Saturday, May 31, 2014

What is a good, yet inexpensive GPS watch for running?




Joseph


I'm looking for a GPS watch that isn't too bulky, isn't too expensive, and comes with renowned, interactive software that my girlfriend can use without throwing a fit and kicking my computer. It doesn't need to have a heart rate monitor and it doesn't have to be gender specific.

Also, I am willing to download software if there are better ones out there for running. I know all about Map My Run, but I'd rather have it work with the watch.

Thanks



Answer
I really like Garmin GPS watches and the Garmin Forerunner 405 is probably the cheapest in the series that still has GPS capabilities.

suggestions for a good heart rate monitor strap ? possibly with a watch?




D


I had a heart rate monitor watch but it was really cheap and it broke, and even when it worked you had to hold down this button for 5 seconds to get a single reading of your heart rate (and it didnt work if you were moving too violently for the watch).

I want a comfortable strap that goes around your midsection, and maybe a watch that gives you a display of the results...

are there any good straps that come WITH a watch?



Answer
I swear by my Garmin, I got a 301 model on Amazon, cheap and though there are newer versions, they don't have anything this model had. Will give you your heart rate, you can set an alarm to go off if you go over or under a certain number of beats per minute, has GPS so it will tell you how far you've run, at what rate per mile or km, your average heart rate, how many calories burned, your time, has a training assistant that will let you know if you are ahead or behind of apace you have set for yourself, will time intervals letting you know how fast you have done them and when it is time to do another one. I could go on. O, you did say watch. Timex has one.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

suggestions for a good heart rate monitor strap ? possibly with a watch?




D


I had a heart rate monitor watch but it was really cheap and it broke, and even when it worked you had to hold down this button for 5 seconds to get a single reading of your heart rate (and it didnt work if you were moving too violently for the watch).

I want a comfortable strap that goes around your midsection, and maybe a watch that gives you a display of the results...

are there any good straps that come WITH a watch?



Answer
I swear by my Garmin, I got a 301 model on Amazon, cheap and though there are newer versions, they don't have anything this model had. Will give you your heart rate, you can set an alarm to go off if you go over or under a certain number of beats per minute, has GPS so it will tell you how far you've run, at what rate per mile or km, your average heart rate, how many calories burned, your time, has a training assistant that will let you know if you are ahead or behind of apace you have set for yourself, will time intervals letting you know how fast you have done them and when it is time to do another one. I could go on. O, you did say watch. Timex has one.

Best Running Watch with distance/heart rate monitor?




larkwood46


I am new to this type of running and need to be able to monitor my heart rate. Distance is important also and am not sure if GPS or Pedometer is best.


Answer
Garmin Forerunner 305. A pedometer is based on stride distance and this varies widely based on how tired you are you, weather or not you are running up or downhill, etc.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, May 30, 2014

Movie: Running on Empty Dreams, Ending?




Zoey


Ive watched alot of these kinds of movies and I hate when there's a sad ending so I want to if the girl (Sydney) and the other girl stay together in the end or does Sydney stay with her husband or does she die?


Answer
http://www.afterellen.com/review-of-running-on-empty-dreams/06/2009/2/
Review of ââ¬ÅRunning On Empty Dreamsââ¬Â by Sarah Warn | June 18, 2009 Their friendship grows increasingly intense until it becomes obvious that something a bit more amorous is working beneath the surface. Sydney is then faced with staying true to her hard-working (and very earnest) husband, or running off with Jane. Complicating everything is Sydneyâs cancer, her dedication to her existing family, and a very strange ex-lesbian neighbor who keeps popping up to torment our heroines into following âthe right pathâ â that is, to live a life of celibacy. The characters are all quite well drawn and the acting is top-notch across the board (save for a couple of folks who appear to be straight out of the twilight zone). Sydneyâs journey makes for good drama â and her character is interesting, conflicted and complicated. Owens does a great job with Jane, avoiding any obvious âsheâs the free-spirited lesbian!â clichés.
Rosete probably has the hardest job, since he has to make. Corey believable and sympathetic as a traditional family man with military values faced with what he sees as a FUBAR situation. Itâs worth noting that his performance works very well â and what could have been a one-dimensional jerk becomes a flawed yet sympathetic guy who just seems to try too hard. A number of flashbacks to his days in the Gulf war do much to set him up well as an honorable, decent guy, despite the fact that his skills as a soldier donât aid him much in suburban life.
Both young actors playing Matt and Tom are quite good, though every other line of theirs seems to be âwhatâs wrong with mommy?â â itâs simply that kind of movie. The only real sour note performance-wise is Amber Ryan playing Geri, the butch ex-lesbian who tries (far too hard) to steer the leading ladies towards evangelical Christianity. The entire subplot is completely awkward and utterly unnecessary to the story â Running would be a stronger, tighter film without it. Each scene with the character feels forced and weird â and her lines are so cringe-worthy that itâs difficult not to laugh at her wannabe âIâm straight nowâ shtick. Also completely bizarre is the baked-looking priest who gives Sydney some useless advice in a confessional. The religious aspects of the story are uniformly heavy-handed â one wishes that Geri and Father High Times would simply go off and star in their own movie, instead of padding this one down so often.
The music is almost comically awful and off-tone throughout the movie. While the few in-scene songs and the tune playing over the credits are just fine, the composed music sounds as if someone had a little too much fun playing with the strings section in Logic (or worse â GarageBand). Itâs so over the top and cheesy that it almost undermines the fantastic performances, and it definitely prompted a few unintentional giggles. The cinematography is excellent for a lower-budget film, with colorful sets and fairly dynamic setups that capture every ounce of the drama. Especially impressive are the wartime flashbacks â which are blown-out and beautiful in a surreal, âwar is hellâ sort of way. Itâs a shame that the aural aspects couldnât keep up.
Thankfully, the core romance works beautifully. The âopposites attractâ vibe soon melts into a romance that looks and feels like genuine love. Jane and Sydney play basketball with their boys, they go on picnics and watch old movies â itâs comfortable and often sexy. The actors have wonderful chemistry and the love scenes absolutely light up the screen. A few clichés rear their heads â yes, there is some post-sex crying and (worse) poetry writing, but the scenes that Jane and Sydney spend together are easily the highlights of the movie. Unfortunately, the filmâs awkward plot points ruin the fun. The flick gets increasingly dramatic and unpredictable towards the end, and an extremely limp confrontation and yet another appearance of Geri make the last few moments drag on and on.Itâs a real shame that the ending credits are a welcome sight â and a discredit to the otherwise appealing 90 minutes that precede the unraveling.The unevenness is difficult to swallow, but Running is still worth considering for all that it does right. Lesbian romances that feel ârealâ are rare and refreshing â and Jane and Sydney are both so likeable and multi-faceted that itâs impossible not to root for them. One hopes that Osbourne works out the kinks in her writing and directing â thereâs real talent here, and itâs easy to imagine her next project succeeding completely. She just needs to make sure to leave the âGeriâ characters out next time. http://www.answers.com/topic/running-on-empty-dreams#page2
http://movie-on.blogspot.co.uk/2009/05/running-on-empty-dreams.html

Looking for customer reviews for Casio Men's Amazon Exclusive Reverse LCD Atomic Pathfinder...?




Kristy


...Watch
Where can I find reviews and opinions online for Casio Men's Amazon Exclusive Reverse LCD Atomic Pathfinder Watch



Answer
Customer Reviews:

4.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch, July 11, 2009
By DB (San Diego, CA)
I got this watch last week and it's been great so far. I've been using Timex Ironman watches forever and this is slightly bigger but not at all bulky. The barometer has been spot on since I calibrated it. The altimeter worked great on a hill run that I did yesterday. Compass was off by 6 deg, but for a watch that isn't too bad. Thermometer is affected by your body temp so that's probably the most inaccurate sensor. The atomic timekeeping is probably the best thing about the watch.

The negatives are that the alarm isn't that loud and the countdown timer doesn't have a repeat setting, you have to start it over yourself. Overall though great watch, I would buy it again.

************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent update, June 13, 2009
By Aware "shepardo" (Bay Area, California usa)
An excellent update in size and usability from Casio. Separate function buttons are a real plus. Top grade fit and finish as well - back and front.

************************************************************************************

5.0 out of 5 stars great watch!, July 25, 2009
By K. Kleiber
I bought this watch for my boyfriend and was nervous because he is extremely pick about things! He loves it! It is not as big as the pictures make it look and does have a really low profile (especially compared to the G-shock watches). It took him a few minutes of tinkering to figure out all the functions, so it is pretty user friendly. We are both very happy with this watch!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Should I get a heart rate monitor..........?




Pro90


I run about 3-4 times a week and I lately got the nike plus chip, which is pretty fun.
Anyway, i'm now thinking about getting a cheap polar watch......do you think it's worth it? cause I'm afraid I'll stop using it after a few runs cause it will get annoying and who know if I'll follow what my heart beat says...



Answer
I would stick with the Nike+ unless you should either monitor your heart rate because of a physical problem or need it for serious training such as getting into race shape for peak performance. Heart rate is the best indicator for short intervals since it lets you know when to run the next interval when your heart rate reaches 120 heart beats per minute. This alone is worth a heart rate monitor for milers or serious runners since your rapidly increase your fitness by training this way since it will train your body to adapt to the stress and improve running at your maximum. Remember your heart does not lie so it's a great tool to listen to....

Heart rate monitors and body fat scales? EFFECTIVE?




Cathy


Does anyone use those heart rate monitor watches while working out? what are the advantages? Recommended?
Also, i just brought a scale that also measures body fat %... do you think its accurate? How does it calculate it?



Answer
Iffy on the scale. One of the most accurate ways to test for BF is the pinch test...usually gyms offer it, maybe even your doc. I used a handheld bf calculator is was way off - it used my age, weight to determine but it realy came down to BMI which I loath.

I don't use heart rate monitors...that's just gimmick - you'll know if you're truly pushing your body and it depends on the way you train. Long distance runners train and tend to have slower rates...and if you stick them on a bike and try to get their heart rate up, they'll never reach the target rate.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Why is it that skill/conditioning sports such as track&field and swimming have low TV ratings?




athletix


Whereas darts and poker, which do require skill but no conditioning, are on TV so often?


Answer
First of all I want to completly disagree with the dude above me in his first argument..

What the F are you talking about? Track and Swimming are two of the most elemental sports in history.. These two sports have roots waaay before any of your "sports" these days.. everyone can swim and run.. but to reach that level you need years of preparation and fitness. Your claim that there are no professional swimmers or runners.. is pretty ignorant. There is a huge number of professional runners, and swimmers are starting to get more support.


Now to answer your question ( sorry about the rant )

Swimming and Running are sports that test the limits of people.. and are not supposed to be entretaining.. There has never been a rule to alter these sports so they are more entretaining.. which cannot be said for games like basketball and football.

There use to be a time where testing human limits was popular, and people looked up to these people.. some countries still do ( Australia, African countries ), but people in the US are now only spectators of games with action and excitement.. dont get me wrong, I love football, futbol, tennis and other commercial sports.. but they are games.. not real sports

So.. ESPN will show what people pay to watch.. games

What's your favourite rugby club competition?




Elle Jay


Super 15 rugby
Aviva Premiership
Top 14
RaboDirect Pro 12
ITM Cup

Mine is Super 15 rugby that consists teams from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa. Hope to death Queensland Reds win this season



Answer
Heineken Cup. Its the premier rugby tournament in the northern rugby world so should really be mentioned on the list if the Aviva premiership is etc

For me it produces the highest quality rugby, the best rugby atmosphere, the best history and the best 'feel' and a much better system.

I reckon Leinster and Clermont would of won the grand slam this year if they played in the Six nations, such is the quality of the teams. You get teams like Leinster who have potentially the best passing game of all time, to teams who will run all day like Clermont, to teams that physicality like Leicester and Munster and then teams full of classic players like Toulon. Its amazing to see the old legends of the game combining in one game. The Heineken cup gives you a complete mix of everything, every team is so different.

I find personally with the S15 its repetitive game after game stuff. It has no momentum. In the HC its a battle in the pools to scrape every point, especially with on the two best runners up going through to the next round out of the six groups. There are intimidating atmospheres in the S15 sometimes but to be honest, I only really see that in South Africa when it comes to the finals of it. In the HC the atmosphere the French teams in the South make, or the Irish provinces make are phenomenal. You could not like rugby and have a great time drinking with these people. Its a party almost. Again, I hate to bash on super rugby, but the games are dead and quiet as a mouse for the most part.

Finally, I believe personally the all round game of the HC teams is superb. Defences seem shabby in super rugby, like the players are disinterested. However, I wont take anything away from the attack as it is sublime at times.

Super rugby does produce stars of the rugby world though. But, I strongly urge any rugby fan to watch the HC which is rugbys Champions League. This is from the perspective of a man who watches most rugby on sky sports available. You're truly missing out otherwise.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Do I need a heart rate monitor watch?




Ritchie


My brother was a cross country/track athlete and has a bunch of trophies/medals and he never used a heart rate monitor. His best time in 3 miles back in highschool was 16 mins, he won first place in regionals that one time. I dont know what grade he was in at the time.


Answer
For a 3 mile run you're mostly training an anaerobic metabolism.

Heart rate monitors are most useful for people trying to lose weight by maintaining target rates (to keep them from getting injured or overexerting).

They can also be used to monitor, track and help develop Aerobic, Anaerobic and Lacate thresholds. However they tend to become unreliable as the temperature goes up. How scientific do you want to be for your training?

No you don't need one -- but they are nice to have if you decide you want to train for longer races and need to control your pacing. E.g. 10K, 1/2 and full marathons.

I suggest you avoid the Polar garbage if you decide to buy one. I've destroyed 2 of these already but got them replaced via warranty -- the best bang for the buck are the Timex heart rate monitors for 1/4 the price and twice the reliability/water resistance.

Heart rate monitor watch for running?




Mysterio


Are chest strap heart rate monitors watches good for running outdoors, treadmills, ellipticals and cycles? if not, which one is better for gyms and outdoors? I heard that polar watches are good. How good are wrist watches?


Answer
You want to use HRMs with analogue chest strap in order to interface with gym equipment. Digital chest trap won't work with gym equipment. Polar watches are probably the best but they are expensive. Nike are also fairly good. I don't know much about monitors without chest strap but I know they can't monitor your heart rate continuously. You have to stop your exercise, take a reading and then start again. I will add links to two articles which I think can be useful to you.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there a way to switch between monitors quickly? (Duel Displays)?




TROLLINGYO


My computer is connected to a large external display. I only use this for watching movies and tv. When i'm not doing those things I turn that display off. To do that, I have to go to
control panel, display settings, adjust resolution, then I have to select from a drop down menu which display to be active.

Is there a faster way to switch between monitors? Like a program or shortcut or hotkey? Thanks.



Answer
if its a laptop running windows you should be able to cycle fn+f4 or something similiar.

HTC HD2 running Froyo or HTC G2?




John


Currently have an HD2 running Froyo. Debating if I should take advantage of the Cyber Monday free G2 deal going on.... As of yet have had no "real" issues with a froyo'd HD2 over the past 3 months and just about never use WinMo. The "4G" G2 is appealing as I spend a lot of time tethering and watching hulu videos...... Anyone want to help me sway one direction or the other? All opinions are welcomed as I have no experience with the G2.


Answer
HTC HD2 Windows Phone (T-Mobile)
Offering the largest touchscreen on a smartphone in the U.S., the Windows Mobile-powered HTC HD2 for T-Mobile is also built for speed. It features a blazing-fast 1 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon processor and runs on T-Mobile's high-speed 3G network--delivering an enhanced Web-browsing experience that you'll appreciate on the high-resolution 4.3-inch capacitive touch display. In addition to the HD2's array of multimedia applications, you'll also have access to a complete entertainment package with special pre-installed apps and two full movies--Transformers and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen.
.................................




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Starting to run for soccer (football) fitness should i get a heart rate monitor?




Andrew


Hey all im starting to go for some longish distance runs to get fitter for soccer as i play midfield. Do you reccomend getting a heart rate monitor? Also what type just a watch type? Cheers


Answer
i dont reccomend getting one unless you have heart problems.

How to heart rate monitor watches work?




Anonymous


basically what it says
how to heart rate monitor watches work?



Answer
When your heart pumps, it sends a surge of blood through your body. And, these pulses cause your arteries to expand and contract as the blood surges through. The wrist is a good place to take a heart rate measurement, because the arteries running through it have a definite pulse with each heart beat (that's why they measure your pulse at your wrist).

With each surge of blood, the electrical conductivity of your wrist changes slightly. Or, maybe the capacitance you exhibit between a pair of electrodes changes. But, the electronic circuits in the watch detect these changes in electrical characteristics and count them over time. This is then extrapolated out over a minute and the resulting signal causes a certain number to be displayed on the screen. This is your heart rate.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Can I Get BBC Sport Multi Screen on FreeView?

Q. Weel I'm trying to get all the interative channels on freeview

atm I can get 301,302,305

but on a sky box there are a few extra interative channel I would like to watch on my free view.

on the bbc multi screen channels
1 - 301
2 - 302
3- I don;t get
4- I don;t get
5 I don;t get

is there any way I can get these extra channels

my freeview doesn;t give the option when I press red button on bbc one of sport multi screen only news multi screen which is 305


Answer
The other screens only show when there is additional sports going on. For example last week when the London Marathon was on you could watch the elite men's race, the elite woman's race and the masses of runners at different stages of the race. If you select the channels when there is nothing showing you would not see anything on there.

The Kite Runner Movie?

Q. I am excited to see it! I haven't read the book, but I was an extra in the movie. What is it about?


Answer
The story is narrated by Amir, one of the novelâs main characters. Amir is an Afghan man living in San Francisco, California remembering his childhood in Kabul in the 1970s.

He begins his story in pre-civil war Afghanistan. He and his Hazara servant Hassan spend many hours per day together. One of the most cherished times spent together was when Amir would read stories to Hassan, under a pomegranate tree. Amir had a love for literature, a trait similar to his mother, who died while giving birth to him. However, this troubles his father ("BÄbÄ," Persian for father), who tries to make Amir more like himself, active and courageous. Baba puts Amir on a soccer team and tries to teach him to defend himself, but fails with every attempt.

Nevertheless, Amir continues to pursue his love for literature and eventually ends up composing his own short stories. Sadly, Amirâs father has almost no interest in his stories, although his business partner and friend to Amir, Rahim Khan, is full of praise.

One day when Hassan and Amir are walking through Afghanistan, they come across Assef, a sociopathic bully known for his brass knuckles and his rancor towards Hazaras. He prepares to fight Amir and Hassan, but Hassan threatens to shoot out Assefâs left eye with his slingshot, saying they'll call him "one-eyed Assef." Before the daunted bully backs off he warns them that he will have his revenge.

Assef's vow comes true during the day of Amir's favorite sport: "kite fighting". In this sport, children fly their kites and try to "slice" each other's kite. Amir wins the tournament, and Baba's praise, with his kite the last one flying, but when Hassan goes to fetch the last cut kite, a great trophy, Assef and two henchmen are there instead. Hassan tries to protect Amir's kite, but Assef beats Hassan and brutally rapes him. Amir hides and watches Hassan and is too scared to help him. Afterwards, Hassan becomes emotionally downcast. Amir knows why but keeps it a secret, and things are never the same between the two. After hearing a story from Rahim Khan, Amir decides it would be best for Hassan to go away. Amir frames Hassan as a thief but Baba forgives him, even though he admits to committing the crime - and despite the fact that Baba believes that "there is no act more wretched than stealing". Hassan and his father Ali, to Baba's extreme sorrow, decide that it's time to leave.

A short while later, the Russians invade Afghanistan; Amir and Baba escape to Peshawar, Pakistan and then to Fremont, California. There, Amir, who grew up in an expensive mansion in Afghanistan, finds them a humble apartment and Baba begins to work at a gas station. Amir begins taking classes at a local community college to develop his writing skills. Every Sunday, Baba and Amir make extra money selling used goods at a flea market in San Jose. There, Amir meets Soraya Taheri and her family and eventually marries her. The days are far from happy, however. Amir watches helplessly as Baba sickens and dies from lung cancer; shortly thereafter he and Soraya learn that they cannot have children.

A year passes, and Amir embarks on a successful career as a novelist, and sells his first novel. After fifteen years, Amir receives a call from Rahim Khan, he says "there is a way to be good again" and flies to Pakistan to meet him. From Rahim Khan, Amir learns that Hassan and his wife were killed by the Taliban, and that Hassan was actually his illegitimate half-brother. The true reason that Rahim Khan has called Amir to Pakistan, however, is to go to Kabul to rescue Hassan's son, Sohrab, from an orphanage. Despite his anger at being deceived all his life, Amir agrees to go to Kabul to search for him.

Amir returns to Taliban-controlled Kabul to search for Sohrab, who is supposedly in an orphanage. However, the corrupt orphanage director has sold Sohrab as a slave to a Taliban official and executioner who dresses Sohrab in women's clothes and sexually abuses him. Amir sets an appointment with this man and meets him later. There he finds out that the Taliban official is actually Assef, whose epiphany (passing a kidney stone while being beaten in prison) led him to becoming Taliban. It is similar to Amir's, whose epiphany led him to be punished and to be good again. Assef agrees to relinquish Sohrab to Amir, but only if Amir can beat him in a fight to the death, with Sohrab as the prize. Assef brutally beats Amir and grievously injures him, and would soon kill him, but Amir is saved when Sohrab uses his slingshot to shoot out Assef's left eye, leaving him a "one-eyed Assef." While the guards are helping Assef, Sohrab and Amir leave after being told by Assef to "get out".

After recovering from his injuries, Amir offers to adopt Sohrab and take him back to America. However, when difficulties arise in adopting Sohrab from Afghanistan and Amir mentions that Sohrab would have to stay in an orphanage for a while, Sohrab, frightened from his previous brutal treatment, attempts suicide. Luckily, Amir finds Sohrab in time, saves him, and takes him back to the United States. However, Sohrab is emotionally damaged and refuses to speak. This continues until his frozen emotions are thawed when Amir begins kite flying. Amir shows off some of Hassanâs tricks, and Sohrab begins to interact with Amir again. In the end all the book says is that Sohrab only shows a lopsided smile, but Amir takes to it with all his heart as he runs the kite for Sohrab.

Haha! I can't belive you were an extra! Thats awesome! I always wanted to do that. What scene were you in?

Take care! :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where can I watch Mackeral Run (korean drama) in Vietnamese?




Diana


I can't find what place to watch this movie and please don't give me a website where I have to download.


Answer
Seeing as it's licensed on many sites, I seriously doubt you're going to find it dubbed in Vietnamese. If you want to watch it in Korean and subbed in English try http://www.youtube.com/results?search_type=&search_query=[Eng+Sub]M%40ckerel+Run&aq=f

korean drama ..helppp !!?




Avril K


im looking for a korean drama thts similar to boys over flower where theres a hot guy and a pretty girl, the guy has to be the one chasing the girl though and also the actor/actress has to be around 20, cuz i dont like watching ppl thts too old.
thx:)



Answer
You have got to watch the newly finished You're beautiful, it is amazing!!!! Well the guy doesn't actually run after the girl as he's stubborn but if you loved Boys over flowers, then you'll love this one.

You might also like Princess hours, My name is Kim sam soon, My girl.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How long should I run? (Beginner)?




Blue Ears


I'm beginning to run and I want to know how long I should run without pushing myself too far? I'll be running on a track since it's winter, so should I focus on getting a certain amount of laps in or should I focus on running for a certain amount of time? If so, what would be a safe amount of laps/time to go while being safe but also still pushing myself?
Also, how often should I increase my amount of laps/time?



Answer
Anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. So, since you're just getting into running again I would suggest that you start going for some distance runs 1-2 miles 4-5 times a week. You don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

The benefit of starting early is that you have a couple months to train, which is plenty of time to whip yourself into shape. Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Set an alarm to wake yourself up in the morning, then just get out and do it. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Also, running on a track during the winter is nice, but it's sort of the same thing as running on a treadmill, the scenery never changes and it gets a little old after the 10th lap. Running outside is a great option, yes it may be cold, but if you have the right gear then it shouldn't be too bad. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

Here's a training schedule that you can use for the first couple months of your training:

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Just a note: The distances above are just raw distances not translated into laps on a track, one mile on a track is four laps. So a one mile run would be four laps while a three mile run would be twelve. Now, after a a month of training the schedule above is going to seem pretty easy, this will be because your endurance base has built up and you can start pushing yourself to go faster and you're plan could look a little something like this:

Monday: Distance run (1-4 miles slower 10-12 minute mile)
Tuesday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 8-9 minute mile)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-4 miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Thursday: Distance/speed run (1-2 miles at an elevated pace 8-9 minute mile)
Friday: Distance run (1-4 miles miles relaxed at a 10-12 minute mile)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

Make sure that you don't overwork yourself within these first months, since you're just getting into running you're going to be much more prone to injury. Ease in slowly, and once you feel the your body is ready to start ramping up the workouts then you should. This training plan should start putting you into great shape. Hope this helps! Good luck, and feel free to message me if you have any more questions!

Running question?




exercise f


Hello! I am a fairly new runner....been running about 1 year almost now. I ran my first race about 3 weeks ago, a 5K. I finished in 23 mins and 43 seconds. I ran a half marathon today and finished the 13.1 miles in 1 hour and 51 mins. It was pouring rain, windy, only 45 degrees, and lots of hills. Is that a good time for a beginner?


Answer
That is a good time for a beginner. I've never been able to run, as I have bad knees, but alot of my friends are runners. Keep up the good work, and watch yourself shave time off.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

watching tv online?




Sherwood..


hey guys
im nate, and im 13
so recently, my dad decided to save money and convince me to stop watching tv by only reducing our channel amount to only 100 chanels
you know, 100 channels is enough, except, i get like 5 spanish channels but all my fav are gone, like g4, the-n, fuse, wh1 classics, gametv etc.
so i was wonderin if there was any site, where i could watch any episode, on any channel, any season
thanks in advance



Answer
Hi Sherwood,

You can watch TV from all over the world without having to add any hardware you need to download FDR Labâs âAnyTVâ. It is a free program that is supposed to bring you thousands of TV stations from all over the world.

In the real world I get about 25 to 30 channels in English. I filter out other languages.

You can get the software free from PC Worlds download site. Go here - http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,68992/description.html

The first time you run the software it will ask you if you want to run a channel list. Click on âYesâ. It will take a couple minutes to finish then click on âCloseâ to see a list of channels. To avoid having to hunt through all the foreign language channels click the âAll Countriesâ drop down menu and select the location you want to see. To limit your choices to TV or Radio etc click the icon at the top of the screen.

Now choose a channel and click the âPlayâ button at the bottom center of the screen and you can start watching.

Norm

[English Sub] Running Man Episode 141 - Watch/Download Online Free?

Q. Any good site for me to watch high quality of Running Man English Sub Episode 141 for free with download links? Thanks!


Answer
For a high quality video of Running Man EP141 English Sub, you may watch from the link below

http://runningmanengsub.com/running-man-english-subbed-episode-141-high-definition/

Hope this helps




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I need a running watch?




RunnFast


I am a beginning runner and my XC coach told me to get a watch. Since I'm not too serious about it yet I don't really want to spend a ton of money on a fancy watch. I am actually planning on getting it at Walmart. Should the watch have a plastic or material band? All I'm thinking of needing on it is a stopwatch. Anything else I should look for? Thanks!


Answer
You are right to look at the Walmart watches, they are all a runner needs. I prefer the ones with the fabric (canvas) band, when you're running and sweating the plastic bands can rub your skin. These watches are great because you can take them in the shower with you to wash the sweat out of the band after running, and if the battery dies you just get another watch - they cost about $8. I've used them for many years running, and I generally get 2 years or more out of one.

Pay attention to the buttons on the watch, you want to pick one which you can easily hit the button you want while running.

Best distance measuring running watch?




Ana


I want to get my boyfriend a watch that measures the distance he runs for our 2 year anniversary. What would you reccomend?

Cant be too expensive, im 16.

He runs varsity cross country but lost his a while ago, and i know he'd love a new one.



Answer
It sounds like you want to get him a GPS watch.

An alternative to that is the Nike Sport band which is only $60. it uses a sensor you attach to your shoe laces or put in a nike + shoe. Not as accurate as a GPS watch but they look cool, plus they get you onto the Nike + site.

The cheapest GPS watch I know of it the Timex Marathon. It's about 100 bucks and not really that great a watch. And I'm thinking $100 is probably out of your price range, anyway.

As an alternative, you might get him an ipod shuffle.

A similiar idea is that a lot of runners need a watch with an interval timer. The Casio Men's W756-1AV Digital Sport Watch is only about $20 but is a great watch for the money.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, May 26, 2014

I just want to give up on everything?




Jennaaaaa


I hate trying. I feel like someone is always gonna be better than me. The only thing I truly enjoy is volleyball. My mom is an amazing runner and has encouraged me to start running throughout the last couple years, hm I'm almost 15 by the way - a freshman, I've been running track since 7th grade.

I'm not amazing, in the last two years I got 1st once out of maybe 15 or so track meets. Normally i got around 2nd or 3rd. I always ran the 400m. I hate track. I hate running. But I dream that I'll be good, you know the only reason I'm gonna do high school track is cause I want to be skinny and in shape. Otherwise I hate it with all my guts. But i'm really not fat. I'm 5'1 and 105 lbs. I only have a little bit of chubby-ness on my stomach.

If I don't do it I feel like I'm giving up; failing. Because this is how my mom did high school. And i've always been seen by my teachers and peers as a runner. But i hate track so much. I hate the stress and nervousness before meets. I hate everyone watching you as you run. I hate the training and working out. I'm only doing it because i know its good for me.

I always day dream of running away and escaping this world. I live in Alaska. I hate it. I want to move to Italy or Australia. I really just don't like anything about my life except volleyball, but even then i'm not fantastic.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not some suicidal, depressed teen. I'm decent looking, but very moody. I always look at everyone else and think I'm decent looking, but everyone else is so skinny and gorgeous. I just hate trying. I hate working out. I hate doing homework, or trying to please people. I don't want to do track, but I know it'll be good for me so i'm doing it.

Is this normal?
Should I do track?
Is it normal for me to be thinking like this?



Answer
Dedication and hard work are always demanding. I ran but was never good enough and eventually other sports gained priority. Fencing was my ultimate sport simply because I was good at it. Rugby a close second.

But sports, running, fitness and competition are only part of your life. They should not consume you. Your dreams are important and in a few years time you will wonder what all the fuss was about as you enjoy the hurly burly of whatever you eventually choose to fill your life with.

It isn't just about working out either, you will find you miss the competetion, even the nervousness prior to competing and certainly the people and the banter involved.

So don't wast this short moment in your life by "hating" it. Enjoy the moments you have, be realistic as you appear to be about what you can achieve and just keep dreaming.

Dreams can influence and indeed make the reality of your life.

What movies from this list do you recommend?




Bailey


I have to watch two movies for AP World History and write a couple essays on them. But that doesn't matter. Which movies should I watch? Movies with the same symbol (like *), I cannot do both my essays on...

(*)Hotel Rwanda-PG-13
Marie Antoinette-R (2006)
(^)Das Boot- R (language, violence
Tale of Two Cities-NR/PG
(*)The Man in the Iron Mask PG-13
(%)Gallipoli-PG
(*)Australia PG-13
Doctor Zhivago-PG-13
(^)Europa, Europa-R
(*)Letters from Iwo Jima âR (violence)
(!)Elizabeth âR (violence, sexuality)
Gandhi -PG
Les Miserables (Liam Neeson version)-PG-13
Amadeus -PG
Young Victoria âPG (2009)
The Elephant Man PG
(!)Master and Commander PG-13
(!)Elizabeth; the Golden AgePG-13
(^)SchindlerâsList-R(violence, language)
Cromwell -G
The Count of Monte Cristo PG-13 (2002)
(%)Joyeux Noel PG-13
(^)The Longest Day âNR/PG
1492 Conquest of Paradise PG-13
Zulu NR/PG
(^)The Kingâs Speech-R
A Tale of Two Cities-PG
(%)Lawrence of Arabia-PG
Madness of King George PG-13
(^) The Boy in the Striped Pajamas-PG-13
The Last Samurai âR (language, violence)
(*)Invictus-PG-13
(%)All Quiet on the Western Front (either version)-NR/PG
Lagaan-PG
Amazing Grace PG
(!)Rob Roy-R
The Last Emperor PG-13
(!)The Kite Runner PG-13



Answer
Although The Count of Monte Christo is a good story, I don't believe it's going to give you a lesson in World Histoy as some of the others will.

I recommend Schindler's List for a sense of what happened in Germany during WW2, excellent film
and
Tale of Two Cities regarding the French Revolution - a great story
and
The Longest Day [I'm surprised that Saving Private Ryan isn't on the list]
and
Elizabeth, the Golden Age
or
Hotel Rwanda to learn more about Africa's conflicts

I wouldn't bother with the Madness of King George or The Last Samurai or The Kite Runner. I've seen each of them. Invictus is more about combining sports and politics in Africa.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

I want to start running...?




A


I want to start being in shape. I'm not overweight, I'm actually at a below normal weight (but not underweight) for my height. I want to start running, but I am completely out of shape. I want to gain the benefits of running: muscle tone, "lean-ness", and cardio. I've read a few articles about running for a minute and then walking and repeating the cycle until I can run/ jog for 30 minutes straight. Also, if you're a runner can you give me some advice that keeps you motivated to run since running does require a lot of "energy"... after all, you're moving your entire body. Thank you! :)


Answer
definitely dont start and stop to start running. start off by running about 30 minutes straight, choose a nice route to make it more fun. definitely do not stop running though, if you get tired just slow down, doesn;t matter how slow just dont walk. after about a month, you should be able to do this no problem. then you can start considering mileage and how fast you want each mile to be. definitely invest in a sports watch so you can do this better. you can track mileage simply by going to mapquest or something and clicking on directions and typing in your starting point and ending point...it'll give directions but on the bottom also how many miles the run was. Since you're just starting out your mile splits would probably be around 9-10 minutes. By your third month try and get them to around 9-8. To keep motivated, choose different running routes so it doesnt get monotonous and also run to music- you can make yourself a running playlist if you have an ipod.

Parkour(free running)- how to get started?




Conor


Parkour- how to get started?
hey everyone. i'm 14 years old and i'm trying to start in parkour (free running). i started lifting weights and i've been cycling long distances. i've started with my buddy. i need to know a good way to start. i want to become a good traceur no matter how long it takes me. any help or advice? thanks



Answer
Parkour and free running are similar but not the same. Free running is more flashy, it has tricks/flips thrown into it, whereas parkour is more about getting from a to b in the quickest route possible.

I'm gonna copy/paste another answer on a similar question.

For any sort of training I never recommend doing any weights work. I don't have space but I could write a couple of pages on why.

Look online for local parkour groups to train with, should be some in your area. A good place to start is just look on youtube for how to do stuff:

http://www.youtube.com/user/monkeyseevideos#p/search
http://www.youtube.com/user/expertvillage#p/search
Make sure you're in the uploads part and type in parkour.

Just remember to pace yourself and have fun.

Training: You will need

Healthy eating (ask in diet/fitness)
Routine
Willpower

Split the body into 3 parts. Upper, lower and core.

Upperbody will be doing pushups/pullups
lower will be squats
and your core will be leg raises and planks.

This will cover all the "forces" of movement.

Pushups are the best for upperbody pushing power, no other exercise works as many muscles as this simple exercise.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9t6m0QtS⦠- Take note of form, and elbows.

Next is the pullup which works all of your back muscles as well as your triceps. If your struggling to do full pullups: http://www.youtube.com/user/TraceurZeno?⦠-4m 51s with progression on 5m04s

Upperbody covered

Lowerbody will simply be squatting. Squats train all the pushing muscles in the legs. Improper squatting will damage the knees so put more focus into form than reps: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QKKZ9AGYT⦠- Knees don't go beyond toes. If you want a break from squats you can try some of these exercises: http://www.youtube.com/user/TraceurZeno?⦠Note that zeno does go beyond the knees in his squats but he is also going on the balls of his feet, removing strain from the knees.

Core - I don't believe in situps/crunches.

Flat leg raises - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JB2oyawG9â¦
Once you've gotten stronger move onto - hanging knee tucks - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ACTKTdvWsâ¦
Eventually you'll get to the point where you can hang and put your legs straight out.

last ab exercise the plank - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdPEF8eWB⦠. Make sure to do all sides.

Make sure to do some regular running, to improve your endurance.

In training you have Reps and sets as well as rest periods. A rep is repetition (how many to do) and a set is how many of said reps (ie 12 reps, 2 sets = 24 overall reps). I've found the best results to find out what is the max you can do. Say you can do 20 pushups maximum. I'd do 70-80% of that. Instead of doing 2x10 (20), I'd do 2x6-8 (12-16) multiple times throughout the day. This way you will do more overall pushups without hitting your limit in one session. No more than 5 sets during a day, give it 1 minute between each set and 1-2 hours before you repeat the exercise. On your final exercise do as many as you can do. Give yourself 3 days rest before doing any more training.

Willpower is needed to stick to a training regime. It's the single hardest thing to do, but you have parkour as a goal to get better at, keep that in mind.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, May 25, 2014

Any Runners out there?







Does anyone use a GPS watch to run?
I just want a watch that will measure the distance I run, the time I do it in, and my pace. I want a watch that costs under 150 dollars.... Can anyone help me out here?

THANKS!



Answer
I used to use my Garmin 301 until my Lab chewed it. I loved it. I was about to purchase a Garmin 305 for $170 CDN but got an iPhone and downloaded an app instead.
I would still recommend the Garmin. They have great customer service.

You can get a Garmin 305 or lower for under $150 US
http://www.shopping.com/Garmin-Garmin-Forerunner-305-Personal-Training-GPS/info

The 05s are better than the 01s (as in 105, 205, 305 or 101, 201, 301). I think they are newer.
The difference between 100 and 200 is that 100 runs on batteries, the 200s are rechargeable (as are the 300s). The 300s come with heartrate monitor and may have a few more features.

Even the basic model will give you pace and distance.

I loved that I could just run and not pre plan my routes and have instant feedback. I also used it for Geocaching. LOL.

A good runner's watch?




B


My husband is looking for a good runner's watch. Something not too pricey. Can anyone help me out? Links are also very helpful.


Answer
Forbes magazine tested two good watches and gave very interesting reviews.

Garmin's Forerunner 201, which sells for about $160, even has a 100-by-64-pixel screen that can show you a map of where you've been and how to get back to where you started from--handy for trail and road runners, less so for those who train on a track, and Timex's Bodylink System, which sells for about $300.

It depends on whether your husband is a techno-gadget fan, but either watch is suitable and quite good. I'd buy the $160..just because $300 seems a bit excessive .

http://www.forbes.com/personaltech/2004/05/11/cx_pm_0511tentech.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

runners watch?




shegnon


I'm looking to get a sport watch to wear while running. the problem is I'm allergic to the plastic bands, esp while sweating. Any suggestions?


Answer
How bout putting one on a chain(string or rope) and have that chain hang around your neck while you run....hope this helps...

identify the differences in training method between sprinters and marathone runners?




ah_chu46


identify the differences in training method between sprinters and marathone runners


Answer
It's all in the approach to the running sport.

- Stamina and Speed are the most important traits to the Sprinter. A wide variety of exercises can be tried, but they all have to be quick ones, or exercises that can be done quickly.
- Stamina and Endurance are the most important traits to the Marathon Runner. The best idea is to run long distances.

- Sprinters run quick short races, and they train to have a good lung capacity, to start as quickly as possible, and to get an adrenaline boost right when they start the race. By the time the adrenaline is burned off and the fatigue poisons build up in the body the race is over. The sprinter can commit all of their energy at the start (or for long sprints in the middle) of the run. A sprinter is ready to run another race in 20-40 minutes. They rebuild their strength quickly; good sprinters can run 2-3 races in one meet. Sprinters also run on the best track, smooth and level with either a tar of gravel surface, few sprints are ever run in the rain.

- Marathon Runners don't want a quick boost of adrenaline, because the fatigue poisons in the muscles can lead to cramps. They need a good lung capacity, and endurance. Where a sprinter wants to go as fast as possible, the Marathon Runner wants to go at a steady pace for long distances. Marathon Runners want to meter their strength out over a long period of time, while maintaining a fast rate of speed. When a Marathon Runner approaches the finish line his/her strength is all but spent and he can't run any faster. He may also take a few days to recover from the ordeal. Marathon runners often run on roads, but in smaller Marathons they may run on sidewalks. They run up and down hills and around gentile curves. They have to be able to run over any type of surface, even in the rain.

- The single best training for a Sprinter is to run very fast races, then wait 5-10 minutes and run again. Jumping jacks and fast exercise are best to train with. The exercise sessions should be short and very quickly done. Then after a short rest period to do the exercises again. Swimming will help to build lung capacity, and train their breathing. Again they should swim the length of the pool quickly, rest and then swim back as quickly as possible. Sissicor kicks and leg lifts while moving them in and out are good training methods. Sit-ups and Pushups will give general strength, stretching exercises, especially with the legs are very important. Football drill exercises are also good; the sprinter runs in place quickly and then makes sudden moves as directed by the trainer (drop, do a few pushups, get back up and run, run to the left or the right and so on). Watching the trainer for these sudden moves improves the reflexes and takes their minds off the pain. Sprinters have to move fast enough that the pain doesn't have time to affect them. Another training method is the endless relay race. Place 6 sprinters on a track at equal distance and have them run a relay race. Each runner sprints forward, passes off the baton and rests, then when the baton comes back to them they run a sprint again.

According to Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sprint_%28race%29
âBiological factors for runners
Some biological factors that can determine a sprinter's potential are:
Muscular strength (more important than in longer events)
Adrenaline use
Anaerobic respiration capacity (not as important in longer events - some of the shorter sprints can be run without having to breathe at all)â

- The single best training for a Marathon Runner is for them to run long distances, and keep running for hours. Bicycles are a good training for Marathon Runners, they can rest on the down slope and push harder on the climb, however they should keep pedaling all the time. Push-ups build strength and improve the chest muscles, while sit-ups improve the abdominal muscles; leg lifts with a long hold are also very good. To a Marathon Runner pain is a constant companion; they need to learn how to accept it and power through it.

According to Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marathon_%28race%29
â- Training
For most runners, the marathon is the longest run they have ever attempted. Many coaches believe that the most important element in marathon training is the long run. Usually recreational runners try to reach a maximum of about 20 miles (32.2 km) in their longest weekly run and about 40 miles (64.4 km) a week in total, when training for the marathon. More experienced marathoners may run a longer distance, and more miles or kilometres during the week. Greater weekly training mileages can offer greater results in terms of distance and endurance, but also carries a greater risk of training injury. Most male elite marathon runners will have weekly mileages of over 100 miles (160.9 km).
Many training programs last a minimum of five or six months, with a gradual increase (every two weeks) in the distance run and a little decrease (1 week) for recovery. For beginners looking to finish a marathon, rather than compete, a minimum of 4 months, running 4 days a week is recommended (Whitsett et al. 1998). Many trainers, including Dr. Daniels, recommend a weekly increase in mileage of no more than 10%. It is also often advised to maintain a consistent running program for six months or so before beginning a marathon training program to allow the body to adapt to the new stresses.
During marathon training, adequate recovery time is important. If fatigue or pain is felt, it is recommended to take a break for a couple of days or more to let the body heal. Overtraining is a condition that results from not getting enough rest to allow the body to recover from difficult training. It can actually result in a lower endurance and speed and place a runner at a greater risk of injury.â




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is anyone watching Futsal? Euro 2010 is on the run :)?




p4p1


I find futsal pretty interesting too. Group stages in euro finished and here are the QF draws:
25/01 Czech Republic 18:00 Italy
25/01 Azerbaijan 20:00 Ukraine
26/01 Russia 17:30 Spain
26/01 Serbia 19:30 Portugal
Feel free to leave predictions for game, or any thoughts on the tournament. Also who are you cheering for. Im ofc cheering for Serbia :)



Answer
wow Azerbaijan are actually good at some kind of football? wow!

Who to watch in 2010?




wilde4ever


Do you see any bright new talents coming through at the moment who are worth keeping an eye on in 2010? I think Cilic is perhaps nearing readiness to step up but looking down the rankings no other names jump out at me.


Answer
The five men to watch for in 2010 would be as follows:

1) Andy Murray- would like to win a grandslam and keep the critics quiet.
2) Del Potro- Would like to prove that he is a real contender for the number one position.
3) Marin Cilic- He will certainly move up because he has the talent and is making good strides.
4) Robin Soderling- He would like to prove that his run at the French Open was not a fluke.
5) Djoko- He has always said that he wants to be number one and he will make a play for that position.

I didn't take Rogi or Rafa's name because I don't think they have to prove anything to anybody.

Women

1) Justine Henin- She is used to staying at the top and she will make every effort to get there.
2) Kim Clijsters- She would like to win another grandslam besides USO and has a positive attitude so we will see a lot from her.
3) Caroline Wozniacki- She is a hard working girl and will be moving up the ranks.
4) Dinara Safina- She is in the same position as Andy Murray so she would like to win a grandslam to keep people quiet.
5) Radwanska and Azarenka will be creating some upsets for sure.

I didn't mention William sisters because they don't have to prove anything to anybody either.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Been watching the Olympic trials. Why do black women generally only run the shorter distances, while...?




fatted_mal


...white women almost exclusively run the longer distances?


Answer
Mostly coincidental, I think. A lot has to do with the personality of the individual athlete and what race (I mean that in terms of "race distance" rather than "race color") suits their desire to compete.

I think it has more to do with culture and environment than any racial factors. Look at all the great long distance runners from African countries.

When running long distance my lower back starts to get pain?




sonafets


At about half a mile, my lower back starts to get pain... feels like knot or something, but it makes it really hard to run and twist my body. Anyone know what i can do, or what it is? Thanks


Answer
The Woman in this video had so much back pain she couldn't sleep
and 3 sessions she could run marathons :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jL8DjJmdtUk

It's called Theraflex and looks like this :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjYU_fWhjU4

You can get it here :
http://www.theraflexusa.com - USA
http://www.theraflex.info/practitioners_using_theraflex.html - UK




Powered by Yahoo! Answers