Saturday, October 19, 2013

Which websites can you watch videos from in your iPod touch besides YouTube?

running watches 2010 on Tick Tock on the clockI mean, SOLEUS | Off the Front
running watches 2010 image



Yuzuki Eun


I want to watch this series/show but YouTube doesn't have it. I tried looking at other websites I usually go in my computer but it doesn't work somehow. So can you tell me any free websites that lets you watch movies or shows, etc that you know??
Thanks in advance.



Answer
you can try this website:
movieonhand.com/blog/
it let's you both stream and download movies. The quality is a bit low for newer movies but it gets updated frequently. They run just perfectly on my phone with no glitches. A link on top of the site also directs you to a site where you can watch free iPod optimized anime in mp4 format.

4megaupload.com/
this website lets you download almost any, ANY known movie in mp4 format. Just search manually like 'Inception movie 2010' and it should be there...
Hope the two links help!! :)

How can I make a program in VB 2010 run as admin without publishing it?




Matt


Is there a certain line of code I can write to make my program run as admin without making it a stand alone program? I want to run it as admin in VB it self.


Answer
See the tutorial here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voLjlrvvIU4




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Want to buy a Garmin 410 Sports Watch, have they been discontinued?

best watch for running with gps on GPS | GPS Running Watch | GPS Running Watches | GPS Watch Running ...
best watch for running with gps image



John


I want to buy a Garmin 410 sports watch, im into running and could do with a gps enabled watch like the Garmin Forerunner 410. Ive been looking online but it seems its been discontinued, does anyone know where I can get one, or is it too late?


Answer
The garmin 410 foreunner is a great gps sports watch, ive got one myself. I was looking into getting the garmin 610 recently and am at a loss if I should go for it or not, they are both similar in many ways. You can still get the garmin 410 at Amazon but the price varies alot. The site I left in the resoucre box gives a good review of the 410, 610 and some other garmin gps sports devices.

What is a good, yet inexpensive GPS watch for running?




Joseph


I'm looking for a GPS watch that isn't too bulky, isn't too expensive, and comes with renowned, interactive software that my girlfriend can use without throwing a fit and kicking my computer. It doesn't need to have a heart rate monitor and it doesn't have to be gender specific.

Also, I am willing to download software if there are better ones out there for running. I know all about Map My Run, but I'd rather have it work with the watch.

Thanks



Answer
I really like Garmin GPS watches and the Garmin Forerunner 405 is probably the cheapest in the series that still has GPS capabilities.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can I buy a wireless heart monitor seperate from a treadmill?

running watch heart rate distance on Suunto T6 Running Pack (T6c Heart Rate Monitor and Foot POD) Watch
running watch heart rate distance image



Weird Guy


I found a great treadmill within my price range but the only problem is that it doesn't come with a wireless heart rate monitor it comes with a hand grip monitor which i have heard isn't ideal for running.

BQ: I'm 5"8" do you think I will need a deck longer than 55 to run on a treadmill?



Answer
There are many heart rate watch models - there is a strap across your chest, and you wear the receiver on your wrist. It also functions as a stopwatch, and in fancier models a training computer and possibly GPS. You might want to get a model that supports a foot pod which you tie on your shoelaces - it will measure speed and distance (treadmills aren't always calibrated).

There are also some straps which transmit to your smartphone (possibly with a dongle).

Which watch is the best for a runner?




SportyGirl


I'm a runner and am curious which watch is the cheapest but still tells me my distance, pace, and heart rate while I'm running. I looked at the Garmin Forerunner. What do you all think of those?


Answer
If you want to get that technical, then you are going to have to go with....
1. Polar watches... Those will give you everything you asked for. The only problem is they are not cheap, but still cheaper than all your other options... (No watch is cheap that gives you distance and heart rate)

If you don't want pace or heart rate... but great splits, durability, and easy to use....
1. Timex watches... plus they are cheap in price... Very durable, just not very stylish at times...
2. Nike watches... Great to use and do it all, I would rank these as one but... Problem, they break very easily and you have to send them in to fix which equals more money... The outside of the watch(plastic) will fold and rip apart after the normal wear and tear of a runner using it.. Very bad...

Hope this helps...




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, October 18, 2013

What kind of running watch do you use?

running watches gps on Gps Running Watches
running watches gps image



caitlin


Also what are your thoughts on it? I am in the market for a watch for cross country to race in because my current watch is GPS which isn't allowed


Answer
I have a Garmin 301 which is an older model but has everything the newer models have. The 201 doesn't have GPS.

What is the best running watch?




arod13507


I've been looking for a good running watch, and my friend just got the garmin 405.


Answer
Hi. The best is the Forerunner 305 GPS watch. It tracks....
-How many miles you did
-How fast you are going (speed)
-How many calories you have burned
-Time
-Date
-How fast it took you do that many miles or mile




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is there a park or outdoor set in Toronto where one can watch theatrical shows or plays in the Summertime?

running watches nyc on ... watch-cheer-thousands-runners-next-to-new-york-berlin-chicago-30824602
running watches nyc image



Killer Chi


Eg. Shakespeare.
Like in NYC, there is the Delacorte Theatre in Central Park where Shakespeare plays are performed by actors and actresses.



Answer
The best thing I could find is something going on in High Park, called "Shakespeare in the Park".. it runs until sept. 9th, so you'd better hurry!

What should I do in New York City for the weekend?




negrito co


I am planning to go to NYC for a weekend. I have never been there and I want to see the parts that make NYC NYC.

Please don't advise me to see the empire state bldg or the statue of liberty. Those are obvious.
I want restaurants and hang-out spots.
Thanx in advance.

PS-I live in Chicago.



Answer
A popular way to see the city is by boat. It's one New York City trip you won't want to miss, and still my favorite way to get the best idea of the City. This 90 minute twilight harbor cruise gives you a wonderful way to see the city and watch the twinkling lights come on.

Some thingsyou don't want to miss are the various neighborhoods, like lower Manhattan's Chinatown, go for authentic dim sum and other Chinese delights. Orchard Street on Sunday mornings especially has always been a delight for shopping and eating bialys and bagels. Artsy Soho with all it's galleries and the trendy TriBeCa. Of course Greenwich Village and now the East Village as well are always a great place to sightsee.

There are museums, not only The Metropolitan and MOMA, but wonderful smaller ones like the Frick Museum and of course, Frank Lloyd Wright's masterpiece, The Guggenheim with it's outstanding modern art collection. You can wander for days in these museums. Art movies have always been the thing in New York, I'm sure you'll find a running of "The Red Shoes" still on.

Central Park is always an interesting place to go. Located in the very center of Manhattan surrounded by high-rise buildings. Try jogging around the reservoir (made famous by Jackie Kennedy - who jogged there on regular basis). The Central Park Zoo is fun and carriage rides from Central Park South through and around the Park make for a most romantic evening.

Stroll up or down Fifth Avenue for shops galore, don't miss going into St. Patrick's at 50th and Fifth, and the Empire State Building can still thrill.

For even more things to do and see in NYC, visit hotelsntravel.com it's a great site.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it ok to plug more than one electronic into my cigarette lighter?

gps running watch kids on Running Gear - Find great gear and what to wear here!
gps running watch kids image



rascoe627


My kids watch DVDs and play their Nintendo NS on long road trips. The battery usually drains out less than half way to our destination. Is it ok to plug two or more electronics into a car's cigarette lighter without messing up the car battery or alternator? I have a Honda Accord.


Answer
Lighter will handle several DVD players and gaming systems simultaneously.

I currently run 3 cell phones, GPS, 3 game adapters, a DVD or two and a laptop concurrently from the lighter socket in my '04 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT with no issues with blown fuses.

Added 12-27
Current draw for all of the items plugged in and running is 7A, below the 8A inline fuse to the octopus. 10A fuse for the lighter socket. Aftermarket wiring to socket is 8Ga. thru a 30A rated relay wired directly to the battery. Relay cuts power the the lighter socket at engine shutoff. All non-soldered electrical connections checked for corrosion and connection integrity monthly.

What to get an adventurous runner for Christmas?




smblovesyo


I'm trying to find the perfect Christmas gift for my brother. He's a nineteen year old college kid. He's a crazy runner - just did the World's Toughest Mudder last weekend. I want to get him something unique, like the Survival Straps he just bought. Anyone have any ideas?


Answer
If you love your brother a lot, get him the soleus watch. It is made specifically for serious runners. It has a GPS, calculates current and total running distance, speed, water resistant and a heart rate monitor to make sure he's not pushing himself too hard where its unhealthy. This is the watch I'm talking about...

http://www.amazon.com/Soleus-Mens-SG003020-Running-Watch/dp/B006MVW270/?ie=UTF8&tag=utf8qid-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=9325

If you love him but your budget isn't high, your brother will really like the ironman flix watch. It's good so your brother can store all his training logs and workouts to see his improvements. It has a lot of functions without making the watch complicating. Good to keep track of all of his best running times. Would've been perfect to take on his tough mudder event.

Timex Ironman Watch
http://www.amazon.com/Timex-Ironman-Traditional-100-Lap-Silver-Tone/dp/B00093CZV0/?ie=UTF8&tag=utf8qid-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=9325

Any christmas present you buy your brother will ALWAYS be a great gift regardless if you buy him the watch or not.

Hope that helps. Merry Christmas!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How do i get ready for my 100m run on Sports Day?

sports watches for runners on ... Watches  Garmin Forerunner 205/305 Running Watch | Sports Watch
sports watches for runners image



steven


My Sports day is on the 15th of June which is next sat. Im the favorite coming into the events. I will be running the 100, 200 and 4x100. My PB's are 100:11.4 200:23.1

I notice even though i warm up, i always run the first race slower and the other races faster.
I practiced 5 100m's and my first 100m time was 11.9 but the rest were 11.4, How can i run my first race faster?

The order of the day will be 1. 100m
2. 200M
3. 4X100.

I need to win all of these races to win the Athlete of The Year title. My reaction speed is also slow. Can anyone help?



Answer
Hello Steven: Hope you're having a great day! Know what else I hope? I hope my answer helps you win that Athlete of The Year title!! I have been a track runner/coach for over 40 year. Mainly in the L.A. area. Let's talk!!
The Spurs & Heat---which team do you think will be trying harder in game 2? I say The Heat. Why? Because they can't afford to go down 2 & 0 to the Spurs, and they know this. They are going to pull out all stops. I'm not saying they are going to win, I'm saying they will be trying right up to the end of the game, because of what they have to lose. The Spurs if they get behind towards the end of the game could get a little complacent--- Well were still tied 1-1. Know what I'm talking about!
For you Steven---mentally you have got to group all three of your races. Remember when the going gets tough the tough get tougher!! Do not look at the 100m dash as your first race and so on. Go with the mindset of All three of these races are mine and a must win(Have confidence) Remember as you stretch and warm-up for the first race that you were warming up--- to win all three races!!! Mentally if you can do this I feel you will be the next--- Athlete Of the Year!!--- Best of Luck
Before I go I like to pass on two YouTube sites that I feel can help you.
They are both by DeStorm--- How to Sprint part one
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6BmtGNjm7BE
AND-- How to Sprint part two
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmErE5ogKJE
I have answered a few questions on coming out of the blocks I'm going to pass one of my answers on to you hope it can help you with your reaction time!!
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=ApxWduTjhFxteKcFxpKIPffty6IX;_ylv=3?qid=20101114112639AApICDN
Very important to come out your blocks--- I truly hope all this helps you-- but I really really really hope that you become--- Athlete of the Year
again Best of Luck
Peace

What is your favorite and worst sport?




I will ask


If you don't watch sports, then just say that.

My favorite sport has always been baseball. I love the environment, the nostalgia, the mental strategy, and you don't have to be a marathon runner to excel.

My worst sport is definitely soccer. The ONLY aspect of it is running, and there isn't much to it other than that.



Answer
My favorite sports were:
Athletics
Basketball
Volleyball
Badminton
Trampolining
Equestrian
Martial arts

Sports I disliked were:
Rugby
Gymnastics
Swimming
Cycling




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, October 17, 2013

I need help with measuremnet for the different hurdles and distances between hurdles?

sports watches for runners women on ... Media Holds Back Women's Sports Leagues - Society - Sour Grapes Winery
sports watches for runners women image



annatjiepr


I have a 13 year old boy and girl and a 11 year old boy as well as a 11year old girl I coach. I need the height, the distance from the start to firs hurdle, the distances between the different hurdle for the different ages. I cant find it anywhere. Please help


Answer
For Olymians, I found this:
Ten equally spaced wooden barriers stand between the world class hurdler and the finish line. They may hit the hurdles repeatedly, and many do. Although they are not penalized by officials, hitting the hurdles is not a good idea for several reasons. It hurts, slows the runner down and occasionally throws a runner's rhythm off and causes a crash.

The 110m hurdles for men and 100m hurdles are for women known as sprint hurdles as opposed to the 400m hurdles events which are sometimes called the âintermediate hurdles.â

The 110m hurdles are 1.07m high and placed 9.14m apart while the womenâs sprint hurdles are .84m high and 8.5m apart. They can be lowered for use in the 400m distance to .91m in the menâs event and .76m high for the women. Hurdles in the 400m hurdles races are placed 35m apart and the same location for both men and women.

Lane assignments are critical, as they are in sprints. Itâs advantageous to run in the middle lanes with competitors on either side. Some hurdlers, however, are so talented they can win from any lane. Xiang Liu of China, the reigning Olympic champion, won the 2007 IAAF World Championships in Osaka from lane 9 in an excellent time of 12.95 seconds.

The starter in all hurdles races will use the standard âOn Your Marksâ and âSetâ commands before firing the gun. Any athlete who leaves the starting blocks before the gun or faster than the allowable reaction time of 0.100 seconds is judged to have committed a false start. The first false start is charged to the entire field. Any athlete who false starts subsequently is disqualified.
Staying in their lanes

In the one lap event, the hurdlers will lead with their left legs which helps keep them from going out of their lanes. Because they run the entire race in lanes the hurdles are staggered so that each athlete runs the same distance to the first hurdle. The trick to see who is leading the race is to watch who reaches their respective barriers first.

The 400m hurdlers are also very good 400m flat racers. Kerron Clement of the United States, who won the 2007 world championships in a time of 47.61 seconds, beat Michael Johnsonâs world indoor 400m record three years ago. His time was 44.57 seconds.

Hurdlers will run heats and semi-finals before racing in the final.
http://www.cbc.ca/olympics/athletics/story/2008/05/07/f-olympics-hurdles-essentials.html
Then there is this one:
http://www.trackinfo.org/hurdles101.html
It is very informative.
This one is a sample, I think it is for adults:
http://www.computomarx.com/Sampletx.htm
This one is for kids,,sorta:
http://www.worldalmanacforkids.com/WAKI-ViewArticle.aspx?pin=x-tr077500a&article_id=618&chapter_id=13&chapter_title=Sports&article_title=Track_and_Field_Basics
This is a patent for an adjustable one, kinda neat.
http://www.freepatentsonline.com/5199930.html

What should you avoid if you're pregnant and why?




Just anoth


Hi there! So I'm doing a project. I'm creating a guide for pregnant women. What should they stay away from? What should they, er, not stay away from?
I'm not just talking food or drink-wise here. I mean any actions in general.
I figured Y!A was the perfect place to ask this. Real advice from real people, you know?



Answer
⢠Amusement park rides: Waterslides and other rides at amusement parks are a no-no, since a forceful landing or sudden start or stop could harm your baby
⢠Bicycling: Cycling isn't a good idea for newbies, but experienced riders may be able to continue until their second trimester, when a shifting center of gravity affects balance and can make cycling dangerous
⢠Contact sports: Soccer, basketball, and hockey put you at a high risk of injury from a ball or puck, a collision with another player, or a fall during play
⢠Downhill skiing: ACOG advises against downhill skiing anytime during pregnancy because of the risk of serious injuries and hard falls. If you choose to ski, stick to gentle slopes and be aware that you may have problems with balance as your belly expands. A safer choice is cross-country skiing, which is also much better for building cardiovascular fitness. Avoid skiing at altitudes above 6,000 feet, where there's less oxygen for you and your baby
⢠Gymnastics: Same risk of falling and increased chance of trauma to your abdomen
⢠Horseback riding: Even if you're a good rider, it's not worth risking a fall
⢠Post-sport tubs and saunas: Soaking in hot tubs and Jacuzzis or sitting in a sauna can be dangerous to your developing baby because overheating has been linked to birth defects
⢠Running: If you weren't a runner before you got pregnant, now's not the time to take it up. Otherwise, it's fine in moderation. From your second trimester on, when the risk of falling increases, you should run with caution. As with all forms of exercise, avoid becoming overheated, and drink plenty of water to replace fluids lost through sweating
⢠Scuba diving: This is an absolute no. As you surface, air bubbles can form in your bloodstream, which can be very dangerous for both you and your growing baby.
⢠Snowboarding: Same risk of falling and increased chance of trauma to your abdomen
⢠Surfing: Same risk of falling and increased chance of trauma to your abdomen.
⢠Tennis: A moderately paced game of tennis is okay if you played before you became pregnant. But you may have problems with balance and sudden stops, so watch your step. Most women find that it's hard to keep up their game as their bellies get bigger in the second and third trimesters
⢠Waterskiing: Another activity that puts you at risk for falling and increases the chance of trauma to your abdomen




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are good korean dramas or variety shows to watch?

watch running korean drama on Watch Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Hong kong Drama and Movies here ...
watch running korean drama image



KwangminsG


I've watched a lot of kdrama and shows, but seemed to run out of what to watch.

some dramas/shows I've watched are:
- You are beautiful/ He's Beautiful/ You're Beautiful
- Heartstrings
- cheongdamdong Alice
- Playful kiss/ Mischievious Kiss
- Dream High
- Dream High 2 (very boring)
- Boys over Flowers/ Boys Before Flowers
- 2pm Wild Bunny
- We got married (all the seasons)
- Hello Baby (all seasons)
- Boyfriend's Wonder Boy
- 2NE1 TV
And alot more I forgot!



Answer
For dramas, these are the ones you can't miss out on!
-Rooptop Prince (I though otherwise but once I started, i couldn't stop!!!)
-Arang and the Magistrate (same with rooptop prince...it definitely caught me... good plot too!)
-May Queen (this one is dramatic but has a good plot. hot characters)
-King 2 Hearts (great drama! the fight for the couple to keep together is awesome!)
-Delightful Girl Choon-Hyang (although old, Jae Hee is worth it!)
-My Princess (a very delightful drama)
-Lie to Me (i'll recommend this for a break from very dramatic dramas)
-The Greatest Love (good acting!!!)
-Prosecutor Princess (a good plot and chemistry)
-Personal Taste (a enjoyable drama)
-Can You Hear My Heart (heart-warming!!!)
-Creating Destiny (the couples got married in real life!!)
-Protect the Boss (cute!)


I highly recommend Rooptop Prince, Arang and the Magistrate, May Queen and King 2 Hearts!!! They are going to be the best drama you've ever watched!!!

For Variety shows.... ones with super junior in them are the best.
star king
strong heart
Introducing a Star's Friend
Idol Show...Idol Army
Thank you for waking my up

Where can I learn Korean online?




Emma.rob4e


I enjoy watching Korean dramas and thought of learning them. Do you know any?
Need to learn 'em quickly. Well, i did a bet with my friend on this. So, help me out.



Answer
okay well im learning korean myself. i have a few websites i use to learn it and it is run by actual bi/trilingual koreans and english speakers living in korea. they have lessons and videos and everything. and if you want to practice conversations there are many koreans willing to help you in exchange for you helping them with english.

I suggest talktomeinkorean and start with this----------------> http://www.talktomeinkorean.com/lessons/learn-hangeul/how-to-read-and-write-hangeul-part-1/

then http://hompi.sogang.ac.kr/korean/ i love this 1 almost as much

this 1 is nice enough http://world.kbs.co.kr/learn_korean2/

and lastly this 1 is my top fav since they give small quizes but you have to pay after a certain time unless you register with a new email everytime you want full access for a limited time. https://www.learn-korean-now.com/

there is 1 more --------------> www.123learnkorean.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Women in middle eastern countries in olympics?

sports watches for women running on Forerunner 610 GPS Women Mens Sports Watches for Runners Running ...
sports watches for women running image



Bobby Shaw


Ok so i was watching the 400 and both pakistan and saudi arabia were covered in clothing. Don't you thinks it sucks that the women still have to run the 400,800 etc covered in clothing, doesn't it slow their performance?


Answer
I think that if we look at it as encouraging women to take part in sports in Muslim countries, that is an achievement in itself. So, let them wear their veils - it's of minor consequence in the grand scheme of things. It normalises women in sport. And that's a good thing.

What do guys think about girls that play sports with guys?




I'm Your W


From the perspective of the guys playing and guys watching. Just asking cause I play with guys and you have to prove yourself a lot before you can get any credit or be taken seriously, which is fine. I kinda get it, we're on your terf, right? But do they really think like that? And why all the gender jeers?


Answer
They certainly think more highly of you than they do of those fat girls sitting on the sidelines or on their macbook pro's at home. LOL

With that said dont take it personal. Guys are like 10x more competitive than girls and will say anything and everything to get a competitive mental edge.

I used to play basketball at like a 40% black school and even the whites and black kids would make racist jeers at each other. It was all in testosterone filled fun and fights almost neverrr started from it but women probably wouldnt understand. If a liberal woman was there she would scream "omg! how dare you guys! racists" haha. The blacks would say "you crackas cant jump to save your moms life" and sh*t. And "silly white boy needs to go home to his mama after I block your shot" and the white guys would say "yo at least we arent playing in the dark cuz then you guys would be running into each other" or "damn son you can jump but you cant play basketball worth a sh*t, no teamwork, wassup" and stuff like that.

so its all in good competition. relax and chive on. best answer




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How much to run to become a champ?

running watches mileage on ... and 6.5L TD fuel economy while running empty could range from
running watches mileage image



blmtr56


I am a high school wrestler. I want to be a state champion. How many days and for how long a week should I run? I'm going to continue lifting after my injured shoulder heals. Also what other things should I do?


Answer
Run, run, and run. It's the only way you're going to be able to improve your stamina so that you can run without getting tired. The reason that you're probably going to feel so tired after your runs is because your body is out of shape, and when you're out of shape it really hurts to exercise. But here's the good news, anyone can be a good runner, you just have to be willing to put the work in so that you can build up your endurance. Endurance is the key to all running, it's the foundation for everything that you'll do whether it's long distance or short sprints, if you don't have endurance you're not going to be able to do either very well. I suggest that you start where you can, if you can only run .5 mile, than run .5 mile 4-5 times a week until it gets easy for you to do, then increase your distance to a full mile. Keep running that mile until it gets easier for you to do, start with what you can and allow your body to adjust and grow stronger. Remember you don't have to run fast, in fact you can run as slow as you want, just don't walk. Do this for a couple of weeks and you'll find that it's much easier for you to do, you won't have cramps or stitches, your legs will start feeling better and your times will be dropping. This is a sign that your endurance is starting to grow, at that point you can start upping your mileage and trying to drop your times.

Usually it takes about 6 weeks for your endurance to really build up and and for it to start having effects on your stamina and cardiovascular health. But I guarantee you'll start seeing results WAY before then, after only a couple weeks, of running 4-5 times a week, you'll start to notice that running a mile is much easier, cramps are much less frequent and that you're not nearly as winded. So by the time that you run the race at your school you should be able to drop your times substantially. But I cannot stress enough, the only way you're going to build up your endruance is through continued running. You can't run once a week and believe that you're going to be in good shape, you have to be out at least 3-4 times weekly.

Set a mileage goal for yourself, DON'T go by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful if you don't have a gps sport watch.

So, as for a training plan, your schedule could look a little something like this:
For the first month or so I would focus mainly on building endurance, the only way you're going to be able to do that is through running often. Don't feel like you have to go out and run three miles on your first day, you're the only person who knows your body and knows what it can and can't do. So for right now, do what you can, and start building up your strength. Then, when you feel like you're in better shape you can start upping your distances.

Monday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Tuesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Wednesday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Thursday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Friday: Distance run (1-3 miles as slow as you would like, without walking)
Saturday: Rest or distance run
Sunday: Rest

If you follow this schedule for a couple of months you'll find that running 2 or 3 miles is not big deal at all, you won't have cramps, you won't run out of breath and you'll feel great. That said, the only way you're going to improve is to work hard and stay dedicated, running once a week is not going to build up your endurance. Stick with it and I think you'll be amazed at the results. I hope that helps, feel free to message me if you have anymore questions!

Is a K and N air filter really worth the money?




coach


Does it pay for itself in the long run on gas mileage?


Answer
No, the computer will watch the O2 sensor and keep the fuel/air mix the same.
You might get 5% more horsepower wide open, but unimpressive.

Just accelerate slower and don't rush to the next red light.

If the plugs and wires are 3 years old, change them and the air filter.
That is often a MPG boost and keeps the engine firing evenly on all cylinders.
Change the oil every 3 thousand Synthetics at 5 thousand.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

What are some relatively cheap running watches that measures distance accurately?

garmin running watches 110 on Garmin GPS Running Watches Forerunner 405 (Green)
garmin running watches 110 image









Answer
If you want cheap, you're looking at a pedometer or something that's pedometer-based.

If you want accurate, you're looking at something that includes GPS (like any Garmin Forerunner above the Forerunner 60), but your expense will go up.

I think the Forerunner 110 is the cheapest Forerunner that would do what you want, but it's around $150 new, or you can find a refurbished model.

If you're looking to spend that much though, do some research, and maybe think about coughing up a little more to have a more solid long-term investment. And you might not think you'll use a heartrate monitor, but one is likely more helpful than you expect.

Which garmin forerunner watch should I purchase?




Runningirl


I'm a HS sophmore cross country runner who is looking for a garmin forerunner. I go on runs from 3-8 miles a time, so it should be comforatable. I'm also a girl who has small wrists, so it would be benificial if it wasn't bulkly. So just wanting a watch. I prefer garmins, but open to other brands as well!!! All comments appreciated:)


Answer
I love the 405 CX (with the heart rate monitor). It is much better for training than the 110 as you can program in workouts and get audible alerts at based on time or distance.

It is comfortable enough but certainly not attractive. If your wrists are too small then you can swap out the rubber band for the velcro one. The 110 looks better but honestly I don't care about looks while training.

If you are serious about using a gizmo for training then it is worth the price.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

In your experience, which car GPS has been the most reliable?

running watches gps ebay on ... 610 GPS Receiver Watch Multisport Running Computer Trainer | eBay
running watches gps ebay image



oh_scheiss


I purchased a Tomtom XL 250 just over a year ago and just as the warranty runs out (of course), the hardware decides to die. It is displaying a red cross and won't work and despite an extremely long conversation with the Tomtom Helpdesk, I am unable to resolve this problem as it is probably a hardware issue, not a software issue.

Which GPS (brand and model) have you found to work the longest? I am disappointed with Tomtom as I expected it to last longer than a year. I am looking for a GPS between $200-$400.

Thanks for your help!



Answer
I have a Garmin nuvi 1450LMT (lifetime maps and traffic) that I purchased from Office Depot (they price-matched hh gregg). Its easy to use and with the 5-inch screen, easy for me to see. I don't know about the other brands of GPS units, but if it comes with any lifetime updates, you must register it within 60 days of activation in order to be able to receive the lifetime updates.

You should be able to purchase most brands for less than $200. Watch your newspapers ads, or check the stores' websites (Office Depot, Best Buy, hh gregg, etc.) for sales. Also go to Amazon or eBay.

Advice on which heart rate monitor to buy for my daughter?




chustplayi


I would like to buy a heart rate monitor watch for my daughter. It needs to display the heart rate and the stopwatch readout at the SAME time (2 lines) so that she can look at her time while she is running. I would like one that is not too large. I bought her one, but I got it on Ebay, and when it arrived it turned out to be quite large. I'd like to spend less than $100.

If you would like to give advice on units to avoid, that would be welcome also.

I did almost bid on the Polar S120, but I think it might be pretty big.

Thanks for your help.



Answer
I use the Garmin Forerunner 305 GPS. It has a heart rate monitor, stopwatch, set alerts for your pace and HR, includes distance, best pace, average pace etc. Much more than $100. But well worth it.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Tuesday, October 15, 2013

Why don't more women know how to cook and why isn't there more home cooked meals in America?

running watches for women reviews on Timex Running Watches - Men's & Women's Watches
running watches for women reviews image



Richard M





Answer
I agree with the other people who answered your question, I'll even reiterate, life today is so much more hectic than it was say 30 40 yrs. ago, when the economy was okay, and every home had two chickens in their soup pots, etc. etc. Back then {for the most part}; a family was a complete unit, the father/husband went off to work and was the chief breadwinner of the family, while mom/wife stayed home and cared for the 1.3 children and the dog. When the children and husband returned home, dinner was ready and waiting and piping hot, and most importantly HOME MADE.

Well with the breakdown of families in general, with the increase in divorce rates, and the change of the nuclear family structure, and not to mention the fact that now more and more households are being run by single parents, everyone had to learn to adapt to the times. Away went mom always being home when you returned from school {ahh I remember those days}; away went anticipating dad coming home from the office {I don't quite remember that, my dad was more of a laborer, I love him so}; and with that away went the home cooked meals, enter {dare I say it}; T.V. Dinners, and all that has evolved from ideals such as that, including McDonald's and all its competition, Boston Market and the like.

No one cooks at home anymore 'cause no one has time, alot of people {myself included} work more than one job, just to try to make ends meet, as I'm sure your aware if you own an automobile these days, you'll need one job just to pay for gas on a monthly basis, not to mention rent/house note etc. etc. those things add up, no longer can an "average" household like those of yesteryear be sustained in the same financial manner.

So yes, eventually the question of "what are we going to eat for dinner?" comes up often and nightly, and there has to be a timely solution, either throw something together from a box or bag, or run out and pick something up, or order in, its sad but true, this type of behavior I believe has caused us here in the U.S. to become perhaps the most overweight people ever, {I for one speak on that with experience}.

So basically what I'm saying is the fine are of home-cooking has all but gone away, you see home-cooking is an art of love passed down from generation to generation, its not like going to the high end cooking school and getting a degree. Many mothers/grandmothers are much too busy to have taught their daughters {and sons}; to cook, because of the aforementioned reasons. And many sons and daughters never took the time to watch dear ol' mom in the kitchen when she was cookin, so there goes the art of home-cooking slowly fading away.

But, please let me toot my own horn hear for a minute....I am one of the few the proud the HOME COOKS, I can cook, I love to cook, its very relaxing to me, I love to try new and different recipes, as a matter of fact that was one of my New Years' Resolutions, I'm mostly a soul food cook, but I am always willing to try new and exciting things with food. Just recently I prepared a full Cajun meal for more than 20 of my co-workers {boy that was hard work, I was up all night cooking}; the rave reviews I received made all the hard work worth while. Every year during the holidays I bring in homemade cheesecakes and sweet potato pies, cookies, etc. etc. everyone seems to love my fried chicken, and shhhh! most of the folks here are vegetarians {go figure}.

Anyway, I hope I was able to answer your question to your satisfaction.

Keep looking you'll find a young lady that likes to cook, not just go out to dinner. In the mean time, try watching the food channel, or purchasing some cooking books {I'm not saying you don't know how to cook, but just in case}; they can be fun and enlightening.

Have a great day......

Does any one remember the Law and Order SVU episode about the women who got caught pretending to be a teen?




Carley


She was caught in the hospital after a car accident.They doctor was able to tell from her teeth structure.The doctor told detective Benson
and Stabler and they confronted her about it.Her underage boyfriend's lawyer was angry and was trying to get them to charge her with statutory rape.I only know the episode from the middle and end,but not the begging.
What happened in beginning and how was she able to get this fake identity?How did she do it?



Answer
Yes:

It's Season 8 Episode 21 "Pretend"

She was in foster care when she was 12, when she "aged out" she wanted to stay in the system to stay a kid,be taken care of so she kept running away to a new city and then the foster care system would take her in-Until she was recognized.

Here is a link to watch the show to see what you missed:

http://watch-law-and-order-special-victims-unit.com/Watch_Law_And_Order_Special_Victims_Unit_Online_Season_8_Episode_21_Pretend.html

(click on the red play button and if a new window pops up close the window IF it is an ad, then press the green play button)

Here is the Full re-cap of the story:

http://www.tv.com/law-and-order-special-victims-unit/pretend/episode/996779/recap.html?tag=episode_recap;recap

and a review with another recap

http://www.recapist.com/2007/05/17/law-order-svu-5-15-2007-foster-imposter

It is soo long to tell here but very good.

these re-caps go into full detail about the dental records.

-Dix




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the clean side of a track in motor racing ?!?!?!?!?

running watches singapore on Running man ep 88 eng sub - Running Man Ep 88 Eng Sub / Watch Full Big ...
running watches singapore image



Rohit R


I was watching the Singapore Post Qualifying interview with the top 3 drivers . Lewis said that he was happy as he was "starting on the clean side of the track ". What is the clean side and how good or bad is it ?!?!?!


Answer
The clean side is the side where...
A cars keep running so rubber accumulates and the track has more grip
B dust and is blown away
C when its raining the line used by drivers becomes drier because of the effect of hot tires drying that part of the track and the cars spraying away water... hence the 'Clean' side of the track

What is the point of twittering and does anyone have an account on twitter.com?




J. Reed ak


I notice that twitter is getting more and more popular. How is it different from all those other networking sites such as Facebook, and Myspace?


Answer
Well my first introduction was through a podcast I listened to - they started a website with a forum, so that's like a little community - then they started up a laconica server, and I got an identi.ca account - so we're all in touch. Now I know what people who listen to the podcast are doing, thinking - and they give me ideas related to the podcast (as a linux user, it generally revolves around problems and issues relating to me)

Twitter is different in that you can't set up your own server - it is closed, and if you leave it behind, you leave your friends behind - it's closed source. Having said that, everyone is on there. Stephen Fry just got in a taxi and is probably just boarding his flight to Singapore.

You can subscribe to anyone. The best way to find out is to follow my link here - you can make an account on both of these, use the same name/password for each, and then just watch and explore.

I've got lots of people listening to me, including StephenFry. I occasionally type in there a message saying what I'm doing - example 'can't work out how to fix identibash' and instantly got a reply which helped me to fix it (and I couldn't find anything at that time on internet. Now if you search, you'll probably find the solution)

It's nothing like instant messaging, but it's pretty current. It's a bit like a blog - which you may or may not have been interested in (for me listening to a podcast it is nice to have a chance to comment and answer points)

Currently, I run a shortcut launcher called gnome-do (works a bit like launchy) which means I can hit Alt+Space and quickly type in something - and I have software (Gwibber is my favourite, but I've tried spaz and others...) but can also keep it running in tabs in my Firefox browser.

Just try it, it's far superior to Facebook and Myspace. For a start, you only click links you want to click. You don't have to load horrible heavy flashy webpages.

You can simply leave it running and ignore it, check for messages written to you.

If you log in, please say hi to me

just type:

@ben2talk - thanks for the tip (from Yahoo Answers)

I find identica offers good privacy for me, but if you notice - all my posts appear to people who use Twitter. (That's what it means 'Twitter is closed' - nobody else can hear you, but with an open format, it does all - I see all and receive all by using identi.ca to post to both accounts)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Who are the top 10 players to play Survivor?

running watches top 10 on Another running essential is my Ipod especially when I am on the ...
running watches top 10 image



Christian


I want to know your opinion on who you think is the most athletic, most popular, or just you favorite person to watch on Survivor. I would like to know your top 5-10. I would definitely put Boston Rob and Ozzy on mine. What about you? Thanks! And also, do any of you Boston Rob fans think that he will be returning to any of the future Survivor Seasons? If so, let me know. Thanks again!


Answer
boston rob:
he managed to run the show in all stars and yet no one seemed to come up with the idea to vote him out. he convinced everyone to trust him even though he stabbed everyone but amber in the back. hes strong and leads the tribe well. hes got a strong likeable personality.

rob cesterino
he practically invented backstabbing. once he realised he was close to the bottom of an alliance he changed it up. and still got people to trust him every new alliance. and managed to only be discovered doing this near the end of the game.

cirie
this womans probably got the best social game. from her first season she was going to go first until she convinced the other 2 to vote with her. she was going to go second when she joined casaya because she was "weak". and she managed to wiggle her way into an alliance. she focused on getting rid of the unlikeable players to make sure they wouldn't get taken to the end and she evolved into a strong competitor. then in f v f it looked like she was at the bottom of both alliances and she got in there with parv and amanda. she ame up with the idea to get rid of ozzy and trick erik. and she was so likeable that she didn't make it to the final tribal council.

Amanda Kimmel
To make it to the end two seasons in a row. you know shes got strategy. she aligned with the right people in china and in F v F. shes strong physically and made sure that she was in a place to win the immunity challenges at the end. She said it herself, she is a quiet strategic player. Like Boston rob in a girls body.

parvati shallow
She knows what she wants in this game and goes after it. the smartest move she made was aligning with alexis and natalie in F v F. it gave her original alliance an advantage as well as putting her in a good spot to win. she knew that the guys would dominate in challenges so she took them out. and wow what a list of blindsides. i understand ozzy not playing the idol but they were able to convince jason not to play it either. and erik..it was amazing. She knows how to read people, she knew Amanda was lying to her about the heroes voting for her ad who the heroes were actually going to vote for. She always seems calm and in control. Russell gets paranoid and freaks out, Parvati is cool and collected.

Sandra Diaz-Twine
she pretends like she has no strategy and that shes a nice person. But she isn't a nice person when it comes to the game. she knows peoples weaknesses. like with russell. she knew he is overly paranoid and egotistical. all she had to do was pretend that coach wanted him gone and russell believed her. this saved courtney one more vote and so saving sandra. as long as its not her she'll vote for anyone. she let christa take the fall after dumping ruperts fish because she knew it would advance her in the game.

Richard Hatch
He invented the way this game should be played. Thats all there is to it. everyone else showed up for a good time and he showed up to win the million. He said it himself, on day one that the check had his name on it.

Were Kyle Busch and JJ running different strategies all year?




DeathlyRan


Kyle:
Run as hard as you can every week during the regular season, with several races, and take a dump in the chase.

Jimmie Johnson:
Run top 10 every week, don't push your equipment, get a win if you can in the regular season, and dominate the chase.

So does this show contrasting driving styles? Or is Kyle's crew chief just not that good in the chase?



Answer
Kyle Busch and Steve Addington go out to win every week just like everyone else does.They are a good fit and had a great regular season.They have just had some bad luck since a couple of races before the Chase.I promise you they have still been trying to go out there every week,lead all the practices,win the pole,lead the most laps,and win the race.
Jimmie had a slow start to the season this year because they were struggling with figuring out the COT on the 1.5-mile and 2-mile tracks(partially due to the lack of testing the year before because they were focusing on winning the championship).If you go back and watch the Las Vegas race(don't forget Jimmie won 3 years in a row there before this year),you will see just how bad it was.They were junk from the time they rolled the car out of the hauler.They spent most of the regular season trying to catch up with the other teams.Except for the win at Phoenix on fuel-mileage,they really didn't start picking things up until around June.They have figured the COT out now and they have had great success since.Other than that,the 48 team knows how the Chase works and how to win it.Kyle will have another shot at the championship next season.I don't expect him to have the kind of season he has had this year with as many wins,but you will see the 18 up front a lot next season and battling for the championship.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, October 14, 2013

How many calories a day do i need?

best sports watches for women runners on Women - Buy Casio Sheen Analog Watch - For Women SX029 Online at Best ...
best sports watches for women runners image



anna118@sb


I am 5'2 and weight 175 pounds and I want to loose 55 pounds. How many calories a day do i need to loose weight at a 2 pound per week rate?


Answer
hi! i'm a 20-something american woman who lives in italy... during high school and university i was hopeless, but due to some weird circumstances in my life i ended up becoming a track runner and moving to italy. i've learned a lot about this stuff.

you can really easily be screwed by a number of factors in the states... NO, i'm not going to tell you to workout or go run (though remember that to lose weight, youâd need aerobic exercise). as far as diet goes, there are a few things you should know...

the only way to lose weight is to burn more calories than you eat. (couting calories isnât fun, but I think most people have no idea how many they need, and how many they intake. do it for a month, then youâll be better able to âeyeballâ it later.) you'll need to find how many calories you need to eat every day- (this depends on your gender, height, age, etc) there are a lot of calculators online, but i like the ones that ask a lot of questions and are sponsored by universities (this one is sponsored by the university of iowa. (teen girls/boys are growing, so make sure youâre well informed about your needs, this calculator should be adequate for the moment):

this is a â3-in-1-calculatorâ to find your BMI, daily calorie intake, and if youâd like, forecast weight loss--

http://www.extension.iastate.edu/nutrition/sport/energy.asp

the "average" calorie intake listed on the back of every package in an american grocery store is 2,500 calories daily. IF YOU ARE A TEEN, this is probably very wrong. your calorie needs are probably much less. (the 2,500 cal 'average american' takes in a lot of old, fat, tall men.) MY average is 2,200- but i work out 5 times per week.

there's also a good site that will tell you the amount of calories in home made and restaurant meals:

http://www.thedailyplate.com

PLEASE find a good online calculator, but a 5'7'' girl at 130 lbs who does NO physical activity would need about 1,500 to MAINTAIN her weight.

to put this in perspective: a 'super size' big mac meal at mc donald's has 1,600 calories. great, if you only want to eat one meal per day.

after you figure out how many calories you need to eat every day; here are some simple rules:

1. cut out any beverage that's not water. if you think you can't do it; make iced tea or lemonade at home. (20 oz of coke = 250 calories, a venti mocha frappuccino at starbucks = 500. that's a lot of calories, when you consider a big mac has 600, and a plate of pasta with tomato sauce about 400... though that's an ENORMOUS plate of pasta- versus one very SMALL hamburger.)

2. don't eat any sauce you can't see through. (mayo has about 100 calories per tablespoon, 1 packet of ranch dressing at mc donald's = 230, barbecue, etc)

3. don't eat while watching television, and don't eat 'straight out of the bag'... put a portion on a plate- you'll be more aware of how much you're eating.

4. don't buy 'snack sizes' you'll eat 20% more snack size oreos than the big ones... they've planned it that way. (though oreo does now make '100 calorie per bag' oreos. they don't have cream filling.)

5. prepare your own food. american food labeling is crap. 'reduced fat' can mean that it's reduced from the ORIGINAL product, which doesn't get you anywhere, if the original product was a coronary in a bag. when you prepare it yourself, you know what you're eating.

6. if you do decide to do something active, make it something you like, join a group, go at least twice a week, and you have to go even if you don't feel like it. if you don't follow these rules, you won't stick to it, i promise.

7. don't look at your weight, look at your BMI. (your body mass index) an average girl should have a bmi of about 20%-- meaning that 20% of her body weight is composed of fat. (a HEALTHY 5'2'' girl that's 100 lbs, will carry about 20 lbs of fat. it's dangerous to get below 13%. if the same 5'2'' girl weighs 160, it's unhealthy- but not because of the pounds, because the PERCENTAGE of fat is WAY too high.) anyway, if you're bmi is healthy, you're healthy. 8. eat every 3 hours, if you can, small portions. set the alarm on your cell if you need to. take a power bar (or similar) in you purse ALWAYS. (i like LUNA bars, they're $1 per, but taste good, and will actually save you money, as they've got all the vitamins and minerals of a full meal.) if you HAVE to eat fast food, order kid's portions.

regarding body image:

i know a lot of professional female athletes, and although they don't have tummies, many have a diffcult time getting a 6-pack (abs), and most of them have cellulite on their thighs. cellulite can be made worse by eating saturated fat (butter), and those deposits can be nearly permanent. the quickest way to reduce the appearance of cellulite, i think would be tanning cream.

if you have any amount of fat, it will show up first on your stomach. there are a lot of people that have strong stomach muscles, but the smallest bit of fat will cover over it right away. so a 300lb woman might have stomach muscles of britney spears (i'm not talking about a 'ripped' tummy, but a cute flat beachy one... :p ), but seeing as the stomach is the first place fat goes, you'd need to get rid of the fat before you'd be able to see what's underneath. a '6 pack', therefore is really a sign of someone in very, very good health.

i won't tell you to exercise, but remember- the more you move your body, the more you can eat without worry!

all diet programs that you PAY for offer do everything i've just said for you, esp. weight watchers, whose 'point system' is exactly what i've done above.

this may seem like too much counting, but soon itâll come naturally! If you screw up one day, donât sweat it, just pick up the next and really do your best!

hope i didn't sound preachy, and i hope it helped.

p.s. when you look for info online, especially calculators, make sure the source is reliable (like www.webmd.com), and make sure to type in 'teenager'. you have special, different dietary needs.

useful links:

exercise videos on utube: http://www.youtube.com/coreyritter
(though itâs really easy to avoid exercise if you plan to do it at home- go outside! make sure you do low-impact activities like swimming or walking)

a bmi/weight calculator especially for teenagers:

http://www.jhsmiami.org/body.cfm?xyzpdqabc=0&id=9190&action=detail&AEProductID=HW_Knowledgebase&AEArticleID=tf6820&AEArticleType=Special

I need help with measuremnet for the different hurdles and distances between hurdles?




annatjiepr


I have a 13 year old boy and girl and a 11 year old boy as well as a 11year old girl I coach. I need the height, the distance from the start to firs hurdle, the distances between the different hurdle for the different ages. I cant find it anywhere. Please help


Answer
For Olymians, I found this:
Ten equally spaced wooden barriers stand between the world class hurdler and the finish line. They may hit the hurdles repeatedly, and many do. Although they are not penalized by officials, hitting the hurdles is not a good idea for several reasons. It hurts, slows the runner down and occasionally throws a runner's rhythm off and causes a crash.

The 110m hurdles for men and 100m hurdles are for women known as sprint hurdles as opposed to the 400m hurdles events which are sometimes called the âintermediate hurdles.â

The 110m hurdles are 1.07m high and placed 9.14m apart while the womenâs sprint hurdles are .84m high and 8.5m apart. They can be lowered for use in the 400m distance to .91m in the menâs event and .76m high for the women. Hurdles in the 400m hurdles races are placed 35m apart and the same location for both men and women.

Lane assignments are critical, as they are in sprints. Itâs advantageous to run in the middle lanes with competitors on either side. Some hurdlers, however, are so talented they can win from any lane. Xiang Liu of China, the reigning Olympic champion, won the 2007 IAAF World Championships in Osaka from lane 9 in an excellent time of 12.95 seconds.

The starter in all hurdles races will use the standard âOn Your Marksâ and âSetâ commands before firing the gun. Any athlete who leaves the starting blocks before the gun or faster than the allowable reaction time of 0.100 seconds is judged to have committed a false start. The first false start is charged to the entire field. Any athlete who false starts subsequently is disqualified.
Staying in their lanes

In the one lap event, the hurdlers will lead with their left legs which helps keep them from going out of their lanes. Because they run the entire race in lanes the hurdles are staggered so that each athlete runs the same distance to the first hurdle. The trick to see who is leading the race is to watch who reaches their respective barriers first.

The 400m hurdlers are also very good 400m flat racers. Kerron Clement of the United States, who won the 2007 world championships in a time of 47.61 seconds, beat Michael Johnsonâs world indoor 400m record three years ago. His time was 44.57 seconds.

Hurdlers will run heats and semi-finals before racing in the final.
http://www.cbc.ca/olympics/athletics/story/2008/05/07/f-olympics-hurdles-essentials.html
Then there is this one:
http://www.trackinfo.org/hurdles101.html
It is very informative.
This one is a sample, I think it is for adults:
http://www.computomarx.com/Sampletx.htm
This one is for kids,,sorta:
http://www.worldalmanacforkids.com/WAKI-ViewArticle.aspx?pin=x-tr077500a&article_id=618&chapter_id=13&chapter_title=Sports&article_title=Track_and_Field_Basics
This is a patent for an adjustable one, kinda neat.
http://www.freepatentsonline.com/5199930.html




Powered by Yahoo! Answers