Tuesday, December 31, 2013

What is the difference between Nike+ SportBand and Nike+ SportWatch?

sports watches for runners reviews on ... A2DP Stereo Motorola S9 Bluetooth Active Headphones Review - Treonauts
sports watches for runners reviews image



Rachael


The watch is a lot more expensive, so i was wondering if there was much of a difference between the two. Also, if you know any cheaper brands of sport bands/watches that work just as well, please let me know.


Answer
The nike sportsband uses the Nike Sensor that first required an ipod.
so if you don't need or want an ipod you can get this.
It Tracks distance, pace, time elapsed and calories burned. of course it connects to the nike + site
And the Nike+ sensor included is included which you can put in your Nike+ shoes or attach to other shoes with a pouch you can buy separately. It works on a treadmill but not an elliptical. Its not as accurate as a GPS but its OK. And there is no HRM feature.

The Nike sportwatch is a GPS Heart Rate Monitor Watch. I'm pretty sure they stopped including the sensor with it and I'm also pretty sure they never included a Heart Rate Monitor Strap. But it's come down in price. For it's price, I think its one of the better GPS HRM watches out there.

With the sensor it will work on treadmill, but not without. It's more accurate than the band and the sensor and the GPS work together. And if you don't want a HRM you just don''t buy the strap.

Once you figure in the price of the HRM strap a Timex GPS HTM might be a little cheaper.

I happen to be a big fan of Garmin. I have a 305 and you can probably get a good price on one.

Google "DC Rainmaker". This guy compares these watches and writes great reviews. I know he has reviewed Garmins and Nikes.

Nike's web site was just recently revamped and they are still in the process of finishing it. It was and probably will be the best web site for runners. So you might want to take that into account.

By the way, The Nike Fuel band is in it's own special category. but it keeps track with a built in accelerometer of it's own unique kind of measurement. And it works whether you are running or playing basketball or dancing or on the elliptical trainer. At the end of the day you hook it up to your computer and it puts it's data into the nike site. Basically the data you get is just relative. You did more today than yesterday kind of thing. And i guess it can give you some bragging rights on FaceBook.

What's the best kind of protein powder for someone trying to gain lean muscle.?




freefallin


Is there a difference btw the different types of sports protein powders out there? Like, whats the diff btw whey or soy or any other kind? And is one kind better for a weightlifter than, say, a vegetarian looking for a simple supplement? I'm trying to gain some lean muscle and drop a few pounds, so which brand would help me gain lean muscle without making me gain weight?


Answer
They're all scams. Your body does not store protein. So, a protein supplement can only benefit you if your diet is deficient in protein. And, if it is deficient, fix the diet. Eat food.

Protein is the most misunderstood nutrient in bodybuilding. I don't have the space to tell you all you need to know so I'll just hit the high spots and if you need more info, you can message my Yahoo account.

Don't listen to muscleheads, gym rats, bodybuilders, personal trainers, and even coaches about protein. Most of them believe what decades and $$$$millions in supplement advertising have been telling them...that they need a lot of protein to build muscle. Not true. Here's how much you need according to the best minds in the world at the US CDC, the people our doctors (in the US) listen to. --> http://www.cdc.gov/nutrition/everyone/basics/protein.html#How%20much%20protein You can easily get that amount of protein with a glass of milk and a chicken breast or piece of meat per day. If you consume more protein, you'll only excrete it or burn it and both are a waste.

Bodybuilders don't work as hard as they would like to believe. Construction workers, migrant field hands, movers, UPS drivers, etc. all work much harder every week. And none of those people worry about protein or take supplements for their jobs. They just eat a good diet and their bodies adapt with no problem. A bodybuilder can only work out 10 hours a week at the most because of the recovery time required by the muscles. Marathon runners, boxers, Olympic athletes, Navy SEALs, Army Rangers, etc. all train much harder and they do it without supplements.

Most protein supplements are scams. According to the US National Institute of Health, you should use supplements only when recommended by a doctor. ---> http://ods.od.nih.gov/Health_Information/ODS_Frequently_Asked_Questions.aspx#Need That's good advice because the government does not require testing so you won't be protected by the FDA as you are with food and drugs. Also, many supplements have been found to be contaminated and dangerous.

Check out this list of over 60 dangerous supplement products sold with bogus advertising claims which scam-site bodybuilding.com was forced to recall and take off the market --> http://www.usrecallnews.com/2009/11/bodybuilding-com-supplements-recalled-may-contain-steroids.html .

Check this link to see how Muscle Milk was busted for false advertising --> http://www.fda.gov/ICECI/EnforcementActions/WarningLetters/ucm261684.htm

All you need to make the gains you can is food. There is an abundance of information to prove this point. So, I will give you examples and cite references in the space I have left. Just be sure to ask yourself if you ever saw any good scientific evidence suggesting you need 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight or more. The answer will be no. That's a huge myth. And, all the naysayers who disagree with me will not have any good science for you. All they'll have are ads, phony reviews, bogus testimonials, false scientific sounding white papers, bad blogs, scam sites, etc. all paid for by scammers like this one. ---> http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=5196740n&tag=related;photovideo

Hereâs a white paper which debunks the myth of the protein supplement. Note the following excerpt...âAt present there is no evidence to suggest that supplements are required for optimal muscle growth or strength gain.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15212752

Here's one more study to read. Note the excerpt..."Consumption of a recovery drink (whey protein, amino acids, creatine, and carbohydrate) after strength training workouts did not promote greater gains in FFM (Fat free muscle) compared with consumption of a carbohydrate-only drink.â
Ref: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15105028

Hereâs another from Live Science. Note the excerptâ¦âMedical researchers have advised against protein supplements for years for the average person. But many sports trainers continue to push them on amateur athletes simply because they don't know any better.â
Ref: http://www.livescience.com/health/protein-supplements-100202.html#

Here's what Consumer Reports had to say ---> Ref: http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/magazine-archive/2010/july/food/protein-drinks/overview/index.htm

If you have any doubts about the citations and references above, talk to the person who understands best how your body works....your doctor.

Watch this video --> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4_UY_kIPFU

It's good to be strong but it's better to be smart and strong.

Good luck and good health!!

â 




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Were Kyle Busch and JJ running different strategies all year?

running watches mileage on ... Running VT750 Shadow 750 Spirit Burnt Orange Low Mileage Nice | eBay
running watches mileage image
Q. Kyle:
Run as hard as you can every week during the regular season, with several races, and take a dump in the chase.

Jimmie Johnson:
Run top 10 every week, don't push your equipment, get a win if you can in the regular season, and dominate the chase.

So does this show contrasting driving styles? Or is Kyle's crew chief just not that good in the chase?


Answer
Kyle Busch and Steve Addington go out to win every week just like everyone else does.They are a good fit and had a great regular season.They have just had some bad luck since a couple of races before the Chase.I promise you they have still been trying to go out there every week,lead all the practices,win the pole,lead the most laps,and win the race.
Jimmie had a slow start to the season this year because they were struggling with figuring out the COT on the 1.5-mile and 2-mile tracks(partially due to the lack of testing the year before because they were focusing on winning the championship).If you go back and watch the Las Vegas race(don't forget Jimmie won 3 years in a row there before this year),you will see just how bad it was.They were junk from the time they rolled the car out of the hauler.They spent most of the regular season trying to catch up with the other teams.Except for the win at Phoenix on fuel-mileage,they really didn't start picking things up until around June.They have figured the COT out now and they have had great success since.Other than that,the 48 team knows how the Chase works and how to win it.Kyle will have another shot at the championship next season.I don't expect him to have the kind of season he has had this year with as many wins,but you will see the 18 up front a lot next season and battling for the championship.

How many minutes should I run if I want to run for 3 miles?

Q. I wanna run for 3 miles so I need to know how many minutes I should run! Thank you!


Answer
That's really hard to tell because you're not descriptive on what your endurance is like and what your average mile time is. You should try setting a mileage goal for yourself as opposed to going by time. That way you have an actual goal instead of simply running until your time is up, it's much more motivating to be running a preset distance and it doesn't feel quite as long. Try using this website: http://www.mapmyrun.com/ Here you can map your runs and figure out where and how far you need to go, I find it's really helpful and easy to use, if you don't have a gps sport watch. Hope that helps, feel free to message me if you have anymore questions!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where can i watch korean dramas online for free?

running man watch korean on Running Man Ep 100 Eng Sub Watch Korean Drama on ... | running man >.
running man watch korean image



SoShilover


I was wondering if any of you know some of the websites where there is korean variety shows with eng subs like We got married, Heroes, Running man etc
Thanks alot in advance =)



Answer
There's quite a lot :
http://aveoh.net/
http://www.dramaload.com/
http://www.dramafans.org/
http://www.viki.com/
http://www.mysoju.com/

What's the song called in the korean variety show running man episode 112?




Qpon


It's the song played towards the end when Jaesuk ripped off kim jongkook's nametag and he was running away from the alliance.


Answer
"Extreme Ways" by Moby. It's been used a number of times in Running Man's soundtrack before, like in Episode 32.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTIkDmNVJeA




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Monday, December 30, 2013

How much weight could I lose by running?

running watches distance speed on ... 305 Speed Distance Heart Rate Monitor Running Watch w PC USB | eBay
running watches distance speed image



Minnie


I'm a 5ft 4in 28 year old female. I started at about 172lbs, I've always been heavy my entire life. My physician wants me to weigh 145lbs maximum. I've been teaching myself to run as a form of exercise and I am currently running about 1 mile a day & 1 mile walking. Working to build up to running one mile at this time. Last Monday I could barely run .25 miles when I started this. Focusing on distance not speed right now. My app says I'm running about an 11 minute mile.

I started running a week ago today in interval runs. Starting at .25 miles, then .5, now 1 mile. As a side note I've cleaned up my diet (no more soda, drink more water, aware of what carbs/fats, etc that I'm eating) I've already lost 7lbs which is a lot in a short period. Also, I've incorporated swimming a few times a week. How much weight could I realistically lose by running 1 mile per day? Will continuing to run a mile eventually cause a plateau in my weight loss if don't increase the amount of running?



Answer
I'm your height, and I used to weigh at 160# am have been struggling to finally get to 145 (I also have a wonky thyroid).

Weight loss begins and ends in the kitchen. Technically, and realistically, you can lose weight simply by watching what you eat, exercise helps tone the muscles and boosts the metabolism.

Ballpark, you probably need to make sure your daily caloric intake would be under 2000 calories (there are tons (no pun intended) of apps, websites, sites like fitnesspro, etc., that can help you determine your daily intake.

As a rule of thumb, you should take the basic amount of calories you need, then deduct 500 calories, either from cutting the calories from your diet, or exercise, or a combo of both.

And here's where running/jogging can help, and a big SAD thing about running/jogging...

Running a mile uses on AVERAGE, 100 calories. 100. Sometimes less. So your daily mile run uses up about 600-700 calories per week.

I'm not sure what you mean when you mentioned interval runs - is this when you run a certain distance, then walk, or are you increasing your speed for a certain distance?

I'm assuming you mean the run/walk. When I started running 2 years ago, I used a free online plan called C25K, Couch to 5K, which helps those of us who never even liked to run (points to self), follow a plan where you start out walking more than running 3 miles, leading up to being able to run 3 miles without walking. Rest days are as important as running days, and as a beginner, you don't want or need to either get hurt running, get bored or overtrain (yes, you can overtrain even as a beginner). No, you don't need to enter a race to follow this program, sometimes it helps having a plan in place to help you learn consistency.

Good luck!!

Will running on a cruise ship's track with my gps watch mess up the distance?




j157330


Hi, I am going on a cruise soon and was wondering if when I run on the track that is on the cruise, will the distance and pace results of my Garmin Forerunner 450 (gps running watch) be messed up because of the ship's motion?


Answer
Although I don't have such a watch, I'm quite sure the answer is yes. GPS determines the longitude and latitude and calculates distance, speed, etc from that. Your cruise ship should have a sign on the walking deck that states how far one lap is.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How can I make a living off of running my own dog sanctuary?

best running watches under 100 on Bench Strap Watch - 13 Best Gifts for Men under $100  | All ...
best running watches under 100 image



Michelle


I want to run, open, and own my own non-profit dog sanctuary. I've decided that I want to dedicate my life to saving and helping dogs, therefore I want to run a sanctuary. The problem is that I want my organization to be non-profit, but I also need an income! So, how can I make a living off of running one? Help please! I don't want to do anything else with my life.


Answer
The Raven is right, but only partially.

I've worked with a small 501(c)3 non-profit organization, and YES you CAN make money with it. I also have my own business, which is currently an LLC but I will be desolving that and creating a corporation.
So while i am not an EXPERT on the ins and outs of these things, I do know something....

Now, with a non-profit, it's a long process to register and get approved, but of course it can be done.

Now, the thing with a non profit is that the COMPANY itself cannot make a profit, but all EMPLOYEES of the company, must - actually- be compensated for their work, in accordance to labor laws. The nonprofit I worked with, we all made money because we were employees. Even the founder of the non profit made money because she herself was compensated as her work role of president of the company.

In a company - ANY COMPANY - the money that you pay an employee is the company EXPENSE. That means that if the company gets $100,000 in revenue a year, but they have to pay 2 employees at $50,000 a piece, the company's PROFIT is actually at ZERO.

So, you have a non-profit organization, and you get $100,000 in revenues a year. You spend $50,000 on saving dogs, transportation costs, food, shelter, medical care, etc. As an employee, you CAN LEGALLY and MORALLY pay yourself - although it has to be a fair price. You can't just pay yourself $95,000 and only give $5000 to the dogs. But yes, you can pay yourself as an employee of your non-profit, BUT becuase you will be a non-profit your paperwork has to be SPOTLESS because you will monitored a lot more closely than if you were a for profit. Again, I don't know all the ins and outs, so defintely speak to an accountant or someone who deals with tax or corporate law but i DO know that you CAN earn an income with a non profit. It's all about having a dream and not giving up and working hard and seeing opportunities that other people dont! This is a really good resource: www.millionairemba.com/?hop=mmglaca (if that link doesn't work, go here and then just click the link under the video --- thats how I found it, it really changed the way I thought about money and starting my business http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlREvHjjFkc)

What is considered a good group at 100 yards?




Kid with a


Shooting off hand what is considered a good group with a 10/22 at 100 yards?
Again,shooting off hand,what is considered a good group with an ar-15 at 100 yards using military surplus ammo (62 grain M855 Penetrator)?
Both guns have iron sights and the .22 lr will be running cheap Federal bulk ammo.



Answer
Looks like you opened a big olâ can of worms with this Q lol!
Best group off hand with who? The average Joe off the street would be lucky to hit the side of a lawn mower at 100 yards. I was with such âjoesâ one day who couldnât hit a empty quart of beer at 50 yards off hand with all sorts of tactical rifles. I pulled out my ruger super black hawk and nailed it first shot.
So for the average guy if he or she can get a group under 12 inches bravo! If they are experienced shooters then under 6 inches is ok. If they are experts well then about 3 inches or less is ok. So take your pick.
I donât always agree with glacierwolf but this time I do. I can shoot under 5 inch groups with any of my rifles at 100 yards off hand and that includes high dollar centerfire rifles, black powder rifles and .22 rimfire rifles as long as the gun is capable of it. I see so many braggarts who cant hit the side of the barn. In fact it funny going to the local range and watching these guys burn up ammo never trying to learn the fundamentals of how to be accurate. Mention to them breathing control and proper stance and they laugh at you. And when I run back and forth working up a sweat and heavy breathing and then pick up my rifle and hit an apple at 100 yards their jaws drop. That takes practice and loads of time. You donât get there emptying 30 round mags at will like Rambo. You get there one shot at a time. Some even set up a camera and film themselves looking for ways to improve. And if you work hard you can send a big .69 cal mini ball 800 yards off hand and hit a 10 foot square target. I have seen it done despite the 60+ foot drop of that projectile.

And by the way VERY few stock ruger 10-22s can shoot a 5 inch group at 100 yards in a frickin gun vise! More like 7 to 10 inch groups with the stock tapered barreled 10-22. I have tested them and replaced the barrels because of that. My very old Marlin 60 .22 can hit a quarter at 100 yards in a gun vise or if I use a rest. But off hand I cant hit a quarter with my Rem 700 that shoots sub MOA at 100 yards. I simply cant hold it steady enough. So if someone tells me they can shoot a 1/2 inch group off hand at 100 yards I call bull$hit! Only expert riflemen can do such on a good day after they got laid the night before and the bullet was blessed by Jesus himself.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Sunday, December 29, 2013

How to improve running stamina and endurance?

running watches casio on Runners Watch on Touch Screen Gps Fitness Watch Made For Runners
running watches casio image



Jonathan


If I ran a mile every day for a week then every week increase the distance a little would that help me? Or would I be better off running for like 5 minutes then walk for 1 then do it again?


Answer
Either way would work, but the run walk system would be better and faster.

They say that in the beginning you shouldn't run every day. - just every other day. and not to run when sore. So the process starts off slow. They also say that you should increase your miles or minutes by no more than 5 - 10% a week. So the process takes a while. And finally they also say, for good health, you should aim for at least 150 minutes a week.

The couch to 5K program will meet all those goals and make it seem easy. It's a walk to run program and its one of the best.

The C25K program slowly increases your effort over 9 weeks. It requires 30 minutes three times a week. At the end of nine weeks you should be able to run for 30 minutes and/or 3 miles. I did it and I really liked the fact that I could see each week I was making progress and I never really felt like it was too hard.

Nowadays almost every runner has an iPod or something and one of the best ways to do the couch to 5K program is with them. If you donât have or want one Iâll talk about interval timers in the last paragraph.

There are lots of podcasts that are the C25K program that you can download to an Mp3 player. There is even a variety of music to listen to and help set your pace. Use this link http://www.c25k.com/ to view a good list of the C25K podcasts available or go to the iTunes Music store and search for âc25kâ.

Another way to do it is if you have an iPhone or an iPod touch, then you can download C25K apps. Most are free or cheap. I really like the âInterval Runâ app for $2. It is easy to use and is pre-programmed with the C25K and several other programs. Plus you can play your own music in the background.
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/interval-run/id297105174?mt=8

If you donât want to bother with podcasts and Mp3 players then youâll need a sports watch with an interval timer. You might already have one. You might check your watchâs manual. If you need to buy one, the Casio W756-1A is only about $20. Another alternative is a GymBoss. All it does is time intervals but itâs much easier to program. Itâs also about $20.

Couch to 5k
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

best way to build up endurance for running?




Marie W.


I want to start running, and I get winded very easily and What is the best way to do so? I know some ways there is to do sprint for a short amount of time and the jog then walk but I am not sure how long to do so. If anybody could help, plese do.


Answer
I am a big proponent of the couch to 5 K running program (C25K). It's a walk to run program and its one of the best.

The C25K program slowly increases your effort over 9 weeks. It requires 30 minutes three times a week. At the end of nine weeks you should be able to run for 30 minutes and/or 3 miles. I did it and I really liked the fact that I could see each week I was making progress and I never really felt like it was too hard.

Nowadays almost every runner has an iPod or something and one of the best ways to do the couch to 5K program is with them. If you donât have or want one Iâll talk about interval timers in the last paragraph.

There are lots of podcasts that are the C25K program that you can download to an Mp3 player. There is even a variety of music to listen to and help set your pace. Use this link http://www.c25k.com/ to view a good list of the C25K podcasts available or go to the iTunes Music store and search for âc25kâ.

Another way to do it is if you have an iPhone or an iPod touch, then you can download C25K apps. Most are free or cheap. I really like the âInterval Runâ app for $2. It is easy to use and is pre-programmed with the C25K and several other programs. Plus you can play your own music in the background.
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/interval-run/id297105174?mt=8

If you donât want to bother with podcasts and Mp3 players then youâll need a sports watch with an interval timer. You might already have one. You might check your watchâs manual. If you need to buy one, the Casio W756-1A is only about $20. Another alternative is a GymBoss. All it does is time intervals but itâs much easier to program. Itâs also about $20.

Couch to 5k
http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Does anyone have anything I could say to my mom to convince her to let me get a cell phone?

gps running watches under $100 on ... Marathon GPS for Under $100 Tested By Heart Rate Watch Company Blog
gps running watches under $100 image



Blondie


I'm 14 and really badly want a cell phone. I'll even pay for it.


Answer
tell her you'll pay for it. and tell her its cheap because Verizon and Cingular both have unlimited plans now for under $100 and all she has to do is add a line. So its not like you're going to run up the bill. Plus you're her baby and what if something happens to you? at least she can know you're okay. tell her just watch the news. with all that's going on that's bad with shootings and what not, heaven forbid something like that happens near you, she knows you're okay. and with GPS tracking she can know where you are at all times!

I'm looking for something to that keeps track of my running speed and distance...?




Ahv


I'm looking for something to that keeps track of my running speed and distance. Maybe a watch or foot pod. Something that keeps track on my distance and speed. I should be able to connect it to my PC via USB and maybe comes with software and lets me see progress or past date data. Looking to spend no more than $100. Perhaps maybe a GPS devices that records my data and lets me access it on the web. I need someone accurate as I am preparing for the Army Ranger!


Answer
Ok, ranger, If you already have an iPod nano, iPod touch, or an iPhone, the answer is easy. A nike + sensor. If you have a nano you also need the receiver. You don' t have to use nike shoes. You can buy a little pouch or do it your self. www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbjB0qp1ioM
It's not that accurate - but no foot pods are. but it can be calibrated. I've gotten mine to as low as 2% error. but 5% is more like the average.
The only GPS watch that I know of that's under a hundred is the Timex Marathon. But look for a Garmin in Craig's list or eBay. the 305 is a little dated and it will be a little slow to find satellites but has every feature you'll ever need (including a HRM) and lots of accessories. the 405 is a newer and faster and you might be able to get a good deal on one.
I think Nike has the best web site. But Garmin's is very good. I don't know what kind timex has.
GPS will give you more accurate results for distance. Foot pods will give you a more accurate speed and they work indoors. Oh and nano's will play music, too.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it good to look bionic when sprinting?

best watch for track running on Best Multipurpose Watches for Keeping Track of Your Running - Running ...
best watch for track running image



bob


I was watching the track team do sprints and the fastest guy (by far) was this guy that ran like he was a robot. It looked weird, his head stayed perfectly still as if he was gliding across the track. Is this perfect for sprinting?


Answer
At a high school level, you'll find very few people with form that good. However, top sprinters, especially the 400m runners, generally tend to maintain perfect form in their racing for maximum speed and to best combat the lactic acid buildup in some sprint races.

So when you run I wouldn't specifically try and look "bionic" - run the way you do and have the coach point out your errors in form. When you have perfect form, yes, you'll probably look pretty much robotic. But again, to have such solid form at a high school level is extremely uncommon and whoever's doing that is a really, really high caliber athlete.

Should I fqce the fact that I have no chance of becoming a good cyclist?




Northanger


After being inspired by the olympics, I wanted to take cycling seriously and so joined a club that has another session tomorrow. Due to my mum not wanting to give me money I cannot attend every week. I feel lost for direction. I mean this has been a goal of mine for the past couple of months and so without this I have nothing to look forward to. And I cannot just allow my dreams to surpass me like this because I know I'll come to regret it and that will hurt a great deal.

Also after watching track cycling championships for the last three days these people look more commited and superior than I could ever aim to be. And no I can't buy a bike because yet again my mother won't allow it. It seems I am out of options. Why can I not just chase another dream. Why must I be dead set on this one. Is it because I feel I am running out of time, or cannot be the best.

KIND ANSWERS PLEASE.



Answer
Competitive cycling is tough, no question, but you don't have to be the best cyclist out there to develop a passion for the sport. Forget about being the best right away and learn to enjoy the sport for its own sake. You always have options, you just may not have thought of some of them yet. I learned to love cycling at a young age and never thought about competition until I was a middle aged adult. I still developed a lifelong love for riding my bike. Before you get into competition, learn to love riding a bike, and through that you can start learning the skills needed to be successful in competition. You are trying to run before you have learned to walk




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How do i play Gridiron?

sports watches for runners australia on Mio Sport Heart Rate Monitor Watch - Black - (M0005) - Compare Prices ...
sports watches for runners australia image



Brycey


Ok, well i'm an Australian living in Australia, and being one i have never played Gridiron before, just because it's not very big over here... Anyways, because we got this new sports channel, i've been watching it quite a bit, mostly "college football", and i enjoy watching it, so i searched for some clubs in Australia and what do you know, there's clubs everywhere, so i've enquired to a few about prices for signup etc.... But here's the problem... I don't really know the rules, or how to play... The only positions i know of are the Quarter back, and the Runner Back(???)... So is there any sites you can direct me to so that i can get some sort of understanding about the game...
Thanks a heap..



Answer
Here u go.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_football

What movies from this list do you recommend?




Bailey


I have to watch two movies for AP World History and write a couple essays on them. But that doesn't matter. Which movies should I watch? Movies with the same symbol (like *), I cannot do both my essays on...

(*)Hotel Rwanda-PG-13
Marie Antoinette-R (2006)
(^)Das Boot- R (language, violence
Tale of Two Cities-NR/PG
(*)The Man in the Iron Mask PG-13
(%)Gallipoli-PG
(*)Australia PG-13
Doctor Zhivago-PG-13
(^)Europa, Europa-R
(*)Letters from Iwo Jima âR (violence)
(!)Elizabeth âR (violence, sexuality)
Gandhi -PG
Les Miserables (Liam Neeson version)-PG-13
Amadeus -PG
Young Victoria âPG (2009)
The Elephant Man PG
(!)Master and Commander PG-13
(!)Elizabeth; the Golden AgePG-13
(^)SchindlerâsList-R(violence, language)
Cromwell -G
The Count of Monte Cristo PG-13 (2002)
(%)Joyeux Noel PG-13
(^)The Longest Day âNR/PG
1492 Conquest of Paradise PG-13
Zulu NR/PG
(^)The Kingâs Speech-R
A Tale of Two Cities-PG
(%)Lawrence of Arabia-PG
Madness of King George PG-13
(^) The Boy in the Striped Pajamas-PG-13
The Last Samurai âR (language, violence)
(*)Invictus-PG-13
(%)All Quiet on the Western Front (either version)-NR/PG
Lagaan-PG
Amazing Grace PG
(!)Rob Roy-R
The Last Emperor PG-13
(!)The Kite Runner PG-13



Answer
Although The Count of Monte Christo is a good story, I don't believe it's going to give you a lesson in World Histoy as some of the others will.

I recommend Schindler's List for a sense of what happened in Germany during WW2, excellent film
and
Tale of Two Cities regarding the French Revolution - a great story
and
The Longest Day [I'm surprised that Saving Private Ryan isn't on the list]
and
Elizabeth, the Golden Age
or
Hotel Rwanda to learn more about Africa's conflicts

I wouldn't bother with the Madness of King George or The Last Samurai or The Kite Runner. I've seen each of them. Invictus is more about combining sports and politics in Africa.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Garmin eTrex Vista for trail running?

running watch virtual partner on Garmin Forerunner 610 HRM Watch Review | Minimalist Shoes & Fitness ...
running watch virtual partner image



Jeremy E


I am thinking about getting a Garmin eTrex vista to help keep me on track for off road fell or trail running. Has anyone tried this? If so, would you recommend it, if not, why not?
Where I.m planning to go the paths are often indistinct, or there are a confusing number of junctions so I'm really concerned over getting lost rather than the training aspect. I will be wearing a waist pack for waterproofs and a map.



Answer
If you want a device that is versatile (you'll be using it for more than just training), the vista is a great device. It's smaller than some, yet gives you maps and the ability to do turn-by-turn directions.

If you're going to be using the GPS for exercises only, you may want to check the Forerunner 205 or 305. It gives you some great features including virtual training partners and the ability to store all of your training sessions. The 305 model also gives you a heart rate monitor to make you that much more efficient.

The challenge with the etrex as a trainer is that it is bulky, and although it's pretty rugged, it has it's limits. Where are you going to carry it? It won't be to comfy in a pocket, if you just hold it you may damage the screen by scratching it or dropping it (it's easy to lose concentration when trail running), while the forerunner series straps to your wrist like a watch.

Finally, if you don't mind waiting a bit, you may also want to check out the Forerunner 405, just announced at CES. It's supposed to be the same price as the 305 currently is, plus it's a gps that I would actually wear after training. Supposedly it'll be in stores within the next month or two. (I attached a You Tube video from Garmin's blog with details).

Which gps watch should I get?




SAMUEL


I would use it for running and I would like features similar to virtual partner (where you run against previous times). Also I would like to sync it with a compututer and possibly download routes onto the device.

I would be very grateful for any help, thanks.



Answer
get a garmin or a tomtom




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Saturday, December 28, 2013

What is the best running shoe for females (I run about 3-4 miles a day 4 x a week)?

running watches that track distance on middle long distance nike rival d iv long distance spikes
running watches that track distance image



zareena05@


Also, have any of you owned a GPS type watch that tracks distance? Any recommendations?


Answer
i've fpund that asics are the best shoe out there.
i own the Asics 2130.

What is the best running Accessory/Watch for measuring distance, pace, and calories?




Aaron K


Im starting to run longer distances now, and was wondering what different products people would recommend for measuring distance/pace/caloies while running? Would like to spend around 200$
thanks



Answer
They make really cool GPS watches nowadays that can track that stuff. Or nike has a device that connects with your ipod.

And counting calories is simple. approximately 100-120 calories per mile depending on your age/pace




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

what is the best mp3 player for running?

running watch mp3 player on ... Sport MP3 Player Wireless Headphone for Swimming Running | eBay
running watch mp3 player image



heatherbre


I would like a light weight and waterproof mp3 player that is strictly for music, but with sport functions like a stop watch, pedometer, ect. I would only need 1 or 2 GB for music storage.


Answer
Get the ipod nano does all of that, but you will need a waterproof case to run with it.

What's a good MP3 player to use for running?




Sedit


Also, does anyone know of a MP3 player that might have a stop watch on it too? I'm not a big fan of using a watch.


Answer
i have an ipod nano and it has a stopwatch. im pretty sure all ipods (excluding the shuffle) have stopwatches.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, December 27, 2013

What games/activities could our Jr. High youth group do for a Survivor themed overnighter?

youth running watches on Slideshow: Winter Activities for Kids -- It's Not Too Cold Outside to ...
youth running watches image



Chase


The Jr. High youth group that my wife and I run is having an overnighter in a month and it is going to be Survivor themed. I need some help coming up with games and activities to make this a great night. I expect 30-40 kids and we have the whole church to use and a large gym.


Answer
Hi

there is something called slumsurvior that we used over in the UK a couple of weeks back. we watched video clips about the parts of the world that lived on $1 or less a day, made slums we had to sleep in outside in a field, had lots of challenges that rewarded us with food and made us realize the value of running taps nearby etc.

it's not just a uk thing and unlike us you don't have to spend two nights camped out in the icy part of early winter - but it's a great idea and there are loads of resources that can be downloaded for free that give you ideas for games and activities and video's even what to eat with recipes. the UK initiative is soulaction.org but there is another almost identical one at slumsurvivor.org. the video clips can be found on youtube under the user soulactionUK if you can't get the dvd shipped in time.

I'm presuming you are a christian group though it doesn't matter if not the idea would still work - but the video's may not. we gave the kids sponsor forms for the event and with the leaders raised quite a sum, but i've done some of the activities as an awareness exercises for one evening and they still work great.

What can we do to prevent as well as lower the rate of obesity in today's youth?




palxtreaux


Studies have proven that more that one in every four children that is examined by a health professional is either obese, or possesses a great deal of risk for becoming obese.
What can we do to help the youth at risk? Many people don't realize that when they remain significantly overweight, they pose risk for more than 10 serious and possibly fatal diseases.
The thing is - we need to be realistic. Fast food restaurants are never going to go away, and parents can only prevent their child for so long. I know of mnay children that were not allowed to consume fast food, but did it every chance they got when their parents were oblivious.
Also, we can't always force the youth to get away from the TV, go outside and exercise. There are also parents that won't force their child to do that either. Many parents say that schools need to do this and do that, but they think that the proposal stops at 3pm, and they don't have to worry about anything. "Since the schools can take care of it." Many parents, especially parents that are also overweight will not force their child to do something "just to be skinny", the thing is, many parents feel as if their child does not need to lose weight because they feel as if they would be catering to society's ideals.



Answer
Watch the movie, "Super Size Me".

They have great ways to help. Sure the movie bags on fast food ... but it also has many necessary and realistic ways to make children's diets better.

One of the most fascinating segment in the movie was when they visited a "Alternative School" for children with stuff like ADHD & other behavior prob's ... The students weren't running around like maniac's and the movie suggested it's because of the "Fresh Caffeteria Food". This school feed vegtables, fruits, and fresh meat. Then they went to a public school where hamburgars, hot dogs, and other "Government Food" was being served. Those kids were a mess!!!

In short I like the movie's suggestions:
1. Good food at school.
2. More exercise classes.
3. Remove vending machiens from school.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Can I back up my PS3 to any external hard drive to switch my HDD to a larger size?

running watches running room on Olympics 2012: branding 'police' to protect sponsors' exclusive rights ...
running watches running room image



G. H


My HDD has almost ran out of room. I just bought a 500GB HDD to replace it. I need to back up my current HDD. The instructions are not that clear as to what type of external hard drive I can use to back it up. Please help!


Answer
follow the directions of this video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNSytaL9hnI

I have to passed a timed run tomorrow, I was just wondering if there are any tips for me?




Milo


Tomorrow I have to pass a timed run. The run is 2.5 kms in 12mins or less. Which is 2 minutes X 6 on an Olympic sized 400m track. Are there any tips that could be given to help me through this. Eg - Breathing routine, timing of laps, anything! Thanks.


Answer
If the goal is just passing, I would just run even splits. Run around 1:45-1:50 per lap. That'll give you some room to play with at the end and it's a pretty slow pace. Run with a watch and check splits every 200m if you don't know how to pace yourself. Don't get caught up with anyone that goes out at a crazy pace.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it possible to have a good amount of fast twitch and slow twitch muscle fibers?

best watch for long distance running on ... Training Resistance Parachute Run Chute Long Distance Running | eBay
best watch for long distance running image
Q. I would like to keep doing my long distance running for my fitness and health but I would also like to have a good number of fast twitch so that I may play the sports that require them. Basketball, football, sprinting etc.
I want to get to a point where I can easily run 10K and still have good muscle fibers for the jumping, sprinting, back and forth of team sports and track.


Answer
Add jump-squats to your exercise. Do the jump-squat every other day 2 days or 3 days a week.
Click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjY25jL_avs

The squat-jump is good for basketball, football, sprinting.

What are some good tips to help keep running long distance miles.?

Q. Helloo. i'm 12 to 13. and a pretty good runner but I fail on long distance I'm a girll, We run half miles everytime, ocasionally a mile. what will help me be with the people in the front instrad of beingthe one that people watch to finish ?


Answer
Hi there,

Keep running that helps build stamina and resistance. The more you run, the easy it will get, your lungs will expand and your heart will grow..with that said

1.- Eat right
2.- Get a good pair of shoes
3.- Drink water
4.- Run 3 to 4 miles every other day
5.- Rest on Sundays (and Saturdays if you get too tired)

You will start feeling that you can run longer!

Good Luck




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Why do black men/women seem to build muscles easier than their white counterparts?

sports watches for runners women on ... Triax Fury 100 Sport Running Watch Men Women Reg Sz Black Gray | eBay
sports watches for runners women image



maukie123


When watching sports, whether it be athletics, football, soccer, boxing etc black competitors seem to have a much more muscular build than white people. Why is this?
I think in competitive sport people have similar training regimes
And please dont hit me with the ignorance card its a legitimate question,dont answer it if your going to be abusive



Answer
Well first I think not all black people, as there are over 1 billion Africans and they can differ genetically more between themselves than white people do to them.

The colour black looks sleeker; think of electronic items.

I have read that black men have more testosterone, maybe, but if you consider the above.

I also read that they tend to have more fast twitch muscles (power) compared to white people having more slow twitch (endurance). I am not too sure about that one as in Africa we are said to have evolved into the worlds best endurance runner. We ran down prey long distance as we cannot sprint very fast. This seems contradictory to the Africans having more fast twitch muscles. Thinking of the top paragraph again some populations of Africa are tall and very thin, I wouldn't expect them to grow muscles well e.g. the Ethiopian running team.

I wonder too if by black men/women you mean for example African American or British African. I know they are were not all slaves but if many were then they would have been chosen for their health and strength. Then they had to survive an awful sea journey and so are probably good stock.

What do horseback riders call one another?




Mr. Best A


Jockey is only used to describe 100 pound, 5' tall men, that wear tights and beat their horse in the ass with a stick. So what about the hobbyists?

People who run are runners. People who rock climb are climbers. Do they call each other riders or is there another term or slang for it?
Thanks and I don't doubt it. I bet what they do is exhausting.



Answer
First of all, Smarty Pants, not all jockeys are male, not any more. There are females who have been very successful in recent years and decades, including Chantal Sutherland ( who's now retired), Julie Krone, Rosie Napravnik, and several more. Many trainers prefer to employ women as grooms and exercise riders too, because they believe that women can relate to horses better than men. As for what riders call each other, that varies. "Riders" is the most common term I've heard, with an additional name that designates which sport or discipline the person is involved in. There are dressage riders, event riders, show jumping riders or show jumpers, hunter riders, equitation riders, saddle seat riders, stock seat or Western riders, and so forth. People who play polo are called polo players. People who barrel race are called barrel racers. If someone does cutting or reining, he or she is called a cutter or a reiner, depending on the sport.

Horse sports are gender neutral. Men and women compete equally with and against one another, especially in international events like the Olympic Games and the WEG. These are also the only sports in which co-ed teams are common. It's not unsual at all to see married couples competing together, or teams made up of brothers, sisters, or father and son combinations. There's even one sport, endurance riding, where there was a famous mother/daughter combination that represented the US some years ago- Valerie and Danielle Kanavy. The rules are the same for both genders in all horse sports. After all, the horses don't care what a rider's gender is, nor do they care what their riders look like or what their riders' political affliliation may be. Horses also have no concept or notion of the terms "gay" and "straight" the way humans do. It's this gender blind, race blind, color blind, and species blind attitude that makes horse sports unique.

One other note: The crop that jockeys use is very soft, and is more a noisemaker than an instrument of punishment. It doesn't hurt the horse, and there are strict rules against overuse of the whip on every track. Jockeys who break or violate such rules can face fines and loss of their license to ride, which means they can't make a living. The racing stewards are always watching what jockeys do, and they are on the lookout for poor behavior all the time. And the jockeys don't wear tights, they wear breeches, as do riders in all other English style sports. A lot of jockeys are taller than five feet, too, especially those who ride steeplechase horses. Peope who participate in harness sports are called drivers. If the sport is competitive driving, the driver may have a navigator and a brakeman along too.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Is it normal to wear a Nike GPS sportwatch when you're not running?

running watches nike gps on Nike Sportwatch GPS Nike+ (noire et bleue) - Univers-Running.com
running watches nike gps image



012701


I just recently got a Nike GPS watch and I wear it everywhere on go. The other cross country guys at my school don't wear their Nike GPS watches outside of practice.


Answer
It's not normal to wear most GPS watches when not running. The battery life is limited, and I believe the Nike GPS get only about 8 hours of run time (when GPS is on) before they need to be recharged. If you wear it around normally, even in standby mode, there are high odds you're going to run out of battery life when you need it to actually run. Yes, most people would wear a normal watch outside of training.

difference between the nike gps watch with & without sensor?




Sam


I am looking to get a nike gps watch and don't have a ton of money. I saw that without the sensor you can purchase one for $20 less, but is it actually worth the extra money to buy it with the sensor?


Answer
I own both. If you're running exclusively outside then just the GPS is generally fine (here in the UK anyway), if you're going to run on a treadmill you'll need the sensor.

Depends what your GPS signal is like over there :)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How can I fix my problems with eating without going to a professional or telling my parents?

running watches large display on Ladies Watch: Time Is Running. Close Up. Stock Photo 34032271 ...
running watches large display image



Olivia


I have an unhealthy relationship with food/eating -- I know this. It hasn't gotten too out of control yet, as I'm not yet underweight, but only on the track.

I'm 15, 5'4, and 110 pounds, and I make sure I eat under the amount of calories I burned that day. Even if it's only 50 calories under, I feel content. But if it's 50 calories over, I just want it to be the next day so I can start over because I dislike the fact that I overate. I go running 6x a week, maybe even 7. I look in the mirror and I always see my flaws first; which is my stomach at a disgusting 30" I seriously hate my stomach so freaking much and occasionally I dream of cutting it off. I also hate my super flat ugly boobs.

I can't eat in front of people; I only do so at dinner because I have no other choice. But for breakfast, lunch, and any snacks, I always eat alone because I don't like watching people eat and I don't like people watching me eat. Food/eating and planning and counting calories/fat/carbs takes up a lot of time. I hardly ever allow myself to eat the foods I love (cookies & crème ice cream, and pasta), when I do, I'm super upset.

I don't like feeling this way, and I want to fix it, but I cannot tell my parents because they would freak. How can I fix these issues myself?



Answer
Why do you do it? Why be so hard on yourself about your appearance at 15 years old? I did this years ago...I would eat everything with a spoon and I only allowed myself to put the spoon in my mouth 10 times. After every spoon of food, I drank 5 sips of water and I would only eat what was on the "outer rim" of my plate and NEVER what was in the center of my plate. If it was only 7 or 8 spoonfuls of food eaten, I compensated with 2 or 3 extra GLASSES of water. I did this for 3 years. From your profile pic you don't look like a girl that has a "weight" issue, but at 15, I will question what made you take such an "adult, sexy" picture and post it on the net. I can only imagine what every other pic looks like.

For a 15 year old that hates her boobs and stomach, you have your boobs popping out and on full display, so what's really going on is my concern...

Your eating habits are your choice and if you ask someone like me what I think, I think you have given yourself a problem that you choose not to control. People use to ask me all the time if I was sick, had the flu and was anemic because to them, I looked WORSE than how I looked to myself.

Perhaps telling your parents is just the thing you need to do to get control of what is really going on, because starving yourself is never as clean cut as just not wanting to eat. For me, I did it because I wanted to be like the girls I went to school with and they were genetically exposed to be being thinner. I grew up in an overweight household and I didn't want to be overweight.

You'll soon create a larger wall and become a bigger outcast because for some people sharing a meal, a soda and snacks is how we bond as human being sometimes. Sometimes a bag of doritos and a orange soda brings out the silliness and giggles amongst friends. It's just not the right thing to do to alter your appearance. Anytime you deprive yourself of a healthy lifestyle because you don't like like the way it makes you feel or how it could "potentially" make you look, you need to ask a professionals opinion on the matter.....

Your cute enough now to turn it around and once you do that WITHOUT someone else telling you to do it or making you do it, you always feel better about making the decision, because you did it for yourself and you did it on your own. good luck

How do I find my local cat ownership laws?




BARB


Hi! I'm watching Hoarders, and the poor woman had a pet limit in her community. D:

Where do I find my local pet keeping laws?
I looks on my town website, but it just talks about dogs and nuisance animals. I don't want to call anywhere, what if I'm over the limit? D:



Answer
If you found their web site, you should be able to find the limit on cats in one of those ordinances. Look again.

If you want to call city hall and ask them and you are worried they will be able to track the call to you, disable Caller ID when you call. In most telephone systems you dial *67 to block Caller ID. Check in your telephone book or call the operator and ask how to do it.

After you dial the code, you will hear another dial tone, punch in the number of city hall then.

Just ask them how many cats you can have in your town.

In most cases, the limit is 5 cats unless you have applied for, and been approved to run a cattery.

These limits are put in place to prevent problems for the neighbors and the neighborhood.

If someone has more than the limit and takes proper care of them, gets them medical care when they need it, maintains an orderly and clean house, and the cats are kept inside (thus not affecting the neighbors) having more than the limit of cats should not be consider a violation of the law.

Now, if someone has more cats than they can care for and afford, that is hoarding.

Hoarding cannot be defined by the number of cats someone has. It is defined by how well they care for the cats.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_hoarding
--------------------
Among other things, that wikipedia page says:

"Characteristics of a hoarder

An animal hoarder is distinguished from a person who keeps an unusually large number of pets, but who cares for them properly. A hoarder is distinguished from an animal breeder, who would have a large number of animals as the central component of his or her business. According to one study, the distinguishing feature is that a hoarder

"fails to provide the animals with adequate food, water, sanitation, and veterinary care, and ⦠is in denial about this inability to provide adequate care." Along with other compulsive hoarding behaviours, it is linked in the DSM-IV to obsessiveâcompulsive disorder and obsessiveâcompulsive personality disorder.

Alternatively, animal hoarding could be related to addiction, dementia, or even focal delusion."
-------------------

Here are some other pages about Hoarding:

http://www.cfainc.org/articles/hoarding.html

http://www.dailyrecord.com/article/20090824/UPDATES01/90824059/1005/NEWS01/Chester+Twp.+tables+cat-hoarding+ordinance

http://www.peta.org/MC/factsheet_display.asp?ID=27

http://www.bostonphoenix.com/boston/news_features/other_stories/documents/02893062.htm




Powered by Yahoo! Answers