Saturday, December 7, 2013

What we'l the world be like in 100 years?

running watches gps women on Affordable GPS Watches for Runners! - Women's Running
running watches gps women image






In a hundred years time and there has been no nuclear war or whatever, what would you predict the world of today would be like?


Answer
100 years ago:

Wright brothers sold their first airplane to the US Army, a little biplane that could fly for half an hour, travel a loop course, carry two people, fly at less than 60 miles per hour.

Telephones - expensive, generally found at stores and other public places, unreliable, limited "coverage" area and limited destinations, all connections made by operators (usually young women) actually plugging wires into two or more plugs to complete the connection.

No antibiotics, anti viral medicines, cancer treatments, xray machines, CAT scanners, or MRI's. Surgery still very risky, many women died in childbirth, children died of whooping cough, polio, measles, and a number of other diseases for which we now have vaccinations.

No radio, no television, no internet, no computers. Newspapers were the primary source of information about the world.

The largest military weapons were naval battleships with 11 inch in diameter guns. No nukes, no satellite guided bombs, no missiles.

Most Americans were farmers and depended upon their crops to make a living and to survive.

Women grew up to be mothers or elementary teachers but never exercised, played sports, voted, or got into politics.

Most Americans rode trains to go more than a few miles. Cars were still a rich person plaything. Horses pulling wagons were still the trucks of the day.

Ships took you across oceans.

Education was limited to 8 years or less for most people ( and almost all women).

Most clothing was made of cotton or linen.

Movies were short, black and white, silent, poor quality, and viewable only at theaters.

Cameras took only black and white pictures, film was expensive to buy
and develop.

No microwaves, no toasters, blenders, no fast foods, pop tarts, fresh cold milk, fruit in the winter (expensive in the summer), no freezers at home for meat, ice cream, or frozen vegetables. Food was frequently filled with unsafe additives or contaminated. Food-born diseases were common.

Average US lifespan expectancy at birth was 45 years. Many people lived to be 80, 90 or 100, but far fewer babies saw their first or fifth birthdays.

Okay, now think about today, where average 6 year olds carry cell phones which bounce signals off satellites, use gps locators, use computers in their classrooms, get inoculated against dozens of diseases, tetanus shots for scrapes and cuts, wear clothes made out of oil and soybeans, watch TV and take movies on cellphones, want to be astronauts, expect to live on the Moon or Mars, fly to Australia in half a day, expect to live to be 85 to 110, average about 14 years of education, will drive "safe" cars aided by computers, grow taller and stronger, aren't insulted by "you throw like a girl", use trains for decorations under christmas trees, know their cancer is going to be cured most of the time, get an MRI for falling off a swingset.

In 100 years:
Who knows?
How will we travel? Will all diseases be curable? Will WE have computers implanted in our brains at birth and be a species of cyborgs? Will our thoughts be readable by anyone? Will life only end at 200 or 250 when we've grown bored of running marathons and hang-gliding across the Pacific Ocean? Will we teleport (ala Star Trek) food and materials instead of using ships, trucks and trains? Will our energy source be portable fusion generators (such as in Back to the Future?) Will we communicate over distances by thought?
Will everything then be as magical as today would seem to someone from 1909 coming here?

If you're younger than 20, you'll see things that will seem natural to you in your future but would seem miraculous if they were put in front of you right now, just as landing men on the Moon was miraculous to my grandmother, born in 1890 before planes, cars, plastics, synthetics, direct dialing telephones, safe foods, freezers, air conditioning, chlorinated, flouridated water, and a thousand other things she lived to see.

I'm looking for a running watch that diplays both the split time and overall time simutaneously.?




tTate


I know the Garmin has it, just looking for something more cost effective. Not interested in the GPS. My Nike and Ironman have splits and overall but not on the screen at the same time. Thank you~


Answer
I don't know about you, but I've got an Ironman that's got splits and overall on the same screen...however, it's a women's watch, and I don't know what it's called, since it was a gift. I do know that they've got a male counterpart...just letting you know that Ironman does have one out there. Not as much help as it could be, but hope this helps a little.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it legal to use a heart rate monitor during a College or High School Cross Country race?

best heart rate monitor watch for runners on ... GPS with Heart Rate Multisport Heart Rate Monitor Running Watch | eBay
best heart rate monitor watch for runners image



ceningolmo


Also, is it legal to use something that might be considered a pacing device? I currently run using a Garmin 305 with heart rate monitor. I find that this device gives me a huge advantage when running with my friends. I seem to always know how fast or slow I should be going and exactly how much I have left in my tank. I'm curious whether college and/or High School runners are able to take advantage of this technology.


Answer
It depends on the sanctioning body, whether they allow watches or not. Because watches help the runner pace themself, the sanctioning body may consider them an illegal assist to the runner. In this scenario, the issue is not the heart rate monitor function, but the equipment it operates on.

Heart Rate Monitors, Are they good for regular work outs?




Sofie


I'm not a runner as of yet, but I do work out a lot at home and I find it hard to keep track of how many calories I've burnt if I'm doing different exercises, like squats, wall sits, lunges etc...at home. I know a lot of people use the Watch type heart rate monitors for running, but would it basically do the same thing for regular workouts? Like tell me how many calories I'm burning during said workout?

Thanks!



Answer
The heart rate monitor gives you a gauge of when you are in certain "zones", ie weight loss, anerobic, endurance, etc... That is why they are useful for running or sustained exercises. I do not believe they would be as effective for intermittent exercises but I admittedly have never tried.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How can my garmin 305 help me train for a sub 3hr marathon?

garmin running watch 301 on Guess watches chronographs | Hublot watches price in south africa, TAG ...
garmin running watch 301 image



Daniel S


I know this watch has an abundance of features, but i fear im wasting them. For an example . . .if i go for a 5 mile run i want the watch to tell me if im on schedule for a sub 3hr finish? How do i do this?


Answer
Read the instructions, it is too much for someone to copy down here or to have the interest in copying it down since you can read how with the instruction. Look at working out with the virtual partner, you can set it up distance (5 miles) and time (34:20). It should show a pace of 6:52. In this mode it will show if you are ahead of behind pace and how far. You can also set pace alerts so that the watch chimes when you are off pace. It might even do some other things, I only have a 301. Good luck!

What's a good heart-rate monitor for determining minutes per mile?




kwest


I need something with an alarm so when I get out of zone, I'll pick myself up without looking at my watch: something quality and fairly priced. I just finished a half-marathon and I have a goal of finishing in a shorter time. Your suggestions are appreciated!


Answer
I concur with the answerer who recommended the Garmin 301. I have three heart rate monitors and it is by far the best. The garmin 305 is hard to read when you are running and the Timex isn't worth mentioning.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How much weight could I lose by running?

running watches beginners on Tom Petty - Running Down A Dream - Super Easy Beginner Acoustic Guitar ...
running watches beginners image



Minnie


I'm a 5ft 4in 28 year old female. I started at about 172lbs, I've always been heavy my entire life. My physician wants me to weigh 145lbs maximum. I've been teaching myself to run as a form of exercise and I am currently running about 1 mile a day & 1 mile walking. Working to build up to running one mile at this time. Last Monday I could barely run .25 miles when I started this. Focusing on distance not speed right now. My app says I'm running about an 11 minute mile.

I started running a week ago today in interval runs. Starting at .25 miles, then .5, now 1 mile. As a side note I've cleaned up my diet (no more soda, drink more water, aware of what carbs/fats, etc that I'm eating) I've already lost 7lbs which is a lot in a short period. Also, I've incorporated swimming a few times a week. How much weight could I realistically lose by running 1 mile per day? Will continuing to run a mile eventually cause a plateau in my weight loss if don't increase the amount of running?



Answer
I'm your height, and I used to weigh at 160# am have been struggling to finally get to 145 (I also have a wonky thyroid).

Weight loss begins and ends in the kitchen. Technically, and realistically, you can lose weight simply by watching what you eat, exercise helps tone the muscles and boosts the metabolism.

Ballpark, you probably need to make sure your daily caloric intake would be under 2000 calories (there are tons (no pun intended) of apps, websites, sites like fitnesspro, etc., that can help you determine your daily intake.

As a rule of thumb, you should take the basic amount of calories you need, then deduct 500 calories, either from cutting the calories from your diet, or exercise, or a combo of both.

And here's where running/jogging can help, and a big SAD thing about running/jogging...

Running a mile uses on AVERAGE, 100 calories. 100. Sometimes less. So your daily mile run uses up about 600-700 calories per week.

I'm not sure what you mean when you mentioned interval runs - is this when you run a certain distance, then walk, or are you increasing your speed for a certain distance?

I'm assuming you mean the run/walk. When I started running 2 years ago, I used a free online plan called C25K, Couch to 5K, which helps those of us who never even liked to run (points to self), follow a plan where you start out walking more than running 3 miles, leading up to being able to run 3 miles without walking. Rest days are as important as running days, and as a beginner, you don't want or need to either get hurt running, get bored or overtrain (yes, you can overtrain even as a beginner). No, you don't need to enter a race to follow this program, sometimes it helps having a plan in place to help you learn consistency.

Good luck!!

What are some good beginner moves needed for parkour?




Marc


I've watched a bunch of videos, read a ton of stuff on websites, and I'm really interested in the sport, and want to try it for a while to see if I like it. What kind of stuff should I start out with?


Answer
If you can get someone else who knows this stuff to teach you in person, that would be great. I now know there's san fransisco parkour, which probably covers for the california area or maybe less. There's also NY Parkour, Overflux (parkour in the south east), and New England Parkour. If you can't find communities in there, American Parkour is parkour nation-wide.
As for actual stuff you can start with, climbing trees is a great idea, but jumping off anything higher than yourself is a good way to end your parkour career early.
The one movement that is considered the most basic is Quadrupedal Movement. You pretty much crawl around on all fours, but you always keep a balance. Move upper limb from one side and you gotta move lower limb from the other side. Start by moving two at a time, and in sync. Keep your back straight. Everyone teaches this, or at least Parkour Generations does. If you've been e-surfing parkour this whole time, you probably know who they are.
Practicing balance is also important. You need it every time you leap or are in the air, when vaulting, when landing, when running, and even when walking. Just see how long you can stand on a railing or something and keep trying to stay longer.
Precision jumps get your leg power up to speed and also teach you control. It's a leap from one specific spot to another, usually with a gap in between. You have to stick the landing, and you start the jump from a stand-still, legs together if you feel like you can. Look them up on youtube to see what they are like. Practice these at what you could consider a formidable distance.
Cat grabs and traverses (traverse is aka hang shimmy) will get your upper body strength up and will toughen up your hands. You hang from the side of a wall with your legs pressing up against the side. These go more or less with climbing, but see if you can find a spot to train these on. A window sill, long as possible, is a good place.
Vaults are too numerous to explain, so just look up a video titled "Parkour Vaults". It will call itself "parkour vaults 102" in the actual video. Check out all the common practical vaults and look them up individually.

All of these, 'cept maybe for QM, you've seen in parkour videos. Youtube is your source for learning techniques, but conditioning is mainly up to you. Stay with stuff on ground level. Jumping from roof to roof looks cool, but it's all running and jumping. Not as cool as this video with parkour generations

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkHPQPozDRs




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is the art of acting good for people who want to escape from reality?

sports watches running reviews on ... Garmin-Forerunner-910XT-GPS-Sport-Running-Bike-Swim-Watch-010-00741-20
sports watches running reviews image



Eric


I'm just asking because I find myself wanting to escape from reality almost constantly when I'm not with my girlfriend. I enjoy being with my girlfriend but when I'm not with her, I feel really unhappy and I want to escape from reality.

I'm 23 years old by the way. In addition, when I watch movies, I almost become saturated with them, meaning I think about them throughout the day and I wish I was casted in the movie.
Overall, I have a pretty good life. I go to college and I have a 3.89 overall GPA. I have a girlfriend who is really sweet and my family love me. But there's a part of me that wishes life was more exciting.
I don't feel like I get enough attention from people.



Answer
No, it would actually be the opposite. You need to be touch with what's going on in the world, and you need to be acutely aware of your feelings as well as being able to empathize with the feelings and situations of any characters you portray. To "lose" yourself in make believe or fantasy is actually a sign of mental illness, or it can lead to mental illness. If you are unhappy or depressed, then you need to seek appropriate counseling.

You also can't find complete satisfaction in life based on one person or persons no matter how dear they are to you. I'm glad you have a girlfriend you love and a supportive, loving family.

It's not unusual to be 23 and question whether or not there is more to life. Intelligence and or lack of intelligence has nothing to do with it because you can be academically bright but immature in other ways.

If you think acting would be an exciting way to be creative and not just trying to run away from your life or from boredom, then do by all means take it up! Consider playing sports as well, or even try jogging!

Just daydreaming will not accomplish anything other than to make you feel even more that you're missing out on something.

Acting also takes a great deal of self esteem, perseverance, and an extremely tough hide. Even on an amateur level, audition processes as well as critic reviews can be grueling.

Is it possible to get straight a's while being involved with extracurriculars?




Catch a fa


I plan on being very very involved my junior year. with clubs and sports. Soccer in the spring, Track in the fall, Crew in the spring, National Honor Society secretary, Math leagues, Science Club, International language club, And Volunteering whenever I can so can I be able to get straight A's while doing everything?


Answer
Always possible. I have some tips on doing well AND being in extracurriculars.
WORK:
1. Set a goal:
Think of it this way. If you're trying to buy a new bike and you're trying to save $$, it's obvious that your goal is to buy the bike eventually. Same thing with school. Think of it as buying your new favorite item. Your goal = Get straight A's with an occasional B.

2. Don't get distracted:
This occurs at 2 places, at home and at school. When you do homework at home, don't have your tv, computer, radio, or anything else on! You're going to be more focused on that. At school, if you think you're going to get distracted, don't sit by your friends or by those pranksters or goofballs who don't do their work.

3. Have your supplies:
In order to do well, you need to have everything that you need for school (books, pencils, pens, etc). Keep everything neat and in hand. When I get books from school, I store them all under my desk so I can easily reach them. Do the same thing. Don't throw all your material everywhere!

4. Organization:
This is key. Keep your bookbag and notes neat. If you don't know how, here are a bunch of videos to help you:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mPxdmLjWzxQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXuCUqxfp6w
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeHBiEpUCsI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ONa4QWd8Tmo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZRFyiu_mak

5. Study with others or ask for help:
If you see yourself struggling, ask your friends for help. Other people you might want to ask are your older siblings, parents, neighbors, librarians, teachers, etc!

6. Review at home:
Most kids often just finish their homework in 5 mins and then go off to play. Don't be like one of them. Don't understand something at school? Reread your notes. If you still don't understand, reach for the computer, books, friends, parents, etc.

7. Learn from mistakes:
You say you hardly get 80's, learn why! Do you not study enough? Do you daydream? Do you get distracted? Learn them and fix them!

8. Sleep, health, exercise:
In order to do well in school, you must be physically "there". What I mean by this is, if your body is at school, your mind must be there too. Since you're around 13, you need 8-9 hours of sleep. Eat a good breakfast (cereal, fruits, oatmeal, omelette, etc). Don't eat junk like chips and cookies. Exercise! Try to get in at least 30 mins. You can run, play sports, dance, etc!

9. No procrastination:
This is the 1 that I have trouble with. When you get home, be distracted for maybe half an hr. After that, get to work! Don't goof off and then have to end up doing homework when you're supposed to be sleeping.

10. Lists:
What I like to do is make lists of what I need to do in the day. My list would be like this:
Eat breakfast []
Go to school []
Go to soccer practice []
Do homework []
Buy glue for art project []
Eat dinner []
Watch Pretty Little Liars (LOVE THAT SHOW <3) []
Study for math test []
Sleep []




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Ideas for a short story set in the 1940s?

running watches amazon uk on Running Wild: Amazon.co.uk: Michael Morpurgo: Books
running watches amazon uk image



Anonymous


In my creative writing class, we must write a historical fiction short story. I know much about the 1940s, so I will be writing about it. The problem is that I am having a terrible time thinking of an idea. I would really like to write about a lady, and I do not want to write about the war. The help would be appreciated. Thank you!


Answer
how about changing identity? this would be an easy subject, with a heap of possibilities; the reason she decided to- did she have to, what was she running from, will she be found out- was she doing it for money, or to escape something?? & how she does it- steal a card from someone else, was she accidently mixed up with someone else after an air raid??
if youre american, you could have her a woman come to volunteer here- as many women did, before america entered the war.

in the uk during the war, everyone had ID cards, though without a photograph on them. these were supposed to be carried at all times (useful for identifying bodies after a air raid), & were used by people to get their ration books (most food, most fabric & clothing, & even things like cigarettes were rationed). however, since the ID cards had no photographs on them, it would be easy to 'change' your own identity, or steal one from a dead person.
your character could claim amnesia (quite common with so many bombs falling; people got hit on the head all the time), or partial amnesia~ 'i only know my name, but i dont know anything else'.

during the war many people moved far away from home to work. if their family back home were killed, or they had little or no family, it would be easier to to start anew. with so many people returning home after a night in an air raid shelter, many documents were lost in homes, so it wouldnt be anything out of the ordinary for someone to have 'lost everything but they clothes they stood up in'. there was no time to make extensive enquiries about someone who was 'lost' in that way; the war was horribly confusing and hurried. someone suffering from shock, 'blast' (the after effects of being near to a bomb), or a bash on the head, would have been sent to a nursing home (a kind of hospital) in the countryside, to recover, then found a place to live & a job to do.

people moved all over the uk in the war. women were conscripted (ie, the government made it a legal requirement they had to work in some way) to join one of the forces, or work in munitions, fire watching etc.

many women found the war to be a liberating experience. though there was the constant fear of losing loved ones, or being killed onesself, it also freed women from the shakels of domsticity. as in the first world war, women were called upon to fill the jobs done by men gone off to fight. jobs previously closed to women (women were not allowed to work in many jobs simply for being a woman -_-) were suddenly opened up. heaps found the war a 'blessing in disguise'.

the other thing women experianced was working with people of other classes~ upper class women worked alongside working class women from slums. because everyone recived the same 'points', rich or poor, there was a shared sense of identity; to borrow from churchill, the war showed the best of people, the best of britian; our "finest hour".
so you could have your character run away from an unhappy marriage and start again miles away, or change her class and background & move up or down the social scale.

for your story, since its short, it might be interesting to just cover a day, or couple of days, or have someone waiting for an important appointment, going over the events in their mind which led the to that point.

if you have time, or want to read on the era regardless of your essay, here are some books ive enjoyed reading~ your library will have, or be able to order them for you.
non fiction~ debs at war- just read this, very fun. stories of upper class women who joined the services- worked on the land, the WRENS- womens' royal navy, etc. filled with very funny anecdotes about not knowing anything about sex, or shopping, or laundry, as well as the bravery of many women, and the men they worked beside http://www.amazon.co.uk/Debs-at-War-1939-1945-1939-45/dp/0753820781/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1348493894&sr=1-1
dappled sunlight- http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dappled-Sunlight-Land-Girls-Story/dp/0722332033/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1348493832&sr=8-2 beautiful memoir from woman who went from town to remote farm to work on the land, in the Womens' Land Army
the wartime kitchen and garden http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wartime-Kitchen-Garden-Jennifer-Davies/dp/0563364378/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1348493940&sr=1-1
one of my all time fave books/tv series. brilliant, filled with superb details of live above and below 'stairs' (think of downton).

fiction
diary of a provincial lady~ http://www.amazon.co.uk/Diary-Provincial-Lady-E-M-Delafield/dp/0860685225/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1348494055&sr=1-1 repellant ocver, so ignore taht. very funny, sometimes waspish diarist. starts just before the war, goes through the begining of it.

I bought a computer that doesnt have a cd input?




Roy


I bought a small laptop so it doesnt have a cd input (the thing you put the cd in) but is it possible to use another computer to access that cd.
Please help me!
My laptop is Sony Vaio model PCG-4V1W running windows 7



Answer
If you mean it doesn't have a CD/DVD drive then you can buy an external one that connects via USB port so you can watch DVD movies, listen to Cd's or burn disks on your laptop. See examples here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=azs_osd_ieauk?ie=UTF-8&tag=amznsearch.uk.ms-21&link%5Fcode=qs&index=aps&field-keywords=usb++dvd+drives




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, December 6, 2013

How do I get into youth pro soccer at age 14?

youth running watches on Dr. Bud Kids Running Coach - YouTube
youth running watches image



master f


I live in Vista, CA and I want to try-out for a local team and try to make it pro. I do believe that I have what it takes and I've trained so long for this. I just want to know if there is any local youth pro teams around. And if there is please be specific about location.


Answer
Hi,

Yes there should be many in your area. Visit the site USsoccer.com. They should have some good information for you. After all their aim to to promote the game in the US. While you are there, read my guide on how to develop as a player, it will help you.

Here it is:

Itâs a fact that many highly talented footballers worthy of playing on an international level and sharing centre stage with Lionel Messi , will never get there due to laziness or unawareness of how to do so. There are many avenues that one can take to reach the top flight, however if you would like to reach that goal, I would suggest that you follow these guidelines, they would most definitely improve your game. Please note that I am an armchair critic and not a seasoned player.

-Eat healthily- The food you eat can influence your sprint speed, concentration and reaction time, all of which are vitally important to a footballer. A healthy diet rich in carbohydrates will benefit your game.

-Sleep well- Great things cannot be achieved without getting
The basics correct, furthermore a professional player can be made to look like an amateur if insufficient sleep is acquired. Insufficient sleep will lead to poor alertness lapses in concentration and make you vulnerable to schoolboy errors. Players whom are not as talented as you may look better than you on the pitch.

-Eat breakfast before playing- Breakfast will provide you with energy and increase your stamina. If you fail to eat it you may tire quickly.

-Ensure that you are hydrated while playing/ practising- If you play being dehydrated or tired, you will not be playing to the best of your ability.

-Practise often- Without this you will go nowhere. It allows you to identify weak points and naturally gradually improve your game.

-Join a club- Those who do not play at a club level are unlikely to ever make it, no matter how talented they are. Talent scouts from big teams also often watch amateur games in search of new talent. Many footballers who you see on television made it because of this.

-Have sportsmanship while playing- If a coach or talent scout sees a badly behaved player, they may not considered for selection no matter how gifted they are.

-Take coach advice seriously- In most cases coaches know more than you and have more experience than you. Taking their advice seriously will benefit your game and team performances.


-Stay fit- This is a must. You can do so by jogging, running, swimming, gymming etc.during your spare time. Your fitness levels influence your game tremendously. Fitter folk boast superior flexibility, stamina, sprint speed, reaction times and power than their non- fit counterparts in most cases. Those qualities being good are essential for footballers.

-Donât take negative critism seriously- Every club player, whether amateur or professional experiences negative critism at some point. Nasty folk often refer to them using vulgarity forgetting that they are only humans. Sadly many players especially amateurs feel demotivated or angry after this and quit the sport. If this happens to you remain calm and think to yourself âIll prove this person wrong next time aroundâ. Donât take it seriously, it could dampen your spirits and affect your game.

-Have a positive mindset always- People with a positive mindset are more likely to achieve their goals than those who do not. The same applies in football. A negative approach will do no good whatsoever.

-Watch live matches on television- This will broaden your knowledge of the game the game as a whole. By watching the pros do their thing, you might also learn a few tactics or moves in the process.

-Never criticize a team mate- No matter what type of error is made, a team mate should never be criticised. Doing so will only ruin friendships, sink confidence and cause conflict. It is also poor sportsmanship.
Ensure that you warm up before practising or playing. That is a must.

Good luck, hope to see you in the US national team!

Is it normal that i love watching porn? Why do people hate those who watch porn as well as pornstars?




Cheek


I have got comment that fools watch porn and had to face hatred when people came to know that i watch porn. Also they tell that they would kick and slap a pornstar if they see him/her. I have love for porn and pornstars which is opposite of opinion of society. Am i sick?


Answer
Rather than immersing yourself into the present day rhetoric and lies regarding the porn world, you should do your homework on history and why there has always been a stigma attached to the immoral reality of casual sex.

Also, look at how porn affects marriages and other exclusive relationships. A husband who watches porn will likely have problems "getting it up" many times with his wife. He will have to disconnect and visualize he's with a different woman just to perform. But a husband who NEVER watches porn or stares at other women will get "the itch" and take it out on his wife (in a good way). There will be no trouble having a sexual relationship.

So with that little bit said, abstinence creates a proper balance within a person that is beneficial. For someone who thinks they have to stay "drained" all of the time is living by animal instinct which makes them just as out of control as an animal. Humans were not meant to reduce themselves to that. And the narrowmindedness of today's youth are doing exactly that. Therefore, they indulge into porn as if its something recreational. They have no role models to show them differently. At least not at home. As long as they are allowed to run with the "in" crowd, they are likely to end up following the popular ideas which surround immoral practices of today. They are being deceived 100%.

You can love something. But it doesn't make it proper. Add some sugar to a teaspoon of poison and feed it to a kid. I'm sure he'll love it. But it will kill him just the same. It's that kind of ignorance today's generation follows. They might as well walk off a cliff because that's were they are headed anyway. We can all surely be proud to know that tomorrow's adults will be intelligent enough to run the country....NOT.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

My toddler woke up screaming as if he was being attacked. He has a terrified look on his face?

running watches argos on ... Sports Watch at Argos.co.uk - Your Online Shop for Men's watches
running watches argos image



Leigh R


Last night was the worst night of my whole life. My 2 year old woke up screaming as if he was being attacked at 1am. I ran in there and he was standing up red face real tears and a terrified face. I grabbed him and he rapped his arms and legs around me. I took him in my room and he kept saying scary, what's that? And pointing at nothing. Jumping and making worried noices. Tryed to put him down and cuddle him and he layd down for like 1 min and then shot up and started to scream again. I put the light on to show nothing is here. I put the telly on for a bit. Then he calmed down and he wouldn't sleep in bed with me so I put him back in his bed. Seamed ok when I put him down. As soon as i walked out. The same thing happened. Got him up again and he was doing the same thing jumping pointing and moving away from 'nothing.' He was scaring me. Finally got to sleep at 4, What couldn't be the course of this. He has always been such a good sleeper until last night. It was horrible to see.


Answer
It is important as an adult not to reflect your son's behaviour from a view from an adult.
Straight away the whole situation screams, "Ghosts or paranormal" style activity but this is something we learn about as we get older, a child wouldn't understand this and would actually (if they do exist) find them interesting rather than scary.

As your child is 2 years old, they are at a point of their life where they absorb the world around them. They will watch an advert and then talk about it 3 days later, "What was the advert with the car about?" [or words of more simple wording] or, they will comment on something you said earlier. You hear lots of stories about mum's just letting a swear word slip and the child repeating it at pre-school.

Therefore, based on this an experience I would say it sounds as if you're child has had a bad nightmare which he has now gotten confused with real life. Have you ever had a dream you thought was so real you woke up thinking it was true? That's an adult trying to make sense of a dream, imagine what it feels like for a child. Furthermore, If you were in a room with a group of people - the lights suddenly went off and someone screamed, how would you feel? You would probably feel scared senseless and possibly scream back. This is called living off one-another's-fear and this is something young children pick up on! If your body language was worried and scared, the likelihood is the child will reflect this!

The fact that he was pointing at something shows that his fear is to one particular area, what ever it may be. It could even be an attention thing! I had this with my daughter when she was younger! She would complain of tummy ache whenever I had to leave for work, but her Grandmother said she heard nothing more of it once I was actually gone- she was protesting me leaving and this was around when she was 2 as well. This could be solved by using a "baby cam" which you can find in Argos. Instead of having the "TV screen" in your room, showing the baby - switch it to show your son you're safe, okay and happy.

Furthermore, if this is the stereotypical "monsters under the bed" type of behaviour often seen in children a good thing to do is a nightlight and insure that the bedroom door isn't shut totally! Getting some air freshener and calling it "monster spray!" a quick squirt here and there and it dissolves the monsters in the room, they won't hurt anyone anymore - this type of level explanation insures that your child understands it!! Think of it in their eyes, if the tooth fairy and Santa exist then sure as hell a monster can a simple, "he doesn't exist" may put the child in a calm state for the first ten minuets and then imagination takes hold and he (the monster) is suddenly as real as you or his father!

Just at night time be sure to explain that his room is safe, maybe try and involve play (jigsaws, car mat etc) in there for an hour rather than the lounge so it isn't such a big shock and change when he has to go to bed later on- although, don't do this too often or for too long as the room should be associated with rest and sleep not play time and loud fun!

I hope this advice has helped you. Another idea is playing soothing music into his room at night.

What deserves first place among these ten Films of 2012? Tenth place?




teejaynile


Here in alphabetic order are the 10 nominees for best film in the Producers Guild Awards -- which deserves the Top ranking and whice deserves the Tenth place (last)? 10 points for best reasoning; posted Jan. 3, 2013 8:45 a.m. Eastern

Argo
Beasts of the Southern Wild
Django Unchained
Les Miserables
Life of Pi
Lincoln
Moonrise Kingdom
Silver Linings Playbook
Skyfall
Zero Dark Thirty

good luck!



Answer
I have not seen Zero Dark Thirty (although it will be out in my city next week so I will soon) so I have to leave that one out of the discussion but in my opinion this is how the rest of the movies should be ranked.

1. Moonrise Kingdom
2. Silver Linings Playbook
3. Argo
4. Django Unchained
5. Beasts of the Southern Wild
6. Skyfall
7. Life of Pi
8. Lincoln
9. Les Miserables

I think that Moonrise Kingdom is the best movie on the list because of unique and how well-crafted it is. I have always loved Wes Anderson and I think that Moonrise Kingdom is one of his best films. First of all, it is gorgeous. It is very colorful and framing is perfect. You can tell that every shot of this movie was perfectly set up in the way Wes Anderson wanted it to be and it ends up making almost every shot of this movie look like a painting. Another thing is the acting is great. The adults and the kids are fit perfectly in to the Wes Anderson universe. The story is also wonderful, it's a childhood romance story and the kids who are happy and in love and want to run away together are juxtaposed with these adults who are sad because they are stuck in the monotony of everyday life. The film is basically saying that kids should make the most out of their childhood because someday they probably end up unhappy whether it's in their jobs or their marriages. Although there's a lot of melancholy to this film it's quite beautiful and I think it was definitely one of the best movies of the year.

The worst movie on this list is Les Miserables by far. I don't think it is an awful movie or anything but it has a lot of problems. First of all, a lot worked in the movie. Although it's kind of depressing at times the story of Jean Valjean is a very moving and a very interesting one. It is one of redemption and I understand why the book is held in such high regard. I also think Hugh Jackman did a fantastic job playing Valjean. Anne Hathaway and newcomer Samantha Barks were also stand-outs. The actor that did not do so well though was Russel Crowe as Javert. I think he is an extremely talented actor but he was really miscast and he does not have the vocals for this kind of movie. I also did not really care for Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen. They were kind of funny at first but ultimately they ended up being extremely annoying. Despite all of this, there was an even bigger issue with this movie that made me not like it. I don't love musicals in the first place, and that's not criticism. I cannot hold that against it because if I don't like musicals then that is my problem not the movie's. What is the movies problem though, and what the musical aspect even more unbearable to me is the really tight shots and the length. Tom Hooper (the director) holds so many closeup shots for what seems like forever. It is also over two and a half hours long. It basically took the worst of American Idol and made me watch it for nearly three hours. This movie is so unapologetic and in-your-face, and while I respect Tom Hoopers courage in making the movie the way he did, the camera work was distracting and at some points excruciating. I hope some day I get to see an adaptation of the book and not the musical because I really did like the story and the characters. Although there are much worse movies out there, I don't ever want to experience this version of Les Miserables again.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Heart rate monitor watch, with or without chest strap?

running watches argos on ... Canon NB 4L at Argos.co.uk - Your Online Shop for Camera batteries
running watches argos image



Ellie


I want to get a watch that monitors my heart rate when I run. I've seen some with a chest strap and some with out. I would rather not wear the strap but do the the ones without work just as well? My budget is up to £25


Answer
you can get a watch in Argos for 65 euros which will give you your heart rate by touching part of its surface with your finger but the strap may be more accurate as its gives you a continuous reading.

My toddler woke up screaming as if he was being attacked. He has a terrified look on his face?




Leigh R


Last night was the worst night of my whole life. My 2 year old woke up screaming as if he was being attacked at 1am. I ran in there and he was standing up red face real tears and a terrified face. I grabbed him and he rapped his arms and legs around me. I took him in my room and he kept saying scary, what's that? And pointing at nothing. Jumping and making worried noices. Tryed to put him down and cuddle him and he layd down for like 1 min and then shot up and started to scream again. I put the light on to show nothing is here. I put the telly on for a bit. Then he calmed down and he wouldn't sleep in bed with me so I put him back in his bed. Seamed ok when I put him down. As soon as i walked out. The same thing happened. Got him up again and he was doing the same thing jumping pointing and moving away from 'nothing.' He was scaring me. Finally got to sleep at 4, What couldn't be the course of this. He has always been such a good sleeper until last night. It was horrible to see.


Answer
It is important as an adult not to reflect your son's behaviour from a view from an adult.
Straight away the whole situation screams, "Ghosts or paranormal" style activity but this is something we learn about as we get older, a child wouldn't understand this and would actually (if they do exist) find them interesting rather than scary.

As your child is 2 years old, they are at a point of their life where they absorb the world around them. They will watch an advert and then talk about it 3 days later, "What was the advert with the car about?" [or words of more simple wording] or, they will comment on something you said earlier. You hear lots of stories about mum's just letting a swear word slip and the child repeating it at pre-school.

Therefore, based on this an experience I would say it sounds as if you're child has had a bad nightmare which he has now gotten confused with real life. Have you ever had a dream you thought was so real you woke up thinking it was true? That's an adult trying to make sense of a dream, imagine what it feels like for a child. Furthermore, If you were in a room with a group of people - the lights suddenly went off and someone screamed, how would you feel? You would probably feel scared senseless and possibly scream back. This is called living off one-another's-fear and this is something young children pick up on! If your body language was worried and scared, the likelihood is the child will reflect this!

The fact that he was pointing at something shows that his fear is to one particular area, what ever it may be. It could even be an attention thing! I had this with my daughter when she was younger! She would complain of tummy ache whenever I had to leave for work, but her Grandmother said she heard nothing more of it once I was actually gone- she was protesting me leaving and this was around when she was 2 as well. This could be solved by using a "baby cam" which you can find in Argos. Instead of having the "TV screen" in your room, showing the baby - switch it to show your son you're safe, okay and happy.

Furthermore, if this is the stereotypical "monsters under the bed" type of behaviour often seen in children a good thing to do is a nightlight and insure that the bedroom door isn't shut totally! Getting some air freshener and calling it "monster spray!" a quick squirt here and there and it dissolves the monsters in the room, they won't hurt anyone anymore - this type of level explanation insures that your child understands it!! Think of it in their eyes, if the tooth fairy and Santa exist then sure as hell a monster can a simple, "he doesn't exist" may put the child in a calm state for the first ten minuets and then imagination takes hold and he (the monster) is suddenly as real as you or his father!

Just at night time be sure to explain that his room is safe, maybe try and involve play (jigsaws, car mat etc) in there for an hour rather than the lounge so it isn't such a big shock and change when he has to go to bed later on- although, don't do this too often or for too long as the room should be associated with rest and sleep not play time and loud fun!

I hope this advice has helped you. Another idea is playing soothing music into his room at night.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the difference between Nike+ SportBand and Nike+ SportWatch?

what is the best watch for runners with a gps on Tech4o Discover GPS Watch | Your Mileage May Vary Reviews
what is the best watch for runners with a gps image



Rachael


The watch is a lot more expensive, so i was wondering if there was much of a difference between the two. Also, if you know any cheaper brands of sport bands/watches that work just as well, please let me know.


Answer
The nike sportsband uses the Nike Sensor that first required an ipod.
so if you don't need or want an ipod you can get this.
It Tracks distance, pace, time elapsed and calories burned. of course it connects to the nike + site
And the Nike+ sensor included is included which you can put in your Nike+ shoes or attach to other shoes with a pouch you can buy separately. It works on a treadmill but not an elliptical. Its not as accurate as a GPS but its OK. And there is no HRM feature.

The Nike sportwatch is a GPS Heart Rate Monitor Watch. I'm pretty sure they stopped including the sensor with it and I'm also pretty sure they never included a Heart Rate Monitor Strap. But it's come down in price. For it's price, I think its one of the better GPS HRM watches out there.

With the sensor it will work on treadmill, but not without. It's more accurate than the band and the sensor and the GPS work together. And if you don't want a HRM you just don''t buy the strap.

Once you figure in the price of the HRM strap a Timex GPS HTM might be a little cheaper.

I happen to be a big fan of Garmin. I have a 305 and you can probably get a good price on one.

Google "DC Rainmaker". This guy compares these watches and writes great reviews. I know he has reviewed Garmins and Nikes.

Nike's web site was just recently revamped and they are still in the process of finishing it. It was and probably will be the best web site for runners. So you might want to take that into account.

By the way, The Nike Fuel band is in it's own special category. but it keeps track with a built in accelerometer of it's own unique kind of measurement. And it works whether you are running or playing basketball or dancing or on the elliptical trainer. At the end of the day you hook it up to your computer and it puts it's data into the nike site. Basically the data you get is just relative. You did more today than yesterday kind of thing. And i guess it can give you some bragging rights on FaceBook.

Is there a runner's GPS watch out there with a built in mp3 player and heart rate monitor?




DGK


I don't actually know if it would be made specifically for running, but that's what I want one for. It seems like one should be available. Maybe a Garmin or something?

Thanks



Answer
there are alot out there that have heart rate monitors but i dont think your gonna find one with a MP3 in it. i sure wouldnt want a headphone cord coming out of my watch.
i just use my ipod and an arm band to hold it.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Want to buy a Garmin 410 Sports Watch, have they been discontinued?

sports watch review gps on Bryton Cardio 60T Multi-Sport GPS Watch Review | TriRadar.com
sports watch review gps image



John


I want to buy a Garmin 410 sports watch, im into running and could do with a gps enabled watch like the Garmin Forerunner 410. Ive been looking online but it seems its been discontinued, does anyone know where I can get one, or is it too late?


Answer
The garmin 410 foreunner is a great gps sports watch, ive got one myself. I was looking into getting the garmin 610 recently and am at a loss if I should go for it or not, they are both similar in many ways. You can still get the garmin 410 at Amazon but the price varies alot. The site I left in the resoucre box gives a good review of the 410, 610 and some other garmin gps sports devices.

What is the best GPS watch with HR monitor for mountain biking and running?




Chris


I love to mountain bike and run so I am looking for a watch that handles both, that isn't too bulky. Most online reviews are outdated and product reviews seem too vague.


Answer
I think it's going to depend the bike features (if any) you want. Any GPS watch on the market can track time, distance, and speed (in mph or kph) which are the basic things you'd probably want to see while mountain biking.

But some watches come with bike specific features like: speed and cadence sensors, power meter support, custom bike settings (good if you use multiple bikes with different wheel sizes WITH the speed and cadence sensor).

The problem is most of the watches with these features are found on the bulky, triathlete GPS watches.

But the TomTom Multi-sport might work for you. It has some bike features, supports a HRM, and isn't too bulky.

Some good non-bike feature watches with a HRM are Garmin's 210 and 610 -- or, if you can wait a few weeks, these are being replaced by the 220 and 620.

If you want to read some more about the different features available, you can check out this buyers guide I wrote here: http://athletesgps.com/2013-gps-watch-buyers-guide/




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

What kinds of activities do you do with 6 and 9 years old boys on a Rainy Saturday without spending any money?

sport watches running room on Kobold Re-designed Polar Surveyor Sport Watch | Be Sportier
sport watches running room image



stayhomemo


I don't want them to play video games and watch TV all day. I don't want them to run around the house like wild monkeys either. They are not into quiet activities like crafts and drawing any more especially on Saturday. I don't want to spend a lot of money taking them to Museums or Aquarium where we have already been before. We could play Domino for an hour but they'll get bored after that.


Answer
If you are willing to go out, take them to the library and/or bookstore and let them select some books. They could get books to read, or books with science experiments, or books that will teach them a new craft/hobby such as how to make paper airplanes, etc.

We have several video game systems (Nintendo, Super Nintendo and Nintendo Wii). The only one hooked up is the Wii, and we save it for rainy days or family night. The Wii Sports offers a workout, and my children love it when their father and I play with them. Just put a time limit on it.

Let them use blankets and bedsheets and make a tent/fort using your dining table and/or chairs.

Have a picnic lunch on the floor. Spread out a blanket and eat. You can find some fun food ideas on the internet.

Speaking of the internet, let them explore Google Earth. It is free to download, and my children love it. You can explore the Sun, Moon, etc. and you can explore Earth. We have zoomed in from space and found our home, the homes of friends and relatives and we have virtually visited the Eifel Tower, Statue of Liberty, Grand Canyon, White House, Niagara Falls, Disney World, etc. It is really interesting.

World Book Encyclopedia is a good website they could explore-they could learn more about the places they visit on Google Earth, or they could learn all about their favorite animal, what happened on their birthdate throughout history, etc.

If you have flour, salt, water and some cookie cutters, you could make some ornaments. We add a little cinnamon applesauce to ours to make them smell good, too. Do not forget to use a toothpick or coffee sstraw or a drinking straw to make a hole for the ribbon. After they are cool, they can paint them or color them with markers. You can hang these on the wall, Christmas tree, from your rear view mirror in your car-my children have even made some that they play with (delicately). They make excellent gifts!

You could get them to clean their room(s), and help them rearrange the furniture-let them choose where the bed(s) go, etc. Perhaps they could find some toys to donate to charity or some things that they could sell at a yard sale (when it is not raining) and use the proceeds to buy some new things for their rooms.

If you are thinking about going out, stop at the Pet Store if you think they can handle the responsibility of a pet. My 11 and 9 year olds have a turtle, hermit crabs and betta fish. The betta fish would be the least expensive, and they are very resiliant. Hermit crabs are very interesting to watch!

I hope this helps, and I hope they have fun!

How to entertain a nine year old little girl?




Sweetpea


Because it's summer break, I've been asked to babysit this little nine year old i go to church with from 6:30am, to 7:30pm for a week straight. I've kept her before and she's very cooperative, but hates watching movies, or tv, and cant stand to sit still. Her parents don't want us to leave the neighborhood just for safety reasons and I'm kinda lacking for stuff to do. Any suggestions?


Answer
Have a casual schedule, just a list of things to try to follow, but don't stress her out. You could ask the parents to buy her a Tae Kwan do DVD to learn at your house, since they don't want you to leave the neighborhood. She needs to get exercise and fresh air every day, so take her to the park. Or practice a sport in your yard, such as volleyball or gymnastics. You could let her keep a box of stuff at your place. As you water your lawn in the morning, let her run around the sprinkler (on days she wants to bring her bathing suit). You could let her spend an hour playing online games as a treat if she finishes her fruit or vegetable with lunch.

Ask her parents if she has a webkinz stuffed animal that comes with a code for a free online account. They're really popular, she probably has one. She could easily play with that virtual pet online for an hour, because you can get out of your chair and go back to the different virtual chores. The pets do lots of things from enter modeling contests to gardening. It also has a safe chat room with preselected phrases to say.

Also, 9 year olds like to cook and create hair styles. They like to sing. If she has an ipod, you can spend time downloading songs with her. You could make friendship bracelets, too. Good luck.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How long does it take to get really, really fit (like marathon runners)?

best sports watches for beginner runners on Dead Giveaway Signs That A Beginner Jogger Is Just Starting Out To ...
best sports watches for beginner runners image



Adam


Hi,
I play football/soccer, i am fit enough to last 80 minutes (thats the time we play at my age), but how can you get really, really fit like marathon runners. Also, how long does it take, how long do you train for etc..?

Thanks



Answer
Hi Adam,

How fit any given individual gets and how quickly is very individual - a lot is determined by genetics that we don't have any control over. However, what I can tell you is that most people are capable of becoming fit enough to at least finish a marathon (if they're disciplined enough and can make the time commitment). If you are already in reasonably good shape (and it sounds like you are), you could probably get into marathon shape (ie, develop enough endurance to finish) in 4-6 months. That's about how long most people allow to train for their first marathon. (People who are truly beginners and in poor shape should allow more like a year.)

If you google "marathon training program", you can find thousands of programs online for all different levels of runners, so I'll leave that up to you. Runner's World also has a SmartCoach program (free, though I think you have to register with their site) that will put together a program for you based on what kind of shape you're in now, how much you want to run, what pace you want to shoot for, how long you want to train, etc:

http://runnersworld.com/cda/smartcoach/1,7148,s6-238-277-278-0-0-0-0-0,00.html

Here are the basics, though:

1) If you haven't been fitted by a pro for running shoes, take care of that first (especially if you're thinking of training for a marathon), since improper or poorly fitted shoes are one of the number one causes of injuries in runners. Find a store in your area that caters to runners (avoid general sporting goods stores) & tell the clerk that you need a shoe fitting. They should measure your foot in several different ways, watch you walk & run barefoot & in shoes, & have you try on several different pairs. Use your running shoes ONLY for running and track the mileage you put on them - most pairs only last about 300 - 500 miles before they are no longer good for your feet.

2) If you don't do a lot of distance running, start off with a relatively low amount of weekly mileage, say 10-12 miles a week. A third of that should be run all at once (your "long run"). If you're feeling ambitious, you can devote a tenth of your weekly mileage to speed training (mile or half-mile repeats at a fast pace, with short walk-recovery breaks in between). The rest should be divided into medium-distance runs that you do at a moderate pace. (Always be sure to jog for 5-10 minutes to warm up, and cool down with an easy 5-10 jog or walk & stretching.)

3) Resist the temptation to increase your mileage too fast, even if you feel like you can - this is the downfall of many a new runner. Distance running is a high-impact activity, and your muscles & connective tissue needs plenty of time to acclimate to the new demands you're making of them. You can safely build mileage by 5 - 10% per week, though it's good practice to make every third or fourth week a cut-back or plateau week.

4) Listen to your body & take extra rest days when you need to. Getting sidelined by an injury because you tried to run through it SUCKS, and plenty of beginners make that mistake. Invest in the long haul and back off if you experience shin splints or lower leg pain / soreness that doesn't go away in a few days. If that happens, spend fewer days running and more days cross training (cycling, swimming - anything that's low impact on your legs) to keep up cardiovascular fitness until your legs are fresh enough to continue running.

So those are the basics - there are a ton of more detailed resources online you can look at if you're interested (Runner's World is a great place to start). Best of luck!

I would like to run track & field this year in high school. What do i need to do to get ready ?




Cathy


I have never done a sport so i would like to run track this year for my highschool. What should i do to get ready & what will i need ? What is track like ? What do you do ? Tell me ALL the things i will need to know for track & this sport !


Answer
Food for thought:
It helps to be in running condition first.

Wait at least 2.5 hours after eating before training or racing, this will prevent the felling of nausea during and after practices and when performing in competitions.

Base Work:
It takes about two to three months of base work (jogging and running 2-5 mi. distances mostly) for most athletes to be ready for the beginning of the track season. If possible, buy a new pair of running shoes each year to begin your base work in. Use three to four running trails for practice; this will reduce foot fall fatigue that normally contributes to shin splints.

Beginners should use some of this time to learn the basic techniques to their chosen events, learn the proper way to breathe while running and, learn when to eat. Begin faster leg rotation runs late in the second month of your base work (this will cause you to extend your stride more), stop when you feel the need - but - do not sprint. Begin sprinting and hurdling in the third month.

Watch out for red flag warnings. Shoes that do not fit properly will cause blisters. Shoes that are too short will create discomfort from toe nail pressure. Shoes that are tied too tight may cause Sciatic Nerve tremors anywhere from your inner calf to the inner part of your thigh. Shine splints (pain in the bone on the front part of your calf muscle) may be caused from a combination of running on hard surfaces and hills. Wearing running shoes that absorb impact shock well may help prevent shine splints. If you have discomfort or pops in your joints, try and run in a manner that will reduce the problem completely, if this does not work - see a doctor. Watch out for uneven running surfaces, watch where you place your feet, otherwise, you may strain a muscle or twist an ankle and fall.

In Season Training:

The World's best runners give themselves at least one day off per weak from training.

Training days should vary in intensity. If there are no meets or club runs scheduled within the weak, then your training can be as intense as you like, from running sprints, to logging in miles, to working on the details of your particular event(s). Or, in an effort to let your body rest, you could choose to do nothing.

If you plan to compete within the weak, then prudence is required. Two days before the contest, cut way back on serious practices and increase the fluids and salt in your diet. The extra salt and fluids is an important element in conducting electrical impulses to your muscles and will help you stay hydrated during competition.

Running for weight loss. Body fat burns from the inside out for walkers and runners. And it will take some time for you to see results. This is because you must first condition your body to perform at a certain level before it has the ability to burn calories effectively.

Seasoned athletes that have been injured may take as long as a year to get back into peak condition.

Beginners and past athletes who have been dormant for years wishing to begin running in earnest, will see their peak performances arrive in about three years time.


Breathing:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AmDGZHKVOKbV7bYdnDdkPinty6IX;_ylv=3?qid=20100801133627AAA6QDC&show=7#profile-info-RF41XALQaa


Getting Into Jogging Condition: see ptfa.geo answer
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AmAnxN0MAHmlSqmKiqx7qQrty6IX;_ylv=3?qid=20100713025058AAaEh6i&show=7#profile-info-RaI9KP2daa


A better 100m run â form and technique will get you there. - ptfa.geo answer:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100702191734AAczh6q


How to sprint longer and faster? - ptfa.geo answer (400m base work for sprinters and hurdlers)
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100610184309AArJTSX


400m training:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100624141914AAFqIGf




http://www.iaaf.org/

http://www.trackandfieldnews.com/




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

How long does it take to get really, really fit (like marathon runners)?

sports watches for marathon runners on Marathon Running: In Wanjiru's Death, Have We Lost the Greatest ...
sports watches for marathon runners image



Adam


Hi,
I play football/soccer, i am fit enough to last 80 minutes (thats the time we play at my age), but how can you get really, really fit like marathon runners. Also, how long does it take, how long do you train for etc..?

Thanks



Answer
Hi Adam,

How fit any given individual gets and how quickly is very individual - a lot is determined by genetics that we don't have any control over. However, what I can tell you is that most people are capable of becoming fit enough to at least finish a marathon (if they're disciplined enough and can make the time commitment). If you are already in reasonably good shape (and it sounds like you are), you could probably get into marathon shape (ie, develop enough endurance to finish) in 4-6 months. That's about how long most people allow to train for their first marathon. (People who are truly beginners and in poor shape should allow more like a year.)

If you google "marathon training program", you can find thousands of programs online for all different levels of runners, so I'll leave that up to you. Runner's World also has a SmartCoach program (free, though I think you have to register with their site) that will put together a program for you based on what kind of shape you're in now, how much you want to run, what pace you want to shoot for, how long you want to train, etc:

http://runnersworld.com/cda/smartcoach/1,7148,s6-238-277-278-0-0-0-0-0,00.html

Here are the basics, though:

1) If you haven't been fitted by a pro for running shoes, take care of that first (especially if you're thinking of training for a marathon), since improper or poorly fitted shoes are one of the number one causes of injuries in runners. Find a store in your area that caters to runners (avoid general sporting goods stores) & tell the clerk that you need a shoe fitting. They should measure your foot in several different ways, watch you walk & run barefoot & in shoes, & have you try on several different pairs. Use your running shoes ONLY for running and track the mileage you put on them - most pairs only last about 300 - 500 miles before they are no longer good for your feet.

2) If you don't do a lot of distance running, start off with a relatively low amount of weekly mileage, say 10-12 miles a week. A third of that should be run all at once (your "long run"). If you're feeling ambitious, you can devote a tenth of your weekly mileage to speed training (mile or half-mile repeats at a fast pace, with short walk-recovery breaks in between). The rest should be divided into medium-distance runs that you do at a moderate pace. (Always be sure to jog for 5-10 minutes to warm up, and cool down with an easy 5-10 jog or walk & stretching.)

3) Resist the temptation to increase your mileage too fast, even if you feel like you can - this is the downfall of many a new runner. Distance running is a high-impact activity, and your muscles & connective tissue needs plenty of time to acclimate to the new demands you're making of them. You can safely build mileage by 5 - 10% per week, though it's good practice to make every third or fourth week a cut-back or plateau week.

4) Listen to your body & take extra rest days when you need to. Getting sidelined by an injury because you tried to run through it SUCKS, and plenty of beginners make that mistake. Invest in the long haul and back off if you experience shin splints or lower leg pain / soreness that doesn't go away in a few days. If that happens, spend fewer days running and more days cross training (cycling, swimming - anything that's low impact on your legs) to keep up cardiovascular fitness until your legs are fresh enough to continue running.

So those are the basics - there are a ton of more detailed resources online you can look at if you're interested (Runner's World is a great place to start). Best of luck!

What are some good recovery techniques for my knees after running long distances?




MichaelS


I've been running six miles everyday and I'm trying to increase the mileage to either prepare for a marathon or a half-marathon and my knees sometimes ache and hurt afterward. Granted it does have a lot to do with the surface I'm running on sometimes but I'm usually relatively careful with how I step so anyways what can I do after or before a run to be sure my knees don't sustain any injuries from running long distances?


Answer
In terms of treating the pain, take Ibuprofen, Motrin, or another anti-inflammatory and ice for 10 minutes on / 10 minutes off for 40 - 60 minutes as soon as you can after a run. If you are consistent about this, it will help your knees feel less sore in the days following a run.

The next thing to try to figure out is if there is something about the way you're running that's causing your knee pain. A lot of times, runners with chronic knee pain have it because they overstride, meaning they try to run faster by making their strides longer. The result is often that your foot strikes the ground on your heel, out in front of your body rather than directly beneath your center of gravity. Because of the way our bodies are built, this causes your knees to take a lot of extra force, which can lead to pain and injury. The only way to know for sure, though, is to have someone who is experienced in helping runners work on form watch you run & tell you what they think.

Also be sure you're not trying to increase mileage too fast, which can make all sorts of joints and muscles unhappy. Remember that you can safely increase your mileage by 5-10% from week to week; more than that only puts you at risk for injury. Also, if you're running seven days a week right now, it's possible that the tissue in your knees just isn't getting time to recover between workouts. Even elite runners take one day a week off in order to allow their bodies to completely recover from running, and two is a good idea for recreational runners.

Barring those things, there are several knee problems common in runners, including patellofemeral syndrome, chondromalacia, and IT band syndrome, but those are things a sports medicine doctor or orthopedist would have to diagnose. If your pain gets worse or doesn't resolve, you might make an appointment to see if s/he thinks it could be something more serious.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What movie is most similar to your own life?

sports watches for runners australia on Running - Accessories - Sports Specialists Sporting Gear and Sports ...
sports watches for runners australia image



Donny


...and the life of your Y!A homies?

example-
Donny (AKA me)- Rounders (I honestly could think of nothing, I hope someone else has a better idea. I just play a lot of poker haha)
Killzone- Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (lots of drugs
Metal Quality- Good Will Hunting (smart guy from Boston that dropped out of High School)
Suicidal- Finding Nemo (Australia!)

BQ- What are your thoughts on Wes Anderson's first six features (Bottle Rocket, Rushmore, The Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic, The Darjeeling Limited, Fantastic Mr. Fox), and expectations for Moonrise Kingdom?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eP0QJ_Ba1Bs

BQ2- Top 5 favorite directors?
BQ3- top 5 favorite movies?
BQ4- top 5 favorite TV shows?
BQ5- top 5 favorite actors?
BQ6- how generic and over-asked are these questions?
BQ7- How was Groundhog Day? (both your day today, and the movie)

Thanks for answering and Happy Groundhog Day to all!
http://jerseymomsblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/alg_caddyshack_groundhog1.jpg
@rebellion- Groundhog Day in the US is where... well
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Groundhog_Day

@suicidal- lol no I don't have Groundhog Day off from school, but I did take the day off for fun. which makes your Ferris Bueller comment even more right. don't you hate Ferris Bueller though? haha



Answer
really great q. This one took alot of thinking and I do plan to edit it, I really wanna this fully.

For me - Clerks- love movies, could alway identify with the 90s culture alot with grunge and alternative music and all... people keep on telling me that I'm wasting my life and all.... who gives a sh*t anyway.
Donny - this one is hard! you love movies, tv, sport, etc. You kinda remind me of Ferris Bueller in a way... waging school seems like something you'd do, so I'll go with him.
Metal Quality Back To The Future. (I know he loves them). He has a strong passion and love for movies- his q shows this, its kind of like Doc and Marty's passion for various things- (please don't misinterpret that, I mean it in a compliment way). So if all the science in back to the future was something movie related... he would totally rock that world.
V- Garden State, kinda quirky and insightful.
Rebellion - I've always imagined her life to be a massive adventure, so... Hugo.
Killzone.... Altered States. Experimental and about drugs, so there is a plus, lol.
Tamara.... oh god this is hard. I hope this doesn't come out the wrong way but I bet in her day to day life she is really assertive and argumentative... kinda like if Sarah Conner was a lawyer.


Ba: I've seen all of his movies except Bottle Rocket. Thoughts on each-
Rushmore: Loved it. Max Fisher is a hero.
The Royal Tenenbaums: Loved it also. Margot + the finger story= f*cking hilarious.
Life Aquatic: Didn't really like it. It was colourful though
The Darjeeling Limited: Liked it also.
Fantastic Mr. Fox; Saw it in cinemas only, wouldn't have gone if my friend wasn't a geroge clooney die hard fan. I remember liking it.

Actually, I've never seen a Wes Anderson movie twice. Moonrise Kingdom I'm looking forward too, quite like the trailer and always up for something that looks unique. Expectations in general, probably semi high.

My favourite movies/ directors and actors have changed alot recently)

BA: In kind of order
1. James Cameron
2. Steven Spielberg
3. Chan- Wook Park
4. David Fincher
5.Michael Mann

Movies
1. Blade Runner
2. Oldboy
3. Se7en
4 Shawshank Redemption
5. American History x

TV shows (remember, I don't watch much, but I do plan to check out some more coz its school term)
1. Buffy The Vampire Slayer
2. Veronica Mars
3. Arrested Development
4. Criminal Minds
5. Battlestar Galactica

Actors
1. Christian Bale
2. Edward Norton
3. Guy Pearce
4. Ralph Fiennes
5. Ethan Hawke

BA6: Don't worry, they beat my What's better: your favourite 2006 movie or your favourite 1986 movie questions and Last movie you watched, thoughts?
BA7: Australians don't have groundhog day. Damn you probably didn't have to go to school.... as for the movie -love- it. Especially whenever Bill Murrays feet goes into the ice! Happy Groundhog day to you anyway

edit: Damn wish I could do that... but Ferris Bueller, kinda hate him, but I dunno... you remind me of him.... not necessarily in a bad way (I really hope you don't get a friend to raise money and say its charity for some illness and just waste it on trash) but yeah. lol.

is it too late ?? but i want it so bad :'(?




Mustapha B


Hey guys :) I'm a 16 year old boy from Tunisia :) since watching the Olympics i become a big fan of the gymnastics actually since 2009 i was watching some shows about that and and all i want now is to become a professional gymnast, but the problem is the age i turn 17 on November and i'm not sure if Gymnastics exists in a country like Tunisia, I search about some gymnasts and they all started at an early age 4 or 3 years old it's really depressing i feel like i'm too old :) and I had a dream to become a singer before and i started guitar lesson and singing 3 years ago i become a good guitarist and i write songs too :) but i'm not brave enough to sing at loud but my teacher thinks that i got a good voice, am I ready to give up on my first dream if i get a importunity to become a gymnast if i found a gym here in my country or maybe i'll lose everything if i could not make it at gymnastics at this age Music used to be the dream of my life and now all i think about is Gymnastics and becoming a professional athlete what do you think, I need a mature advice because my love to gymnastics become outstanding I need help i'm afraid to lose everything what should i choose Music or Sport :( !!
I can't do both of them and if i try to do maybe i can't concentrate on my studies and the most important thing could i afford the financial needs :'(



Answer
sorry but i think its probably too late to become an elite gymnast. you would lack the flexibillity of people who have been training their bodies form a young age. However why not do it for fitness and pleasure, its great exercise. I dont know if there is much gymnastic training in Tunisia as I lijve halfway across the world in Australia, Africa seems more known for its distance runners which is a sport that can be started at an older age, would running interest you?




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What mental illness is this?

watch running empty dreams online on Tri Cities Washington Airport Flights
watch running empty dreams online image



Anne C


If you're having a deja vu moment with this question, ignore:

I'm 19, a girl, and for years I've been afraid of adults, children, elderly, people of all sorts! I'm especially afraid of people larger than me (obese or just plain TALL), since they make me feel so small, weak and intimidated. Children tend to be loud, brave, judgmental, and that intimidates me as well. Adults seem even worse. I am afraid to go out in public. Not even to the grocery store. I can barely even call the pizza man over the phone. If I do go out in public with parents, i'd just bolt outside on a bench and wait for my parents to finish shopping and leave for home. I'm usually the first one in the door. I just run to my room, and slam it shut, and try to catch my breath, not even helping with the groceries. Then I just flop on my bed, cover my head, and sleep in to 6pm (in time for dinner) the next day. I barely eat, as well. I dont even enjoy going out into the kitchen, since its next to the living room, which is a big space lots of people are invited into. Even when there's no one there, I hate going in. I feel people are staring into me and can see me, my thoughts, etc.

I prefer animals to people, and I have 4 pets so far. I fear that when im out of the house, i'd become an animal hoarder. I can imagine myself with my dream animals on a farm. Buffalo, horses, chickens, a lot of dogs...

Im afraid of loud noises, and I have paranoia. Not the normal "after watching a scary slasher movie" kind. This is constant. I'm constantly looking around my shoulder, shivering in fear (I mainly do that in public, which gives off a bad impression), and I feel people are watching. When I think of a song, I dont sing out loud because I think people will hear me, although the house is so empty. I cant even talk to my animals when i'm home alone. I'm afraid of people hearing my voice, as well. So, I am usually very quiet.

If a visitor comes to our house, i'm locking my door and in my room the whole time. I do badly with meeting strangers.

I hate being hugged or touched by anyone (esp not handshaking), including my parents. If I see a person coming towards me in public, I bolt the other direction. Gosh, i'd even run and yell. If I find the confidence to go into a store (empty ones like petstores or bookstores), and i'm walking into an aisle, If I see a person standing there, I just back away quickly, and move a good distance away.

I barely look into a mirror to see how I look. I'm just discusted by my face, skin, hair, and very thin body. I'm 5'8" and 107 pounds.

Forgot to add one more thing! If I see large groups of people in public, I feel they're staring and saying something about me. I sometimes think I can hear them, but it's probably in my head, well, I don't actually know, so I just bolt away.

I am pretty nocturnal nowadays, awake until 4am due to a gaming addiction (my main source of interaction), then I sleep until 6pm or later. If I miraculously wake up at 3pm, that's considered 'early' for me.

I dont have school anymore (THANK GOD). I had online school (because I cant cope with socializing), but my gaming addiction and fear of contacting the teacher to explain my inactivity made her drop me out of the class. I was too afraid to log back in, because I would fear an angry email from her or something. So, I put it off. And now, I have no classes. Now, I feel worse. I have no means of graduating now.

Anyway, yes, I have been hospitalized once for being caught looking up methods to... You know. I've learned my lesson, I believe.

Oh, and anti-depressants seem to make me either ill or sleepy. Believe me, i've been on a lot of doses (some were high doses) and types. None work significantly (even over the years!). I am now off all of them and am not getting any mental help.

I usually stay at home, in my room, and I refuse to go shopping or run errands. Half of my day, im laying in bed, not willing to do anything. I cover my head with a blanket since it feels safer.

So, any ideas on whats wrong with me? My parents refuse to think anything's wrong with me, and I think my mom knows, but she thinks that her family is being dishonored by my behavior and no one should have any insanity if they are deeply as religious as she is. I dont even go to her church anymore, since I dont feel comfortable there at all.

PS, talking to a friend wont help, because I haven't had one since elementary school. I barely speak to my mom unless I am sick or want something, and almost not at all to my dad! He cant speak to me without yelling.



Answer
The list is endless but you cannot really treat youself.
However,If I was suffering, I would try and conquer one fear at a time.
For example, You know that a fear of a mouse is silly. So is a fear of loud noises. A mouse might make you jump and so might a loud sound but its nothing to be scared of.
So, when you are alone, turn up the radio or tv a little louder. It won't hurt you but make you feel scared but also you know its silly to be scared.Do it once a day until you are not scared anymore, then move on to your next fear.
Sorry you have such dipstick parents they are not helping and possibly making your conditoin worse. Email if you need an online friend.

My mom is ruining my life?




Missy


I will try to be short, but descriptive. Sorry if it's still too long. Please, read it! :(

I have been spiraling (more and more every year) into a very sad state of depression. I contemplate suicide on a daily basis... I attempt suicide several times a month. I have horrible anxiety issues. I can barely sleep... I'm also in a horrible school situation.

Here is what my mom has been doing:

She took me out of my high school last semester, because I was getting sick a lot. Yet, she often tells me she'll take me to the doctor, she NEVER does. Also, I begged her many times to get me started with online schooling, bet she kept putting it off until, I reluctantly gave up. Now, this month what would be my Junior year in high school started. I tried really hard to go back to public school, but she claimed she would start online courses for me! Well, it's already a few weeks into the school year, yet she hasn't done that yet! She acts like it's my responsibility or something! I will ask her if she's got all the information and things planned and she looks at me and thinks I was suppose to do that! Even if I do find out all the information and courses I want, she doesn't care. I feel like she's in control of my life... :( I feel so isolated, scared, numb... This is the worse state I have EVER been in. Let me also mention something. Last week, I finally decided to tell my mom about the time my older brother molested me when I was a little girl. She reacted terribly to this. After a lot of her yelling at me and trying to convince me that it was a dream or my imagination, she says she believes me, but it's just empty words to me. She fully supports me brother with his life and everything. She acts like I'm the one that damaged his life... I feel like I'm taking crazy pills here or something! I mean, I was molested by him, yet she treated me like I'm the criminal. I just don't know what to do anymore. I'm very very very close to actually committing suicide. Trust me. I don't want to! I really don't! I just feel so trapped. I have dreams of being a writer. That's the only thing that is truly keeping me alive. Even then, I feel like I'm an absolute failure. I did so well in school. I was an honor student. Now, I feel like my life is ruined. I honestly feel like I won't be able to ever go back to school, that I won't be able to go to college, and that my life will be complete crap! I am so scared out of my mind. It's so hard for me to explain to you how I'm feeling. I just feel so tired. As hard as I try, I feel like I'm about to fall over from it all. I seriously feel like I'm going to collapse one of these days and just die. I hate my mom so much. She always tells me that she does everything for me and "tries hard"... Also, she'll bribe me with items, and if I talk about the way she treats me, she'll say, "I get you everything...blah blah blah" I am simply SICK of what she's doing to my life. I don't know what to do, though! The only thing I can think of, is going to boarding school. I have looked into that, but it seems like it's too late to. Everyone I asked, tells me that it's not possible. Then, what am I suppose to do? PLEASE, help! I truly need it. Things are so bad, that when I'm really on the edge, I can't cry anymore. It's like my tears are locked inside me and I just turn numb.

- Just so you know, I'm sixteen years old. I will be turning seventeen in November. You have no idea how depressed that makes me feel. I feel like I'm watching my life pass by, not being able to take part in it. Just the other day, I was at the store and ran into some old classmates. Guess what? They were dressed up in their homecoming dresses. When I left the store, I cried so much. The pain is really unbearable for me.



Answer
I AGREE that your mom is harming you and you need to find some kind of help.
Just go back to school, and tell the school counselor what is happening. Your mom is mentally ill, and sounds like she is sabotaging your success. You cant let ther do that. You cant rely on her, sad to say, so stop expecting you will be able to.
Go to school. JUst go. If you have another place to live, do that.
You can call social services and tell them what is happening.
You can contact these people and see if they have any help for you to offer.
drphilfoundation.org
drphil.com
social services in the blue pages under state
look at your yellow pages under mental health and call and ask if you can come in to see someone on a sliding scale , as a teen, or ask for resources.
You need an adult in your corner that will help you counter your mom, and support and care for you.
You have to be very careful on the adults you trust , since at your age every perv comes out of the wood work,like roaches,and you dont need that.
Listen, you can do this. You are old enough. Plenty of people, have left home, gottne their own place and finished high school and gone on to college and made a success. You can legally leave home at 16 in most states.
Your mom is ill.
Now you have to start finding the trustworthy people in your life and make a family of choice.
girlsinc.org
mariska.com
giverespect.org startstrongteens.org loveisnotabuse.com bbbs.org (get a big sister),
Get BACK into school.
NOW.
Talk to the principle, tell them what you have said here. I think at sixteen you have the right to make decisions like this.
get going.
Figure out how you can participate in school , like the prom.
Find a mentor, someone you admire that is successful and into your interests,like writing, and ask them to advise and guide you. Find role models.
Make your future bright, and create the life you want. Find a career that you can make money at , while writing.
Start a web site that pays you money to adverise 18886843304 has a supportive program where they will set up a web site for 197$, also tax liens and realestate, maybe you could get into those also.
Start thinking, because it sounds like your mom has lost it, and you need all the help you can get , beyour own best friend. starting right now.
Here are some great therapists with a great healing method.
eftunierse.com click on 'get started free' for a free version , you can erase the negaitve messages and feelings you have and rebuild your confidence.
eftmastersworldwide.com
quantumrelease.com
the very best wishes to you
If you are unclear, on what to do, you can talk to these professionals , and they will help you make a plan that works for you. weaveinc.org




Powered by Yahoo! Answers