Saturday, January 18, 2014

Is Forerunner 205 - Garmin GPS a good watch???

garmin running watches ebay on Garmin Forerunner 405 Sport Watch Running Fitness Black 0753759075316 ...
garmin running watches ebay image



tatortottw


Hey!
I'm thinking to get this watch for my dad's birthday. The description sounds like the watch he wants. But is their anything that you don't like about it. Where's a good place to get it at, the cheapest place. Is it going to be around 100.00 or more.

Thanks



Answer
I have used the Forerunner 205 and 305 and the only difference is that the 305 is compatible with (and sometimes depending on where you purchase it, it comes with) a hear rate monitor. So if that sounds like something your dad might be interested in than I would definitely go for the 305.

It is basically the god-watch of any passionate runner/athlete (you can use it for running and biking). The only "annoyance" I have with it is that it is kind of big on the wrist, it is light but bulky. It is slightly smaller than the circumference of a water bottle.

I recently discovered that I can customize the screens (three available screens to customize) to display up to four panels of information (this is on my 305: Cadence, Cadence-Average, Cadence-Per Lap, Calories, Date, Distance, Distance-Current Lap, Distance-Last Lap, Distance-Paused, Elevation, GPS Accuracy, Grade, Heading, Heart Rate, Heart Rate-Average, Heart Rate-Lap, Heart Rate Zone, Laps, Pace, Pace-Average, Pace-Best, Pace-Lap, Pace-Last Lap, Pace Zone, Time of Sunrise, Time of Sunset, Time, Time-Average Lap, Time-Lap, Time-Last Lap, Time-Paused Time of Day) which is a really nice feature I like.

So pretty much, except the size, I absolutely love this watch!

I got my 305 (I have only tried the 205, not actually owned it) at Costco for $180 ($200 retail + $20 coupon), and since at the time the MSRP was $399, I thought that was a great deal. Since now the MSRP for the 205 is $199, you can probably get it for under $100 if you wait patiently. I would definitely look at Costco, try eBay or Amazon. When I was shopping for my 305 on eBay I saw many around the $200 range. Right now on eBay there are 205's ranging from $50 to $150, and that's about as high as they go.

So good luck with this purchase, I hope you get a great deal on your 205 like I did on my 305, I am absolutely positive your dad will LOVE this watch!

need a watch/pedometer for running?




Mike


what is a good watch to have for running.

i need it to have these (at least):

24 hour time (military time)
pedometer
stopwatch
with a nylon band (or something similiar)

looking to spend no more than $50; the cheaper the better.



Answer
Throwing the pedometer ability into things is going to bump the price up a bit.

You might look at something like the Garmin 50, especially if you can find it used or something on eBay.

If you can scrape up the funds for something with GPS capability like the Garmin 205 or 305 though, it's a better long-term investment. If price is your overriding concern, I'd again look someplace like eBay for used and/or refurbed units.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where can I find a professional sports watch for running?

best gps sports watch for runners on GPS Watch - Review and Rating of the Best GPS Watches
best gps sports watch for runners image



motermax


I want one that measures your pulse and how many steps you take and how far you go at what speed, is there any like that? Money isn't really an issue but cheaper would be good.


Answer
I really like Nike+ SportWatch GPS, I bought mine here:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004WIUDGM/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B004WIUDGM&linkCode=as2&tag=acomprar-20

I've run 6 marathons so far (a little over 1 per year), and always love to have new technology to play with during training. I bought the Nike Sportwatch shortly after it came out. I was not impressed. It really liked a lot of critical features, and the website was constantly having issue.

Multiple months and 600+ mileson it later, I'm happy to say that I really enjoy it. Nike has been incredible about this launch. Every couple of months they've continuously added more and more new features. The website is still slow, but they are launching a new one in ealy 2012. The new features on this watch put it among the best out there.

New features:
- Walk/Run timer (interval timer as well)
- Avg, Pace
- Improved Mapping
- Set time on the device (no computer needed)
- Incredibly fast satellite connection (even in the city)
- Auto calibration of foot pod
- Faster upload speeds to add your runs
- Integration with Facebook

All in all, a great watch. This one will work for new runners and advanced runners. The only people that this isn't a great choice or is ultramarathon ruuners. Battery life with GPS is 8-10 hours...not long enough for a 50-80 KM.

Having owned Polar RS800, Polar RCX5, Garmin 305, Garmin 310XT, and Garmin 210, I would put this up there as one of my faorites. The website is the best one out there, and the sites detailed training programs are worth using to achieve your best time yet.

What is the difference between Nike+ SportBand and Nike+ SportWatch?




Rachael


The watch is a lot more expensive, so i was wondering if there was much of a difference between the two. Also, if you know any cheaper brands of sport bands/watches that work just as well, please let me know.


Answer
The nike sportsband uses the Nike Sensor that first required an ipod.
so if you don't need or want an ipod you can get this.
It Tracks distance, pace, time elapsed and calories burned. of course it connects to the nike + site
And the Nike+ sensor included is included which you can put in your Nike+ shoes or attach to other shoes with a pouch you can buy separately. It works on a treadmill but not an elliptical. Its not as accurate as a GPS but its OK. And there is no HRM feature.

The Nike sportwatch is a GPS Heart Rate Monitor Watch. I'm pretty sure they stopped including the sensor with it and I'm also pretty sure they never included a Heart Rate Monitor Strap. But it's come down in price. For it's price, I think its one of the better GPS HRM watches out there.

With the sensor it will work on treadmill, but not without. It's more accurate than the band and the sensor and the GPS work together. And if you don't want a HRM you just don''t buy the strap.

Once you figure in the price of the HRM strap a Timex GPS HTM might be a little cheaper.

I happen to be a big fan of Garmin. I have a 305 and you can probably get a good price on one.

Google "DC Rainmaker". This guy compares these watches and writes great reviews. I know he has reviewed Garmins and Nikes.

Nike's web site was just recently revamped and they are still in the process of finishing it. It was and probably will be the best web site for runners. So you might want to take that into account.

By the way, The Nike Fuel band is in it's own special category. but it keeps track with a built in accelerometer of it's own unique kind of measurement. And it works whether you are running or playing basketball or dancing or on the elliptical trainer. At the end of the day you hook it up to your computer and it puts it's data into the nike site. Basically the data you get is just relative. You did more today than yesterday kind of thing. And i guess it can give you some bragging rights on FaceBook.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there a watch that looks like the Nike sport swatch but is less expensive?

what is the best sport watch for runners on Running TipsThe New Nike Sport Watch GPS - A Game Changer for Runners ...
what is the best sport watch for runners image



Phoenix


I like the way the Nike sports watch looks, the way it's big, and it pops, and the screen with the two big numbers on the top and the bottom. But I really don't want to spend $150 on the watch. I'm not a runner and I don't want a watch that I'll need to charge, so if anyone knows of a watch that looks similar, thanks.


Answer
I think you go for nike

What college football team should i become a fan of?




Justin


I am a die hard fan for all sports. I love watching college football and basketball as well, but i switch teams often based on certain players i like and on how well the team is doing (i guess you could say im a front runner for college sports). I want to actually find a school that i can follow and become a huge fan of. I live in new jersey and am i die hard steelers fan. I do not care where the college is located or anything like that but i do want a D1 team who is at least decent and has a great program with role model athletes. Thank you!


Answer
USC
11 national championships
produced more NFL hall of famers than any other school
we have Marquise Lee
constantly have one of the best recruiting classes in the nation
die hard fanbase
classic uniforms




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can someone reccomend some kind of plan for starting running? To make it easier?

running watch 405 on Details about Garmin Forerunner 405 GPS Running Sports Watch
running watch 405 image



Yeahh


Not going to lie here, I am a bit overweight.
But I want to start running.
I have been running/jogging some, but ive noticed that after a few days my legs feel tired and it gets harder.
Is there any way to minimize this?



Answer
I am a big proponent of the couch to 5 K running program (C25K). It's a walk to run program and its one of the best.

The C25K program slowly increases your effort over 9 weeks. I did it and I really liked the fact that I could see each week I was making progress and I never really felt like it was too hard.

You will have to get a sports watch that can be programmed to do intervals. I really like Timex watches, the trainer line is pretty good. and some of them have Heart Rate monitors which is a nice way of monitoring your effort. Casio makes a interval timer that's simple and inexpensive - W756-1A - you can find it at amazon for $20. Or buy a Gymboss for $20. all it does is do intervals but its real simple to use and program.

If you have an iPod, you can download a podcast that is the couch to 5 K program and you won't even need a watch. And if you have an iPod touch or iPhone, you can download the interval timer app for $2. It is super easy to use. and is pre-programmed.

If you're really thinking of getting a Heart rate monitor, and you don't have an iPhone, then take a bigger plunge and get a GPS Heart rate monitor watch. They have the interval timers built in, and you can monitor both your distance and your effort. I like the Garnin 405.

Once you graduate from the C25K program they have other programs that are more advanced. I still do intervals once in a while. A lot of runners do them once a week. So you can plan on using your timer for a long time.

Couch to 5 K
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Gymboss
http://www.amazon.com/Gymboss-8599-GB2010-BLACK-SOFTCOAT/dp/B0036USWUQ/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1338400308&sr=1-1-catcorr

Casio interval timer watch
http://www.amazon.com/Casio-W756-1AV-Digital-Sport-Watch/dp/B0013M6BRA/ref=sr_1_6?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401190&sr=1-6

Timex trainer
http://www.amazon.com/Timex-Ironman-Trainer-Heart-Monitor/dp/B001JBU6YY/ref=sr_1_12?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401447&sr=1-12

Garmin405 CX
http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Forerunner-405CX-Sport-Monitor/dp/B0025UHKNS/ref=sr_1_7?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401528&sr=1-7

C25K podcast
http://www.c25k.com/

Interval run app
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/interval-run/id297105174?mt=8

What child day care in the antelope valley area recommend?




Denyse**


I'm planning on going back to finish school. My fiancé works night shifts and gets home around 9am and sleeps the whole day until 9pm with his work schedule and needing rest he won't be able to watch our kids. I have a two year old and a 5 month old. I was wondering since this is my first time what day care do you recommend in experience? This is the first time ill leave my babies in a strangers care. I just want to make sure they're not with a psycho or being mistreated. Being fed and attended to properly. Can anyone help please. Again I'm in Palmdale California, antelope valley area. Thank you


Answer
I know some guy through a mutual friend who runs a daycare in the LA area. If you are interested, he normally parks his van off the 405. Its not hard to miss he normally parks by the I-10 intersection. He drives a white dodge van, and hangs a "free candy" sign on the side of his van. Again, I don't know him that well, but mt friend says he legit. Hope this helped.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are the pros and cons of Garmin forerunner 210 vs 405?

running watches heart rate monitor reviews on WCI All In One Exercise Data Watch With Heart Rate Monitor - Measures ...
running watches heart rate monitor reviews image



Ashley


Which is the best?


Answer
Garmin Forerunner 210 with Heart Rate Monitor

http://amzn.to/f32FYc

PROS:
Very simple to use
Good size for woman's wrist
Could use as a regular watch due to it's size
GPS connects fast
Power save mode
Has pace, distance, intervals, etc

CONS:
The battery contacts are tiny and tricky to get in place
Heart rate monitor strap seems very soft and pliable but cuts into my skin.

................................

Garmin Forerunner 405 Wireless GPS-Enabled Sports Watch

http://amzn.to/fyGEUZ

Pros.

1. Normal size - Unlike the 305, which I would not wear, the 405 is a regular watch. I wear it all the time.

2. Everything in one device - HR, pace, distance, elevation, laps.

3. Pace - I thought the whole GPS thing might be a bit too high-tech for a guy who loves the simplicity of running, but it is very, very nice to know your pace as you run. I use Hal Higdon's training plans, which call for all kinds of runs, with warm-ups, intervals, tempo intervals, pace segments, etc. The pace feature makes doing these workouts possible without having a coach at your side.

4. GPS frees you from mapping out your route. You just run until it shows your distance is done. The Garmin Connect site then shows your map. This doesn't sound so amazing, but it is very liberating. You just run wherever you want, explore your neighborhood, whatever. It transforms city running.

5. Auto laps. Great feature. Records all your details (time, HR, pace) for each lap automatically. You can review on the watch or on Garmin Connect.

6. The Garmin Connect website is very good and continually improving, with new features every couple of months.

7. The data seems pretty accurate, based on a track workout. In a recent 10K race, it recorded 10.2K, but some of that variation is certainly due to my weaving among the crowd. All GPS devices have a margin of error.

Cons:

1. Battery life - with GPS enabled, it needs a charge every couple of days to avoid the dreaded "low battery" warning in the middle of a workout.

2. The USB stick for wireless transfer. It works, but Nike does it better. The Nike+ pop-out USB stick is a much simpler way to transfer data to the computer and a much better way to keep from losing the USB part.

3. It can take a couple of minutes to find satellites and loses accuracy in bad weather. But this is probably true of any GPS device.


...................................

All in all, I would go for the Garmin 405. It is an incredible training device, the best choice in the market. 5 stars.

Speed and Distance watch for runners?




Punaboy_10


I want a watch that accurately records my distance ran and my pace each mile. Thats it! I dont need a calorie counter or heart rate monitor. I dont want to spend a rediculous amount so $50-$70 would be nice. Are there any watches with gps within this price range? Im tired of trying to track my distance by driving around in my car Please help.


Answer
well, i think you are looking for something like NIKE TRIAX or TIMEX MENâS 1440 SPORT DIGITAL WATCH...

I can suggest others but i guess you are also concerned with how these watches look.

i got those price from http://www.runningwatchreviews.com/ .. i think they are just around $15

there are plenty of other reviews there, list of features, prices and other stuff i guess you need to see them.

By the way, runners are so inl ove with garmin, i saw one from http://www.garminforerunnerblog.com/ but yah, that's pricey..

Hope that helps




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, January 17, 2014

What are some good movies to watch when you're bored at 11:47 pm?

running man watch 88 on Fan Photos] Actor Kim Soo Hyun # in Running Man Episode ...
running man watch 88 image



Eddy


I've watched a very large amount of movies, like I'm not kidding every time I ask someone to tell me a good movie they always recommend one that I have already watched, and it makes it really hard to not be bored since I don't have anything else to do now...Please movies from this time, not from the 80s


Answer
Well it's 11:53 so I hope this list still counts. And I dare you to tell me you've seen all of these absolutely great movies:

1.Braveheart
2.The Last of the Mohicans
3.Equilibrium
4.Tombstone
5.Terminator 2
6.Casino Royal
7.Spartacus
8.Speed
9.The Machinist
10.The Wolfman (2010)
11. Shawshank Redemption
12.Glory
13.L.A. Confidential
14.The Count of Monte Cristo
15.Mask of Zorro
16.Unbreakable
17.Reign of Fire
18.Beowulf
19. Undisputed 3
20.Ip Man
21.The Expendables
22.Ben Hur
23.Star Trek (2009)
24.Ghost and the Darkness
25.Mighty Joe Young (1998)
26.The Night Stalker (1972)
27.The Dark (1979)
28.The Creature Walks Among Us
29.Aliens
30.Bad Moon
31.The Empire Strikes Back
32.The Creature from the Black Lagoon
33.Quantum of Solace
34.Se7en
35.Ronin
36.Terminator
37.Frankenstein (1994)
38.Batman Begins
39.The Mummy (1999)
40.Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem
41.American Psycho
42.Silence of the Lambs
43.300
44.Gladiator
45.The Dark Knight
46. Predator
47. Predator 2
48. Predators
49. Dog Soldiers
50. Purgatory
51. Frailty
52. Red Hill
53. Die Hard 4
54. Falling Down
55. The Usual Suspects
56. American Werewolf in London
57. Pumpkin Head
58. Extreme Prejudice
59. The Bounty
60. Die Hard
61. The Thing (1982)
62. The Thing (1951)
63. Sleepy Hollow
64.The Perfect Storm
65. Living Daylights
66. License to Kill
67. Cape Fear
68.Raiders of the Lost Ark
69.High Tension
70.The Vikings
71.War of the Gargantuas
72.The Bride of Frankenstein
73.Fire and Ice
74.Star Trek II: The Wrath of Kahn
75.The Man From Earth
76.The Five Heartbeats
77.Sin City
78.Legend of Zorro
79.Terminator Salvation
80.Midnight Run
81.Revenge of the Creature
82. Ninja (2009)
83.Undisputed 2
84.Something the Lord Made
85.8mm
86.Brotherhood of the Wolf
87.Night of the Grizzly
88.Deathdream
89.Troy
90.Horror Express
91.The Mummy Returns
92.The Exorcist
93.Citizen X
94.Curse of the Werewolf
95.Gravedancers
96.Unstoppable
97.The Crucible
98.Four Brothers
99.Hachiko: A Dogs Story
100.Blackout (2007) with Jeffrey Wright
101.A Simple Twist of Fate
102.Number 23
103.Orphan
104.13 ghosts
105.Hostel
106.Drag Me to Hell
107.The Hills Have Eyes
108.Wrong Turn 1
109.Event Horizon
110.The Grudge
111.Hide and Seek
112.The Mist

Does anyone have the list for the Vh1 one hit wonders 80s?




VintageFie


I really dont have time to watch the videos again, is there anywhere that I retrieve the list typed up?


Answer
Right here:

1 Dexys Midnight Runners: âCome on Eileenâ
2 Flock of Seagulls: âI Ran (So Far Away)â
3 A-Ha: âTake On Meâ
4 Tommy Tutone: â867-5309 / Jennyâ
5 Soft Cell: âTainted Loveâ
6 Toni Basil: âMickeyâ
7 Modern English: âI Melt With Youâ
8 Bow Wow Wow: âI Want Candyâ
9 Kajagoogoo: âToo Shyâ
10 Frankie Goes to Hollywood: âRelaxâ
11 Gary Numan: âCarsâ
12 Animotion: âObsesssionâ
13 Thomas Dolby: âShe Blinded Me With Scienceâ
14 Big Country: âIn A Big Countryâ
15 Devo: âWhip Itâ
16 Nena: â99 Luft Balloonsâ
17 Men Without Hats: âThe Safety Danceâ
18 Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock: âIt Takes Twoâ
19 Dead or Alive: âYou Spin Me Round (Like a Record)â
20 Rockwell: âSomebodyâs Watching Meâ
21 Twisted Sister: âWeâre Not Gonna Take Itâ
22 Michael Sembello: âManiacâ
23 Eddy Grant: âElectric Avenueâ
24 Edie Brickell & New Bohemians: âWhat I Amâ
25 musical Youth: âPass the Dutchieâ

26 Cutting Crew: âI Just Died In Your Armsâ
27 Stacey Q: âTwo of Heartsâ
28 John Parr: âSt. Elmos Fire (Man In Motion)â
29 Madness: âOur Houseâ
30 The Vapors: âTurning Japaneseâ
31 Bobby McFerrin: âDonât Worry Be Happyâ
32 Quarterflash: âHarden My Heartâ
33 John Waite: âMissing Youâ
34 The Waitresses: âI Know What Boys Likeâ
35 Tom Tom Club: âGenius of Loveâ
36 Weather Girls: âItâs Raining Menâ
37 Lipps, Inc.: âFunkytownâ
38 Bruce Willis: âRespect Yourselfâ
39 Matthew Wilder: âBreak My Strideâ
40 The Buggles: âVideo Killed the Radio Starâ
41 Billy Vera âAt This Momentâ
42 Timbuk 3 âThe Futureâs So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shadesâ
43 Shannon âLet the Music Playâ
44 Wall of Voodoo âMexican Radioâ
45 Robbie Nevil âCâest La Vieâ
46 Georgia Satellites âKeep Your Hands To Yourselfâ
47 Pretty Poison âCatch Me Iâm Fallingâ
48 Yello âOh Yeahâ
49 Philip Bailey (w/ Phil Collins) âEasy Loverâ
50 Neneh Cherry âBuffalo Stanceâ
51 After the Fire âDer Kommissarâ
52 Mary Jane Girls âIn My Houseâ
53 Taco âPuttinâ On the Ritzâ
54 Chris DeBurgh âLady in Redâ
55 Johnny Kemp âJust Got Paidâ
56 Til Tuesday âVoices Carryâ
57 Jermaine Stewart âWe Donât Have to Take Our Clothes Offâ
58 Don Johnson âHeartbeatâ
59 The Outfield âYour Loveâ
60 Nu Shooz âI Canât Waitâ
61 E.U.: âDa Buttâ
62 XTC: âDear Godâ

63 Oran âJuiceâ Jones: âThe Rainâ
64 Robbie Dupree: âSteal Awayâ
65 Boomtown Rats: âI Donât Like Mondaysâ
66 The Jeff Healy Band: âAngel Eyesâ
67 Martika: âToy Soldiersâ
68 Peter Schilling: âMajor Tom

Would you consider living in the Philippines after your retirement?

running watch philippines on ... Geneva Watch - Reserved - Brand New For Sale Philippines - 1533466
running watch philippines image



Eyna


Do you consider Philippines as a retirement place and why?


Answer
I am considering it and have visited the Philippine Retirement Agency in Makati in 2009. I have a lot of friends there, so it was an easy choice for me. Mexico is still in the running (free medical care), but the Philippines seems a better choice. Here's why:

1. I can live well there on $1000 a month budget, (internet, cable TV, air conditioning).
2. English is the official language.
3. They have a government agency specifically dedicated to assisting retirees choosing to live there (Mexico also has this, but I haven't found another country yet with government assistance in relocating).
4. I have a lot of connections in the Philippines, including God-children (Ninong ako).
5. The Philippines is rich in history (Corregidor) and beauty (beaches, forests, bird watching, hiking etc.)
6. Great food- amazing food.
7. The people in this country are the happiest, funniest, healthiest psychologically of any country I have yet visited. I am ALWAYS laughing when I go there. Cheerful place.
8. Good infrastructure, medical care, schools, cell phone, internet services etc.
9. Christian nation, easy to find a church (listed last but not least in my considerations).

How much does an electricity company normally charge per kilowatt in the Philippines?

Q. I live in a condo in Cebu city with my boyfriend. We just got our electric bill for the month and it says we owe them a huge amount. I honestly think they might be mistaken or trying to charge us triple than normal because we do not have that much appliances plus we are very careful about leaving things on (the only thing running 24/7 is the fridge).
Fridges are built to be 'economically friendly' since they should be running at all times. We do have the TV on almost all day and laptops plugged in almost all day as well. I would understand if we had to pay a considerably 'high' amount but unfortunately, I think something has gone kooky. Not even a 3 bedroom house could possibly use up 18,000 pesos worth of electricity in a month, all the more a studio type condo.


Answer
I live just North of the City of Cebu in a small town (using "Veco") I don't really look at the Kwh rate.....

I take my total Bill (this would include the tax and kwh rate and everthing else they add) and divide it by the Kwh used....

So by doing that I can say I pay 10pesos per Kwh..

Knowing the rate per Kwh is ok but it doesn't really tell you how much you are paying total for a KWH if you don't add the tax and other "add ons".

Computer runs about 16 hours a day
3 fans run about 12 hours a day
1 fan runs about 24 hours a day
Refrigerator runs 24 hours a day
2 light run 12 hours a day
TV 1 hour per day (sometimes 2 hours per day if we watch a movie)

and our bill runs about 2,000-2,500




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How do you slim down your legs and thighs?

best watch for runners and swimmers on Watches have launched the prizes they will be presenting to the top ...
best watch for runners and swimmers image



Hawaiian g


I am a competitive swimmer and track runner so I have very big muscular legs. I am now trying to tone them differently so they are much smaller and thiner. Does anyone know a way that I can do this? Please no stupid answers like "just stop swimming and running" or "just swim and run less"


Answer
I have never answered stuff like this but I feel like I have the same legs as you. I've always been an athlete and have the build that can really put on muscle if I want to.
I think the important thing to know is....how is the rest of your body? Do you feel like you are in shape everywhere else or do you have a few lbs you could lose that could help you lean up a bit? sounds like your real active though.

One thing that has worked for me is alot of endurace lifting...so light weights more reps. AND eating right....EAT CLEAN. Watch your sodium intake because sodium causes us to retain alot of water, I don't know what your eating habits are but most of eat a ton more than we should, you'll feel better and you'll tone up cause your cells wont be bloated :) I finally got a six pack following this rule.

Hope that helps.

I am a swimmer and would like to start running?




Emily


What kind of running should a person do to get a faster mile time AND let it improve their swimming for a child, who is 13?


Answer
running is a great cross-training option for swimming. in my experience, it helped me get leaner (something swimming doesn't do very well for me) and allowed me to get better cardiovascular capacity.

i suggest a combination of middle-distance sprints and some long distance (4 miles or so) endurance runs. just watch out for injuries: many newbie runners fall victim to this. make sure your child eases into his/her running regimen, doing around half or three quarters of a mile two to three times a week for one or two weeks and increasing it by increments of no more than ten percent per week.

hope this helps!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the best watch to wear for running and swimming?

best garmin gps watch for runners on Garmin Forerunner 410 TOP Running Cycling GPS Watch 753759969622 ...
best garmin gps watch for runners image



JaK


I am looking to find a watch for my husband that he can use for running and swimming. I am also hoping to find one that has a heart rate monitor and possibly GPS.


Answer
A lot depends on your budget, but the Garmin Forerunner 910XT is the main one for both running and swimming.

The Garmin Forerunner 620 just came out, and adds a lot of snazzy new running features. It seems to be very popular and is backordered everywhere. Though waterproof, I don't believe that it has the same swimming features of the 910XT. The 910XT and 620 run in the same price range.

Soooo, if your husband is primarily a runner, you might want to look at the 620. If he does a lot of swimming and would even want GPS while doing it, you might look at the 910XT.

There are lots of other models out there that aren't as featured if these are too high for your price range.

What is a good watch for a runner that measures mile/min pace?




Joe


Looking for something basic under 150 dollars range. does this watch have to have GPS to be able measure pace? thanks.


Answer
garmin 110 easy and does everything u need




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Best Running GPS watch with Software under $200 -- Timex/Garmin/Nike?

running watches strava on The Long Run Podcast � A podcast about running long, be it 1 mile or ...
running watches strava image



m


I'm a high school runner looking to amp up my training by getting a GPS watch.
In the watch I want a one screen with a real-time pace (min/mile), distance, and time.
I don't want to spend more than $200, really. I don't intend to get a heart rate monitor, yet.

I don't know if I want a Timex or Garmin watch or even a Nike Sportwatch.

If I were to get a Timex, I'd consider the Run trainer 1.0 GPS or the Run Trainer 2.0 GPS
My concern with Timex is the TrainingPeaks software. I'd like to have a FREE reliable software to analyze workouts and runs. I believe the Run Trainer 2.0 works with Strava, but I don't know if that
is free or if would be useful.

If I were to get a Garmin I'd consider the forerunner 110, forerunner 210, or possibly the forerunner 10. The forerunner 10 seems like it doesn't have the features I want though. I wouldn't want to shift between screens on a run. I also have no idea if Garmin Connect is any good.

My friend has the Nike Sportwatch, and it seems nice. I don't know if I want this one because it Garmin is reputable with GPS systems and Timex is great with watches -- Nike makes shoes. I also don't know if the Nike Sportwatch has a good software.

I really don't want to have to use a foot pod.



So, I'd like to know of these watches, which has the features I want (real time pace, time and distance in one screen), that comes with the best software, and is easiest to use for the price.


Thank you very much.



Answer
I'd generally stick with the Garmins. You should find something that is at least compatible with a heart rate monitor -- you will want one, and if you want to improve your training, it's virtually a must. I would also personally err on the side of getting something that will last you awhile, rather than going too low end. If you go too low, you're just going to get frustrated, and in a couple months go buy something higher end anyway.

The Garmin 310XT has been out awhile (so the price has come down from being $400-500 where it was when it came out), and now runs right at the $200 mark while including a heart monitor. It's essentially the waterproof version of the Forerunner 305, which was Garmin's #1 model for a very very long time. (The 305 is now discontinued and thus even more expensive.) The only other model I'd really recommend is the 910, but that's probably out of your price range, and it doesn't really include anything significant beyond the 310XT.

Do be forewarned that all the GPS watches have some difficulty with real time pacing. It's going to jump around a lot if you use the basic "pace" feature. Most people end up using lap pace, which let them measure their pace since hitting the lap button. Garmin keeps trying to improve the real time pacing measurement, but I think they still need to try and average it over a 10-20 second sample period. It's virtually impossible to have accurate real time pace with GPS satellites, but lap pace works fine for most.

Garmin Connect is likely fine for you, but you also might want to look into SportTracks. They're on version 3.1 now which isn't free, but the old version 2 is likely perfect for you and is entirely free if you can find it. (Over time you might consider upgrading to the paid version 3 if you like it, like most do.)

Anyway, at the $200 price range, I'd readily be going after the Garmin 310XT *with* heart monitor. And it should keep you happy a good while, too -- you won't be missing features, nor find anything else that can get more data on one screen or be so customizable.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Why are a lot of women being discouraged to play sports by men?

running watches for women distance on ... Women Health Calories Burn Distance Tracker Running Watch T5K485
running watches for women distance image






I'm not talking about football, hockey, or anything else. I'm talking about other sports like swimming and gymnastics. I know there are sports where women had surpassed many men before like gymnastics in the lower body area, volleyball, martial arts, and some super long distance swimming. I think women should try out some sports, and learn a martial art or two for fitness, and learning to protect themselves.
I'm a man, and I really support women trying out sports.



Answer
i love sports but i got pick on for being athletic when i was younger. i beat all the men at football they calll me dan the man because it hurt their ego that i won. they say what the beep are you? then the woman would think i was over agressive swear at me say what are you a ape? als i played basket ball had to be put with a more advance team because i made kids cry i was so aggressive!


i was always one of the guys i was even in boy scouts because none of the girls like me because i liked to get dirty n sports! eventually i got little discourage now i surf, ballroom dance run to miles a day. i never pass up not playing sports i love them it is one of my happy places. i love to swim if i had a pool i swim everyday! i really want to go out to be a life guard one day!

yeah you do get discourage females dont want anything to do with you. they consider you o much of a man then males want nothing to do with you for winning at sports. say stuff like your a man i even was told when playing basketball it was like i was in heat like an animal. i got picked on allot i just a huge tomboy at heart i still am. i kind of gave upon sports would cry when i was a kid for getting pick on so much!


the bright side is everyone said no man could brake my heart or i beat them up. lol but still i have chilled allot now sometimes i pretend i am weaker than i am to men so they wont view me as masculine. i even learned to run more feminine by watching Marylin Monroe run. im still self conscience about it. i dont look like a man at all im pretty petite woman it is just when i play sports i act like a man.

When running long distance my lower back starts to get pain?




sonafets


At about half a mile, my lower back starts to get pain... feels like knot or something, but it makes it really hard to run and twist my body. Anyone know what i can do, or what it is? Thanks


Answer
The Woman in this video had so much back pain she couldn't sleep
and 3 sessions she could run marathons :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jL8DjJmdtUk

It's called Theraflex and looks like this :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjYU_fWhjU4

You can get it here :
http://www.theraflexusa.com - USA
http://www.theraflex.info/practitioners_using_theraflex.html - UK




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

where can I find an free online japanese tutor?

running watches online australia on ALVANGUARD PHOTOGRAPHY (2009): Humanitarian Concert for Victims of ...
running watches online australia image



Jessica


Hey, so I want to learn the Japanese language and I want to find an online tutor who can teach me it. But the problem is that it has to be a hundred percent free. So if you have a website that you can recommend I would be very grateful. Thank you everyone that is answering this.


Answer
Hello Jessica, The best way to learn Japanese is by taking a class, enrolling in a course or investing in a good textbook. If you can't take classes then the self-study method with the correct resources is a good way.

The key to learning Japanese effectively is to work on your grammar, listening, speaking, reading and writing. Its best to think of these as separate categories and focus on each specific category as these require different methods and techniques.

Start by learning the basics through grammar. These books really helped me.

⢠Shin Nihongo no Kiso I & II
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2011/06/shin-nihongo-no-kiso.html

⢠An Introduction to Modern Japanese by Osamu Mizutani & Nobuko Mizutani
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2011/04/introduction-to-modern-japanese.html

⢠Japanese Demystified by Eriko Sato a self-teaching guide
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2011/05/japanese-demystified.html

These books cover both polite Japanese, which is extremely important to learn in order to speak Japanese effectively and causal Japanese, which is great for everyday conversations.

I also recommend trying to learn a certain amount of vocab or kanji each day as this helps you build up your vocab and kanji ability. I tried to learn 5 kanji per day or about 20 a week and did the same with vocab.

Watching Japanese anime or any Japanese TV program is a good idea for improving your listening skills and also your vocabulary. Keep a notebook and jot down any new words you hear. Then look them up and find out the meaning.

Websites are not always the best way to learn Japanese. Most websites are run by people with no teaching credentials and are not even native speakers of Japanese. Some of them are just interested in making money and not in helping you in what you need to be successful in learning Japanese.

How to Learn Japanese
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2010/11/how-to-learn-japanese.html

What is the fastest way to learn japanese?

Q. books tutors classes online(free). Im 12 and i wanna learn japanese and i wanna go to a university in japan. How long does it take? Thankss:D


Answer
Fastest is not always the best way to learn Japanese.I disagree with Jenny above. You need to learn both causal and formal Japanese in order to learn Japanese effectively. Causal Japanese is used between family/friends while formal Japanese is used in most everyday situations and is important to avoid sounding rude or disrespectful. I have lived and worked in Japan for over 10 years and need to use both to function effectively in Japanese.

The best way to learn Japanese is by taking a class, enrolling in a course or investing in a good textbook.

The key to learning Japanese effectively is to work on your grammar, listening, speaking, reading and writing. Its best to think of these as separate categories and focus on each specific category as these require different methods and techniques.

Start by learning the basics through grammar. These books really helped me.

⢠Shin Nihongo no Kiso I & II
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2011/06/shin-nihongo-no-kiso.html

⢠An Introduction to Modern Japanese by Osamu Mizutani & Nobuko Mizutani
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2011/04/introduction-to-modern-japanese.html

⢠Japanese Demystified by Eriko Sato a self-teaching guide
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2011/05/japanese-demystified.html

These books cover both polite Japanese, which is extremely important to learn in order to speak Japanese effectively and causal Japanese, which is great for everyday conversations.

I also recommend trying to learn a certain amount of vocab or kanji each day as this helps you build up your vocab and kanji ability. I tried to learn 5 kanji per day or about 20 a week and did the same with vocab.

Watching Japanese anime or any Japanese TV program is a good idea for improving your listening skills and also your vocabulary. Keep a notebook and jot down any new words you hear. Then look them up and find out the meaning.

Websites are not always the best way to learn Japanese. Most websites are run by people with no teaching credentials and are not even native speakers of Japanese. Some of them are just interested in making money and not in helping you in what you need to be successful in learning Japanese.

How to Learn Japanese
http://japan-australia.blogspot.com/2010/11/how-to-learn-japanese.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can someone reccomend some kind of plan for starting running? To make it easier?

running watches interval timer on Soleus Chicked Running Watch for Women | Soleus Running
running watches interval timer image



Yeahh


Not going to lie here, I am a bit overweight.
But I want to start running.
I have been running/jogging some, but ive noticed that after a few days my legs feel tired and it gets harder.
Is there any way to minimize this?



Answer
I am a big proponent of the couch to 5 K running program (C25K). It's a walk to run program and its one of the best.

The C25K program slowly increases your effort over 9 weeks. I did it and I really liked the fact that I could see each week I was making progress and I never really felt like it was too hard.

You will have to get a sports watch that can be programmed to do intervals. I really like Timex watches, the trainer line is pretty good. and some of them have Heart Rate monitors which is a nice way of monitoring your effort. Casio makes a interval timer that's simple and inexpensive - W756-1A - you can find it at amazon for $20. Or buy a Gymboss for $20. all it does is do intervals but its real simple to use and program.

If you have an iPod, you can download a podcast that is the couch to 5 K program and you won't even need a watch. And if you have an iPod touch or iPhone, you can download the interval timer app for $2. It is super easy to use. and is pre-programmed.

If you're really thinking of getting a Heart rate monitor, and you don't have an iPhone, then take a bigger plunge and get a GPS Heart rate monitor watch. They have the interval timers built in, and you can monitor both your distance and your effort. I like the Garnin 405.

Once you graduate from the C25K program they have other programs that are more advanced. I still do intervals once in a while. A lot of runners do them once a week. So you can plan on using your timer for a long time.

Couch to 5 K
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Gymboss
http://www.amazon.com/Gymboss-8599-GB2010-BLACK-SOFTCOAT/dp/B0036USWUQ/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1338400308&sr=1-1-catcorr

Casio interval timer watch
http://www.amazon.com/Casio-W756-1AV-Digital-Sport-Watch/dp/B0013M6BRA/ref=sr_1_6?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401190&sr=1-6

Timex trainer
http://www.amazon.com/Timex-Ironman-Trainer-Heart-Monitor/dp/B001JBU6YY/ref=sr_1_12?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401447&sr=1-12

Garmin405 CX
http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Forerunner-405CX-Sport-Monitor/dp/B0025UHKNS/ref=sr_1_7?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1338401528&sr=1-7

C25K podcast
http://www.c25k.com/

Interval run app
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/interval-run/id297105174?mt=8

What cameras have an interval shooting mode?




water_skip


What cameras have an interval shooting mode? I want a compact digital camera that will take a picture once in a while (like once a minute or something). That way I can leave it running all night and watch the stars go buy or something. Is there a name for this feature, besides time interval mode?


Answer
It's called time lapse photography.

Very few still cameras have this feature, although many top-end and even top consumer video cameras have a mode for it.

You'll likely need an aftermarket timer/shutter release if you want to automate this.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can you burn off muscle from long distance running?

best watch for ultra runners on http://www.americasbestmyspacecomments.com/graphics/patriotic/4/pics ...
best watch for ultra runners image



Tony


Track season is almost over, and I've been working out like crazy and putting a lot of protein into my system. I seem to have gained quite a bit of muscle, particularly upper body. But now cross country is coming up, will I lose any of that progress if i continue to work out?


Answer
the video that i watched on the site I cited read this:
What we tend to see, through of use of a metabolic card, is activities longer than an hour: long distance running, long distance cycling, [that] we can actually burn off muscle tissue. So it sometimes becomes counter productive when we have people who want to get some bulk in certain areas, but, yet, again, whatever bulk they have they'll use because they're on the stairmaster for over an hour and a half; they're on a stairstepper for an hour and a half. And they don't realize that usually at around the hour time they'll switch to a different fuel system and we'll go from a majority of maybe some fat storage and some carbs and we'll now start saving on some of the carbs and the fat and we'll start going with protein because your body thinks it's getting a little excessive. So, therefore, another reason why we look at sports specific athletes, you don't see extremely muscular and bulky long distance runners. You don't see bulky and muscular tri-athletes. You don't see really muscular developed type ultra- endurance type of athletes based upon these fuel systems switching over a period of time.

Why do people enjoy the boring sport of baseball?




Tim


Is it just that the people are suckers?
A buddy had some free tickets so we went to a mlb game & 90% of the time the players are just standing around, spitting, chewing tobacco, woohooo what a great sport.
the dumbest part is paying for $15 parking & $10 for a hot dog, you do know you are being taken advantage of right?
Why dont you become basketball fans, a sport where there are real athletes that do something?



Answer
I pulled this from baseball-fever, and I agree with every one of them...

1. Popcorn, peanuts and Cracker Jack
2. Going to the ballpark, meeting up with friends
3. The first pitch
4. The ump (yeah, the blind one) saying "Yer Out!"
5. The crack of the bat
6. Stolen bases
7. Double plays
8. Baserunners caught napping, getting picked off
9. Outfield assists
10. Singles turned into doubles
11. The manager arguing with said blind umpire
12. The robbing of home runs
13. Keeping track of stats
14. Scoring games
15. Observing how people pitch
16. Catchers throwing baserunners out
17. Diving plays in the outfield
18. Diving plays in the infield
19. Cheering for home runs
20. Batters legging out triples
21. Baseball cards
22. Fitted hats
23. Each successive out of a no-hitter in progress
24. Knuckle balls
25. Individual characteristics of different ball parks
26. The catcher running out to the pitcher after a no-no.
27.) Tagging up from first
28. A laser pinpoint throw from the outfield to get the runner out at third or home.
29. The gasp then cheer from the crowd once a homerun is hit.
30. Lazy people (like me) do not have to condition everyday like they have to for football and hockey during practices.
31. Reading minor leaguers scouting reports.
32.) Walk off HRs
33.) Collisions at the plate
34. Bill Lee
35. chin music
36) Opening Day
37. Bases loaded
38. Scoring from second on a ground ball.
39. Throwing the runner out from deep in the hole.
40. Websites like Baseball Fever!!!!
41. The international aspect
42. Japanese Imports
43. Ballparks, old and new.
44. The pop of the glove
45. A player getting ready on deck
46. A ground's keeper throwing a foul ball back to some kid in the stands
47. Players crashing into OF walls (ouch)
48. Organ music
49. Over the shoulder catches going at full speed.
50.Juuuuuuuuuuuuuust a bit outside. - Bob Uecker
51.Players sacrificing their body in the stands for one out.]
52.The stare down between a pitcher and a hitter before the pitch.
53.A childrens first game.
54.The tradition that goes along with each team like no other sport.
55. The No-hitter
56. The bond it builds between fathers and sons and fathers and daughters. I'd say 75% of my conversations with my dad are baseball related and have been that way since I was a kid. Seeing as he and I both played college baseball it's the one ultra strong link that binds us together.
56. Cycles
57. Checking out the Sunday paper to see the stats of home town baseball players in the minors and pro's.
58. MLB.com
59. The lingo. "high cheese" "dead fish" "dying quail" "wormburner" etc.
60. A cold beer at the stadium on a hot summer's day
61. Sitting outside / driving in the car and listening to your favorite radio announcer
62. Watching the game on a TV outside at night.
63. Listening to the game on the radio on the front porch, eating seeds.
64. Homer announcers who always root, root-root for the home teammmmmmmm
65. Power hitters vs. power pitchers
66. The HOF
67. Fooling the hitter
68. The ump losing track of the count
70. The throw to third after a strikeout.
71. Associating TV & movie celebs with your team. Regis Philbin, David Letterman, Billy Crystal and Robin Williams come to mind for the Bronx Bombers.
72. When a failing pitcher like Pavano displays confidence, shows that he's actually angry at himself for only going 4.1 innings, felt he could've done more and wants to do just that. Hey, I'll take it!
73. Managers deciding whether with 1 out, he should send his runners on a 3-2 count, avoiding the GIDP, but risking a strikeout-throwout DP.
74. NL managers using the double-switch wisely.
75. Yankees and Red Sox
76. Fans of long-past teams like the Brooklyn Dodgers and NY Giants posting here telling us about the "war" between their teams.
77.A crowd giving a standing ovation to a pitcher who just struck out for the third time in a game, because he threw a CG 2-Hitter.
78.Craig Counsell, Chone Figgins, Bill Hall, Melvin Mora, Mark Loretta, Craig Biggio, and other people who will play any position just to play.
79. Players comeback for bad times and getting a standing ovation before their first plate appearance of their career.
80. All the stats give schoolchildren a good reason to learn math.
81. Getting the ultra-rare holigram signed Pujols Card
82. Learning history by reading about baseball.
83. Triple Plays
84. Retractable roof stadiums so there are never any rainouts.
85. A simple game of catch with my godson.
86. Skipping work/school to watch a day game
87. Game 7s
88. Double headers
89. Watching BP
90. Catching a foul ball or HR ball
91. Throwing around the horn after an out (bases empty of course)
92. Imagining matchups between players who never played together due to time, geography, or segregation.
93. Bill Simmons
94. Baseball Fever
95.HRs after the foul pole.
96. Determining who is on pace for what.
97. Triple Crowns
98. A




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What do you think is fair punishment for the younger Islamist terrorist boston bomber?

best watch for marathon runners on ... supermarket runners Tokyo marathon limitation model 'banana' running
best watch for marathon runners image



Dan


I think they should tie his hands together and drag him for the exact 26 mile route that the marathon runners ran, and we can all watch.
Ohh I forgot to add. Don't give me that bull$hit like "Then you are just like him" No I am not just like him. Justice is fair. Going out for no reason and killing 8 year old kids and blowing peoples legs off is not. If you can't see the difference, then you are an idiot. An absolutely irrational, idiotic person. That is what you are.
How do people not believe in the death penalty?

This person killed 3 people and tried to kill more, yet he doesn't deserve the fate that he was trying to bestow upon hundreds of Bostonians? Really? How is that rational? And these are the same people who are happy to crush a babies skull because they are confident that abortion is perfectly moral. We live in a country of hypocrites.



Answer
Castration, ten years in prison, followed by beheading with a dull, rusty sword.

How can I train my body to use it's fat stores for energy?




Ariel


I've been a marathon runner for a long time. Recently my weight has blocked my performance. I've gone from 137 to 180lbs in just 2 years. I'm only 5'4 and this weight is really causing havoc.
I don't know if I can attribute it to my diet. I'm a celiac. I can't have any dairy products either. I've been this way since birth. I eat pretty much vegan.
What the heck is going on? How can I get my body back to where it needs to be. I'm only 19! Way to young to be at an athletic stand still...



Answer
So a couple questions:
Were you recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease, like within the last year or two?
Do you eat a lot of GF grains?
Do you eat a lot of processed GF foods?

1. If you have had Celiac Disease for a long time, there is one possible 'bad' thing about getting the disease under control. Your body has learned to cope with fewer nutrients, calories, etc... in your diet. Basically, it was in starvation mode, where everything burns a bit more efficiently and your body is quicker to put certain foods into fat. So for some of us Celiacs, when we go gluten free, all of a sudden our bodies are getting the calories they should have, but they are packing it all away to keep us from starving to death in the famine that our bodies have been trained to expect.

The famine was just the disease, in reality, but our bodies still act like they need to survive it and it can make it very hard not to gain weight in that situation. To my knowledge, doctors don't know how long this 'starvation mode' can last. Some thing it just lasts a few years, some think it may never go away. So exercising significantly more and watching calories may be necessary, but I'd try the exercise more.

2. If you eat a lot of GF grains, you should know that these have a higher chance of being contaminated by gluten. A pilot study on GF grains and sub. flours found that 7 of 22 had above the gluten free limit in contamination. One soy flour, for example, had over 100 times the amount of gluten allowed in GF food. Some Celiacs I know will start to gain weight if they are getting low levels of gluten contamination (I'm one of them. I'll gain like 10 pounds in a couple weeks from this!) and it only drops once they eliminate the contamination. So many of us drop the GF grains for a while and see how it goes.

3. Same issue goes for processed GF food - it is more likely to be gluten contamination than purer foods like fruits, veggies, and so on. Beans and nuts have to be carefully sourced because they are often processed with wheat, and the label to warn consumers of this is voluntary, not mandatory, so you have to call up a company to find out for certain if their beans or nuts are safely processed for you.

4. Add to this, carbs are the main things that the liver will make into fat stores if you eat a lot at one time, so if you ARE eating a lot of GF grains, that could be adding to it.


I don't know that these are the issues you have, but these are the ones that I've run across with the celiacs in my own family (there are 4) or those I am in contact with. Wishing you good luck. I hope that you can find a resolution to this.

Oh, one last thing? It wouldn't hurt to keep a food journal for a few weeks and work out how many calories you're having daily. If you are having more than is needed to maintain your weight, that's an easy answer. But if you are eating less than you need to maintain your weight, then that's a good sign that something else is going on, you know?




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

How to measure out my running distance?

running watches amazon on ... Women's Forerunner 210 HRM Sport Watch: Running Watches Sale Deals
running watches amazon image



Why So Ser


Ok, so I plant on running 5 miles every once in a while. The only problem I have is how do I measure out the distance?
I am running on a straight pathway that is about 24 miles long, but how do i figure out the distance that I want to run? Any devices to buy or anything please?



Answer
Get a Garmin Forerunner w/GPS. Cool running watch with GPS! Go to Amazon.com to get the best price.

What is the best 15inch laptop for video watching at a nice price?




Anna K


Been researching laptops around $1,200,000 with a 15 inch screen for video watching, some gaming, and master school assignments.

Apple MACBook Pro is too expansive, Alienware M14x is too bulky, and Samsung qx411 has too small of a screen.

I went online and looked at most popular laptops and even took a test which is best laptop for me. Still not sure and thought of getting some ideas.

Thanks for all the help!



Answer
There are a lot of choices available for Laptops with 15 inch screens.

check out places like Amazon. Newegg, betbuy,
and buy.com.

Read customer reviews to help you.
It's hard to recommend any one model as I don't know your requirements.

I have been happy with my purchase of the Asus ULV su7300 I think I paid around $500 for it from my local Bestbuy store it has great specs and runs Windows 7-64 bit without any probs.

My wife is very pleased with her Acer Aspire 5740 again purchased from Bestbuy ( mainly so we could take them back if we had any initial problems.

You will probably find them cheaper online but if you need to send it back you could end up paying the shipping.... so you have to ask yourself is it worth it.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can I play youtube videos , run online java games or watch a movie online on a intel atom based netbook?

running watches compared on ... Heart Rate Monitor Sport Watch Digital Running timer(China (Mainland
running watches compared image



Hugo G


I mean compared to old regular pc's or laptop's , how fast are this netbooks?? Are they like a regular 2003 , 2004 or 2005 laptop?? Knowing that most netbooks come with 1gb ram and intel atom processor. Thanks.


Answer
My wife uses a netbook with similar specs, and she can do all of those things.

How do you keep from getting discouraged in running?




PackersFan


This is my first year running cross country and by the end of the season I went from 32 minutes to under 27. My friend, who plays volleyball but doesn't do any sports like running, ran a 5k yesterday and got 26:37. It took me 3 months to just get under 27. How do you keep from getting too discouraged? More running?


Answer
I have won numerous 5 km national races.That does not mean that I can run well in a cross country race. You are comparing apples to oranges. Also, how many years more has he/she been playing volleyball. You are in your first year. You should go to the library and get some motivational books on running. Listen to some champions tell you how hard it was to succeed and how much you have to work for it.

Imagine being a football player who wants to go to the annual national championships. They do not get there in a year and by laying on a couch watching tv.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What do horseback riders call one another?

sports watches for men runners on The Ultimate Weights-Free Workout: The Body : Details
sports watches for men runners image



Mr. Best A


Jockey is only used to describe 100 pound, 5' tall men, that wear tights and beat their horse in the ass with a stick. So what about the hobbyists?

People who run are runners. People who rock climb are climbers. Do they call each other riders or is there another term or slang for it?
Thanks and I don't doubt it. I bet what they do is exhausting.



Answer
First of all, Smarty Pants, not all jockeys are male, not any more. There are females who have been very successful in recent years and decades, including Chantal Sutherland ( who's now retired), Julie Krone, Rosie Napravnik, and several more. Many trainers prefer to employ women as grooms and exercise riders too, because they believe that women can relate to horses better than men. As for what riders call each other, that varies. "Riders" is the most common term I've heard, with an additional name that designates which sport or discipline the person is involved in. There are dressage riders, event riders, show jumping riders or show jumpers, hunter riders, equitation riders, saddle seat riders, stock seat or Western riders, and so forth. People who play polo are called polo players. People who barrel race are called barrel racers. If someone does cutting or reining, he or she is called a cutter or a reiner, depending on the sport.

Horse sports are gender neutral. Men and women compete equally with and against one another, especially in international events like the Olympic Games and the WEG. These are also the only sports in which co-ed teams are common. It's not unsual at all to see married couples competing together, or teams made up of brothers, sisters, or father and son combinations. There's even one sport, endurance riding, where there was a famous mother/daughter combination that represented the US some years ago- Valerie and Danielle Kanavy. The rules are the same for both genders in all horse sports. After all, the horses don't care what a rider's gender is, nor do they care what their riders look like or what their riders' political affliliation may be. Horses also have no concept or notion of the terms "gay" and "straight" the way humans do. It's this gender blind, race blind, color blind, and species blind attitude that makes horse sports unique.

One other note: The crop that jockeys use is very soft, and is more a noisemaker than an instrument of punishment. It doesn't hurt the horse, and there are strict rules against overuse of the whip on every track. Jockeys who break or violate such rules can face fines and loss of their license to ride, which means they can't make a living. The racing stewards are always watching what jockeys do, and they are on the lookout for poor behavior all the time. And the jockeys don't wear tights, they wear breeches, as do riders in all other English style sports. A lot of jockeys are taller than five feet, too, especially those who ride steeplechase horses. Peope who participate in harness sports are called drivers. If the sport is competitive driving, the driver may have a navigator and a brakeman along too.

What is the difference between Manchester City vs Manchester United?




drew lansi


I know they are two seperate soccer/football teams in
England...but are they in the same city of Manchester? If so why does Manchester have two different teams? What would be an example of manchester city vs manchester united in the USA in any of the major sports?



Answer
Let's just get some things clear.

Manchester City and Manchester United are NOT based in the same city.

United have taken the NAME Manchester, they are based outside the city borders and have been for around 95% of it's existance.

Manchester CITY have ALWAYS been in the city.

Man Utd were formed in 1878 as Newton Heath FC, a town OUTSIDE of Manchester, similar to Southend and London and no-one says Southend are a part of London.

Manchester City were formed in 1880 as St Marks, West Gorton FC. West Gorton is an area of east Manchester.

St Marks were reformed as Ardwick FC by 1887. By 1894 Ardwick FC were bankrupt and the remnents of the club were set up members of Ardwick FC and the Manchester City Council, who wanted a football club to represent the city of Manchester and all Mancunians.

This club was to become known as Manchester City FC.

Man Utd were set up in 1902 after Newton Heath FC went bust, by a group of Irish businessmen who....basically wanted to make money.

For those who say Newton Heath is in Manchester obviously don't know the history of the city. Newton Heath was ADDED to the city in around 1892, 14 years AFTER the club was first formed. In 1910 United AGAIN left the city to move to the Borough of Trafford, an area next to, but not connected to Manchester.

City won Manchester it's first major honour in 1903 when they won the FA Cup and they finished runners up to the league title. But some players were found guilty of irregular payments (which was something ALL clubs were doing but City were made a scapegoat)

Those players, not wanting to leave the area, played for United and made up their first title winning team. From the 1920's to the 1940's City were the bigger and more popular side.

The rivalry between the two clubs occured around about 1960 onwards where public travel now meant fans could easily travel to away matches. Before that City AND United fans would regularly watch each other.

City's last main glory era was from 1967-1981, when the team was a regular cup and title contender. United's main period of success has been recently, from 1992-present day while City, with a poor chairman who strangled the club and made bizarre decisions, helped the club to stagnate.

Probably New York Jets and New York Giants would be a American football team comparison, Jets with success very early in it's formation, United throughout the latter part of its formation with some success early on as well.

Further examples about UNITEH's connection with Manchester. Insolent OPTION likes to demean Manchester City by referring to them as CITEH, which is a childish LONDON slur for the way Mancunians speak.

However this is NOT the way Mancunians speak, but the way SALFORDIANS speak. So unknowingly not only does he insult Mancunians, he insults the fellow fans of the club he claims to support. Isn't irony fun!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers