Wednesday, October 30, 2013

How likely is it that Costco will keep me an an employee?

running watches costco on Click here for warehouse savings valid through 10/27/13
running watches costco image



Victoria


I have an interview for Costco, but it's for a seasonal position. I was told that if they like you, they will keep you, but I have my doubts. To those who have worked here, or still work here, what is the environment like? Do they often keep seasonal employees? What were your interviews like? Thanks!
Hey, Common Sense, there are plenty of places that keep seasonal workers. How about you know what you're talking about before replying? You'll look like less ignorant if you do so.



Answer
That guy is an idiot, which makes his name sort of funny. Almost all of our permanent employees are selected from seasonal hires.

I hired on seasonally in 06' and I'll be honest, some stores aren't easy to win over. There were more than 50 of us and only 6 were kept. So it's definitely a competition. Fortunately there are a few things that you can do that will set you apart from other seasonals:

*When you are asked to run on an item, actually run. Management is all about getting the members through quickly, and they look to see that you have a "sense of urgency" when getting items and helping members. It's something they notice and take note of.
*NEVER be idle. If there is noone in line, pick up trash around your register, use windex to clean off the conveyor belts. Run back any returns immediately instead of leaving them for a supervisor or manager to see..
*Suck up to your cashier and do whatever is asked without argument or attitude. Cashiers are often asked about seasonals, and are a big factor in deciding which to keep.
*Clean out the baskets as they come through your line. Sups have nothing better to do than watch for this and take note of who does and doesn't.
*Work quickly but do NOT cut corners. The quickest way to seal your fate as a seasonal is to be caught leaving unbailed cardboard lying around, ignoring returns in aisles, not condensing before fronting things, or leaving tasks that you are given for the next guy (such as flats of boxes, baskets of returns, or unfinished sections when closing).
*Don't be late. time-clock readings are taken into account when you're considered. At any point they know how many times you've been late clocking in or coming back from lunch.
*Do NOT call in. you don't technically get sick time till after the probationary period, so either talk to your scheduler if there is a concern or try to trade shifts with a fellow employee. Management always notices sick calls and will take it as a red flag for keeping you. It doesn't mean you won't make it, but it is a strike against you.

Also, as a seasonal, something to keep in mind is that the scheduling is going to suck. They'll work around school or second jobs, but you're pretty much guaranteed to close every night and work weekends. We've all had to do it. The last thing you want to do is complain. Also, since you don't have any seniority yet, getting time off around the holidays is virtually impossible. Certain times are really desirable and everyone in the store puts in for them (Thanksgiving weekend, Christmas Eve, New Years Eve). So if you're putting in for time that everyone wants, and it's given based on seniority, your odds are somewhere between zero and none.

We get a LOT of seasonals who take issue with this, but holidays and weekends are our busiest times. That's the main reason seasonals are even needed. Seasonals who put up a fight about scheduling don't usually make it very far.

All of that being said, the environment is really what you make it. It might sound intense, but you don't need to be perfect. Just make sure they always catch you working, and you come across as a positive motivated employee, who actually wants the job. Costco employees are generally a fun and outgoing bunch. We get some uber bitch customers now and then, but that's retail for you. It's fast-paced, exhausting at times, but it only gets better as you go.

The season is the worst part, if you can get past that, it gets so much easier. As you gain experience you're able to transfer to different departments, which are generally more laid-back and less demanding. The pay is hard-to-beat and you get a guaranteed raise every 1040 hours. The benefits are awesome, they work around school and other jobs. They pay time-and-a-half on sundays, offer 401k and retirement benefits, and have full medical, vision, and dental coverage. Working entry-level retail, that's pretty hard to compete with.

Here is another ridiculously long-widnded answer on the interview process: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AiL9dji0BQvC4iOgJDv_zsjty6IX;_ylv=3?qid=20101018130556AAA2Z7j

If there's anything else you'd like to know, just send me a message. Good luck to you, I hope it works out!

What kind of security camera system should I buy to watch my house from a laptop?




el aji


I've heard-of a security camera system that I could watch my home from a laptop while at work. What company should I refer to get this setup, and will any laptop work?


Answer
Hello

Not all DVRs are created equal, in fact there are many options that offer varying performance much like the automobile industry. In the world of DVRs you can find the equivalent of a $10,000 Kia and a $350,000 Ferrari and everything in between. Both have 4 wheels and windshield but that where the similarities end, itâs under the hood that counts. Just like any other consumer electronic in the end you get what you pay for.

I suggest you buy a PC based DVR has they have more processing power and normally have a much smaller file size and offer more features then Standalone DVR's. I know many people buy a cheap standalone DVR, only to upgrade to a PC based in 6 months especially when they are using it to manage a store remotely. Also PC based allows you to record up to 64 cameras where a standalone will have a limit of 16.

Many people have the misconception that a PC-Based DVR is simply an off-the-shelf PC with video capture (encoder) cards, display (decoder) cards and some generic OEM software. A true DVR requires years of research and development to facilitate the seamless integration of both the hardware and software. DVRs are highly complex systems that must run 24/7, processing millions of images per day. This makes consumer-level hardware inadequate for DVRs which is why Ascendent uses custom-built PCs with performance-level hardware.

My personal favorite DVR is Ascendent X4 series: Ascendentâs Tri-Fusion Hybrid Platform allows for the creation of a true hybrid surveillance system by utilizing the advantages of Analog, Megapixel, and IP technologies for unparalleled customization and expandability. I am working on government projects and use Ascendent cameras and DVR because the offer superior performance and cost less then comparable brands like bosh, Honeywell and pelco.

The X4 also uses the latest H.264/SVC codec offer video substantially better quality,. While its file size sizes is 30% smaller than MPEG-4, 60% smaller than MPEG-2, and exponentially smaller than MJPEG.

File size is crucial to streaming because most DVRâs on the market record at real time performance (30FPS per channel) so on a 4CH is trying to send 120, 8CH 240, and a 16CH 480 images per second which requires way too much bandwidth even for the most extreme internet connections.

The smaller the files size the more images are able to be sent, and the faster they can be processed improving both FPS and speed. File size is the heart of any DVR and goes far beyond just its streaming capabilities, as it also determines the recording storage time, how much you can back up at once, how fast it renders and searches video. The file size of a DVR impacts the performance of the DVR in just about every aspect from speed to longevity and is often the most important spec of any DVR.

If you are buying a DVR and streaming is a high priority I suggest you ask for a demo and connect to the DVR to make sure it is able to stream fast enough for your needs. Most DVRs say they have remote viewing but it is often too slow and laggy to be of any use especially if it is a standalone. Some good DVR brands that I recommend are Bosch, Pelco, Honeywell and Ascendent. These brands are what security professionals use, Q-see, Swan and Lorex are only used in residential applications because they are sold by Tiger Direct, Spytown, Newegg, Sams Club, Costco and other retail outlets but are not used by any security professionals also their tech support rarely speaks English as their first language...

These brand manufacturers also have a complete line of CCTV cameras for any application from residential to military.

http://www.ascendentgroup.com (Recommend)
http://www.honeywell.com
www.pelco.com
http://www.bosch.com

Hope this helps

williammorales93@ymail.com




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

No comments:

Post a Comment