Monday, May 26, 2014

I just want to give up on everything?




Jennaaaaa


I hate trying. I feel like someone is always gonna be better than me. The only thing I truly enjoy is volleyball. My mom is an amazing runner and has encouraged me to start running throughout the last couple years, hm I'm almost 15 by the way - a freshman, I've been running track since 7th grade.

I'm not amazing, in the last two years I got 1st once out of maybe 15 or so track meets. Normally i got around 2nd or 3rd. I always ran the 400m. I hate track. I hate running. But I dream that I'll be good, you know the only reason I'm gonna do high school track is cause I want to be skinny and in shape. Otherwise I hate it with all my guts. But i'm really not fat. I'm 5'1 and 105 lbs. I only have a little bit of chubby-ness on my stomach.

If I don't do it I feel like I'm giving up; failing. Because this is how my mom did high school. And i've always been seen by my teachers and peers as a runner. But i hate track so much. I hate the stress and nervousness before meets. I hate everyone watching you as you run. I hate the training and working out. I'm only doing it because i know its good for me.

I always day dream of running away and escaping this world. I live in Alaska. I hate it. I want to move to Italy or Australia. I really just don't like anything about my life except volleyball, but even then i'm not fantastic.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not some suicidal, depressed teen. I'm decent looking, but very moody. I always look at everyone else and think I'm decent looking, but everyone else is so skinny and gorgeous. I just hate trying. I hate working out. I hate doing homework, or trying to please people. I don't want to do track, but I know it'll be good for me so i'm doing it.

Is this normal?
Should I do track?
Is it normal for me to be thinking like this?



Answer
Dedication and hard work are always demanding. I ran but was never good enough and eventually other sports gained priority. Fencing was my ultimate sport simply because I was good at it. Rugby a close second.

But sports, running, fitness and competition are only part of your life. They should not consume you. Your dreams are important and in a few years time you will wonder what all the fuss was about as you enjoy the hurly burly of whatever you eventually choose to fill your life with.

It isn't just about working out either, you will find you miss the competetion, even the nervousness prior to competing and certainly the people and the banter involved.

So don't wast this short moment in your life by "hating" it. Enjoy the moments you have, be realistic as you appear to be about what you can achieve and just keep dreaming.

Dreams can influence and indeed make the reality of your life.

What movies from this list do you recommend?




Bailey


I have to watch two movies for AP World History and write a couple essays on them. But that doesn't matter. Which movies should I watch? Movies with the same symbol (like *), I cannot do both my essays on...

(*)Hotel Rwanda-PG-13
Marie Antoinette-R (2006)
(^)Das Boot- R (language, violence
Tale of Two Cities-NR/PG
(*)The Man in the Iron Mask PG-13
(%)Gallipoli-PG
(*)Australia PG-13
Doctor Zhivago-PG-13
(^)Europa, Europa-R
(*)Letters from Iwo Jima âR (violence)
(!)Elizabeth âR (violence, sexuality)
Gandhi -PG
Les Miserables (Liam Neeson version)-PG-13
Amadeus -PG
Young Victoria âPG (2009)
The Elephant Man PG
(!)Master and Commander PG-13
(!)Elizabeth; the Golden AgePG-13
(^)SchindlerâsList-R(violence, language)
Cromwell -G
The Count of Monte Cristo PG-13 (2002)
(%)Joyeux Noel PG-13
(^)The Longest Day âNR/PG
1492 Conquest of Paradise PG-13
Zulu NR/PG
(^)The Kingâs Speech-R
A Tale of Two Cities-PG
(%)Lawrence of Arabia-PG
Madness of King George PG-13
(^) The Boy in the Striped Pajamas-PG-13
The Last Samurai âR (language, violence)
(*)Invictus-PG-13
(%)All Quiet on the Western Front (either version)-NR/PG
Lagaan-PG
Amazing Grace PG
(!)Rob Roy-R
The Last Emperor PG-13
(!)The Kite Runner PG-13



Answer
Although The Count of Monte Christo is a good story, I don't believe it's going to give you a lesson in World Histoy as some of the others will.

I recommend Schindler's List for a sense of what happened in Germany during WW2, excellent film
and
Tale of Two Cities regarding the French Revolution - a great story
and
The Longest Day [I'm surprised that Saving Private Ryan isn't on the list]
and
Elizabeth, the Golden Age
or
Hotel Rwanda to learn more about Africa's conflicts

I wouldn't bother with the Madness of King George or The Last Samurai or The Kite Runner. I've seen each of them. Invictus is more about combining sports and politics in Africa.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

No comments:

Post a Comment