you follow this training plan, or one like this I promise that you can prove everyone wrong. Good luck, and feel free to message me if you have any more questions!

I have a month and a half running will I get faster?




Unibrow


I jog 60 minutes everyother day now. Its been more than a month. As I get used to it will I get faster as it becomes easier. Im in no hurry to get faster. Im just wondering if speed would come on its own. I plan to make the 60 minutes my normal run and at least 90 minutes my long run everyother time I run.


Answer
I think you have the right attitude and a good plan.
Here is my suggestion. Run 60 minutes once a week, and run 90 minutes once a week and then once a week run a tempo - Maybe about 40 minutes. Run the same course each time and see if you can run it in a little less time each week. A lot of GPS watches have a "virtual runner" that makes this kind of easy or you can use a track or a neighborhood or trail with landmarks and a watch. I do a 4 mile run where i know the landmarks for 10, 20, and 30 minutes. My run is mostly uphill for the first half so minute landmarks make more sense to me than mileage markers.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers