Saturday, June 7, 2014

what is a good sports watch?




Annie


I am looking for a sports watch. I am a runner and enjoy other forms of exercise and am looking for a watch that has a heart rate monitor, GPS (for distance runs), and a calorie counter. I am looking to spend no more than 200 dollars, even if that means I need to get a used one on amazon. I tried out the nike fuel band, but didn't like that it didn't have a HRM and that you couldn't see your distance on the watch.


Answer
To get the most accurate reading, you would want a watch that comes with a band that you would wear around your chest while you're running. As far as which one is the best I really can't say. I personally have the Nike+ Gps Sportswatch and while it does a lot for me, the only thing that it won't do for me is monitor my heart rate.

sport watches for running and swimming?




niffoc14


i need a watch which can record lap times or length times and record overall times and waterproof up to quite a deep depth. also can memorize previous times. money no option


Answer
http://www.backcountry.com/store/FST0022/Freestyle-USA-Recon-Sport-Watch.html?CMP_ID=SH_FRO001&CMP_SKU=FST0022&mv_pc=r126




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

is Star Trek worth watching marathon?




Leia


i just finished watching Star Wars marathon.. omg its amazing!
i am so into Star Wars haha xD
so what about Star Trek? is it worth watching?



Answer
The Star Trek movies are different types of films than Star Wars. You won't get as much out of them if you are not already familiar with the characters. Already established relationships between the characters are central to the plots. They are still great films thought, II: The Wrath of Khan and VI: The Undiscovered Country in particular.

If you want to start watching Star Trek, I suggest the series. In particular The Next Generation Seasons 3 to 7 are the best.

If you are looking for a good Sci Fi movie series, Alien is great. You can skip Alien 3 and just watch Alien, Aliens, and Alien Resurrection. 2001 and Blade Runner are must see sci fi films as well.

Runners: How much training do you need to be able to run a marathon(26 miles)?




Claudia


My dad and I are planning to go to the Disney marathon on February. He has a lot of training, years of running. But I, in fact, don't have much physical condition. I'm 16 years old and I so badly want to go! How much do I have to train to be able to go? I love running. I probably have about a month of training. Please help! I run and walk 3.2 miles daily. I can't even run a mile without stopping. I can barely run .22 miles and I feel like I'm gonna die. How much should I run each day to be prepared for the marathon? Or should we wait for another year?


Answer
Watch Nova's special on Marathon running which takes couch potatoes and makes them runners. Most people can run a marathon in 8 months if they put in progression training. It's easy to start young then in working life. However, you might want to be realistic and set small goals with your larger goal the marathon next year. Be flexible and maybe change it to a 1/2 marathon and next year the marathon. You also have to be able to do a fun 1 mile run, 5K, 10K and ten miler. Progression is the key to running. A marathon is out of the question until you can mentally and physically gain the experience of running further and further distance.

For training you need to gradually increase your time training. You should be doing weight lifting and jogging. Take breaks for instance after 200 meters and work up to running longer. Get your Dad to coach you along with joining your XC team and track at school.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, June 6, 2014

What is a good GPS watch for running?




xckyle93


I am looking for a good GPS watch that isn't that bulky/heavy.


Answer
Even though it is a bit bulky, I like the Garmin Forerunner 205. I love it and use it a lot, especially on trail runs. It records distance, elevation changes, pace, calories burned, and all sorts of other stuff. For about an extra fifty dollars more, you can get the Forerunner 305 which has a heart rate monitor.

GPS Sports watch for running?




Rajan


Does anyone know if there is some sort of watch with GPS or a Pedometer that can count how many miles I have run? I have trails behind my house, but no markings. Also cheap if you can find it.


Answer
Agree with the 1st user try the new garmin 10 if i not wrong with the number I remember it is either 10 or 110.It costs less than 100 bucks.Such watch if taken care of can use longer and you need not worry about changing the battery cuz it is made of lithium thus rechargeable when you plug in through usb from your computer which you will do so. You can see the exact speed, exact elevation at the watever place you like to see mapped on your run.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Beginner to understanding how to familiarize with streets, areas, and public transportation around LA?




shadowfree


How do I get really familiar with the streets and area of Los Angeles really, really well? Im only 17, dont have a drivers license and Im driven around most of the time and not really exposed to a lot of areas( I guess because my family gets a little worried about me being on my own) and I feel like I want to start traveling on my own and getting a lot more familiar traveling around Los Angeles. I also want to get really familiar with taking public transportations systems like the Metro and knowing how the buses, subways and rail lines work and their stations( I checked the website but I want to get a better feeling of it though) Do you think guys that I might need a map or GPS of some sort or what becauseI really want to start getting familiar with the streets and areas in Los Angeles( especially so well that to the point I wont always have to depend on going to the website of metro and checking up the time schedules or directions, because I'll be very knowledgeable of it already) to be honest I'm really new to this and I dont want to get lost while Im being exposed to this new thing for me so if you can help me out everyone because this really means a lot to me if I want to travel and know LA.

Thanks!!!



Answer
A GPS might help, but maybe you should use the internet to begin with. The reason why I say that is because maybe you cannot afford the GPS at the moment, but if you can afford a GPS then let me run down how simple it is to use one. I will be referring to my current GPS for instructions, but these instructions are so general that they should apply to any GPS.

Quick over view about GPS to help you determine if you want or need one. GPS's use satellites to help aid you navigation. GPS's are loaded with maps to show you where you're going on a journey and stop you from getting lost. This simple demonstration uses Newelectronx GPS to show you how to get to your destination.

Step 1: You will need
* a newelectronx GPS
* some form of transportation (bus, bike, motorcycle, car, train, etc)
* a start point (A)
* and end point (B)

Step 2: Position your newelectronx GPS
Find a position to place your newelectronx GPS in your car where it is easy for you to see the screen without turning your head away from the road ahead. Do not place it directly in your eye line, but close enough to view the screen. The screen is very large (5 inches) so anywhere you put it, you should have no trouble seeing it. Use the car mounting bracket and windshield holder that came with it to mount it. If you are walking or on the bus then hold it in your hands. Remember, it can be used with battery power or car charger.
Step 3: Turn your newelectronx GPS on
To find your current position, your newelectronx GPS links to the Global Positioning System satellites, which takes no time at all. Turn on your newelectronx GPS as soon as possible to avoid delaying your journey. Most other GPS's need a clear line of sight to the sky or they need to be stationary to get a good signal from the satellites or any satellite signal at all, but I have found that newelectronx GPS can receive satellites without these conditions. My Garmin would not be able to connect in the garage or in a multi-storey car park (like the ones in LA), but my newelectronx GPS does most of the time. The receiver can be built into a screen or an external box connected to a screen, depending on your GPS model. So make sure you get a good GPS, if you decide to buy. OK?
Step 4: Enter your destination (this is the fun part)
Decide where you want to go, and enter the information into your newelectronx GPS. It has a pre-loaded road map, that is searchable by place name, road name or postcode. Make sure you enter this information before you set off on your journey. Trying to do so whilst on the road is distracting and potentially dangerous. So, remember before you leave the curb in any vehicle - put in your destination first.
Step 5: Follow the instructions
Once your newelectronx GPS has worked out a route for your journey, it will display a map of the road ahead, with an arrow pointing in the right direction. You will also hear a ladies voice or man voice telling you turn by turn instructions. The arrow move as you move, the road moves & changes as you move, and the voice instructs you as if someone is in the car with you reading a road map. Your newelectronx GPS will tell you in good time, on the screen and via voice prompts, how long to stay on the road you are on, what your next turn will be, and the name of the road you are turning onto. Do not be tempted to watch the screen for too long, keep your eyes on the road and take in the information with a glance and through your ears.
Step 6: Don't panic about a wrong turn
With a newelectronx GPS you are never lost, because it always knows exactly where you are. If you make a wrong turn, don't try to retrace your steps. Your newelectronx GPS will sense you have gone the wrong way, and recalculate your route to get you back on track.
Step 7: Think for yourself
Most GPS is not infallible, always keep your brain on and don't take the instructions you are given without double-checking them for yourself, especially when it comes to potentially dangerous maneuvers such as a u-turn. With some GPS's that you purchase, it might be best to keep a road map in the car and look up the page that has your destination on it, so you have a sense of the direction you should be headed. A road map comes in handy when your GPS maps are old and not updated.
Step 8: Arriving at your destination
Once you have reached your point 'B', make sure to pack your newelectronx GPS away. Police say that one of the fastest rising reasons for car crime is a GPS theft. Don't leave it visible. have some wet wipes handy to clean off any suction cup marks and remove any signs that the car contained a GPS.
Congratulations! Now you are done and know another part of your big city. Give it ago and again and again until you feel comfortable with your local surroundings. There are many different types of GPS devices available, so for information about buying a GPS then look here:
http://www.newelectronx.com/help.php?category_id=44
http://ww

Was there a time when you could've done something but instead walked away?




Omelettedu


Was there a time when you felt just like all those people who stop and stare but do nothing and then realized why the world is so dysfunctional?
I was in the trolley bus (yes, we have them here) today, coming home, and there was this guy picking on a lady. He had mental issues I guess, and the lady didn't even know him. He began to call her names, I think he touched her because I heard her say "Get your hands off me!", I was afraid he was going to hit her. He seemed very unstable so nobody said anything, they just sat there and watched. A woman got off being afraid for her kids. I can remember a friend of mine telling me about a similar thing having happened to her and something tells me it was the same guy. Only he also had a knife that time. He got off the trolley bus but when it turned around, he got back in and he took the seat next to the lady. Then the trolley arrived in front of my building and I got off. All the time I was in the trolley I was thinking that if I was a guy, I would've stepped in. But now I couldn't have handled him. Not in this life. I thought about calling the police a few times but I didn't, I don't know why.
30 minutes have passed since. I can't do anything now but I regret I didn't do it earlier. I know I should have, don't judge me. I'm sorry.



Answer
Both of my parents beat me one time it was so bad my mom hit me with a crutch I ran andocked my self in the bathroom she got in some how turned me around and chocked me til I couldn't breath any more my back was on the sink so I reared back and started kicking and hiting I was 13. It was the first time I hit back bc I feared my life. I told a friend at school the next day she told me to tell the nurse so I did and the nurse took pictures and called cps for me I had bruises on my back and a huge one on my arm. They said it was a mother daughter problem. I was 14 and my mom was doing exercises and my little sister was just barely walking she graves my moms leg and kicked her across the room I jumped up graves my sistter and said don't you treat her like that she got up off the floor punched me in my mouth and told me not to tell her how to raise her. I called her a bitch started running up stairs she grabbed me by the ankle at the top and drug me down them we had a swing door it had screws in it and I grabbed it trying to get away it fell off she banged my head into the wall caused 3 knots took the door and started pushing the screws to my face I blocked it with Wu hands I ended up having nail holes in my hands I kicked her and got her off of me and I ran out the door as I was running out my cuz grabbed me and took me to his car asked wat happens and my mom told him the same thing she saw me again she would kill me(he ended up molestimg me 2 years later). I started having behavior problems I would rock back and forth and ran away got put on probation I would ask my po please lock me up. I told her I wouldn't go home so she would take me in. My mom would make my dad come and beat me when he got home. One day when I was geting ready for school I ran out the door bc he had gotten mad and got that look in his eye so I tan scared for the right resonance no shoes on ran towards school he came out the door graves me and I grabbed the fence I was lifted in the air the fence broke on me I graves another one finally a car stopped I heard a lady yell you put that child down he said shit the fuck up started going off on her and I ran and ran fast it ended up being a school teachet. She called cps again nothing happened nothing ever happened a year later my parents split up I had the hard choice witch parent to stay with I picked my dad he didn't beat me as much. I was told that it was my fault they split up my mom called me a white and a bitch and told me to stay.with him. Then the molestation started, my cuz let my dad and I stay with him I told friends he was doing it. They never told any one. Didn't help me no one ever helped I started citing my self thinking about suiside. I never was home I stayed the note at friends houses, when I was home he would sneek into my room and I never got sleep I had to stay awake all the time. I was miserable then one day my dad said no one wants u go kill your self I said ok I was done with life and wat it had to offer me. I started walking to a 20 story building went up the elevator apparently my dad followed me I was siting on the ledge having my last cigg ansd my dad ran up there dear gps please don't do it I'm sorry. I had no one to help me no one to atop this punishment I didn't deserve. I left home at 18 got into an abusive relationship and met my angel that someone to stop the violence he pulled my ex off me we became beat friends I have been married to him for 6 years with 3 kids nothing makes me happier now the cycle of violence stops with me and my miss don't get whipped they are loved how I allways wanted to be because he arrows in and saved me I now knw wat its like to be loves and how to show love




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why does my Polar watch keeping running the battery down?




flip.flopq


I have a Polar watch/heart rate monitor, and I replace the battery, and then 2 days later it is showing the battery low symbol. I have changed batteries twice, and it keeps running it down. I am not sure why. The light is not on, so I know it is not that. Thanks for any input.


Answer
Polar has a good return/exchange policy. I would just send it all back for a new one. Most likely there is a defect in either the watch or the HR monitor.

I need a really nice running watch...?




My baby bo


that can tell time and distance in miles. Are there any out there and can you give me the prices they range from?


Answer
There are two different types to choose between: GPS or footpod based.
For GPS the big ones are: Garmin, Suunto, Polar but also Apple Iphone
For footpod the big ones are: Polar, Suunto, Garmin but also Apple Ipod

I have a Garmin GPS myself (had two earlier models and liked them too). A benefit with a Polar is that its heartrate monitor works with many exercise machines if you train in a gym.

For prices, go to http://mysimon.com and type in what you're looking for




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, June 5, 2014

running pace HELP?




Sarah


i've been runnign x-country for 3 years now, and just this winter i started indoor track. as a workout during x-country season i've been doing thresholds, to get a pace, and after all these years, i still can't keep a steady pace. i've tried using a watch and watching it, but still can't stick with a STEADY pace, my split times are usually all over. HELP!!!!
how do you "adjust" your pace while you're running?



Answer
Do you start at a pace that's too fast, then slow down? If so, try to not going out too hard, and with each repetition, push it a little more. You've probably already tried this, but looking at your watch every 200 or 400 and adjusting your pace according might be good. It depends on the distances your running, but it's not a big deal if you're times vary a few seconds, or even 5-10 seconds on distances over 800 meters. Just make sure that you put forth a lot of effort, and your workouts should be effective. Worry more about your level of exertion than your actual times

Looking to buy a running watch that monitors pace/distance/caloric burn. Any suggestions? Hopefully under $150?




Bob


The watch is for my mom, she is not very tech savvy so needs to be easy to use, no need for a HR monitor.


Answer
nike makes a chip that goes into your shoe and plugs into your ipod. They also have some kind of watch too. check out their website. (nikeplus.com)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are the newest sporty watches?




Dot dot do


I want to buy a new watch , a sports watch , cause I love running . And I'd prefer a watch with GPS . So what is your opinion , which is the best watch ? Garmin , Nike , or you know other brands ?
P.S : My latest watch was Garmin 405 CX



Answer
Deuce Brand Sport Watch, Casio, Timex Ironman Heart Rate Monitor Watch, Timex SL Series, Garmin G3 Sports Watch

you can visit this site, it shows all the sport watches that has GPS:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/triathlon/computers-gps-watches/?lang=en&dest=27&curr=aud&referid=googaus&utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=+GPS%20+sport%20+watches&utm_campaign=Triathlon%20Generic%20Australia%20-%20Shoes&KEYWORD=+GPS%20+sport%20+watches&MATCHTYPE=Search&AD_ID_G=13579058593


and

http://www.comparison.com.au/sports-watches/__features:GPS-Enabled

How much typically is an Audemars Piguet watch?Is it pricier than a ROlex?




AtomicSush


How much typically is an Audemars Piguet watch?Is it pricier than a ROlex? And does it have big faces?


Answer
AP is one of the big 3 Swiss watch makers along with Patek Phillipe and Vacheron Constantin. Although 95% of people have never heard of these brands, they are recognized as being much higher quality than Rolex among those who know watches. These 3 have been in business for hundreds of years and can trace their history back to the beginnings of watch making.

Since these companies still do a lot of their work by hand, unlike Rolexes which are almost all machine made, they can cost significantly more. Watches with complications (special features) can run over $100,000. There are some models which may be close in price to an average Rolex though (5-8k) but those are only the most basic. Typical watch will be about 4x what Rolex would charge.

Their faces are similar in size to Rolex - about 38-42mm.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

.will liverpool ever become great again ?




Deano


liverpools domination seems such a distant memory ..lol..

OQ can you remember the way liverpool dominated football not only in england but in europe also ... ?? bad times to be a united fan .. lol..
if it means getting rid of the glaziers luke i'd accept it .. i reckon 5 years and we would be back at the top ?? ps hows gillette and hicks doing .. pmsl ...
luke we double your debt bud but quadruple your income ..?? i think we are in a better situation than you bud ... hows the new stadium going ?? ours holds 75 thousand ??



Answer
ofcourse deano, football runs in cycles as im sure a man of your advanced years is all 2 aware of lol ps you remember when law backheeled the ball into the net.................2 relegate man utd hehehe http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNnsWnHW9co incase your memory isnt what it used 2 be m8

ITV1 Liverpool C.L game, joe cocker music???




lisa h


Ive just been watching itv1, Liverpool game and in the run up to the game there was a song played by (i think) joe cocker. Does anyone know what it was?? Any help gratefully recieved. Thank you.


Answer
Never heard of the Geezer




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Let me vent - horseback riding IS a sport!?




Harriet


Alright, so I had some guy friends over to chill and stuff & I asked them if they'd like to watch me work on breaking my horse. They're like, you mean ride it? Jeez, I can't believe you think that's a sport! I got pretty pissed, because they have no clue what they were talking about. So I went up to the guy who said that (who was a wrestler) and this is how it went, lol:

Me: "Right, so you're a wrestler, right? You control and make 100something pound people do what you want to win right?"
Him: "Yeah man, brute stength."
Me: "Multiply that weight by 10 and you've got a horse, who we control with just our ARMS and LEGS!"

Haha, yeah, I blew up a little. But honestly, I don't see where people can find a fault in riding as a sport. Dictionary.com describes is as a skill based on strength - riding definitely is a skill, and it absolutely takes strength. In most sports, if you lose, you lose. But in horseback riding, if you lose (to your horse) you could be seriously injured by being trampled, bucked, kicked, or rolled ontop of. Seriously! All these football players and wrestlers and "contact" sports players have no clue what it's like to be a horseback rider.

Sorry. Just needed to vent.

Legit: Who thinks horseback riding IS a sport?
Haley T - I agree. Boys will be boys, I guess. :\



Answer
Yes, riding is a sport- in fact ALL the horse sports are sports, and in the case of those in the Olympics, they were ALL INVENTED BY MEN. Without exception, ALL of the Olympic horse sports came from the MILITARY- they are descended from activities which were used to train horses and riders for COMBAT, and since men were the only ones who could fight wars for centuries, it stands to reason that these sports were INVENTED BY THEM. The oldest of the three sports, dressage, also carries the distinction of being one of the oldest horse sports of ANY kind in existence- and there is a considerable amount of debate among historians and scholars as to whether dressage or polo has the honor of being considered to be THE WORLD'S OLDEST horse sport. I think the answer depends to a large extent on who you talk to. Polo people like my sister claim that theirs is the oldest horse sport, and people who do dressage consider that sport to be the oldest. Dressage was originally invented by the great armies of Europe and Asia, not so much as a sport, but rather as a system of training horses and riders for mounted warfare. Although the armies themselves have become mechanized and horses are no longer used, the great schools of classical riding which they helped start still exist today. These include the Spanish Riding School in Vienna, Austria, the Cadre Noir ( also called the French Cavalry School) in France, the ReitInstitut von Neindorff in Germany, and several other facilities throughout the rest of Europe, Asia, and in South America. Eventing, the second Olympic horse sport, is also of military origin- in fact, it was orignally called the Militare in honor of its roots. Today's modern 3 day events are the direct descendent of the tests which were given to calvary officers and their mounts, at or near the end of said officers' and mounts' training for war. They were a final exam of sorts, one which was meant to determine once and for all just WHO WAS FIT to lead troops on the battlefield- and those who couldn't or didn't pass the test ( no matter the reason why) DIDN'T go on to do this. This is the reason why today's events are still considered by many to be the ULTIMATE test of a rider's and horse's abilities and courage. Eventing requires horses and riders to be extremely tough, both mentally and physically. The horses have to be good runners and good jumpers, and bold enough to jump any kind of obstacle or fence, even if it looks dangerous. At the same time, they have to be obedient enough to be easy to control and to ride. Riders who event have to know their horses thoroughly, and be able to communicate with their horses to solve problems and answer techinical questions. Riders also have to have courage, strength, and a desire to win- and they ALSO need to be unafraid to stare DEATH right in the face and overcome it- eventing is one of the few sports in the Olympics in which the possibility of a FATAL accident involving horse, rider, or both is EVER PRESENT. It's NOT for the weak stomached or the faint of heart. I don't know many wrestlers who have that kind of courage, no matter how macho some of them think they are. Show jumping, the third sport, is a direct descendent of the jumping contests which the officers and men of various army regiments would get into when they weren't fighting. EVERY regiment or division had its own champions, and there were fierce, hotly contested rivalries among them. Tournaments were held fairly frequently, and these became the forerunners of today's modern show jumping classes and competitions. Show jumping is all about speed, style, and precision. It's also about having a horse which is bold enough and brave enough to jump heights of five feet or better, and still come back for more. Riders need strength, balance, coordination, and courage to be able to do this well.

I don't know many football, basketball, or baseball players who can ride- most of them are too scared of getting hurt. There's also the perception that horse sports are "gay" sports, something which has REALLY, REALLY HURT the equestrian world as a whole, and has thrown the gender balance in all of the Olympic horse sports way off. Today, women out number men almost 10 to 1 in most of the Olympic horse sports- and women have only been competing in the horse sports since the 1950's. The few men who do compete in such sports have to put up with a LOT of undeserved criticism about their masculinity and sexual orientation- and this is even true of the men who are MARRIED and have families !!! It's sad, it really is.

Why do women get head starts in athletics and sports?




Roger


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mMRVg_I7YCk

I know men are stronger but it not realistic to include men and women in sports then we should be segregated.
No Tracey it does say it if you go in a few minutes it talks about women getting the head start in the new york marathon race. A 30 minute head start.

And in the PGA head starts too. You are using a selective attention span. This is not a girls are icky rant, this is a wtf are feminists such incessant hypocrites for rant.



Answer
Women get heads starts so that the overall event doesn't take up more time than necessary.

And in those examples (marathons and golf), men and women aren't competing against one another. Men are competing against men, and women are competing against women.

Marathons are scheduled so that the slowest competitors will start first. They do this with different age groups as well, so that the roads will be closed for the least amount of time during the day. They are clocked the same start-to-finish, so it's not like women (or older runners) have 30 minutes subtracted from their total time.

And likewise in golf, I would imagine (since women can't hit the ball as far as men) it would take more strokes for a female golfer to get from the tee to the pin. So the tournament would take longer if both genders had to hit the same distance.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Nike+ Sportwatch GPS vs Timex Ironman Run Trainer GPS?




Virusfist


I was wondering which of these I should get. They both seem like close competitors in price and features. Any help or thoughts would be appreciated! Thanks


Answer
If it's all the same to you, I'd go for the Nike+ watch, since they have a great runner's community.
I don't know whether you're already a Nike+ person or not, but I can recommend it to anyone.

Need a runners watch that is good for measuring distance.?




kristajoy1


My husband and I are training for our first marathon and our mileage is getting to the point where driving around trying to figure out our mileage is getting annoying. We want something that will ACCURATELY calculate our distance, preferrably not costing an arm and a leg. We don't neccessarily need all of the fancy bells and whistles. Any suggestions?


Answer
Besides the GPS watches (Garmin 201, 205, 305, 405 and Timex, and I don't know any of the others), a cheap option that still saves driving is to measure online, with mapmyrun.com, or even just with google maps.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Good places to buy a laptop online?




greenmonke


i am going to be going to college next year hopefully, so i need a good laptop for college. also if u have any recomendations on what kind of laptop to get i would appreciate it. i neeed it for school work of corse, memory for pictures, music, and that is about it. but there will be a LOT of music! so if u know of a good NOT TOO expensive laptop with plenty of memory that would be appreciated too. but yeah, just let me know if u knwo of any good places online to buy a laptop!


Answer
Alrighty then, lol.

If youâre buying a laptop, there are a few things to consider.

1. The processor. Most, if not every decent laptop in today's market has dual-core technology. This means that it has two processors working as one to compute information. Now, what's the difference between speeds? In all reality, for a common user (that is not a hard-core computer geek like some of us), the difference between 1.8GHz and 2.0GHz is negligible. The only areas you will be able to notice will be in gaming, and video encoding.

2. The memory. If the OS (Operating System) is a "32-bit" then it can only read approximately 3 GB of RAM. Only the "64-bit" processors can understand 4+ GB of RAM. RAM is what the computer uses to store temporary information, like open programs (internet, word processing, music players, etc...). A general rule of thumb is that the more RAM, the faster the computer will load programs/files to a point (as with everything). An industry standard nowadays is around 3 GB. The faster the "clock speed" of the ram (the higher the PC xxxx), the higher quality the RAM.

3. Hard Drive space is what you store the more permanent information on - word files, music, videos, programs, etc....If you have an extensive music library (5000+ songs (legal songs)), then you should be looking at a computer with at least 250GB (1 GB = 1 Billion Bytes). If you don't really need all that space, then a laptop with 160+ GB of Hard Drive space would suffice.

4. Graphics Processor!!! If you will not be watching many DVD's or playing any games, then you can settle for an integrated video processor such as the INTEL X3100. If you want the security of being able to play the occasional 3D game, then I would recommend a dedicated graphics card with dedicated memory (256MB or 512MB). You can check whether or not the card is integrated by going to "http://www.notebookcheck.net"

5. Most laptops now feature DVD/CD Burners. Some offer a built in feature known as "Lableflash or Lightscribe." This will allow you to "etch" images on special CD/DVD's. It makes the finished CD/DVD look more professional.

6. Price Comparison. Expect to spend $550+ for a decent laptop nowadays. You can sometimes (or during really good sales) find ones cheaper around $450.


The first laptop I would recommend is the Toshiba M305D-S4829 from Circuit City this week. I just purchased it last Wednesday, and am typing on it right now. It has a ton of power, like seriously. I was playing BF2142 last night with no problems. It costs $699, but It'll be running strong for a few years before anything begins to become too demanding for it. The sound quality on this laptop is phenomenal. It has Harman/Kardon speakers that are Bose quality. It has 4GB of RAM, an ATI Radeon 3100 processor, which is nearly equal to most mid-range dedicated graphics processors. It support 802.11b/g/n networks. It has a standard webcam (not to mention facial recognition software for extra secured log-ons) and all the other features you need lol. The style on this laptop is phenomenal.

If that is slightly out of your price range though, I would say go to Best Buy and pick up the HP DV5-1002NR. It costs $679, but it is nearly as good as the above laptop with only a few exceptions (it is actually better in some areas as well, lol). The touchpad on it has a glossy feel which is fine for cooler weather, but if its humid out or your fingers are the least bit sweaty, it becomes quite difficult to move the pointer. It has a slightly better video processor - the ATI Radeon 3200 (the main difference is that it has a HDMI output). It has a slightly larger screen at 15.4" WS. Its half a pound heavier, which isn't really a big deal to me at all. It also runs the 32-bit OS of Vista which will only support 3 GB of RAM, which is fine for nearly everything. I hope this helps you in your quest!

The next two are right about tied for abilities if the above prices are a bit out of your budget. I would recommend testing each one, and then deciding which one you prefer better.

The first one is the Toshiba L305D-S5868 from BestBuy this week at $549. It features the ATI Radeon 3100 which is capable of handling many 3D games, and in fact - it is the same video processor as the laptop that I am using. It features a built-in webcam, as well as standard DVD/CD re-write ability. It has a 250GB hard drive running at 5400RPM. One feature that it could improve upon is its stock RAM. From the store, it only comes with 2GB. This can be easily upgraded to 3GB from any computer retailer (including www.newegg.com). It also comes with a user-friendly touchpad as well as a nice blue form factor. Although it doesnât necessarily have all of the extra-goodies, this laptop is perfect for the common pc user, and comes at a great price!

The second one is the Toshiba L305D-S5881 from Circuit City. This laptop is nearly identical to the last l

training shoes for running?




erinaceous


i will soon be old enough to join a gym, i have running shoes now but they are extremely heavy and were a cheap purchase, and i plan on replacing them when i join the gym but more than likely wont be able to afford both training and running shoes straight away. . i was searching the online nike store and they have 'training' and 'running' shoes, they didn't really show much difference to me so i plan on buying training shoes, and occasionally using them for running. the description of their training shoes says something like 'perfect for strength training and cardio' running counts as cardio right?? so why do they need specialised shoes?? i was also watching a programme called '50 facts about health and fitness' (i think) and they said running shoes are now shown to do more damage ?? sorry about excess writing and i probably answered the question myself but any advice will be great :)


Answer
Regardless of where you plan to buy them, shoes, especially sports shoes need to be fitted for your needs. Go to a running shoe store and say you want running shoes, period. They should have you run in a shoe to see how you run, which would indicate what type of shoe you need. Once they have an idea of what you need they should pull out several models and have you try them for comfort, have you put both pairs on and jog around the store or in the street to see which you like best. They should be half a size to a full size larger than your street shoes. If you go to a shoe store and they don't ask to see you run first thing to get an idea of your needs, find another store.
Good luck!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do black men/women seem to build muscles easier than their white counterparts?




maukie123


When watching sports, whether it be athletics, football, soccer, boxing etc black competitors seem to have a much more muscular build than white people. Why is this?
I think in competitive sport people have similar training regimes
And please dont hit me with the ignorance card its a legitimate question,dont answer it if your going to be abusive



Answer
Well first I think not all black people, as there are over 1 billion Africans and they can differ genetically more between themselves than white people do to them.

The colour black looks sleeker; think of electronic items.

I have read that black men have more testosterone, maybe, but if you consider the above.

I also read that they tend to have more fast twitch muscles (power) compared to white people having more slow twitch (endurance). I am not too sure about that one as in Africa we are said to have evolved into the worlds best endurance runner. We ran down prey long distance as we cannot sprint very fast. This seems contradictory to the Africans having more fast twitch muscles. Thinking of the top paragraph again some populations of Africa are tall and very thin, I wouldn't expect them to grow muscles well e.g. the Ethiopian running team.

I wonder too if by black men/women you mean for example African American or British African. I know they are were not all slaves but if many were then they would have been chosen for their health and strength. Then they had to survive an awful sea journey and so are probably good stock.

Let me vent - horseback riding IS a sport!?




Harriet


Alright, so I had some guy friends over to chill and stuff & I asked them if they'd like to watch me work on breaking my horse. They're like, you mean ride it? Jeez, I can't believe you think that's a sport! I got pretty pissed, because they have no clue what they were talking about. So I went up to the guy who said that (who was a wrestler) and this is how it went, lol:

Me: "Right, so you're a wrestler, right? You control and make 100something pound people do what you want to win right?"
Him: "Yeah man, brute stength."
Me: "Multiply that weight by 10 and you've got a horse, who we control with just our ARMS and LEGS!"

Haha, yeah, I blew up a little. But honestly, I don't see where people can find a fault in riding as a sport. Dictionary.com describes is as a skill based on strength - riding definitely is a skill, and it absolutely takes strength. In most sports, if you lose, you lose. But in horseback riding, if you lose (to your horse) you could be seriously injured by being trampled, bucked, kicked, or rolled ontop of. Seriously! All these football players and wrestlers and "contact" sports players have no clue what it's like to be a horseback rider.

Sorry. Just needed to vent.

Legit: Who thinks horseback riding IS a sport?
Haley T - I agree. Boys will be boys, I guess. :\



Answer
Yes, riding is a sport- in fact ALL the horse sports are sports, and in the case of those in the Olympics, they were ALL INVENTED BY MEN. Without exception, ALL of the Olympic horse sports came from the MILITARY- they are descended from activities which were used to train horses and riders for COMBAT, and since men were the only ones who could fight wars for centuries, it stands to reason that these sports were INVENTED BY THEM. The oldest of the three sports, dressage, also carries the distinction of being one of the oldest horse sports of ANY kind in existence- and there is a considerable amount of debate among historians and scholars as to whether dressage or polo has the honor of being considered to be THE WORLD'S OLDEST horse sport. I think the answer depends to a large extent on who you talk to. Polo people like my sister claim that theirs is the oldest horse sport, and people who do dressage consider that sport to be the oldest. Dressage was originally invented by the great armies of Europe and Asia, not so much as a sport, but rather as a system of training horses and riders for mounted warfare. Although the armies themselves have become mechanized and horses are no longer used, the great schools of classical riding which they helped start still exist today. These include the Spanish Riding School in Vienna, Austria, the Cadre Noir ( also called the French Cavalry School) in France, the ReitInstitut von Neindorff in Germany, and several other facilities throughout the rest of Europe, Asia, and in South America. Eventing, the second Olympic horse sport, is also of military origin- in fact, it was orignally called the Militare in honor of its roots. Today's modern 3 day events are the direct descendent of the tests which were given to calvary officers and their mounts, at or near the end of said officers' and mounts' training for war. They were a final exam of sorts, one which was meant to determine once and for all just WHO WAS FIT to lead troops on the battlefield- and those who couldn't or didn't pass the test ( no matter the reason why) DIDN'T go on to do this. This is the reason why today's events are still considered by many to be the ULTIMATE test of a rider's and horse's abilities and courage. Eventing requires horses and riders to be extremely tough, both mentally and physically. The horses have to be good runners and good jumpers, and bold enough to jump any kind of obstacle or fence, even if it looks dangerous. At the same time, they have to be obedient enough to be easy to control and to ride. Riders who event have to know their horses thoroughly, and be able to communicate with their horses to solve problems and answer techinical questions. Riders also have to have courage, strength, and a desire to win- and they ALSO need to be unafraid to stare DEATH right in the face and overcome it- eventing is one of the few sports in the Olympics in which the possibility of a FATAL accident involving horse, rider, or both is EVER PRESENT. It's NOT for the weak stomached or the faint of heart. I don't know many wrestlers who have that kind of courage, no matter how macho some of them think they are. Show jumping, the third sport, is a direct descendent of the jumping contests which the officers and men of various army regiments would get into when they weren't fighting. EVERY regiment or division had its own champions, and there were fierce, hotly contested rivalries among them. Tournaments were held fairly frequently, and these became the forerunners of today's modern show jumping classes and competitions. Show jumping is all about speed, style, and precision. It's also about having a horse which is bold enough and brave enough to jump heights of five feet or better, and still come back for more. Riders need strength, balance, coordination, and courage to be able to do this well.

I don't know many football, basketball, or baseball players who can ride- most of them are too scared of getting hurt. There's also the perception that horse sports are "gay" sports, something which has REALLY, REALLY HURT the equestrian world as a whole, and has thrown the gender balance in all of the Olympic horse sports way off. Today, women out number men almost 10 to 1 in most of the Olympic horse sports- and women have only been competing in the horse sports since the 1950's. The few men who do compete in such sports have to put up with a LOT of undeserved criticism about their masculinity and sexual orientation- and this is even true of the men who are MARRIED and have families !!! It's sad, it really is.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Timex GPS running watches?







I need to buy a GPS running watch, it has to be timex, so don't recommend a different brand. I run cross country, so I need a watch that will tell me distance, pace, and time. (I don't really care about heart rate) I was wondering if anyone can recommend a watch OTHER THAN THE GLOBAL TRAINER. Also, do you have to use a clip on thing for the distance to work? Will it work if I don't wear the heart rate monitor?

Thanks
best answer will be chosen



Answer
Unfortunately Global Trainer GPS is the only GPS running watch that Timex offers. However Timex offer another running watch - Timex Bodylink System that track heart rate, speed & distance with external contraption (a sensor) that works together with the watch. You can look that up, the model number is TX589-T5C391.

HRM strap is usually worn at a different location so the answer is Yes, it work even without wearing the HRM.

hope it helps.

Timex GPS running watch?




Bob


I would like to buy a GPS watch for monitoring my pace and distance that I run. It seems that the Garmin Forerunner is popular. However, those models all seem pretty big and bulky. I found several Timex Ironmen Speed + Distance watches that seem to have the same functionality but more compact size (Timex models T5E701, T5B501 and T5E691, for example). Does anyone have these watches? Can you vouch for their reliability/functionality? Thanks!


Answer
This watch is really small and not bulky like the Forerunner:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000EOMVZ4/ref=nosim/gpsmiclikacom-20?dev-t=D2WMCOIPS9D14E

It includes a GPS, altimeter, barometer and a compass.

You can always find more information about GPS devices and great deals on them at http://www.sourcegps.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Please help with stop watch functions for running?




Stacy


I am a very new jogger, which, I am falling in love with. I would like to find a watch that lets me set a timer for say, 2 mins, then 1 minute, so I can run, then walk, then run again, you get the picture. I don't want to have to pay attention to the watch - I just want it to make a noise so I know to either stop or go again otherwise I know I will concentrate more on the watch than on the running. I would prefer not to have to fumble with the watch once I'm doing the jogging. What would this feature be called? Any suggestions on a specific watch out there that would do this feature?

Thanks so much!



Answer
Ironman Timex sports watch has a split timer or invest in a Timex Body Link or Polar Heart Rate monitor (also has split time) HR monitors are cool because you can go by your aroebic and anaroebic rate, calories burned. You will especially will like these features as you advance as a runner. My next watch will be a Gamin forerunner which has all the features above and a GPS which is good to log in my miles/estimates my distance and speed.
Keep up with your running, who knows, I could be that girl running next to you at your first 1/2 marathon.

Speed and Distance watch for runners?




Punaboy_10


I want a watch that accurately records my distance ran and my pace each mile. Thats it! I dont need a calorie counter or heart rate monitor. I dont want to spend a rediculous amount so $50-$70 would be nice. Are there any watches with gps within this price range? Im tired of trying to track my distance by driving around in my car Please help.


Answer
well, i think you are looking for something like NIKE TRIAX or TIMEX MENâS 1440 SPORT DIGITAL WATCH...

I can suggest others but i guess you are also concerned with how these watches look.

i got those price from http://www.runningwatchreviews.com/ .. i think they are just around $15

there are plenty of other reviews there, list of features, prices and other stuff i guess you need to see them.

By the way, runners are so inl ove with garmin, i saw one from http://www.garminforerunnerblog.com/ but yah, that's pricey..

Hope that helps




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Should i get the Samsung Galaxy s4 or the iPhone 5?




Brunette


I have the iPhone 4s right now, and i think it's time for a new phone because i have had it for nearly 2 years. I heard the Galaxy s4 has a way better camera, is faster and is just better. What do you think I should get?


Answer
Sure the GS4 has some better specs, but that means nothing. If you go in Youtube and watch some speed test of the GS4 Vs. the iPhone 5 you will see that, in real world use, the iPhone performs better jailbroken, than a GS4 does out the box. Jailbreaking deals a huge hit to CPU processing speed, however all the useless features that Samsung shoves its phone full of take a ever bigger hit to the CPU speed of the GS4. If they had put specs that matched that of a iPhone 5 than the phone would run slow as fu*k. I mean it would take a solid hour to boot up, and 5 mins to open the simplest of apps. This is because Samsung packs there phone full of, what I like to call, "novelty features". This is because they are features that are the equivalent of watching a cat do a backflip, its cool, but than it gets boring and old. I owned a GS3 and I just ended up disabling all the so called "features" because I never used them and my phone ran slower than a fat man with a weight belt tied around him. Bottom line the GS4 runs slower than the iPhone 5 in real life usage, even though it has better specs. Now on to the camera. In the end this all came down to personal preference. If you want photos that look sharp on your phone display than the S4 camera is better. If you want Photos with better colour saturation, and depth than go for the iPhone 5. If you want a phone that takes good photos in low light than the HTC One is the best. Personally, I want my photos to have better colour, and depth. The photos on the S4 look kinda washed out, but still sharp. Sheer MegaPixles does not determine the ability of a camera. On the topic of the display. The S4 does pack a full 1080p display, giving you 441 ppi, for all of you unfamiliar on the topic, that is very, VERY good. However, like with the camera, sheer ppi does not determine the quality of a display. It's all about pixle placement, and even though the iPhone 5 has a ppi that is nearly half of that of a GS4, the build quality of the display is better. In my opinion, between the two displays I would have to say its a tie. The GS4 has a sharp display, but the colour saturation and brightness really need to improve. The iPhone 5 displays colours much better, and is quite a large amount brighter than a GS4. Because of this, I decided it was a draw between the two displays. Both good in there respectable areas, however both lacking. Not to mention the GS4 has a huge screen. I disliked the screen of the S3, and they made it bigger on the S4.Now, if you drop your phone allot than your DEFIANTLY gonna want to go with the iPhone 5. The build quality of that phone is unmatched by any phone, except *maybe* the HTC One. Watch a drop test of the iPhone 5 Vs. GS4 on youtube. They dropped the iPhone from 10 FT twice and ran over it with a f*cking car and the worst it suffered was some minor scratches and dents. Where the GS4 got totalled and was barley working before the first 10 FT drop that finally finished it off (ill link the video in sources). If your gonna drop the phone allot get the iPhone 5. Much better build quality and much more durable. For the overall user experience of the phone, in my opinion, the iPhone 5 has a better overall experience of real world use. As I explained, it will perform faster, and arguably take better photos. My friend got a GS4 to write a review for, Samsung paid him extra to write a good review, and let him keep the phone. He gave it to me to use, and I have to say.... it was not that good. I often found myself going to do something I usually do on my iPhone and went "Oh, wait..." when I realized it could not do it. The GS4 often times was not "there for me" when I needed it to be. I found it took a long time to load webpages over LTE, and my apps and games I always use are not there, as there not all on Google Play. It was still better than my old BlackBerry, and iPhone 4. But I have to say, It was not better than my iPhone 5. The display on the iPhone was brighter, and I always found I was squinting at the screen because, even on full brightness, it was too dim. The battery sucked. Honestly I disabled all the "Novelty Features" to speed it up and improve the battery a little bit, and then it almost matched my iPhone. To top it all off, I could not stand the plastic backing of the GS4. My hands got all sweaty and I dropped it all the time (and as we know, this phone has amazing durability! (yes, that was sarcasm)) and the plastic never felt like the "Premium" aluminium of the iPhone (or the glass of my old iPhone 4 for that matter.) The GS4 is also thicker and heavier than the iPhone 5. Not by much, but enough that you notice it.
Finally, it comes down to the fact that its a phone. Pick one and dont diss other people because of there opinions. Mine is that iPhone is better. But in the end its totally up to you.

samsung galaxy s4 vs iphone 5?







at first i wanted iphone 5,, but now that i read te reviews its says that the battery life sucks and it glithces a little... and the samsung say is better but i dont know if its slow ,cuz my sis has the samsung galaxy s3 and its super slow... also i want a fast simple phone not with to much stuff and a cool one... help me please wich one is better and prices please


Answer
For iPhone 5 v.s. the Galaxy S4. The S4 is a clear winner. The Galaxy S4 also has a higher resolution at a Full HD 1080 x 1920 creating a pixel density of 441ppi. Meanwhile the iPhone 5 has a Retina quality of 640 x 1136, a pixel density of 326ppi. The iPhone 5 has a 1440mAh (5.45Wh) battery which is non-removable while the Galaxy S4 has a larger, and removable, 2600mAh (9.6Wh) battery.

The Galaxy S4 offers a higher resolution front facing camera at 2Mp compared to 1.2Mp. It can record video in Full HD 1080p while the iPhone 5 is limited to 720p.
It has more features than than the iPhoneâs camera which makes it even better.
a. Dual shot- take photos from both cameras so that you can include the photographer in a photo
b. Photo with audio message- record a message before or after a photo to add to a photo
c. Eraser shot- can remove unwanted moving content
d. Drama shot- takes pictures of a moving object and puts the moving object through the whole picture

The Galaxy S4 runs circles around the iPhone 5 when it comes to features, starting with how you interact with the device.
- Air Gestures lets you flip through photos or answer the phone just by waving your hand in front of the S4 (though you have to be close to the screen).
- With Smart Scroll, you can also scroll through a Web article just by tilting the device in your hand or tilting your head.
- Air View is a pretty nifty feature on the S4, which enables you to preview content (such as an email) by hovering your finger just above the display.
- With the WatchOn app, the S4 leverages its built-in IR blaster to control your TV. The app also recommends shows you may want to watch, and even integrates with services like Netflix.
- With Group Play you can get your friends together and let them enjoy your music simultaneously. Wirelessly connect multiple Samsung Galaxy S4 phones to play games and share photos and documents.
- LED indicator- A small LED on the top of your device shows what notifications you got by distinguishing them with colours(For example blue for email, green for charged) This means you can see what the notification was about without putting your screen on. It is extremely useful feature for those than hate wasting time.
- Smartstay- won't turn the screen off if you are still looking at it.
- Smartpause- pauses a video when you turn around and turns it back on when you turn back
- You can record the soundtrack to your photos with this phone so you can remember what was said, played, and heard, not just what it looked like. It adds another layer of excitement to help you relive and share every moment of each picture much more vividly.


Still not impressed with the S4â²s versatility? It also offers S Translate for translating multiple languages (speech and text) and an S Health app for keeping track of your fitness.

So, in the end, the Samsung Galaxy S4 is a clear winner. With all of its specs including batter life, camera quality, display, and all of its features, it is safe to say that the S4 trumps the iPhone 5 in more ways than one. I definitely recommend getting an S4 and I actually plan on picking mine up later this week. Hope I helped!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Tell me about Garmin watches?




Dot dot do


I would like to know about Garmin watches .
I would like to read/choose as best answer the most informative answer .
Thanks for anyone who will answer this question :)



Answer
I have a Garmin and swear by them. I bought an older model, a 301, because it basically performs all the functions of the newer models and was cheaper (about $125 on amazon) than the newer models. It has GPS and advises me on how far I've run, time and heart rate. It has a virtual training partner and also allows me to time intervals, I don't even need a track as it will alert me as to the distance I've covered in an interval. I (nor anybody else on yahoo) will be able to tell you more than going to the Garmin site so I would go there to actually read about the capabilities of their watches and which one best suits you.

Garmin eTrex Vista for trail running?




Jeremy E


I am thinking about getting a Garmin eTrex vista to help keep me on track for off road fell or trail running. Has anyone tried this? If so, would you recommend it, if not, why not?
Where I.m planning to go the paths are often indistinct, or there are a confusing number of junctions so I'm really concerned over getting lost rather than the training aspect. I will be wearing a waist pack for waterproofs and a map.



Answer
If you want a device that is versatile (you'll be using it for more than just training), the vista is a great device. It's smaller than some, yet gives you maps and the ability to do turn-by-turn directions.

If you're going to be using the GPS for exercises only, you may want to check the Forerunner 205 or 305. It gives you some great features including virtual training partners and the ability to store all of your training sessions. The 305 model also gives you a heart rate monitor to make you that much more efficient.

The challenge with the etrex as a trainer is that it is bulky, and although it's pretty rugged, it has it's limits. Where are you going to carry it? It won't be to comfy in a pocket, if you just hold it you may damage the screen by scratching it or dropping it (it's easy to lose concentration when trail running), while the forerunner series straps to your wrist like a watch.

Finally, if you don't mind waiting a bit, you may also want to check out the Forerunner 405, just announced at CES. It's supposed to be the same price as the 305 currently is, plus it's a gps that I would actually wear after training. Supposedly it'll be in stores within the next month or two. (I attached a You Tube video from Garmin's blog with details).




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Which Satellite (GPS) Running Watch?




Cory J


I'm looking for a good GPS running watch. These are the kind that tell you exactly how far you've gone, how fast, etc. using the GPS satellites.

I've seen a couple that are pretty damn big, I'm sort of a small guy. I have skinny wrists and only weight 125 lbs, so I really don't want to lug a big thing around? If found another one that was a small watch, but you had to strap another thing on your arm to receive the signal?

...I don't want to mess with a foot pod and I don't need a heart rate monitor with it. So, which one should I get?
Are 305 and 205 the same size?



Answer
I have a Garmin Forerunner 305 which has the heart rate monitor. They make the 205 which does not have heart rate. I admit the unit is a bit clunky looking but I honestly never notice it while running. I love mine, it has helped to substantially reduced my PR in the full and 1/2 marathon.

Cheapest place I have found it for sale is www.boatersland.com which is actually a boating supply store (Garmin also makes GPS for boaters). I would recommend the unit with heart rate. That will help to to truly maximize your training.

Good luck

heart rate monitor watches?




Chloe M


My boyfriend is massively into running, not paticularly long distance (although he does this once a week) but more sprinting and interval training. He loves keeping fit in general and i keep hearing him talk to his friends about heart rate monitor watches! now im completely clueless but would love to buy him a really nice one for his birthday, but i have no idea where to start? What make is best? what should i look out for? I know he wouldn't like anything too big and bulky as he has really small wrists, please help


Answer
Timex & Garmin both make good, basic models for pretty cheap ($40 - $60), which you can find good prices on at Amazon. There are also much fancier models that cost several hundred dollars. It just depends on which features he needs and what about heart rate training he's particular interested in.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers